(2007/02) February

Just called chiltern House East Coast branch (as they have not replied my email) and following is their answers to my queries, to share wif u gals:

1. Monthly Fees (before subsidy, inclusive of GST and miscellaneous): S$920.20 (Morning session) and S$856 (Afternoon session). EC branch is slightly more expensive than other branches like Forum. On top of fees, there is non-refundable S$214 registration fees and deposit of S$860;
2. Hours: Morning 8.30-12 noon (though u can send ur kids to the school as early as 7.30 if u need to work); Afternoon 2-5pm (u can send in by 1pm)
3. No full time child care at this moment.
4. For our babies (born in 2007), can only register next year, 2009, for class starts in 2010;
5. Need to toilet-trained baby before admission? Normally parents would have toilet-trained the babies by admission, but not compulsory.

bbmouse,

welcome to thread. yes #4 Avent teats like v diff to buy nowadays...

we managed to buy 1 i think in dec or jan... but argh.... i forgotten where i buy it. is it OG?
me gettin forgetful... me also preg ;p excuse...

Fat-babe,

Please add me in your list for the JWTKids trial at Kallang.
If its in afternoon shoudl be fine for me cos Lil J sleeps till 10am loh

J

Sigh had been a bad start of the week for
J..

Tuesday 2am woke up to check on
J. was shocked that she was running very high temp.. took her temp and it read 39.9.. immediately took her to KKH Children Emergency.. at the hosp temp went up to 40.5

doc send her for blood test and gave her 5ml of paracetamol. and waited for the med to kick in while we waited for the blood test results.

Doc at KKH said my GP shouldn't have given me Brufen + paracetamol as if taken them together its too strong for kids below 2. taking them together will hurt their liver. Luckily I "acted smart" only gave her paracetamol cos my aunty already warned me her gals also dun take brufen together with paracetamol. Anyway I've feedback to my GP on this .. cos i dunno whether to scream at him or what.. anyway i was quite disappointed.

Report came showing viral infection that causes the fever.. we were kind of relieve.. at least we know whats wrong now... and doc discharge her at 4.30am..

J was happy to be home and slept till 12noon.. then when she work up.. her left eye was puffy and reddish. I became worried.. not sure its bec of some infection / is it just some exxcessve rubbing.. monitored her the whole day..

fever still remains but not as high..

evening eye still red.. told hub we have to bring her back to KKH and see what's wrong.. doc at KKH diagnose it to be viral again.. gave eye drops.. hope this is the last time li J have to visit the hosp for such emergency.

today no choice have to go back to work. MIL have to monitor her closely. Hope she will be fine by weekend..

BB falls ill whole family get worried.

gak gak,
How come Adriel on antiobiotics again?
Poor thing - too much antibiotics is no good for the little body!

Soph better liao - puked out some phlegm by herself on Monday, or maybe she stuck her own finger in to gag it out... she's always gagging herself now... dunno if this is a bulimic baby!

Woah, gaoli is korean ginseng right? Super bu, but I don't dare to take, esp. during first trimester, cos it's very heaty and I was spotting.
I only took cordyceps twice from 7th month onwards, cos the Chinese physician prescribed it. Cordyceps is neutral, so pretty safe.

smurfy,
Yeah, I find that you, stella and jelly's babies hardly fall sick at all!

bbmouse,
Aiyah, I just bought another Thermos food flask at Robinsons last weekend

There's goes my 20% savings!

jelly,
If housecleanz is so unreliable in answering their calls, better not use them at all! Better pay a bit more and go for the safe AOW!

Pedipeds also has the nonslip rubber soles huh? I'll check out the designs!

milkie,
CONGRATS on YR walking!!!!
As for shoes, I think the rubber soles like what jelly posted in pics are best. The pedipeds we ordered from BP last time don't have that, so very slippery when indoors.
And I also read that we shouldn't let them wear shoes with too much ankle support, cos this will create artificial support for the ankles and ankles won't develop properly and strong. So I think the low ankle types like Robeez and Pedipeds should be safe.

Catz... Are you refering to this new Pediped Flex for the rubber sole? http://www.pediped.com/Home/flex.aspx

Sunsweet,
Poor
J... The fever indeed went up very high! I wldn't know wat to do it that happens to YX middle of the nite(*touch wood*) and if my hubby not around...
Hope the fever subside very very soon....

bbmouse,
Can I kaypoh and ask how come you know you're going for C-sect this time?
Don't scold me for being kaypoh ok? :p

huskie! I like the giselle choc-brown! have been wanting to get this design when that time they only have soft sole one but no size... Hei, the pair u like is more ex at US$49. Giselle is only US$45. They do international shipping at flat charge of US$20. So come out to about S$70 (based on US$45) per pair.

