(2007/02) February

GATHERING

venue: anchorage function room (opposite IKEA alexandra)
time: TBA..should be noon (est 1-5pm)
food: international catering..anymore suggestions welcome!! est cost for int'l caterg is $25/ head

thursdae 20th dec PUBLIC HOLIDAY
1)Rachel + josh
2)fat_babe + tyty
3) stella + cherish (hb TBA)
4) jelly + Yunxi
5)smurfy + QY (HB TBA)
6)pekochan + Yunzhi (hb TBA)
7) milkshake + YR + HB (TBA)
8) garfield07 + zz (HB TBA)
9) chocbabe + Ryan + HB
10) longan + Shaun + HB
11) Sunsweet + Smiley J (HB TBA)
12) nana + hb + ryan (TBA)
13) huskie + hb + Soph (TBA)
14) pumpkinni + hb + chloe
15) cherryale +hb +Ashton
16) graceofgod +hb + Julian (TBC)
17) Priviledged + Sarah + Ben (Hb TBC)
18) Charis + Yael + hb (coming late-after 2pm)

activities:

<font color="ff0000">1) kiddy splash- free to bring water gear for kids n adults alike..
2) gifts exchange..not firm up how to do..
3) suggestions welcome!</font>

GATHERING : PLEASE CONFIRM ATTENDENCE

food: international catering..anymore suggestions welcome!! est cost for int'l caterg is $25/ head

1)Rachel + josh
2)fat_babe + tyty
3) stella + cherish (hb TBA)
4) jelly + Yunxi
5)smurfy + QY (HB TBA)
9) chocbabe + Ryan + HB
10) longan + Shaun + HB
13) huskie + hb + Soph (TBA)
14) pumpkinni + hb + chloe
15) cherryale +hb +Ashton
16) graceofgod +hb + Julian (TBC)
17) Priviledged + Sarah + Ben (Hb TBC)
18) Charis + Yael + hb (coming late-after 2pm)

activities:

<font color="ff0000">1) kiddy splash- free to bring water gear for kids n adults alike..

Hey...

how to add you all to facebook ah?? I dunno your real name or email address leh??

will be bringing ryan down for the casting this wed ard 4pm... any mummies going this wed?

Charis, congrats on collecting ur keys... must be exciting.

I've been showing Ryan the Baby Can Read CD every morning and he can sit there for the whole show without moving. Today when they showed the words 'clapping' and 'no', he actually did the actions... not sure if it's coincidental, will keep observing.

He can do quite afew actions now. E.g clap, wave, blink eyes, arms up ....and look at the objects which we name e.g ball, light, fan, etc.

Fat_babe..May I suggest a cheaper alternative to food? Say $10 per head..buffet lunch or high tea..more variety..easier to eat stuff..like finger food..since we are with the babies.
But of cos, subjected to others' ideas and a general concensus.

fatbabe, added you already. Hey I've got the Babybook application.. I'm doing up the profiles for my 2 monkeys now!
Add Tyler and Tyra lei...

Chocbabe, if you PM me, I'll let you know my email then you can search for me

Charis, wow, your own home!!!
I think your suggestion rgd food is very valid.

chocbabe..

i also very blur le..as long as i haf the person's email on my email contact..then i can do a search lor...

you wan try?? hahah my email is [email protected]

charis,
sure..will discuss wif rachel...think of getting sumthing more value for money as well..but dat dae holiday..sure more pricey than other days..

added catz also... awaiting confirmation..

Saw quite afew mummies from fatbabe friends, but not sure if they from the Feb thread leh... cos here use nick and there using real name.. so not sure who is who... how ah??

gals

my friend op is successful, dunno whether he needs chemo..hopefully not.

yup, he was a smoker.

jelly

I have not weighed cherish since her last jab @ 6 mths. so long as she is healthy and active, weight is secondary to me. I prefer her to be slim and sleek like my hb, rather than a humpty dumpty like me.

fatbabe/charis

i second charis suggestion. doubt we got the time and luxury to enjoy nice food

Morning mummies...

skinny_babe and garfield, ya... She is much more active now. Last nite she played until super high wif my hubby and my sister and shouting and laughing non-stop. And by 9pm, she was exhausted from playing and slept soon after her milk milk. Maybe next time should let her play until she tired then she fall asleep faster. Heihei...

garfield, far never mind lah. At least u managed to book one despite peak period. Must have lotsa fun!

Charis, FINALLY!!! So when do u plan to move in? Got someone to touch up the house oredi?

RE: gathering. So many TBC. Like that difficult to have gift exchange lei...

jelly,
Yeah, I think the increased activity probably caused the weight to plateau.
Yesterday when i went to buy my lunch, the bak chor mee auntie insisted that Soph looks like a 5-month old baby! *faintz*

Charis,
CONGRATS!!!! Finally got your keys!

