(2007/01) Jan

Normally I take leave.
Else I will ask my boss for time off.

Btw, wish to share with you gals about what I juz heard. Very pissed.
As I only join my current company for 6 months, juz got to know that there was an expecting mother working here previously and after the big ang mo bosses found out that she was pregnant, the ang mo boss tried to force her to leave by changing her job scope such that she has to travel very frequently. In the end, the pregnant lady has no choice but to resign. Haiz.. I feel very worried leh cos I haven told my boss that am expecting. Wonder what would happen then....

bluegrapes thanks.. ;)

milderina i normally take time off from my boss. he is understanding so quite ok. but sometimes paiseh to ask for so many time off then will take 1/2 day leave.

but that time when i went for my NT Scan, my gynae offered me a MC. kekeke... hopefully during the detailed scan he will do the same.

bluegrapes think if your company treat you the same as the previous employee, i suggest you complaint to MOM. how can they do that. then they might as well dun employ female workers.

maybe you will like to highlight to your bosses reagarding your pregnancy.

no worries bluegrapes.

If that happen to you.... go to MOM. There are laws to protect us preggie woman. MOM won't allowed such things to happen....these are just excuses from bosses.

Bosses will give excuses like: they are not performaning well, not up to expectation, etc...

Do you know that there is 2 more new laws to protect preggie woman..... they are:

1) if employers were to terminate the staff, they will have to pay them the 3 mths maternity leave.

2) employee can enjoy 3 mths maternity leave even if they just joined the company. Previously employee have to work for at least 180 days, then entitled to maternity leave.

bluegrapes,
aiyo how come your bosses like tat de?
btw, you must make sure you tell your direct boss before telling your colleagues so that your bosses cannot do anything before u go tell them. My advise is tell your bosses as soon as possible. You are protected. No Worries.

For point no.1..... pls refer below:

Can an employer dismiss a female employee during her pregnancy? What can she do if she feels that she is unfairly dismissed?
If the notice of dismissal is given without sufficient cause within 3 months of her confinement, the employer must pay her for the maternity benefits that she would have otherwise been eligible for.

In the case of a dispute, the employee should first talk to the employer to understand the reason for dismissal. If she thinks that she has been unfairly dismissed, she should seek the union's help (if the employee is a union member) or legal help. She may also submit an appeal to the Minister for Manpower within 2 months from the date of childbirth.

Morning girls!

The bosses over at my end are quite flexible, so when I go for gynae appts, no need to take leave or MC, just let my lady boss know.

Just to check - what are the maternity benefits over at your companies like? Some of the banks and global MNCs I know provide up to 90% subsidies!!! So good, right?! Mine only up to $2,000.

Alethea...ya some good companies can let you claim up to 90%...mine stat board...nothing to claim one...even claim the medical amount only up to $320 per calendar year.

Contiune.........

Can an employer dismiss a female employee while she is on her maternity leave?
An employer is prohibited from giving any notice of dismissal to an employee who is away from work during her maternity leave. However, this will not apply to the extended 4 weeks of maternity leave if it is taken flexibly over a period of time.

An employer who dismissed the employee during maternity leave will be liable to a fine and/or imprisonment.

Yep!! U gals are right. I was very upset when I heard what happen to that pregnant lady.
If anything similar happen to me, I will go complain to MOM!! My co is also a MNC but the maternity benefits isn't good either. Am seriously thinking of changing job after my maternity leave!!

Milderina and icylemon, you think I should go tell my bosses? Haiz..dun have the courage leh..now everyday am trying to wear loose loose clothes so that my belly is not noticeable.
Sound so pathetic as if my child is illegitimate that I have to hide the fact.

icylemon, some companies offer maternity insurance/package...my friend who works in one of the local bank can claim up to 65% off her total bill.

Bluegrapes,
I really think u should inform your boss since now already almost 4 mths before they do anything funny. my boss last time also advise mi that should i find myself pregnant i should inform my direct boss immediately. This is very impt. so when i found out i pregnant i also tell my direct immediately. u c huh if u dun tell them now then scarely they know from other ppl then before u tell them they transfer u or something they not in the wrong wor. cos they dunno ma.

<font color="ff6000">Milderina,</font>
My boss are very understanding.. They allow me to take time off to go for gynae appt.. For the past few months I have been on MC very frequently due to my severe MS.. So far didnt hear any complaints from any of the bosses yet lah. So now I gotto "zi dong" and get my work done in time.. Kekeke..

<font color="ff6000">aquarius,</font>
BKK is definitely a shopping paradise!! I also hope to get a chance to travel before my bb is due.. But my hopes are dashed cos hubby lost quite alot in "shares".. Now i can only look forward to striking 4D so tat i can go for a shortbreak!!

