(2007/02) February

cherryale,

thanx for reminding to keep the receipt ..
i've been keeping an excel sheet on all the things i spent on checkup and buying clothings .. and birdnest ..

the chart says mine is boy!
kekkee hopefully arrr...

Hi Ck/Ah ger,

3D can see features very clearly, the image is very different from 2D. 4D is actually a more advanced version of the 3D machines.

from what I understand, the 3D machines have a computer attached to it to slice and dice data and put together the image for you to see, that's why you can see features.

My detailed scan will be at camden, hopefully its a 3D/4D machine.

Giggler, who is your gynae? At GlenE also? How much should I expect to pay for 1 time visit? If its 100 plus or even 200, I dun mind paying.

CK - I dunno u go ask Dr Tham nx visit lor. Ha ha ha..........

I m logging off le. Done w/ my marcoroni soup then gng to bathe. Cont 2mr!

any more updates?
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Curr Preg No#</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hosp </TD></TR><TR><TD>(koh)liling</TD><TD>2-Feb-07</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Dr Esther Ng</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>nana</TD><TD>3-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Yu Suling</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloe</TD><TD>5-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2 Boys,1 TBC</TD><TD>Dr L C Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ah Ger</TD><TD>9-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Tham Kok Fun</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>starlite</TD><TD>9-Feb-07</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Peter Chew</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>koi</TD><TD>10-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr SL Low</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>ck</TD><TD>11-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>90% Boy</TD><TD>Dr Tham Kok Fun</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stella</TD><TD>12-Feb-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>chews</TD><TD>13-Feb-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>doggy</TD><TD>14-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Ho</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>PVL</TD><TD>15-Feb-07</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr H.C. Han</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>charis</TD><TD>16-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr. Goh Y.C.</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>lawpei</TD><TD>17-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr SY Chew</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catz</TD><TD>18-Feb-07</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>octbride_78</TD><TD>19-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy ( TBC again)</TD><TD>Dr Ho</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rae</TD><TD>20-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>cherryale</TD><TD>20-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Dr Tan Hang Yang</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smurfy</TD><TD>21-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Phyllis Liew</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>natty</TD><TD>21-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>thenuahcouple</TD><TD>21-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tun Lan</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>barbara ong</TD><TD>21-Feb-07</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Chia Yee Tien</TD><TD>MEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>bitbit</TD><TD>22-Feb-07</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr H.C. Han</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>JC</TD><TD>22-Feb-07</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>leomom</TD><TD>22-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Ben Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>winnie</TD><TD>23-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Wong Mun Tat</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Giggler</TD><TD>23-Feb-07</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Dr K.H. Chan</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunsweet</TD><TD>26-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>moodymum</TD><TD>26-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Oxygen</TD><TD>27-Feb-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr W.B. Chan</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Princes</TD><TD>6</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Princesses</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi gals, GE healthcare manufactures the 3D/4D machines so if u really need to confirm before seeing gynae, then can go to their website and see whether the u/s used by your gynae resembles that kind of machines.

ah ger,

he he .. i'll ask the next visit .. heh e ..

starlite,
i put in my birth dat and i put in the birth date of bb ..
then leave the 266 default then click go ..

JC,

heh e .. just to keep track how much has been spent .. i think i can wait loong loong for marnee to come back ...
boi hor all marnee will go to DIL ..
he he ..
tat's why i hope for gal ..

my rom expenses also i kept it in an excel chart ..

ck,

Then the chart also says mine is a boy....hmm...

actually so far all the different charts i came across all says im having boys. so its quite consistent. Even my son kept saying he wants "didi"

But my gut feel is otherwise. So gotta see who has the right guess...

looks like feb07 will have lots of boys.

For MTB with boys, how do you decorate the baby's room? with gals, its so easy cos I am the girlish sort, but for boys, I am totally clueless.

ck, the 3D scan is in black and white... I try to scan tonite for you gals to see. Stimes it depends on what the doc choose leh. Maybe your doc didnt select the 3D feature? I didnt go for detailed scan prev cos my gynae able to see details like heart chamber, etc

cherryale, thanks for reminding me to keep the receipt, didnt know that we can claim. My gynae is Dr KH Chan at GlenE. Think got to pay abt $200 incl consultation cost. The nurse advised to go ard 5-6mths so that can really see bb's features.

