(2007/01) Jan

bb_milk thanks for the info. i have been sleeping left side since young.

bluegrapes i heard alot of bad comments on pigeon breast pumps. last friday i oso saw the package at baby fair. almost wanted to buy. happened tat my friend called. she used pigeon pump before told me not to buy. she is using avent.

iceblue, the stroller sound very worth it!! $170 considered cheap!! How is the seat cushioning...I might drop by and check it out.

aquarius_888, yeah... but aft i check wif the avent salegirl abt the "old method" of sterilizing, she say not recommended...
cos sterilizer is using steam to clean the bottles, whereby the "old method" is boil the bottles wif hot water...
thus causing the bottle to deformed or give out chemical...

just mine 2cents worth!

oh icylemon, thanks for sharing your friends feedback. I am mainly interested in the sterilizer as I already have a Medela electric pump from my sis-in-law.

anyway, what is your friend's feedback on the pigeon breast pump?

bluegrapes my friend said the pigeon breast pump hor.. while pumpling the milk will leak oso the parts are easily broken after a few usage.

iceblue i m oso thinking whether to get the sterliser or not. if yes most likely will get the pigeon sterliser coz alot of ppl used liao gave good comments.

i oso tot of the old method way. caused when we are babie, our mums oso did that.. so far.. ok to us.

i oso told by friends tat using the sterliser is better than the old method leh..

bluegrapes, wahaha! i oso dun noe leh... used to it liao..

if you go down to avent booth, ask the salegirl show u the avent manual pump...
explain to u...
guess u would b like me tempted liao...
wahahah!

just mine 4CENTS worth!

wah icylemon, the pigeon breast pump sound super lousy..hahaha...

iceblue, the stroller sound really good. Let us know if you decided to get. I will drop by OG bugis to have a look.

icylemon, yeah lor...
i oso intended to use the old method..
can save abit...
but aft hearing the salegirl explaination...
scared liao...
better to spent some money, at least "mai ge an xing"...
wahahah!

now choosing better avent n pigeon...
sighz...
headache!

bluesgrapes, now comparing the pricing ard first for the car seat...
if all so x ($80-$90), then will get the lucky baby one...

just mine 4CENTS worth!

iceblue, but quite worried cos aquarius said that bigger bottles like Avent can't go into the pigeon sterilizer..

juz my FIVE cents worth!!

iceblue, yah..most of these 3 in 1 kinda of stroller cost at least $300 to $400+ and above..rarely can find so cheap!!!!!!!

Actually iceblue, as long as your water not those boiling it won't change the shape of the bottles one...
somemore all along the older generations also use this method. So far dun have problem with Avent bottles going out of shape.
I still find steam sterilization like not clean enough...I even use sterilizing tablets after sterilizing with hot water.

Just my 10 cents worth.

iceblue n bluegrapes,

i saw one 3 in 1 stroller... think is combi one.. selling at TMC's shop.. having offer for only $159 i think... wah... now a bit regret din grab that stroller home...

aquarius, if the water is not boiling, would the germs be wiped out? Actually, my sis in law also told me that boiling is more effective than steaming..*confused*

janey, what brand is the stroller you saw at TMC? When did you see the offer? Do you think its still on?

bluegrapes...usually I will wait a while before pouring the water into the bottles...thus it is not really like 100 degrees celsius...and yes it should be able to kill germs...the hospital nurse told me I can use that hot water to sterilize first before adding sterilizing tablets.
But dun throw the bottles into the pot when water is boiling (ie the flame is still on)...that will sure change the shape of the bottle.

aquarius i got a friend who totally dun use sterliser de.. told me no need. juz use hot water to rinse the btles b4 use can liao.. she said is ok de...

hi bluegenie

icylemon, actually true lah...last time where got sterilizer to use...all traditional method. But some 'softer' items cannot use those hot water method.

janey last time old genaration they dun have sterliser... they used the old method lor.. tats why i think & think is there a need or not.

but old method way got to boil alot of water & wasting of time oso. sterliser much easier leh. haiz...

aquarius i cut my hair once last mth. cut short liao but grow very fast leh.

i dun intend to cut shorter le... prefer long hair.

aquarius ii cut my hair last month le. but hair grow very fast leh...

i dun intend to cut short coz i like long hair.

Aquarius,

I cut my hair short too. My hair was extremely long. But i find it a hassle to wash hair so i cut it to chin length. It is sooooo nice.

