(2007/01) Jan

mrs wong,

i am also getting the 3 wheel stroller.. when i was in NZ, i saw on a show that this 3-wheel-stroller is an invention from a NZ couple.. cos NZlanders love tramping so they need a good strollers that wun get stuck in sand n mud..

Milderina, I now doing research with my hubby, so he knows almost all the models in the market le..haha...

plus we have been collecting brochures and pamphlets in the different models and brands of brest pump, when the time comes to buy, just show him which one i want

Icylemon, my frens also rec'd avent manual pump. I see in my office got 2 mummies using it to pump milk also...and both of them got v large milk supply!
Last week I observe them, they pump milk 3 times in office (9am, 1pm, 4pm) and they put the milk in the fridge. At the end of the day, got 3 small bottles of milk for each of the mummies!!! According to the markings on the bottle, each bottle contains around 100ml of milk!

Plus I heard that they latch on at home also...
And their babies are around 1 yo already....i v inspired by them....

Janey, it is quite exp lei...me and my hubby went to see, it is around S$800++. But it is v roomy, when my 3 yo nephew sit in it, he still got space to move around

My hubby still weighing out the pros and cons. Cos for 3 wheeler, hard to bring on escalators.

He is tinking of getting the same stroller as my neice cos it is sturdy and not too exp. We intend to use stroller till the kid 2-3 yo. After that the kid gotta learn to walk on their own, dun wanna spoil them by letting them sit in stroller all the time.

mrs wong,

wow so exp ar.. hmmm.. when i was in NZ, i saw ALL strollers there are 3-wheels.. so i assume they all like the idea of having 3-wheels-strollers.. well.. i need to go compare compare also.. haven done any homework yet..

Hi yvo, welcome!!

Icylemon, actually my appetities has nv been good since pregnant. When i think of food I feel rather 'Er xin' lor but given me the food most of the time I can finish it haha Till now I still take my usual 2 meals a day oni.

I agreed wif milderina on the pantang thing. Guess there is no end to it. Some say cannot buy maternity clothes b4 pregnant if not hard to conceive but I bought one when I was in US last yr. Anyway I didnt know abt it when I bought it hee

icylemon,
pump out blood. that is so scarey leh.
taka baby fair is at Takashimaya Orchard.

Janey,
yeah we would also have known our baby's gender by then. kekekeke......

Mrs Wong,
wow u all done your research le tell us manz. hee hee...

Yah, i agree with milderina and icylemon, not everyone has milk and breastpump not cheap. Luckily managed to get one from sis in law. Else I will juz ask hb to get after i give birth.

icylemon, there is a nice malay stall at 3rd floor far east.
Btw, your friend very scary leh..pump out blood..omg!!

Yah yah, think I will juz go for the Sept taka show

janey,
ya the 3 wheeler is very expensive. and quite heavy too leh. i saw my frd's sister have one and they brought it out with us once. i feel that its bulky and heavy dun really like leh. but maybe i will change my mind later on when i done more research. hahaha......

I will be getting the Avent manual pump...have tried the electric one but doesn't work well for me. Avent's manual pump works best for me. For stroller, I realised I dun use it much...maybe just get a simple and not too expensive one cos I gave the old stroller to my SIL.

<font color="0000ff">Zenn,</font>
U wanna find out more abt heartburn??? Here's an article on it:

HEARTBURN
Shortly after eating, and sometimes even between meals, many pregnant women belch and burp frequently and experience a burning, irritating sensation just below their breastbone. Pregnancy hormones are to blame as they cause an overall slowdown of the intestines, relax the stomach muscles, and delay the time it takes for food and gastric acids to be passed from the stomach. Thus, food and acids sit in your stomach longer than they used to. Pregnancy hormones also relax the protective muscles located at the entrance to the stomach which normally act as a protective band, preventing foods and acids from traveling back into the lower end of the esophagus when the stomach contracts. The medical name for this condition is gastroesophageal reflux (GER). (So what you have is really "esophagus burn," not "heartburn.") GER also produces the vague, uncomfortable sensation of "indigestion." Later on, as your uterus grows and begins pressing upward, pressure on your intestines and stomach, may make "heartburn" even more aggravating.

