(2007/02) February

smurfy, milk milk,

last time he only drink 120 ml at a time... but now 5 to 6 oz... somemore eating more semi solids... so dunno why he increase his milk intake?? but now he might be drinkin from 600 to 700 ml of milk. yes GF book is rather useful... me cheapo... borrow from library...

but i have the same prob like smurfy... zz also like to put 1 finger inside n then pull out n rub his eyes, face... but i also notice he still eats them though...

got few times he also noti n wan to get out if he dun like the food but need to forcefully tell him it meal time!

btw, stella, smurfy, cherry... u have mail soon.... paiseh was bz this wk so havent't give mi add...

stella, dun worry, she might turn out well...

sunsweet,, thxs for info! yes mine last 10 days onli
somemore it the 900g tin...

smurfy,

since sun, zz has been pooing in the mornings in the potty... hehe... i spot his look n then hurry him to potty then he quickly poo so rather clean... then i wash his bottom under running water... so far, his poo is one piece one piece one not watery so proud of myself too actually to reg his gian look hahaha!

my maid also always scare zz dun enough milk whole nite but i told her zz should eat adequate during day time so that mid of nite he won't wake up feelin hungry that wat GF believe too.

yesterday he did wake up two times but I pat him back to sleep. so hopefully he stay this way. cos this morn i wake up, he still sleeping soundly...

garfield

haiz..ur maid same as my mum lor... bb cry = hungry.

yesterday i slept with my gal, she wake up i just pat her or feed her water/pacifier, she can fall asleep. But my mum is not convinced leh.. anyway since i cant bring my gal back everyday, i gotta go by her way.

even if i try to feed her milk when she wakes up, i noticed that she will suckle abit, then when u replace it with pacifier,she will fall asleep. so i conclude she just want to suck something, not feeling hungry.

pros and cons of having my mum to help me look after lah..

I've try giving smiley J more solid but once she is full she'll turn away.. so i can't force feed her loh..

i weight her today.. 8.5kg

stella, ya lor... she always say zz so pitiful cos whole nite never drink milk! jia lat... how could I ill-treat my own child rgt?

I downloaded some pics...zz enjoying himself on biscuit and next pic is he trying to "catch" smoke from our food... hehehe

1025731.jpg

1025732.jpg

garfield,
zz is sooo cute!

Ben's food intake today (fairly typical):
7am - BM direct latch.
8am - Breakfast... 3 tbsp HT with EBM, 1 banana

1045 - snack..BM direct latch

1300 - BM direct latch
1330 - lunch...1 heaped tbsp rice/millet mixture + minced pork, spinach, pumpkin, peas & corn (about 1 tbsp each vege)

now he's having his nap. When he wakes up, there will be dinner...
BM direct latch, followed by
1 heaped tbsp rice/millet mixture + minced pork, spinach, corn, carrot.

≈ 2030 - night feed BM direct latch.
No more feeds til next morning.

pvl
i want to ask, how u prepare the spinach? coz i read that spinach might cause interfere with iron absorption?

ask again tomorow. bye

smurfy,
I just slice the spinach leaves finely and add it to the porridge to cook. (After washing, of course) I'm not too sure about interference with iron absorption. I think someone posted here about that. But can't do much about it lah.
But hor, I buy one whole bunch of spinach for Ben, and I steam and puree half of it to keep, and use the rest fresh. This is because the whole bunch is too big to use up quickly and after 4-5 days, the spinach becomes a bit wilted, so by that time I should have used up the fresh leaves and then switch to the pureed stuff. The pureed spinach is prepared with the munchkin, no need to use any liquid. Just pure steamed spinach.

garfield
zz loves his bellamy??

milkshake
wow that's a lot of food!

my boy's menu for the day ( estimate timing):
7am - BF
9am - Breakfast (alt): 3 tablespoon of mixed grain cereal with fruits (apple/banana/pear), mixed with 60ml FM
1 tablespoon Oats (sometimes oso add millets together) double-boiled with 30ml FM & fruits (as above)

10.30am - BF

12.30pm - Lunch : 1 oz sweet potatoes with half apple puree (sometimes also add 1 oz pumpkin)