Dun have the burden liao.......

preg4, icylemon, I also find hair too long...at bra hook area...now cut shorter...alightly above shoulder length. My colleagues also commented nicer.

icylemon, janey and aquarius, actually u r right leh..our mother's and grandmother's etc generation where got sterilization yet my grandparents are so strong and healthy to the age of 80s..haha...

Hey, u r got hair dresser to recommend ah? I also find my hair getting longer!! Thinking of cutting...

bluegrapes...hahahah...true also...

I went to Supercut at Compasspoint. Normally I go to Hair Matterz opp Funan Ctr but nowadays dun really go town so will go to Supercut at CP.

hey gals,

still thinking should i cut my hair... haha.. wan to keep my long hair le.. got any time frame when we can cut our hair? e.g. b4 8 mths etc?

aquarius,
icic.. i also wan to tie up hair during confinement.. more cooling n easy to manage than having short hair for me..

wuahahaha so qiao! but I was there for short while only...unless you happened to hear my son shouting 'mommy, mommy' in the library. kekeke

Iceblue, we tried out the lucky baby one. for newborn must put the carrier thingy which my hubby find not stable. if I din recall wrongly, the locking machanism is quite filmsy. and when my 20kg fat pig sit inside the stroller, erm...not v stable either... so we gave tt a miss, but the price is realli attractive!!!

Erm...regarding boiling, i tink the sales girl just BS you lor...cos temperature of steam is much higher than boiling water (go google it on the net). So if chemicals are really emitted from the bottles, more chemicals should be emited from the steamed bottles instead of boiling water!! and good bottles should not be emitting chemicals at those temperatures cos they know pple sterilise the bottles that way?? tt's why must get good bottles of well-known brand (1 baby won't use too many bottles also, so this one better be safe than sorry)

Steam steriliser is just the convenience. cos traditional method, you need to boil a pot of water, the pot gotta be big enuf for your bottles to be fully submerged. When water is boiling, put in the bottles and make sure they are fully submerged. Let it boil for not more than 5 minutes and take it out. Once out, have to air dry. And when you air dry, you need to keep it in a clean container if not bottles will get dirty again.

Steam steriliser uses LESS WATER (less than 1/2 cup per day). And it is more convenient. Just plug it in, pour in ard 1/4 cup of water, place all bottles in, switch on. Wait 8 minutes to sterilise. If using immediately, just take out. If not, just leave bottles inside, don't open cover, can put up to 8 hours (still sterile).

Compare the convenience, definitely pple will tell u steam steriliser better cos dunnid to stand there and wait for water to boil, dunnid to use tongs to put in bottles and take out bottles!!

the old method, for softer items they just scald with hot water, not put in to boil
I still do that for my nephews' and niece's toys

Anyway, I have a steam steriliser given by someone, so tried it out. It doesn't use much electricity also. So for those looking after baby alone, no maid or confinement nanny to help, get the steriliser. If can, get 2nd hand one cos pple wont use for too long also.

BTW, how long do you intend to sterilise the bottles? I will stop sterilising at after 3 mths. by then immune system is stronger, can let the kid get some dirt, too clean not good.

Hi mummies & papa,

It was really fun to meet up w all of you, finally can put a face to the name!

icylemon - tks for compliment **Blush**

iceblue - tks for the links - was jus abt to ask u for it but u always well prepared one lah so can give us b4 we ask!!

KC - aiyo, it mus be me blocking icylemon's HB so he got no chance to talk lah.. sorry! Next time we need bigger table!

ya, i agree with mrs wong.. last time pple use hot water without nary a worry cos their feeding bottles are made of glass. But now there are so many diff kinds of make of bottles.. some in good material, others inferior. If you stick with reputable brands like avent, etc. The boiling water should not pose a prob of it emitting harmful chemicals in the long run. In fact some of these bottles can be microwaved (for those who want to sterilise via this method). But i think micowave sterilising not good lah..

My sister have been using sterilising tablets only and they are super clean.. no need boil water. Jus rinse b4 use to remove smell. And the 2 buggers are big n strong! HAHA!

Just my 6 cents worth.. hahhha! kena influence by iceblue lah!

aquarius i heard a boy calling mummy. but that boy quite big liao leh ard 8 yrs old. i was near the cafe area.

sugarbean.. yeah! we will get a bigger table next time. think next gathering sure alot of ppl de.

oh ya mummies, if you are planning to jus dump everything in container with sterilising tablets, ensure that u have a plastic plate/holder inside to keep all the stuff submerged or all your stuff will not be cleaned.. maybe that's y many say jus sterilising not clean enough..

icylemon, then I think is not my son...he was holding 2 books and running around looking for me...kekeke...then can hear his voice from adults section. kekeke