(2007/02) February

huskie,

Our car is an altis also. I let Ru used the Hipod car seat which Xi used to use when she was younger. Bot from John Little during sales. Think cost only S$250+-. We bot a bigger car seat for Xi from Australia during our last visit in Aug last year. We place Ru's car seat at the middle seat and Xi's behind the driver seat. Each morning i carry Ru with my left hand, the medela bag on my left shoulder, my handbag on my right shoulder, hanging the cooler bag and another plastic bag on my left arm, and hold Xi with my right hand to and fro my flat and our car park. When putting them to the car, i will first put the barang barang at driver's seat, then open the passenger door which is behind the driver's seat, ask Xi to stand beside me holding my pants or skirts, then put Ru to her car seat, fasten her seat belt, and lastly, put Xi to her car seat. If my hubby is around then things will be easier. He will help me carry the medela bag and carry Xi.

Here's a picture to show u how our car seats arrangement like:
2467925.jpg

jas
haiz.. the poor girls.. they are still in their sleepwear and ah-xi still carrying her smelly pillow... feel so sorry for them (QY inclusive) that we have to wake them up so early and ushered them out of our houses to caregiver's place..

smurfy,
I am also not a milk person - only drinking soy milk now.
Whatever milk/goat sweet/tablet tasting I need to do, I ask my hubby to do it, that's why I know Karihome is a lot sweeter than Ripple, which is just milk-tasting.

Hey, can I ask what TCM stuff you take and roughly how you cook them?

jelly,
I didn't know you were using a Hipod car seat - I thought you used a Maxi Cosi all along.
Thanks for info - I'll check it out at JL.

Woah, really not easy handling 2 kids. Think I will be like you every day of next year when Soph goes to school. Hubby has offered to pass me the car to fetch Soph to and fro school everyday, and I will be lugging #2 along. Schoolbus is not an option as Soph will end up on the schoolbus for 1hr 10mins, which is not very ideal for a 3yr old.

smurfy,
Forgot to answer you - liquid calcium can be bought OTC at Guardian and Unity. Mine is Osteocare brand from UK in liquid form - dairy free and suitable for vegetarians even.

huskie
u refering to now ar? my mum will double boil for me either one of these every week or every 2 wks..

1) bird nest with some pao sheng
2) cordepys with some pao sheng

she hardworking lar... will use charcoal to double boil :p

for myself, i take EYS bottled birdnest whenever i feel like it... and EYS chicken essence to boost energy level?

actually hor.. i think it's all about that particular pregnancy leh.. i mean i took all that in 1st pregnancy but still felt like a dead person... but this one is just so energetic? but i believe in good confinment lor?

http://www.singapore-attractions.com/coupon.pdf

Singapore Pass
<font color="0000ff">covers 20% off on
- cheng ho cruise
- escape theme park
- fort siliso
- images of singapore
- mint museum
- national orchid gaden
- red dot design museum
- sentosa 4d magix
- singapore discovery center
- songs of the sea
- merlion
- wILD wild wet</font>

<font color="ff0000">$2 off on each admission ticket
- butterfly park
- chinatown heritage center
- hippo tours
- jurong bid park
- night safari
- singapor duck tours.
- singapore flyers
- singapore river cruises
- singapore zoo
- snow city
- changi museum audio guide tour
- underwater world</font>

I'm the only milk person in my entire family. The rest of 'em treat milk like poison. Thankfully my kids have no issues with milk intake :p

smurfy, waaaah charcoal to double boil???? WAH LAU EH.. die hard

huskie, the Britax First Class has never gone into the Altis.. I bought it for my parents' car but no problems lei. It fits into my Dad's VW Golf and the Renault and previously our old Vios too. But er, don't remember if it was ever rear-facing in the Vios.. hmmm.. I do remember that for both kids, I used the rear-facing Graco and Maxi Cosi carriers for quite a long time, think until 10 months plus. Preferred to do that as could lift the kids up in the carrier without having to wake them from their sweet slumber
Don't forget to check crash safety ratings. I only remember Britax and Maxi Cosi getting good ones. Cosco were rated death traps and I can't remember a few other v badly made ones.

As for your hubby letting you have the car, good on him. Many guys are so selfish, wanna hang on to the car for themselves. It'll be easier for you to ferry Soph to school and also for grocery shopping. Same for me, school bus ain't an option. Have you seen the way they drive???

jelly, I wanna pinch Ruru's cheeks. SO CUTE!! The girls are so adorable in their car seats.. so they never give you trouble for the long car rides in the mornings and evenings? So clever...