7 STRATEGIES TO EASE HEARTBURN DURING PREGNANCY

1. Eat small, frequent feedings to avoid stomach overload.

2. Use gravity to help keep the food down. Avoid lying flat immediately after eating better to sit up for at least a half-hour.

3. Later in pregnancy many women surprisingly claim relief from heartburn when assuming the hands and knees position, which takes advantage of gravity to pull the uterus away from the stomach and allows the stomach contents to move more easily into the intestines rather than refluxing up into the esophagus.

4. Keep a list of which foods aggravate your heartburn and avoid them (i.e., spicy or greasy foods).

5. Avoid fatty foods that take a long time to digest.

6. Milk, cream, or low-fat ice cream taken right before a meal may coat your stomach and relieve some of the acid burn.

7. Calcium-containing and low-salt antacids taken just before meals may help. Avoid drinking large amounts of liquid with meals. Use only commercial antacids made with calcium.

http://www.askdrsears.com/html/1/T010200.asp#T010213

do u all still feel fatique huh? i think i am sleepy almost everyday leh.

zenn,
u now still take 2 meals a day ah? actually in the beginning i can eat quite a lot de, but like this 2 weeks slow down le, cant really take in that much already. dunno y.

Milderina, during the June holz I was so used to getting afternoon naps, now at work I will take 1/2 hour naps at around 3pm. If not I am not productive at all. Will end up just staring blankly at the com...haha...

My appetite still the same. Big and ferocious until my hubby wanna declare bankrupt already...haha...
But my mum telling me eat more cos she say I din put on any weight...

mrs wong think avent breast pump is highly recommended by alot of mummies hor.. think we can consider tat. i saw the package @ kids mall. avent breast pump comes with a bag, 2 ice bags, 4 btls. $139 before discount. kids mall got 20% off.

milderina &amp; bluegrapes ya lor.. my friend lor.. i heard liao oso very scare.

when the baby fair is near can someone update me.
thank you...

Almost fell from steps just now, gave myself a scare. Luckily managed to catch me. Haiz, nowadays like increasingly clumsy...

Milderina, this is week 11-12 for me and in fact I think I'm at my most fatigued point leh. At the beginning of my pregnancy when most of you very fatigued I was quite happy... Hope it improves if not it'll be very difficult for me at work...

Sherl, must buy non slip and flat shoes for yourself already.

I sent all my shoes and sandals to the cobbler to add a sturdy non-slip base.

Icylemon, I think I saw the package before, but it was on offer, so the package came with more things
I will wait till after deliver le, manage to breast feed successfully then buy

serrich, thanks! but i can feel the uncomfortable feeling anytime - not necessary after meals lor. also dunno is tat consider heartburn.

milderina, ya most of the time 2 meals a day.

milderina, sherl &amp; mrs wong, ya i also took nap almost everyday. now i ve lesser appt or appts in later afternoon.

Anyone applying anti-stretchmarks cream already?

Mrs Wong, still haven't got it from you yet. Or can you tell me where to buy those organic ones then I go and buy it.

Milderina,
Yes if u are nt determined yet to bf then no point buying the pump yet.. Cos usually we would prefer to latch bb on directly lah..

Mrs Wong,
Cannot buy maternity clothes meh? This MYTH i haven hear before.. Kekeke...

My sil bought the Avent manual pump and Ameda dual electric.. Infact I prefer the Ameda dual electric cos its faster and i wont tire my hands out.. If u are really keen in getting a good dual electric, can try Ameda cos it can be battery operated also.. It uses 6 AA batteries.. For manual pump, pls get Avent instead of other brands like Pigeon, Pureen, TollyJoy, etc.. Avent is highly recommended! DUn waste $$ to buy other brands..

icylemon,
Ur fren so poor thing pump until got blood.. I pumped until my aerola bleed due to abrasion.. Initially when i first breastfeed my gal, she also sucked until my nipples cracked due to wrong positioning.. Super painful lor..

aquarius,
i have been trying to apply it regular since my gynae kept warning mi abt stretch marks during my last visit.

Sherl,
Change ur range of shoes till u deliver lah.. Goto be extra careful from now onwards k!! I started wearing flat soles shoes/sandals when i am preggie.. Now I wear my birkies sandals to work everyday.. It's so comfy..

aquarius,
My sil and her fren recommended Galenic stretchmark cream.. It works well for them but nt for me lor.. I still get stretch marks even thou i have applied 2 tubes of it..