Sunsweet: Poor baby. Take good care of yourself too. You need the energy.

Huskie: I had an emerg C-section last time. The gap is less than 2 yrs, so I think I'll opt for c-section again. I was very against c-section initially, the gynae and my hubby had to convince me at that time it was best for the baby. I let go my stubborness and went for it. My experience changed my impression of c-section. I recovered well and I find it's very convenient.

Shoes: At least now we have more choices..

jelly,
I've got the Giselle, but in the non-flex L version.
Soph still wearing her Samantha Brown M size now... jialat, dunno what to do with the L Giselle!

bbmouse,
I see.
Well, in my case, baby was breeched, so I had no choice but to go for C-sect cos my gynae doesn't do massaging and turning of baby in tummy.
But eh.... the thought of the C-sect pain still makes me break out in cold sweat!
Lucky you that you had a smooth experience!

huskie... soon sop will outgrow the size M then u can let her wear size L, rite? Or u afraid the soft sole gripping not good enuf and that she will fall?

Saw that babytinz gg have a BP for pediped. Let's see what she has.

me busy at work..only got time to speed read.

re: tonics during preggy.

i din not take any tonics at all..just normal meals. actually i heard bird nest will result in phelgmy babies.

eh..cherish fall sick once when she was less than a mth old. that time kena runny nose and i already feel the tiredness of taking care of a sick bb.

i give her barley water weekly to reduce the heatiness..maybe it helps to keep sickness at bay? plus i let her "dirty eat, dirty grow" and not particular abt hygiene.. heehee.. let her build her own immunity

jelly,
Yeah, i'm afraid the non-flex L Giselle not enough grip!

Arghhhhhhhh.... I'm not supposed to touch BP thread anymore!
But I've bought babylegs and pedipeds from BBTinz before... maybe I can make an exception for her!

stella,
Yeah, I'm more relaxed with Soph picking up food from the floor to eat now

Haha... huskie, not all BP are bad lah. I bot some label snapped gap sleepwear from BP recently, and the quality is good!!! Am so happy. Babytinz shd be alrite since she has organised so many BP and has her own webbie.

Huskie, Jelly: I missed the bbtinz pedipeds and got mine from another mummy (forgot her nic). The prices are cheaper leh. When I asked her how come, she jsut said becos she didn't want to earn a much. *dunno* But I thnk I got my bblegs from her.

bb_mouse,

my due mth is july... i secretly hopin that it falls on my bd but then if it is, it is overdue again... ;p

sunsweet, poor smiley J... she must be v weak... zz kenna viral fever rgt after his bd party from the chalet lor. i also panick cos first time he have fever. i went to kkh in the early morn too when his temp shot pass 39 but then the doctor never take blood test. gave para then monitor for one hr. after that, his temp did went down n he went back.

my own doctor did give him bufen too? but it works on him u know for temp above 38.5 but then u cannot keep giving him. u have to alternate give him. my doctor gave dhamol so i alt lor. once he back at home, we give only para cos we dun wan to mix with my doctor med... in fact, the fever didn't go down n once went to 40.3. n we gave him para evry 4 hrs somemore as what the kkh doctor say. but later i read the perscription, i realised we cannot give too many days of 4 hrs interval or else also over dose of para. para is also strong med.

in the end, i switch back my doctor med n he finally recover. yes his eyes also red. it could be the temp causing it. we adults when got fever or headache also get red like eyes like tat. let her have plenty of rest.

jelly, bbmouse,
I bought 1 pair of Pedipeds from Firststeps at $37 at a BP before.
Thereafter, I never saw her organise anymore BPs for Pedipeds, so got the 2nd pair from BBtinz at her webbie price.

jelly,
Bummy Bee also got her own website!

when zz have fever, i told u all u all console me rgt? when i tell my collegues, one of my male collegues remark say children must fall sick then can immune... then keep calling me to go let zz jab backside. i so worrie liao but still hear this kind of comment. sian.

Garfield: Hee... Actually I can plan my c-section to be on my birthday! But I'm still thinking if I shd. Been thinking what are the pros and cons of having same birthday as my own baby but can't think of any either way. Some friends say better to keep apart. I dunno.

