(2007/01) Jan

Mrs Wong, what means express milk :S im kinda new with such things and the terms i've learnt from my mom and my bf's mom isn't in english. The baby is rather an "accident" but since it's the fruit of our love we decided to keep it. We're not allowed to get married until we can earn money
my bf has to continue studies overseas
so he won't around until he has completed everything, furthermore he isn't a local. need to complete sch for $$

i was abit underweight before pregnant, so they kept feeding me with more food -_- FAT -_-
hehe maybe we can go for slimming programmes altogether, maybe got discount ^^

Serrich, thanks :D have to be really careful with all kinds all maids! had alot of maids, all from indonesia, and average is really bad. either alot of drama, lazy, or "stray off" even though we were pretty nice to them(even if we eat crabs, birdnest and such they get a share too) i think u need to spotcheck maids sometimes, seehow they are working while no one else at home :S

Thanks Zenn! That means I will have to pay agency fees, course fees, and also the 7 - 9 months of the maid's salary to agency once we sign the docs etc? Need to do some shopping too.

Serrich, ya lor, I need mil to at least commit for 18 months else will prefer to get babysitter...dun trust maid with baby alone at home leh. I agree with you on privacy...me too like you always walking around in lingerie at home and bathe without closing door etc...if getting a maid then really have to change our lifestyle. But most importantly have to get a good maid.

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>ADD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ginger</TD><TD>1/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>ginsengmum</TD><TD>2/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr K T Tan</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aquarius_888</TD><TD>3/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinky</TD><TD>4/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr SP Teo</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Msn_queen</TD><TD>5/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>East Shore </TD></TR><TR><TD>serrich</TD><TD>7/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Chan KH</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>pearlein</TD><TD>7/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Tan KT</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>KC</TD><TD>8/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evelyn</TD><TD>8/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kate</TD><TD>9/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jas</TD><TD>10/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr SP Teo</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Phyllis</TD><TD>11/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>janey</TD><TD>12/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mabel</TD><TD>13/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Loke</TD><TD>East Shore </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>13/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>berrymum</TD><TD>13/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pinoopy</TD><TD>14/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC / Mt A (TBC) </TD></TR><TR><TD>tinkie</TD><TD>15/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>AletheaT</TD><TD>15/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Cathryn Chan</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluesky</TD><TD>16/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milderina</TD><TD>16/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Chen Chern Yen</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>icylemon</TD><TD>17/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leeann</TD><TD>19/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>rin</TD><TD>19/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Doggiebebe</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr CK Chow</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>firstbaby</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Chua Yang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yingzi</TD><TD>18/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Koh CH</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zenn</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>iceblue</TD><TD>21/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD>22/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr HY Ang</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sugarbean</TD><TD>23/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Gordon Tan WT</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>bluegrapes</TD><TD>24/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Cathryn Chan</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sherl</TD><TD>26/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>dressaholic</TD><TD>27/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Kowa</TD><TD>Mt E </TD></TR><TR><TD>baby_milk</TD><TD>28/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janice</TD><TD>End Jan 2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lynn</TD><TD>30/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr SC Quek</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Wong</TD><TD>30/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Total expected bundles of joy:

Princes: <font color="0000ff">11</font>
Princesses: <font color="ff0000">4</font> (with 1 more to be confirmed!)

Morning all,

Aqua, congrats on the confirmation of your princess!
Also same like ginsengmum, can close shop liao! kekekekekkekekeke

Update on baby stuff shopping: Went gallivanting on Saturday to 3 places - Kidzloft, Aprisin and Taka fair.

Kidzloft - distributor for some products including Safety 1st, Lollipop, Anakku. Was formerly featured on Zoe Tay's mummy show. Mainly sells toys. Warehouse outlet not worth going as it is a bit small, nothing interested me, no particularly good deals also.

Aprisin - Agent for Aprica, Graco and Little Tikes. Oooo, hubby and I liked this place. We had fun looking around at the strollers and shortlisted two here. If you do decide to shop here, note that the price they put on the stroller is the RETAIL price. Ask (for a good price), and it shall be given.

Taka fair - Last stop, 2nd time visitor. Haiz, I might as well have just stopped here all along anyway, coz I saw the exact same things on sale at the Taka fair as at Aprisin and Kidzloft! In fact I suspect the agents and distributors probably sent their own sales staff down, coz the offers we saw at the warehouse were exactly the same as the offers at Taka fair. Verdict: Taka fair really does have very good pricing and offers.

