(2007/01) Jan

doggiebabe,
its ok de la, i mean at least it proves that you eat well ma. we shall all start our diet plans in Feb 2007. kekekekek...............so dun worry now, just eat as much as you can, you need the energy.

u gals BMI b4 pregnant is normal or underweight? my fren said b4 my BMI was underweight b4 this tats y can gain weight so much now... dunno it is true or not. i think i really eat alot la.

doggiebabe,
yeah i heard also that underweight mummies will put on more weight then normal weight mummies.
for me i am normal weight.

Milderina...ya lor...can keep and wear again.

aquarius.. ya lor... she dun look like she is pregnant unless you see from the side... if not from the back or the front cant tell at all.

icylomon,
I target only put on max 10kg.. hopefully can maintain, cos I keep eating and sleeping here. then this sat I will be back in sg.. mil sure cook a lot for me. hahaha

icylemon,
i follow my hb as expat, i am now in bkk.. moving on to taiwan in aug.. so I no work already. :p and then have to keep changing gynae. that why till now I havent scan my bb b4.

icy,
u so lucky your MIL cook a lot for u. My MIL is vegeterian, so ussually i go her place eat is either vegetables or flour.......I miss my mum's cooking. maybe will ask her cook this sunday. hiak hiak hiak........

icy.. hard on you le... travel here & there... then gynae always not the same.. u muz take care of yourself hor... how many weeks are you now?

Me in week 10..put on 2kg so far even though I was sick on 2 of the weeks. :p You all scaring me leh..i am a little bit underweight before pregnancy. Milderina, you said "underweight mummies will put on more weight then normal weight mummies." I very scared leh

I can't take it anymore. I am going to IKEA for meesiam this saturday morning after reading what you wrote..muahahaha *evil laugh*
icylemon, what time IKEA open ah? 10am issit?

icy, better be careful since you travel around so much.

milderina eat vegetarian better then me la... my MIL like to re cook all her left over... i dare not eat... she can keep those meat leftover for many days liao then stir fried with dark sauce.. then if cannot finished, re cook againi... i faint ah...

my hubby asked me if i want to go back to his mum's place for dnr this sat. i told him no thanks. i rather eat outside.. tat's why i seldom go back to my MIL's hse.

bluegrapes, ikea cafe opens at 8am to 10.30am. but normally by 10am alot of food finished liao...

i shall see u there... hahaha....

I am new to this forum. Been reading this forum for the past few days and saw that there are alot of nice people here

I was actually looking for some kind of support.. I just got pregnant (about 5wks). My feelings are very complicated now.. as I had an unfortunate 1st preganancy last year..

I had to terminate my preg last year (Sept) when I was at 5th month. At the detailed scan, my baby was discovered to have foetal anomalies (spina bifida and hydocephalus). Cried like mad and even until now, i still get choked with emotions and tears when I think about what happened.

Now, after quite some months, I thought I am ready to try again.. and now that I am really preg, I am filled with alot of conflicting emotions. On the one hand, I am happy about having a baby.. but there's always the thought that lightning can strike twice.. So my emotions are up and down.. happy but worried... excited but sad..

I didn't know about this forum last year.. if I know, I guess I don't have to suffer so much in silence.. I mean, it can be very difficult to talk about it to people who are close to you..

Whatever the case, I am hoping to get some recommendation of gynae from the experienced mothers here. My previous gynae was ok.. but I just thought maybe I shouldn't go back to him.. I don't know.. maybe supersitions.. I didn't feel very comforted by him when the news was told to me that my baby has problem. So I thought maybe this time round I should see someone else. He is a doctor at TMC..

Perhaps someone more sympathetic.. and not too expensive ok ;)

icylemon, how about your mum's place? you can also go back for dinner

Autum, am sorry to hear your story.
Glad you summon the courage to try again. Hope you will have a smooth delivery this time round. Take good care!

autum sad to hear abt your case. forget the past ok.. look forward. after reading your story.. i m oso abt fear. wonder wat will happened to my bb when doing detailed scan.

you have all our support here ok. welcome to this forum. so when is your edd??

milderina,
my mil always cook a lot for my hb, haha she likes to watch us eat. I miss my mum's soup, becos i am cantonese, and mum always make very nice soup.

icy lemon & bluegrapes,
i should be 9 weeks, next next monday I will go back to sg gynae and scan.. then I will know.. heehee so excited. but of course I worried abt keep changing gynae.. like worried I would miss out some tests or checks up.. have to discuss with my gynae and maybe get her to give me a list of things that I should be doing. I only plan to come back in nov. still wanna tour taiwan first. :p

autum,
hugs, i understand ur feelings.. same same my last pregnancy end with a m/c. there is another 2 mtb in the feb 2007 threads which also had the same experience, but we are back to try again. I always try to believe what my friend say.. the success of the 2nd one is over 90%.

I also feel up and down.. so exited and worried and scare abt the next appt.. I try to be positive becos it will affect bb too but I am sticking to my old gynae becos she had been over kind and sympathic to me, she divert me to a side first before giving my hubby's the medical report of the m/c. But her fee is slightly higher. perhaps u can check the support group under m/c as well.. they will have some nice recommendation.

