(2007/01) Jan

thanks mrs wong! now tat u have said abt the blue sparrow, i vaguely rem my mum has this type of porcelain container. so we can jus put tat into another bigger pot to boil the bird nest inside?

do u give extra "treatment" to the bird nest after buying them..? like removing their "hairs"?

Pearlein, bird nest got 2 types. One is already cleaned nicely for you. One is still got the hairs and dirt.

My dad is bird nest importer. Honestly, get the ones with the hair and dirt. They are the pure ones. Those that have been cleaned, some factories cheat by adding agar to make the bird nest seem more.

But my dad now importing a new type of bird nest, it is cleaned by damping the bird nest slightly, then use pincer to pick out the dirt instead of soaking in water like we do traditionally. I've taken bird nest cleaned through this method. Not 100% clean, still need to pick out some hair here and there, but generally it is easier to clean.

If you get those with hair and dirt, you need to soak in cold water and pick out all the dirt slowly. Don't soak for too long. Max is 1 hour. Last time my mum and maid will take turns to pick the dirt, cos your eyes will go starry after a while...

my mum usually put the birdnest into the pot, then add rock sugar and ginseng slices, fill up with warm water and put in a bigger pot to boil. The water in the bigger pot must cover at least half of the pot inside. Don't put too much water. Now think of it, feel like eating. But my mama not free this weekend

Zenn, if you want a healthy and smart baby, tt's e price to pay lor. Everyday have to make sure all these requirements are fulfilled then can eat other things.

But now stay with my parents abit hard la. Cos they dun have habit of eating red meat cos their market dun sell red meat. Have to go until my place there to buy cheap and fresh red meat.

BTW, anyone start making beansprout shell pillow? My dad went to market to get the shells today. Asked the maid to wash and dry it under the sun, later will go buy cloth to sew

Zenn, I just made a HUGE beansprout pillow just before my wedding for my dog, around 2 kg worth of beansprout shells
took me 4 days just to wash and sort out the shells from the taugay!! Then took another 6 days to thoroughly dry them in the sun. But it's all worth it la, my precious dog loves her pillow
and she loves her mummy more than daddy now..heehee...

Now my maid washing and sorting out the shells my dad got from the market. Today no sun, so I think she will use hair dryer to blow dry first, tomorrow then sun dry.

Dun buy first. Cos I think your parents or ILs might make one for you later in the pregnancy

I got maid to cook for me ma. That's why if you realli intend to get maid to help look after kid, can start searching for one already. Alot of mummies here got bad experience searching for the 'right maid'. So if you start choosing now and start training now, will be better than wait till confinement time then train

You try to ask your neighbours if anyone cooks everyday, then see if can tompang them or not lor. At most is pay them similar rates to tingkat (which is not exp if u ta pao food everyday).

wow mrs wong,
u r really good at food! thanks for ur tips in choosing bird nest n treating them! hey, any good brands to recommend? there r so many types to choose from. i tik i jus based on the price to choose. the more exp ones shld be better grade rite.

making beansprout pillow req so much effort! i dun have tat kind of time n pple to help me to do. most prob may jus buy off the shelf. if anyone has good lobang, let me know..

Pearlein, sometimes price is not a good indicator. I'm not too sure about brands cos I dun buy mine
Just get from my dad.

Main thing to look out for is the individual strands of protein that make up the nest are not equal. ORIGINAL bird nest is UNEQUAL! And the shape of the birdnest will not be perfect. It might be slightly out of shape or broken, etc. It is alright.

Remember to get those still got dirt one. Cos those that have been cleaned, we never know what chemicals they used to clean, plus we never know if they add agar agar to increase the weight of the bird nest (to earn more $$).

Morning ladies!!

Milderina, thanks for the tip. I got a total of two pairs of pants from Spring Maternity on Saturday
. Also bought one halterneck dress from Perfect Mum for $59.40... Quite nice, can wear for both work and special occasions... Oh, and I bought the pregnancy journal from Spring Maternity as well... filled it up to week 9 liao, will give to bb as a gift when he/she is old enough!