Purchases: Hubby and I went berserk and nearly bought the whole Avent range (don't think this is an exaggeration). Here are my purchases:

1 x manual breast pump set ($79, comes with bag)
1 x 3-260ml-bottle pack ($16)
1 x 4-125ml milk containers (aka bottles without teats lo)
1 x Gourmet feeder set (20 VIA cups)
1 x Express sterilizer ($135)
1 x Baby bottle/food warmer ($56)

Got an Avent pillow and bolster set and a funny toy (Fisherprice or Little Tikes, can't really remember which now) free.

Total damage: $300+... We are still trying to recover... But will proabbly also splash out more money on our stroller this weekend coz we've kinda decided on a Graco model. this evening going to Great World to take a look at Peg Perago, then we would have seen all the major brands liao, and can make the so-called informed decision. Kekekekekekkekekekke... That'll then leave us with no more big-ticket items to buy, except for the playpen to be put at my mum's place (I'm getting hand-me-down cot from my cousin for my own place). *phew*

Snow/Aquarius,
Yah its nt easy to get a good maid nowadays cos they are really well-protected by laws (so they think they can do whatever they want. eg. having bf and getting pregnant) and majority of them are getting smarter with wider contacts here..

I sometimes like to spot check on my maid also.. Everytime before we reach home, i will be thinking if my maid is watchin TV or takin nap. She better dun let me catch her lazying ard.. But even if she did i also wont be too harsh on her cos afterall she is takin care of my gal mah.. I dun hope that she take her anger on my gal when i am nt ard..

Aquarius,
What course fees do u need to pay? It's meant for the maid or yourself?? I do recall myself taking an online test before we can engage a maid. Then i just need to pay agency fees of $488 ($288-maid wf exp, $200-post-dated cheques to repay maids' loan over 8 mths) If i am paying the maids' loan upfront then i just need to pay agency fees of $288 (for maid wf exp). I only bought the necessities for my maid on her first day.. But we did got a single bed mattress and bedsheet set for her in advance..

Good morning all!

Hi Sherl

Thanks! That's what my friend told me too.
Btw can I check with you if there's any warranty when you buy the sterilizer...we may want to get since I now need to sterilize both my son and my daughter's milk bottle.

aqua,

For Avent all their electric products got 15-mth warranty, and the lady assured us that the warranty only starts when you mail the warranty card back, so meaning you can buy now and keep till the birth of your bb, then send the card back to start the warranty period.

sherl, thanks!
I think I will get the $71 breastpump and also sterilizer.

Need to get baby detergent and bathtub too. Actually even though second child but still got a number of things to buy. Wonder when is the next Isetan private sale. Should be in Sept.

aqua,

My hubby put ban on me liao, I'm no longer allowed to buy books, CDs and clothes for my ji dan.
So only got the stroller left to get, then the rest of the things will be the small items like wipes, nappy liners, breast pads which will wait until DEc to get lo. So with luck my bb shopping journey going to end this week liao. kekekekekekekeke

Good morning icylemon...my weekend...play MJ..., watch English Premier League, slept a lot, snack a lot...now craving for zhiu kuey again...argh...kekeke

morning aquarius wah.. MJ again ah.. me too. eyes on TV last nite. my fav club Man U trashed Fulham 5:1. yippy!!

sherl regarding the avent warranty. really? great! so we can buy anytime la.. wah 15 mths warranty is along long period wor.. mostly only 12 mths.

aquarius you mentioned the $71 breast pump. izzit avent de?

<font color="ff6000">Aquarius,</font>
Wah MJ queen.. play MJ again arh. I haven play for 2 weeks leow.. But hands still nt itchy ley..

<font color="ff6000">Icylemon,</font>
Man U is ur fav club??? So u are in the same league and my hubby &amp; bils.. They watched the matched and was so excited over the goals scored man! Keep shouting in joy as the players scored agst Fulham..

<font color="ff6000">Sherl,</font>
So fast ur hubby ban u? Did u spend too much huh? I recalled myself spending abt $200 when i bought the necessities for #1..

Too bad I still dunno bb's gender so cannot buy new clothes yet... Hopefully bb will be cooperative tomorrow..

aquarius yeah i m man u fan since eric cantona time. though i dun like ronaldo but man u is still my best club in EPL. pray hard tat they will win this season de chamionship. if not every year is chelsea very sian leh.. hehehe...

serrich yup yup.. me man u fan. ; )

icylemon, ya the Avent one...actually I saw a mum here organise BP for Avent breastpump...only $60 if I am not wrong but becos of the taka fair - $79 then they cancelled the BP...maybe wait a while more see if there is any coming up.

Serrich, kekeke...normally we will play 2 times a week...1 time my hubby play...then 1 time I play.

aquarius keep us update if there is any bulk order okie.. thanks ha..

yeah!! ya lor that stupid diver. i dun like him.

