(2007/02) February

huskie, the timing is super weird huh.. anyway, you'll likely to stop at the end of this year? Alamak, really headache, dunno what to do with Bettybetty.. just keep her at home and let her drive me nuts?

yellow and orange uniform OK lah.. I really hate those with green or tartan.. :p

yep, will stop end of this yr, cos if soph goes to kids class next yr, i don't think she can take 1230noon-3pm timing... it'll be her nap time and she'll be so cranky!

too bad our kiddos are too young for those hol camp type of programs, otherwise i think nafa and act3 have pretty good programs.
hee, go to charis' school?

Distance, distance.. trying to find something around this area with good reviews. Trying to avoid neighbour childcare centres, not my kinda thingie. So when will your hubby decide on where to send Soph?

Saphira..Glad tat yr pregnancy is coming along fine! Is yr gal still on bf?

Huskie..Brightstart fees seems ok..hmm..had impression its much more ex..but I find 1 1/2 hours dont give mummies much time to relax, go to n fro half hour gone alrd. Of cos unless u are in for the program..think they should have a good program.
Yup Its true that usually speech n drama, musical theatre programs are for older kids.
If u have a group of mummies keen on a structured holiday or on-going program in bishan/north area or someone's condo function rm..I can arrange for a teacher to come..or myself.
By the way, have u seen my website?

Catz..ELC always have holiday breaks leh..then have to think of ways to entertain these tods!
Ms Has sometimes conducts holiday programs at Genuis r us. U know that one of the mothers at ELC, Violet, owns Genuis R US right? Not sure if she still sends her daughter to ELC though.

I have unstructured playgroup almost weekly at my plc, n so far organised excursions to the horse stable, pet farm, park, IKEA, East Coast.
SAHMs do feel free to join us..can update u on next outing.

I have GNO tmrw nite! So long didnt go out with the gals..actually all mums..its our own mothers day treat..I would hav prefered high tea..cos of the yummy desserts...but some of them r working so can only meet at nite. Anyone been to the Pump Room at Clarke Quay? Nice food? Unfortunately I dont know how to drink beer haha..cos they have a mini-brewery there.

Catz,
Dunno about next year leh - now we're having second thoughts about whether I can cope with lugging a 3-mth old infant to fetch Sophie to Singapore Montessori even if I take the car and drive. So I'm wondering if I should keep Soph in Brightstart till June 2010?
Brightstart is really good - I love the English teacher... she's so observant and patient. Kids in my neighbourhood all love her... they come back and keep talking about her! But timing for 3-yr olds sucks.
Sigh, decisions decisions!

Charis,
Yep, Brightstart fess are not that expensive. It's not parent-accompanied, so 1.5hrs is really not enough for me. I practically have to brisk-walk home to eat breakfast/cook lunch/do laundry then rush back again to pick up Soph. Otherwise I will just hang around at J8 for a lazy breakfast and then Soph either eats a simple porridge lunch or eat out at J8/library after class.

Yep, I have seen your website! I like it, esp the "resources" page witht eh PDF on the brain-dancing

Really wanted to try it out, but hubby grumbles that as it is now, Soph doesn't have much beach/zoo time cos her Sunday is taken up with Shichida and weekdays with school, which leaves us only Sats to do these non-class things.

I also have unstructured playgroups with my neighbours weekly, in fact... more than once weekly cos we will just meet impromptu most times at any of our homes.
I can book my place function room, but the silly management charges $10 for half day. I'm also not sure how we can go about a structured holiday program at the function room leh, cos the floor is dirty, so means we bring mats or what?
And I'm not sure if my neighbour playgroup mommies are willing to pay for a teacher to come?
You let me know your ideas and I'll see if it works for Catz and us and my neighbour mommies, or if we have enough SAHMs in Feb thread, we can also stick to our own thread mommies.

