(2007/02) February

hi gals!

today is my first day sahm official... haha yesterday still got hb so not counted... I still surviving... hope so...

I was rather bored by aftn n brought them to downstairs to walk n play at the playground...

now trying to clear house while they sleep... n of cos surf a bit la.

i just scan thru...

sap, xinfaye is v clever,...

zz now become a "singer" liao. he suddenly can sing the whole nursery songs I used to sing to him. 90-99% is correct even those tat is sang v seldom... n he sing everyday so tat we can praise him. he also like to draw everyday... haha scribble lar... he also can recite the ABC song correctly but sometimes might miss the TUV part. he also can count 1 -10 correctly. butttt... his mandarin is still v poor lo. hope the days spent being temp sahm will help.

cherryale,
Wah! 11kg only? i hope I can do that too. because of fully breastfeeding, I manage to shed all the 16kg last time.

garfield,
How long do u intend to become sahm? Enjoy your motherhood.

garfield,
Can let him listen to songs. My daughter knows how to play the player on her own when she wants to listen. She have quite a number of cds. She can actually remember which cd have which songs (without the cover attached) although the cd have the same colour and title (only content is different in small text). Xinfaye don't know much chinese but because we play the chinese songs too, she can sing some.

At the moment, I am trying to spend some time teaching her to identify alphabets.

Would like to ask, what is the content of Bean Sprout Pillows? Thought of making one on my own but have not seen one before. If is made of beans, wouldn't the beans fall to the side when placed on baby's chest?

Sap,

the pillow is made of the bean sprout husk.. the black husk u can ask from the wet market aunty.. u got to dry it several days or even weeks to make sure its really dry..

and the contents of the pillow ill fall to the side holding the pillow down against the baby's tummy..

Dun used beans lah.. think they are too heavy..

Thanks Sunsweet for the info. Will check it out

I've just manage to spend some time improving Xinfaye's blog. Feel free to visit. Pls. let me know if I have not add your blog. http://xinfaye.blogspot.com/

By the way, how do u add "Message or chat Board" into the blog?

Came in to say hello to everyone... have been busy with 2 kiddos! Sigh... wish I had more time each day... Always tired out at the end of each day...
Julian is very sick again. fever, cough, running nose, diarrhoe and all... Started Saturday and today decided to let him take antibiotics (once in May and now again!) Guess I have no choice but to listent to the dr's advice. Don't know why my boy has been falling sick... and each time, it is a full-blown one! I am so so exhausted taking care of him...

Catz, hope your hb recovers soon. Just wanna find out from you when u started your kids with gina ford's schedule. I started it for my 6 weeks old girl but she is not following it at all... I know I shouldn't get frustrated, just adapt from it but somehow, I am too eager to get everything in place. so i get myself stressed up by the fact that my girl sleeps and drinks at the wrong time (not according to Gina Ford's). Too young to start her on a schedule? Advice please.

Sap, ur girl is really advanced. Think my Julian is neglected...
I wish I coudl spend more time teaching her but with my #2 and TBF, it has been tough. I really feel very very guilty towards him these days but Julian has been a great boy and a loving brother towards her sister. He is not jealous, just a little attention seeking at times. Other than that, he has been obedient and cooperative.

Garfield,I think i cant be a SAHM. Will go mad after a while

Smurfy and sunsweet, very soon you will be seeing your 2nd precious ones
Good luck to you both! Take care and dont exert yourself too much for now!

sap, my maid will only come back 2nd july....

zz also knows some chinese songs but he sang like an ang moh... ;p

aiyo... my gal v sticky to me i cannot be out of sight... she cry her eyes out...

now, my mil is here... she gave zz biscuits w/o askin me whether he ate his lunch

then zz wanna eat n she told me give him la

then he didn't wan to eat his rice ... ate abit nia

then keep askin them to lie in bed... xiao 1... just wake up how can go sleep again...

garfield
be happy n enjoy maidless.. :p... i guess ur mil wants to help out during this period.. but she is doing all the wrong things :p... gotta be firm.. otherwise she will continue giving biscuits everytime she visits.. next u see will be chocolates n cakes for zz :D

GOG,
You're so fortunate to have a boy so good. hope my daughter will be like your son when baby arrives. Maybe you can try to get him involve when you are taking care of baby. Do remember to give him some special personal time when hubby is around.

garfield,
inlaws are always very hard to tackle. I am staying with them some more. Sometimes have to close one eye if they persist. no choice lor. Or get your hubby to talk to them.

smurfy,
Need to find out frmm u on how to add "message chat box" into your blog? Have been searching high and low for it

smurfy, ya "help" me...

now yes got time to surf net so...?

