(2007/02) February

WAT???? KOH???

thats so unfair to you. frankly speaking, do u have time to do work during confinement?

hi stella,
the blood test I am referring to is the second tri screening test for DS. One tube of blood also very precious to me cos I am anaemic so definitely need to rest.

stella,

i don know ... but i think i will be very stress, cuz no one will be doing confinement for mi.. i got to look after baby myself and cook for myself... don know have time or not... still got to wash clothes, though is using washing machine, but the moment i thought of hanging... haiz.. ''faint''...
my HB works nite shift... cannot help mi... CNY very expensive to get confinement lady...
maybe i will tok to boss when i am going near my EDD loh...

for maternity clothes I also wear the bottom only, the top like too much for me. it seemed like it will only look better if I had bigger tummy. Meanwhile I also have bigger size draw strings pants from Gio, which also can fit in.

stellea,
I draw 3 tubes lor.. problem juay juay.

473901.png

wOW....KOH..ur boss very bad leh...how can give u work during cfment. Ask him to pay u then since he want u to work on & off.
Or u can nego with him...ok to give mininum help to him 1st 2 mth...with condition of taking the 3rd mthe maternity leave also. So also can do work for him at home....

oh no...koh...with no help durign cfment.....then forget abt helping ur boss totally. Dn let him bully u

bac frm the mtg *yawn*

leomum - stretch? Bt all along I also hv meat w/ me leh - still stretch so much meh????? ha ha ha..... tot the bb will usually occupy watever space they hv inside b4 stretching our tummy?

Stella - my gynae also say so logn no cramp no spotting then dun worry so much. So I boh chap lor.

Koh - CONGRATULATIONS! dun worry lah - once tong liao sure will tong le....... maybe just got 1 pc so stubborn stucked inside. Wah then ur toilet bowl got kena bombed or nt? Ha ha ha.......

Koh - hw can ur boss do tat to u? he shld get a temp! He cannot save these kind of $$ one leh....... U r supp to rest during ur confinement + maternity leave nt to wk for the Co! Kaoz......... these kind of Co - must complain one!

Koh, during the 1st 2 wks - u r nt supp to exert 2 much strength urself. hv ur hb take leave to help u out. Maybe nt everyday bt @ least every alt day?

I think blood test is 1 tube only, 1 tube can do alot of test liao leh, they just need a few drops to do each test. Tat time when I had my body chk up also 1 tube.

wow koh.. dun mean to scare you...
but it is no good to exert yourself so much during confinement. taking care of bb and housework alone is already alot, not to mention work.

somemore wat if we have to go thr c-section? even worse, cannot walk abt so much.

have u considered confinement tingkat meals or employ part time maid to help u?

agree with other gals, dun let ur boss bully u, health more important

anybody called & ask abt the tingkat already? Since I may get a maid I m nt chking on that liao.

If I do nt hv a maid I m also getting hb to take leave & help me share the burden. 1st fw wks cannot do those laundry & etc - u hv to tiao yang or else u will suffer nx time.

Gals, got this from Jan. thread. Tot qutie informative so cut and paste here to share with u all.

"Hi, sorry I kaypo kaypo here. Have 2 babies born at Gleneagles, one last year and one this year. Have been reading this thread. Find it VERY interesting. Want to share with you about the costs cos saw some mothers asking.

From Medisave, ante-natal can claim $450. Should be standard for all hospitals. Normal delivery max Medisave claim in $1050. Assisted delivery max is $1400. C-section $2300.

For your babies can claim too from Medisave (max $600 for normal $900 for c-section) . What I did was to get my hubby to use his Medisave to claim for baby and my own Medisave to claim for my own hospitalisation. So no need to exhaust my Medisave.

You can ask the hospital for a package list but do note that the prices there DO NOT include doctor's fees. Doctor's fees can range from $700 plus to $2000 plus depending on what kind of delivery. If you want epidural must pay the anaesthetist fee too (about $800). Twins and triplets will cost more. Can check with your gynae. Some gynaes can get you discounts from the hospital. My gynae was able to get more discounts for me than the Citibank package I signed up for.

About choice of beds. I opted for single bedded. Why? Cos hubby can stay but remember MUST pay (about $100+ per night). They provide bedsheet and all meals for hubby. 2-bedded hubby cannot stay but can check with hospitals cos some strict some not so.