Hi huskie
CONGRATS!
u're expecting a boy or girl?
keke..my planning missed leh
but hoped can hv early delivery! haha
EDD's 12Jan gg to quit my job liao
hv quite bad MS

Cherryale,

i due in July.. so planning to get one by then..

else if i can get a good deal from any mummies in the forum giving up their freestyle i might consider cos save the hassle of waiting for it to import anyway both will have no warrenty.

just need to get new parts for those in contact with the milk.

actually what needs to be replace for hygien purpose? can share?

huskie, Charis, what a good idea.. hey what's Charis' website?

gak, congrats.. u finally announced it

huskie, don't worry, you can do it!! I lugged Beth to Marymount every single day. Newborns are as light as a feather... only thing is that you'll probably need to get the feeding out of the way first. Agreed that lessons starting at noon are just too awful for words.

Pump room - I went last year for a friend's hen night.. the live band is superb! Had to leave earlier though 'cos my boobs were bursting full of milk :p

Gak,
Congrats. So you still flying now that you are preggies?

Huskie/Charis,
If you girls having the holiday program in June can count me in also. Can bring him cos I'm still on maternity leave till Aug.

Ryan is starting nursery next week at Jubilee Church Kindergarten at Outram Road. I know it's quite funny cos next week is actually last week of school. But the principal is allowing him to come in for a 1 week trial before the actual one in term 3 which starts end of June.

gak,
CONGRATS!

So when are you going to quit? Why don't you just take no-pay leave so you can still keep your job, as with #1?

As for my #2 gender, we're planning not to know
and gynae this time has very good bedside manners, respecting our decision... so he will pull the scanner away whenever he sees anything that hints at the gender of baby.

Catz,
Eh, how you know gak is already preggers?!
Don't tell me you also have pregger radar like Winnie?

smurfy, Catz,
Not sure if Charis ok to post her webbie here leh... I'll leave it to her to post herself

Catz, chocbabe,
As for the structured hol program, ok, let's keep our discussion here and update one another... first we need to see how much Charis' charges are and how many mommies are interested and if it'll work out.

huskie, no lah, gak was asking about gynae a couple of weeks back.. she told me
I don't have the sixth sense that Winnie does!

Yep let's see how it goes for June hol prog.. 'cos honestly I do not know what to do with the 2 monkeys :p

sunsweet, think there are people selling freestyle in WTS but its not cheap as they bought at higher price in Singapore (FFY). The Freestyle box states that breast pump is a personal item and due to the design, it should not be passed around as it will have cross contamination. I prob wouldnt buy a second hand pump unless i know the person, even then, i will think thrice

There are replacement parts for freestyle which u will definitely need to get if you are getting preloved.
1) spare part set which consists of 2 sets of valves, backcover, frontcover. This is the item that holds the breastshields. Comes in a pair.

2) breastshields - 1 pair

3) freestyle tubing

You can order from spree which is much cheaper than getting from mums & babes. I stocked up the spare parts in case anytime anything is spoiled, I dun have to panic

Gak, congrats!!! Good to take a break from work and concentrate on having a good pregnancy. Hope your MS gets over soon.

Hi ladies..
Posting so late cos jus got back home from nite out with some mums..had a few urgent emails to attend to..so still awake.

Garfield..Pump Room, food not bad, live band good. Can consider goin with yr friends.

Congrats Gak! U still flying? Do take break when u need to.

Huskie, Catz, Smurfy, Chocbabe..
Thanks for the interest..
I can post my website..but fees think I'll email u all or can I msg u all thru facebook? Anwyay if we can find a place for the classes, fees will be much lesser than if they were held at SOHO..cos the rent there is quite exorbitent..it is not my own place..my friend has a music and dance studio which he is willing to rent to me..but quite costly. If we keep it to Feb thread, I don't mind give u all a good discount haha.
We can discuss timing here..
But I suppose weekday mornings are good?
Yes I do need to know how many are interested..and if Huskie's plc's function rm is accessible for the rest..or do we hav to consider other venues?