I need tovent anger... now zz dun wan to take his normal nap! n he didn't finish his milk! now all he wans is biscuits again! n she still givin him! I hint to her n show black face but she just smile sheeply n say he wan ley...

I so fed up... somemore zz just eat n spit... n i still had to mop...

then she brought some board games for him which need some DIY... n she expect me to do when I am "free" ya ya... her dearest son is not helping me much... yesterday kenna scolded from me... dun care.

then i so angry n close the door n tell zz dun need to come in... zz went to look for her lo. then when i come out, mil still thot I wanna nap!!! come on la... I not so lazy ok...

Thanks smurfy

Garfield maybe can ask to replace biscuits with fruits or dried fruits. When you mil want to give again replace it.

Smurfy,
Saw your post in the bulk purchase. Is Qiyuan wearing C10/11 size now? Would like to order but not too sure about my daughter's size yet.

how's everyone?

RE: MAIDS
me thinking of getting a maid to help my mom when my 2nd bb due..
wondering which agent gives good service
any mommies can help please?

sap
i bought that size abt one or 2mths back... err that time.. C8/9 JUSt nice... so i tot bp buy C10/11 SAfer.. who knows.. till now still too loose....and hor.. Qy got giantic feet lar, U might wanna C8/9 for ur lil gir.

Hi Sap, i just saw your email, sorry I hardly check emails. I will be in Kl 18 to 19 Jul. as for sizing, pls note that for some designs the cutting is smaller, esp the disney ones so may be safer to order bigger. will give u my hp so u can sms me if need me to collect on your behalf.

garfield, the feeding thingie is common to all grandparents lah. Even though Timo is 4, my mom still sometimes offers him snacks too close to mealtimes. :p But I try to close one eye lah, no point getting into a fight with my mom.

Sap, likely to be C8/9. Beth is always one size below her peers.. she takes C6/7.

Thanks mummies for the feedback. My daughter's feet is not that small at all
It's about 15cm now. What size should I be getting if it is for 1 to 2 year old? Wonder how long can 4/5 last.

Need to ask about brushing teeth. I alway brush my daughter's teeth with "First Teeth", then I will wipe his teeth and tongue with a wet hanky.

The reason why I wipe is because there were a lot of times after brushing, it's still not very clean. I could still see some yellowish stains on the cloth after wiping. Another reason is because since young, she have been getting black stains on the teeth even though I brush 3 times a day. Now with the wiping, I only clean 2 times a day and have been showing improvements.

I wonder if this will harm her gums. What tooth brush are u using now? I am now using Oral B for 2 years up. Find it a bit too hard. Sometimes I get some light bleeding.

catz
hope ur hubby recovers soon!

cherryale
glad to hear ashton's better too!

GOG
how's julian? hopes he recovers soon!

mommies
my MS finally better liao
but i experience slight v light brown discharge this morn..is it spotting??
thx

gak,
For light brown spotting you have to check with the gynae. The normal discharge I get are white or yellowish. When is your due date?

By the way, just found out in the weekend that I am expecting a boy

saphira
wen's ur edd?
my edd's 12jan juz into my 11weeks..
my next check up's next week so i'm planning to c if the discharge gets worst a not
cuz some mommies say cld be old blood..
thx

My friend's paediatric dentist says he sees a lot of kids who use First Teeth and have decays.. once Timo learned how to spit and gargle, I switched him to Tom's of Maine fluoride free toothpaste.. now he's using fluoride toothpaste from Tom's of Maine. Beth still blur so I still use first teeth but I use her Firefly toothbrush first then followup with fingerbrush.

gak, thanks! Light brown discharge, better check with gynae wor.

So now you're not flying anymore?

Saphira, don't get 4/5.. way too small!!! Get 8/9.. at least if she cannot wear now, she can fit later on.

Catz,
Not sure if my girl can use the adult toothpaste yet as she will swallow before I finish brushing. When u mention fingerbrush, u mean just using your finger? Is this the toothbrush u're using? http://www.just4teeth.com/baby-firefly-toothbrush?sc=2&category=60528 Where do u get the toothbrush and toothpaste?