To all mummies with babies going for casting,
<font color="ff0000">Good luck!</font>

Re. Gathering, I won't be going cos hubby clearing leave during that period... we may be planning for a short holiday to his friend's place in Penang

UPDATED LIST here...

1)Rachel + josh
2)fat_babe + tyty
3) stella + cherish
4) jelly + Yunxi
5)smurfy + QY (HB TBA)
9) chocbabe + Ryan + HB
10) longan + Shaun + HB
13) pumpkinni + hb + chloe
14) cherryale +hb +Ashton
15) graceofgod +hb + Julian (TBC)
16) Priviledged + Sarah + Ben (Hb TBC)
17) Charis + Yael + hb (coming late-after 2pm)

<font color="ff0000">activities:

1) kiddy splash- free to bring water gear for kids n adults alike..

jelly, hehe.. don't play too much before bedtime 'cos might get night terrors.. then you shiong ah.. it's hard to calm them down if they get nightmares leh.

chocbabe, added you
Actually I have only a few SMH friends leh. Charis is actually my sister's friend!

fatbabe, teeheee..
Fun hor? Eh, add my son as friend also lah..

Date: 20 Dec (PH -thur)
Time: TBA..should be noon (est 1-5pm)
Food: international buffet..(int. catering)anymore suggestions welcome!!
Fee: $18 per pax.

thursday 20th dec PUBLIC HOLIDAY
1)Rachel + josh + hb
2)fat_babe + tyty
3) stella + cherish
4) jelly + Yunxi
5)smurfy + QY (HB TBA)
9) chocbabe + Ryan + HB
10) longan + Shaun + HB

activities:

2) gifts exchange..preferably family gift
3) suggestions welcome!

Date: 20 Dec (PH -thur)
Time: TBA..should be noon (est 1-5pm)
Food: international buffet..(int. catering)anymore suggestions welcome!!
Fee: $18 per pax.

thursday 20th dec PUBLIC HOLIDAY
1)Rachel + josh + hb
2)fat_babe + tyty
3) stella + cherish
4) jelly + Yunxi
5)smurfy + QY (HB TBA)
9) chocbabe + Ryan + HB
10) longan + Shaun + HB

activities:

2) gifts exchange..preferably family gift
3) suggestions welcome!

catz,

yah man..the application super fun lor.okie okie..later at night i try to add timothy...i oredi added beth le...

chocbabe...
you mean we were uni neighbours?? are you the one staying in TH...i stay in EH for 4 years le...

oh..ekkeke some mummies on my facebook are personal frens, some are from jan thread...the feb thread one...you muz see on jas's facebook...think i added most from hers..wakakka...

busy busy..

garfield
zz looks so happy in that pic..

jas.
me not joining in the private bulk purchase for birthday direct liao.. no time to view the website

rachel
to confirm with u the attendance for the gathering again..

charis
congrats on getting the key to ur new home.. hohoho.. now u will be real busy.. enjoy the process. dun be like me, making it a rush job

update update
my boy obessed with his index finger now.. or maybe he suffered a sprain on the index finger n the index finger cannot bend and can onli stand erected up (joking).. whole day index finger pointing here n there everythere.. sometimes.. left n right hand index fingers crossing n pinpointing each other...

Had been on leave since last thurs.. had a great time time with J..

For the gathering, eh, I also prefer something easy to eat esp with kids around..

prefer no hot soup.. no boney stuff.. maybe something our kids can nibble as well ..

and actually for ordering buffet say we got 30 pax we should just order for 25.. to reduce leftovers..

for activites.. hehe anyone know how to org playgroup kinda activities?

chocbabe,
Wah, your bb so clever. I think maybe I should start showing Ben the Baby Can Read VCD too. Hmmmm. Great idea! Will do that when homeschooling Sarah. Two homeschooling together! YAY!

Charis,
Congrats on being a homeowner! So exciting.

rachel,
Thanks for organising the gathering. Gift exchange should be no problem mah. Everyone brings a gift per child. Put into a pool, with a number tag on the gift, and a matching number tag into a bowl. Later, just lucky draw. My hb doesn't need to eat so much (he's fat enough). So no need to cater his share. Hehehehe. I'll confirm our attendance once we firm up what we are going to do that week. Cos he's clearing leave too, so we might go away, like huskie.

sunsweet,
Our bbs at this age, very hard to organise playgroup activities, cos they are not so mobile, and they are usually caught up in their own world, doing their own thing. Attention span still quite short.

OK. Gotta go. Anyone seen Milkie around? She MIA for very long already.

