(2007/02) February

catz
pet hotels cannot make it meh? tot those quite separate one... ur relatives leh? yah lar,me going back kampong, that cannot escape one lar..

smurfy, you forget I have no relatives in SG leh. All in KL. This doggy ah, that time we sent her for the $40 per day doggy day care at Turf City and she came back unable to walk... end up $200 over in vet bills.. cos she got a lot of health problems. So best is if she is kept away from other dogs. When you leaving/coming back?

catz... guess i will also "ah ah ah..." like u. Haha.... Thank god my PILs are very kind ones, tat's why they can stay peacefully wif my hubby's SILs.

Chocbabe, how are u? Ur hubby flew off oredi? Please take care ya and get as much help as you can from frens and family.

So fast cny SOON!!! I wanna eat the cookies too before i pop lei. Have been busy bringing the curtains and sofa cushions of both houses for cleaning last weekend, gotta do them before i pop.

Catz,

ghees i think if i were you I'll just pretend busy and let them sit at the living room.. they will be gone in a very short while when they see there's no one to entertain them.. hahaha..

actaully i also dun't know what to teach my gal so just to of counting.. ABC she's still not good at it.. but well she can name many daily items and can express her feeling, and wants I'm happy.

recently she will say "wo lei le." when she's tired and want to go home haha.. i was suprise by what she can say.. cos i dun think anyone taught her this.. haha ...

Gig,

yes Lil J is in MMI now.. but withdrawing her by end feb so she can start her full day CC in march.. giving her and grandma abt 5 mths to settle down with new arrangments b4 #2 arrives.

Jelly,
guess nearest to Clementi would be NUH.. at least they would handle quite a bit of deleivey cases.. facilities not too bad loh.. cos my GF gave birth there.

I also agree with the rest KKH might be the better choice if you can choose which hosp to go in case of emergency loh.. if no Jam from Clementi to KKH by PIE is abt 20 Mins..

jelly,
I checked with my MIL - she said it may be better for you to go to a pte hospital rather than a restructured hospital cos charges will be similar (cos you are PR)... I guess she also probably implies that you may get better service at pte hospital.

And yes, NUH do deliveries
My friend delivered there!

My gynae claims that MAH A&E is the cheapest, and so far, I have had good experience there compared to KKH.

smurfy, tentative plan is my sis cannot join us lor. Then my Dad bey song 'cos not whole family in KL for reunion, no point right? 6 adults, 3 kids held up cos of one mongrel with health problems. Sigh.

Sunsweet, tough lah 'cos my hb already siam them.. then I also siam means they sit alone in my living room ah? See lah, my hb also cannot stand his parents then he nicely buzz off and leave me alone with them. Basket. Eh last time we left them alone, my dear MIL went through all my cupboards macham inspection. V rude wan lor.

jelly, good that you have nice PILs... lucky!

jelly, good that u prepare yrself now. do keep the numbers by yr side n when the times comes, no panic just ask some1 to call for u.

catz, my hb also attribuite all bad behaviour or bad stuff of the kids to me. when i say some1 comment zz looks more like me, he say "they kind"
%&^&&

I also adopt ah ah hmm hmm now when talk to mil most times. cos i realise if i talk, she talk ten more sentences! haha so when i busy i just try to keep my mouth shut. can't imagine my hb is her son cos my hb is not talkative kind... haha

huskie, the problem is that if she goes into private hospital A&E, they will not have a gynae on standby in the A&E, they will have to page for one.. whereas with restructured hospital, they will have one on standby.. but agreed that restructured hospital not so value... but we're talking about emergency right? I have seen the emergency procedures at most major hospitals and my choice is NUH and KKH if I were ever in an emergency. Hehe.. that was my old job at MOH. :p

garfield, SAME! Prob kena talk talk talk until the son gone deaf and dumb. And hor my PIL will always insist that the kids are smart and good looking 'cos of their side. Biang.. my side all grads and doctors and they can insist on this.

huskie, so Marymount for Soph? She can enter pre-N with Beth. Hehe.

Catz,

OMG! they will go thru your cupboard? Then complaint?

Ghess can just pretend no one at home hahah then they dun't need to even come in to the house.

