(2007/02) February

jas
kekeke u must be over the moon now... YX can crawl and call u "ma-ma"
all the hard work is worth it right.

DEvelopment
frm tummy position, QY can go back to sitting down position. and that boy very proud yesterday, keep on moving frm tummy to sitting down, sitting down to tummy position... coz i keep on rewarding him with "claps"

milkie,
No lah, cooking baby's food is already a BIG achievement, cos I find baby food more leychey to plan and cook!
Plus my cooking is nothing elaborate - just whatever I can find in the fridge.
Can't wait for the day when baby can eat her dinner later, so can eat table foods with us, then no need to cook separately!

Catz,
Wow, Beth can do twinkle action?
Hee, actually Soph was also doing clapping action for a long time liao, but this silly mommy didn't know... each time she claps her hands when she sees me with food, I thought she was trying to whack my bowl away!
Then that day at my mum's place when my mum fed her, my sis saw it then told me she's actually clapping her hands and smiling away... haha, this blur mommy still thought Soph was a fussy eater!

smurfy,
Hmm.. that's a scary encounter at the cot!
Is your cot mattress put to the lowest rung?
Mine is only the second rung, and recently Soph is also trying to pull ehrself up onto the sofa etc. Maybe it's time to change the mattress to the lowest rung!

jelly,
This $199 one, according to the lady, is from US, whereas milkie's one is from Australia.
I'm not sure if it's really metal, but the color from the pic is metallic silver... not very appealing at all.

Wow, YX did such a huge poo? Her such poos are not very often right?
When Soph was 5 weeks old, TMC told me to supplement her bm with Enfalac, and her poops are like that afetr every feed, watery and all over till her rompers all kenna.
It was only later on that a private LC told me she probably cannot take Enfalac... maybe something in it is causing this reaction.
In YX's case, prob not FM since she's been taking it for so long, but if this is often, then maybe it's some food?

Haha, just take it that YX is calling you! Don't think otherwise

jelly

wat an experience at IMM!! i am sure the other mummy dont mind , cos we are all mothers who know how errantic with a bb. cherish likes to poo poo when we are out..so i very ks, sure bring a big packet of wet wipes and few pcs of diaper in the diaperbag.

my mission in putting zz to his own play pen to sleep in the nite failed...

i only try it on sunday cos last sat he was already sleepin cos we coem back late... so dunno wanna change his rountine. so sun try and he keep crying until no voice. then his body shake until so scary....

he is a scary cat... later we bring him back to my bed he also cry n cry and keep holding us...

then last nite also try but he kept crying. then sleep on my bed then he very fast sleep... how ah???

yesterday he also v v cranky the whole day. dunno is the experience last sun nite

yesterday zz try yogurt... hehe...

he v cute... for past 2 days, n today, he poo in the morning. each time he will give his signal n when i ask him he look at me like agreeing, then me will rush him outside to get potty, then he allow me to put him down (normally he will scream) n remove diaper, then i sit him in potty and vola! he instantly poo inside. after he poo, he will wan to stand up hahaha... anyway, i will praise him for being clever dunno if he understand.

smurfy, just saw ur posting on QY's encounter at the cot. That is real scary! Have u adjusted QY's cot at the lowest level? QY so pandai can change from crawl to sit and sit to crawl position! My YX still just starting crawling...
Heihei, ya... Very happy that she called "ma ma" first. Her daddy bu gan yuan, last nite kept asking her to call her "pa pa". Ha....

huskie, for me it will be more headache next time baby start table food, that will mean I NEED TO COOK!!! Oh my.... currently we ta pao everyday and i never cook...

huskie, all the while YX's poo is huge! She poo almost everyday. And when i fed her sweet potato, she pooed 3 to 4 times of big poo per day! scary!

stella, yaloh! She very poor thing. I think she cried so loud becos the changing table is cold (shd have put a piece of diaper on top of the changing table)!!! And have to go naked in front of so many people when we changed for her. i always have a few pieces of diapers wif me. But forgot to check the wet wipes.

garfield, u can try sing zz songs and hug him b4 putting him inside his playpen. Also put his favourite toys or bolster/pillow for him to hug. Congrats on zz's new teeth!

