(2007/02) February

Stella - 4got to reply u. Nope I dun hv any pain ard pubic hair area, bt I feel the stretch slightly abv tare cos of the stomach starts to get stretched.

ah ger, I played the ring game before, my brother taught us one. He tried on everybody in the family including both my parents and very zhun. That's why i think my 1st one will be a girl.

my hb reads those very chim chinese history stories to bb... in the meanwhile i will fall asleep..cos too boring liao. but now we know its gal gal..hb seldom tell those chinese warrior stories..scared bb tomboy.

Jas - urs is circle or to & fro? Cos mine thru'out all these games all show to & fro wor...... bt then I c my stomach & everybody's speculation - NO BETS FOR BOY! ha ha ha.......

To & Fro is boy while circle is gal right? Or is it the other way round? Mum said circle is gal cos my sis had tat & tare came my niece. Then mine was to & fro. My ex-colls played tat & also very accurate.

Stella, @ least ur hb still bothers to do all these. Mine arh - did nothing @ all! Bt again, I dunno wat he can tok to the bb also. Both of us find tat talking to the air seems very funny. Ha ha ha...........

Hi ladies..

Did not log in past 2 days..Busy lah..

Yesterday went to JB shopping with my parents..

So the topic's this ring thing to determine gender..hehe..u all can try it lh..But there was this website on the net, n the author n his wife did the ring thingy on her tummy, cos his wife insisted that they tried it..n so they did it n it was a boy..but the hubby who was a gynae, did it on the bedside table also..n convinced the wife that it too was going to have a boy..hahaha..get it..It doesnt work lah..but u can try it for fun!

Hmm..for 18 weeks..my tummy not very big leh..my girlfriend already looks like 8-9months preggie, she's only 1 month ahead than me.

Charis, so u meant the couple actually tried it, outcome was boy bt the wife got a gal instead? Yeah lah, just for fun lah...........

My gf's SIL, think 1mth earlier than me bah, she arh already put on like 10+kg, & her gynae asked her to slow dwn eating. Bt she said she already tried very hard bt can't cos she's always hungry.

halo mummy
Wow finally finish my work liao hahahha i can R and R for the rest of the day liao heheheh

i am currently using the elancyl lotion .. agree lah abit x leh ..

hey Jas
Really ah ... accurate or not? Tied rings with string ah. I go bk and try tonite hhehehe

Stella- My Hb onli read 3 little pig stories for my BB. He so lazy to read other story. I heard from my colleag listen to classic music is good leh...hehhee

Hey Charis

Same leh .. my tummy oso not obivious. Its like i put on wt onli. This morni, luckily got one kind soul give up her seat to me leh cos i am advise by my Gynae tt i am not able to stand too long in the MRT, i will experience MS.

Ah ger..my sis in law also same..put on 10kg already by her 5th month..

The ring story..not sure if theirs turn out be a girl instead..hehe.

Chea, usually if I stand thru the journey, I wun stand in one position, I will fidget. Bt anyway, even though my stomach is slightly obvious also nobody gave up seat for me. So nvm lor, endure lor.........

Charis - my coll by 6mths I think 9kg le. I dunno hw much I will put on during the nx chk up, bt I hope it wun b drastic increase cos it's gng to b very scary. Tats y I wanna monitor myself everyday.

chea...

i also dunno wat stories i can read to bb.. perhaps should go to library-children section and take a look.

ah ger..

yah...20 weeks more to go for us!!!

Hi Jas,

The website is www.inneryoga.net. No, don't think they have lessons on weekdays.

Whatever Yoga (at Keong Siak Rd - near Chinatown) have the cheapest lessons @ $180 for ten lessons every Tues evening (valid for one year). It's taught by the same teacher at Gaia where I attend my yoga classes.

Prenatal yoga is relatively easy to practice. I prefer jogging but ever since I am pregnant, I have stopped that completely.

Any MTB swim on a regular basis? What is your favorite stroke? I am trying to convince myself that swimming is a good form of exercise too :)

Stella - instead of reading to bb, I think I will slp 1st. Ha ha ha......... so maybe dun read, just play music lor.

So bored 2day. I intend to go shopping bt dunno shop for wat.

Jazzcy - I m thinking of swimming bt then I dun hv any swimwear. It is def a gd exercise for preggies as advised by my gynae.

wanted to try swimming but swimming at public pool seems to be very dangerous esp comes to weekends..

I was thinking of joining yoga for one of the weekends to energise myself cos preggy is making me feeling restless most of the time..

Any ladies likes to go for yoga together .. it encouraging to have a exercise buddy

Chea- i think its so sweet to read stories to bb..

i miss those days when my mum reads stories to me during a lazy sunday afternoon keke ...

Jazz..