Also, some hospitals don't allow your baby to bunk over with you at night in 2 bedded. Please check.
I had friends who stay in 2 bedded and they complained cos next bed many visitors so very noisy. Cannot rest properly. At night you may be disturbed if next door baby being wheeled in and out to be breastfed.

Delivery can be tiring so you need all the rest you can get. Not forgetting that you may need to breastfeed baby every hour or so. For people who cannot sleep unless must be very quiet, advisable to get single bedded. More privacy when breastfeeding too.

Hope this helps. Sorry to be SO kaypo."

my gf - delivered in GlenE, she paid $1.2k upon admission upon discharged she got a change of $10+.

She did not pay for anything else. Bt of cos the doc's fees is a separate thing.

stella,

maybe i will have tinglat meals, but for part-time maid maybe not.. cause cannot afford...

JC and ah ger,

my company is a small company thats why maybe my boss thinks that there is no need to get a pert timer... my fren says ask him to pay mi 1.5 month salary... haha.. so that i can use the extra half month salary to pay for maybe part time maid or watever... i also thought of it... but now i don dare to say anything yet... maybe wait till i am going to deliver loh...

afternoon gals

koh,
congrats on ur "jie fang".... keep it up...

aiyoh, how come ur boss so cold hearted one ahh? dun think u shld work during ur confinement leh... is a period for u to have a good rest... also since u wont have CL or maid to help u... it wld been very xiong already... must take care...

the tingkat delivery cost ard $1.8k i think... got a few websites but i cant remember offhand... wld post here when i got the link...
but then think some dun do delivery during cny for a few days...

nana,

thank u
wah, the tingkat so expensive ar?... i thought only like 800++... ai yo... more than my 1 month salary leh... heartache....

wow confinement tingkat so exp???

but come to think of it, if we do the cooking also quite ex..cos of cny period.. the fishes are going to cost a bomb

Koh - I told my gf abt tis. Once you are agreeable to either lift up the 3rd mth or flexi 3rd mth, dun tu liao - imm ask HR to draf a new contract then make sure all these are in b&w. Then she said if he wrote u r entitled to 2mths paid maternity leave and 3rd mth flexi (or w/o), & he did nt indicate u hv to work frm hme during ur maternity - he can bring to ur hme bt u r nt oblige to do it cos u r supp to b resting.

He cannot say just bcos small Co then nt hiring temp for 2 - 3mths mah........ he's married or nt? if he's married then hw cme he's so nt understanding?

Koh - Part time maid u can get her cme once every wk - $10 per hr min 4hrs mah. bt 4hrs they can do quite alot of things liao. Esp w/ bbs ard u will need a cleaner environ. Otherhands maybe every 2wks once lor.

koh, my heart goes out to you. I hope eventually your boss will either pay u for working during leave or get a temp to cover u. Confinement is very impt, must make sure we rest well. One of my friends started working after 2 weeks, and she was flying from country to country as she was having a regional portfolio. Now after several years, she is suffering the consequences. She falls sick very easily, faint in office etc. So, please try to rest as much as possible. Maybe your hb can also help u to hang clothes after u wash them in the machine to lessen your load. God bless you with a very smooth pregnancy and childbirth.

Gals, update frm my ex-coll.

Mamma C.H.I.C Maternity shop.

Address: #01-19 Cuppage Plaza (3 units next to Yong Tao Hu store) Open from 9-8pm daily except for Sunday 12 noon - 8pm. Tel: 6735 6786

Not bad, some selling @ $9 (seeable), some @ $30+ (before 40% discount)

U can try check it out!

Ah ger,nana,
I called all the confinement caterers already. The first 2 said they will be taking breaks during CNY, something like 2-4 days. The 3rd one said no break, but I don't trust the person who answered my call, cos he sounded like he had just woken up from sleep and was blur blur.
The caterers charge so much cos they supposedly use the freshest ingredients, and they deliver 2x a day to your home. I have one brochure from neo Garden. They charge $1350 for lunch and dinner, 4 weeks, 7 days a week for their more expensive package. They have a cheaper package at $680 for the same. Dunno the difference. All meals include longan red date and ginger tea, as well as rice. They say you can ring up about a month in advance to order. Anyway, you have to tell them when you deliver, so they know when to start the service. You can get a trial meal at $25.

