(2007/02) February

Roomba & Scooba - I bought directly from the local distributor. Quite ex, but if it is helpful, it justifies the cost. My Roomba is 788, and the scooba is 1328. http://www.irobot.com.sg/

Catz,
Actually, the car seats are not really an issue, even now. All 3 can still get into the back of my little Accent. The main issue was that I need to bring Sarah to Gym 2x a week now, and my present car is an OPC. Already coming to 5 yrs, so it's time for a change anyway. I'll probably just get a humble Hyundai Avante. <50K before trade in.

PVL, OMG, $2k on robots! Well, if your banker was willing to finance it, good on him!
Hmm, how do you squish 3 carseats in the backseat? We can only get a booster and a toddler seat in. If my sister's baby comes with us, we can't squeeze his baby seat in.. so Timo has to go to the back with his booster. The Avante isn't very big but the price is definitely good.

Congrats Charis!

Mummies, think someone here mentioned that we will need to update our tods' passport photo if the current photo was taken too long ago? Can anyone confirm? Been trying to check with ICA but it's impossible to get anyone on the line...

winnieeeeeee
u r here again? more good news from one of us?

pvl
wow.. ur hb sooo rich to spend so much on roomba and scooba, just for u??? ;).. hey i dun see roomba 788 on the webbie. is that a new model? i got roomba 530 frm overseas.. have not reached me yet.. i am just wondering how effective if i leave the 3 bedrooms doors open for it to vacuum the whole house before we all set off to my mum's place everymorning? (tat model dun have lighthouse technology).

ehhh no MPV? but it will be squashy for the whole family right? especially if u need to do some shopping.. less room space to put things in.. long term wise.. mpv still sounds wiser option leh?

jas
i go to this webbie.. www.woot.com.. everyday there will be an item on sales. (check out the webbie after 1pm everyday). the ppl in HWZ forum claims that there is a irobot (Either roomba/scooba) once every month.. in june.. i spotted a 530 roomba and bought it immediately... onli issue is voltage in us is different from sg (can buy transformer or go to a shop in sim lim tower to modify) and no warrantany.. but for the price i am paying ($130usd, without adding shipping charges yet).. compared to $788SIN, i am willing to take a risk :p

Winnie,
I just went Melbourn with my daughter. Her picture was taken when she was just 1 week old. No problem. I remember when we were coming back, the Malaysia check point ask us to just attach my daughter's recent picture together. Not sure what's the point actually.

Winnie,
I just went Melbourne with my daughter. Her picture was taken when she was just 1 week old. No problem. I remember when we were coming back, the Malaysia check point ask us to just attach my daughter's recent picture together. Not sure what's the point actually.

Smurfy,
788 not the model lah, the price!! The model is 530 for roomba also. It's great to vacuum the floors every day. I used to do it 2x a week only. Can feel the difference. I set it to work one room at a time. Master bedroom - 15 mins, other rooms 10 mins each. Living rm 20 mins, Dining 20 mins (my living and dining are VERY large). Kitchen 10 mins. Passageway and study area 15 mins. Must clear the clutter off the floor if you want all parts to be vacuumed. Also, some narrow corners, I sweep out onto the open first. Mopping - I do 2x a week still.
Hope your Roomba works well for you too. I feel much safer getting it from the legitimate source with the warranty and the service agreements etc.
Sedan has a much larger boot than MPV, so all shopping goes there. And the boot is closed up, so that people cannot get tempted by your things, esp impt when we make road trips up to M'sia. We don't see the value in getting the MPV lah. Must save up for childrens' education
. We all single income, you know

Catz,
The 3 carseats are very tightly squished against each other. That makes it quite difficult to belt Sarah in on her booster cos your hand has to go into some dark 'hole' behind Ben's carseat to feel for the buckle.

PVL, yeah, even with 2, it also means sometimes having to grope around to feel for the buckle. You still might wanna consider an MPV but something cheaper lah.. the third row does come in very handy, all things said and done.. and I only have 2 kids - you have 3!