BTW your kids will not blurt out that "grandma so rude?" such kind of comments? keke..

of cos we as parents will correct the kids right after they blurted out the "rude" comment.. but its indirectly telling your ILs that they are VERY RUDE loh.

catz, my hb also siam his mum 1. but i dil cannot ley. then my hb still can sarcastic say i choose to talk to her. come on la! how can ignore? so just ah ah ah to faster end one conversation if it get bored lo.

chocbabe, tat time i also give FM as supplement for first few days. no pt stress up trying to give full bm cos main objective is to bring down the level. once ok, can always give tbm liao. tat time i pump to maintain my supply.

catz, ya maybe my hb is trained to be quiet? haha cos his bro is also quiet. my mil always comment they v good n clever boys. never let her worry 1. esp his bro. say he develop v fast at young age n always compare him to zz. he is also not zz father wat... siao. anyway, his bro smokes n drinks heavily... not married now n got many probs.

QY's teacher just called to say class starting this saturday.. so sweet, i like her so much..

catz
who's timmy teacher in pat's last time.and does marymount has a long long queue. i think horrrrrrrr my colleague oso frm marymount last time leh... oso 78 one... then the hb oso.... and the hb was a teacher there then.. for CNy in malaysia, most probably is drive in during CNY eve, when everyone eats their reunion dinner, there is no jam there... return arr.. i dunno... but i will definitely use no AL, sick, MS as the excuse to come back earlier lor :p at least i got let him go back lor :p

sunsweet, MMI is the montessori cc? Good that you found one now and lil J has time to adjust her school before the arrival of #2. Most likely we will only start Xi half day cc next year.

mummies, thanks for your feedbacks on the hospitals. NUH is definitely the nearest and I had operation there before that time for appendicitis. But i not sure how good is their delivery. See many mummies deliver in MAH and wif good comments, so kind of favour more on MAH. I guess have to depend on the situation when my labour starts to kick in later. If really urgent, then will go to the nearest liao (East Shore or NUH), else MAH. But Catz u mentioned private hospital no gynae standby one ya? MAH and East Shore are private hospitals?

Catz... Go knock ur hubby's head lah. His parents he shd be responsible to "entertain" them mah. I can't be bother! Ya, my PIL really nice to us DILs and to our families too. My MIL is a quiet kind but she is wise, even my mum commented so.

jas
how abt chiltern leh? sure got queue oso right? new term at d-story club.. -_-'... i will try to ask the teacher to keep a lookout for a available slot in may - jul period oso..

smurfy, JG students only get priority in chiltern if they spend minimum 6 months in a JG programme. Xi only starts her class this sat. Anyway will try register wif chiltern after her first few lessons.

Cherry..Wah nice yo get an upgrade..But didnt know Glen H is short of staff.

Huskie..Haha..Ya lor still got energy better do..was telling hubby wait for 2nd and 3rd one then start something..think forget it lah by then brain abit "rusty" to study also..now is the time!

I hav a few options actually..home or other mothers' home, childcare/kindy..or all of the above, depending on the convenience and suitability..enough space etc.

Catz..Let me know if u got any news from Aida.
Anyway..yr inlaws weird huh..maybe they were drunk or something haha. But think u quite used to them already rite?

sunsweet, which cc is Lil J gg?

garfield, your hb very bad leh. Still so sarcastic when you need to entertain his parents.

Catz, how can your MIL open your cupboard and check???????

Jelly,

The MMI I'm sending Lil J to now is just the enrichment center, she attending the playgroup session .. for her CC, it will be at another school, Presbyterian Community Services (Jurong West), which is 2 streets away.

sunsweet, it is a church school? walking distance from ur place rite? More convenient hor...

huskie, forgot to reply u. I did not transfer more lah. The effort u put in making the portable chair is invaluable. Thanks again!!! Most likely will use it for mei2.

Rgd my MIL opening cupboard, it's normal. Worse thing is that she will nicely help herself to your stuff and give it away. That time my hb came back from US, she took all his things and give here give there even though he had bought lots of extra gifts for everyone. Then my SIL said that when she stayed with them, a lot of stuff went missing.. in particular one bag. She asked them about it.. end up saw my FIL using it. :p My stuff - she will ask how much is this and that. V no manners type. What to do?

