(2007/02) February

Disney spree with 30%..quick quick email me if you want! Their PJ pals are very worthwhile 'cos buy 1 get 1 PLUS 30%.

hey Catz,
Do you know of any motor insurance that is reasonably priced and good? Heard of a SHC Capital? I think it's a Malaysian company, but dunno reliable or not.

My motor insurance is due - currently with NTUC, but seems like they have increased their premiums by so much, even without an claims in last year.

huskie, eeeee NTUC sucks.. whatever it is, I just won't insure with them. I'll send you the number of my insurance broker. She'll source the cheapest quote for you. I got AXA and for a loooot cheaper than what NTUC quotes. And get this, NTUC will match the price once they realise you aren't renewing with them. One kind, right?

hey Catz,
I wanna buy Disney stuff... but I cannot find long-sleeved PJs on the webbie... not easy to navigate, or maybe I am just not tech saavy?
Can gimme some links?

Also, for Disney stuff, is their sizing big or small? You think Soph can wear XS or go for XXS?

Thanks for the insurance broker contact!

Haha, no wonder my NTUC agent so kan cheong, called me up yesterday to ask abt insurance!

huskie, oh at this time of year, all the PJ Pals are shorts.. WHICH IS GREAT! Disney is ultra small sizing. For PJs, Beth takes 3T. Her 2T ones are REALLY tight. XS is just a tad large on Beth but i don't mind, more mileage
Ok I'll email you now.. you mail me any Disney orders tonight yah?

Catz,
Yep, I'll email u the orders in abt 30mins time. Guess I won't be buying PJs since they're short-sleeved. I'm still a kiasu mommy - Soph sleeps in long-sleeved and long pants type of PJs

huskie, actually a lot of people buy those PJ pals to wear as loungewear at home for the kids. They're pretty nice! Beth and Timo sleep with fan and they sweat buckets with long sleeved/pants

PVL, so have you decided? Coincidentally, I was just talking to a friend at kindy today and he's in a real sticky car situation too 'cos he's got 3 kids (including a set of twins.. all under the age of 5) PLUS 2 maids and just a dinky little Mazda sedan. So he's been test driving MPVs with a vengeance.. was asking me about my Stream with CNG. Told him it's not really for him.. he's leaning toward the Estima. Another friend with 4 kids has a Nissan Presage but that one's a real guzzler. So what have you decided on?
Warn you ah, don't faint when the dealer tells you how much he'll give you for your trade-in.. it's honestly just paper value plus a few hundred. Very pathetic.

Catz,
Those as loungewear is quite nice... but I just bought tonnes of sleeve-less tanks and T-shirts from ON during their last sale, and Soph is growing so slowly, so won't really need so much... plus she's in her oversized panties at home half the time, easier for her to pull down her undies and do her own pee/poop.

Have emailed you my orders!

hiya.. here are some pics of the playgroup.
Will upload the rest in facebook...

Ryan and Beth
2642016.jpg

Naughty Ryan and well behaved Yael
2642017.jpg

Ryan and Soph
2642018.jpg

Everyone at work
2642019.jpg

ohmigod!!

the kiddos are sooooo cute!!...

eh catz, beth is a real beauty la..

huskie,
soph also look v different from the last i remembered..in your tailor made dress!!...

chocbabe,
ryan's look have not change!! as cute as last time..

charis,
yael change ALOT le..so handsome and kwai looking!....think i last saw him was at fish and co!!....hahaha....

Here;s another cute picture of the kids - I'll upload the rest in FB when I have energy

2644290.jpg

fatbabe,
yeah, she's changed... luckily look more feminine now! :p

You're thinking of #3? Hee, I would also like 3, but dunno how to cope, and wonder if can C-sect that many times safely.

huskie & chocbabe, thanks for the cute pix! Alamak, my son looks like a giant :p The Feb tods are all around the same height hor? Too bad Ryan was too shy to join in!

fatbabe, thanks! Watch out for her photos on lamp posts and facade around the floating platform.
Timo also. Keke.

Agreed that Soph looks v different now.. so ladylike lor.

Hey nice pics!
I snapped a few of the activities..will post soon..hopefully..cos the main comp is gone..using a buggy laptop.

Fatbabe..Haha..Fish n co..was like the babies were only 3 months!
Everyone thinks he looks more Chinese like dad now.