Huskie..Glad u like the website. I will post more resources in near future..will update u and the rest of cos if I post new stuff.
Hmm..we would have to give the floor a mop..dont really need mats..only for the babies class..but if mopping is not convenient, then a few bumper mats or a big canvas mat will do.

Website- www.nurtureworks.webs.com
Sorry didn't post earlier..cos I jus launched it last week I think..sent some messages thru facebook but think I may hav missed some of u.

Happy viewing ladies..I did it myself with lil' bit of hubby's help..so its kind of simple..Do download the resources.

Thank you very much mommies

actually dun hv the intention to quit yet cuz expenses a lot more than before
but had a bad time coping with my MS overseas
so i'm officially off duty now..haha

huskie
me also resigned the last time with #1
some of my colleagues, even my hubby suggest taking NO PAY Leave to have a baby now
but my company doesn't allow that le
can save me the trouble of re-applying for re-employment..keke

catz ah catz
hehe..
it was still very early when i found out
now also still early, only 6weeks

yummy mommy (fat_babe)
haha..yup now i'm hoping for 31dec or 1jan baby

Gak, congrats!

ya it better not to fly ard now esp with this swine flu. take care!

charis, catz,
ya my fren also love pump rm say live band good... so many good comments haha. anyway, my fren will do booking.

Charis,
yeah, discussion of fees over Facebook will be good. Maybe you can send a combined message to Catz, chocbabe and I, and we work out the costs to see if it's feasible. I checked out with my neighbours yesterday - think we'll have to rely on our own numbers... don't think they're keen to pay for any class cos most of their kids go to school anyway.

As for timing, Soph's class this term will end on 10 June, so I can do mornings any days after 10 June.

As for function room, if we do it there, there'll be some things to note though:
- Booking Fee $10 for each session
- I think Session 1 is 10am - 3pm; Session 2 is 4pm to 10pm
- I don't have any portable CD player, so if we need that, someone will need to bring
- Yes, we'll need to mop the floor each time before lesson starts... quite troublesome?
- Bumper mat/canvas mat: I only have one bumper mat that is currently in Soph's room, so we'll still have to mop the floor clean before putting it there, but it's only a small mat, good for eh, 3 kids max? I don't have any canvas mat (not sure what it is anyway).

Logistically, I think your friend's studio/proper classroom may be better for a structured class? Not sure about location though, cos I may not wanna travel so far with a big belly and lugging Soph along just for class.

gak,
I didn't know you resigned the last time!
Woah, your timing for your year-end baby is really quite good :p

Hope your MS will be better soon!

Catz,
I remember you mentioned Timo used to go to Pat's Schoolhouse?
Is it any good? Expensive?
Do you think Chiltern House or Pat's is better?
Just doing my research on kindie, and found that Pat's has a branch at Halifax Rd near KKH which is decently near my place.

huskie, yes Timo used to attend saturday d'story club at Pat's Schoolhouse , the Lim Ah Pin branch. In fact, y'know my friend that I was visiting that day at Bishan Loft? Her boy attends Halifax, she lugs her newborn along to send him if her Dad doesn't swing by to get her son.
But a lot of ERP along that route hor.. OK actually my friend is Pat Koh's daughter.. haha.. that's why she die die has to send her kids to Pat's Schoolhouse, lucky woman. I would have loved Timo to continue to Pat's but it's just too pricey lor

Charis, yes do start a chain mail going on Facebook.. I may have a friend whose daughter is born Oct 09 who may be interested too.

Gak..So u off duty now? Leave? My friends from SIA all kena take no-pay leave at least twice a month. Yr MS morning kind or evening kind? Haha..Funny..cos I heard most women complain their MS is evening time..contrary to the term "Morning" sickness.

Garfield..Frm wat I notice a lot of ang mohs at pump rm. The band only starts playing at 10:45pm though.