Talking about bird's nest... MIL cooked bird's nest for all of us to eat this morning... coz hubby and BIL both have been staying up at odd hours for the World Cup... Dunnoe where MIL buys her bird's nest from but my mum buys from Hock Hua....

By the way, could I ask if anyone has this feeling of pressure in their anal area from time to time? I'm a bit worried coz I read before that it's one of the signs of ectopic pregnancy (but mine is obviously not ectopic leh...) Or is it just another effect of our uterus enlarging?

morning mummies

after 3 days of MC, finally i m back to work.

wat topics did i missed out these few days.

any updates??

anyone doing NT test lately??

Hi Sherl,

Don't worry. I also on and off will have this kinf od feeling, just no abnormal discharge should be fine loh..

By the way, pls update my EDD to 8 Jan 2007. Scan my baby on last saturday, already 3cm, can see the shape of head, hand and leg.. So amazing of the life
It is so tiny before, think next round it will grow bigger and bigger... hee..

Most probably will choose delivery at SGH, I find their O&G centre quite nice too. Although go on Sat, it was not so pack, maybe they dun accept too many appoinment.

Oh yah, may I know that is anyone of you choose to test for down sydrome, I'm 10 weeks now..if decided to test, must do it on 11 ~ 14 weeks.

Updated Evelyn's details:

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>ADD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aquarius_888</TD><TD>3/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinky</TD><TD>4/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr SP Teo</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Msn_queen</TD><TD>5/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>East Shore </TD></TR><TR><TD>serrich</TD><TD>7/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Chan KH</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>pearlein</TD><TD>7/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Tan KT</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>KC</TD><TD>8/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evelyn</TD><TD>8/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jas</TD><TD>10/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr SP Teo</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Phyllis</TD><TD>11/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Katherine Tang</TD><TD>12/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>janey</TD><TD>12/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mabel</TD><TD>13/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Loke</TD><TD>East Shore </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>13/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>berrymum</TD><TD>13/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pinoopy</TD><TD>14/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC / Mt A (TBC) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluesky</TD><TD>16/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milderina</TD><TD>16/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Chen Chern Yen</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>tinkie</TD><TD>17/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leeann</TD><TD>19/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>rin</TD><TD>19/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Doggiebebe</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr CK Chow</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>firstbaby</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Chua Yang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zenn</TD><TD>21/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>icylemon</TD><TD>21/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>iceblue</TD><TD>21/7/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD>22/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr HY Ang</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>bluegrapes</TD><TD>24/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Cathryn Chan</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yingzi</TD><TD>24/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Koh CH</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>baby_milk</TD><TD>25/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sherl</TD><TD>26/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janice</TD><TD>End Jan 2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lynn</TD><TD>30/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr SC Quek</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Wong</TD><TD>30/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Evelyn,

For DS think I will just do the NT test first. Very unlikely to go for further DS tests coz hubby and I should be low risk...

Thank for the reassurance, two weeks never see bb, I'm getting more and more paranoid by the day, heheheheheh.

Hi Everyone!

Can I join us guys too? Just been redirected by Mrs Wong that I should be here... heheh.. m so goondu!

My EDD is 31 Jan 07...hey v close to Lynn and Mrs Wong!

My gynae is Dr Gordon Tan WT. Hope to go to TMC but apparently he's not 'attached' there.. Tues will be going for 2nd check up and will ask him.

Can't wait to see baby.. last went 3 weeks ago!

Will update here after tues! Take care!

Welcome sugarbean! Another Jan mummy!

icylemon, my next visit is this Wed... after which hope dun have to see doc until 12 weeks lo... if not very 'chor'... heheh...if no need to see dr so often, also good coz means bb doing well...

Hi Sherl,

Thanks for the welcome!

Actually have posted tis in another thread but just want to let mummies here know just in case u r looking around for stretch marks creams.

Pls DO NOT buy the Strivectin SD as it is NOT SUITABLE for pregnant and nursing moms. I was so caught up by its publicity as it is apparently a very good cream that I went to buy it. Even the lady said ok for preggie but when I went home to read the properly, it says not suitable. So asked for refund.

Pls be careful ya?

Sherl, could you pls also update me on the list too? Sorry to trouble you and tks so much!