Winnie - I also have a feeling that we may need to do photo update BUT since our kids are using biometric, it would mean a whole new passport since the biometric passport photo is FIXED :p

Winnie/Sap, Xi is holding a Msian passport as she is a PR. That time when she was 1 year plus and we always go in and out Msia, the custom officers had repeatedly asked us to update her photo with a recent one. We have since then updated her photo by going down to Msian immigration office in JB for them to attach her new photo at the designated page of the passport. Her passport now has her original 1 month old photo as well as her updated 1 year plus photo a few pages behind. Everytime the custom officer will flip to the back page to confirm she is the one on the passport. Not sure abt for Sg passport what is the procedure like. Yah... ICA number is very difficult to get thru. Try call them 8.30am when the office just open.

Pvl, the S$788 for Roomba to buy in sg is not that ex. I thot it will cost more than S$1k. Saw some oversea sprees before on Roomba and including shipping cost also cost around S$700+.

Smurfy, thanks so much for the info. US$130 is definitely cheap lah. But need to check the website everyday ah??? How u ship back ur roomba? The woof.com provide international shipping at a charge???

saph/ catz/ jas,
thanks for replying. Managed to get through to ICA in the end. Catz is right. Since it is a biometric passport, updating the photo would mean making a new passport. Basically, whether there is a need to update the photo would depend on the immigration office at the country we are visiting... haiz. So if I want to play it safe, I should call up the country's embassy to check what their rules are wor.

Smurfy,
I know I'm always MIA here, don't suan me leh.

SAHMs,
my MIL keeps hinting that I should get back to work leh. Does anyone else here have that problem? Think she don't like the idea of me living off her son? Actually my relationship with her is quite ok but I think because she has had to work all her life she is very uncomfortable that I am a SAHM. Every time she hints that I should get back to work I will feel lost for a few days
haiz...

winnie,

yr radar v accurate... come in n charis got gd news... keke

anyway it up to u if u wanna work lo. mil will nag 1 la. just ignore. if u think u r living comfortably n spending more time w the kids, y bother w her remarks lo.

pvl
it's good u r at home to set "timings" for the robots.. i dun have the luxury to do so.. and i dun wanna risk a crazy lil boy going down on his all 4s, just to stare and chase after the robot... nvm.. during my maternity leave, i can play around n explore it and try to set up the homebase at the best location :p... hahaha no wonder i was trying to search for a post that u mentioned ur hb spent 2k on the robots :p

jas.
i use vpost to ship back.. for 5.7kg or 5kg.. the shipping is around $50 Sin onli.. kekekek cheap cheap.. just try lor.. yah must check everyday though..

Thanks for all the congrats!
Been feeling super lethargic..cant do much..not been washing clothes or doin housework, water bill went down a lot haha..but still hav to cook..cos my MS so bad in the evening I just can't go out fr dinner etc. Weight-wise Im not losing weight which is good..cos Im still bf..personal responsibility to eat whenever I can!

CNY next year is on V-day! But that would mean will miss CNY visiting again..haha.

Gak..Good fr u..hope the appetite's better too.

PVL..I didnt know u have some robots..hehe..they can be very useful if u get good ones i guess.
True tat MPV have smaller boot space..If u dont have to give people lifts, think just investing in a bigger sedan should be good enough.
But like Catz said..u could consider a cheaper MPV..KIA Carens maybe..or mayb go fr a used car rather than a new car..new cars depreciate like nothing else anyway.

Sap..I only bf once a day..nite feed..but milk very little now plus Im feeling so nauseous in the evening so guess tat affects my "emotional" capacity to produce more milk..Anyway my son is taking packet milk n cheese to supplement.

Winnie..Can understand..my own mother used to pester me to go back to work cos she worked full-time all the way..my uncle also kept on advising me to go back to work..he has 2 daugthers in late 20s who are not married yet..hehe..he's quite the career minded n his 2 girls are high-flyers..so no surprise he thinks I shouldnt stay home n take care of my kids.
People usually think its a waste fr young mums with diplomas/degrees to be SAHM..
But like Garfield said..its yr choice, n if its for the better of the kids n income-wise u r fine then no pressure la.