Huskie, Catz..yes logistically a studio is more appropriate cos of the equipment, but otherwise still may need to put a mat on the floor or mop..they dance with only dance shoes or barefeet..no street shoes allowed..but still for the kids I prefer "cleaner" floors..haha. Furthermore how abt distance? Not sure abt Chocbabe though..isnt Bishan too far for her?

Rent at $10 per session is quite ok..studios charge up to $65 per hour!

As for mat, those picnic/canvas ground sheets kinds r good enough too.

Think my MIL has a portable music player, hav to check.

Anyway let me work out the fees n possible days/timings n msg u all thru facebook by next tues..plus a sort-of like chain main so u can forward to friends..thanks ladies!

Thanks garfield!

this swine flu thingy getting worst!

huskie
haha..am quite surprised myself too
cuz can consider accident ;)
didn't get preggie during my most fertile period
may i ask u a qn?
if u dunno the sex of ur baby..then how u prepare the clothings & stuff?

charis
i resigned

it's their T&C..
my MS lasts the whole day!
except when i'm sleeping...keke
most time gets worst during the nite..& when v hungry
btw i'm always feeling hungry! been eating non-stop but small portions
this morning was especially bad, puked after brushing my teeth *yucks*

Catz,
Thanks for the info on Pat's. And yes, I heard from a neighbour at my block that Pat's owner's daughter stays at the other block, but he mentioned that the original owner of Pat's has already sold off the school?

Hmm... didn't know the Halifx route has a lot of ERPs... thought I can go by Marymount-Thomson-Moulmein that route. Lim Ah Pin is quite far from my place I think.

Eh, your friend's dd born in Oct'09? That's the same as my EDD, so not born yet?

Charis,
Yeah, logistically it will be a nightmare cos we would have to mop the room... I'll have to lug my mop down and mop the place, and if Soph behaves herself, then OK, btu if not, it'll be a logistic nightmare.
Eh, I think some picnic groundsheets will slip leh... I have seen kids running on those filmsy groundsheets and falling cos of the creases.

Yes, let's see if the days/timings work out well first.

huskie, hehe, salah.... 07 :p Yes Pat's has been sold off but it's only ownership which has changed hands, not management I think. It's quite hush hush? Thomson ERP is $2 leh.. my friend goes TPY way, she says it's the most economical.

Huskie..Those magic cleaner mops do u hav one?..those disposable wipes kind..I use tat in the dance studios..I can give the plc a quick mop, anyway I should be bringing my "PA" for classes, or an asst teacher, so u not need not worry tat u hav to mop cos u preggy la haha..As for the canvas groundsheet..yup it is quite slippery..so thinking use those bed sheet spread types..cos ELC use something like tat..its only for the floor activities/warm-up..after tat can remove.

charis
thanks for the website.. ;).... u have done so much despite looking after Y urself.

gak
congrats on ur pregnancy

huskie
err pat's intake might be full for next yr.. u have to check it out with that branch... even for that ulu ulu Lim Ah Pin branch... intake for next yr is limited onli to siblings and d-story club members for the time being.

charis
QY cries non-stop in his wkend parent accompanied class now, when he does not get what he wanna (ie. play outdoor cars instead of going for music session).. it's been about 2-3 terms oredi.. in the past, he's distractive but not a nuiscance to the rest of the grp lor..(onli recently with the change in maid and as my pregnancy progress)... do u think i shld let him continue the class or temporary withdraw him for next term? i think all parents cannot tahan us oredi.. other kids is one parent in the class.. the teacher's kind enough to let both me and hb participate..

Smurfy..Thanks for yr interest..Quite ok la, manageable workload so far..I hav a friend who stand-bys to teach with me or take some classes..so I still take care of Y most of the time..otherwise he spends some time with my mum-in-law..cos he needs to buck up his mandarin..Y speaks malay much better than mandarin..so my hb n in laws are "worried", so knows tat he needs to spend more time with them..hehe.

