(2007/01) Jan

MTB who go through MT scan, I am on my 10 weeks pregnancy I would just like to know how is it like and how come it cost to u? My gyane offer me with with NT scan in 2 weeks time, i dunno if it got to do with my on and off spottings. And I am still in discussion with my hubby.

BTW, other than NT scan for down's syndrome, what is the other possible things that NT scan can deduct?

Thank You.

thanks iceblue for the address.

icylemon, I always eat porridge with chilli padi...kekeek

Ladies, fyi, Century eggs are VERY VERY HIGH in mercury content. Rightfully we are only allowed 2 century eggs PER YEAR! I just read about this in another forum and it was in the straits times!

Hi icy, NT scan is actually just a more detailed ultrasound scan. The gynae will measure the distance between your baby's skin and the head to check on likelyhood of DS (hence the nickname of the scan "neck thickness"). I think it's a standard that will be offered unless you have specifically told your gynae that you do not want any kind of test for DS at all. If your NT scan results are *touch wood* not so good then you might be referred to do more advanced DS testing (e.g. amnio).

It cost me just $30 more than my usual ultrasound (so I paid $80 for NT scan), coz my gynae had the equipment to do the scan himself. But believe some mummies will be referred to TMC fetal assessment or something and that will cost slightly more.

Don't worry too much, I don't think it's related to your spotting. Hope this helps!

Good morning everyone!

Wow was reading yest thread till blur...

aquarius and icylemon, me too! had century egg porridge few times liao leh. what harm would century egg caused to bb?

I heard that food which are rich in mercury can cause damage to baby's brain. That is provided it is eaten in access I guess. Try to avoid sharks, stingray etc..they have high content of mercury.

hi hi morning,

this morning, i hv noticed that the length from my bottom part to the belly button become much longer liao. so my tummy become more protruding.
When u gals will start wearing maternity clothes?

blue genle, i also had sharkin few times cos went for wedding dinner.

doggie, i wore a maternity last wkend. actually abit shy cos tummy still not that big yet.

Here goes my century egg.....sigh.

But note that Tuna is also something that we should aviod. High in mercury too.

Doggiebabe, I already started wearing when I'm in my 10 weeks. This is due to th bloatedness in my tummy.... very big, ppl will think that I'm 4 mths preggie.

wow milderina, icylemon n zenn u all oledi started wearing maternity clothes.... really those maternity clothes tat u can wear until u give birth tat kind of maternity clothes with string tat u can tie at the back??
i feel like wanted to wear but afraid too early cos tummy still not very2 big hehe.

*gasp* cannot remember who asked about hairiness last week but anyway last night I discovered hair on my tummy!!! *grrrr*

doggiebebe, I started wearing maternity bottoms in week 11, went on full maternity wear since last week (week 12). Hubby dun let me wear tight-fitting clothes anymore because he says I will suffocate his bb.

I rem reading in one of the threads that sharkfin occassionally ok....must wait for Mrs Wong the nutritionist to advise..heeh.

Wah, u all very fast leh. My belly still very small. Wearing normal working clothes but loose kind. Non of my colleagues notice..heeh...maybe they tot I put on weight

Sherl, my tummy hair also getting more obvious..very ugly leh.

wah.. really seem like lot of u r wearing maternity wear much earlier than i expected hehe.. i tot wanna wear it onli after 4 months.. n told my frens too, but most of them said har.. so fast.

sherl,
thanks for the info. :D that is very helpful. i still have to be progesterone pills.. *sigh* so troublesome.

doggiebabe,
I already start wearing at week 9 but more on the bottom becos my waistline too big liaos.

Talking about hair.... I remember that my hair all around the body became very thin, and drop quite a bit (which is a good thing), especially the leg, arms , private area and ampit.

But this second pregnancy,my ampit hair seems to grow faster and thicker.... hope it won't happen to the rest of the area. Heehee

doggiebebe me not wearing those dress la.. me only started wearing maternity pants & some tops only... coz ofc skirts abit tight liao. so wear those pants lor.

morning ladies,

me had not wear any maternity clothes yet cozs tummy not showing at all... wonder did my baby grow anot?

bluegrapes, the worst thing is the hair around the nipples!!! *blush* Aiyo, cannot stand it.

doggiebebe, my tummy quite obvious lor, think I got a lot of wind, so when wear regular clothes it's quite ugly...

icy, hang in there ok. Think of the end result and it'll be worth all the suffering we go thru now!

for me i still mix wif my normal clothes. cos like quite weird to wear maternity to work leh hee

doggie, the one i wore was those causual one. abit like baby doll top.

oh did i tell u gals i spent $200+ at spring maternity and cloud 9! no more sale liao
oni 10% fm dbs and i ve a $10 voucher

Sherl,
i was talking abt the hairiness the other day. I think hor they will grow long then after some time they will drop off. thats wat my pregnant frd told mi.

