(2007/01) Jan

Icylemon, I've checked with frens and colleagues and even the confinement nanny I've engaged, can start taking birds' nest now. But either take it once every fortnight or once a month cos' too 'bu' BB will end up very big then hard to be delivered. Some pple also said that some fine feathers can still be found in birds' nest, so when ingested, sometimes BB can get asthma. Thus, don't consumer too much. And oh, remember not to touch hashima cos' that thing is super 'liang'.

icylemon, I remember I started eating birdnest from 3rd trimester but I took those no sugar added ones from lao hang jia...each bottle I think $100+...I dun really fancy birdnest and dun like to cook. Somemore got to make sure no feathers etc...very ma fan...and that time I bought some at EYS during promo...heard that it's not so good ones so dare not eat too...kept it till after delivery then my mum cook and we eat.

Haha..same here...I was counting money in my KUA after the wedding dinner...actually the wedding preperation was pretty tough but very memoriable!!

alethea & kate, my colleague ate thrice a week leh.

i lazy to prepare bird nest. tot of getting the "lao hang jia" bird nest leh.

bluegrapes, yeah lor..
very siong hor?
sighz..
we start planning 1yr...
from booking bridalshop to reno...
still veri tiring...
sighz...
but think back, it onli once in a lifetime...
kekeke...

janey, it's shown on the u/s machine when doing the scan.

iceblue, yah lor..my reno was 1 month before my AD..super tiring and I was rushing project then. I lost so much weight. Haha..but very memoriable lor
as you said, its only once in a life time

janey, guess weight measurement is a function of the scanning machine.

btw, any harm taking bottled bird nest ah? Preservatives or whatever...

icylemon, I also dun really like cos find that there is a taste leh. I taking the Yu Ren Shen birdnest. Dun find it nice :p

icylemon, ya same same...
I dun like to eat birdnest one...dunno how to appreciate...the lao hang jia one I think take 1 or 2 teaspoon a day can already.

Aqua, how big is the $100+ bottle from Lao Hang Jia? If small bottle and so exp, I think 2 teaspoonfuls are really sufficient already

By the way, u all can advise me on when the detailed scan usually takes place? Only in the 20th week?

Alethea, detailed scan usually around 20 weeks...18 weeks not sure whether they will allow you to do or not...got to call and check.

The $100 plus one is not really very big...maybe the size of those canned pork legs...you know those you give to relatives during guo da li?

I think if I am not wrong Long Biao also sell those bottled concentrated ones...and I think is cheaper too...I tried Long Biao before too...to me it all taste the same...machiam jelly...kekeke

AletheaT, I have the same concern as you cos I visiting Dr Chan in week 18. I also desperately and anxiously looking forward to my detailed scan.

Bluegrapes, u r a woman after my own heart!
Don't u wish we could all be like Tom Cruise, go buy an U/S machine and do the scanning as and when we fancy to make sure BB is ok? But of coz, scan too much dunno good or not.

kate, it's supposed to be no taste one, even the long biao and EYS also no taste one...just can choose whether you want sweetened one or no sugar added ones...

Iceblue,
think alot of the hubby al Knock out after the dinner? Mine was worst... nothing happened in the banquet, even those tonix at the sword bearer didn;t bother him. But he jio his frens to drink in the room after that, and all his fren drunk too. Didn't get the rest too, coz too tired to do anything liao... haha

Aqua,
I oso dun really like birdnest, I took LHJ one everyday 2 teaspoon. It's selling at $138 before disocunt per bottle.
Need to consume within 3 weeks, I still ahven finish them....

AletheaT,
Detailed scan had to be done in 20th weeks. Think do in 18th week abit too early... btw, i took quite alot of hashima with ginko & longgan leh.... hmm... then better stop now...

Janey,
Gynae stop measuring in term of length after week 14. Now everytime I go will be measuring in term of weight.