1.30pm - snack like Gerber stars/Pigeon or fruit puree

2.00pm - BF

6.00pm - Dinner: 1 tablespoon Brown rice (sometimes with millets/oats) with
1 cube carrots
2-3 cubes green veggie (broccoli/chye sim/spinach/zucchini)
sometimes also add pumpkin

8.00pm - BF
10.00pm - BF

smurfy
thanks on the info for the cheese & huai shan!

most time my boy more interested in the food i'm eating than the food i prepare for him! *hiaz*

jelly
if they remove her uterus then she can't hv babies liao rite???
*phew* lucky she's ok liao!
wish her a SPEEDY RECOVERY!

huskie
ur hubby gains wt from ur cooking lo ;p
so ur cooking can't be that bad rite?
still noe how to roast, this that!
so clever!

priviledge
icic..so even if we didn't let them eat the food individually, they'll grow up to be quite "Ching Chye" also uh? keke

yup!
both my boy's upper tooth are sprouting together!
for the past week he had been giving us sleepless nites..hehe
now better liao

how's ur boy's teething?

hmmm..i used to keep extra porridge in the fridge for next day's use if i cooked too much (cuz i only cook porridge for dinner) but now now how to much to cook liao so dun keep porridge anymore

graceofgod
is ur boy feeling better liao?
is he still feverish?
hmm..sometimes can be throat inflamation le
my boy got this last mth, he's fever only went down abt 1 wk later lo

hope he gets better soon!

Hiya,

wah, so many post today, no time to read through one by one.

Avent Teat,
I saw No.4 teat at Bugis Junction today. Saw 3 too but it's the variable flow one. I only want the normal flow one. The variable flow one very fast.

Toy rental Club,
It's not crowded at all, cos quite out of the way. That day we went, only us and our friends. Better check the website for their opening hours. very limited hours only actually cos open by 2 expats wife

garfield,
hey, where is this pic taken? looks like a really nice place...

yo yo gals...

i long long time bo post liao...keke... sometimes too lazy to log on... but if i log on... i wld read the posts.. just that no time to post yet...my boy woke up liao & got to attend to him..haiz...

jelly, garfield,
nice pics!!

garfield,
so sad cant join u gals this sat... hope u organise another fun gathering at ur place again...so i can bring ryan along ...hehehe..

chocbabe,
i think i super blur..all along thought the no.3 teat only got the variable flow one... haha... my ryan using the no. 3 variable flow & no. 4 teat... wld let u know if i happen to see the normal no. 3 teat ...

wah...seems like some babies here already got the upper teeth liao... my boy still only the bottom 2... ehh...somemore he the oldest here...

updated my boy's blog:
http://ryanchl.blogspot.com

Hey ladies..

My comp was down..so MIA these few days.

Huskie, Catz..
Thanks for replying me regarding the hip carrier.
My hb dont allow me to buy an Ergo carrier..too ex he says n not worth cos I should hav bought it earlier..he thinks tat Yael wont want to be in it for very long.

Not able to join the baby playgroup on Sat..
Hope u mummies n babes for fun!

Hi mummies, I hope you gals don't find me rude to pop question into your thread once a while and then went mia and sometime don't response to your reply. This thread is like ..so fast. lost when I log in after a week. so most of the time I read and talk less. hope you don't mind.

chocbabe & smurfy,
will try get #4 from bugis since nearer to my mum place. Thanks. The one that tiong bahru is selling is normal 3hole teat. I also didn't use the variable teat for my baby cos my mil like to turn the bottle when feeding bb. I scare bb will choke herself with the irregular flow. :p

sunsweet,
My girl also has watery stool for the past week. thought it is due to teething/taking too much porridge. so now maybe the problem is due to the things she bite.

For plain simplicity, my mum will cook a pot of porridge for bb to settle her lunch & dinner.
Her feeding schedule:
5am+ FM 150ml
morning walk
9am+ FM 180ml
bath -> nap -> playtime
12noon 1 small bowl of Porridge
(mince meat stock + 2veg , & 1/4size of papaya/pear/banana/watermelon)
playtime -> nap -> playtime
4pm 1 small bowl of Porridge (same as 12noon )
playtime -> evening walk
8pm+ FM 180ml
sleep
11.30-12am FM 180ml (let her suck when she is sleeping)

garfield/jelly

both YX and zz looks like toddler already!

esp zz, i think he lost his bb fats and bb looks.

gals,

it seems like very common that we feed bb at 2 hr interval.. me too, but i find myself very bz leh, cos 2 hrs past in a flash and feeding time again. I tot bb should be having 3 or 4 hr interval feed, and i tot cherish is the odd one out with 2 hr interval

kekeke all our bbs r soo giantic now...time really flies..