Catz..Yup kind of tiring that last week cos I still went for dance class in the afternoon.
But I had fun planning n conducting the classes for sure. The kids were a fun and rather manageable bunch.
I only need raspberry tea..hehe. I'll sms u.

PVL..Haha..We looking at 2nd car..or sort of our own car..we've been sharing car with my dad and bro. With 2nd one, think there mayb a need to get one. But my hb will never buy a new car.

haven't post in for sometime

I'm in my 37 coming 38 weeks.. now its the waiting game to pop.. getting nervous cos from experience I know how painful it is so now having some fear of the pain.. keke

saw the little survey.. here's my update:

1) Can your toddler count 1 to 10 or beyond?
--> Yes in both eng and chinese 1 - about 15
but come to counting of object Lil J will rattle to 10 haha but at times she will tell u exactly how many cats or how many biscuits she had.

2) Can your toddler colour within the picture/lines?
- about 30% of her crayon strokes will be outside the line. she's more careful with water colour painting so less of her painting out of the line.

3) Does your toddler know the full alphabets from A to Z?
--> Sings A-Z by memory. can recognise A,B,C,D,E that's about all keke yet to get her to write them out.. She sings lots of songs and try new ones too e.g. when she watches Thomas and Friends on TV, she will try to humm and sing the last word.. keke very cute..

Lil J speaks more of mandarin cos she's looked after by grandparents and they speak mandarin to her.. they taught her chinese rhymes and some tang shi (poem)..

only I'm speaking english to her.. well, she can reply in english but ain't always.. so many times, i'll try to tell her how she can reply in English, if she is replying in mandarin.. well she'll just repeat after me.. not sure she knows what she had just said.. but i guess she is quite bilingual cos of the exposure at home and at school (playgroup)..

Sunsweet, goodness, you anytime gonna pop liao.. so exciting! Guess Lil J is quite prepared for the new arrival?

Charis, er... dance class? So tiring for you lor, newly preggie and all!!!

Anyone else for Drugstore? Will be via CGW so v quick.

Charis!!

you oso preggie liao!! congrats!! am i behind to congrats you????....how far along?? i tink if after 1st trimester.."safer" to hop a little..?? as long as not too vigorous yeah..so winnie was "radaring" you

catz,

yes, while i was flipping through the archives i saw the NDP poster of beth..duper cute!!

sunsweet...
37th week...you ready oredi not?? its a boy boy or girl girl ar?? i sumtimes short term memory cannot remember liao...

the H1N1 is scaring me big time..colleague oredi under self quarantine...yesterdae we had department dinner..found out that his v close contact confirmed H1N1...so all the 10 of us dun dare to go home..wait infect the kiddos...end up we stone outside till like 11.30..waiting for HR's direction...end up..everyday bk to norm..so we all went bk to work...but monitor for 1 week for symptoms..

hope all is well wif mummies and babies..!!

Fatbabe..Haha..Thanks! Still in 1st tri..11 weeks now.
Hmm..I think I didnt officially announce here..but some of the ladies here knew earlier.

Rgd yr dept H1N1 scare..Eh u can't be staying outside whole week right?
Just try not to get too close to the kids..although its tough..if develop flu symptoms then wear mask at home..anyway 1 week very fast right?

Gynae allowed me to go ahead with dance class for 1st & 2nd tri..no spinning and jumping though. My instructor knew..so she excused me from all the jumps/hops..Turns ok la..but will get unsafe when tummy grows bigger and centre of gravity shifts..haha.

Catz..That week was very tiring..but my hb took leave..so not too bad..anyway morning sickness only start evening..hehe..evening is stone all the way.

Charis,
Hee, I suspected when you asked about raspberry tea sometime ago, but didn't wanna ask and kaypoh too much till you announce

When is your EDD?

charis...

cool!! so i am not the latest!!...11th week...so you will be around the same time as gak in jan...good good...happy for you & yael..

oh re: H1N1...

aymptoms i have...mild fever...tiredness..headaches...eyes will feel hot..

so i think hit 3 out of the 7 published on MOH webby..dats why i am trying to be vigilant...but i agree its soooo tough...its juz so suay lor..

hey Catz,
Thanks for the motor insurance broker contact.
She's really efficient! I got a quote - about $190 cheaper than what NTUC quoted me... it's by Tokio Marine which I have heard before

fatbabe,
Oh dear, you please take care of yourself!

huskie, great! Tokio Marine is a reputable company and heaaaaps better than NTUC income. BOYCOTT NTUC motor insurance! Unscrupulous creeps :p

fatbabe, aiyohhhh hope you are OK... will you keep yourself away from your kiddies?