Charis, yes I have seen my FIL drunk quite a few times. Once he passed out on the floor. Sigh.

Smurfy, Marymount enrolment is in March.. if you enrol then, no waitlist. If you wait and last minute, then sure got waitlist esp for Pre-N. Hehe.. I actually have a few friends who were at Marymount the same time as me.
Smart, drive in on reunion night.. hmmmm... idea. Timo first teacher at Pat's was Miss Phebe but she has gone to another branch. Then became Ms Celine. Both v good. YOu thinking of Marymount ah? Don't lah, too far.. the little boy will be too tired from the travelling.

jelly, private hospitals operate differently from restructured 'cos in restructured, all the doctors are hired by the hospital. In private, each doctor has their own private practice. Hence if you admit via MAH A&E (like I was for my fainting spell), they will treat you as a general patient first and page the specialist.. and my specialist only came about 4 hours later. So that's why I recommend you go to an RH as it will be more immediate.

wow hot topic today is inlaws problems
Perhaps most hubbies are the same, our parents, we entertain, their parents we also entertain. Luckily my inlaws are ok, not perfect but good enough, except that my mil values her freedom a lot

Catz, your inlaws are really not v socially trained if they can open your cupboards. Yah your method of not talking and updating them on your life is prob the best then nothing more for them to say.

jelly, I believer all private hospitals will not have gynae on standby as they are private practitioners. Actually singapore is so small, best is to go to KKH or if private, u should have a gynae in SIngapore who can deliver for u?? East Shore A&E sometimes do screw up, A went there once and couple months later they called me and said I didnt pay. It was a case of wrong identity. I complaint big time to my friend who is running the hospital

Good that Ah xi is starting her class at JG this sat, think she will enjoy it as A liked it very much.

smurfy, chiltern q is much longer than Pats.

talking about CNY, mil just told me that I cannot visit anyone until I am out of confinement...haha, save me the headache. Was thinking of how to escape
Then she told me by the end of confinement must use dun know what leaves to clean myself and baby. She said my previous CL did that for me but I have totally no memory of that??? Anyway, this time round in order to save money, I am sending the CL back home on CNY eve so that I can pay her normal rates and not CNY rates which is 700+ more. So, I only have CL for 25 days compared to 2 months in the past. My hb better thank me for saving him money this time round

smurfy, hb is very busy these few days, had to go buy things everything. Seems like we dun have everything, and the CL will tell him today must buy this buy that...but of cos he will also take breaks to play golf
I dun really mind, since he doesnt do much at home and seeing him restless also sianz for me.

Ashley is now more comfy with the phototherapy thingi, maybe she is too tired and hence cant resist anymore. Tomorrow morning got to go for another blood test, hopefully she will be clear from jaundice and just require sunning.

Catz, we did on the aircon but i think she didnt like that she was naked??

A is a 'monster', so noisy the moment he comes back from school. Think he is taking to meimei quite well at the moment, he always go "wow" baby, baby when he sees meimei and likes to touch her. But u never know wait till meimei is bigger and can fight with him...

cherry, when you put Ashley in for long periods, it is v v hot.. maybe not hot today 'cos you didn't do it for the recommend timings? I remember Zach was sooooo hot so they had the aircon running but of course not directly blasting at the phototherapy container. Glad that you and your hb are enjoying confinement

Catz,
Eh, I think my MIL assumes that no matter how emergency it is, it would still be in time for gynae to be paged?
Cos the hospital would normally have midwives there, and I would believe that the experienced midwives are good enough for normal smooth deliveries. I was delivered by a midwife!

As for Marymount, yes, I am keen on it. Do you know what day in March the registration is?
Woah, your Beth can be put in church creche and not cry... I think Soph may cry if she sees unfamiliar faces!

Charis,
Yeah, lots of my friends who have #2 find that they don't have time to do such things anymore, so better do what you want now!
If you have #2, are you trying for VBAC?
Eh mommies, don't get me wrong, me not preggers yet, although I wish I will strike this month... but just kaypoh and asking to see if I have to go thru' C-sect again next round.

gak,
You also trying for year end baby? Hee, can start babydance now liao!

jelly,
Catz' explanation for the restructured hospital makes sense, esp. if it's really emergency and if your past delivery was fast.

huskie, I'll notify you.. they haven't confirmed the dates for registration yet. But yes, to be KS, best to go Q up at 7am..heh.. Yes I was sooooo shocked the first time we put her in creche. She was as cool as a cucumber.. all she kept repeating to the caregivers was 'Mummy coming back, mummy coming back'... that was about 5-6 months back? Hehe. So I'm quite confident that 'cos she follows me to kindy everyday, it will be totally OK for her from Day1.

