(2007/01) Jan

aquarius dun take laksa so often leh... once a while ok.

my mum told me tat the "yellow ginger" inside the gravy not so good for baby. baby will be yellowish.

icylemon, welcome back!! I was anxiously waiting for you to msg!!

So everything went well huh? What is the measurement of the neck of baby? Happy for you!! Can see the organs of the baby as well?

Your baby so big already!!
They really growing very fast!! Now you have peace of mind since everything normal

bluegrapes hihi..

the lady told me everything is ok. but never tell me wat is the measurement leh. said gynae will explain to me. then oso nvr tell me abt my baby's organs.only tell me the heart, head, hands, legs & my baby's buttoks. kept saying "your baby very active". then this little fella kept lying down, dun want to move his body only moved his hands.

6.2 cm consider big ah.. i tot my baby should be ard 7cm. kekeke... at this stage.

I had mee soto for lunch

icylemon, your baby is so cute!!!!!!!!!
Already sounded very active. Think your gynae will explain to you more in detail i guess. must share with us ok?

bluegrapes sure i will

monday evening seeing my gynae. will bomb him alot of questions. hahaha..

i believe next time i do scanning i muz talk to my baby more. last nite i told my baby to wave wave to me when doin scanning. baby really only moved his hands. next time must tell baby to move whole body. guess juz now my baby was sleeping.. seems lazy...

doggiebebe chinese tea too liang for us at this stage. but some how or rather i heard before tat chinese tea got caffine oso. dunno how true la. i loved to drink chinese tea & green tea de...

doggiebebe drink more water la.. water is good.

can you beleive it. i had lunch at 12.30pm. now hungry again.

ok la.. icylemon, i just drink for today onli.. next time maybe i use a cup n pour hot water, n drink it like i m drinking chinese tea hehe..

i can believe that icylemon, cos i oso had my lunch at 12:30pm, then i had a packet of guava fruit, drank soya milk too, now drinking chinese tea n i bot 10pcs of small bread for later time to eat.

icylemon - i m equally hungry as u. i had "kor kor mee" for me at 12.45pm, ate half apple, pear, jackfruits, and 1/4 mango at ard 2pm n now i m munching "malai gao". no wonder i put on so much weight during the 1st trimester.

bot bra extension fm spring maternity @ $4.90. realised century sq more causual so decided to drop by suntec one of the days...

wah u all really talk alot bah.... i one day nvr log on so many postings liao....read till @_@ haha..

thanks icylemon, janey, milderina, bluegrapes & aquarius_888 for the warm welcome! ;p

bluegrapes, ya lor initially soooo happy no MS leh..... sighz... happy too fast liao lor....nowadays got on & off esp ard & after meal times.... arghhh... & i also burp & fart alot! haha

icylemon, i wld be having my NT scan on my next visit 21 jul..... abit scared also leh.... hope everything turns out well...

hey u gals know that those yellow noodles, mee pok lar... contain dunno what boric acid... hubby read abt it in an article....now forbid me to eat too much noodles....
i love noodles leh... mee pok, mee kia,... how to survive without noodles? boo hoo

welcome blue_genie & li yen!

blue_genie, i find ur nick very familiar too...haha... must be becos u also with nicole bs... ;p

Good morning gals,

Finally done wif my sis wedding. She had live band which played jazz - find it so romantic hahahha

Btw, did u gals put on weight v obvious. Think I kinda bloated cos all my relatives can tell I put on weight. Now oni 3 mths already imagine when due
458276.gif

Hello Jas,

I will be going to pre-natal yoga at true yoga cos i am alr their memeber for 1 yr.. dun wan to waste my money.. will go next mth!! hehehe..

Hi mrs wong,
spending log... hmm i keep b4.. then keep forgeting to update.. hahaha..

icylemon,
ur bb should be rite size la.. cos me n milderina's bb is ard 6.3cm ma.. the parking at TMC IS EXP lor.. hahaha.. dunno if got cheaper alternative to parkin at the velvet parking or not.. alot of ppl ask me if i can carrying twins.. cos they say my tummy looks big for 3 mths preggie!!!!

article taken from babycentre...

Question: What type of diet should I follow if I have gestational diabetes?

Answer: Good nutrition is especially important during pregnancy if you've developed gestational diabetes. Diabetes develops when your body can't efficiently produce or use insulin, a hormone made by the pancreas that allows cells to turn sugar in your blood (glucose) into usable fuel. When large amounts of glucose accumulate in your blood, it means that your cells aren't getting the fuel they need. High blood sugar can be harmful for you and your developing baby, so it's important to try to control it.