My cold is SOOO bad, and I must go mop the living/dining rooms. Haiz.

I also agree no boney stuff cos it is quite difficult to eat with our bbs around...

for gathering, my hb still cannot confirm... he damn jialat always last min call back by co la.

playgrp activities?? maybe at the playground? hehe

maybe we can find atime (where most mummies turn up) to sit in 1 circle and introduce yrself n bb?

if there is a place where we can put our babies to crawl together also good.

PVL

oh all along i tot cherish is anti social cos she dun play with other children or babies.. din noe that thats the norm for babies.

stella,

zz also dun play with bb of his age.... but he look at my 4 yr nephew when he play and he will squel with joy...
but he still do not know how to play together w other children though... think they still don't know lor.

stella/garfield
kekeke and i tot onli QY is in his own little world. hahahaha...he onli interested in other ppl's toys - stares, then stretches out his hands, then the toys becomes his.. and if other bb takes his toys, he gives the bb a blur look..

sunsweet

i think there are quite a few: gymboree/Growing up gifted/julia gabriel etc

not very sure of the details. initially intend to let cherish join , but decided to let her enjoy her first year..will only start her classes when she reach 1.5 yrs.

sunsweet..gymboree & kindermusik are good classes which you can try..i've tried kindermusik, now wanna try gymboree b4 i decide which to sign up for...
u interested?

Smurfy/garfield

i bring cherish to the playground almost every evening. there is a grp of gals who will play with her. depending on her mood, she will squel if she is happy. if not she will beat their hands.

i think at this stage, their best playmate is mummy lor. But do u all feel it is associated with them being the only child? cos my uncle bb (now 4 mths old) very sociable bb. she got 3 other cousins/siblings staying together

Stella,

its bec my gal is the only bb in the family. once awhile her little aunties (6YO and 8YO)will come over to play with her .. so J loves kids..

I;m thinking if i should bring her to these classes which says to be good for their dev.. but i dun really think my Smiley J's dev is slow.. humm

Rachel,
I saw Gymboree's website i seems that its more of motorskills development.. i hope to look for something more mind sitmulating cos i did not show J flash cards or those baby VCDs and she does not seems interested with the stories books i bought for her.. I only picture cards, bring her for walks, talk to her often describing interesting things to her when we pass by one... so dunno how intellectually develop is she.. I'm a bit concern loh..

stella,
Haha, Cherish not anti-social lah. I'm reading a book on babies behaviour now... very interesting. They liken babies and toddlers to cavemen!
And babies at this age can play ALONGSIDE each other, but cannot play WITH each other... just like the prehistoric cavemen!

PVL,
Oh dear, your cold sounds really bad! Better pop more Vit C!!! I find that it helps recovery... when I'm sick, I actually pop up to 2,000mg of Vit C.
Yes, Your Baby Can Read VCD is pretty good... heee, Soph also learnt her waving and clapping hands from it

Making my fishbone stock now... very excited to see it turn into jelly when refrigerated!

smurfy,
Looks like QY is in the midst of becoming a "Director"... haha

Eh, for BirthdayDirect, just copy and paste our items lah... maybe jelly and my order nto so appropriate cos we have girls, but cherry's and garfield's should be suitable?

pvl
yup agreed with huskie that popping Vit C do help!
me flu recovering liao!
hope urs wld recover soon!

re: facebook
hey everyone into Facebook now??
keke...can i join in?

i'm not receiving any updates from SMH on this thread le...
something's wrong with SMH?

good morning mummies..

huskie,

cherish is indeed a cavewoman. now i can set my mind at ease, scared she got austism.

sunsweet,

cherish also like to see her little aunties and uncle play. sometimes cherish wants to join them in playing catching. i gotta carry her and chase.
actually i was concerned abt how intellectually develop she is , but me and my hb decided not to stress ourselves and cherish. Three of us enjoy her babyhood and early toddlerhood first. Now our main concern is her physical health

recently cherish has not been taking her solids well. is it a passing phrase?

stella
could be a new tooth popping up again?

cherry/garfield/jas
can copy ur items for birthday direct? and i decide over the weekend if u all are not in the urgent of ordering?

rachel
me out for the gathering.. just realised i gotta work on that day..

mummies....

zz knocked his head again n got abit redness on his forehead

I came back home last nite then saw it... n my maid say he knocked on the phone in the play yard...

luckily he is fine now but the forehead got the redness!!! how to go for casting now?

now zz can easily get from sleeping or sitting postion to standing position in the play pen too... very scare he knocked on the sides... *hiaz.

smurfy, when u think can give me ur order? Think we can wait for u lah since we only have US$120 orders on hand... U want me to let u see wat garfield and cherryale orders???