Doggiebabe,
I also not wearing dress. only bottoms in the beginning and some tops now as my regular tops the chest area getting quite tight.

sherl, i bot a dress which can b wore for work and wedding dinner (but abit too big for now), 1 skirt and 3 tops

zenn,
until now i think i spent almost $400 over on maternity le. still think clothes not enough. cos everyday wearing the same.

wow ladies, u all really spent so much on maternity clothes.. me have not buy anyting yet cozs none of the clothes caught my eyes..

milderina, in total already spent 400+ cos first time also spent 200+ at one of the shop at novena
but that one not so trendy...

zenn,
but like really not enough le. last time is like i got a wide variety of clothes now not enough with a few pcs leh. then everyday also wear the same. very sianz.

Sherl, what can we do about the nipple hair ah?

Wah, u all spent so much on maternity clothes liao ah...I haven even started much. Intend to patronise the one near guan yin temple.

Milderina,

I know what you mean. I look at my wardrobe and I think I have only about 1 week's worth of change of clothes. This is including some bbdolls I already possess pre-preggy.

Bluegrapes, I also dunnoe leh. Milderina, scarlee pluck out already then like white hair like that, pluck out one strand grow ten strands, next time bb cannot find the nipple, how??!! kekekekekekke

wah, must complain... last night my hubby was having such a good time talking to his relatives, he told them how much my gynae cost.
Then my MIL almost fainted! She say how come so expensive la, then think she want me to switch gynae. Then now think she think I so spoiled, must go private gynae and private hospital. *grrrr*

sherl,

hahahah......................u r very cute girl. i cannot stop laughing now. hahahahah..........

yeah lor. mi like every week wearing same things to work................

sherl indeed ur gynae's fee is ex. BUT as long as you feel confortable with ur gynae. think is ok mah. dun bother wat ppl said.

sherl,
just dun care abt them. its your baby its your money also never ask them pay. some ppl just like to make a lot of comments. especially now hor i really cannot tahan leh. so hor i just ignore all of them. the more u listen the more angry u get. we must b happy mummies then will have happy babies.

Milderina,

Really lor, I very freaked out to find hair growing in all sorts of places now lor. Armpit hair also growing extra fast!!!

icylemon, actually I also feel very ex, but I try to cut down in other ways because hubby and I both feel safe with this gynae... But think what makes it worse is that because hubby and I are both govt workers, a lot of people mistakenly think that it's much cheaper if I go KK. In truth that is not the case, as hubby and I are under MSO scheme where we can only claim from medisave max of $350 p.a. Besides if you opt for privatised care at KK (so that you get a dedicated gynae) the cost comes up to around the same as for a private gynae lor. But in any case because most people got this wrong idea in their minds they might think I'm being very 'she chi' by going private... haiz, I think I must talk to hubby and get him to explain to MIL.

Milderina,

My MIL never actually say anything, she's very nice to me, but I think I can see in her face that she not very happy lor. Haiz. Must tell hubby next time cannot anyhow broadcast this kind of info. Dunnoe why he go open big mouth also.

zenn,
Thought in general it's only if you are travelling after 24 weeks... but to play safe, ask the travel agent when you book your air tix, or call up the airline directly to check.

sherl, tiger is having promo and i just called up. they oni required doc cert if travel after 30wks. still hestiatin if to book now for end aug.

sherl my hubby is oso a civil servant. at 1st i oso tot if using their so called civil servant package to deliver in KK will be much cheaper. then so how my friend who gave birth to 2 kids, hubby oso civil servant. told me tat the price is only abit difference only, not much. tats why i changed my mind & choose TMC & oso getting a pte gynae.

for now dun bother wat ppl said. as i have mentioned ealier as long as you are conmfortable with your current gynae. then ok liao lor. dun listen to other ppl hurting comments. if you want you can explain to your MIL. but to me is... why your MIL unhappy. izzit becoz of some comments given by the relatives? anyway my MIL is those boh chup type. even i told my mum tat my gynae's package is $550. my mum oso commented is ex. but cant compared during my mum's older times & now mah...

so sherl dun be angry or upset ok... like wat other mummies said. be happy. dun worry. you have us supporting behind you mah. SMILE!!!

Zenn,
u only need doc letter when u are week 28-30, after week 30 cannot fly.. but u need to seek ur gynae advise. like for me, I cant fly during my first tri.

sherl ur hubby is juz sharing info with the rest la. not big mouth la... kekeke...

well maybe juz tell him tat sometimes certain things is better to keep within husband & wife lor. dun go ard sharing too much info to others la...

icy, ok. the last time i just causually asked dr woo n he said no problem to travel. ve to wait till my next visit 11 aug again. so long...