Thanks for the encouragements.

I guess in my case, there is a sense of guilt as I didn't have a m/c. I mean, I actually had a termination. The feeling was terrible, because at 5th month, I had to actually "deliver" the baby because that's the best way to terminate. They induced me using a vaginal pressary.. and I kind of like went into "labour".

The whole feeling was very surreal.. because I was pacing up and down in the delivery room and waiting out the contractions (at that time I didn't know it's contractions)... until my water burst and I "delivered" naturally.. of course, I didn't take any painkillers because at 5th month my baby was very tiny..

It's weird to think how I actually went through the "classic" delivery process but I have no baby..

Now I really hope that the same thing don't happen again.. I guess all we can do is pray very hard.

Wow so many posting to catch up!!

Milderina,

Agree wif aquarius that 9mois clothes is quite good. Brough 1 demin jean & skirt from there 2 wk ago. However, the price is quite steep. The shop is at Paragon, PS one close already..

Autum, your experience truly very saddening. I feel very weak while reading your past story. Am impressed that you can summon the courage to give yourself and baby a chance.

Dun worry, I am sure you won't have to go through this again. And at least, the gynae you seeing would be more careful based on your past experience. All the best!

sorry autum. may i ask. what really happened during the details scan? can shared more with us. coz most of us here will be going thru the detailed scan soon. izzit ok to share with us more. if you feel uneasy. is ok.

hugz hugz to autum...

icy i have not been measuring my waist.. i know is getting bigger. coz my skirt the waist there abit tight liao.

so by measuring, wat does it means? means baby growing??

autum,
hugs hugs, dun think so much.. u should think what is good for ur bb right now.. so ur edd is in feb?

Autum, sorry to hear that...do join in the chat here...we can all share infos etc.

Actually Autum...your story reminded me of another 2 cases that happened to 2 of the mtbs...one is one week before due date...that was a really really heart wrenching one...

Let's all pray for smooth and safe pregnancy and take good care of ourselves and our babies...

icylemon,
nope, i just wondering, cos my tummy seemed extra bloated - seemedd like bigger than my breast!! i thought 1st tri, people wont see the tummy except urself..

think this saturday when i go guan yin temple will be a more meaningful one. coz i m going to pray for everyone of you here in this forum to have a healthy baby & a smooth delivery.

icylemon,
which guanyin temple did u go to?? I think i also wanna go.. i used to go to the one at bugis then recently more on joo seng after i got married.

So happy to see so many caring people in this forum.
As I said, I should have come here earlier.

I am not sure about my EDD as I haven't see a gynae yet. I went to a GP to test my urine and got a positive. By my own estimation, I could EDD in late Feb or early March.

As I mentioned, I am not sure which gynae I should see.. that's why I am asking if maybe you gals have some good ones to recommend. Actually at the end of the day, if your preg is smooth sailing.. there's not much difference between who to choose right..

icy for my case hor... my breasts seems bigger then my waist.. haha.. my hubby told me de..

extra bloated.. alot of gas izzit.. gynae told me tat we ought to have gas ini out tummy one leh.. tats why we feel bloated.

bluegrapes & aquarius ; )

icy i m going to the one at bugis lor.. direct translate "4 horse road" hahaha...

autum where are you staying now?

autum,
choose gynae is impt, at least u must be comfortable with him/her. anyway also depends which hospital u wanna go to. Have u decide?

icylemon,
yah, ur case more normal lah.. hb find it funny that my tummy is so big now.. should be ask bah, i keep burping at nite now and it feel terrible.. like cannot burp finish. dunno consider as ms or not.

Icylemon,

My detailed scan is supposed to be the 20weeks scan (although I did mine on the 21 week). It's the scan where they measure everything about your baby.. they look at heart, lungs, liver, kidney etc.. and measure the length too.. fingers, toes.. everything.

During my scan, they saw a protusion at the lower spine (near backside). This is like a hole. What happened is that the spine didn't close properly when the baby is forming. Because of that, my baby brain is also swollen. The spine is supposed to drain the fluid from the brain. Since the spine got problem, fluid builds up in the brain cavity. This then pressured the brain and distorts the brain and head.

As brain is the most impt part of the human, this means a high chance of brain damage, and physical handicap.

I didn't do any other test before this scan (triple test or oscar).. cause anyway, I was told by doctor, that this kind of fetal anomalies can only be picked up in the detailed scan (20wks)..

I know it sounds scary.. that's why I guess I will be worrying all the way till my 5th month.

Please take folic acid. I didn't know there was such a thing called folic acid until this happened to me. By the time I know I was preg last time, I was already 2 months.. and the baby spine would have been formed in the first 3 weeks!!

icy dun worry you should be ok de... hugz hugz..

aquarius "4 horse road" there oso got alot of things to shop, got OG mah.. kekeke...

autum means folic acid is very important to take izzit?? oops.. such a small yellow pill can do wonders.....

same here..i go to the "4 horse road" guan yin temple since young

icylemon, you so nice, i help you wipe saliva and lipstick mark