(2007/02) February

Hi szelin! Been a long time since u log in..Yeah good tat yr co. give access to sgm forum.
How's yr boy? Still bf?

I'm still in bishan with in laws..but moving to our new place in Pasir Ris soon.

Rachel..I dont mind potluck..but probably cant cook cos I no time lah..but can buy something..or easier, as mentioned..pizza or KFC..I suggest canadian pizza though, cos got buy 1 get 1 free.

U mean most caterers for high tea/lunch, must at least 25 pax?

facebk got babybk?? i didn't know tat....

Rachel, think u can order more from pizza hut or canadian pizza cos pizza easier to eat n not so ma fan....

for kfc, u can actually get disposable small plates (those that they give during dine in) from them.

smurfy,
I went to the library and borrowed a few of Eric Carle's books, but they don't have the Hungry Caterpillar. I'm not impressed with the rest. Artwork is nice, but storywise, so so only. Got a shock when I read The Grouchy Ladybug... it's actually quite a nice story in teaching time, but the ladybug goes around asking other animals "Want to fight?" Aiyoh, wait next time my kids goes to school and do the same thing how? **faintz**

Am going to Kino today to check out Richard Scarry's books... his books are really HOT... library does not even have a single copy left on the shelves!

szelin,
Hee, so funny, you remembering the mice from Richard Scarruy's books!
Will go to Kino today and check out the Eric Carle's educational type too.

Charis,
Yep, normally caters have a minimum of 25 pax, else they cannot make money.
If you're thinking of catering for housewarming but for smaller group, some caterers also have those smaller sets without table settings and warmers... those can be quite affordable at $100+ per set.

keke,..

mummies...in that case i think its easier for us to do semi pot luck then...
i will suggest a list of things to bring how??

then mummies may wan to volunteer..who bring wat..okie..

1) 10 Old Chang Kee Curry Puffs (we can cut half)
2) 10 sticks Old Chang Kee Sotong/ Fish Balls
3) 30 pc chicken nuggets
4) Dim Sum
5) Canadian Pizzas...cost to be split by few mummies
6) agar agar, jelly or watvea desserts
7) any more suggestions??
8) some baby food..maybe can volunteer mummies like MILKIE to be baby chef...

*slurp* all this food talk is making me hungry!

Just went to VivoCity sans children for our 6th wedding anniversary.. both of us TOTALLY forgot about it.. so last minute, also dunno where the heck to go and eat :p Anyway, had fun lah.. like old paktor times..haha

huskie, yah I don't really know what the whole hype about Eric Carle books are leh. Ah well...

Anybody interested in getting Leapfrog.com stuff? They're having 25% off plus free shipping till Dec 5th. I wanna order a Little Leaps system for Bethany's first birthday
Let me know...

fatbabe, how you know milkie is shopping?? Tell you, if she sees your posting arrowing her to be baby chef, she will lagi hide! Muahahaha..

skinnybabe, can add me for babybook? I wan A to have friends

rachel, I cant confirm for dec gathering..so so busy, then hb is even busier. Then PH he may want to do his own things, so I may not get the car. If no car, difficult to go to your plc. Will confirm soonest.

smurfy, wa..u tempt me leh..now i also want to order board books. But I have no time to collect also. hey, my mummy stays near your mummy
actually they move to northeast so that it is easier for me to visit them as my inlaws are staying in northeastern side.

GOG, thank GOd that Julian is well now
so happy for you and J. Aiyoh, gal ah, dun be such a worrier, leave the schedule aside for a while, he will go back to your schedule in due course. The most impt thing is for him to recover well and be strong and healthy
Agree that you should ask your maid to stay away, best is if u can put her at your mum's/inlaws place. But I can imagine how tiring it will be for you cos when my maid was not around and I had to take care of A 24hrs, I almost died..but its so comforting when baby is close to us.

smurfy, if reading to A can let him know that I am his mummy, I really dun mind doing it daily even though after I come back from work, I am usually half dead. Even my mum said A thinks the maid is his mum
Recently he is especially sticky to the maid. Its ok when I carry him but if its anyone else, he will start to look for maid after a while. MIL has been complaining that he 'lao kai' everyday, keep wanting the maid to carry him. So sad, when will A stick to me???? Will this day ever come?

catz
i got this little lilpad systen,, the blue color one is that what u r getting? what else is suitable for them at this age ar?

cherryale
u try spend more time on A? QY seems to know we r the mummy n daddy leh? though the maid spent a lot of time with him in the daytime, he does not really seeks her out when needs to carry or whenever he wants someone to "rescue" him?

smurfy!
What did you order in Eric Carle BP for $414? Hee, you must really love books!