Neo Garden hv confinement pkg meh????????

$1350 nt very exp arh, cos frm the 3 urls I sent also abt tat price. Bt of cos if u ask me $1k+ for catering food is exp lah......... Imagine after confinement food is bb's full mth then u gng to order catering food again? *puke*

koh,
oops pai sey is not $1.8k that is for CL.... but then the confinement catering also $1k+.... maybe u can try the neo garden one priviledged mentioned...since they got cheaper pkg at $680...

Hi Ladies!

Koh,
don't know if this is relevant... but my mum's friend use to work in this slimming center. When she first joined, the boss specified in the letter of employment that the maternity leave will only be one month (this is back in the days where maternity leave is 2 months). She agreed as well. However, subsequently, after she has delivered, she went to MOM to lodge a complaint against the company and they still kwai kwai pay her leh. Of course, she was prepared to loose her job though.

PVL, Ah ger,
have you decided if you are going for tingkat/CL?

ah ger,

u have ask the right question.. my boss is in his 40s and not married.... i don have any HR... he is the one who draft the contract.. i got onli one temp once a week accountant...

cherryale, ah ger, stella

really thanx a lot... all the words from u gals are already enough for mi to be strong...no worries gal, i do my confinement myself when i give birth to my son... but that time i was jobless, so plenty of time to rest... now i will promise that i will try my very best to make sure that i rest well for the sake of everyone's concern and my children...

heheh, u all make mi feel so touch leh... my HB don even bother to do anything or ask anything bout confinement... he says still long way to go...

may all of us here be blessed with chubby and healthy baby...

Winnie - my decision so far is still a maid, no tingkat nor a CL. I will ask the maid to help in cooking.

Cos I tot if I get tingkat then after 1mth I m gng to scratch head who is gng to help look after my bb. Same thing for a CL.

bt then hb nt very agreeable to the idea w/ a stranger walking ard in our small tiny hse.

So nw still in a dilema. If I get a nanny - it's nt cheap either then it's only 1/2 day. I might as well top alittle bit more to get a helper full day @ hme?

Tats hw I felt lah - since I already wanna pay out might as well pay out to the fullest to make my $$ worthwhile. Having a maid can help u do housechores then also look after the kid, @ the same time u can hv home cooked food. Y nt? Bt again the worry is - getting a gd maid.

winnie,

thanx for the advises, i don think i will do that.. cause i really need this job...my HB earn less than 1 thousand per month.. and he don actually helps mi financially... and this baby i am carrying is unplanned one .. he actually asked mi to abort but i insisted.. so he says since u wan to keep then everything u settle urself... i got to pay for my 2 children expenses by that time, so i really hopes that i can keep this job...
well gals, i am sorry to say all these things as i shouldnt say my Hb like that in forum... but no choice, i have been keeping all these things to myself.. don know why, suddenly feels that all of u here can be a good listener... sorry gals, make u all to hear mi nag....

koh,

on the contrary, i am touched by ur strength... u r a very strong woman.

my hb also doing shift work, i feel that we as wife have to be more independent. kudos to you!!!

Koh - no wonder lah - only unmarried ppl r so heartless one cos sorry to say tat lor - they can NV hv tat kind of feeling lor. just like one of my mgr - she's nt married & no bf, so obvisouly she doesn't understand the process of pregnancy & etc...........

Dun mention it - we are all here to encourage each other & help one's out mah.........

We sure all will hv healthy & chubby bb.

Tis morning I started mind tok, verbal tok to the lil one inside. I said 2mr I m gng to c him/ her liao, so b guai, must move/ wave to me. Then if possible - legs open big big let me c! wahahahahahahaha............

Koh,,

dun worry.. i can understand your situation as me and hb also dun earn much. in fact, my annual income is not liable for income tax..very pitiful hor.

but i believe , no matter how less we earn, we will still provide the best for our kiddos.and our kids will appreciate wat we have done for them. i fully support your decision to keep the baby cos its our flesh and blood.

I doubt my hb can contribute much to bb expenses but i believe no matter wat, we can still support our bb.