Huskie,

u was told preggies should not be taking too much soya bean pdts.. u can do a search on that .

I read it is not good esp if you are expecting a boy

smurfy,

U have sharp eyes! The photo was taken around 7 plus on our way to my aunt's place. Ya, very heartpain to see them have to go through such long journey everyday.

huskie,

Can Sop's existing car seat be converted to infant seat? Better to get one which can last them till toddlers. The Hipod start getting uncomfortable on Xi when she was 1.5 yo, tat's why we got a bigger one for her and let Ru use the smaller Hipod. Once Ru is older, she will take over the bigger car seat and Xi shd be big enuf to use booster seat.

Catz,

Recently they are better. At the beginning, Ru will cry half way through the journey till her voice coax and it did not help that there is always traffic jam along AYE and the road outside my flat, and the journey from PR to Clementi can last for 1 hour. That's why we are thinking to shift to the East to be nearer to my aunt.

Hummm, I've also heard that excessive soya intake isn't v good. Huskie, better go check it out!

jelly, wowee, think you also better shift to the East.. or hmm, is your China thing happening soon?

jas
hey, shifting to the east? so is the relocation plan put aside?

QY oso ushered out of the house by 705am and returns home onli betwn 9pm to 10pm
..can imagine how tough it is for u to manage two kids in the mornings alone... sad life we are all leading hor...

Catz, Sunsweet,
Didn't know too much soy intake is not good... thanks, will check it out.
As for boy or girl, we don't know yet, but we're planning not to know

Catz,
Eh, thanks for the info on the car seat! I totally forgot about car safety ratings - told my hubby that and he thanked you for reminding us on that. Hee, I also told him you mentioned about taking sleeping baby out in the Cabrio bucket type of seat - he thinks I don't have the strength to do it leh! Says you are a wonderwoman :p

Hey, if you're doing any drugstore spree in the next week, can help me order these?
If not, it's OK, I may try and see if I can join other sprees.

Raspberry Tea - Qty: 1
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=95145&amp;catid=32592

Mother's Milk Tea - Qty: 2
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=82661&amp;catid=32592

Pregnancy Tea - Qty: 2
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=84554&amp;catid=32592

smurfy,
Thanks for the herbal stuff... yep, they're the ones I am asking about

jelly,
Nope, Soh's existing car seat is a Maxi Cosi Priori XP whihc is front facing only. When Soph was younger, hubby ex-colleague loaned us the bucket type of car seat, but we returned it to him already, that's why now need to get one for #2 infant stage.

I just saw that there is this Maxi Cosi Dori (which I have never seen before) that can do both front and rear facing, but cannot find any safety ratings on it.
http://www.baby-avenue.com/shopping/ShowProductDetial.asp?ProductId=Product776

Hi huskie, drugstore orders noted. Is it OK if I place orders on 1st June? Got GNC 20% discount la
Eh the cabrio not that heavy lah.. it's doable ... if you can lug Soph along on your hip, you can definitely heave the car seat out and fasten it to the pram, no problemo
Of course not immediately after C-sect lah.

Catz,
1 June OK. I should be able to get them by end June in SG yeah? That shd be fine with me cos I still have some Yogi Mother-to-Be Tea to last me till June

Hee, hubby thinks I am very weak cos of my size!

Eh, I tell you, I just told hubby to do some research on safety ratings for car seats... and now after watching some youtube videos, he wants to buy a new car seat for Soph to face rear until she is 4yrs old, like the Swedes!
He said it only takes 10miles/hr for an adult to get a whiplash, so for a kid, it would be worse or similar.
Looks like I'll probably be selling off my front-facing Maxi Cosi and buying 2 rear facing car seats soon!

smurfy,
Thanks for the Singapore Pass discounts!

It'll come in really useful fo me in June cos not going anywhere due to H1N1 flu virus.

huskie, yep, should be able to get 'em by end June!

Aiyah you are skinny but strong type lah.. and all that healthy *urk* stuff that you eat, lagi good
Heh, your hubby really very on.. but honestly a lot of those carseats they sell like Nania etc, I don't think they've ever been crash-rated at all! Agreed with the rear-facing but I think the kids would be so mad at not being able to see the TV screen. Keke.

Catz,
haha, I don't have TV in my mini Altis mah!
I'm only wondering where she is going to put her legs if we put her rear facing, cos the leg room is a problem.