jelly,

we tried but he cried so loudly tat the whole negibourhood can hear. then he keep arching his back... so scare he break neck. then he cry n cry for v long.... but guess i have to try it for few more times.... now he like v jing zhang.

congrats she know how to say ma ma... for mine, he will only say neh neh... at first i tok he call his grandma, but now realise it could be his milk.

smurfy, wat happen to QY? fall from cot?? paiseh, me no time read old posts. zz also can climb over pillow n tat is y we dun wan to put him on bed without watchin over him liao.

garfield

wow zz got strong lungs..cry until the whole neighbourhood can hear. i kena complain by someone that cherish cry is disturbing. that time cherish still not one mth yet, and when that person complaint, i also broke down in front of him..haha

smurfy/jelly/garfield

all ur bb so smart. know how to wave/speak already. cherish still screaming away and dunno how to crawl.

lately she like to do one obscene act.. on all fours and move her body and butt towards and backwards

STELLA
Dun be disheartened... that wave/bubyee is taught by my mum.. everyday she will teach QY that.. but he dun wanna do it.. until my mum gave up n keep telling QY dunno how to wave bubyee.. then one fine saturday at toyrus.. that QY suddenly start the waving motion.. and keep doing that the whole day.. since then everytime tell him "bubyee" he starts waving his lil hand..

jas/huskie
his cot still at the top rung.. have not change to the 2nd or lowest rung.. will do that when hb is back.... think my scream scare QY though hahha :x

garfild
no, Qy no falll down.. but if my mum never catch hold of the legs.. he will end up head down first..

stella,

zz also like to arch up his backside.... also v obsene... prob he wans to stand up.

his daddy saw n tell him dun show to gals like this... so amusing... paiseh

smurfy,
Hehehehe, not 'veges stock' just 'veges'. The actual veges, not the stock lah!!! The stock I am referring to is fish stock, made by boiling fish bones.

Harder veges are grated using a little grater. Leafy veges are just cut finely. Broccoli is just the top part. Pumpkin and sweet potato soften quite easily, so no need to really cut so finly.

You free these evenings ah? You want to come over here? hehehe. Let me check with my hb first. Next week my hb will be away from Tue to Thurs.

huskie,
So sorry for your loss too. You are actually doing a scrapbook for Ironman? Wah. I didn't even have a scan to look at cos the first visit, bb was already lacking in heartbeat, and small for dates so my gynae didn't give me a printout. The only think I still have is Sidney's pregnancy test stick.

Huai shan was fine for Ben.

I'd better get going. My poor kids have not had their lunch. Had a visitor this morning and nothing got done :p.

jelly, remember Beth's awful projectile poo on me at Paragon??? I think it's much worse than your IMM experience 'cos there was wet poo and pee all over the changing mat :p And I ran out of wipes.. and diaper :p and I had a big patch of poo on my shirt.. Our kids sure know how to tekan us hor? Good thing is that most mummies are quite understanding about such things

PVL, yeah much as I like visitors, they really put me behind schedule.. ah well
I had an early miscarriage before I conceived Timo but blur me, didn't realise what it was until quite a while later! Ignorance is bliss.. I feel so sad to hear of miscarriages though.

Charis can't post.. her comp is down.

OK gotta run.. Beth is destroying her korkor's fave toy (while he's sleeping..hahaha)

Rainy day.. so nice to sleep.. too bad I cannot sleep..

stella, no need to feel upset.. it's normal to feel anxious but I think your baby is fine! They develop in spurts.. like Beth.. she didn't crawl well until about 2 weeks back.. then just as she started crawling properly, she started doing the wave and twinkle..It all happens at one time... it was the same for my son too.

PVL,
I had many many scans, cos was going to the gynae every 3 to 4 days to check if the heartbeat got stronger... yep, wanna do a scrapbook for my Ironbaby. Will let Soph know about her jie jie when she's older... both my and hubby think it was a girl

Never knew I could pray so hard in my entire life before... but I guess what's yours is yours... in the end, I didn't have that baby and I've got S now.

stella,
I don't think Cherish is obscene lah... haha, she's probably trying to learn to strengthen her hands and legs to beging crawling or walking!

garfield,
Jia You with cot training! You can do it.
Heee, I'm a recent guo lai ren... S also cried until very jialat at the beginning, but now OK liao. Occasionally will still cry a bit but only about 10mins max.