Hi mommies!
wow all ur kiddos so adorable!

hey Charis
congrats!!!
so lucky ur MS only in the evening..

fatbabe
oh dear must be v worrying rite!
when my hubby travels to those H1N1 countries i also v worry, got him to wear mask b4 he gets into the car when i fetch him..
becareful ya!

gak, your hubby is crew as well? Sorry I've got a really bad memory :p Must take care yah... nowadays, H1N1 is really EVERYWHERE.

Brought the kids to watch NDP combined rehearsal from the Esplanade today... we had tix but decided to give them away.

charis~~
congrats!!! good to hear it from u
. oh i am drinking the rasberry tea from drugstore... very nice... good substitue for plain water
.. at timees i add half a teaspoon of sugar for taste

gynae visit @ 34 wks....gynae estimated bb will be ard 3kg this time round... for me, i lost 1.1kg in 3 wks.. total weight gain 7.1kg onli.. .losing appetite these days..

Wah! look at all the handsome prices and princesses

Mummies who are preggy:
<font color="119911">smurfy</font> 10/8/09 <font color="0000ff">1st B</font>, <font color="ff0000">2nd G</font>
<font color="119911">huskie</font> 02/10/09
<font color="119911">Saphira</font> 22/11/09 <font color="ff0000">1st G</font>, <font color="0000ff">2nd B</font>,
<font color="119911">Gak</font> 12/01/10
<font color="119911">Charis</font> <font color="0000ff">1st B</font>
paiseh. cannot fill out the details. My memory also not so good.

Was looking back at the mother's day montage I did last time. How all out toddlers have grown

2653247.jpg

2653248.jpg

2653249.jpg

A lot of mummies are missing in action now. Wonder how are all of them doing.

Thanks ladies for the congratulations.

Huskie..I didn't want to say so soon..was waiting til I cleared my 1st visit to gynae..at 9 weeks..was so busy too..so didnt have time to announce haha..

Fatbabe..U take care..I guess can only ride out the symptoms..and pray that the kids dont get it.

Gak..MS in the beginning was worse..on off whole day..but this past few weeks it clusters to the evenings. Is yours getting better?

My edd is 25th Jan.
Hmm..is that during CNY time again?!
I hope not..cos I dont want to be left with stranger gynae again!

Smurfy..How come no appetite now?

saphira
thanks for the updates &amp; cute pics of the babies!

actually my EDD now 10Jan..keke

Charis!

we're in the Jan mommies group again!!
my MS's a lot better now..dun puke anymore *relieve* *relieve* :D

Charis, Congratulations!!! Next year cny on 14 Feb, the Valentine's Day. So urs will be a moo moo cow.

Oh dear, babe... Have you gone hospital to test? Just try to stay away from u kids. Luckily H1N1 seems to be pretty mild for normal healthy person. U shd be fine after 7 days.

Sunsweet, feel excited for u! Ur hospital bag is ready? Who is gg to take care of u during confinement?

Mummies who are preggy:
sunsweet 7/09
smurfy 10/8/09 1st B, 2nd G
huskie 02/10/09
Saphira 22/11/09 1st G, 2nd B,
Gak 10/01/10
Charis 25/01/10 1st B

Sunsweet,
Feeling excited for you. Are u planning to take epidural? I am hoping i don't have to take so that no need to go for vacum method. but afraid of pain

All preggy mummies ahould be able to celebrate chinese new year unlike last time.

Smurfy,
Sometimes eating can help curb the MS feeling. Just take samll meals. I am putting quite a lot of weight because of that. Hope fully this time I won't end up putting 16+ kg again like last time.

Thanks Saphira!

