(2007/01) Jan

icy, actually I think it is normal for kids to behave this way when they start cc. Egan also woke up and cry, cry in school etc. It took him 1 year at least to get used to school life.

Icy, it is very common for kids to cry school.
Some kids take about 1 month to adjust, and I ever witness 1 kid cried for half a year .

You don have to withdraw her...she just needs more time to mix around and adapt.

gd afternoon mummies!

jen, i ve re-sent. pls check.

icy, poor thing -pat pat- think hard for u to put her half day? perhaps rachel still not used to start off full day? hopefully she will b better soon.

babymilk,

half a year?! Poor kid and parents!

char,

I haven't as I dun really see the need to at the moment and my mum asked me not to let her go so early... and she was initially attending weekend playschool. But now her playschool is having some problems due to relocating and start of term is going to be delayed.

I don't really want to let her go without school for so long so now thinking of putting her in an AppleTree PG. There are several near my mum's place.

sherl
i see.. cause i know that our tots are the few kids who havent' started going to school yet...
my mum, MIL and husband also told me that don't have to start kienan at school so early...
i don't even know which ones to consider...

aqua:
have you started putting des in school yet?
egan took 1 yr to get used to school? wow... must have been quite tough on you?

heehee..
actually, kienan has a place there for nursery already. on wait-list for pre-nursery (which is for him to start sch next yr, 2010).
hehehe.. am i very kia su?

was asking about PG cause like quite a lot of mummies already put their kids in PG.. so just wondering if i'm out of the ordinary for not putting kienan in school yet..

Mildy,

Likely to be Holland Village now. At first was going to be near SCGS there I think, but things didn't work out, so now her teacher is looking at somewhere near Holland V.

sherl, heard that st james church need to q way ahead? issit really that good?

charm, u r not ks lah. my frien's frien register her kid when she was 8mths old for st james

zenn/sherl:
truth be told, i didn't know how 'famous' or popular st james kindergarten was at all till last yr.
i stay at holland v area, so it was a natural choice for us to choose st james kindergarten when we were thinking of a school for kienan. thot we can walk to school mah.

and only when i wanted to register kienan for SJCK did i realise that it has moved from the place near the esso petrol station to dempsey! so i can't walk kienan to school afterall... and only after i signed up for it did i realise that it was so popular.
i don't know why it's so popular though..
sherl, can educate why?

zenn:
how's estelle? long time no chat/see on forum. haha.

yes, there is a waiting line for SJCK. i signed kienan up for it after he turned 1yrs old, and i could only get him a place in nursery. he's on wait list for pre-nursery now.
and i paid a deposit to confirm kienan's place in the sch for nursery.

zenn,
so far quite ok. my aunt for this whole week just bring her to school n left her there by herself. no crying. and when she comes home i ask her if she wans to go school? and she will say, yes! i wan to go school. ask her wat teacher teaches u in school she will sing "a, b, c, d, e, f, g" tats all she know. lolx

and every morning when she waks up, she will tell mi "i wan to go school lo!" keke....then at night when she dun wan to sleep i say u dun sleep tomorrow u cannot get up then u dun need to go school le, then she will faster close her eyes n sleep. kekek.......

char,

lucky Kienan!
I heard very very good comments about St James. It's too far for me, unfortunately. Not kiasu la, because a lot of kindys (esp the popular ones like St James) have long waiting lists.

zenn,
Like I told Char lor, I've heard very good comments about St James before. My friend's daughter progressed really well there, and she kept recommending the place to me.

Mild,
Yeah, more or less confirm she looking at somewhere in Holland V lo...