Very very long never chat liao.
Saw the pics posted by Saphira on all the babeis....so cute. Time flies ......&amp; some of the mummies are preggy for the 2nd or 3rd time already. Congrats.......

Hv u gals send ur toddler to pre-school. Any recommendation ?

saphira,

i was a vacum baby le, overdue by almost a month according to my mum, but i suspect its only 2 weeks la. my mum say my edd was march..but i was born end april..she "checked in" to the hospital twice, until bobian, doc say cannot wait liao, induce plus vacum, so i was born wif a alien look and mum was v upset. my granny rub my head everyday until its very very round. haha!!

winnie,
hmm, i think SAHM is really a tough job, but i need the income, that's why i am motivated to work. however i think its nice to take 1 year or so off, to bond with your baby, time pass very fast one. anyway now "recession" take your time to find a less demanding job? or even job that can work from home? in that case haf income and "shut" your MIL plus haf time for your kiddos?

Charis,
dun tire yourself out ok. sometimes when you love to work on sumthing too much, you will over strain yourself. eh if you give birth on 14th Jan then you can finish confinement and go for CNY!!...its only 1 week from your EDD ma!

JC,
very very long time no see, yeah both my kids are in pre-school. think alot of the kiddos here are!

vacuum bb
QY oso vacummed out. i tot that's one of the common methods of assisted delivery n the gynae will choose which method - forceps/vaccuum depending on the bb's head at that moment? anywayyyyyyyyyyyy if u die die dun wanna vacuum/forceps and bb still cannot come out, ends up emergency-c, issit that more worsE? just leave to your gynae lor, since u r oredi sort of trusting ur n bb's life to him/her oredi..

winnie/charis
i think before i become a mum myself, i would oso be surprised or thinking behind my back why this person wanna give up her job to stay at home and sorta "do-nothing much". now that i am a mum myself, i really look-up at those sahms... coz it's something that i can never do lor.. the 24/7hrs at home with crazy kid/s.. the coaching to them, the attending to their every needs, their own emotional well-being as well...

had been sometime since i came in here

well now i'm at week 38, hospital bag packed.. only waiting for D day.

jus to update the list:
Mummies who are preggy:
sunsweet 20/7/09 1st G, 2nd G
smurfy 10/8/09 1st B, 2nd G
huskie 02/10/09 1st G
Saphira 22/11/09 1st G, 2nd B,
Gak 10/01/10 1st B
Charis 25/01/10 1st B

Congrats Gak and Charis

keke we are a productive bunch eh :p

Good morning ladies.

fat_babe and smurfy,
Thank so much for your feedbacks on vacummed babies. Did both of you use epidural too?

Sunsweet,
Wah! very excited for u leh. Hope your delivery will be a smooth and easy one. Was your first one easy? Remember to update us ya?

Now that I am preggy again, i am reading a lot to prepare myself. Breastfeeding, and Gina Ford's book. Hope I can start out right with this baby now especially when it comes to sleeping. Till now I still need to accompany my daughter to sleep. Can be very time consuming.

I need some advice on something that has been bothering me.
Xinfaye seems to have yellow skin since young. Her jaundice was mild when she was a few days old. It is very obvious if I were to look at the palms and sole of her feet now as compared to mine. I wonder is it because she does not have a very heathy liver? All this while she have been very healthy and active but my mil keep on insisting her liver is the cause. Could mummies here check and see if any of your toddlers are like Xinfaye's skin tone? Also, Xinfaye have not visited any doctors for a very long time and my inlaws don't believe in western doctors. If there is a chance would u help me ask the doctor about Xinfaye's case? Your feedbacks will be very much appreciated

Saphira,

no no...my birth were c-sect. but when my mum was giving birth to me...its vacum..hehe...

she didn't haf epidural..haha...but those were the days yeah...

i do haf a fren go did vacum..think hers was wif epi..totally no pain..

can xinfaye's skin be naturally yellowish a little as compared? i think its best to hear from the PD le, you can secretly bring her without your in laws knowlegde one ma..

