(2007/01) Jan

aquarius,
epi before the real contraction sets in actually very painful de right? i tell my hubby i will only go for epidural when i really cannot tahan the pain, so when they inject i wont feel the pain on the injection only on my contractions. my hubby say i stupid, pain liaos then take.

sugarbean, the story about sotong I think is umbilical cord will be very elastic...something like that right, Milde?

Sugarbean, ya nice!

Milde, ya BF baby dun need to drink water...but I do feed my son water when he is around 3 weeks old cos he also take partial formula milk.

huh? elastic?? i thot umbilical cord is supposed to be elastic so can stand all the tugging and pulling our bb r doin to it while in the womb? **Confused - blur like sotong liao now! ** Haha!

sugarbean, i ate stingray quite few times also. faint! calamari!!!

im also hoping no need to take epi, cos heard got side effects. i read some mummies took epi too early and epi lost effect at the crucial moment. ouch!

mommies any got scv? now got journey to the west :D very cute!

wuahahahha sugarbean!

milde, my son took enfalac from newborn to 1yo...then change to similac excellence from 1 - 2 yo. After that change to Gain IQ but too heaty for him to change to Friso 3 from 2-3 and now 3yo he is taking Friso 4.

I dun seem to be able to access the earlier posting. weird...

Icy, I tot of BP for neurogain for our jan mummies oni. but seems like not many mummies getting.

oh ya i still takin birdnest...

NOVEMBER GATHERING ON 11 NOVEMBER 2006, SATURDAY

VENUE: TEA HOUSE @ CHINA SQUARE (TIM SUM BUFFET)

TIME: 3PM - 5PM

PRICE: $16.80+++

1. kate
2. snow
3. bbmilk & family
4. serrich & family
5. zenn

milderina

I eat everything one... including sashimi & cockles...hee.
But limit to few pcs only.

Icy, I put the umbilical cord of my boy in a Ang Bao.

mildy,
i read somewhere says.. put cream also dun stop stretch marks.. cos the stretch marks starts internally, underneath the skin.. so the cream we rub on can only prevent the itch n discomfort of the stretch..

zenn....

Think got some mummies la, but may not have enough to do a BP leh. Mrs Wong says if we do a BP for neurogain she wants 3 bottles. So add together right now

1. zenn - 4 bottles
2. sherl - 5 bottles
3. icylemon - 4 bottles
4. Mrs Wong - 3 bottles

got 16 bottles only.

If not can try to org after we give birth? More mummies may need to replenish supply then. I actually got 5 bottles left, but if you all organising BP I will stock up since I intend to TBF.

Speaking of BFing and formula feeding, that day my hubby mentioned to my ILs again that I intend to TBF... they not very supportive like that leh, just say that my milk won't be enough and I will definitely need to supplement with formula. Dunnoe how to convince them without being rude lor, but I really need to do it since I'm living with them. Sigh, big headache.

mummies - i read earlier someone said that we shld take 2 neurogain a day is it? Have only been taking one leh.. so how many actually ah?? Let me ck if i need to replenish k?

Aqua - oh ya, tis is another question which I want to ask 2nd time mummies.. any recommendation for infant formula milk? Think we shld standby just in case not enuf can supplement. Any advice on breast shields??

bluegrapes, nice meeting u!
kekeke...
not that i didnt get anything...
it just that all i got liao..
*sighz*

wahaha! i oso...
nowadays dun let wifey take laksa aft seeing the worm thingy...
wahahah!

violet, A big welcome! i'm the only daddy in this forum..
wahahah!

icylemon, i oso...
now really monk liao...
wahahah!
always wanna ask Dr Woo "can" or "cannot", but after seeing baby, forget all abt it..
sighz...

mine wifey too...
have those white white thingy at nipple...
oso like janey, she slowly took them out...

not really lah...
wifey one just on the surface...
can easily take out...

milderina, wat's a colustrum???

the original shop is at chinatown...
wahahah!!
their yam cake, carrot cake and dumpling very nice...
desert u should try their mango one...
but yet to try the stall at HG mall...
but to let u noe...
the price at HG mall is 50cent more as compared to chinatown price...

talking abt sotong, heard from mine MIL, preg woman should avoid eating sotong's HEAD cos it poisonous...
how true izzit??
izzit a myth or fact??

sugarbean, u tried their outlet at chinatown?
sting ray think due to its mercury level...
sotong not too sure...
but MIL advise not to eat the head as it poisonous...

do you mummies suffer from very bad pain somewhere middle of the chest?
mine wifey recently suffering from such pain...
so painful that she turn pale and breathless...
call Dr Woo, he say it due to baby growing...
ask wifey to take some pain killer if it too painful...
but we worried that panadol mayb have "negative effect" on baby...
how??

just to check, do you mummies have a obvious "line/mark" at the centre of the tummy??
wifey have a line...
it so straight..
wondering what it is??

thanks sherl!! didnt see this posting. think kc, zhuzhu & icy keen too? actually i ve 3 more bottles so no hurry too. scare after give birth no time. we need to stock up how many for BF?

aiyo dun bother abt ur IL. anyway u r the one who is gg to bf bb.

sugarbean...there are few popular brands in the market...S26, Similac, Enfalac, Nan...many more but I know the first 3 quite popular.