Good for u tat u can exercise..Im a exercise regular b4 n during preggie..been doing sports for many years..but I had a miscarriage early this year..then took a while to recover physically..so for this pregnancy my gynae 'forbid' me to exercise at all..I dont have any medical problems leh..except asthma which is very controlled..so dont know why gynae so paranoid..he seems to be the old-fashioned kind. So I've only been doing some pilates n stretching..that is also against gynae's orders..haha.

I suspended my aerobics n gym package with Amore, continue after confinement..so wont be going gym at all..Im starting brisk walking soon..against gynae's orders too..hehe. But exercise is good for preggies..so well..

sunsweet and ah ger, if i remember correctly my brother used a needle tie to a string instead of using a ring and put it on your right ȭͷ(if guys then on left hand), and amazingly the needle will start moving! Think if round is girl and to and fro is boy (can't remember clearly, gotta check with him again). Once you know the gender of ur 1st bb, you stop the needle then try again and it will be either round or to and fro, and that's the gender of your 2nd bb. U continue to try until the needle stop moving at all, and u'll know how many kids you have.

Jazz, thanks for the info. Weekend i normally back to jb lei.
Maybe will try the one at Chinatown as you mentioned.

I let my bb hear classical music every night and it helps me to get into sleep also.

Hey ah ger and SunSweet,

Swimming is good leh .... but i think my swimsuit cannot fit me liao. Got to buy new one liao. Juz chk with u all, did u buy new maternity bra? I think my bra is quite tight liao, got to buy new one.

Hey Charis
Last time i oso join Amore for their aerobic leh.. but find tt their pkg quite x.

hey bitbit
Wat did u wrote? Rewrite again lor ...

Chea,

I already bought and is wearing a larger cup bra to accomodate the growing breast.. also a couple of nursing bra for a change cos was told underwire will somehow block milk ducts and affect the amt of milk you'll produce when u want to BF ..

if the cup still fits you u may just want to buy the extension for the back strap.

<font color="0000ff">afternoon gals</font>

few days nvr log in.....lazy lar... cos in my parents' place... so watching tv dramas (recorded on video-tapes).... hahaa...
if i'm still working....sure can see me everyday here... cos sure no mood work.... that's y quit liao...since mid feb... ;p

oh for my last scan, is at 20 wks &amp; baby is 364g... oops dun have the length leh... hmmm

gals, is it too late to enrol for those antenatal classes now har??

Chea..

Hmm..ya some ppl also say amore quite ex..but I like cos got variety of classes to choose from..n no guys disturb..all girls gym!

I bought new bras, a cup size bigger..cos my boobs increase liao..at home I wear sports bra..more comfy..U should buy bigger cup now to support..too tight can restrict the growth, n production of milk..also uncomfortable.

Nana..

Actually most antenatal classes start at 24 weeks onwards. I've not sign up for mine.

Jazzcy, usu tummy wont stretch so much for 1st preg and for pple who exercise regularly. You practise Yoga on your own???

ck, you gg to buy Elancyl lotion? It's quite ex leh... maybe I'll see if can get it during JL sales. I talked more to bb for my 1st preg but not now liao.
You can ask hb to talk to bb while he touch mah.

Ah ger, I dun have any stretchmarks from my 1st preg so I praying hard that I wont get it this time round too. Hehehe... I got the Music CD for BB and the Mozart Effect for BB. I used to play the CD everynite when I was preg with my gal and when she was borned she seemed to able to recognise the music leh...

Jas, not many pple will give up their seat esp during peak hrs.

stella, your hb is so cute... maybe can ask him to recite chinese poems instead? Hehehe... Dun need to read children story lah... can read anything, eg from newspaper, magazine, etc

Sunsweet - I would like to exercise bt lately I've bn tired cos of my tired nights. All thks to the countless dreams I hv every day.

Jas - tat can b done using ring. &amp; mine swing only once! It's very strange, when u said stop, it will stop swinging. Then ask for 2nd one, if u hv means it will swing again.

I wanna buy swimwear bt then my gf said wear bikinis lor, it's the only time u can wear like tat w/o anybody saying u r FAT. Bt anyway I dun hv bikinis also.

I bought new bras bt nt maternity bras. I went to La Senza then they hv the cotton bras 2 for $40. So I bought 1 size bigger lor (sad to say cup size remain). I m thinking of just buy nursing bras &amp; nt maternity bras. it's still underwired bt bcos it's cotton, it's soft then no padding also.

Sunsweet..I saw yr post on infant care..My advice, as a former childcare teacher, pls try NOT to send yr baby to infant care or childcare so young..