Sap,

humm my 1st took 12 hrs from 1st contraction at 3am.. overall was quite OK until baby start to crown earlier then expected then nurses and Standby MOs in the delivery ward came to my room cause my Gynea was away for a while.

u manage to deliver Lil J with 3 pushes.

This time i hope for a short and smooth delivery.. I heard many says 2nd time delivey will usually be shorter than 1st.

sap
i used epidural.. coz mine expected long hrs in labour ward.. my labour 18hrs.. coz waterbag burst and no contractions for the next 6hrs.

saphira
see which stage of labor i am in when admitted.. will not reject if it's a long labour.. actually more in favour of it.. :why suffer frm the pain when the process shld be an enjoyable one instead of a painful one? :p

Sap, I had decided to use epidural from day 1 when I knew about my pregnancy. And told my gynae from day 1 too. But i went to the hospital when i was 6cm dilated and in great great pain. they didnt want to give me epi cos for second birth, its usually faster and i may have given birth by the time the doc came. But i insisted, and I guess my gynae called too, so the doc who did the epi literally flew to the hospital and i barely made it. Think 1 more cm, they will definitely not do it. So, i guess it really depends on the circumstances like wat smurfy said.

wow! another pregnancy... congrats to Charis!

For me, I am done with 2 kids. Close shop. I just sold my pump for a mere $100... sold it real cheap considering there are still 4 more months of warranty but I just wanted to clear out stuff from my tiny apartment. My SIL although 36yrs old, still in her own words "not ready to have a kid yet" so I decided that I wouldn't keep the pump for her.

Sap, I also decided for epi right from the start coz I don't like to suffer too much pain if I don't have to ;-)

I've popped yesterday -12th July. Morning. Had blood discharged and clots that's why gynea suggested c sect for me instead.
How long do we have to wait before we can massage?

SUNSWEET,
Congratulations! Do post some pictures when u have the chance
Rest well. My previous massage lady said, massage for c sect is after one month.

Didn't have a very good weekend. i had food poisening on saturday. I suspect due to wrong combanition of food. My mil told me I should never take yogurt with mangosteen. I took them 2 hours apart though. After lunch I was having very bad tummy ache. Was purging away. Vomitted all my lunch out. Was thinking of going to see gynae but also though since I vomitted should be getting better. The pain comes and go like contractions. Was quite worried. Rest the whole day. Now back to normal. baby still kicking time to time. Think baby should be fine bah. This weekend will be my next visit to the gynae. Will continue to monitor baby's movement.

Not sure why till today I am still having yellow discharge. No itch. Will ask gynae to do a test for me just to make sure.

Smurfy,
I am considering not using epidural because of not very good experience from it. I have to use forcep after just 3 pushes because my blood pressure droped (caused baby's heart rate to slow down) due to epidural. After delivery, I was having back pain problem. I will get a sharp needle pain whenever I bend back. last for at least 1 year. not sure if the problem have fully dissapear yet. Recovering was also very painful for me due to forcep -bigger tear.

cherryale,
Wow, u have actually tasted the real pain of labour. I guess u didn't have problem pushing? Was it really scary and was the pain very unbearable? My gynae also told me that 2nd labour should be fast as my first one was within 4 hours.

jazzcy,
Didn't hear from u for so long. How is Tim and baby? Hope everyone are doing well. Did u have to use vacumm for both child?

sap,

i didn't use epi for both birth... for 1st one, I test my threshold. then luckily labour not long so can endure lo. for G, by the time i reach hospital already 7 cm so i expect fast delivery so didn't did it too lo. guess like wat smurfy say, go w yr feel n if really can't just listen to doc advise.

take care too! food posioning... scary!

sunsweet, congrats! v close to G bd... tomolo is G 1st bd liao! i think can massage after 1 mth?

jazzcy, u stop bf? me still bf but i just coem menses finally! so sian... n supply dipped... guess time to stop soon liao...