Sherl, you got the Avent steam steriliser for $135? M still deciding between getting that or the pigeon one ($87). But the latter can also be used to sterilise Avent bottles, right? Avent bottles are known to prevent colic, but is it more due to the bottles or the teats?

alethea i will be getting pigeon sterliser. coz so far i heard is good. like wat you mentioned can oso sterlised avent btls. think is worth the $$.

Icylemon, thanks! Probably, I'll get that, but not the bundled package, cos' thinking of getting some Avent bottles cos' frens who have babies swear by it.

BTW, who is taking Pro-Lacta fish oil here? Just checked with gynae, should be 2 pills per day...one in the morning and one at night. The instructions on the box also states 2 per day.

Wah...everyone here so early!!

Snow, expressed milk is you pump breast milk out
You see alot of pple here discussin about breast pump? tt is wot the breast pump is for, to pump out milk for baby

Sherl, not only my hubby ban me from buying, my parents also ban me already. Cos they insist that if I buy everything now, relatives will have nothing to buy or give us when baby is due...
So....no more shopping for me

I WANNA GO SHOPPING!!!!

icylemon,

Yup, 15mths warranty, not bad hor? kekekekekekke

serrich,

Dun think I spend that much leh, but hubby scared I got no discipline, later bankrupt him. kekekekkekekekekekke... So nvm lo, save first because may have unexpected expenses also...

Alethea,
Yup, heard the pigeon sterilizer can also be used to sterilize Avent bottles. Dunnoe if the colic prevention is due to bottle or teats, think it's something to do with the bottle cap. Kekekeke... I just hear people recommend Avent, so I get lo. Plus I'm using the Avent breast pump mah, everything can be used together, more convenient.

aquarius, kc &amp; sherl, i m still worried abt the shifting of my masterbed yesterday afternoon. haiz..

hope my bb is alright.

Alethea and Icylemon, I think sterilisers all the same lei. Only diff is how long it takes to sterilise the bottles and what type of bottles they can fit.

Tt day we saw the Pigeon steriliser can accomodate the Avent bottles cos of Pigeon's new wide neck bottles. So if pigeon is cheaper, i tink pigeon is worth the money.

I tink the standard timing for steam steriliser to sterilise bottles is 6-10 minutes. So not much difference also

Serrich, so your maid is left with your toddler at home on a daily basis? Do you have webcams or something? I was thinking of getting a couple of webcams to monitor the maid's movements next time cos' there's no one at home to supervise her. I really bu4 fang4 xin1....

Aqua, yes it can, cos' I've double-confirmed with the sales promoter...unless she was lying....Anyways, I think can cos' the steriliser seems pretty big after she pulled the divider out.

Icylemon, I have been shifting furniture on my own at home. As in large pieces like dining table, cupboard, etc. Cos just feel that the current position not 'shun yan'.

Before I shift I tell baby that I will be shifting something, not meant to harm him. So should be ok la. Dunnid to worry too much
Anyway my office here also got major shifting going on, I also help out

Hi Alethea...thanks! Cos am thinking of getting a brand new Avent sterilizer from someone at less than $90. If Pigeon one ok may consider that too.

My hubby's planning to shift out a couple of pieces of bulky furniture from our spare room to convert into BB room. But we've both been pretty worried, plus my mom who's super paranoid, so been delaying the shifting. Can shift or not, huh? Been praying about this, actually shouldn't be so pantang one cos' Christian, but this kind of thing....sigh!

Mrs Wong,

yeah lo, my mum also ban me. My hubby so happy, now if I dun want to listen to him, he will go to my mum and ask my mum to scold me for wasting money, then my mum will happily oblige. Sigh. My mum also say the same thing as your parents, and my MIL also say so. But I reason with hubby that it's better if we buy what we want and then ask relatives to give us ang bao to reimburse, because if they buy, we dunnoe if what they will buy is what we want to get, and then quite pai sei to come straight out and say what we want also (e.g. getting Avent bottles instead of Tollyjoy/Pigeon bottles).

Good Morning Mummies!

Sherl,
where is this place tat sell the aprica stroller? how much is the average price? tat day i saw at Taka fair mostly almost 1k wor.

Alethea, I installed camera in my home. I paid S$2k for 2 cameras (1 film inside the house, 1 film the main door), 1 24-hr CCTV recorder (records round the clock for both cameras) and internet connectivity (can view what's going on at home on the com as long as we have internet access
).