My checkup is tmr. Week 9. Feel excited and worried at the same time. Excited to know how is bb's progress so far but worried whether gynae will find anything abnormal.

Sherl and icylemon, tell us about your next appt. Excited for you.

Sherl, I agree with you. If dun see doc so often means bb is doing well. I very siao leh..cos I always worried whether anything abnormal happening inside so always look forward to seeing gynae. Wah, I see that you had a maternity shopping spree huh!!! How did you make it to so many places on one day.
The pants you bought are the elastic kind? And btw, where is Spring Maternity and Perfect Mum?

Sugarbean, I using stretch marks cream from MotherCare. I hope its fine.

hi ladies, aft a 24hrs duty at work, finally hm. now using the thermal cooker cooking watercess soup for wifey.
just to ask on behalf of wifey:
wat type of bra to recommend? cos she wearing those normal type and it cant fit liao. so thinking getting new ones, but not sure which type to get.
she should juz get the normal one of bigger size or should she get those maternity bra?

wifey using BUDS for mum stretch marks cream. got it for Dr Woo clinic. any other user?
thank!

iceblue, dr woo sells stretch mark cream meh? the last time i asked, he said dun sell leh.

do u guys know if we can take any medicine to ease the discomfort when travelling? cos need to travel 2hrs+ to JB this sat for my sis wedding. kinda worrid the journey...

zenn, which clinic you went? cos i visit Dr Woo clinic at tiong bahru MRT (even thought i live at hougang). that side got sell leh. $29.50 for 50ml.

Iceblue, normal bra but bigger size will do. Cos the size will still go up along the pregnancy
So if buy maternity bra now also abit wasteful.

wah...Sherl...major shopping trip ar? My hubby just came back from KL, he bought alot of maternity clothes also! My mum and couz choose for me, lucky all the sizes are right! My hubby buy in KL v cheap, pants and skirts RM30-50, tops RM15-30, dresses RM40-80!! My couz brought my hubby to the right places to choose...heehee....

iceblue..... I loss about 4 kg in my 1st tri during my first pregnancy.... very normal. Not to worry.

Mrs Wong.... Bird nests sounds great.
I can't take bird nests. Got asthma...I took it during my first pregnancy, guess what.... body gets worst after taking it, got to admit to hospital.

I love bird nests, too bad

Mrs Wong, huh? so which mean now and then i need to bring wifey go buy bra? then aft preggie all those bigger size one no use liao..

zenn, oic.. u go look ard lor.. think lots of place selling oso..
mayb tiong bahru one under thomson so got sell, punggol one under his own private, so didnt sell..

btw, just asking, will all of you planning to do the tests for DOWN SYDROME? cos Dr Woo recommended us to do... although both wifey and me still young (both 24), but Dr Woo say still will have risk, better to do. *sighz*

Hi bluegrapes/Mrs Wong,

Yeah lor, no choice, gotta do major shopping trip because I waited till my bottoms all cannot fit before I finally admitted to myself that I needed to get maternity wear, hahahhaha.
Bluegrapes, the best place to shop for maternity wear now I think is Suntec, 3rd floor (near Toys r' Us). That's where I went. Got quite a number of shops with nice trendy maternity wear. I liked the collection at Spring Maternity (take note, DBS Woman's card got 10% discount!) and Perfect Mom not bad also, many nice dresses. Flava Mama has very funky t-shirts.
Mrs Wong, really ah? Hubby and I trying to plan for a trip to KL in last week of July/1st week of August.... maybe I'll go there buy tops... coz maternity tops in Singapore really very expensive...

icylemon, I'm 9 going on 10 weeks this week... today should be 9weeks 3/4 days....