Mild,

sounds like Charlene's enjoying herself. Kekekekekekekekeke

Char,
I also dunnoe exactly why St James is so good... can't remember le, think their curriculum not bad?

char - actually belle also din go to 'school' or PG yet.. but hubby thinking to sign her up for wkend class on sat n sun at kinderland near our place n she din telling us for a few wks dat she wants to go school.. think she misses her wkend class at JG.

sherl,
yeah lor, i asked my aunt she also say she enjoy leh. before she go back she will say "zai jian li lao shi". lolxxxxxxx

but hor last week her 1st day where mi n my dear brought her there she like different leh. very clingy to mi, maybe tat day she not feeling well.

char, no I now headache if I shld send Des to CC cos we planning to move out of Seng Kang mid this year hopefully. If I put her in CC in March, doesnt make much sense cos she will have to change to PG or CC in Yishun. And Egan is in K2 this year so there is really no point to change him...if I pull des out and egan continues, I am worried egan will start thinking why mei mei can stay in Yishun and he has to continue alone in current CC. KWIM?

Egan took a year to get used to school...every day will cry...but it got to a point where I will just turn my back and leave cos the longer I stay, the longer he will cry. Very stressful when he wakes up crying at night. It was only until the 2nd year then he started to 'accept' the fact that going to school is a must and he learn to like going to school.

charm, i also didn't know its so popular till my gf asked me if i heard of it. pre nursery will start when they r 3yrs old right? so who is gg to send & fetch him?

estelle still the same. gettin talkative n whinny at times. how abt kienan?

mild, good hor. looks like charlene is enjoying herself in sch. at least u can fang xin.

sherl & charm, yalor i also heard v good comments but duno wat so good hahahaha same lor, so far for me. still thinking where to put estelle next yr cos talent plus is till 3yr old oni. considering apple tree but its not exactly walking distance. not many choices in punggol

mommies - can check whether wat catog u sendign yr kids to? cos i tot PG r for 3 years (born in 2006), now got those 2 hrs class type n wat r they called? cos i read till blur tot they can only attend wkend class at moment.

aqua:
lol.. yes, i KWYM (haha, i was wondering what KWIM means..!)wow.. not easy decision. quite a headache... can u manage not putting des in CC? still have nanny to take care of her? if so, then egan won't have to feel like his mei mei gets to go to school in yishun, and he has to continue in CC in sengkang.

you're egan's mummy, so you'll prob know best how he will think/feel depending on which decision u finally make.

mildy:
wow! charlene is really taking well to school.. cool.. is she the extrovert sort? maybe that's why she enjoys going to school so much.. meet new ppl, learn new things... haha.

good for u, less stressful this way, esp. when you have to manage No. 2 now. you still on ML?

haha.. you're right. it's her first day of 20 yrs of schooling.. yikes! :p

jen:
hehe. so belle is also not in school yet... it's interesting that she tells u all that she wants to go to school..

sherl:
yeaps... i'm happy to have a place in st james for kienan.. cause it's a christian environment, and it's quite impt to me for kienan to have that environment in school.

now waiting to see if i can finally get a place for him next yr in pre-nursery.

zenn:
yeps, pre-nursery starts in the yr they turn 3yrs old. we will send him there in the morning (if can get morning session), and then maybe ask my MIL to fetch him back in the afternoon.

haha.. kienan also getting very chatty.. talks and talks now. and when i scold him and put him in a corner, he can also talk and talk.. i have to tell him to stop talking because i'm very angry with him and that i'm punishing him. lol... *faint*

aqu, think now still ok cos they go sch to play. think more stressful for them when they ve to go for tuitions?

aqua:
hahah. i can't agree with you more. kids nowadays really quite cham.. start school so early. during our time, think we only went to school when we were K1? think my mum said that i didn't go to nursery.. hehe.

zenn:
don't stress too much... am sure you'll find a school for estelle..

aqu - i tot 3yrs old is dou dou class.. is dat equal to N1? think i got e year late by 1 yr.. *faint*

char - last yr, she attended wkend class at JG n she loved it.. when semester ended, she kept telling us she wanted to go school n said 'next wk, go school can?' hear till so poorthing like dat... so we thinking to sign at kinderland near our place for wkend class (this way not so rush).. think coming monday goign to sign up n start next mth.

charmaine,
yeah, i think charlene an extrovert sort and enjoys being ard ppl. keke... but when she first step into a new enviroment she will observe before getting close to u. prob the reason y day 1 wasnt tat good too, as she refuse to let her teacher hold her hand or get near her, or maybe becos we were thr.

icy,
nope, charlene is attending 3 hrs flexi playgroup.

hahahhaha.. I started school when I was 2.5years old. My mother say she didn't intend to put me in school so early, but I kept on kicking up fuss and telling her I wanna go school. LOL. And look at me today, so lazy! hiaks hiaks hiaks. Think I was so much more qin lao when younger.