Hi mummies!!!

HELP! julian has been crying nonstop for the past two nights. Suspect he is teething... Please advise me on how to soothe the discomfort that he is feeling right at the moment. My hubby and I are completely lost and stressed up over his incessant cries at night. Also he has been having fever since Sunday but under control with medication.

Please help! Thanks.

graceofgod,

my friend who has a 3yo boy told me what she did was to pat pat him during the teething stage ..

i did that to my boy these few days and he's able to fall asleep after a while ...

It's becoz during this teething stage, they feel very uncomfortable and insecure .. thus, the patting may help to calm them down and give a sense of security lor ..

i know some mummies apply teething gel onto baby's gums ... maybe that can be an alternative

dun worry, stay calm
yr julian needs you to comfort him during this stage ....

Smurfy,

What teething gel did you use? think my boy really really needs that.
He is crying nonstop, keeps scratching his head and ears. Pacifier doesnt do the soothing now.

longan,

Thanks. you know, now i am typing here cos my hb asked me to find out more about comforting a baby who is teething cos we are so so lost! He is crying so badly in the background.

Hiya,

I also having some problems with Ryan lately. He's been really cranky these few days.

Past 2 nites, work up a few times screaming in the middle of the night. Not his usual cries. These sound like in pain or nightmare...

Also, these few days eating alot less. Refuse to have morning cereal at 8am even though his last meal was milk at 8pm the night before. Milk intake also decrease alot.

Sigh.. how how? not sure if top 2 teething. He doesn't seem to hv any problems with his bottom 2.

Talking abt decreased milk intake, think partly cos the teat flow not suitable. Been trying to find the No. 3 teat for AVENT but can u believe it, find the whole singapore from town to neighbourhood mall all dun hv. All out of stock...If anyone see it, please tell me okie?

it's really bn ages since I las logged in.

I briefly browsed thru past posts. Koh - hope ur gal will get well soon. As for ur boy - dun worry, he wil change in no time, he just need a little bit more time than others.

I hv bn v tired lately. A is really a nightmare to me, he crawls v fast, sometimes almost cant catch up. The moment I put him dwn he flips & crawls. OMG! & the best thing is - he's beginning to pull himself up w/ the help of grabbing something. He can stand w/o us supporting him frm behind bt of cos he is leaning against the sofa or something lah. Everybody's speculating he'll walk v soon.

Things din seem to b gng smoothly for me. 1st hp joystick spoilt, sent for repair cos I couldn't find a nice phone tat I like. Nw using Samsung - sucks! I hate the set up, the sms function & searching for a contact - really v bad. Worse - the camera is so slow motion, end up none of the photos looks clear to me.

2nd disaster - car got banged by a lorry today. *heartpain* nw the car is in hospital waiting for operation & then recovery. Est discharge to be 2wks later. We r intending to do full claim frm the other party. 2mr on urgent leave again cos no car to go mum's hse. Dad was suggesting me taking cab since I could claim, bt then v rush leh, suan le, hv more rest @ hme.

Work - bad bad bad.... everyday like wking non-stop. hv bn staying back pretty often to clear things. Only managed to run my rpts lately cos of some changes to the system. Then added on those adhoc duties & almost all urgent - I almost wanna faint.

Talking abt feeds - A eats/ drinks 4 meals. Morning 7+am 1st feed, then 12+ 1pm 2nd feed, 5+ porridge - 3rd meal, 10+ last feed. Tats his routine on wkdays. On wkends - timings r pretty much the same except the 12+ 1pm & the 5pm meals wil b cereals in diff flavours. Occassionally I will scrap apples & honeydew for him to eat whichever is available in my fridge. His night feed is def a big btl - abt 9oz normally, or else I will nt get to slp after tat.

Teething - A till nt still bo geh. Normal? Somebody told me her kid teethed ard 1yr old.

Chocbabe - #3 no stock? Dun think so leh....... did u chk Kiddy Palace/ OG/ Metro & some other dept stores? Actually I feel #3 variable flow vs #4 fast flow - no diff. A is using #4, & we find it slow, so we bought this Farlin teat hole puncher & punch an extra hole so tat he can finish his milk faster.

