(2007/02) February

hi Giggler & Catz,
can i know what's bb engage? heard from my coll that her bb head is at the vaginal and yet she said bb is not engage and hv to go thru c-section, what does engage mean?

hi catz, doggy,

me oso worried. i oso got the same thinking of the m/c. so every now and then, i check to see the other symptoms of pregnancy is still ard. like swollen breasts. actually i feel those slight pulls in the tummy area quite comforting coz it is tellling us bb is growing :p

doggy, baby's head will only engage at 30+ wks leh.. for me, bb also didn't engage until 35 wks. It just means that bb's head will move down further into the pelvic cavity.. that's when you will start feeling like you need to pee ALL THE TIME and you will waddle like a penguin..hee.. Anyway, bb can turn anytime lah, the gynae is just being cautious and advising that if baby is still breech, will hv to do c-section lor.

smurfy, I have zero symptoms leh.. don't even look pregnant.. dunno to be happy or sad :p

Giggler, yah lor, my friend's mom is champion.
If my mom poked at my boob, I'd be so darn offended.. But hor, that time the LC came and showed me that I really hv colostrum, she just reached over and pulled back the nipple, really got colostrum come out... my sis happened to see and her face went green.. haha

gals, 2day cna't contribute much to the posts. Jus managed to sit dwn & do some of my wk then 3+ gotta rush for the training's tea break.

then upstairs got another mtg gng on.

Catz,
Yah. Flew back to SG when baby was just turning 7 weeks. It was quite a difficult journey cos we had to do an overnight at NY. Very hard to negotiate NY airport and transportation with lots of luggage and tiny baby in tow. Heaps of crowds pushing.

It's an advantage to do confinement and establish b'feeding without 'interference' from discouraging pple. That's why for this bb, I intend to come straight to my own home after discharge. NOT to MIL or mother's place. Too much interference.
Don't worry about suffocating bb. As long as some of their nostril is exposed while breastfeeding, it's OK. They will stop feeding anyway if they cannot breathe.

PVL, wow wow wow.. travelling with a 7 wk baby.. gosh, through NY airport overnight? Yikes... You are one gutsy woman. I also plan to be at home doing confinement (my own, no CL.. just hubby on leave for 2 wks) and let my mom take care of my son for half a day.. alternatively send my kiddo to half day kindy/playgroup. Trying to cope by myself if that is possible.

doggy, engage means bb's head has moved down towards the pelvic. But not sure why your fren's bb's head has moved down but it's not considered as engaged.

Catz, hahaha.... think LC/nurses really dun think it's embarassing lah. If you intend to send your son to sch, you got to start looking for now.

PVL, but who will be doing cf for you? Your hb?

Yup..giggler..pressure is alrd on to bottle feed..but make me more determined to prove I can bf..we can do it..with GOD's grace anything possible. Hehe.

I look at my tummy esp when I lying down..very small leh, I also worries..but my hubby say big already..maybe u ladies looking from top down so looks small?

Im jus praying everything is ok..cant be going gynae everyweek, alternate weeks also cant right..ex also.

Anyway, chance of m/c decreases very low after 12 weeks..So dont worry ladies..Im trying to be very positive.

Charis, dun worry lah, small tummy is ok mah, so long as bb is doing fine. Dun make urself worry for nothing.

Can't b m/c w/o any spotting one lah - possible meh?

Gals, I cont w/ u all 2mr, I m real bz right nw. Hopefully 2mr will b a better day. 2day everything also nt smooth. Haiz.........

Hv a gd evening!

Catz,
We spent the night in a 'nearby' hotel. So we had to take the airtrain out to get the hotel shuttle. Airtrain was packed like sardines. I had bb in a front pack carrier, but she was hungry and crying. I had no way of feeding her. Then shuttle took ages to come, still no way of feeding bb cos nowhere to sit down, and anytime the shuttle might have come. Yup. It was harrowing. But we survived
. When I got back home to SG, I had extra bleeding. So I knew I had overdone it a bit there. But what to do? My hubby had to start work so we had to come back.

Giggler,
So far, the plan is to cater confinement food. My mum may be able to come over to help with Sarah from time to time. House cleaning - I will be getting a part-time person in to do for me.

Charis,
Don't worry too much. I was like that a few days ago too. I think it is a bit of paranoia cos of previous missed m/c. Was relieved to see bb move and see the heartbeat on the scan. I'm sure you're OK. When is your next appt?

Charis, ya... sure can bf if you're determined to do so.

PVL, so you gg to do take care of both Sarah and bb yourself? You sure you can handle? Hopefully your mom can come over to help out more often. Dun forget that some cf catering dont operation during CNY period.