You were delivered by a midwife?! I didnt' know that!

Catz,
Thanks! If reg happens to be a Sat, I'd definitely get hubby to go queue up at 6am!
Woah, your Beth so cool! Got very good sense of security!
Did Timo cry on his first day then?

Hee, yes, I was delivered by midwife... cos I couldn't wait, so popped out before doc arrived

My mom said she didn't feel anything much... maybe cos I was the 3rd child.
But for my subsequent twin brothers, she had a real tough time.

huskie, registration is always on a Saturday morning
Yeah Beth is really cool. Timo never cried either but he is probably slightly less independent than Beth, if I had to rate them. Luckily I had it v easy when it came to his first day in kindy. I was more teary than he was! Hehe.

Ohhhhh I thought you meant Soph was delivered by a midwife.. haha. Your mom had 5 kids? Eeeeeks.

Eh, no lah... Soph cannot be delivered by midwife... I would have died! keke
Soph was breeched, and I had to be C-sected!

That's why now finding out about VBAC if preggers with next kid, but soooooo terrified of wound rupturing!

Hee, yes, my mum had 5 kids
Very unconventional at a time when govt was encouraging 2 only and most pple had 2 or 3 max.
How many siblings do you have?

huskie, it's just me and my sis
Bad enough, I think! Hehe.. yeah I did recall Soph was a c-sect baby. I honestly am too chicken for vbac since my keloid is so bad.. bet you it will rupture. Anyway, moot point for me since I've closed shop. So you intend to continue with Dr Chan?

Catz,
Yeah, I am veryworried about wound rupturing. If really rupture, baby will be badly damaged leh.

Actually, blur me forgot to ask Dr. Chan if she allows trial of labour for VBAC leh. Hee, I was just so happy that the PAP smear didn't hurt that I probably chatted about other stuff with her!
Some docs who don't mind trying VBAC will give a trial of 8hr labour, but some, like my prev gynae, will not even consider VBAC at all.

huskie, rupture CAN DIE WAN LEH!!! When will you see Dr Chan next? I never asked her... hehe. Not relevant to me..

Catz,
I think I forgot about me dying... only worried about baby dying. Hee, if I die, still got hub to look after baby mah.
Aiyoh, will only see Dr. Chan if I get preggers lah... haha, not preggers go and see her, wait she think this housewife got nothing better to do!

Last month when I saw her, her machine could tell I was near the end of my ovulation cycle liao... so high tech! But I think I missed the ovulation window myself!
Anyway, I started beating around the bush, then she finally said that her machine is not so high tech as to tell if I am preggers at CD20! LOL

btw, she seems very familair with you... you guys go to same church?

i am just back frm visiting my friend @ tmc.. she delivered this afternoon and her bb is so cute!! i was telling my friend i wish i can carrry her bb home.

Catz,

i believe beth will have an easy start in marymount cos she is familar with the place. next mth when cherish starts her cc , i think i can hear screams and cries for a long long period b4 she settles down..

Catz..Wah serious ah yr FIL!
My MIL also can be quite difficult to tahan sometimes..cos she tend to be a bit nosey..she likes to talk n talk n comment..so I dont really like her to come over..Once my dad also dropped by when she was at our place..then my mum later told me that my dad asked her why my MIL soooo talkative n very particular..cos she was ordering me around my own house n commented about everyh single thing in the kitchen esp..hahaha..but she's much better now lah since we moved out of Bishan.