YX soo different frm the previous pics...now more prettier n lost some weight right?

dot dot dot.. i am still envious of all the milk intake the bbs here r drinking...

charis
err the ergo carrier is good.... if u r handling yael on ur own most of the time...and going out often, it is a good investment

food..
how do u all prepare meat , fish stock? which cut of the bones ar? saw one mummy using minced meat stock? cook for how long?

porridge
if we dump all the veges into porridge, then the bb's food look more like salad right? kekekek not appetizing leh?? eekz i dun think i like to eat food this way... but yesterday i just gave QY some salad - brown rice porridge with tofu, carrot n kailan mixed together... any other ways to do it?

pvl
kekeke i think i was the one who mentioned abt the spinach n iron in the past.. :p maybe i am making a mountain out of a molehill hahaha..

Gak, the biscuit is from Heinz. I bought Bellamy but haven't try. he likes to bite and then use that as a weapon to hit ple!

chocbabe, the place is sushi tei @ vivo... rather nice scenery there! can see cable cars and ship too... zz keeps looking out of window.

stella, zz is not fat no matter how much he eat... dunno where all the food goes but then he likes to jump so prob exercise the fats away... prob he is like his dad :p

actually his food intake in the day i roughly know only... i only concern wat semi solid he eat hahaha as long as he gaining weight n got poo can already.

his food intake could be something like that

6.30 a.m - 165 ml of milk
8.30 a.m breakfast like prob two tablespoon of avocado
10.30 a.m - 150ml of milk
12 plus - lunch (3 table of rice cereal and 4 table of vegi/fruit
3.30 p.m - 150ml of milk
6 plus - dinner (coarse rice 4 scoops plus 2 scoops of milk)
9 pm - 165 ml of milk.

then sleep till nxt morn 630 a.m

garfield
tat's a healthy breakfast!.. yah maybe i shld try that oso hahaha ehh but dinner coarse rice??? no veges or fruits? how come the highchair at sushi tei soo nice?.. ohh 4get to mention, i like the 2nd pic, of zz trying to reach out something..

lala & smurfy, oh any idea which brands of formula is super duper fattening??? currently giving YR similac and the instruction says to mix 1 scoop to 60ml of water. But if i do that and mix it into her cereal....she doesn't want to take her cereal. In the end, i have to dilute the mixture u know??? I've gone to diluting to about a scoop to about 100ml or sometimes even to 120ml. but when it comes to drinking milk, i give her the full dosage lah.....

why is she so anti milk?????

smurfy, your QY intake of milk is already very good compared to YR. Anywayz, how do u force QY to drink milk if he doesnt' want to drink???????? YR just pushes the cup away when she has enuff and if i keep pushing the cup to her....she will grab the cup and hit it against the floor.

smurfy

the grass is always greener at other pastures..i am envious of bb taking much solids..haha

i seldom prepare stock for cherish.once i prepared chicken stock, it is abit oily cos of the chicken fats sticked on the bones. normally we use our soup as her stock(we dont put meat)

poor cherish is always eating rojak style cos it is more convienent..i very lazy to feed her dish by dish

Nana, ryan is indeed very cute!!! Ur blog very nice. I am still slowly learning. Haiz...

stella, ya... I also think YX is a big girl oredi, especially when now my sil gave birth to a baby girl. They are actually same age (one Feb, one Oct), but so different oredi in terms of size.

smurfy, she looks prettier becos wearing hat? She was in extremely good mood that day.