I shall catch up w/ u gals pretty soon.... *hopefully*

I need to catch some slp b4 running errands 2mr again w/ hb & A.

Take care gals.....

Catz, compared to ur poo encounter, mine is really "xiao wu jian da wu". Haha...

Ah ger, So long never see ur posting! A seems to be growing very well! Wow, can stand unsupported oredi. U pls take care of urself k? We do miss chit chatting wif u here.

YX woke up early this morning crying and screaming again at 3am. I hug and pat her she cried even louder so gave her some warm water only then she felt better and fall asleep again. But on and off she still made sobbing noise as if got bullied in the dream. So last nite both hubby and I got really bad sleep.

My SIL gave birth to a baby girl yesterday morning. But there are some implication on my SIL's uterus so until now she is still in ICU. We are all so worried... This evening after work will go jb to visit her and the little baby.

graceofgod

i use dentinox for cherish. it helps to reduce pain for her. that day we were outside and she cried and cried and i saw her gums are red and swollen.

upon reaching home, i applied the gel and she almost stop crying instantly.

btw, this issue of mother and baby magazine, there is an article on teething. will try to get a copy today

grace of god, if Julian is uncomfy cos of teething, what i read is that he will be cranky throughout the whole day and not just night time. Maybe you ought to bring him to see PD just in case he has ear infection or something else that's bothering him?

Jelly, aiyoh what happened to your SIL?? So scary! Hope she'll be OK.

GOG, I use Dentinox for Timo and for Beth, I ordered Hylands homeopathic teething tablets from Luckyvitamin.com. But I agree with milkie that Julian pulling and scratching could be indicative of an ear infection which needs to be treated ASAP.

*yawn* so sleepy...

JEllo, hope SIL is alright. Drive carefully to JB and come back soon.

Catty, what fave toy of Timo was Beth destroying?? hahaha

Yday YR fell from the changing table down to the floor. CRASH!! Very bad fall. Just cos i turned away for a sec. SHe cried quite a bit but she kinda stopped after a few mins while resting on me. Thank goodness her appetite is normal, no vomitting, no strange behavior, so i guess i don't have to bring her to see the PD?????

But this morning she woke up at 245am and cried a little...and when i peeped, saw her hugging Kammi and just tossing and turning. Then she sat up and cried harder. So I went in and just rub rub her back and let her lean on my one arm. I didn't pick her up from the cot at all. Then after a while she was ok again and went back to bed.

Was she having nightmare??????????

GOG
i was using detonix.teething gel, can be found in pharmacies.. but i stopped using..

ah-ger
kekeke another one who used to complain bb's development slow last time.. now u r very very busy right? hahahaha.. A seems to be eating well now, with cereals and fruits? ;) so in the end, he is not "cheena" lar, like cereals as well? ;)

jas
hope ur sil gets transferred out of ICU fast... But is the bb alright? .. i am susceptible abt malaysia docs n hospitals... u knw? nowadays my hb makes monthly trips frm kulai to bring his grandfather see singapore docs n specialist for prostate cancer n lung infection...

milkie
ouch!!...was YR alright the whole of yesterday, with no inbetween crying? could the espoide of yesterday sub-consciously cause her to have a nitemare, that's why she is hugging on the kammis to feel more secure?

guess most mummies n daddies losing sleep during bb's teething period..

smurfling, I monitored YR after she fell, she seemed alright leh....nothing out of the norm so i hope she's alright.
Very loud crash ok......scary. She stopped crying after the few mins of crying...then she just rested her head on my chest and rested from her bout of crying for a while...so i just let her do that for a while....THEN i brought her out and she seemed happy as usual.

I also not sure whether the big fall was the cause of her waking up to cry at night....but will see if tonight she cries again not.

with regards to teething, YR is not using any gel or any pain relieve for it. I think she resorts to biting her Kammi to ease her itch cos the Kammi really looks the most 'seasoned' out of all her toys in the cot.

milkie..
maybe u shld start changing YR at floorlevel, eg. playmat? always safer on the ground.. and is the changing table is getting small for YR?

milkie, YR is a tough nut!! Beth also.. but I think she might be a little bruised and hurting lah, that's why the night waking. I also hate using the changing table so I usually try to change her at floor level although it's worse for my back. Ah well.. Timo ah, has a lot of favourites..
His mobile phone, his laptop, train set :p

Ah Ger, nice to see you posting.. A is doing well!!