Sophie: Yes, I think I bot my 2 pairs from First Steps. I've asked her if she will be organising any more BPs, she said no. It comes with free postage right? I opted for reg mail.

garfield,

thanks for sharing your experience.. me still very worried for Lil J.. cos she refuse to eat.. even when i cook her fave fish porridge + steam egg...

my GP also says its good for kids to get sick to build their immunity .. but as parents we heartache loh..

abt switching med.. I think i stick on the pana.. as KKH doc advise.

KKH doc said.. brufen is a standby med (as per say).. if to be given when temp does not drop after paracetamol is administered.. then brufen is to be given at least 2 hrs after paracetamol. .. this it to curb any spike in temp.

Just now called MIL. she say Lil J's eye still red.. hope its nothing serious and will go away soon..

sunsweet,

it like tat. when sick, they hae no appetite too. all the mummies here say their appetite will come back after fever. it true cos zz now back to normal n infact can even finish abt 220 ml of milk last nite.

yes u have to monitor. if para works for her, stick to it. btw, i didn't give bufen 2 hrs after the last dose of dhamol. i give every 6 hrs.

keep sponging her and changin her clothes once sweaty.

dun worry they will recover... take care of yrself too.

privi
the last time my boy was down with high fever, KKH A&E oso prescribe both para & brufen for him..
& they told me to give para 1st, 1hr lata if fever still high give Brufen..
alt between these 2 but para must be min every 4hrly & Brufen min every 6hrly

Hope Lil J's has a speedy recovery!!!

Garfield,

MIL dun believe in me that we need to keep sponging.. she says will catch cold..
anyway I try to make do with her by wiping the hear off Lil J's forehead, neck and underarm..

at least just now when i called home.. Lil J shouted Ma ma.. then i ask her why she is not taking her med.. she passed the phone to MIL and grumble at the background.

i think diff doc diff practice.. but the problem is GP says give together when 38.0 .. if alt it its still fine but give together? overdose rite?

anyway now i just wait for lil J to recover..

she is refusing med.. since tues.. b4 that she was taking med as if its was some syrup.. now she sees the med bottle she starts to whine & sob.

sunsweet, u need to sponge them. hmm i thot elders approve of this? but not 24 hrs la. n u must make sure u change her clothes more frequently. i read from kkh tat u can keep sponging them for 20 min then stop.

wow yr GP really say take togehter? i think will overdose ley. it was instructed not to be taken together n need to alt. n if temp is below 38.5, no need take bufen at all.

mine prefer my own doctor med.... maybe sweet...

kkh med he always whine but we force him lor. no choice.

sunsweet, so sweet smiley J can say mama over phone... mine will keep quiet *faint

until i say magic word "star" then he utter "star" then he also push the phone away after a while. dun wan to talk to me ah

thats why i lost confidence in the gp at my place when comes to young children falling ill.

for myself/ adults his med still works well..

anyway i personally feel KKH A&E is cheaper then going to Kidsclinic.. last time i went paid over $80 for teething gel + semac

Question.. at KKH we only paid for the attendence fee.. blood test bill will be sent later? if so how much ??

haha my gal can say v. loudly.. ma1 ma2 ma3 ma4... but not a word of pa pa.. so papa very sad..

when ever we ask her to say papa.. her mouth will move but we couldn't hear a thing.. haha dunno why.. but she recognise everyone.. cos we'll play pass the parcle game with her.. e.g. give this to papa.. she will wobble her way to papa and give the item to him..

though lil J is ill she manage to proceed with her walking.. she's walking like close to 10 steps.. i should try video it down b4 she is an expert at it and no more wobbling steps keke

sunsweet,

do many children go to his clinic? my GP downstairs also cannot make it. but they did advise me to seek PD as their med is not really suitable for children. tat is why i never take the med n went to the pd.

I went to kidsclinic b4 but then pay so much but zz was not cure of his cough tat time so i rather fedup.

so i chanced upon this GP and I see that many children go there. n the med also suitable for kids 1. furthermore he also have toys in his rm and he is patient w kids. i try once n work so i went again for this fever thing.

so cute... mine only can be cheeky... make fun of us only.

re: kkh - i not sure... prob u need to ask gak as zz didn't took blood test. so only pay the reg fee.