Icy, I also put in Ang Bao...dunno where I/MIL kept it now. Maybe I will ask hubby to ask her.

zenn, you also munching now...kekeke

Sherl, dun let them affect you. Be firm.

Sherl, everybody wish they can TBF. It is my dream also.
But sometimes milk supply is really low, especially for me during the first 2 mths. So got to standby some FM.
( milk supply still low even though I drink alot of soup, fish, etc.... only got more milk during my 3rd mth onwards)

Another thing is that sometimes we might be taking certian medication because we are sick, thus better to express out and throw away till we stop the medication. And also because I like raw food, thus I will express & throw away my milk too. That is when I feed him FM.

iceblue - the line is called linea nigra and its jus a form of pigmentation.. actually all the while we have it just that it is white in colour and not obvious. My pregnancy sets in, hormones turns it darker hence the line. It will disappear after birth.. nothing to worry abt. No, i don have any line.
Aqua - remember how i was asking abt the linea nigra and guessing the gender of bb? If I lived in the old age and depended on tis to guess gender of bb.. i will never know till bb comes bah??

Mummies, thinking abt jus a few months back.. we were all so cute.. trying all ways to guess the gender of our babies hor?? how time flies ya??

iceblue, ya also got that very bad chest pain and breathlessness, and fainting spells. but my gynae says it could be asthma for me; diff people diff i guess. guess maybe my threeshold for this kinda pain is higher cos i had these pre-preggie so can control.

btw, i've just received the RL polo bloomers set from lynette, it's soooo adorable love it!

snow, the character like veri weird leh...
sun wu kong become the 2 shi di...
then zhu ba jie skill more powerful than sun wo kong..
wahahaha...

remember to watch the upcoming One Litre Of Tear...
that one bound to cry...
very touching...
*sobbing*

Sherl,
BP for neurogain
1. zenn - 4 bottles
2. sherl - 5 bottles
3. icylemon - 4 bottles
4. Mrs Wong - 3 bottles
5. iceblue - 3 bottles

<font color="ff6000">sugar</font>, think most been taking one but my gynae encourage to take 2. btw wats the breast shield for?

<font color="0000ff">iceblue</font>, i ve the line too! wonder will it be lighten after birth.

as for panadol, take the most normal one. was told its safe for pregnant lady.

hey how many cap did dr woo advise u to take for fish oil?

babymilk, ya lor also wish can TBF but I cannot too.
Like you if I take medicine, I will express and throw...even when I did colouring of my hair after confinement, I also express out and throw.

zenn,
think they intend to buy formula milk to keep at home... I dun even want to do that because I think once you do that you'll be tempted to use it lor. I intend to get only if really really not enough.
If at onset they already think I dun have enough milk I dunnoe how to convince them that baby is getting enough when they won't even be able to see the milk baby is drinking lo, you know what I mean? sigh.

I dunnoe how much you need to stock up leh, can try to calculate bah, one pill a day means one bottle a month, see how many months you intend to BF?

zenn - why he ask u take 2 leh?? breast shields are standby in case nipples sore/cracked, etc.. then can use.. sometimes oso used if mummies' nipples too flat..

Don worry abt the line, it will go off. Funny leh, my sis got for both pregnancies but i don have leh..is it comin later?

iceblue, I wanted to buy that show one but scared cry too much affect baby so did not get it. I too have that dark line...it will lighten few months after give birth.

aqua - ya.. precisely too many brands of formula.. don know which to choose.. I quite like Similac.. any comments on tis brand? FM not cheap ya?? $30/tin.. heard 1 tin only lasts a week, is that true?

Hi mummies &amp; daddy

According to my gynae, we have to take fish oil 2x per day from 28 weeks.

Myth about sotong, scare bb got entangle with the umblical cord.

Sugarbean,

As for breast shields, i think medela have. You can get it from the hospitals. I think cos i got mine from Gleneages.

If there is BP for Neurogain, i can take 4 bottles cos can take it during breastfeeding.

