(2007/01) Jan

whoa, seems like my worries is uncalled for.
Serrich: must take good care.
Aqua: We taking same type of multi vits. i use to take pramilet in my first preg. But Prenaforte got a very strong smell. Sometimes cannot take it.

Aqua: yeah. Easily can be 1kg per week.

Now i am trying to control my sugar content too. Cos i told a test that need to drink a orange liquid that is gasy every hour for 3 hours. The test is consider success if we dun vomit.
But this test not compulsory if mummies do not have history of diabetes. This test cost about 100plus.

going off for meeting liao, talk to you gals later.

do you all feel that the tummy is abit weird, or hmmm, pain sometimes? I duno is it becoz of the uterus is expanding or wat, seems to be wat every1 is thinking of. But somehow, duno Y the tummy like pain leh....

And will it be hard??? sometimes, my tummy quite hard like that..... esp in the morning....

Preg4...yup I think what you are referring to is the Glucose Tolerance Test (GTT)...I went for that the last time...but only drink once...one whole bottle of orange liquid on empty stomach...taste like F&N Orange but much sweeter...then they will draw your blood every hour...total draw 3 times/3 hours. After that results will be sent to your gynae. After give birth (abt 3 months later) also must do the GTT again to check if GD is gone.

AletheaT, Dr Chan gave me one big bag of pink multi-vitamins. They juz changed it lately. Which day is your checkup next week? My checkup is on 28 Aug. Looking forward to it!!

Bluegrapes, mine is on 24th. Looking forward to it too!
Will ask her about the multi-vits then. Now I'm worried, dunno whether anything is affected by the lack of multi-vits and if it's too late to take it by next week....

msg_queen, my tummy is always hard leh....The occasional pain is when I experience a tug at either side, never in the middle. Sometimes, when I stand up after being seated in my cube for some time, I could feel a nerve in my left buttock pulling also. And oh yah, I'm still having some gas in my tummy....

Aqua: Yeah, i am terrified at the thought that got to draw my blood for 3 times. It is scary. I went through the whole 3 sessions.
After delivery, my gynae never ask me to take it again. Thank god.

If we cut down on rice and carbo, will bb be lack of it?
I also eat very little rice. but my hubby complaining saying bb not enough nutrition.

AletheaT,
Ya, I had something similar to you. Esp the buttock are, like quite stiff like that... but I'm not said really big size leh, tummy oso not sooo big. Then sit down long pain too...

After eating the pain will comeby....

Preg4a2ndone, try eating brown rice. At home, we all don't eat white rice one, but a bit of white mixed with all brown grains. Less sugar from that and very healthy.

aquarius,
wah u taking so many pills?
My gynae stop the multi-vit for me. substitute with calcium pills and ask me to continue to take the folic pill.
cos i told her i felt my nails like becoming to break easily so she giving me calcium pills.
Correct me if i am wrong, i think i do not need to take iron pills because the the blood test came out that my blood count is pretty high and good. so i am guessing i do not need to take iron pills.
She told me she will start the fish oil pill when i visit her next month

aquarius really got such book ah.. ok i go & see.

sherl if go there for lunch is abit far for my colleagues leh.. so will only go woth hubby. TONG SHUI very ex ah. oso not nice too. eeee....

yup Preg4, Alethea is right...take brown rice...wholemeal bread...

Btw, I used to be so terrified of drawing blood until after that GTT...now not so scared already.

AletheaT, I only get the multi-vitamin during my last checkup. The nurse said its newly ordered by them. They would prescribe you this during your upcoming visit.

My tummy is also super hard and sometimes feel like the stomach skin stretching and pulling hard. Not painful though.

Yeah, I mix brown rice with white rice at home. Haven tried pure brown rice but wonder if it will be awful.

Preg4, you also got GD in your first pregnancy? That means a lot of food cannot eat right?

suaku question: How do we cook brown rice? Do we cook it just like we cook white rice?

Aqua
my gynae want me to take the test cos my mother got diabetes. But no need to control food. hengzz. My high blood pressure was tougher to control then. I need to be on medication till 6 weeks after delivery then returned back to normal.

huh. how come u girls seems to eat quite good stuff and put on so little whereas i eat not so much and put on from 52.5 to 56.5kg?? 4kg for 18weeks? am I going to have a very big tummy?

Aqua, same way u cook normal white rice but note that u've to add in slightly a bit more water. Also got to wash the rice a little bit more.

Icylemon, I buy my chor bee (coarse grain rice) from the Victoria Street Market near Bugis. But I think supermark also sells. For a start, don't opt for the completely brown rice type, but those mixed with a bit of white. Not diff. to eat at all.