Last night slept badly cos silly hubby showed me the youtube video - woke up at 3am thinking of the poor boy in video and thinking about what car seat to change Soph to!

smurfy,
Raspberry tea apparently helps to strengthen the uterus and prepare it for labour, and also calcium and iron in "its most absorbable form". Not that I am sure I will be going for VBAC :p but just in case keke
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/rasptea.html

Why don't you get a pack to try out? I like these tea bags cos more convenient than then Moms in Mind loose tea leaf type.

huskie
errr how many teabags per pack ar?how many packs u drink ar? then u got add any sugar/honey? kekeke i go get frm the punggol mummy :p.. easier to meet up and collect.

huskie, I am using maxicosi rear facing car seat for Ashley. If i can carry her in the car seat, i think u should be okie too.Its actually not as heavy as it looks.

jelly, ashley doesnt like to be in the car. She will cry almost every night when we drive home from mil's plc. Its like 9 out of 10 times. the only 1 time is when she slept already.

smurfy,
I only take one teabag a time. And I usually forget to drink, so it's probably one teabag every 2 or 3 days. Nope, I don't add any sweeteners to it.

Sometimes I take the Pregnancy Tea instead of raspberry one. The pregnancy tea has raspberry leaves in it too, but not as much cos it has other ingredients like nettle etc.

cherry,
Thanks for info. I think the Cabrio is quite manageable too, but now hubby grumbles the 3-point harness is not enough after watching those youtube videos... he wants the 5-point harness type, which basically leaves me with the big Britax type.

Huskie,
Xinfaye is using Safety first. Quite good. Got 50% off during Xinfaye's 1st birthday. Can hold up to 45kg in weight.

Huskie,
When do we start taking the Raspberry tea?

Went to see gynae last Saturday. No more blood clot. So happy. Baby very active. I am 13 weeks and 4days now. Going to Melbourne this Saturday. Very nervous as it is the first time I bring Xinfaye so far away. Somemore cold weather and the Swine flu cases.

smurfy, yes my massage lady same as cherry... same as rachel's too...

me been v bz at work. no time to see previous posts... just scan... hiaz.

Saphira, so nice to take a holiday. Don't be stressed, it's actually very manageable with your toddler. We brought Timo to Perth when I was 7 months preggo and we managed to go into the caves at Margaret River.. haha..

Chocbabe, cherryale, huskie and sunsweet, your drugstore loot is here, check thread for shipping:-
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2371976.html?1242716491

huskie, yah rear-facing got very difficult after 9 months 'cos it's so uncomfortable with their legs sticking out of the carseat. Aiyah tell your hubby just get a Britax 5-point harness for Soph can already lah, don't torture her with rear-facing and you please stop thinking about the car-crash boy k? Not a good thing for a pregnant lady to be thinking about gruesome things like that. Actually infant car-seats with 5-point, only my Graco has and it has fantastic safety ratings. Heavy like heck though.

smurfy, me hubby doing NDP, no holiday till after NDP finish then shortly after, he'll leave for Germany and then Afghanistan. Sigh. But we're going for church camp in June lah, better than nothing even if it's at some crappy hotel :p

huskie, I can drop by your place tomorrow since I'm dropping something off for a friend too, did you get my SMS?

magd, u dun scare me ok... zz also taking multivit with lysine (appeton?) now. he also take some fresh milk w cereal at times... dun wanna restrict his eating liao since he eating so little already.

tokin abt weight... my gal only 7.19kg nia... already 10mths!!!

Re. car seat:
Issue here is not just 5-pt harness - of course 5-pt harness is better than 3-pt even at infant stage, but hubby says rear facing impact is lower for neck.
Hee, maybe put Soph rear facing and then she has to cross her legs cos not enough legroom - poor girl!

Catz,
Transfer is done - payment ref is in your spree thread.
Thanks for dropping the items off this morning. your Beth is a beauty!

Saph,
So happy to know your pregnancy is going well.
I only started taking the teas from 4th mth onwards, ard 19 weeks... a bit kiasi to take so late, but better be safe than sorry.

So nice that you're going on holiday - enjoy yourself and don't worry too much.
Bring a few masks just in case there are sick people in the plane or anywhere near you in airport

Here's an excerpt from http://www.americanpregnancy.org/pregnancyhealth/naturalherbsvitamins.html
Red Raspberry Leaf - Rich in iron, this herb has helped tone the uterus, increase milk production, decrease nausea, and ease labor pains. Some studies have even reported that using red raspberry leaf during pregnancy can reduce complications and the use of interventions during birth.5 You may see pregnancy teas that are made from red raspberry leaf to help promote uterine health during pregnancy. (Read about herbal teas for more information)
There is some controversy about whether this should be used throughout pregnancy or just in the second and third trimester, so many health care providers remain cautious and only recommend using it after the first trimester.

garfield, my gal is 6.3kg at 4.5mths, already considered petite in the Jan09 thread cos their babies are all in the 7+ or 8+ categories. I have learnt not to compare since both my kids are tiny and as long as they are happy and feeding well, I am ok.