Updated with sugarbean's details:

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>ADD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aquarius_888</TD><TD>3/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinky</TD><TD>4/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr SP Teo</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Msn_queen</TD><TD>5/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>East Shore </TD></TR><TR><TD>serrich</TD><TD>7/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Chan KH</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>pearlein</TD><TD>7/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Tan KT</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>KC</TD><TD>8/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evelyn</TD><TD>8/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jas</TD><TD>10/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr SP Teo</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Phyllis</TD><TD>11/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Katherine Tang</TD><TD>12/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>janey</TD><TD>12/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mabel</TD><TD>13/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Loke</TD><TD>East Shore </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>13/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>berrymum</TD><TD>13/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pinoopy</TD><TD>14/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC / Mt A (TBC) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluesky</TD><TD>16/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milderina</TD><TD>16/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Chen Chern Yen</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>tinkie</TD><TD>17/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leeann</TD><TD>19/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>rin</TD><TD>19/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Doggiebebe</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr CK Chow</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>firstbaby</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Chua Yang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zenn</TD><TD>21/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>icylemon</TD><TD>21/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>iceblue</TD><TD>21/7/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD>22/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr HY Ang</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>bluegrapes</TD><TD>24/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Cathryn Chan</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yingzi</TD><TD>24/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Koh CH</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>baby_milk</TD><TD>25/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sherl</TD><TD>26/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janice</TD><TD>End Jan 2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lynn</TD><TD>30/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr SC Quek</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Wong</TD><TD>30/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sugarbean</TD><TD>31/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Gordon Tan WT</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Iceblue, it's a no choice thing. Maternity bra also got size ma, plus it is more exp than normal bra!!

My couz tell me that sometimes after giving birth, the bust size might or might not go down. So the bras bought during pregnancy will still be useful.

Dr Woo din ask me to do DS tests lei..I'm 21 and my hubby is 29.
Anyway, we have decided not to do cos we will keep the baby no matter the results

Sherl, I also planning a trip to KL. My hubby's frens wanna go for shopping and they wanna drive up but dunno the way, so want me and my hubby to lead the way...

I think I will go sometime in August

babymilk, I also got asthma. But I'm ok when I drink bird nest. Bird nest allergy got nothing to do with having asthma or not. Some pple who don't have asthma but allergic to bird nest will also have asthma symptoms when they eat bird nest.

For those who dunno if you are allergic or not, best to take a little bit first, dun be greedy and drink everything at a shot!
Some pple develop allergy when they are preggie, but take note!

sherl

pls update my details. edd change to 18-01-2007.

where to get big size de maternity clothes. i m pretty big size.

evelyn

i m doing Nt test too in july. i called up TMC to ask wat izzit abt, the nurse told me is juz a scan only wor...

mrs wong,

you are so young.. 21 only... wah.. they said the younger mummies tends to deliver easier.... not like me.. reach a certain age liao. 28...

Mrs Wong, ok thank. as u say, it a no choice thing, so will just go ahead and buy..
Mmmm... think not going for the DS test oso, like you, going to keep the baby no matter wat...
kekkeke...

Mrs Wong, u r ...........21????? omg!! That's so young. ERrr..all the while, I thought u r near 30 or past 30 cos you sounded so wise and experience.

Sherl, thanks for the maternity dress tips. Shall drop by one day to check it out.
also thinking of going to KL in 2nd trimester to shop for maternity and bb stuff. Should be cheaper.

iceblue, my hubby say the test so expensive and give us unnecessary stress, so he rather not have it since we are keeping the baby no matter what

Icylemon, not true that young mummies have easier birth lei...My couz gave birth 1st child at 30, labour onli 1hour!!

Her waterbag burst at 11am, then got slight contractions. She go home and bath, take her hospital bag and documents then go to hospital. Before going to delivery ward, she say she hungry, so go eat delifrance. She go into delivery ward at 2pm. my jiefu say 2 pushes and my nephew was out at 3pm. So fast!! Her second and 3rd child also similar stories, v easy labour!!

My couz told me it is genetic if you have easy birth or not. Her mum also had v easy births. My mum also said their family give birth like hen lay eggs, v easy. haha...

hi ladies, just checking,
when you r hungry, do you feel that ur stomach is empty?
then after you start eating, u got this feeling that you r full, but ur stomach still feeling empty yet the food feels right r up to the throat?
this happen to mine wifey, that y for now, almost every 2-3hrs, she will complain she hungry.
almost every night ard 10-12pm, she will ask me to go tabao food for her..
sighz..
just 1 1/2hr ago, she just finished one plate of fried rice and big bowl of watercess soup, now while i typing this msg, she eating fried rice again..
wahahhaha!!!