Huskie..Yup will try VBAC..of cos hopefully my gynae would be one that is pro-VBAC.
Anyway did some research on VBAC..wound rupture is virtually unheard of..meaning that it rarely happens in VBAC or otherwise..But avoid induction..n some gynaes would also say cannot have epidural.
So I think that gynaes who keep on saying wound will rupture are not very forthcoming..cos they probably just want u to do a c-sect cos they get to schedule u and of cos more $$.
For yr case, think got chance for VBAC..unless yr 1st one the case is like cervix didnt dilate, n labour didnt proceed. Its case to case. Cos some mothers just cant seem to go into labour..so their subsequent babies also same situation.

stella, welcome back! Hope that Cherish will adapt well to cc. Full day or half day? How's your MIL's treatment going?

Charis, yah my FIL can be quite terok. Anyway, with the in-laws, it's best to keep a wide gap.. just unfortunately we live a 10 min walk away from them. :p Your MIL is just bossy I guess!

huskie, hehe, you know I've been seeing Dr Chan since I was hmmm, 15? My mom and sis too.. plus a lot of my friends see her as well. Usually when either of us 3 go for appt, the other 2 or at least 1 will follow.
She's quite chatty once she warms up and yes, I guess she does spend extra time on consults catching' up. For some reason, she loves both Timo and Beth. I'm just v blessed to have a great gynae like her. Hehe.. you funny leh... you die then who will take care of the 2 babies? Your hb will be too lost to function!

Huskie,
my gynae refuse to let me have ryan naturally then also cos I had an op for fibroid and cyst abt 1 yr before i was delivering ryan. He say if i insist, i will have to sign some letter that says he will not be responsible if anything bad happens. Yah, like what catz says, it's the mother who can die one.... so we decided not to take the risk after that.

Catz, Jelly...
My hubby leaving this sunday. He will be in Perak for OBS for 3 weeks, so will be skipping CNY in singapore. So I'll be really all alone here. Must learn from Jelly to see how you survive when ur hubby is overseas. Especially now tummy so big and clumsy, really can't do much with ryan also.

After the 3 weeks, he will be back in Singapore for 6 months but can only come home on weekends. So that's why I've hoped to choose my C-sect date on 21st March (Saturday), so he can at least witness the birth, but have yet to discuss with gynae cos my next appt is 2 wks away.
My EDD is actually 3 Apr.

As for confinement, as the date draws nearer, I'm also getting quite scared, cos seriously, I am a control freak and I have to let go for alot of things, like bathing for ryan & meimei, etc. during confinement. Also, i dunno if i can cope with ryan sleeping with me at night with the C-sect wound, plus not to mention the breastfeeding and sleepless nights.

hee..so many post on in laws..

catz,
poor you!! tink i will scream at hubby if my in laws treat me like dat...very rude of them to say dat! & you dun look fat in anmyway lor...

I am e most unconventional DIL...if my in laws are not nice to me..i will make sure they know...my MIL is quite scared of me i tink...coz i quite fierce...but she's also rather tone down..so we haf quite a peaceful relationship...tink the tough ones are my own parents..which hubby haf to handle..

cherry,
hee..haven seen e pic..seldom log on FB..can post here not? seems dat you are recovering well...dun worry abt jaundice & full breast feeding yah...dun be so hard on yourself...e baby wun be able to choose full BF or formula milk at this moment...

jelly,
keke..waiitng for the moment...hey..i heard dat NUH is not bad you know...my auntie who had difficulty preg was warded there for almost 1-2 months...docs were nice to her...half my family are PRs...and they all go restructured hospital le...but i agree...i like MAH e best la..heee

huskie,
i hope you strike this month yeah....wah...means you and your siblings are expensives babies!!!....got to pay a lot of tax & less incentive during e time you guys were born...

catz, yr pil really v rude. how can they take things w/o asking?

huskie, my mil also deliver her 2 sons with help of midwife only. she say she felt NO pain at all. the doc also paiseh to accept her $ so in the end never take her $.

smurfy, u driving in msia on reunion nite? Then no reunion dinner for u???

catz, thanks for the info on the hospitals here. Guess i wld go for NUH when the time comes. Pray hard the little one won't come out from tomorrow to next tuesday when hubby is away.

cherry, is A still in JG class? Evans Road branch as well? Which class? Xi is joining the 9-11am bilingual class on saturday. Yay.... Hope she enjoys the class!