One way to keep your blood sugar levels under control is to follow a specific meal plan. If dietary changes aren't sufficient to keep your blood sugar in a healthy range, you'll need to take insulin as well. you will need to balance your meals with just the right amounts of protein, carbohydrates, and fat, vitamins and minerals.

Here are some general guidelines:
Eat a variety of foods, distributing calories and carbohydrates evenly throughout the day. Make sure both your meals and your snacks are balanced.

Don't skip meals. Be consistent about when you eat them and the amount of food you eat at each one. Your blood sugar will remain more stable if your food is distributed evenly throughout the day and consistently from day to day.

Eat a good breakfast. Your blood glucose levels are most likely to be out of whack in the morning. To keep your level in a healthy range, you may have to limit carbohydrates (breads, cereal, fruit, and milk), boost your protein intake, and possibly avoid fruit and juice altogether.

Include high-fibre foods. These foods are broken down and absorbed more slowly than simple carbohydrates, which may help keep your blood sugar levels from going too high after meals.

Limit your intake of foods and beverages that contain simple sugars such as soda, fruit juice, flavored teas, and most desserts or avoid them altogether. These foods can quickly elevate your blood sugar.

Milk is high in lactose, a simple sugar, so if you drink more than two or three glasses a day, you may need to limit the amount you drink and find an alternative source of calcium. If you're looking for a new beverage of choice, try club soda with a squeeze of lemon or orange, or unsweetened decaffeinated iced tea.

So busy at work this week not much time to log in to post...

My whole extended family know about the pregnancy already. Now maternity clothes, prams, strollers, cots, bottle sterilisers are all pouring in. Thankfully got spare room to keep everything, if not I will faint!

Close church frens also know already. I tink in a week or 2, whole church will know and everyone will start congratulating me. Feel abit awkward when pple do that cos tummy not realli showing yet...haha...plus now everyone is like 'giving advice'...dunno who to listen too also...haha...

BTW, one of my parent's frens said to take HOME MADE soy bean milk instead of buying from outside. Anyone know where got sell the machine that will auto make the soy milk? I remember reading about it before but can't remember where...my hubby interested to get cos I drink 4-7 cups of soy milk a day, so it is worth it to make our own soy milk

If not must ask my maid to use manual labour to make everyday lei...scared she will be too tired...

Zenn, who got GD? If got GD, best to make appt with the hospital's nutritionist and get them to advice you according to your lifestyle and dietary habits.

My mum had GD when she was preggie with my sis. Her diet was controlled strictly and she took supps. My sis was born at 3kg via natural birth, no other complications.

GD usually leads to big baby, which most gynaes will rec'd C section. And big baby also means your child got increased risk of diabetes (children with birth weight above 3.6kg have increased risk of diabetes)...

Janey, I update the spending log every weekend. Then month end will total up and add to the chart.

At the beginning I also keep forgetting to update. haha...but after a while you will get used to it

Nana, boric acid is a common preservative used in alot of foods. In small quanities, it is harmless. Not only noodles, alot of other foods have it too!
If you have everything in moderation, it's alright. As long as you are not eating 5 meals of meepok everyday can already

Icylemon, regarding the 'yellow ginger', it's not realli true it will cause juandice la...cos the quantity used is v little, just to flavour food. As long as you not munching on it 24/7 can le

My couz had craving for malay and thai food which uses alot of yellow ginger during her pregnancy, her son is now so fair, I bring him swimming every week he is still so fair...

Mrs wong, ya i also heard its good to drink home made soya milk. Was told to grind the bean, add water and ... cannot remember hee Find it too troublesome so just bot instant. Can we use soya milk to replace milk?

Nobody kena GD but just post for u gals info.

hielo, nice sun to all!
i jus went for checkup at 13wks. bb is growing well. at 7.5cm. but dunno whether it is considered big or small leh..

anyway me n my hubby r v glad tat bb is well.

anyone went for their recent scan at 13 wks?

i bgt new n bigger bras when i was abt 8wks. however, stil getting tight so im using bra extension now. bgt at wacoal. its 6dol plus for 2.

went to the maternity shops at suntec city. only found a top tat i can wear to work. find tat most of the clothes are quite "auntie". unless u wan to buy some t-shirts for wkend wear. otherwise not quite worth to make the trip. but there r a lot of bb clothing shops! V tempting to buy!! heheee..

Mrs Wong, I went to have the steamboat at amk ave 4 last night. The food was indeed fresh and the tom yum soup was so tasty yet not too spicy.