JC, fresh milk shd be ok. I can only take soya bean milk but not fresh milk or powdered milk.

hello gals ")

i tried the chart.... is gal.... gotta wait for my detailed scan on 15 sep to confirm le.... heehee

cherryale,
congrats on having a boy!! dun be too sad ..... u can always try for a gal next time.... then ur gal gal wld have a kor kor to dote on her... ;p

ck,
how's ur shopping at PM?? i went there yesterday evening ....keke... bought 3 bottoms (1 capri, 1 bermudas till knee, 1 bermudas above knee).... cos if not, i really not enough bottoms to wear during wkends.... heehee... so happy...

Gd morning ladies!
Went for checkup yesterday. Everything seems well. "Baby is fine" said my gynae. Saw my baby squirm, and turn away, so no chance to see sex. My gynae didn't try very hard lah. Wait til next month's detailed scan.

Was out all day yesterday. Now I shall catch up with all the posts

Doggy,
I breastfed my girl fully for the 1st year. Then partially (morning and afternoon feed only) for 6 more months. Then I got pregnant in January and stopped. The benefits are quite obvious. She's strong, seldom gets sick, and even if she does get sick, it's not really serious.

re: 3D scan
For my girl, I did only 1 scan. I think it would count as a 3D scan. The sonographer could adjust the resolution and see the internal organs, check that there was urine in the bladder etc. I also got a video recording of the whole scan.

re: antenatal pkg
Yesterday I signed an antenatal pkg with the hospital. For my gynae, since he's a Sr Consultant (the most expensive rank), the pkg is $620. But that only includes 10 visits, urine stick. Normally every visit is about $77 or so. But unused visits not refunded.
Hospitalisation pkg for KKH is a separate thing. For A1 ward, the basic pkg is $2500 +. If you add epidural, assisted delivery, extra days, over 4 hrs in labour ward etc etc, the average bill size is around $3500.

Hi Giggler, its the nurse who reminded me to keep the receipt after I made partial payment for my gynae's package. You will have to attach this receipt together with the hospital bill (which will include your gynae's delivery charges) and claim together from medisave. Although its only $450 I think but better then nothing back.

Hi nana, not upset but just disappointed but I am warming up to the idea of having boy now. Nana, you are SAHM?

PVL, wow, actually kk charges are quite steep hor? My aunt also paid about 3k plus when she gave birth recently. But I guess KK is a good place if baby is premature since they have all the equipments and specialists. My friend's 3 kids are all borned around 33 weeks to 36 weeks so all need additional care and she delivered in kk for all 3. If she has chosen elsewhere, her bills would have been atrocious.

Hi Priviledge,
u actual breastfeed with adirect latch on or you pump in out? heard that breastfeeding can slim down faster, wonder is that true?

PVL, great to hear that bb is doing fine.
KK's package also not very cheap hor? Think more ex than Dr Lawrence Ang leh.

cherryale, do we have to keep all receipts or only the one that we sign for package?

doggy, I managed to lose all my wt within 2 mths. Think bf did help lah, cos you got to wake up stimes every hr to bf bb leh. To be frank, bf is not an easy task but it's really beneficial to bb and mom. So got to persevere.

Giggler, only keep the one you sign up for package. For my receipt, the nurse actually indicated that it was payment for the gynae package.

how to learn how to breastfeed arr?

my colleague gave up 2 days after her 1st child.
her 2nd child, she read alot of books during her term of "bed rest". and breastfeed for 1 yr

cherryale,giggler,
Yah. KKH not that cheap. Cos I'm under The Private Suite, treated like a private patient. I suppose also cos my gynae is a Sr Consultant - head of the Urogynacology Dept. His charges are also higher. But like cherryale says, KKH has all the followup expertise, so I feel a little more comforted lah.

doggy,
I'm a SAHM, so I direct latch. Didn't pump until she was 1, when I used to pump about 2 oz a day just for her cereals. Direct latch more convenient if you can cos no bottles and pump to sterilize and wash. Very easy to go out. No need to pack milk bottles, flask etc. Just a breastfeeding blanket couple of diapers and wipes, and you're free to go,! Dunno about losing wt. Hahaha. I was still fatter than before pregnancy. Maybe it's my age.

smurfy,
actually, I can teach you how to b'feed. hehehehe. ;) I did 8 sessions of antenatal classes with doulas in the States. breastfeeding was demonstrated, and we had a chance to try out with dolls. Maybe you can check with some of thsoe antenatal classes if they teach breastfeeding techniques or not.

PVL, wow, quite surprised that KK package is so expensive..private suite right? Yah I agree, bf is so beneficial.. even though Timothy got 10 months of breast milk, he only had his first illness at 18 months.. sigh.. wish I had bf for longer but really 10 months was all I could manage as I find he is too distracted to latch and takes milk from the bottle better.

doggy, smurfy, usually the hospitals will have breastfeeding expert i.e. Lactation Consultant to help you latch baby, advise on feeding, breast care etc.. DO NOT LEAVE hospital without learning how to latch baby properly.. cannot stress this enough.. once you get the hang of it, bf is quite easy and yeah the pounds do drop off real quick. Best of all though, are the benefits to the baby. You won't regret.