Mummies who are preggy:
sunsweet 7/09
smurfy 10/8/09 1st B, 2nd G
huskie 02/10/09 1st G
Saphira 22/11/09 1st G, 2nd B,
Gak 10/01/10 1st B
Charis 25/01/10 1st B

i'd epi during my 1st labour too..think will take again 4 my #2
hate backaches!

gak,
did u get backaches after epidural? I got it. Can feel the needle pain if i bend backward. Now better, but not sure fully recover or not. Epidural: bad for mummy and baby but pain free.

saphira
no..i got v bad backaches when having contractions
ya after epi can feel pain where the needle poke
but recover soon after
oh epi's not good for bb??

for me, because of epidural, my blood pressure dropped and did not supply enough oxygen to baby. Because of that have to use assisted delivery, to quickly pull baby out. My previous gynae claim that vacumm is not as save as forcep. He is pro in using forcep. Bad thing about forcep is it will open the tear bigger and will be more painful for the mummy during recovery period. Furthermore vacum will distort baby's skull. Not sure will it go back to original shape fully later. Sometimes I can see toddlers with very long skulls. Could it be the side effect if not lucky?

Saphira
oic..do u suffer from low blood pressure?
ya my cousin's boy was delivered using vacuum
got 2 big bumps after birth
took quite some time to recover, hvn't seen him since so dunno the bumps totally gone a not
but at 1mth old they brought him for check up was told got blood in the bumps
but lata said misunderstanding..sound so scary!
my sis's gf delivered using forcep but think gynae used too much strength so the boy (quite big now, 7-10yo) had been living with a dent or scar on his forehead..
think choosing gynae's v impt!!

all these stories are very scary. Maybe I should just bear the pain so that baby is save. Hope my gynae is good. I have no idea. Choosed her cause it's near my place. Did some research with her patients who have already delivered, seems ok. She's much younger then my previous gynae. May not have enough experience.

saphira
yup all these stories are v scary

why didn't u go bak to ur previous gynae?
sometimes young but may oredi accumulated some yrs of experience

maybe she only looked young?
try look out for her qualificenation certs the next time u visit..
i find they sometimes like to put it out to show in the clinic
maybe from there u can noe when she got her certs

Previously I delivered in Gleaneagles Singapore (Dr Peter Chew). Now, I've moved to Malaysia. My gynae's certs are MRCOG (UK), MBBS (M.A.H.E)

saphira
oic...Gleneagles v ex hor
so u'll be delivering in M'sia for #2?
do u see any dates on the certs??
can see the yr then u roughly noe how long she'd been in practise

Catz, Smurfy,
I've decided not to get an MPV after all. I'll just get a slightly larger sedan. It's 20K cheaper, and I get bigger bootspace.

Oh yes, I've got my robots
. I ended up getting both the Roomba AND the Scooba. Hehehe. Vacuumed the floor on Saturday and again today. I love my robots! The floor now feels so clean. Of course, the corners and some small narrow spaces are not reached, but I just sweep them out before setting the robot to work. Can't be helped. Our rooms are so small nowadays that there is bound to be some narrow spaces.
. Time for all of you to hint hint to your hbs. Next birthday pressie, or Christmas, or like mine, anniversary gift! But Ben is terrified of them. He will scream if I even go near the robot to switch it on.

congrats Charis!

sunsweet, have a smooth delivery... Fyi, I haven't ask my parents abt yr qn... I will try to ask noe... so sorrie... was bz during the last 2 wks ... now I back at work n life back to "normal" again... keke

congrats charis..have a smooth 9 mths!

just to check, does your todd know how to play with other children/todd ? i dunno whether to be happy or sad..my little fragile lady..she would rather observe other children playing then to join in. if there are other children or todd nearing her, she will give way to others and stand aside ..aiyoh.

she will only jump and run around the playground rather then climb like other kids do..

stella,
Xinfaye use to be like that too. We would try to encourage her and ask her to say hi or bye bye. Once they are familiar with the child they will be more open. My daiughter would play with those she have seen quite often and are friendly. If she is comfy with them, she would start playing with them and like to order them around even if they are bigger children. Maybe u can start joining some playgroups? Seems like mummies here do organize some time to time.

PVL, are you sure about no MPV? Wouldn't your car seats be a little bit of an issue? But 20K is no joke lah... so which car are you getting? Waaahh Scooba AND Roomba.. shiok lah.

stella, oh playing with other kids comes only later on lah. For now, parallel play is the norm

Pvl, I am also interested to get a roomba! Can share where u got and what price? Ya, i think a bigger sedan with roomy car boot is a good choice for u since u do not have a maid. MPV tends to have smaller car boot space and most of the time ppl can see through the car boot, so hubby and I both think next time if we change car will get a bigger sedan instead of a MPV.