My gal cried again early this morning at 3am. After giving her some water then she fall asleep. Then I put her to sleep beside me but cannot make it lah. Kept kena kicked and squeezed by her until i gave up and put her back to her playpen.

btw, zz looks damn ccute holding the biscuit. and YX is so sweet. eh, jello, do YX's hair with side parting leh...she looks cute in that parting....

jelly

yah lor..cos our gals are borned in begining of the yr , so compared to year end bb, they look so big.

milkie

i heard S26 is fattening ,,dunno true or not. But cherish , i think she follow me, fleshy fleshy kind. I prefer bb gals who are slim and chic

jas
yep yep.. she look so pretty dressed up, a lil hat makes alot of difference ;)

stella
u r not lazy lar, it is just tat u have to cope n do everything on ur own.. that's why after preparing, u feel tired to feed oredi.. wheras i can get someone to help me prepare...then my mum or my job is just to feed...

milkie
think is NAN :p... my hb's cousin bb drinking on that.. the face soo fat until xploding.. :x.. err it is always a sad case during milk time.. basically we put him on the rocker.. and the moment we push the milk bottle into his mouth, he takes a few sips and start to whine oredi.. we push again.. and it escalates to crying.. then the maid will start to rock the rocker and stuff his mouth with a pacificer until he falls asleep.. then she will "talk" to QY, remove the pacificer and changes with the milk bottles, and tell him to drink milk.. then he will drink.. but this boy hor, nowadays sleep oso know how to push away the teat.. or close his mouth tightly when he dun wanna more milk. daytime if he is not sleepy.. it's similar to ur case.. push, cry.. throw..my onli hope is the nite time.. that he can drink 200ml..

thxs smurfy n susu for zz comment... i also like the pics... smurfy, u can try the place nxt time... v nice to bring kid go... we can eat while the bb looks at the scenery n eat his own food hehe second pic is he trying to grab the smoke from our food lar... he v innocent thot can catch la

coarse rice is the herbs with brown rice already- my mum say no need to put any vegi or fruits cos itself is v nutrientous already. I normally give this during evening cos more full and then he can tong until nxt morn mah. if not, i will give him rice cereal with 2 or 3 vegi.

btw, smurfy, stella, cherry,
u have mail on my address ok? do check... today I taking half day so might not go forum later. anything, sms or email to my yahoo... thxs...

Managed to sqz in some time to chat w/ u all & @ the same time a pic to show u hw A looks like nwadays. It's bn sometime since I post any pics

1027172.jpg

As u all can see, A is still boh geh, wonder when then he will start teething.

Somebody was talking abt toufu? we just let A let as it is. tat day we went to Kushinbo & fed him the steam egg. bt cos it was abit salty, so we stopped, then fed him his rice rusks. Then i asked hb to get me the toufu, then i drained the gravy w/ hot water, so he ate only toufu kosong. i dun mash it, just use spoon cut in pcs then feed him. it's soft anyway, & they wun get choked.

My monster eats almost anything & everything so long it's edible.

Yes - he's nt a Cheena man. perhaps las time he wasn't used to the taste. bt nw he eats & doesn't get enuff each time. If i use the Similac scoop, i hv to scoop 4 - 5 full scoops for him. bt tat also means he will nt cry for milk w/in the nx 1 - 2hrs.

chocabade - the variable flow - nt v fast wor, tats wat i feel lah. I gave A tat when he was abt 4mths+ or so.

actually all teats r the same, it's hw u hold the btl to ctrl the flow. if u tilt it vertical dwn, the flow is fast, bt v seldom u will hold the btl in an upright position. When u feed u also tend to make it slant, so infact the water is nt flowing out fast. u can try.

susu and smurfy! Yep yep... I highly suspect Nan is very fattening! Just look at my YX, even though she is not drinking extremely a lot of milk!

susu, if i bath YX, i like to apply a little of baby oil on her hair as i dun like her hair standing up like boy boy's. Haha...

Garfield, sushi tei in vivo so nice view! I wanna bring YX there next time also.
zz is not very skinny lah. I think his size just nice.

Ah ger, A is getting more handsome. Aiyoh, can't stand his double eyelid.

skinny_babe and susu, our gym stuff finally here! Pls check ur email.

ah ger, yr A is v grown up too... look like toddler... n as fair as u...

u got see if there any whitish stuff on his gum? zz has it but till now it still there so slow come out meh?

zz eat mashed stuff like wan to vomit... though never la... it seem like he like goin to choke but never ... but u shld see his expression on his face.... butI got to train him...