Anymore orders from bday direct?

stella, i feel the same as u on our babies not as sociable due to they dun have other companies... My nephews and nieces who stay together are much sociable than YX.

YX also a very moody gal. When she dun want to smile (especially in front of strangers), no matter wat trick they make she won't smile one.

Yday I listened to 93.8 in the morning, and the DJ actually mentioned based on a research, wat babies need most are the primitive activities like those wat we used to play during our childhood, like playing chasing, walking, enjoy the natural environment, instead of classes and vcds. Mnnn...

Smurfy

oh ya..u reminded me.. i guess its a new tooth coming. i hope it is due to teething and not other bad habits. Now she is very manipulative, knows how to get her way and my mum is sort of being controlled by her..die lah.

garfield,

dun worry abt the casting, i believe the redness wun affect much. cherish has been knocking here and there. sometimes can get knocked more than once a day. so long it is not serious, i dont bother.

fatbabe,
Yups, i was staying at TH during my 2nd and 3rd yr uni... hehe... met my husband there too. Were in JCRC together back then.. small world. Hui Chieh and Teck Piaw were also my NIE course mates.

eerr... who is jas ah??

Gak,
I've PM you my email address... you can find me using this email... seeya

jas
yes yes.. can send me a view of their orders to [email protected]? yah, noticed QY loves some of the simplest plaything.. like tissue box.. or spinning a small red container a lot oso..

garfield
the redness would have subsided by then lar..dun worry..

stella.
since u knw cherish is trying to manipulate u.. dun let her have her w ay... :p QY whines when he can't get his way.. but i dun care.. the times i gave in is when i cannot stand the noise he generates.. noise pollution arr..

stella, thxs but it is quite obvious n hope by aftn it won't turn blue black...

smurfy, jelly, can see my orders then u decide... actually I could have bought more but budget budget ah! I tempted to get those foil balloons but think if use helium it will be nicer lor.

jelly, talkin abt dvds and classes, I also haven't let him go yet... I intend nxt yr. For now, I also talk to him, play with him, bring him out for walks or markets and show him real stuff. becos i feel tat at tis age, they learn very fast but still not so sociable to play w other kids lor. then for dvds, think they dun understand wat they toking too n spoil their eye sight.

the only thing I feel like bringing him to is little gym or other gym is they have more bigger equipment for their playing. but guess nxt yr will be a better time when he can be more mobile on his own.

Stella,
You so funny lah... no lah, our babies are not autistic! In fact, I noticed Soph and my nephew snatch things from each other, but the book says it's cos they still don't know how to share yet. Their right brain is not so developed such that they have developed compassion and the sense sharing yet
Still primitive prehistoric cavemen!

garfield,
Oh dear, hope zz's baluku will subside... but I guess the casting crew should be used to balukus on babies and will discount that.

gak,
Thanks for ordering the HT stuff. I'm now checking with my MIL to see whether she is free to have lunch this Sunday, then I can pick up my items from you too

PVL,
My fishbone stock turned into jelly this morning! Very happy... just like my chicken feet soup

Eh, another idiot question to ask you can?
-> Do you just use the fish stock by itself to make porridge i.e. 2 tbs of it + water.... or do you still use pork to make a soup stock then add 2 tbs of the jelly?
I just used 2 tbs of the jelly + water this morning... it doesn't stink, but got a fish smell, so in the end dumped in lotus root and figs to hide the smell hopefully...

g'morning ladeez,

garfield, aiyoh poor zz.. if you apply ice pack immediately after a knock, bruising will be minimised. Better let your 'atas' maid know

birthday direct - can really go 'siao' hor? but quite pricey when you factor in shipping costs so hv to budget a bit :p

jelly, speaking about classes - with 2 kids, budget is really tight.. 'cos for us, #1 priority is swim class which i will start for bethany when timothy starts school. other than that, i will only start hunting for perhaps a gym class when she turns 18 months.

smurfy, stella - aiyoh my bethany throws huge tantrums and she screeches until she loses her voice. hv to scold her and correct her before she makes a habit out of it. sighhh.. yesterday my sister scolded her until she refused to 'friend' my sister..haha

playin with bbs n older children
think QY is pretty much like most babies here or as described.. can play alongside with other bbs his age,, but cannot play together.. but he likes older children.. those 2-6 yrs old.. wants them to play with him.. crawls towards them n seeks their attention (but some not interested in my silly boy at all.. one gave up teaching him how to throw a ball, found him bored and walked off.. leaving my poor boy to crawl after him...

catz!!!!
ahaahah these babies know how to "dun friend" someone hor?? when QY goes to the mil's house, the hb's sis too protective.. everything oso dun let QY touch n play.. nowadays he dun like going to her.. even cry when she attempts to carry her..