(2007/01) Jan

Bluegrapes, it's the eggshock one, is it? How many folds, huh? 3? I still thinking and thinking, cos' the $248 seems like a good deal, like Rin said. Some more, I've to get 2, so if I get any of the high-end ones, I may have to spend beyond $600. Must save $ now... some more, still entertain thoughts of becoming a SAHM....Still need to put aside $ for 2 MaxiCosi car seats, 1 big cot....

janey, I also got the manual pump.

icylemon, you can bring the ebm to your nanny's place.

Thanks bluegrapes for the info on the nursing bras...maybe can take a look if they have bigger size...if cheap can get another 2 more. Today wearing the without underwire bra...really comfortable.

Icylemon, i bought mine last yr after i gave birth and confirm got milk supply. bought it at S$200+. Ameda one. uses ac adapter or rechargable batteries (included). it is a good investment cos before i bought, i actually used a manual set loaned by my fren. it was simply too tough having to squeeze the pump to get milk. and your pumping rhythm has to be quite steady to get max supply of milk. maybe u can wait till after give birth, borrow from frens to try out the different types? i tink hospitals in singapore will loan you breast pumps if u want also, not too sure about this though, cos i did not give birth in singapore.

morning girls,
I'm oso looking ard for breast pump, now is looking at the medala electric one. Which one is better? there is a few models right? coz I think if get from USA is cheaper then i will ask some1 to get from me there :p

girls,
i think first 1 or 2 mths its better to latch baby so that the milk supply will come in more smoothly? i dun intend to pump my milk during the first mth. will latch baby directly, this is also to prevent nipple confusion.

Milderina,
ya.. i heard of the confusion also.. but my CL ask me to express milk, so at night, she can help me feed, n i can rest well... how ar?

janey,
ya ussually CL will ask u to do that so that u can have more rest. i dun intend to let my CL look after my baby at nite though as i wan to latch baby directly. maybe will try to sleep more in the day ba. but i would wan my CL to bring her to me everytime she wans milk.

Janey, same here. She said that the 1st month is for me to rest, so should pump for her to feed. Else, she said her job will be very 'senang'.

Janey, i latch on in the day, expressed at nite and the nanny fed baby at nite. buy good milk bottles and teats (we bought nuk), make sure the holes are small so baby will not 'prefer' bottle cos milk comes faster. u will really enjoy the rest you get and the peaceful sleep. in a way, good rest also helps u to recover fast.
Aquarius, usa is indeed cheaper, but you will need to buy the ac convertor cos usa the electric current supply different from singapore.

Milderina/Alethea,

yalor.. everyone tell me to rest well in first mth.. else difficult to "bu" back the loss..
so if i ask my CL to call me whenever bb wants milk at night.. will be quite mafan rite?

Mildy, true also. My CL and maid will be sleeping in the same room with the BBs. And just thinking abt. it makes me feel so insecure. 2 strangers with my BBs. I also feel like moving the cot to my room so that I can BF them all the time. But dunno if I will change my mind after delivery cos' frens of mine who have undergone that told me that the worst form of torture is Sleep Deprivation. Imagine, having to wake up every 2 hrs for night feeds....

Mildy/janey,

I intend to latch on directly for 1st 6 weeks because:

1) Baby gets more milk when she feeds directly. If you express less milk comes out.

2) Advised to have at least 6 weeks of direct and exclusive feeding in order to estb your milk supply. BM works by demand and supply, so you need to tell your body how much milk exactly is enough. Otherwise may not have enough.

3) Avoid nipple confusion.

Alethea, ur fren is absolutely right. sleep deprivation is usually the trigger for postnatal blues. before i gave birth, i was so determined to bf 100%. after 1 week, cannot take it already. my baby does not have nipple confusion. she is already 18mths, she still prefers to latch direct when i am at home. demand supply thing is cos of 'stimulus' by the brain when u see baby. when u express milk, either look at baby or look at baby's pics. it helps alot. i had alot of milk, i had enough milk to last my baby 2mths stored in the freezer. some was donated to hospital when we realised my baby can't finish all those milk.

janey, nope stop already...I bf for about 6mths plus. I express when I went back to work. For me I am quite ok with manual pump maybe becos used to it.

Sherl,
Agrees with you. This is a way to produce more milk also.

Aletheat,
According to my friend who has just given birth, she says that actually first mth hor even if we were to express the milk wont come out one leh. dunno true y like tat or maybe it only happens to her. cos she say that time she pump for 1 hr only got 10 ml.......................

she as you said suffered from sleep deprivation as she doesnt have a CL and her mum is helping her look after in the day only. so at nite she has to wake up. but i think for us who got CL should b easier, cos we only ask CL to bring baby to us when baby wanna have milk then we turn 1 side and shove 1 breast to baby to drink. thats wat i think la, cos my friend all doing that. dunno is it as easy as i say or not. hahaha.....

Alethea,

that time when I attended BFing talk at my company the speaker advised to just adjust to BBs' sleep patterns, sleep when bb sleeps and wake up when she wakes up lor. Wah, once bb is born machiam mummy become bb's slave liao. kekekekekekekekeke...

My colleague told me that the first few days after she came back from hospital, she told her hubby to send her back. Coz at hospital very relaxed, got help, etc. and that time still got euphoria and excitement.

Icy,
Me staying in JW ley.. Wanna sell it off at $65. U keen??