Size 4/5 will be for my coming baby. A bit too early to get now but since I am getting from Singapore with a good price. Buying in advance :p

smurfy,
Raspberry tea is nice huh? I haven't gotten hold of mine yet, cos Soph coughing, so haven't been meeting up with Catz.

This pregnancy also a bit weird - keep getting nosebleeds! Four times already!

gak,
Yeah brown spotting better see doc. Although my gynae says brown means "old blood" cos it takes awhile to travel from up in the womb to the entrance, so usually he is not too worried about brown, but more worried about fresh red kind.
Still, better to see gynae and do a proper scan.
Have you been carrying your boy? if so, better stop!

Hey, the maid agency I used was not too bad, but agency fees a bit expensive and I didn't have much luck with my maid cos I was too easy with her at the beginning.
Still, I found out they actually "train" maid on not to buy handphones (to prevent them from keep calling during work time), how to buy stuff from markets, make sure they know how to add and minus amounts of money so they know how much they should get in change etc.

Catz,
Have you gotten your Olivia already?
I tried it at the zoo that day and I fit W7 perfectly... dunno how come I was in between size for Malindi.
Hey, if there is a BP next round, can alert me?
Thinking of getting a pair for final weeks of pregnancy too

And hey, do you have any feedback if one were to decide between Chiltern and Pat's?
Just wondering how come all my friends flock to Chiltern?

Hi all, been MIA due to 1 week of church camp. And now I don't have much time to catch up with the posts. prepping for my Dad's big do for his 80th birthday on Thursday

Hope all of you are well. Who else is expecting now?

Saph,
Ben uses regular children's toothpaste, shared with Sarah. He knows how to spit and gargle already, so I graduated him recently. Saves money. First teeth very ex! He uses the Kodomo toothbrush for 1.5-3 YO or something like that.
Congrats on your boy!

Huskie,
When I was preggy with Sarah, I also used to get nosebleeds.

gak,
my due date is 22/11/09. DON'T carry your toddler anymore! I was carrying my daughter a lot before I found out I was pregnant. Was having light bleeding twice due to blood clot in the wonb cause by a tear or friction. Most probably because I was carrying my daughter then. Now don't carry anymore. Luckily clot dissapear. Was having some brown discharge before the blood clot dissapear.

thanks saphira!

i didn't know cld be that serious!!
but my BEN(4) hubby dun believe if i tell him..
will pretend to check with gynea on my next visit keke
how u feeling now? has the bleeding stopped yet?
ur edd's juz 10days lata!
where u delivering?
i'm at kkh

gak, safer to check with gynae if there is spotting.

huskie, my neighbour's son has been in Pats since nursery to kindergarten. Apparently the coursework is a lot more relaxed than other kindergartens and no homework etc. So a lot of parents pulled their children out from pats. Not sure if that is the reason for them to move from pats to chiltern. Cost wise, both are about the same maybe chiltern a little more ex.

gak,
Better not carry A anymore, esp. since he is quite a big boy!
I was spotting a bit at 5 weeks cos I carried Soph too.

PVL,
What the reasonf or nosebleed during pregnancy? Is it cos too heaty?

cherry,
Thanks for the feedback on Pat's! I didn't know kids have homework at kindergarten level!
Costwise, they're both the same - about $750/mth for half-day session after subsidy.

huskieeee, I had a lot of nosebleeds when I was pregnant with Timo.. maybe you're having a boy.. that's what milkie insists. Haha. I ordered Malindi, not Olivia.. that's Saphira's order
Haven't collected as the second batch has not arrived. Ordered PrePair, the athletic one for my husband to try out.

My friend also chose Chiltern, think it was the location that pushed her that way. Sorry both out of my league so I didn't really bother to find out.. hehe..

PVL, wow, the big 80!!

Saph, then XF is not ready if she keeps swallowing toothpaste. Better keep her either on First Teeth or Orajel.. and yes, my finger toothbrush came with First Teeth toothpaste. As for Crocs, don't bother with C4/5 'cos hor, for first walking shoes, you should get either Pedipeds or Robeez, those kind of flexi shoes.. not Crocs. Not good for learning walkers.

catz,
Hmm... milkie also had nosebleeds when she was preggers with TR?
But PVL's Sarah is girl leh!

Hey, remember to let me know if got BP for Crocs/your spree going on ok? I always seem to miss these cool BP... recently only managed to catch the "auntie" Handy Sealer BP!