Koh - hw can ur hb say tat?????????? if he doesn't wanna hv the bb then in the 1st plc - use "raincoat"! I m sorry to say tat abt ur hb, bt he shld play a part also as a father, afterall he has a share in the bb leh........... *pat pat* Dun b sad. Wat is ur hb doing? Hw cme he nv tot of changing wk? Then u alone - can u cope? Cos I can foresee bb expense nt low wor........

I agree w/ Stella - u r indeed very strong & I admire ur courage. If I were u, I dunno hw I can handle all these alone esp when my hb shld b the one beside me encouraging thru'out the process.

Or perhaps he will help to shoulder them burden eventually when the bb is out?

initially when I knew I m preggie, I was lost cos $$ was the main concern. Although both my hb & I are finally ok as of nw bt we hv alot of fixed committments. Hb gng to ORD in 2yrs' time. So imagine his salry gng to drop frm XX to X which may bcme 1/2 of the diff. I dun even know if he can get a gd decent job when he's out. If nt I hv to support the family during tat period leh.........

haiz........ I kept thinking & thinking then hb also know I was very worried cos as kids grow up, expenses will shoot. So nw we try to save watever we can lor.......

Like wat some of my frens say, if u hv $50 u use $50 to support ur bb, nt say u hv $50 bt u wanna provide the bb w/ $100 of luxury which is impossible. They all say chuan dao qiao tou zi ran zhi.

Just an article for u gals to read, c if it desribes u correctly. To me I think it's rather accurate.

Individuals who fall under the Type A blood group should basically

stick to fruits and vegetable. Their blood types is generally thicker

than other blood types, and possess a sensitive immune system. These

individuals should not consume (or should reduce intake) dairy

products, animal fats and meats. They are also at a heightened risk for

cardiovascular disease, diabetes and cancer.

Type B blood groupers should consumer a balanced diet of fruits and

vegetables, grains, dairy and meat. However, they should try to refrain

from chicken, and increase intake of red meat such as duck and beef.

Unlike the other blood types, Type B individuals have the best chance

of bypassing or overcoming everyday types of diseases, as well as heart

disease and cancer.

Type AB individuals, intake of a mostly vegetarian diet is recommended.

And only on rare occassions should they indulge in fish, mean (not chicken) and diary

Type O blood type should basically stick to a high protein diet,

low carbo as well as a balance intake of fruits and vegetables

however food foes for type Os include most grain food such as corn and wheat germ

They should also try to avoid dairy products. Type O are commonly affected with hypothyrodism

High stomach acid (leading to ulcers) and thinner blood with greater resistance to blood clotting

stella,

y nowadays woman must be independent liao... wan to be 'xiao nu ren ' also canno liao... heheh...

ah ger,
tomorrow remember come back update us ok... hope ur bb will open leg big big... feel gan cheong for u...

gals,

forgot to say yesterday i got a real bed dream leh... must say out... i dream my gynae call mi and say that my baby got problem... o... so worried... maybe yesterday worry too much liao.. den at nite got this kind of dream... u all don be like mi ok...

Ah ger,
YES!!! You are right. $680 is one meal only. Sorry. Never read carefully. Paiseh. :p

Winnie,
I will most probably use the tingkat confinement food. Even if they break for CNY, I think I can manage those few days. I'm not so strict. Hubby can whip something up, or else go to MIL or mum's place and 'steal' some CNY food back. hehehe. Longan water I can do myself.

After confinement month, we might cater dinners for another 2 months or so, til things settle down and I can get into a regular schedule so as to cook meals for the family. I'll be getting a part-time helper for chores once I get too big and cumbersome to do them myself.

ah ger,

yah..some pple earn 10k also say not enuff to raise a kid, but some malay families with abt 1k single income can raise so many children..

end of the day is how we spent.. if earn less, then dont sent kids to branded child care and settle for soemthing simplier loh... kids dun need branded stuffs, wat they need is our love

Koh

I wun b xiao nu ren lor......... cos u nv know when men gng to turn heartless one day.

Gals - do u all hv personal savings? Which ur hb doesn't know? I dun vh any yet so far leh...... Mum said hw can I b so silly? I said all my investments in insr liao, hw to hv personal savings?