Sunsweet!

I love medela freestyle! so different from my previous used medela mini electric and avent manual pumps:

Medela mini electric: very noisy and the suction is not good, cant empty the breasts kind

Avent manual pump: very tiring but efficient at expressing milk from breasts. Bought this cos was going back to work and had to pump in the toilet.

Medela freestyle: quiet, can pump next to my baby, while having my meals, go online, typing, writing and all cos hands-free! Also efficient at expressing milk. The other functions, i dont used them at all. Maybe Cherryale can advise?

Heard ameda dual pump is also good

cherry,

ya i never compare them w other kids, but i tend to check the chart to see if they r in normal range.... G is in normal range but maybe in 10% range nia... hahhahaha

hey cherry, did you get my email on drugstore? Coming to collect your stuff?

huskie, nice to see Soph this morning.. she's getting to be so pretty! You look very glowy lei and of course your bump is barely noticeable.. lucky girl you!

huskie, wanted to ask you - How much are the fees at Bright Start? Beth's ELC class takes a break after this month so I'm looking at other alternatives for Bethany.

smurfy

I am now in state of agony now...wil pm u in awhile...hope to have some advicees from u..thank in advance

sunsweet, i like freestyle but I dun usually use the handsfree cos I find it cumbersome. so i will grab with 1 arm and use the other to type. Suction wise I find it similar to Swing (which is like PIS) the only difference is that it is a dual pump. I like the timer function, tells me exactly how long I have pumped. All other functions are pretty similar to swing so not much difference. Have not used ameda before but I was told by friends who used them that the quality is not as good. When do u intend to get the pump?

catz, prob will collect either thurs or fri? will tt to u tonight.

sales update.

lok yang fisher price sales
is here again
21 to 23 may
10am to 6pm
no 1 lok yang way

sunsweet/huskie..
50% off retail price at this place for pregnant mummies
http://sg.******************/articles/Kidzloft_50_percent_discount_voucher_pregnant_mums
Kiddy palace

some girls mentioned that KP having sales.. 15% for non members and 20% for members until end of this mth

choo
hur? what happened?

Catz,
Brightstart Montessori fees is $267/mth.
First time payment is $627 which inclu:
- 1st mth fee
- 1 mth deposit
- $40 for 2 sets of uniform
- $50 registation fee
- $3 insurance

Every class is only 1.5hrs since it's a playgroup. Classes are held daily.
Session 1 (Babes): 9am-1030am
Session 2 (Tots): 1030am-12noon

June is holiday mth, so if you're starting, it'll prob be July.

ELC taking a break means no classes till further notice?

smurfy,
Thanks for the sales info - the 50% voucher is such a good deal... unfortunately they do not carry Britax car seats.

huskie, thanks!!!

Alamak, need uniform ah? Cheyyyyy... :p Will ask my hubby.. oh June no classes ah? DARRRRNNN.. means my 2 monkeys will be at each other's throats :p

June:
1st week got class
2nd week only 2 days class, the next 3 days are Parent-Teacher conference
3rd &amp; 4th week are hols
So really not worth paying the full month's fees to start in June.

And yes, need uniform

You mean to say you thought I bought that ugly orange skorts that Soph was wearing today?! :p

Yep, Soph is in Babes class.... actually Soph reached the max age of Babes class, but cos she's never gone to school before, they start her in Babes class and then may move her to Tots class later on. But when I asked teacher last week, she said Tots class is already full.

huskie, aiyah she was sitting in the pram so demurely, I didn't really get to see what she was wearing lah.
Argghhh got uniform, so sian..

Catz,
If I remember correctly:
Babes is 18mths-26mths
Tots is 26mths-3yrs old
Kids is 3yrs old onwards

But Kids class timing is a bit weird... 1230noon to 330pm I think.
And my neighbour just told me today that Kids class have up to K1 level, but no K2.

Heh, yesp, their uniform is a bright yellow T-shirt with orange-coloured skorts/shorts.
Hubby says it's quite cute - the kiddos look like some fruit