Giggler,
Yah. My mum would be only too happy to come over to help. It's I who hopes not every day. Hehehehe. CNY period, my mum says she can supply some food. We are not too strict about it lah. Simple food and CNY food can already. My hb can cook also during the CNY period. Worst come to worst, I'll just send Sarah to my mum's for a few days. She enjoys it there cos there are lots of toys and her favourite cousins go there often too.

PVL, waaaah, you're really strong.. I know I will definitely not be able to take care of my toddler for at least the first 2 weeks so will send him over for 'childcare' at my mom's.. heh. I am also planning to cater confinement food but hoping that my actual pop date is not during CNY so that I can cater Neo Gardens..

I dun know why all of a sudden I look very pregnant. Previously (just few days ago) can stil see waist line but suddenly it seems to disappear. I am like a barrel shape now and tummy is like a ball. Can the tummy change so drastically over a few days?

Catz, are u sleeping well recently? I am still not sleeping well and having work-related dreams from early morning onwards. Now having headahce. I saw a pregnancy pillow to put under the tummy at Paragon yesterday. Dun know if it helps, costs 60 plus.

I hope my bb will pop out after CNY. The EDD during the 1st visit is 21st Feb. Then during the 2nd visit, it became 18th Feb (1st day of Lunar CNY). Later no one want to visit me n bb in hospital
. And I like lil piggy more. Nxt year is golden pig year, suppose to be a very good year for BBs born then.

Have not finalized who will take care of me n BB during confinement. Let me settle my ROM n wedding first kekeke. But still thinking of confinement lady, or get boyboy's auntie in Malaysia to come n help out. Dun think my mother or his mother will be able to help.

Ai yoh, after confinment n maternity leave, will need to think who to look after the BB oso. Find nanny, put in infant care, or put at his mother's shop while they work. My poor lil bb.

So much things to think abt...

cherryale....me tummy protuding out liao, gets bigger by the end of the day.

For mummy which hv a toddler & 2nd one coming along. Dun forget to pay more attention to the toddler then the baby though new born need more attention. Cos toddler tends to get jealous very easily and they might disturb the bb.

That's what happen to my elder one when i doing my cfinment. Mine is c-section so need more rest. So most of the time resting in the room with bb. Then elder one got so jealous & keep poking bb....

just to share with you gals.......

Friday liao....so happy. Going for my check up on next thur....can't wait to see how big bb is.

amurfy....dun worry so much. step by step ....there is definely a solution to everything.

so when is ur ROM & wedding ? R u excitied ?

Think it's a good choice to get ur boyboy's aunty to help u.

JC, hv you started preparing your 2 other kiddies for the 3rd baby? I'm not showing so I haven't been really saying anything as it's still quite a long way (in toddler time) before bb arrives.
Yah, I think it's going to be hard to split ourselves btw bb and toddler.. just praying to God for wisdom and strength to be a good mummy.

cherryale, yah sometimes bb (and hence tummy) goes through growth spurt
Good for you! Er.. I'm sleeping SO MUCH BETTER... feel so much more energetic and normal now. Pregnancy pillow doesn't really help until your tummy gets huge toward end of 2nd trimester but then hor, normal pillows will suffice.

jc,
ROM Sept 10,
Wedding Oct 9.

Actually not excited. If i know i were to be so weak n tired still, I would do without the wedding. Now just wanna get over with it and think of other things, like the confinement, who to care for bb and things that we need to prepare/buy before its arrival.

It's a big change in our mindset. A few months ago, we were still argue whether to live with the in-laws when we get married, n neither wants to compromise. And visiting showflats lor. Now, haiz, the flat is the last concern, and merely renting a ugly looking 5room flat to tide over the period.

wow smurfy
Don't worry lah, I think your health and energy will pick up by the time you reach the end of the 2nd trimester, just in time for the famous 3rd trimester 'nesting instinct' i.e. crazy packing/buying/washing phase
You're right about change in mindset - baby really changes EVERYTHING. Don't worry, be happy yah?

i've been drinking Brand's essence everyday for the past week plus but dunno whether it really helps... I just like the taste. Heeeee...
Cordyceps I cannot tahan the taste.

HI SMURFY

dont worry so much..i tend to be a worrier but sometimes it helps when we segegrate our problems instead of dumping all together.. solve one thing at a time.

well, a flat is just a shell, the most important thing is HOME, does not matter whether it is ugly or designer flat.. anyway when a bb arrive , we also have to close one eye on neatness... seen a lot of designer flats also turning into normal looking after a child comes

catz,
Last time everyone says when u reach 2nd trimester, ur condition will improve. but mine doesn't lor. I think mine will be like that throughout the pregnancy lor. Every lil thing will trigger off tiredness/no energy/fainting spells. Like yesterday, cold weather, caught a lil rain despite having umbrealla, whole day weak liao.