Walking..
are your kids walking outside?

my gal only like to walk without barefooted.. when she has her shoes one she is more interested in trying to take them off haha

anyone facing the same issue?

sunsweet
if i remember correctly, blood test's subsidised
it's printed on the KKH's A&E receipt..

aiyo..sorry jux now my post address to wrong person
shld be sunsweet not privi ;P

huskie
PD gave anti-biotics cuz said it's bacteria this time round
she said always like that..after viral will get bacteria
me oso ask her can cut down the dosage..
she replied that last time he on anti-biotics, he didn't fall sick for 2mths after rite?
so must take anti-biotics..

milkie
congrats on YR taking her 1st steps!!!

fat_babe
aiyo!
must try to sleep early..keke
ur company's fine when u late?

thanks for sharing abt tonics, mommies!

jelly
wat's kinda organic drink is that?

huskie
hmm...i dunno if GaoLi's korean ginseng
but it's red color

gak,

of coz they not happy..but my late fine is $2...i am late for 20 min today...kekeke...usually i am either on time...90% of the time...or late which is 10-20 mins...hee..

sunsweet,

ok will keep you in the loop...but nobody seems to be interested le..why ar why ar...keke...

oh tyler walks outside too...initially he HATES the shoes..will sort of "stop walking"...and wan to PEEL off the shoes...but after getting use to it..he's ok...

huskie,
your C-sect very pain??...next baby going natural??..hee...

Bbmouse,
me c-sect too..like you i find it convenient..muahahha...i cannot cannot totally cannot think about going thru natural childbirth..weird thing is..i am known to haf high tolerance of pain..waakakak

<font color="119911">JWT Kids Gym (CONFIRMED)

http://www.jwtkids-singapore.com/index.html

Trial Class (Max 10 babies)
Trial Fee: FREE

Date: 15 March 2008, Saturday

Time: 3.15-4.00pm

Venue: JWT Kids Gym @ 5 Stadium Walk, #02-02/03 Leisure Park, Kallang

1) Fatbabe(Esther + Tyler), Contact Number
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

Try to confirm by today yah!!</font>

gak,

KKH A&amp;E receipt does not mention anything abt the blood test leh.. wonder if they bill us seperately. or its inclusive ot the Attendance fee

garfield,

the GP at my place here just moved.. but i do see his patients from his previous clinic (heard was at AMK) still comes back.

As for kids i do see children going to him.. however they are like school going children. as for babies i see they go to him for vaccinations loh ..

jelly, yes, just as I say Pediped flex, then got BP come out.. you say I zhun or what?! Wonder if she will give a good price for the shoes if we band together our orders.. 'cos I am considering buying for Timothy too.. and of course my darling Bethany lah.
huskie???
Lagi better for huskie and me 'cos we can share for delivery costs. Heh.

gak, no choice if bacterial infection lor.. just make sure you settle Adriel's tummy with some yoghurt. Else all his good gut flora will be killed by the bacteria and his immunity will also be compromised again.

babe ah, c-sect so painful leh. I die die wanted natural for Beth but bopian lor.. but the recovery was so much slower for c-sect. That's why I was yelling for ligation in the Operating Theatre. Hehe.

sunsweet
my boy was at the A&amp;E last mth, did blood test too
maybe cuz i went to pay my bill after seen DR so my receipt got show that blood test was subsidized

JWT Kids Gym (CONFIRMED)

http://www.jwtkids-singapore.com/index.html

Trial Class (Max 10 babies)
Trial Fee: FREE

Date: 15 March 2008, Saturday

Time: 3.15-4.00pm

Venue: JWT Kids Gym @ 5 Stadium Walk, #02-02/03 Leisure Park, Kallang

1) Fatbabe(Esther + Tyler), Contact Number
2) Sunsweet (Eileen + Jeanette),
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

Try to confirm by today yah!!

Last edited by a moderator:
catz,

ligation?!?!? in the midst of op?..waakakkaa...you went on epi c-sect huh??... i opt to go to sleep...so everything like very sterile...sleep 45 mins then all of sudden baby clean &amp; nice smelling beside me...muahahha...

but tyra's c-sect experience was PAIN....

babe, of course epi lor.. so can breastfeed after that. But it was emergency.. darn scary. Got Dr Ong EK inside the room.. wah lau freak out siah.. my emergency is really emergency... when my hubby walked into the room, I already cut open
After Beth was examined by Dr Ong and declared oK but need to monitor closely, then I was so relieved, I cried and cried then remembered 'eh, since you're inside there, do ligation!!!' My gynae said come back in 7 years time !@#$%^&amp;*&amp;^%$#@!#$