Dear all, thanks for ur well wishes. We are praying hard she will be out of ICU soon. Seems like her uterus doesn't contract properly after she gave birth to the baby by caesarian. Doctor is monitoring and will need to give her another operation if the uterus still does not contract. Thank god baby is well. Last nite called my mum, she was so worried and felt sad when looking at my brother and their 6 years old daughter sitting outside the operation waiting for my SIL. She said my brother looks so lost... But my niece is such a good gal, sitting quietly beside her daddy waiting for her mummy.

catty & smurfling, the changing table is really a square table with the padded changing mat on it and all her changing needs around it. but maybe u guys are right, i should change her on the floor instead.

I didnt even dare to tell my husband she fell from that height....else I will definitely be nagged to death.

Eh, catz does timo ever get jealous of the attention u shower on beth????

milkie, yah I also diam diam about my boo boos.. haha.. no lah, I do 'fess up :p Beth gets jealous of the attention korkor usually gets!!! Poor girl.. her brother is so yakkety that she scarcely gets to 'shine'.. but we do try to compensate and talk to her more now that she's more demanding. Haha..

catz
ahahhaa i guessed it right.. the first child usually gets all the privileges.. and attention.. :p

jas
i really hope everything turns out fine for ur family... really sad to read such things..

jelly

hope ur sil gets well soon.

milkie

oh no poor YR . Yesterday cherish almost fell frm the bed . Her left limbs are danging out of the bed and luckily i managed to see in time

stella, luckily u saw cherish in time....
i was not so lucky.hahahaha

anywayz, u girls know that YR has this wooden alphabet walker to aid her in helping? Well, I think she finally gave up on that as she can only go one direction with that walker. Now she has found a more innovative way of getting around to places in the house.

U know she has this FisherPrice Learning Table??? It's not meant to be a walker or anything to aid walking but she has used that to push around the house and best is that the table is so light, so she can go turn here and there with it...

Nowadays she is very fascinated with the house phone that is on the coffee table. She will walk with the table to the telephone and then she will start banging the phone till she gets it on the dial mode.....then she will jus bang bang on it. On few occasions she has managed to hit the speed dial button and call my husband n my parents by accident. Cannot make it.....

Once she called my friend by mistake and my friend heard YR making noise in the background and realized it was YR.

How do we stop them from playing with phones??????

susu... YR is soooo cute making phone calls to her daddy and grandparents. Haha...

Maybe u try to put the phone at a higher place where she cannot reach?

Ah Ger,

Yah really no stock. only got the variable No. 3 which is too fast for my boy. Looking for the normal flow No. 3. Called all the Kiddy Palace also, from causeway pt to marina sq to jurong pt to compass pt.

jelly... hope your SIL is well..

milkshake... think all babies like to play with adult stuff.. sigh.. Ryan also always go for my HP and all the remote controls in the house. We gave him a malfunction remote control and he seem to know that it's not real... they really know their stuff man...

milkie

i think the best solution is wat jelly mention.. put at higher place.

that day cherish got hold of tv remote control, she was happily changing channel

MILKie
but that learning table height is quite low right? YR gotta bend her body to "walk"?

jas
good to hear that.. at least out of danger liao

stella
yah lar. these kids nowadays... ai yoh.. help the parents switch channels,.. got one time he help daddy switch off tv.. i was soo happy, told hb "QY wants u to play with him, not to watch tv"

jello, hey good thing that your sil is ok. but u still have to visit her tonight right??

jellooooo, lala, cannot put in higher place....told u before our stupid house is done up in a very low low fashion. everything is low.....

chocbabe, guess so. i know air con remote, tv remote and my hp are her fave toys so far....but the house phone is the new flavour of the month.

that time ryan was already cruising around right?? has he started walking without support now??? YR still stuck in the cruising and climbing stage. Think it will be a long while more before she can walk without support.

smurfette, the learning table got legs that can be attached...so she doesn't really have to bend too much. Not that she's very tall leh...hahahaa but as she pushes it along, she will walk along....so she's kinda using it like her alphabet walker.