AHger
yah yah, another pretty boy, like pvl's ben...

QY's getting ugly.. think he inherited his daddy's family long jawline.. yesterday i keep staring n staring at his jaw whahahaha.. n he looked back at me strangely..

Jelly - thks for ur compliments. His eyes arh - erm, ok leh, actually it's the black thing tats big so look as if eyes r big. when i c him - it's nt lor.

Toddler - ha ha ha, v chao lao look is it?

Eunice - he's much fairer than me! His gums - I think I've seen b4 for a logn time bt just tat nothing comes out.

I dun really mash for him, when I feed him fruits, I just use spoon to scrap & feed him. Lazy mum mah, + GP also said can, so long as nt too hard pc. We fed him papaya, apples & honeydew. Tat day he saw mum feeding my niece the Prima waffle - he also wanted to eat so mum gave him a small pc lor.

Actually I din really follow wat he can eat wat he cant. Bt of cos I dun feed him w/ fried & super duper oily stuff lah, usually on the plainer side.

Consumer Advisory Recall Of Baby Yoplait and Yoplait Eliva
Yoghurt
The National Foods Limited in Australia has announced an immediate
voluntary recall of its Yoplait yoghurt products produced from two Yoplait
yoghurt production lines as a result of possible metal contamination.
Following this announcement, the Agri-Food and Veterinary Authority (AVA)
has advised the importers and retailers to recall all the products which may
have been affected from the market immediately.
2 AVA advises the consumers who have bought the implicated products to
discard the products and not consume them.
3 According to National Foods Ltd, the recall of the products is only a
precautionary measure. There is no evidence at this stage that any product
has been contaminated.
4 The products to be recalled in Australia are:
(a) Baby Yoplait products with Best before Dates from 4/11/2007 to
22/11/2007 as follows:
Baby Yoplait Vanilla Pack of 4x100g
Baby Yoplait Vanilla & Banana - Pack of 4x100g
Baby Yoplait Peach & Pear - Pack of 4x100g
(b) Yoplait Eliva products with Best before Dates from 10/11/2007 to
17/11/2007 as follows:
Yoplait Eliva Vanilla - Pack of 4x150g
Yoplait Eliva Fig & Honey - Pack of 4x150g
Yoplait Eliva Pear with Yoplait Eliva Prune - Pack of 4x150g
Yoplait Eliva Strawberry with Yoplait Eliva Vanilla Pack of 8x150g
Yoplait Eliva Vanilla with Yoplait Eliva Prune 8x150g
Agri-Food & Veterinary Authority of Singapore
5 Maxwell Road #04-00 Tower Block MND Complex Singapore 069110
Fax: (65) 62235383
Pg 1 of 2
M E D I A R E L E A S E
5 National Food Limited has notified our local importer that of the above,
only the following product has been exported to Singapore :
Baby Yoplait Vanilla & Banana
Best before date: 11/11/2007
Pack of 4x100g
Consumer queries
6 Consumers who have any queries can call AVAs hotline at 1800-226
Issued by Agri-Food & Veterinary Authority
on 18 October 2007
Pg 2

jello,

your YX,,,very sweet le esp in her hat...aiyoh.....keke..she will fuss when sit on high chair not??..so much better to bring out when they can sit...

ah ger,
you muz be damn busy...sooo long nvr come in...hahah i also seldom post...its like read only..in office...then at night wan to post..machiam nobody to tok to..u seldom on msn also le..A really looks toddlerish...esp in his shirt wor..

stella, milkie,

i opposite le...i like fat babies le..very sad when my boy lost weight...maybe coz my family all babies are fat...so if got slim baby..its like "not so healthy"...hahah..even me n my sis...were overweight babies when young...n we were born relatively small size..but grown lotus after 2/3 months..

garfield,

I think most or all NTUC have leh cos i saw the advert on yesterday's straits times.
Maybe the NTUC at your place have not put up the tag on the shelves yet?

I stock up 4 tins liao.. got them to send it to my place together with my other purchase of diapers.

Milkie.. Cos u and many say she not lil anymore so time to change her nick here

Smiley J, Lil Smiley J, Smiley Lil J, haha all the same lah.. haha