Infant care-
1) Teacher to baby ratio- 1:3-4 babies.
2) A lot of routine care- so motor skills wont be worked on so early..bcos of the big ratio too.
3) Very ex. seriously-u looking at around $800 a month.
4) Disease prone environment, chicken pox, HFMD, ful, runny nose etc.
5) Babies shouldnt be away from home so long..they belong with the mother, family, etc.

Yr baby is better off at home with a main caregiver..with u best of cos, if not grandparent or a good nanny.

Same for childcare..I never encourage parents to send their kids so young to childcare..My girlfriend's twins are only 2plus..already in childcare..n I told her not to..but she did..the 2nd week both kena HFMD n pass to her younger son..1 week MC..money gone..extra care on them..

I've seen in my teaching years in the childcare, flu, runny nose spread like crazy in toddler n prenursery class..poor kids are away from parents from 7am to 7pm a full 12 hours..we have parents of 3 year olds coming so late to fetch their kids around 6plus..when its almost dark..

I understand that some mothers must work..but try to find alternative care in the 1st few years of the kid's life..dont worry about social development..in fact kids are only ready to socialise at nursery age, that's 3 years plus-4 years. Even if they didnt attend school before, kids have this amazing ability to absorb knowledge n catch-up! Motor skills, self-helped all can be learnt at home too..u'll be surprised..get yr child to doodle, buy picture books, colouring books, nursery rhymes cds, encourage independence by letting yr child try button or unbuttoning own clothes, wear on clothes..all these no need to specifically learn in school..n as parents, when u first witness this wonderful moment where yr child says something like A for apple, or successfully unbuttons his shirt..isnt it amazing..u want to give this moment to the teacher?! She's probably too busy to notice the 1st time even.

Well..jus some food for thought!

hey Ah ger
i intend to buy ard dec time hahahha more sales mah... hey are u ladies breastfeeding ? I heard from my colleag need to buy a pump to express the milk out. When is the best time to get it ah

Sunsweet..dont worry..u should source for nanny as soon as possible..there'll always be nannies..jus have to find..ask those 'aunties' around yr area, they may know..or ask friends.

Of cos, my strongest advice is to be a SAHM..

For me, staying at home to look after baby is cheaper than going out to work n then have to pay for childcare..its very ex nowadays. Of cos there are any other important benefits for baby when mother is a SAHM.

I hope things n arrangements turn out well for u n yr baby.

Starlite - Congrats to u! Koh has inserted new columns like your wk stage &amp; measurement of the bb. Perhaps you would like to provide these info as well?

Chea - I was thinking during Dec also bt some of my frens said dunno by then will it b 2 inconv for us to walk ard, so they sugg us start buying bit by bit. I m nt buying any pump yet cos I dunno if I will breastfeed for long so dun invest 1st.

Starlite.. Congrads to you
hehe

I'll have to wait till 4th to go for my detailed scan..

Me also intend to buy bb stuffs in Dec.. if i can tahan.. cos of the year end sales..

For the pump.. dunno motorised ones are better of the manual ones.. have to ask those with experience..

Charis, to be a SAHM it too much an opportunity cost for me to bear.. so thinking of the next best option.

I also wished to be full time mum but dun have the lux loh ..

jas,

ya .. nowadays ppl dun give seat one ..
i never gotten a single seat before .. ha ha ..

chea,

i'm still wearing old bras ...
seems like cup size din increase much for now ..
some of my bras is 70 and 75 band size ..
so sometimes is 75 then i will feel comfy ... else just a bit tighter is okie for me ..
thinking of gettin some nursing bras though ..
thinking of getting 3-4 pieces ..
not sure which is good ..
2 brands i saw is the triump &amp; sorella
both cost almost similar ..
but i think OG sale .. buy the 2nd one 50% ..
worked out to 17 a piece i think ..
since i dunno how much will i be promoted too .. i din get also ..

ah ger,
so all the caterin settled liao ?
ya .. was thinking of gettin the palmer one to try out .. i think there is both lotion and cream .. so which one should i try ?
mothercare lotion is my 1st tube leh .. at least u advanced to 2nd tube liao ..
me only started applying 12th september

giggler,
ya was thinking of gettin Elancyl lotion .. but wonder how much is it per bottle ? 50 ?
i dun have robinsons card leh ...
when is the sale ? maybe should go with my buddy to go and get ..
so morning can use palmer nite time use elancyl ..

ah ger,

i think i'll start buying after detailed scan ..
dr tham will only arrange the scan the next visit ? then need to wait how long before the scanning date ?

my detail scan will b late, mid Oct bah.....

CK - nursing bras &amp; maternity bras are nt the same right? I will buy cheap nursing bras so tat once used then spoilt u can throw away.