Rdg QY's weekend class..toddlers are very assertive at this age..but he also may be seeking attention like u said cos of the new maid and the pregnancy..so do be patient with him..but u also hav to be firm..anyway is it a music n mvmt class? Not sure of the nature of the class..so jus give u general tips first..
Eg, tell him he can play within the class..but not outside..if its a sit down kind of class then maybe he's jus not ready..or he's jus the kinesthetic learner..like Yael..very active..give ample of opportunities to move, but u should hav a set time where he sits down n participate in activities.
If he throws a tantrum, give him a time-out at a corner or if u hav to bring him out of the class, ignore screams, dont get worked up by it, when he calms down, ask him if he wants to continue in the corner, or join the class.."entice" him that class is fun, but if misbehave then hav to go for time-out because its disturbing the other children..try to let him see the consequences of his actions.

Charis, got your FB.. will talk to hubby but timing and price sounds really great. I'll see if any other friends are interested.

smurfy - QY probably needs more time but I think Charis has very very good pointers, she's the expert, listen to her.. keke.

Charis,
Just checked your FB message and Soph's calendar. Price is great, but I can't commit one session/week over 5 weeks cos Soph's hols starts from 15 June that week and only lasts for 2 weeks. Her school reopens on 29 June.

I've thought about letting the session and school overlap starting 29 June, but I think timing is a problem cos this term her timing is 9-1030am, and the teacher has told me that she'd like to move Soph to the older class from 1030am-12noon if there is any vacancy there. The thing is, she wouldn't know if there is any vacancy in the older class till the end of this term i.e. mid June.

Think this school hol program will only work for me if it's within the 2 weeks, or it'll work better for those who are not going to school for the whole month at all.

smurfy,
Yeah, I think Pat's is prob full... I also called up Chiltern House - the waiting list is 40! *faintz*

any mummies knows abt Appletree Playgroup?

last night was asking my MIL if we should consider sending Lil J for daily 2-hr appletree playgroup next year. so she can have sometime with #2..

Why I ask her? Bec she was the reason for me to withdraw Lil J from her Childcare in Mar... So this time I'll ask her for her opinion....

Catz, how your elder one start off school? I suppose she do cry initially but how you deal with her seperation anxiety??

I very trouble by this.. cos my MIL 101% softhearted kind. so i think she will have bad seperationg anxiety with Lil J...

He Who Idolise You...

... stands by the gate while waiting for you to come home from work.

... makes you sit down by the sofa just to watch him play.

... sits by your lap playing with the soup spoon while you eat dinner.

... runs after you the moment he realises you are away from his sight.

... waits patiently outside the toilet door while you bath.

... watches you pee and shit in fascination, all the while refusing to leave the smelly toilet.

... calls out "ma-ma" in his sleep with no apparent reason.

... screams "ma-ma" during his nightmare and expects you to sleep besides him thereafter.

charis
it's those 1.5hrs class where there is a combination of story telling, arts n craft, snacks time, music and outdoor...

sometimes during story telling, i will let him hold onto a toy so that he will sit down but very fast, he gets restless and runs off to the toy area (in the same room).. but thing is whenever i tell him teacher is showing him something, he runs back quickly to see.. then after that when he's bored, he runs off again..

he does not want to be in the class. his idea of school is to play with cars coz there are plenty of coupe cars outdoors..

actually hor, i seldom lose my temper with him, when he throws a tantrum, most of the time, i still can talk to him calmly.. and ignores what goes on and continue coaxing, distracting him.. just that the maid and the hb suffers from my bad mood thereafter :p.. it's only when i think i am losing my cool at him, then i will ask hb or my mum to take over.

Charis,

I actually replied on FB, Ryan also starting kindy 29 June, just like Soph. His class is at 1130, so will be really rush for me cos his school is in Outram.

Unless we squeeze in the 5 sessions in the 2 weeks, after 15th (cos soph only has hols after that) and before term starts on 29th June.