Bluesky, I've been eating slightly more during lunch but not so for dinner cos' easily full. Some more, nowadays then I start eating proper breakfast cos' hunger pangs hit early in the morn. Last time, I never really bothered about breakfast. Other than 3 square meals, I only eat fruits, drink milk and take some sweets when I feel nauseous. Maybe that's why my weight gain is not significant. But that's also how we can avoid putting on too much weight, then later hard to lose liao, right? Oh, 1 more impt. thing, I used to lourve ice-cream very much but now, I don't really fancy, which is good, cos' it's very fattening!

Eh, i also took Pramilet for my 1st pregnancy ley.. Then now they changed to these pink multi-vits (OBIMIN). My gynae told me tat the multi-vit is sufficient and there is no need for me to take other supplements ley.

Any of u started applying stretchmark cream?? Now tummy beginning to expand and our skin starting to stretch lor.. Must start applying stretchmark cream leow lor..

Serrich, I started applying Clarins in my 8th week. But recently, my tummy developed horrible rashes, which I think are caused by allergy to certain fabrics of my bottoms (used to wear them very high up, to my waist). But now, I've been waering my bottoms real, real low and have refrained from applying anything for the time being. Dunno if this hiatus (from applying the oil) will cause me any stretchmarks or not *God forbid*

Any of you developed rashes?

Uhm..Mrs Wong haven emailed us her blog address...Still waiting!!

Serrich, I have been applying cream since 9 weeks. I damn KS..haha

Alethea,
Oh dear, u got rashes? It's better to check wf GP/Gynae if u should continue to apply the stretchmark cream it aggravates the condition..

Bluegrapes,
Wah u also started applying so early arh?! I dunno whether to try another brand or nt.. Despite applying 2 tubes of Galenic stretchmark cream during my first pregnancy, i still kena stretchmarks ley..

Talking abt blog, any of u intend to start a blog for ur bb? I have a blog for my gal (www.babesherilyn.blogspot.com) then hubby asked if i should start a blog for this bb as well.. This time round can start wf my pregnancy journal will be more meaningful.. But hor very time consuming, i find!

Serrich, your blog is so interesting and your girl is so cute with naturally-rosy cheeks, I LIKE!!
U must have taken quite a lot of pains to set this blog up!

serrich, err..I dunno leh.. I using the stretch mark cream from mothercare. Its effective according to my friend. $12. I stringy, dun want to spend too much on the cream.

serrich, your blog is very lovely. Big winnie the pooh as a start..haha..and your baby ger is super cute. Rosy cheeks. Heeh..

Alethea, Monica,
I eat as norm leh. Breakfast must start early cos when i wake up, sure hungry liao. I take white/wholemeal bread with kaya/peanut butter/tuna etc with coffee. (same as what i eat b4 preggie)
Lunch time usually eat beehoon soup or something light and quality not so much. sometimes very hungry i will take rice.
Dinner take rice if lunch take beehoon or vice versa.
No snack for me except fruits.
Thats all leh

Bluesky, yah, very healty diet leh. Maybe the weight gain is just water retention lah. M sure your BB is growing very well. Anyways, I've heard of pple gaining 2kg in their 1st trimester already, so no worries!

Alethea,
I finish my fist bottom of clarins liao. started during my 12weeks. I think maybe u allegic to the oil. cos when my gynae asked me what i use to apply, i told her clarins and she asked me whether i have rashes allegic reaction to the oil or not. (I have some minor ezema problem around my tummy area)

Guess what I just went TMC tour and saw sugarbean there! hee

blue genle, yes the tour is daily at 2.30pm but u ve to call to make appt.

gals, i also taking vit and fish oil in the morn, calcium n fish oil at nite. so we oni need to take fish oil once aday? actually its written once a day on the bottle but gynae told me to take 2x a day.

i already gain 4kg n i m in my 17 wk

msn queen, ya mine quite hard n seems bigger at nite.

Alethea, bluegrapes,
Thanks! My gal doesnt have natural rosy cheeks lah.. Her cheeks were so rosy cos she was having fever ley.. Keke..

Alethea,
Since Bluesky also have allergy pbm then u better check if Clarins is still suitable for u or nt.

Serrich, thanks, but i've no prob with my butt and thigh areas. Think it's due to the fabric of the maternity bottoms I bought recently. Those with very huge bands, and meant to be worn high. But yes, will ask gynae for anti-rash cream when I see her next week cos' the rahses are damned ugly and now the skin around there is peeling. Hope BBs are oblivious to all these.

Huh?! Her fever must have been very high for the heat to transmit down to her cheeks to produce that rosy tint!

bb milk i heard some said after malay massage no use leh... so at the moment i dun have intention to get a malay lady to do the wrapping.