The crab they served had so much roe..yum..I couldn't resist as it was so fresh!!! Thanks for the recommendation. :D

zenn, how much weight have you put on so far? Me put on 2kg but relatives already find it very noticeable. :p

Jas, am interested in pre-natal yoga. Any recommendation of venus?

honeystar, you said the clothes at suntec very auntie? which shop you referring to?

Hi bluegrapes,

Babies & Cream is offering pre-natal yoga for MTB from 2nd trimester onward. 1 session @ $36.75 & 8 sessions @ $252.

I'm quite interested in it. Maybe will try out 1 session n see how izzit.

Went for to gynae for checkup yesterday. NT test turned out well. Have to wait for another 2 more wks to take blood test. Have put on 2.6kg for 1 mth n gynae said it abit too much. So have to watch my diet already. The worst think is that there is some trace of sugar in my urine. So have to fast tonite n goes bck tml 2 c whether any sugar in my blood. Cross my finger, hopefully everythink will turn out well. Sign...

have anyone started to buy baby stuff?
over the weekend, me and wifey started to shop ard for baby stuff..
so far brought some baby clothing, milk bottle, glove, bath towel, etc..
am i too kiasu??
kekekek...

Good morning everyone...

honeystar, 2 wks ago put one 2kg. think definately more by now

aquarius and bluegrapes, i had steamboat yest too! but at my sis place wif my family. yummy!

gals, i read fm a book that by rite we should put on 10% of pregnancy weight during first trimester. ideal total weight should be around 13kg. will check wif gynae tml!

gg office liao. catch up later...

Morning ladies!!!

Guessing Aqua will be over the moon this morning as Italy won... hahahahha...

I also went for steamboat over the weekend, treated my hubby to the Magic of Chongqing Hotpot! Am now 70 bucks poorer, but feel satisfied!! One thing though is that I dun seem to be able to eat much food... quite frustrating coz I do still feel hungry, just that cannot stuff anymore food in coz feel like puking... anyone feels hungry and bloated at the same time before? heheh.

Jas, I'm interested in pre-natal yoga, so looking out for it. I had a look at Birth and Beyond on Saturday, if I remember correctly, for 10 lessons they charge $200 for members and $240 for non-members... and they have three types of exercise classes, water aerobics, stretch and tone and pre-natal yoga... I'm still looking round to see if there are any cheaper classes anywhere....

Talking about bb stuff... my colleague bought me three bb bodysuits from US... heeheehee.... and over the weekend I bought the bb comforter set from Aussino for $69.90....

hmmm... I think I lost weight over the 1st tri lor... at first I gained about 1 kg, but after that lost about 2kg in total coz I developed very bad nausea and complete loss of appetite, haven't eaten well for some weeks already...

Today office very empty coz my bosses instituted this 'come in late and pay back over the week' policy for the world cup, many people taking advantage of it and coming in late in the morning...

zenn, i hv put on 5 kgs, but most of the ppl who know this said cant see n said i very good in hiding tummy.

last sat i went to see my gynae le.... bb measurement is 6.3cm @ week 12+. The bb was not waving to me but was doing fisting inside tummy and the bb bounced few times too like having hiccups... so funny n happy to see that.

Good morning Zenn n Doggiebebe,

feeling sleepy cos i watch world cup final last night... *yawn*

i also put on 5kg ma.. some guys colleague say i become fatter n ask me to eat lesser?? actually i am really sad abt it..

Sherl,
I also kept having the very hungry but bloated feeling. Yesterday whole day I have been feeling like tat lor. Very hungry but when food placed in front of mi i start eating i become very bloated.

Girls, if having bloated feeling, some light exercise helps to expel the wind in stomach and helps with the bloated feeling.
I feel much better after my daily walks with my dog.

Try to burp when possible cos it will help decrease the bloated feeling.

I realise that spicy food helps the gas exit faster (either end).

Sherl,
yeah lor, dunno y suddenly like tat.

Janey,
exactly lor, i thought should have been better since step into 2nd trimester already. but seems like its not leh. somemore nowadays also very pukey.

milderina, me too still hving bloated feeling. yesterday after i had a plate of noodle, then everything thrown out, and at nite b4 dinner vomited again juicy water cos stomach still empty tat time.

Milderina,

actually from ytd, my pukey feeling has subside quite significantly.. but hor.. still no appetite..

doggiebabe,
i also kept feel like puking. i know that after i puke out i will feel better but i just dun wan to let it out. hahaha...