Can drink Brand's chicken essence everyday???? U take that in the morning or nite time? I tried on Wednesday nite. EEeee, I dun like the taste, smelly smelly. Really got help? But cordceyps is helpful to me. I took it on last Saturday, and the following few days, I am more alert n fresh
Think I give my mummy some money to buy more and charchoal double boil for me every week :p

ralliart, I interested in yoga but find Tanglin Mall too far for me.

PVL, I dun think I can cope Vane with bb alone leh. You very 'can' ....

Catz, so you'll be taking care of bb yourself during cf? Initially thot of getting New Baby since they operate on CNY but there's some bad review leh. I also prefer Neo Gdn for their variety. Stimes, I also worry abt splitting ourselves bet our 2 kids. I not sure if I'll be able to love my bb as much as I love my gal or not. Aiyo, I cant tahan the taste of chix essense leh. Hated it so much when my mil served them to me every morning during cf.

cherryale, hahaha... me got the same observation leh. Not sure why, I feel barrel like this morning too and it's ok yday.

smurfy, hehehe.. you like pple to visit you in hospital? I opp leh, I dun like. Who knows you on TV cos your bb is the first bb born on first day of CNY? Hehehe... dun worry too much, things will get solved when the time comes.

JC, thanks for your advice. My fren told me that same thing too. Her elder son who alr weaned off from her breasts wanted them again when he saw didi bfg. My cousin advised me to pay more attention to the todd as they're more aware of their surrounding compared to the nb. So what do you do to make sure that they wont have sibling jealousy?

stella, I agree that even designer's flat become normal flat after bb arrive.

Giggler, yah lor, seems New Baby food not nice.. er.. worse case is dun eat confinement food lor.. try to boil those soups for myself in slow cooker. Yah my hubby will be taking around 2 wks leave to be cf hubby
Don't want to trouble my mom as she will have her hands full with my toddler already.

smurfy, same as Giggler, I don't like ppl visiting me in hospital with unwashed hair and with the constant bf, er, a bit inconvenient lor. If Cordyceps works for you, no harm taking more of it (since you like the taste).. I very weird hor, like Brands Essence. Yes it's safe to drink daily, in fact, read that some ppl drink twice daily! Don't worry, just try to rest more. Perhaps your health is down due to all the stress in your life right now?? After settling your house and ROM, then maybe you can 'fang xin' and enjoy your pregnancy. For me, I find that I was much healthier during my first preg 'cos I ate multivits everyday. Maybe you can try that? This time, I very lazy.. terok..

stella, you are so right about designer flat -> normal flat.. haha
Last time, pre baby, all my towels and bedlinen match match.. now, haha, all mis-matched.

Stella, giggler,
It's having a chance to live inside arr. Relaxing in a cozy home.

Giggler,
Dun wanna feel "alone" during the festive period mah. If pop out after CNY, then I also get to eat the CNY goodies kekeke. Can eat pineapple tarts then?

2nd/3time time mothers,
Do you worry abt showing special preferences to one of ur kids? Will it happen sub-consciously n ppl ard u observe, but u in self-denial? Hahaha even for all my pets last time, my sis complain I "pian xin" :x

catz,

multi vitamins, my the gynae got give, in the form of obimin. But more for BB, not for me
. Ai yah, my gynae more concern abt BB than the mum lor.

hi smurfy...

i also love pineapple tarts...heehee

dunno confinement can eat or not..if not must buy some and store.

Stella,

I, whole life diet. Every year limiting the numbers of pineapple tarts, bak kwa, prawn rolls to eat per day. This year must eat my fill. Kekeke
Now I oredi thinking of mooncakes
~

Can we eat these new year goodies if BB still not pop out yet??????

smurfy, stella, I'm a pineapple tart addict too but hor, I like to buy the kind with lots of pineapple.. I feel so cheated when it's got too much pastry. Actually my prev pregnancy, confinement was also overlapping with CNY 'cos I gave birth Jan 4 2005, CNY was in early Feb or late Jan.. but hor, ppl won't let you eat CNY goodies one leh.. but I BOCHAP!!!

smurfy, then you must take care of yourself!!!! Try to rest whenever you can.. leave the prep to your hb or good friends.

catz,

i BERI fussy. Dun wanna base to be too thick, but must be rich, then pineapples must not be too sweet but must have some strains of pineapples to chew. I go around all the shops for food-tasting. Then I will settle with one shop and buy a lot. Kekeke.
~

Kekeke dunno whether issit coz today is friday or coz of the cordceyps n brands' essence. today got more energy

smurfy, this year must pls pls let me know where got good pineapple tarts hor.. heee... it's nice to find a fellow pineapple tart connoisseur
Onzz ok?? Worse case, Bengawan is acceptable to me.

cherryale, now NTUC having sale on Brands Essence (with or without Cordyceps) - $16.40 for 8x70g... go and stock up! I plan to do so this weekend!

catz and smurfy,

me also another pineapple lover ..
i pretty like the ikea's pineapple tarts ..
cheap and nice ...
wanted to go and buy the next round .. then no more liao ...
so fast leh ..
the paste is normal size .. the pineapple is soft .. yum yum ..
i use to buy from tong heng .. but realise last year one not as nice .. and a bit hard also the pineapple ..

reason to buy from ikea is cause the paste .. taste a bit buttery ... nice when mix with the pineapple .. he he ..