I spent my entire pregnancy reading up on bf.. luckily it helped in successfully bf. I recommend this 'bible'.. 'cos it's the only book I've seen that shows actual photographs of proper latching.. It's by Dr Jack Newman.

Pumping doesn't work for the first 4 weeks or so.. 'cos you need baby to latch to ramp up supply. Unless you're using hospital grade pumps.

good morning ladies ..

starlite,
u wait for the next scan then can confirm liao...

cherryale,
i never thought about that le .. cause my the other room is full with my current clothes and iron board ..
i think when i move house then i'll decorate in blue and white wall ..
meantime bb will sleep with us in our room ..

giggler,

ok ok .. take your time to scan ..
but i really want to see how it looks like ..
detailed scan can only be done in week 20 to 22 ..

nana,

yup yup .. i bought 1 red &amp; 1 turqoise sleeveless top, 1 black top with sleeve, 1 light blue dress and 1 white skirt .. the designs there r pretty modern ..

cherryale,
but the package pvl mention is ward A1 leh ..
not bad the price ..
is still cheaper than private hospitals ..

pvl,
when is the next visit ? u must be really curious wat's the sex ..

giggler,

max can claim back from medisave is 450 ..
so long as either u take the separate receipts during the initial visits or the prenatal package tat total up more than 450 can liao ..

so if we sign up for antenatal classes, they will teach us how to breastfeed arr?

then hospitals oso will have a lactation consultant who will teach us after delievery how to latch correctly arr? <- this free or must sign up?

catz,
where to get the breastfeeding book u have recommended? by DR Jack Newman? Can we get from local bookstore?

smurfy,

yup .. they will teach u how to breastfeed in some of the lessons ..

on the lactation consultant maybe catz, giggler, pvl can advice u .. me dunno ..

smurfy, it depends on hospitals lah.. for me, I know TMC LC is free of charge while you are in hospital. And the LCs are all VERY SOLID.. but er, hor, didn't hear such good reviews from my friends who delivered at Mt A (very shocking) and NUH, KKH. Mrs Wong Boh Boi from TMC is one of the best LC and you can make appt with her if you're having problems, even if you delivered at other hospitals. I know a lot of mothers go to her for blocked ducts and mastitis.

Dr Jack Newman's book, should be available through the La Leche League or maybe at Kino.

doggy, I suggest to do read-up on bfg yourself to get a better idea. At least you can more or less be prepared on what to expect. I feel that you shd try to see if you can bf lah.

cherryale, thanks... I'll need to pay up for the package for my next visit too.

smurfy, I recommend reading up on bfg while preg, ask for lactation consultant (LC) in the hospital when you want to bf your bb once after delivery. Some nurses also not very sure abt the correct method so LC shd be the best. The LC service is free in GlenE. GlenE also provide free classes for those after delivery but got selected timings. Its very impt that you get it right the first time when you latch on bb so must get LC to help.

PVL, its true abt KKH has all the followup expertise.

Catz, I also agree that reading up on bfg really help. I could even able to answer/tackle my mom and mil when they qns me abt bfg.
Thankfully my gal took my bm very well. She doubled her wt within 1mth and this help to stop my mom &amp; mil from stopping me to bf. In fact, in the end, even my mom also promote bfg to my cousins. Hahaaha..........

ck, sorry... reached home rather late last nite so didnt scan the pic for you to see. Let me try tonite. ;) Thanks for your info on the claims.

Giggler, yes, I always believe in being armed with knowledge. My mom didn't bf me successfully so she was a little scared of her grandson starving to death.. but 'cos I had the knowledge and plus I was confident with my latch (thanks to Uma and Mrs Wong at TMC), the bf went successfully.

Hi ladies..

Some of u went shopping huh..

Quite sian..all my pants getting tight..must wear maternity pantn n jeans already..I really put on at the hips n thighs leh..but my weight never increase..I think its my genes..to have chuncky thighs n hips..wahahaha..so sad..I managed to slim it down only by exercise..SO looks like I gotta to stay with this until after delivery..The price u pay for pregnancy..

Aiyah..dont want to think about it..must think of baby..

Im thinking of getting a LC too..if I need help bf..Im not sure if I will need..but Im prepared to get one..Cos better to start bf asap at the hospital..dont wait till u get home..