I didn't go Kino yesterday but ended up at Borders... woah, kids' book shopping not easy man, no wonder pple prefer to do online shopping! The kids just take the books and throw them everywhere so I had to hunt all the shelves for my titles. And this boy kept following me and snatching my books from me!

I only bought 2 books from Eric Carle - the Caterpillar one and the Chameleon one, cos there are at least proper storylines to these 2 titles, and the die-cut pages are gorgeous. $15.55 each.

Got another lovely boardbook called Mama, Do you Love me... the words are beautiful and very poetic... hubby likes it too

Catz,

is leappad from leapfrog.co much cheaper than stores here?

if i were to get should i get the little leappad or the read and write system?

Hihi...

I think KFC+Pizza+goldenpillow are good enuf. Too much food sekali cannot finish. Me like charis no time to prepare food also...

smurfy, u bot so many books for QY? Those boardbooks i bot from sprees until now still kept in a bag. YX knows who is her mummy and daddy. Nowadays she will cry for mamama whenever she looks for me.

Huskie, thanks for the webbie. Now surfing acmamall website to see got any good books to buy. Attracted by their delivery.

catz, i bot my littlepad system from jomum spree. Cost abt S$60 including shipping cost.

Smurfy - Littletouch leappad system is story book system.. like a junior version of the Read and Write leappad which is for 4 years onwards. This Little Leaps system is totally different.. it connects to TV and DVD so that baby can play with the DVD and interact. Thought it look quite cute lor. Littlepad and Read and write I've already bought
URL here:-
http://www.leapfrog.com/en/families/little_leaps/little_leaps_learning/lilps.html

Anybody wanna join me to buy or not? I really thought it's a good birthday pressie for 1 year old
In Toys R Us, it's selling at 169.95!!! Can you imagine the price diff?

Sunsweet, all your questions answered above. The markup for leapfrog stuff in SG is just ridiculous. On offer, the Little Leaps is only USD26 leh.. here at TRU, it's SGD170.. how can?

huskie, lol at the irritating boy. Did you tell him off? That's sooooo monstrous! I agree that kids book shopping is simply awful. Ppl treat bookstores like libraries.. no respect for books and property. I cannot tahan.

smurfy, can I ask what do you do when u reach home after work? How much time and what activities do u do with QY? I think I really must spend more time with A. On weekends, I try to spend more time with him but I also have other stuff to do so its half the time me taking after him and the other half the maid.

Smurfy, wow u spent so much on the board books?

catz, wow, this is tempting. US26.24. how much will shipping from US to Sing cost? I think I will stop asking my bil,both he and sil already complaining so much when I asked them to bring back the leappad and 2 other leapfrog toys. She said she ended up being the last one to board the plane as she put the leappad in her hand luggage and they kept screening the silly leappad blah blah blah..I had enough of it. At most I buy online and ship back. In future, they can forget about using my baby's toys, steriliser and everything else that I bought when they have their kids, not even gonna let them use A's cot at mil's place since I paid for all the baby's stuff there now.

Thanks a lot for all your prayers, support and love for julian and myself
Julian is still recovering and dr said everything is working perfectly fine now...

Huskie, where did you get the caterpillar book? heard that it is good but havent seen it yet.

fat_babe, ok with anything... potluck or order delivery and I would like to confirm my attendance
Julian should be fine to join all of us then.

Catz, I would like to get the little leapfrog system as well. let me know if you are ordering

Pardon me this mountain tortoise... just wanna know what exactly this whole leapfrog/leapPad series is all about:

1. Do i just buy the read and write leapPad and then i can actually replace the book with other titles?
2. When it says 'cartridge in the leapPad reader',what does it mean? i need to buy a reader?

I am so sorry, am an idiot when it comes to toys
Need some enlightenment! Thanks.

jelly,
Acmamall may not be cheaper than bookstores for boardbooks actually, but when they have promo, then it's quite a good deal.

GOG,
I got my caterpillar book from Borders at $15.55, about the same as BP price. It's quite a nice story about the hungry caterpillar who ate 1 apple on Monday, 2 pears on Tue etc before he became a butterfly... so it's quite good to teach numbering too. Lovely "holes" in the fruits which the caterpillar ate through that you can use to play peekaboo with baby.

The Mixed Up Chameleon is also a nice book - about a chameleon who wanted to be everything, and int he end got so mixed up that he couldn't catch a fly and just wanted to be himself again

$15.95 at Borders... also about same price as BP.

OK all mummies interested in ordering, do email me [email protected] in this format:-

Nick/Real name:
Email:
Mobile:

Item#
Item name:
URL: (please make sure it's working!)
Qty:
Price in USD:

Total price in SGD: USD x 1.54

GOG, of course can order.. I'll base shipping charges according to a book/cartridge set being 1 unit.. I think a system would probably be 3-5 units.