Catz, Giggler,
I don't really know how it will be with the bb lah. But cos Sarah is very independent, and doesn't really need me to be around her most of the time, I think should be OK. I still need to give her the attention anyhow.
Sarah is sort of prepared to have a didi/meimei. She occasionally talks to the bb, she asks the bb's permission when she wants to 'drink' breastmilk (although really, there is no more milk, and she doesn't do this often). She is prepared to move to a proper bed and give up her cot, and she says she and the bb will 'make noise together' in the room. ONly thing she requested is Barney bedsheets!!!!! Now I have to go look for some. Any clothes and shoes that are too small for her she will say she keeps them for the bb. She's quite cute that way. She claims she'll help me to look after the bb.

giggler....sad to say. I am those mum that love new born. So i actually left the care of my daughter with my mum. Since my mum did cfinment also help to look after elder one.

So for the 1st 18 mths. My elder one always bullied the younger one. Poke her, touch her very hard, distrub her. when my younger abt 18mth she fight back....even till now.

Until now....my elder one is very very close to my mum. She will tell her all her secrets but she won't tell me. She worry tt i will scold her.

In another word my younger daughter is very much closer to me. I will try to improve with my elder one step by step hopefully be better by the time I m a SAHM next yr after delivery.

Sibling rivarly is an on going growing up issue. As long as we parents are fair & equal among the kids. Then shd be ok. Cos when ur kids grow bigger abt 5-8 yrs old or even younger they will know how to compare & say tt parents are unfair.

smurfy....i do agreed with you that sub-conciously we parents will prefer one better then the other though we always said we will be equal & fair. Maybe in the heart but not physically.

Catz, you're lucky that your hb able to help you out.
I always forget to take multi-vits too. Sigh... why cant eat CNY goodies?

smurfy, you still got chance to pop out after CNY. For me, I def pop up b4 CNY cos of c-section. You mean yr of pig is better than dog? I worry abt being biased leh...
Worse, I feel that I cant love my #2 as much as #1. No lah, multi-vits is for mom lah, not really bb. Can eat anything as long as in moderation lah.

stella, I also love pineapple tarts, used to bake myself but cant do it next yr.

ck, Ikea also selling pineapple tarts?

PVL, Sarah is big gal now... Hope that she still remain the same after bb is born.
So she'll be sleeping in another room on her own or same room but her own bed? Me still haven decide on sleeping arrangement yet.

JC, guess it's norm that everyone of us will tend to favour one to the other hor? Very diff to be fair and equal?

priviledged,
Ur ger so guai and understanding? How old is she liao? Are u a SAHM all these while when looking after her? Always used to think mother's presence make a big difference to child's development.

jc, giggler,
think it's by nature we protect the younger or the frail ones more. but must constantly remind ourselves lor. I oso scared in future will happen to me.

Giggler
The scan was taken how many weeks arr? Which pic show the gender? My notti BB always in position 1, dun want to move but stirred only leh.

giggler,

yup i just gotto know it last year ..
for the price is really good buy and nice tarts ..

thanx for the scan ..
now i know wat is 3D scan is ..
tq tq..

Hi ladies..

I hear u ladies talking about pineapple tarts..my grandma makes very good tarts leh..(not boasting), its really good, its the malay recipe..anyway, Im half javanese, I think most of u dont know..my grandma's javanese-dutch. Can place order-Hari raya coming soon, so she's making the tarts..maybe u all can sample first-see if its to yr liking..then CNY can order also.

I personally am sick of tarts, any kind-reason is..I ate my grandma's all thru my childhood!

Haha..

Hey giggler..yours is a boy is it? I see the arrow pointing to something in btw the legs is it?

ck, wow, didnt know ikea has nice pineapple tarts. I love pineapple tarts and the white biscuit thing, dun know what its called. There is a new ikea coming up in the East..which is near my place so I will be going there quite often!

PVL, wow, your gal is so cute.I like the asking permission to drink bm part. Its so nice to have a little gal at home.

stella, heck care cooling siah..
*slurp*

Charis, serious ah? But do we hv to order a minimum number?

smurfy, yeah mooncakes *drool*