We also expect my CL to ask us to buy this and that as our kitchen in JB is seriously under utilised except for cooking porridge for XI and occassionally instand noodles. We dun even have cooking oil.

huskie, i also have 5 siblings. heehee... But it was quite common to have many kids back then in msia.

chocbabe, u really need all the help u can get while ur hubby is away. For me, my aunt and my younger sis who stays wif me help me a lot when hubby not around. My aunt has been telling Xi over and over again that mummy cannot carry her and she must walk by herself and Xi has no problem to stay over at my aunt's place sometimes i have meetings till late. My sis will help me ta pao dinner and play and read for Xi when i takes shower, have dinner and busy wif housework at home. Who is gg to help u during the confinement? I engage a CL, so not so worry that hubby is away during the confinement. But i do have the concern on how to take care of the kids next time, like transporting them to and forth their day caretakers, and juggling housework and taking care two of them when both my hubby and sis not around. But i will save the worry to later lah. No point worry now. Take one step at a time.

jelly,
my in-laws are staying with me, so i dun have to transport them actually. It's just that i have to learn to take it easy mentally cos like i mention i'm quite a control freak and when things are not done in a certain way, I get quite pissed off.... haha.

As for confinement, to save money, and due to lack of space, I decided not to get a CL. But i will draw up a menu for my MIL to cook, cos she's really clueless abt confinement.

By the way, she had a maid to take care of everything last time when she had her 2 sons. She was actually brought up very pampered. Never worked, never do much at home.

My hubby was complaining to me this morn abt my MIL cos she has no control over Ryan. She couldn't get him to change and go to school. Think tonight will have a long discussion about Ryan's childcare plans. I actually wanted to keep him at home till he goes kindy next year cos i felt this CC not very good. But after hearing what my hubby has to say abt my MIL, think may be better to just keep him in CC.

My PIL gives in to Ryan too much and have no control, no discipline. They also like to snack alot on junk food like crackers, etc. To me, you can eat all you want, but dun eat in front of my son cos kids will definately want to eat it. That night, when they were eating cheezels, and ryan asked for it, they just couldn't learn to say no.

To give them some credit, they do teach him quite abit of things also. By the way, Ryan is into Google and youtube now. He looks for planes, etc. We wanted to keep him home and draw up a schedule for him and a list of things to teach him, just that dunno if my in-laws have control to teach him.

Since i have 5 months maternity leave, was thinking of caring for him at home... dunno yet. Need to think through carefully cos mei mei will be born by then.

jelly, u r lucky tat u have yr aunt n sis to help u.

chocbabe, hope u can endure. i dun knoe how i cope cos i can't stay w ils!

actually having hb around is not always best cos my hb helps little w housework n kids. yesterday zz wans me to hug when he saw me playing w mei mei. in the end, i had to entertain them together but mei mei stuck in the cot cos cannot carry both of them together. then after a while mei mei also like wan to scream to bao bao. so i call out to my hb which didn't respond. he actually slept on the sofa outside... hiaz. to me, it mostly my maid who helping n he must admit. i dun know how i cope w/o her cos my mum n mil can't stay w us. they live too far. mum too bz n mil too ignorant.

this yr my maid contract up so not sure liao. just take things one at a time.

I am lucky my hubby is quite hands on in taking care of Xi and helping me with housework. He will play with Xi so that i have time to play piano and he will help me do laundry and bath for Xi etc. It's just that sometimes Xi only wants me so he can do nothing even though he try to help. Haiz...

catz
no larrrrrrrrrrrr, marymount sooo far frm my place. if i ever choose that hor, QY will be dead tired and i will oso go crazy with all the schedules kekekkee

jas
err the reunion dinner for both side is usually in resturant 1 wk earlier. then that nite is early dinner lor, they will buy in Peng Cai and mil will cook some fish, prawns n fish. eat oredi, wash up and go, think set off at 8pm? ... i think soooo i cannot remember leh, i know i reach segamart before 12am that nite.

garfield
my maid's contract up in april. me oso headache.

:p too many posts again :p

jas
heng heng my hb oso quite hands on.. these few weekends, he still managed to bring QY out, with or without the maid.. while i rot away at home kekek..

catz catz
the dog right? my friend says yes, never say these kinda dogs to pet hotels or resorts.. instead she suggested places like animal shelters (noah ark / animal league). call them and tell them ur situation.