I paid only about $10 for shipping for the Read and Write system.. that was through Vpost. CGW should be cheaper.

Please send me the orders quick 'cos sale ends on 5th Dec.

hi Catz!

Thanks. Just read about Leapfrog products and got a little enlightened
Yup, would like to join you in your purchase. Will email you my order and then you let me know how much to transfer to you.

Sorry, am i right to buy Little touch leapPad learning system since this is the first time Julian will be in touch with Leapfrog learning system? Please advise.

Hi GOG, yup yup, Little Touch is the way to start.. together with Little Leaps
Will place orders by 4th Dec...

Still got another USD90 odd to go..

Thanks Catz!

I have already sent you an email, included the two you recommended too

Thanks for organising this. I hope it gets through cos the more I read about the products, the more excited i get

Just to share... Julian's first tooth appeared when he was in the ICU!!! The nurses joked about it and said 'you sure, Dr Shankar didnt plant that tooth during the operation?' We all burst out laughing!!! Anyway, need your advice... can I continue to use first teeth toothbrush and toothpaste? must I change them since Julian has one tooth now???

grace,

first teeth toothpaste can use until 2yo old le..the toothbrush can use oso..till his mini teeth is big enuff for you to use a real toothbrush..which i think only about 18 months..

updates on tyler..he's starting to stand without support for 5-10 secs and clap hands..so silly looking..

graceofgod

julian so cute..first tooth in ICU.. no need to change the toothbrush yet, i am still using it for cherish.

cherryale

dont be disheartened. i only got 1 hr with cherish everyday cos she sleeps at 7 plus. wat i do is bring her for a walk immediately i reach home , then end with a short singing/talking session at the pavilion before heading back to my mum place.

during this one hr, only me,hb and cherish. none of my other family will follow. gives us time to bond with her and at the same time, give my mum a break

hi suddenly i tot our gathering we can have log cake too... since it is a xmas gathering. can order small one.

ya agree w jelly no need to order too much food or else wastage lor

wow u all tempting me on the leapfrog thing ley... but i also suaku on tat.

Brought the Son to the zoo over the weekend and oh dear, he kept on waking up that night crying. I think he was overstimulated. Oh well, no more zoo trips till he is a little older.

Everytime I drop by, it seems that Catz is organising some spree or the other. ;) Enabler ah you, Catz.

I'd have joined your spree if I hadn't already joined Daisyduck's. I ordered My First LeapPad Learning system and some books to go with it for the Son. So kiasu, I know. But the Son is holding the spoon quite well now, so I thought I'd get a learning system with a pen for him. No point getting the Little Touch learning system now, I have a feeling he'd just pound and smack the pages with his fist instead of delicately prodding it. Worse still, he might just stamp his feet or plonk his butt down on it. I've got a caveman in the making, what to do.

Eric Carl books, oooooh, I saw that BP too and am so tempted to get some books from there. But the delivery points are so out of my way and postage is going to be a killer looking at the number of books I've shortlisted. Still, I definitely won't beat Smurfy's record of $400+ plus!!! You're the best man, Smurfy, QY is really lucky to have such a mummy!

Oh, oh, my order for the LeapPad Learn To Read Complete Phonics System just got accepted by the spree organiser! Yay! The Son is set with Leapfrog till he reaches Primary 1.

You know, I actually can't believe I'm entrusting the teaching and learning of the Son to a machine...and I'm a teacher.

wah....still too much for me to read all. anywayz, Grace of God, glad to hear that Ju is fine. No need to change his toothbrush so soon, u can still use it.

I recently found more teeth on YR. Now she's got 4 up there and 2 down there. I wouldn't have found out until she decided to nibble on my finger. PAIn!

Jelloooooooo where are uu??? :p :p

catz!!!
i want to buy.. but i dunno what to buy hahahahaa... okie.. i got this littletouch leappad system now... and a few yrs later i can get the read n read leappad system right? other system u r recommending n getting for beth now is the little leaps grow with me learning system , what else arr? kekeke btw, i had sent u an email on the orderlist for the lil leaps grow with me learning system

huskie, jas, JS
i emailed the bp organiser.. coz i paiseh abt my giantic order.. but she go post it up somemore :%#$^%$^$%&. i want to start a little library for QY mah.. kekeke.. though now he is more interested in flipping the pages and short attention span.. but i wnat him to get used to the idea of having bks ard him mah
.. i like the "does the kangeroo have a mother,too".. reinforced into his small lil mind :p.. the boardbooks sprees, QY like the "brainy baby board books n the bb einstein" but hor, the dollardays one is very disappointing leh, light colors n book size soo tiny.. i think he treats them as "wooden blocks" to toss ard..:/ ..