<font color="ff6000">bluegrapes,</font>
Yah I heard that ang mohs are like tat lor. Last time in my ex-coy they also "promote" a pregnant lady and made her travel very often to India and Pakistan.. Fortunately this lady is very devoted to her work lor.. She managed to survive and is highly recommended.. She is now is the top mgmt, i heard.. But not everyone can be like her lah.. Think i would have quitted if i were in her shoes lor.. Imagine having to travel to those countries!!

If u are on good terms wf your boss then u dun worry too much abt yourself getting caught in that situation lah..

<font color="ff6000">bb_milk,</font>
Wow so fast u go read up on MOM laws for preggies leow arh.. Kekeke..

Yah, Milderina, u r right. My direct boss on one week leave. Guess I will find a chance to tell him when he is back.

Bluegrapes,

Yes, am also planning to search for a new job during my maternity. *heehee* But curious, how could your colleagues and bosses not discover your pregnancy since it's almost your 4th month. U're a mistress of disguise lah, u! :)

My company din give out any maternity benefits too, just maternity leave only.

bluegrapes: i advise u to tell ur immediate supervisor on ur pregnancy despite ur tummy not obvious. better tell him in advance so that he can arrange job arrangement and also other misc stuff for u.

AletheaT, exactly!! My belly really very small. hee...cos I dun have tummy at all before pregnancy and am petite, so now it appears like a little tummy. I always wear sweaters to cover the belly area. Haha...

Icylemon,

Thanks for the affirmation. Never realised how 'good' my co. is to offer that $2K subsidy (show receipt to obtain the cash reimbursement) cos' my friends are mostly in companies like UBS, Goldman Sachs and IBM, and over there, it's either 100% subsidy (pay all your expenses) or minimally 75%!! Always tawt that they were very lucky!

my company at most only give a little $80 angbao tats all.. + the 3 mths maternity leave, 2 days child care leave. but a plus point from my coy is. we do have our own child care centre, learning vision. staff only pay ard $150 a month for the services.

icylemon...so good learning vision and only $150. Mine also 5 days childcare leave for each child, $100 or $80 ang bao plus maternity leave.

Icylemon, u in NCS or M1? Their childcare centre is by Learning Vision. Lucky u! Heard that Learning Vision is good, and with the subsidies, u can save a lot. My co.'s got no childcare centre

aquarius your child care leave 5 days is for 5 child ah!! so good. my side here.. dun care how many kids la.. only 2 days. even though my colleagues got 5 kids, she oso entitle 2 days only.

icylemon, but only up to 3 children under age of 12yo. Out of the 5days, 2 days (from govt) dun need to submit MC one.

ya, learning vision is good! And only pay $150 really great savings!

wah now we starting to compare benefits leow? I have 2 days child care leave and 3 days child MC entitlement per child. Also have 3 mths maternity leave..

Icylemon,
I heard that Learning Vision is quite reputable.. Lucky u!!

Aquarius,
Wah u have 5 days childcare leave?? For each child??

Aqua, nearly went there for an interview at the beginning of the year for a Comms position but after thinking about it, told the boss that becos' I'm hardly interested in sports, didn't think I could summon the passion. The boss was very farnee, said that he himself was also not the very sporty type *hiaks*

Icylemon, heard from my NCS frens that Learning Vision is good and with the subsidies, even better! Good for you!

aquarius &amp; serrich some of my colleagues complaint abt the teaching by learning vision is not good. to me all child care ctr are the same. those PAP one lagi worst. i have discussed with my hubby. throw my kid in to child care once he/she passed 18 mths. easier for me oso. the child ctr is juz opp my office. very very near.

serrich...mine is same as you...2 days child care leave and 3 days child MC entitlement per child. Meaning if I have 3 kids then I am entitled to 13 days child MC entitlement and 2 days child care leave.

Alethea...actually SSC very family oriented company...let me guess...the boss is Mr P. Lee? You will automatically be sporty after joining SSC. The people here will more of less influence you to exercise. And we have 3 gyms here and everytime got classes like kickboxing, yoga, pilates during lunch time so you dun have to travel out to exercise...and the rates are of course highly subsidized.

I was with NCS before I join my current co..haha..a lot of my colleagues leave their kids with learning vision. Heard not bad.

Haha, ok, will see if the bosses there still interested in me after my maternity. Will definitely want to join a family-oriented co. after I have my BBs cos' nothing else will matter more then. By then, u all will move to the Kallang Tennis Centre site already, right? Good, nearer to Kallang Old Airport, a lot of good food!

baby_milk...my son sleeps in his own room since 1.5 yo...he dun really like to sleep in our room...we will leave both my room and his room door open so when he wakes up, he can look for us in our room.