We installed it cos there were some nuisance pple that keep ringing our doorbell and run away and some neighbours tt anyhow litter at our door.
Film inside the house to see what my dog is doing since the price is almost the same if you install 1 cam onli
So now we can spot check on the maid also

Ours is from private company, not those big security companies (v expensive!!!!)...

btw, we dunnid to pay monthly subscription, but we need to leave our broadband on 24 hours to have the internet access to see what's going on at home

aquarius can. pigeon sterliser can sterlise avent breast pump. my friend did tat too.

mrs wong &amp; alethea my hubby shifted the masterbed. i heard the shifting when i was in the living room. ran in too late liao. wat he did was shifted the bed out abit to vacumme then shifted back again. haiz....

aqua,
I taking the Pro-Lacta leh...
but that time the nurse gave me w/o the box and she said once per day. if not she will give me for supplies until next visit which is 60pills?

sherl, me more or less bought the same things as u.. cost $300 plus.. hehe. is Avent baby food warmer good? me din buy that.. was wondering do we need that?

Sherl, my mum not paiseh to tell relatives what we want. She say most older folks prefer to give something of direct use. Although $$ is v useful, pple dunno what we spend on...

For frens, my hubby haven told his frens yet, but they are the type tt will ask us directly what we want or just give ang pow. My frens already know what we want cos they find out from my brother and sister.

Icylemon, since it's not major, it should be ok.

Mrs Wong, m planning to get the ST webcam.

Sherl / Mildy - Have you all done a comparison amongst Aprica, Peg Perego, MacClaren and Combi? My budget is about $200+ for 1, so any good models to recommend? This Sat, I'm planning to pop by the Combi agent to check their strollers out.

<font color="ff6000">Re steriliser:</font>
I am also using Pigeon steriliser. I like it cos it's quite big so can put in quite a few Avent bottles at a time. It is large enough to hold the Ameda breastpump funnels and 4 avent bottles at a time.

<font color="ff6000">Re milk bottles:</font>
My gal has been using Avent bottles since she was born.. So far, i find it quite good. The only disadvantage is that sometimes there will be leakage from the bottle neck.. I am also nt sure wats the reason lor but a few forum mommies i knew also had the same encounter..

<font color="aa00aa">Icylemon/Aquarius,</font>
My hubby also chong bai eric cantona ley.. He supported Man U cos of him ley.. As for me, i know nuts abt soccer lah.. Just cheer when the team i support score a goal.. Kekkee..

<font color="aa00aa">Mrs Wong,</font>
From my exp, relatives usually either give ang pows or get those baby gift set clothings... So no need to buy too many clothes for bb yet..

<font color="aa00aa">Sherl,</font>
Maybe ur hubby feel tat its too early to start buying? I went to taka fair also nothin much to buy.. Just bought my gal the 240ml Avent bottles pack.. Its real cheap, only $16 as compared to the usual px of $22.50. Quite a lot of savings on top of the 10% staff discount MRs Wong managed to get for me! :) Then my gal bought a Piyo Piyo handbag.. Seems like all is spent on my gal instead of my coming #2.. Hahaha..

kate, that time I bought one food warmer...cannot remember the brand but in the end never use it. Dunno where I kept it too. :p

MSN Queen, my supply I think is 60 pills for one month...in a box one...then I pay $38 for one box.

Thanks icylemon.

Aletheat,
no wor, but so far i saw aprica one very expensive. I am deciding between Aprica and Maclaren. Heard Combi is light and easy to use but never heard of peg perego. Where is the combi agent?

Girls,
Do you all know the price of breast pump before the fair?

kate so far i saw my friends hor didnt really get a proper food/milk warmer. they still use back the old ways to heat or warm up the food. dun spend such $$ la. get something more worth it.

aquarius his mum told him b4. he said he cannot recalled. haiz.. believe it or not. after the shifting. my tummy abit pain.

Hello mummies, good morning!!

Me juz back from KL.

The baby stuff there are very ex!! The $87 pigeon sterilizer that AletheaT and iceblue are interested costs RM499 (about SGD200+) in KL. I went checking at 3 locations and the baby stuff including breast pumps are VERY EX!!

Sherl, I didn't manage to find the Capella Petit Air Optima stroller in KL leh..sorry couldn't check the price.

Quite disappointing cos thought can find some good lobang there
Turn out to be more ex.

Now really wonder whether I should get the $87 or $129 sterilizer package.....might go buy today. Will go see during lunch.

Icylemon, for vacuuming should be ok la, not major moving
Dun be too hard on your hubby ok? He also want the house to be clean for you to stay in ma...

Sherl, i din spend as much as you la...so far only spent less than S$100 on baby's items...breastpump will wait will deliver already then buy, my fren said maybe by then she can pass me her Medela mini electric one, just need to buy some parts to replace

So far we onli bought clothes, blanket, mittens and boots, hat, rubber mat big size and small size (for changing diapers, one for home use, one for bringing out) and some other misc items...

Serrich, my family's tradition is more of buying for us than give ang pow. I know some of them will buy things like gold anklet and such. I think ang pow will mostly come from frens.
I only know of 1 uncle who will most likely give ang pow....the rest should be will buy things for us...