cherryale
i am a really unhealthy mummy, but i cannot change myself. wkdays i reach home, pump milk.. then play with QY.. eat dinner (QY will be in his playyard or exersaucer) but my eyes will be glancing at him, smiling at him, encouraging him in his playstuffs while eating frm the table.. after dinner play with him somemore... when the maid bathes him, i oso take my own shower.. then after that, play with him some more until it is bedtime... spoonfeed him milk, if tired maid will take over.. then bring him to sleep (pat or just rest on my bed watching him while he falls asleep).. weekends, me n hubby will runs alot of errand on our own coz faster without a bb n maid tagging behind.. but whatever time i have home, i spent it with QY.. most is he play on his own in his cot n i rest on my bed....n i do my whole week marketing real early.. i wake up at 6plus to pump milk.. then after that sneak out to take a cab to AMK market (coz the food stuffs more fresh).. by the time i reach home, QY and hb just woke up lor? u see basically i have no time for myself at all.. very unhealthy but i cannot help it. *whispers*dun ask me what's the latest news, movies coz i dunno never read/watch news, tv for donkey time..

GOG
glad that everything is getting better for julian

milkiee!!
u peeped to see what sprees there r issit? hahaha

blue alien (smurfy), i got radar mah...i know when there are good sprees lurking ard in the forum. :p :p no lah...been busy and lately got time to skim thru a little but no time to post.

Eh, have u girls started shopping for bday clothes for the babies yet???

garfield, it doesn't play DVD.. it uses your DVD player to play DVD which the baby can interact with, using the special joystick. So it's like an interactive computer thingie :0

No more orders.. already maxed out 2 sprees already.. hold the orders for a while yah!!

Pls email me with the orders hor.. easier to consolidate. cherry, I gotta see if I can squeeze you in yah?

Smurfy, u really is a good mama.... everything give QY...

last nite my hb ask me wat i getting for zz for xmas and i say not necc since on and off i do buy him gifts.... n now he also dun understand... hahaha me v bad rgt?

but i try to spens as much time w him. I also guilty of not knowing the latest news and music. but i try to read papers or see news if i can. recently went out w my frens for karoke, n i dun even know wat new songs to sing n my frens all say me suaku

susu, me have not get him his bd clothes too... tat I will buy lor cos it his special day...

orange cat, i've started shopping already...got a few outfits liao n the accessories to match. but shoes not yet get...i ordered some shoes from pediped but then not sure if can get in time so maybe have to buy her some more shoes to match her outfits....

i think spending time with the kids is good lor...need not necessarily be spending money on them to be a good mum mah....

susu, i now screen all toys and see if it is useful for him lor. as i m the main financial controller in the house n this mth seem to have many expenditure... the car plus house thing so guess i deal until rather scare n hope we save more lor... women tend to worry more lor. so since i can't get so many toys for him, i can spend time w him so do it lor.

think my hb still not worried. he only work n work but never handle all this $ stuff. soemtimes also stress...

for his bd, i can predict will be spending abomb too n still considering the catering...

So angry... Thot have posted my message but all gone!!! !@@#$!%$%!@

huskie, thank u so much for the link to the book! Was trying to find the book yday but dunno where to find!!! Is the buy 4 get 1 free order over oredi? And they will only give free delivery for order >S$80?

smurfy, now i hope my younger sis or my housemate quickly get married then I can have spare room for YX and decorate cosily wif books and toys for her.

cherry.... Think u shd tell urself to put aside ur work sometimes especially during weekend for A. I used to be a workaholic like u b4 i have YX. But since YX comes to this world, she is everything to me and my 1st priority goes to her. I am thankful to have understanding bosses who allow me to go off early from work if necessary and not overload me wif work. Just my personal thot lah. No offence ya...

Milk Milk!!! U finally show up!!! Thot u went aussie oredi.
Hei, u jialat man. Now only realise YX has so many teeth? Have bot a no of dresses for YX from BP recently, but have yet found "the dress" for her bday party. Waiting for u lei... ;p

garfield

agree with milkie.. better to spend time with the bb now instead of keep buying hoping to make up for the lost time spent
n i do make sure i am the one who is spending more time with QY on the bks... instead of the maid..
so i think most mummies r oredi very good mummies .. (just that i am super unhealthy n is obessed hahahaa)

Catz,

I would like to join in the leapfrog BP.. let me view see what i need tonight at home then I PM u the details okie..

Many Thanks!