Zenn/Aqua,
Actually to me the main point of school now is for social interaction rather than for academic skills. So if the kid is getting enough social interaction and learning enough social skills without going to school, then no real need for it la... wakakakakakaka.

But yeah, to be kid nowadays is really stressful. I try to remind myself not to be too kiasu but hor, it can be really difficult!

Zenn,
Apple Tree only runs PG I think? To date I think they only have 1 kindy program which happens to be at CCK, but I'm not considering it because it's located in an air-con environment.

aqu, ya dun make sense to start des in cc now. by the time she get used to it she got to change again. how abt start cc when u move to yishun?

charm, kienan so cute. still talkin when u scold him. now estelle will say "mummy angry" cos i always tell her "u very notti, always make mummy angry" kekkeke

Jen,

dou dou ban is playgroup, for 2-3 years old. N1 (sometimes called pre-n) is for 3-4 years old. But I understand that some places call their playgroup Pre-N also.

From my understanding, if you are just concentrating on academics, then you only really need to start at N2, because that's when they start the real learning. N1 is very basic and more on social skills.

wakakkakakakka... Zenn and Char, Kienan and Estelle so cute. My monster will just pretend she dun hear me and carry on doing what she is doing. I always have to take her by the shoulder and say, "Look at mummy!" And if I smack her, I make her put out her hand, and then the moment I raise mine she will shut her eyes tight tight and cringe. Aiyo. Kids.

wakakakak sherl that means I got to interact with Des more. lolx

Jen, ya 3 yo is N1 which I think is called dou dou class in some schools?

Char, I also never go Nursery wakakakak. Egan has started learning hanyu pin yin in K1 last year. Faint...

jen, estelle is attending talent plus playgroup and they start fm 18mths. for talent plus they go by mths but most PG go by year of borned.

charm, not stressful lah. till date still ve not really checking :p but may consider apple tree or dayspring in punggol.

sherl, ya apple tree is PG which I am fine with it since I ve maid and can spend more time with her myself. haha r u givin urself excuses not to send claire to sch kekekeke

ppl always says estelle will b lonely cos no slibling, i always tell ppl estelle goes sch and get to mix ard. kekeke

Aqua,

Ya! I also heard from my colleagues that their kids in K1 learned Hanyu Pin Yin. I was also shocked to hear that. Coz I remembered we learned that when we were in Primary School.

Nowdays the kids are so stressful.

Not like us. When we were young we simply just enjoyed our childhood.

Now, I see kids rushing here & there. After morning session class still got tuition in the afternoon. Weekends still got to go "Tian Xia" for chinese lesson.

sherl, cute? actually sometimes duno to laugh or angry. claire v cool hor keke she getting prettier too! btw when u gg to upload ur US photos????

*hides from zenn* I know, many people bugging me to upload, but I very lazy to compress the pics, lol. And I got a lot of backdated entries to sort thru too, lol. Soon soon, ok?

sherl:
haha.. claire is such a cute rebel! haha. still can brace for pain when you are getting ready to smack her hand.. lol
and yeps, want to see ur US photos..
i was initially planning a US trip this yr in feb or march. but times aren't too good. so don't think i'll go already.
maybe next yr? *sob*

icy:
yeps, you're right! not much fun being a kid nowadays. i also remember learning hanyu pinyin in pri sch only. wah, now they learn in K1!!?!

zenn:
u doing any big bd party celebration for estelle?
haha.. estelle is cute.. can say 'mummy angry'.