Yeah - I will update u gals, bt shld b 2mr night le cos after my chk-up, I shld b gng to Mama Chic or wat to chk out the store. Then after tat go to PIL hse straight for dinner. By the time I update will be 10+ 11pm liao. Maybe u gals will read them on Sun or Mon morning. I also hope bb will guai guai listen to me.

Koh, dun worry, say out then wun b true liao. Besides - both u & ur hb are healthy also right? So shld b ok lah.

Haiz, dunno everytime when close to chk-up, I feel excited & @ the same time worried. Worried tat I may hear something which is nt gd. I find preggie very stressful leh, imagine thru'out the whole process u hv to kip thinking whether is ur bb ok & etc.

stella,

ya loh.. i agree with u... they needs our love more than luxury life...
love don need $$$... heheh... poor people also can bring up a child healthily and strong...
moreover, they will know how to treasure things better than those rich rich children...

Stella - yeah - we can nv b enuff lor. Tats for sure. & to say ready for a bb, again - we can nv b ready. I always tell myself, hb & I hv to b financially, mentally & physically stable to welcome a bb. Bt again when the news struck us - we also hv no choice wat. So instead of remorsing over it, we might as well look forward & overcome the big big hurdle.

Yeah - if we can afford gd things for the kids then of cos gd lah bt if can't then just follow the gd o' kampong style lor. Long time ago our parents also like tat survive w/ so many of us mah, right? So y must nw b a diff?

ah ger,

i also don have personal savings... but i save a bit a bit for my children loh... maybe like 20 - 50 bucks per month.. ' ji sao cheng duo ' ... 5 yrs makes hundrens liao... u also can be like mi mah... savings don need a big sum.. a bit a bit also accumulate a lot...

hi koh

u are indeed a strong person
Well, not all employers are fair to preggies like us... It is not easy to be a mother. First got to get pregnant, then got to suffer for 9 months, then got to worry about wat the future holds for us and baby.

Sometimes, i feel that it is easier if we dun hold much expectations towards our employers. The higher the expectation, the worse will be the disappointment. For my case, i am also taking the risk of losing my job after delivering my babies. i am on no-pay leave and i was told that they may not be able to reserve my job for me till i come back after maternity leave. i think it all depends whether there are vacancies still available for me at that time. So got to see how lor, prob got to start looking for a new job during the 3 months ML liao
So worried may end up jobless and then got 3 babies to feed somemore... But now how to go back to work with 3 babies in my tummy, i dun think physically i can take it...

aiyah, keep telling myself dun worry too much lar. Getting pregnant is a joyous thing, dun let this kind of thing affect my mood... but maybe preggies are more vulnerable at this stage... sometimes think already very upset leh...

chloe,

hey, u are carrying 3 babies leh.. how to work? i myself feels so tired with 1 only... as ah ger says, when the ship reach the shore, it will turn straight... so don worry ok... please don worry with all this kind of thing... don affect ur babies and u... its difficult to have 1 baby less say 3 babies... got to be careful 3 times more than us ok... just come in here and voice out all ur worries or happiness... everyone will be here for u ok...

hi koh

well, i also understand that my company has its difficulty. Even though mine is an established org, work still has to go on even with my absence. i really hope they can put staff interest at first place (haha.., maybe my expectation too high). Since gov is promoting procreation, i hope i will not lose my job becos of having babies.
sigh... dunno why today so fan2, must be the hormones lar...

gals gals gals - dunno if u all know or nt. My gf told me - during ur pregnancy - IF u r terminated in the las tri w/o a valid reason - u will b compensated. Tats y many Cos terminate the women @ 6th mth. So u gals - just b careful

Koh - hb & I opened up an acct (ever sinec I started tis new Co) - we name it Plan B acct. Hee hee......... every mth trsf a few $100s over lor. Nw got some $$ lah bt cannot imagine after the bb is out - hw much will b left lor. Will still cont to do tat even after bb is born - then all the kids' expenses will b charged to tat acct.

Oh - tat incls my maternity clothes expenses. Wahahahahaha...........

ha ha ha - Fri liao - dun fan.

One gd news to tell u all. Hee hee.......... 22mins more to go & I m calling it a day!

Yippee!