Iceblue,
Wow saw ur sexy legs.. U are such a doting hubby hor.. Really envy ur wife.. Can be a shao nai nai at this age leow.. No need to work, cook and do housework.. I also hope to have such a good life ley..

aquarius,
Wah i peifu u can use manual pump all the way?! I prefer to use the electric ones.

msn_queen/janey/icy,
I am buying Ameda dual electric.. Have been using it when i was bfg Sherilyn. Now gotta return to my sil since she is also preggie.. Will be buying it since it's really a good investment. U gals can consider getting it as well!

mildy,
Infact I have been doing tandem pumping, ie. baby latching on one side while i express the other side using the electric pump, since i started bfg Sherilyn. This will send signal to ur brain that u are having "twins" and there is a demand for the milk ss. It will help to improve ur milk ss.. The surplus i stored in glass bottles and freeze it since i am latching her directly. Infact i used the excess frozen ebm to bath Sherilyn.. Kekeke..

Milderina (nice name!), first week i pumped, i only had around 5-15ml of milk per breast. but i still continued pumping at specific timing. subsequent weeks the volume increased. by 2nd mth, i was getting 40ml/breast plus letting baby latch on in the day. and my bust is not huge or anything. pre preg was a cup, during bf was b-c cup.

Aquarius, were your fingers swollen for the first few weeks after birth? mine were swollen and having to use manual pump was a real torture!

mildy,
Not true ley.. I had a lot of milk ley.. But for sure the first week into bfg i had a tough time cos my nipples cracked and it was so sore and painful. I had to bear wf the pain and let my gal suck!! Have applied those nipple creams but somehow my determination to bf her overcame the pain..

I had quite a good supply of milk. Every session i could pump out abt 4 oz/breast. Once i have established a regular pumping intervals when i was back to workforce, i could pumped abt 6-7oz/breast. On good days, i could even get 8oz/breast.

regarding sore/cracked nipples, i was taught by the nurses in usa to start using nipple cream in the last trimester to prevent sore/cracked nipples. worked well for me.

joy's mum,
there is a nipple guard which you all might like to use twhen having sore or cracked nipple. my friend swear by it.

agreed with joy's mum.. that day went to TAKA bb fair.. the sales told me to apply the nipple cream at last trimester also...

morning!! i also missed the show
got re-telecast anytime?

fever very xin ku a

ate too much junk food, this month i gained 2 kg!

Snow, drink lots of fluids, esp. now that u're running a fever. Not sure if there'll be a telecase, but can look out for the afternoon slots, cos' sometimes, the channel does no re-telecast.

Kate / Joy's Mum, by applying in the last trimester, will the cream cause blocked ducts?

serrich, cos I did not do tbf...remember I mentioned I had GD in my first pregnancy...baby is supposed to take the formula milk once born cos scared blood sugar will be too low...so mine is mixture of Bf and formula...night time I will give formula...then day time bm...thus my supply is only average due to low demand. However I let my son latch on as often as I can to establish a stable supply.

Joy's Mum, nope no prob with manual pump...I remembered expressing and watching Korean drama during my confinement. kekeke...

Alethea, it is a special nipple cream for breastfeeding mummies. did not cause any blocked milk ducts for me cos i was told to do the following daily:
- wash nipples with warm water and cotton ball
- use cotton ball to gently wipe away any dead skin/debris collected in the nipple
- apply nipple cream

sometimes i use olive oil instead of nipple cream cos the nipple cream i bought stains my clothes.

wow, you were lucky Aquarius! i was in usa during my confinement. totally no nice shows to watch cos we did not have cable. and my fingers were so swollen, it was painful to even change my gal's diapers!

Milderina (i still tink your name is absolutely lovely), prevention is better than cure. heard that sore and cracked nipples are really painful! so if it can be prevented, will try to prevent.

Date: 30 Sept 2006, Sat
Time: 1pm
Venue: Either Marche or Fish & Co (Suntec)

1. icylemon
2. bluegrapes
3. sugarbean
4. baby_milk (TBC)
5. janey
6. sherl
7. snow
8. Alethea
9. iceblue
10. Aquarius (TBC)

alethea, yes drank more water and alot of ribena :S

joy's mom, hmm dun quite get it, means we shd start applying nipple cream at last trimester so we won't have sore nipples?

kekekeke... msut go and look out for sale of 2nd hand dramas liao.. keep to watch during confinement. hiaks hiaks.

Joy's mum...ya I have also heard US no nice shows to watch one. Now you can get so many nice DVDs, VCDs to watch...I think I need to stock up some shows before I deliver.

joy's mum/aletheat,
geez.........thanks. *blushed*

Sherl,
i heard its not good to watch too much TV or read too much during confinement. it will give u dry eyes. dunno true or not.

Snow, saw that you posted your baby is 500g at week 22 and you need to go for tests for GD later in pregnancy? please avoid sweet drinks like ribena. your gynae probably thinks you might have diabetes.

I started applying nipple cream in my last trimester. apply everyday. i did not get sore or cracked nipples at all. until today, i'm breastfeeding my first child and pregnant with second, my nipples are still soft and never cracked before.

Alethea and Milderina, I find that it is a very unique and lovely name for a sweet little girl. I just might name my second child Milderina if it is a gal. that is if Milderina here does not mind.

Joy's Mum, so your toddler is a US citizen? So kewl! Which part of the USA were u in? When I last visited, I really left my heart in San Francisco!