Huskie,
Chiltern list 40? I called St James for Ryan and his queue number will be 116! Madness! Apparently these parents sign up their kids even before they are born.

Decided not to wait cos he will never get to go to school if wait for St James. So signed him up for a church kindy near my place called Capstone Kndergarten.

Sunsweet,
My nephew goes to AppleTree near my mum's place in Yishun.
It's pretty good, but I think different centres may have different standards so it'll be hard for me to comment.

smurfy,
I think it's normal for boys to be so active and not sit still in class. The 2 boys in Soph's Shichida class are the same... always climbing around, even on the tables! The mommies just tell them nicely but firmly and then take them out of the room for a short time-out session if they do not listen to the mommies.

Yes, I know jas was looking at Chiltern too. Her Xi is in JG Playclub, so I think she gets some priority in the queue if she does decide to queue for Chiltern.

chocbabe,
I also replied on FB - technically, it is almost impossible for me once Soph starst school too, cos I still don't know which class she'd be in.
And yes, seems like the only way is to squeeze in all 5 sessions in the 2 weeks.
Once we can confirm this and the exact days, then I'll do a quick check/booking to see if the function room is available.

hey, I heard St James Q is crazy, but I didn't know it can be more than 100!
Don't think I will wait for Chiltern too.... need to source for other schools now!

smurfy, wah you got stalker ah?
GOod luck when baby arrives, your stalker gonna get even more obsessive.. hehe. It's sweet lah.

Charis, chocbabe, huskie, I'll be away from 3-7 June on church camp.. hmmm, my suggestion is this - twice weekly so total of 4 sessions for those 2 weeks? Boleh?

St james - funny, all my friends got in last minute but that was previous 2-3 years.. now hot stuff.

Huskie, so you not gg Singapore Montessori already? Alamak...

Catz, Chocbabe, Huskie..I replied u all at FB.

Smurfy..Maybe QY is not ready to sit and listen..anyway toddlers got really short attention span..at least he wants to go over and see what is the teacher is up to..haha.
Personally as a teacher, I'm ok with these kind of kids, they are learning..you'll be surprised although they are moving they are listening to the songs, etc.
But once they are 3 years old, I believe we can expect longer attention span.

charis
i know he listens (Selectivelyyyyyyyyyy).. but he's creating a nusicance to the rest of the kids/parents... so me thinking whether to withdraw him for a term or let him continue..

gak/catz
yah yah.. cannot even shit in peace now.hahhahaa... errr i think hell will break loose when his sibling arrives... *taking one day at a step now*..

Smurfy, be thick-skinned? Or if you feel you wanna stop his lessons before baby's arrival, then stop lor.. aiyah you must be so stressful. I know it's v pai say if your kid keeps interrupting the lessons.

Charis, OK will reply on FB.. but I think the twice weekly one Tuesdays and Thursdays would work well for me.

charis/catz
his teacher called.. to check whether i am signing up for next term.. told her my concerns..told me to let him come to class earlier, so that he can play with the cars.. or if he misses half of the 9oclock session (coz obessed with the cars outside), he can join the 11oclock session.....

huskie,

Xi is on waitlist of Chiltern House. She has stopped attending JG after term 1 so no priority for her in the registration. However, most likely I will register her for the Bethesda Kindergarten at Pasir Ris as it is within walking distance from my aunt's house and heard good comments on the kindy. Just called the kindy and glad to know they still have vacancy for pre-nursery. We will visit the school tomorrow and if ok, will register her on the spot. Just in case if Xi is not used to China and we have to leave her here in sg with my aunty, she can still attend the school conveniently.

re. waitlist in school...

actually alot of parents like jas lor... apply for waitlist and go to other schools first... so in the endddddddddddddd, the actual waitlist might not be that long, if these kids settled down in the other schools...

jas
when r u going china? r ur kiddos following direct or after u settled in?