As for formula milk, can ask for samples from hospital or gynae. I got 3 tins from my gynae.

back again, the neurogain is the fish oil is it huh? A bit blur if there is a BP i wan some too.

BP for neurogain
1. zenn - 4 bottles
2. sherl - 5 bottles
3. icylemon - 4 bottles
4. Mrs Wong - 3 bottles
5. iceblue - 3 bottles
6. Milderina - 3 bottles

Icylemon,
The umbilical cord can be made into a stamp u know?

According to Sept or Oct issue of Motherhood, we do not have to worry that the milk is not enough for the baby as when the baby is born the stomach is only the size of a pea. So they dun need much milk and the colustrum is enough to fill them up. Ussually it take 2 or 3 days for the full flow to come in.

Iceblue,
Read here for more information. http://www.lalecheleague.org/FAQ/colostrum.html

Sugarbean

I gave my boy Similac....He was taking it very well. Now on Gian IQ.
You are right, about $30 per tin, lasted only not more then 1 week during the first 6 mths. After 6mths, started to take a bit of rice cereal...so can last a bit longer.

FYI:
Similac 1 - 0 to 6mths
Similac 2 - 6mths to 1 year
Gain IQ - 1 year to 3 years
Grow - 3 yrs onwards

And also Similac 1 has increases its price. Previously was $29++ per tin, now around $31++

Other cheaper brand will be Friso and Dumex.

Mild, my milk only come in day 5.....
During the first few days, I just let my baby suckle,.... but the nurses will still feed him pre-prepared FM.

iceblue, nice meeting you on Sat. I was telling my hb 'so happy to meet the fantastic hb - iceblue'. Wanted to say HI to Mrs Iceblue but can't see her due to the windscreen reflection. Heeh..you really solid!! Gotten all the stuff liao. I still have quite a few more items to go.

mommies, gynae didn't ask me to take any fish oil leh. maybe cos i'm scared of swallowing pills.

iceblue, u sure got alot of these vcds keke.

cindy - gosh! so scary! tks for the breast shield tip, i will go ck it out. Wah, how come so lucky one, u got so many freebies?

bb_milk - tks for the advice! Do u have any advice/expereince with breast shields? btw.. when is best time and day to pick up the stuff from u? i can pick up from ur pl as near me only..

Milderina, thank for the info!

babymilk, how abt S26?? any comment?

bluegrapes, wahaha! in fact, she was the one who told me that she saw you...
not really all the stuff lah...
just that i happen to have those they selling..
like the diaper mat, napkin etc...

in fact, i was pondering to buy the lucky baby stroller with the baby carrier tho i already brought mine...
it just selling at $125 aft 30% discount...
cos just a carrier, outside selling ard $80...
so i paying just another $45 for another stroller...
quite worth the buy...
but too bad it the last piece..
so didnt get...

sighz...

iceblue, no never watch before...kekek you can lend me?

S26 also good but some complain too heaty for baby. I guess it all depends whether your baby can take the milk well. S26 is an old brand...been in the market for many years wherea Enfalac and Similac came out much later.

Sugarbean, ya the linea thingy...kekeke...for formula milk really expensive...I used to buy in bulk so cheaper...will probably go back to the same place to get. Wonder what is the price for Enfalac now...that time I paid $29+ for one tin...hope price still the same...I think Friso 1 is $24+ or so...Nan is also not too expensive and also in the market for long time. I think last time I took Nan. hahaha... For me, we feel that first 2 years very important thus did not save on milk powder. Enfalac, S26 and Similac's pricing quite close to one another...can consider choosing from this 3 brands. Am now thinking of switching to Grow for my son but he seems to like Friso more...see how first.

Iceblue, ya i m referring to neurogain. how many is ur wife taking?

Sugar, cant remember what my gynae explained but something like the kid will be smarter.

Ok BP for neurogain
1. zenn - 4 bottles
2. sherl - 5 bottles
3. icylemon - 4 bottles
4. Mrs Wong - 3 bottles
5. iceblue - 3 bottles
6. Milderina - 3 bottles
7. Cindy - 4 bottles
Total : 26 bottles

serrich, can i ve the contact for neurogain? wats min for BP?

KC &amp; zhuzhu, how many bottles you need?

hello all ...

sherl, i also interested in the neurogain...

BP for neurogain
1. zenn - 4 bottles
2. sherl - 5 bottles
3. icylemon - 4 bottles
4. Mrs Wong - 3 bottles
5. iceblue - 3 bottles
6. Milderina - 3 bottles
7. Cindy - 4 bottles
8. nana - 4 bottles
Total : 30 bottles