Sunsweet,
For C-sect, my friends suggested 2 mths before doing massage, although I didn't do in the end, cos I had no helper at home to help look after bb during massage.
But I think you can ask the massage lady - plus it also depends how sore you are on the C-sect spot after 1 mth?

Do wear a abdominal binder - it does help!
The nurses can teach you how to wear it properly.

Saph,
Get well soon!
Didn't know about the yoghurt and mangosteen combi... will note that!

Congrats Sunsweet!!
I didnt do massage after the c-sect too. I asked my hubby to do it for me..haha..anyway he did once, twice the most..n he no time to do already. But I heard if c-sect, the massage lady still can do it but more careful around the wound area.

sunsweet
congrats! congrats
go post ur birth story leh.

abdominal binder
issit just for c-section or normal delivery arr?? which in the market is good?

sunsweet,
When i gave birth to Sarah by c-sect, I did massage in the 3rd week. If your would area is not so pain, you can do it. My massage lady was careful around the wound area. Think she wanted me to do in the 4th week but i wouldn't cos i wanted to finish my massage and move back home from my parent's place.

sunsweet, congrats!

sap, yes I tasted real labour for #2, well looking back, it wasnt that bad cos at least now I KNOW how labour pain is like. But when I was in the car, I was in great pain, and when I was in the hospital, i was screaming for epidural and begging everyone who came near me to help me. haha, hilarious..but after epi, it was heaven
my threshold for pain is not v high lah, but there are so many mummies here who didnt use epi, so I strongly believe that if u want to go without u can. For me its different cos from the begining I want, so last minute I cannot accept. Actually i dun know how to push, not so much cos of epi cos my legs are not numb, and I can feel the contractions. Both my kids are vaccuum out. #1 head is not round cos of his sleeping position #2 head, I am not sure but after I shaved her recently, a lot of people said her head is very round.

Sunsweet!!..

congrats!! do post some of new kid in town!! hey wats her name?

I am a sucker for massages, but weirdly enough, i have not done any post natal massages..cos heard it damn painful...and for my c-sect..once was infected for a month, 2nd one, i lost all the weight after birth, so i dun feel the need to..

i think recommended is 1 month later...but i think take good care of yourself first...esp if the c-sect is not expected...

smurfy,
i think abdominal binder is ok for both. but more important for c-sect mum, becoz it keeps the wound binded closely, you wun feel so pain right after surgery. hee...but for normal delivery, it can be used to squeeze e waist back into shape faster i think..

eh you put on so little weight this time..wun need binder liao la..keke

Sunsweet, congrats!
Must give us your birth story when you're able to yah?

fatbabe, eeks, infected wound is ultra scary. I also had a scare.. 'cos I saw pus coming through the bandage but it turns out it was only an infected hair follicle.. heng ah.. but then hor, in Sept I'm gonna be sliced open again to remove my stupid cyst.
Macham another csect. Argh.

catz,

you slicing open again!!..its small hole only right?? not as big as the c-sect this time yeah!!...hopefully the recovery is not dat bad for you!

yeah my infection i couldn't see pus...but i can feel the entire area swelling and bulging..fever blah..waited for a month then it went down..

2nd c-sect..water was seeping out..gynae say its jus "dirty water" no big deal/

Catz, your cysts so big that you have to go thru open wound surgery? Cant opt for lapro? I went thru lapro to remove my cysts after I gave birth to Vane.

cherry, I experienced contractions for Stephen, really bad. But at least I knew how contractions felt like lah cos prev 2 were planned c-section.

Fatbabe..Hehe Actually I also heard post-natal massage very painful..so I "chicken" out..haha.

Catz..Oh dear..can't do a key-hole instead? Pray it will shrink..sometimes they do right?

Good morning mummies,
Planning to get a new pump soon. Is Medela Swing and PIS the best? What is the difference and which one would be better? Hope can get some advice