Hey, thanks for info on Chiltern and Pat's anyway. Personally I am just worried about Soph's Chinese... feel like sending her to PCF cos I would think PCF offers the bext foundation for Chinese! :p

No no... Milkie says you're gonna have a boy... she can FEEL IT

Yah reminds me, think I'll place order for the handy sealer.. good stuff

BP for Crocs, I always buy from Zita's spree.. will keep you posted. She's a good organiser.. and can collect from Novena. PCF for Chinese ah.. erm... I know it's good but I just cannot bring myself to do it.

Hee, milkie got feeling huh?
Funny... the night before, I dreamt that I had given birth and went back to work straightaway without checking baby... in the end called up hospital nursery to ask about my baby's gender, and nurse said baby is girl! Weird dream...

Yeah, I think Handy Sealer is very useful! But auntie stuff lah.

TIA for letting me know abt Crocs BP/spree... actually saw another organiser previously called lalaaaa or something? Is she reliable?

Hi ladies..MIA for sometime..been so busy with classes and chores..actually not really doing chores very much..haha.

Sap..Congrats on the boy!

Gak..Guess u can jus rest as much as u can..n yes better not carry yr boy too much..after all the tods are getting really heavy.

PVL..How u manage to go holiday with 2 kids and 1 baby?! Hehe.

Huskie..Yes actually PCF have more Chinese-speaking kids right? But nowadays notice more and more of our local kids speak English compared to our time..Singlish or rather haha.
What a weird dream! Looking at yr tummy's size, I cant tell..some ppl say if small then girl..pointy boy etc..funny..but not really true.

Last time I had a dream when I was preggy with Y, and I couldnt tell if he was a boy or a girl in the dream..all I remembered was the big big eyes of the baby..n true enough Y came out with big big eyes exactly like in my dream..haha.

Chairs,
Yep, I think PCF environment is more Chinese-speaking. Hubby and I are worried that Soph will be handicapped in Chinese just like him!
I did a little research online and found that some PCFs are more "high-class" and even have Speech and Drama classes outsourced from Julia Gabriel as enrichment classes, but unfortunately the ones in Bishan do not have these centres. Think the nearest is Serangoon. If Bishan has, I actually wouldn't mind trying it out... just that some friends grumble that their kids are always down with HFMD with PCFs, but I guess it's the indiv centre's hygiene standards.

I also had a dream that Soph had big eyes when preggers with Soph last time! Her eyes are not exactly big, but hee, big enough for hubby.

Hey, I heard from my neighbour that you guys played the parachute today huh? Must be so fun! Too bad Soph could not attend.
I think she should be ok to attend this Thur, cos she hasn't been coughing much today.
How's Yael?

wow suddenly everyone's back...

can i use swaddling blanket as a receiving blanket to wrap the bb when bringing her out of hospital? when u all start to wwash their clothes and pack ur hospital bag?

smurfy, isnt swaddling blanket same as receiving blanket? I bought the swaddling blankets from Mothers work at tanglin mall, comes in 3 in a pack. I started washing Ashley's clothes in stages from nov onwards cos she was borned 31 dec.

huskie, i have problems with mandarin too. Ashton tends to speak mandarin with a heavy english accent. My mil is trying to correct it, his teachers in school told me its natural for kids in pure english speaking familes to speak this way initially.

I use the swaddling blanket as blanket at home. Still using at night for Ashley. She will wear a sleepsuit from Mothercare and in addition, we will wrap the swaddling blanket, but not really swaddling, more like covering her with the blanket and tucked in underneath her body.

Good to see everyone is back!

gak,
baby and me are doing very well now
No more blood clot.

Cherryale,
Does Ashley sleep in air-corn room? I've always wanted to try swaddling but Xinfaye easily gets hot.

cherry,
At least Ashton speaks Mandarin. Soph wouldn't even want to speak mandarin most times, and when she does speak, it's the same, with English accent.
She goes to a playgroup which has both an English and Chinese teacher now, and I have seen some progress in that she comes home singing Chinese songs and is more open to speaking Mandarin.
That's why I was afraid that if I put her in Chiltern, she would regress in her whatever pathetic Chinese she has "mastered" so far

Handy Sealer: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2595887.html?1245647757

Good for sealing up food etc... I thought it'll be useful if I do decide to bake cookies for Teacher's Day that sort of stuff

thanks mommies for ur concern

luckily by evening i dun c any suspicious looking brown stains..
this morn too!

saphira
GREAT!

must be v relieved uh!