I'm not wearing heels, and I always make sure my shoes got non-slip sole, but lately i just have two left feet, will trip over myself, or knock into things at the side, even when i know something is there.... grrrr....

Serrich, I also got it in my first pregnancy even though I applied dunno how many tubes of the anti-stretchmark cream from 3rd month...but it helps to reduce the itch though.
My mum also has stretchmarks...

Milderina...I think some really cannot prevent...

Zenn,
no pbm.. got info must share share mah..

Aquarius,
Yah i also feel that stroller not much of a use now. Infact I prefer to use sarong sling.. I still sling my gal when i bring her out on my own but she doesnt like to stay in the sling for too long cos it can be quite warm lor..

aquarius,
yeah lor, and after i preggy hor my skin become more n more dry. that day i saw my gynae she recommended 1 moisturizing cream for mi to apply. then tummy now sometimes a bit itchy but i dun dare to scratch.

mrs wong.. same here. will get my hubby to go &amp; buy the breast pump after i deliver. kekeke...

mummies, currently i m wearing a non slippery flat sole shoe from hush puppies. bought at $63 - $70. but hor... when i go hawker ctr.. the floor slippery mah.. i will still skid abit leh. so is not 100% non slippery. i was told tat CROCS shoe is good wor.

aquarius: yes, i using that brand..my SIL recommended to me..so far, i find it not bad and the smell is nice

if u want to buy, can get it from Guardian,cos i dun see Watson &amp; NTUC pharmacy does not sell it..

heard that clarins is not bad too but slightly more expensive..

I would suggest buying of breast pump after your confinement. It is when you know how much milk you would have. Or when you start engorging... I bought it when I had terrible engorgment... I bought the medela travel pack... I felt that is good but exp. I had tried manual pump, dun ever use it as your hands will be very tired and aching...

I dont apply the stretch mark cream till around 7mths after my gynae comment that I dont have. Next day, it appear.. I applied even after I give birth for another 3 to 5 months... Cant remember what brand...

milderina,
coincidentally, I was at Taka asking abt black vinegar imported from Japan,. The sales man told me, I can only consume vinegar up to 1st tri, then I should stop. Then continue 14 days after I deliver. I am not sure if that is the reason why I feel terrible.. In fact I took i sip of the vinegar then I also feel not too good.

stretch marks
ya..i oso have stretchmarks from my first pregnancy even though i applied clarins stretchmark cream diligently
.most of the stretchmarks appear after giving birth.

serrich,
haha.. i have sore and cracked nipples too. i rem when my son was hungry he would suck very strongly and being first mum then i don't know the right technique of bf.luckily I got help from sis kang from mount alvernia hospital else i think i would stop bf in less than a mth.

antenatal class
first time mummies,u can apply for first born incentive card if u intend to give birth in TMC. This will allow some discount if u sign up for antenatal class in TMC.

hi Zenn,
sorry for the late posting. Guess Serrich has ans on the heartburn. Actually it's oso sort of Acid reflux. The feeling is terrible and juz below the chest, can feel buring hot. U can;t even drink anything. Ur throat feel hot too.... terrible, I hope U are not experiencing that too.

Tml I'm going for my Triple test in the morning. Need to pay for the package too. btw, last visit gynae say might know the gender if bb is co-operative. Later b4 sleep mut ask bb to open leg &amp; wave to me..... hehheee....

Will post again after my visit :p

There are some useful info on breastfeeding on KKH site:
http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientHealthLibrary/WomensHealth/Breastfeeding/headstart1.htm

Can print out and learn something....

Feel very excited as will finally get to see my ji dan again today. heeheehee... Oh yeah, I will remember to ask about the pressing pain thing...

Yesterday went to Modern Maternity at Amara and bought three tops (all bbdolls) and one pair of jeans coz they have the extension and not elastic kind... Cost me $209.00 (heartpain) but got the membership card (15% discount off regular priced items and further 5% off sale items) and a $20 voucher, so kan kai a bit lor... Hubby and I thought their tops quite nice, and I'm running out of tops...