That's what I'm considering now... as quite a few of my frens did the DS test. And I know that this tread ever mention that if really found problem, we still need to decide whether to keep the baby .... really headache.. On that day of visit my gyane, I decided not do to the DS test. But my hubby say still can considering and make an appointment if we want to do so...

Sighz... really confusing and difficult to make the decision leh

bluegrapes,

same here... i oso tot mrs wong is ard 30 to 30+ de... hahaha...

iceblue,

me like your wife oso.. always feel very hungry but honestly the mouth dun feel like eating but the stomach like very very hubgry like tat leh...

evelyn,

after i read these threads here... i oso considering to do the NT test or not. very fan hor...

Bluegrapes, i spent 4 years of my life studying nutrition and my speciality is nutrition during pregnancy and infancy.

Plus all my couz already have kids, I'm the last one!!! Everytime got gathering, all they talk about is their pregnancies, their birth stories and their kids
And I am the main caretaker for my 2 nephews and 1 baby niece
They have been staying with me since they were born
My couz works overseas so she leaves them with me with the help of the maid

bb stuff I will not be buying anything. My mum say most of the baby stuff pple will give us (as prezzies or second hand) or she will buy for us. She tell me not to worry about bb's stuff cos she asked ard abt the hospital bill, she already got shock of her life that still need to fork out cash...I think she's worried we might not be able to cope...

Yesterday spoke to some of my church frens, din annouce the pregnancy yet. But all of them keep asking when is my turn, cos another of our fren is preggie also...
I told them jokingly that no $$ to have kids, they say dun worry, they will be god mas and shower the baby with loads of prezzies...haha...they already form a queue to be god mas le...

Plus a few of them already work out a visiting schedule...it's quite farnie, imagine a group of gals age 18-21 discussing about who will get to baby sit when they don't even know about the baby yet...

mrs wong,

wah.. your friends are pretty mature. 18-21 talking abt babies liao..

back in my time.. we will be talking abt where to go cheong liao.. hahaha...

Evelyn, impt thing that you and your hubby need to ask yourselves is that are you able to cope if your child is handicapped (TOUCHWOOD)?

Me and my hubby volunteer at hospitals with my dog (pet assisted theraphy), so we see many kids suffering from illness, some with DS. It's amazing that though the child may not be perfect in the society's eyes, they are always perfect in their parents' eyes.

My hubby din like kids when I first met him. But after spending time with these children, he learnt the meaning of unconditional love and is willing to do anything to have his own kid, be it normal or not.

If you and your hubby come to a decision that you will keep the baby no matter what, then I feel that there is no need for the test.

There are some who tested that their kid have v high risk of having DS. mummies and daddies have hard time during pregnancy, v miserable and upset, but baby turns out to be alright, no DS, no problems.

Sometimes I think that technology is TOO ADVANCED for our own good. It's better not to know certain things

icy, DS is Down Sydrome.. NT test is the test to test for DS.

evelyn, since you decided not to do the DS test, then y still wanna unnecessary worries? for me, i dun wan mine wifey to worry, therefore we dun do cos both of us decided to keep the baby whatever happens.

according to Dr Woo, anything more than 0.3% will be considering as high risk, but they have their own "cut off point" at 0.6%. therefore if more than 0.6%, then it recommended to do another test which will be extracting the "yang shu" and send it for lab test.
most ppl may be belonging to the high risk cat, but this doesnt mean the baby will be affected when born.

just mine 2cents worth!

Mrs Wong, u r really lucky le. Can get lotsa bb stuff from ur cousins and friends. For me, i am the first to get pregnant among my cousins. So...
gotta buy new lor..

You specialises in nutrition. No wonder so expert!!

Regardless, it is good to give birth early. My boss is early thirties now and his daughter in primary school. He has quite easy life.

...but...thinking back..i didn't even have a boy friend at 21. Still studying then..heeh. Amazing.

bluegraphes, you the first among ur cousins, mrs wong the last among her cousins, for mine case, some of mine cousins still infant. will be getting stuff from mine aunties/uncles since mine cousins outgrown them... wahahahha!!!