CK - yeah, all settled, cancelled le. Tot can hv free meals on Tues. Ha ha ha, *dashed*

Stretchmark cream - I think buy cream type is easier to apply bah. I started using 1st tube when I knew I was preggie. Then I m using 2nd tube nw bt finishing soon. Hw cme u use so fast? U apply alot? My Mothercare one is also cream type &amp; nt lotion leh. I think Elancyl is abt $50 if I m nt wrong.

I think when u go for ur detail scan, he or the nurse (I dunno who) will tell u ur scan date le. Urs shld b the following wk bah. I supp mine will b the wk of 9 Oct - either one day.

Hi gals....

me always sleepy these few days......can sleep while doing my work. Lucky, boss not im today. Anyway...who cares....

Charis....u r quite true on the child caring issue. if possible dun put kids too early in child care cos u will end up paying more &amp; worst still kids health be worst.

I send my eldest to pre-N class just for 3 hrs. Guess what ....a week later sick like what. Also thereafter, she is very prone to cough. There were a few incident tt she requires to nabalize for wks. so all these are $$$. I stop after 1 term.

It suppose to be conveinet but end of with so many inconvenience.

Me went to istean yesyerday to get the Event bottle. 2 125ml &amp; 2 260 ml for $23.90. Other then offer item. There is a 20% on regular price.
Sales end today.

Think JL sales is coming. Also receive mailer from Robinson their is nxt wek i think 20% storewide.

Happy Shopping !!

Finally IMF is over, is anybody gng to do shopping spree @ Suntec/ MS area tis wkend?

Gals, hv u all ever thought of wat brand of pampers to let ur newborn wear?

haah pampers.. still yet to learn more abt it..

i was thinking maybe interchange nappies and diaper.. cos diaper is very warm to wear.. al bb may need abt 4 diaper change a day quite xiong ..

so far...,my past experience are
night time = Pamper Premium
day time = cheaper brand like pet pet or drypers

my niece has bn using PetPet all these while leh. Think I've seen the tag b4 $14 for a pack of Mediums of 70pcs. If I din c wrongly lah.

My gf said Nepia or dunno wat brand is gd wor. Cheap also. &amp; they do delivery.

Starlite,
congrats to having a boy!! How is the detailed scan, were you nervous during the scan?? Where did you do it? Mine is at Camden sometime mid oct so a few more weeks to go.

Sunsweet,
what is the difference between nursing bra and normal bra? I only bought 2 normal bras since pregnant to accomodate the width and the cup but they have soft wires which I dun quite like. Its so difficult to find bras without wires nowadays!

Ah ger, so how many kids will you have? If you want, you can start buying slowly now. Maybe can start to do research and compare prices? Btw, JL having sales now. I agree with what your fren said leh... We may get too heavy and tired by 3rd trimester so shd start sourcing ard now. I gg to let my boy wear Nepia. I find it good and cheap. Moreover, they have free delivery service to your doorstep.

Charis, thanks for sharing your thots on cc... and I agree with what you've said.

Starlite, congrats on having BOY!!!

chea, yup I'll be bfg my bb. Are you working mom? If you are, I suggest that you get a good elec dual pump so that you can pump in ofc with ease. I got Ameda dual pump and really like it. But if you not sure whether you can succeed in bfg and dun want to spend too much, then get a manual pump, I recommend Avent. In my opinion, there's no hurry to get pump cos you shd latch bb direct for the first few weeks. You cant pump out much anyway.

Sunsweet, I got both Ameda elec pump and Avent manual pump, both are good in my opinion lah. For me, I use Ameda dual pump in ofc so that I can express both breasts at the same time. And used Avent manual pump at home to tandem pump with my gal.

ck, JL sales started for members alr but think start today for public. Elancyl costs abt $50, I think. Too ex for me too... During my 1st preg, I managed to get it at buy 1 get 1 free offer.

JC, me get sleepy these few days too. How??? Have u try Nepia? I find it comparable to Pamper Premium and much cheaper leh.

Giggler - wat has the # of kids I want to hv gotta do w/ start buying the things nw? Wat did I say? I intend to hv 2 bah...... I dunno if I can even support 1 financially or nt esp when stds of living is getting higher.

Hb lately nt free leh, every wk meet his classmates do proj. Hw much is Nepia? My research on diapers might b frm NTUC bah. Bt then can buy frm Carrefour then ask them deliver lor. Bt I haben tidy up my spare rm yet, as in clear space for these things to come.

Then milk btls leh - wat brands u all intend to buy? Then the rubber thing on the milk btl - wats tat called? My gf said NUK one is gd.

I also dunno wat are the so-called basic things to buy.........

starlite....congrats on hving a prince.

Giggler...me hv not try Nepia b4. where to get it?
Talking abt breastfeeding, me quite worry when come back to work how to express the milk. I do not want to stop bfeeding cos me after ML will tender. Worry the destrubution will cos milk to stop.