Hi Kate

The weight of the baby is written on the detailed scan with all other measurements of baby's organs. The detailed scan will also state baby's position at the time of measurement and the position of your placenta. However, the length of the baby is not included cos baby is too long to measure now, according to gynae.

me also having the LHJ concentrated birdnest.. been trying hard to finish.. pls buy the "with sugar added" one.. the other one w no sugar is completely tasteless lor.. n thats for ppl with diabeties..

janey,
I bought the concentrated birdnest from LHJ, the with added sugar one isit the smaller bottle one? With so call pervatives to keep it longer? Think is not gd to eat tat according to the guy, esp for preg. Actually if u know how to cook, buy the box to boil will be more worth coz got 7pcs, then the guy said one concentrated bottle got about 5pcs only.

Birds' nest got an egg-like taste. Don't really like. But I like best is hashima, but apparently, cannot eat. What else is good to take i.e. nutritious and delicious?

Alethea: My gynae say it is best to do the detail scan at 20 weeks when the bb is of the right size. I actually tot of doing it later cos of my scar from my previous birth. I tot do later can see clearer but my gynae say if there are any problem detected, still can salvage.

Sherl: You may want to take pi pao gao. Drink it like water. It may help. It actually helps me when i was very sick few weeks ago. and gynae say it is safe to drink it.

msn queen,
no preservatives le.. thats y need to put in fridge n finish is 3 weeks.. big bottle also.. same as the no sugar one

thanks for the concern. Can't take MC these two days because I'm simply bowled over at work. Then next week got staff seminar so already got two days burned off.

Preg4, I took pi pa gao sweet in the morning liao, later may go buy pi pa gao drink. But I wanna keep my body as natural as possible, dun take any kind of medicine leh.

*clears throat*

ginger, congrats! Another prince to add to the list! kekekekekkeekke

U girls seem to travel all over to have lunch. Like Sherl (if I'm not wrong), she had nasi padang at RV yesterday. Then today, Aqua going Parkway. Hmmm...cos you all travel by car and lunch breaks are usually 2-hr affairs, is it? :p

Alethea...I got to take bus there (abt 15 mins)...usually I go out for about 1.5 hrs if going out. Else I normally lunch in.

iceblue...so nice of you.

AletheaT, eating something you like will make ur day brighter!
kekeke...

today not feeling well... so take off rest at hm!
dim sum! here i come...
kekeek...
anyway, can try yum char dim sum buffet... YUMMY!
or red star at chin swee rd... YUMMY!

aquarius_888, anyway nothing much on today...
aft going to bishan, mayb drop by TMC...
apply for FBI and oso book pre natal classes...
then going taka to look ard...

just mine 2cents worth!

Alethea,

My colleague drove us out yesterday. Same as aqua, I usually go out for about 1.5hrs if I eat out. My lunch hour is pretty flexi as I'm not in a frontline position.

iceblue, I prefer red star than yum char...dun really like YC. But usually I go to Crystal Jade at Taka...the one located upstairs one opposite the teochew restaurant.

red star is good. i always go there got discount de. the lady boss is my mum's friend (childhood friend)

yum cha not nice leh.. i tried once at toa payoah... i gave up...

dim sum! I'm also another Red Star fan. kekekekkekekeke.. sometimes will walk over for lunch with colleagues. But Xing Fu at Toa Payoh is also worth a try, though it's a little costlier. But food quality is good.

icylemon, I tried yum char at chinatown and toa payoh's xin fu yum char and give up.

I also like Shang Palace but a bit more expensive. Noble House also not bad but now dunno standard still the same or not.

sherl i muz bring my mum along leh.. she is my discount card. hahaha...

sherl toa payoh one is yum char or xing fu?? i oso dun find it nice.

actually another dim sum plc i like is crystal jade. but limited choices. but porridge is nice.

icylemon,

toa payoh is xing fu, yum cha is in Chinatown, but dunnoe if the two are related. I find the food at the former good, the latter not nice, but both costly. Red Star offers the best balance between quality and price.

Yeah yeah, Crystal Jade good too but limited, although then again I only eat those few dishes. :p My dim sum choice usually limited to: har gao, fu pi juan, carrot cake, fun cheong (prawn/scallop), guilin gao or yang zhi gan lu for dessert. kekekekekekekekeke