Mrs Wong - think you call up the Parentcraft dept in TMC.. they're the ones who provide the LC and prenatal/parent craft courses.

Hi Charis,
actually my tummy nvr protrude out and I'm kind of getting worried these few days. Wonder how's my bb doing inside...

Thanks catz for the info...wonder can we contact Mrs Wong if we did not deliver at TMC?

Hi doggy..

Dont worry ok..usually first timers' tummy wont show so early..16weeks onwards I think can see the tummy growing more n more. Mine's not very big too..it shows up like tummy fat..haha..quite sian..but soon shopw up..my waist slowly disappearing too.

Anyone doing exercise here?

I want to start my exercise already..brisk walking n light gym work..but this 2 days raining! I tot of doing pilates..but I already suspend my package at Amore, only next year after delivery then can activate back the pkg.

Catz, ya... think older folks not as knowledgable with regard to bfg. Heard lots of stories abt the mils/moms discouraging the mummy to bf. Sigh.... And the usual comments is bb not drinking enuf.

Charis, I'm wearing maternity pants too, waist and tummy getting bigger. Dun need to think, just call for LC when you're in hospital once you deliver and wants to bf bb.

doggy, every hospital got their own LC, so you can get help from the hospital's LC first. It's very impt to get LC to teach you the correct method on how to latch bb on the first try. Once you get it right, bf is easier. For my case, its the nurse who taught me how to latch bb but her method was wrong and in the end, I got cracked nipples. After that, I asked for LC, with her help, I managed to get the right positions and it's so much easy.

Giggler..oic..ok..ya i guess better to get..only that my hubby super save money, cos LC at Mt. A cost around $100 plus extra..he ask me why must get LC?..he say can ask his mum or one of the church aunty to teach..Wah..I really 'scold' him..I say 'u think yr mum will teach meh..wat makes u think they so expert?!' Hahaha. Aiyah..husbands are super clueless lah.

smurfy, doggy,
It's a good idea to check up online and in books about latching on techniques. Be prepared. Cos when you REALLY hold your newborn to start breastfeeding, it can feel quite awkward. As soon as my girl was born, she was put to the breast. The nurse in the delivery room helped me to latch her on. But cos I had 'practised' and seen real demonstrations, I had an idea of how to hold the bb and could relax.

My bb had wt problems in the first month. But I was quite determined to carry on breastfeeding. I don't know why the wt probs. Could have been due to me having to pack up my entire house to move back to Singapore then. Very stressful. Anyhow, once she started putting on wt again, my b'feeding went smoothly. She is still very small sized compared with her normal birth wt, but (not meaning to boast) she's very active, feisty, and smart.

hi charis,
wow, 100+ @ mt a? for how long? i mean whats the duration whereby the LC teaches us? my mum also say when must get LC???

Ya..ladies..like giggler said..older folks not so good with bf..In fact, they are rather discouraging..My MIL already 'discouraging' me from bf..say I too small sized, I never drink milk, Im goin to be very tired, sure not enough milk..They already bought a new flask, she say so we have enough hot water for baby to make baby's milk...wah..she really no confidence in me leh.

doggy, yes you can go and see Mrs Wong for individual LC consultation but chargeable lah.. lots of ppl who delivered elsewhere seek her experience.

But hor, no need to go and see LC before delivery 'cos your milk only comes in AFTER you deliver..

PVL, so you gave birth in US then came back when bb was practically NB? I only spent 8 months pregnancy there, delivered here.. latched when bb was about 2hrs old as they needed to put him in the warmer first. My Timo is also very skinny, only 10kg at 20 months but active and very healthy.. unfortunately he is skinny even though he was born at a very healthy (almost heavy) birth weight :p But then, they've come up with a new bf baby growth chart which is diff from FM fed babies who tend to be bigger.

Giggler, nothing beats my friend's mom (she bf all 3 of her kids so she thinks she's expert..heh).. when my friend is bf her baby, she will go and poke at her daughter's breast to make sure she is not suffocating the baby.. wah lau.. heehee...

Really quite kan cheong to hv my scan on 4th Sept 'cos I'm not hving MS.. not putting on weight.. still not showing any tummy even though this is 2nd pregnancy leh.. rather worried I've got m/c even though no bleeding :p

Charis, sorry, didnt know that you got to pay for LC cos at GlenE its free. Wow... you alr got pressure from mil to bottle feed now?

doggy, once you give birth you can rqt for LC liao to teach you how to latch bb on.

Catz, hahaha... your fren's mom really funny. I rem my hb was worried that I'd suffocate my gal with my breast that time too. LOL..... It's common to have worries before gynae check-up hor? But dun worry, everything will be fine for you.