MIkie
i got a learning table, i think is fisher price.. but i tot the table at funny height when legs are attached in... nvm, later i go and check.. maybe QY too tall.. hahhaaa.. if that's the case then i can oso let him try n use that as a walker? :D

Taking half day leave.. haiz.. to make police report on that stopid flashcard bp issue..

graceofgod
when my son's teething, usually he can be calmed down with some carrying & patting, walking up & down or around the house..if all these fails i'll apply some Glycerine, taught by my sis's fren dat it can numb the pain but i hadn't try it on myself b4, been using it to clean his gums & tongue since 1mth old.
he'll resist cuz think touching his teething area's also painful, then continue with some carry & pat pat to sooth him..
sometimes when he got fever when teething, i'll give him Calpol, pain & fever relieve for babies & children..suitable for use when teething

jelly
hope ur SIL recovers soon!
maybe her body's not receiving the signal that baby's not in the womb anymore..think it'll take sometime?
is she feeling better already??

smurfy, you kena the flashcard debacle ah? Poor you.. so headache.. luckily I never order from them some stuff I was thinking about.. those gallon size bottles of California Baby.. $250 leh.. Good luck, hope you can get your money back!

Milkie, yeah Timo used to push all the stools all over the house. His leapfrog table can't be pushed though *phew* But he liked his ELC walker very much even though it was one direction only. I don't like those other walkers (we have 2 others) that freewheel. So darn dangerous. Miss YR is sooo mobile! Beth isn't quite cruising yet.. too chicken for now..haha
Put the phone out of her reach lah dear.. that's the only way!

susu, ya... will still go visit her this evening and come back sg to9.

smurfy, good luck on the police report. Roughly read the posting on that BP. The organiser is really very jialat kind.

gak, thanks for ur well wishes. She is just out of ICU this morning. Condition shd be stable now. Will go visit her this evening.

milkie,
Hope YR is feeling OK today from the fall.
Eh, I remember you mention before the changing table is your mahjong table? If it is, then YR must be real fast now, cos mahjong table quite wide leh.

jelly,
Good to know your SIL is out of ICU!
Life is so fragile - who would ever think that we may one day lose our lives in bringing our little ones into this world!

Catz,
That flashcard seller sells CB items too?
Hmm.. there's another seller who sells CB item too - she emailed me privately... her site is called Pink Cream.
I think I better be more wary of these sellers whom we never deal with before.

Smurfy,
Good luck on police report - hope you guys get your money back!

gak,
Huai Shan is Chinese Yam, or some call it shan yao.
It's a kind of root, looks like a long rod with some "hairs" on the skin.
Once peeled, it's slippery.
Good for lungs and milk ss... we take it during confinement

PVL,
I tried soft tofu yesterday and firm tofu (tau kwa) today.
My verdict - if you are pureeing it, go for tau kwa. I pureed it with spinach and a bit of meat stock (just to make it smoother)... it's quite nice, can even let Sarah eat it as a healthy tofu dip with chips.
The soft tofu (after pureeing) becomes water, like tau hway jui... I think if using soft tofu, mash can liao.

huskie, it's not pink cream.. think she's quite OK.. it's the helputtc.. the only people who bring in the larger quantities of CB.

huai shan is 'wai san' in cantonese right?

jello,

thank goodness your SIL is ok...so scary to hear this type of news...

catz,

tyler is on the freewheel walker..he "flys" everywhere...quit scary..but sometimes no choice...if dun let him run about..he will make noise..but nowadaes he preferred to be carried..he can stand wif support only...n only does leopard crawl..kekek still not exactly mobile..but he flips faster than we can catch him..

milkie,

muz be careful now dat yoori lurves to move about...bound to be "accidents" once in a while..when tyra was young..hit the table corner..then her gums started bleeding..its damn scary to see babies wif mouthful of blood..although she dun seem to feel v pain...if she's still active, eat well sleep well..shouldn't be a problem...

tyler's favourite toy is his sister...like to pull his sister hair..he also like hp n remote..