(2007/01) Jan

sherl,
i sit there like tai tai... under the tree drink tea lor... then see u fall down while cycling. kekeke....

tam,
^5!! kekeke...

zenn,

my girl naps ~1hr in the morning and 1½-2hrs afternoon. Total at most 3½hrs.

Maybe estelle is naturally cutting down from 2 naps to 1? How long is the nap? She has no problems with bedtime and nightwaking?

yo yo yo,
wow cycling eh? i interested to go ECP but hor my cycling skills also sucks. maybe i just bring charlene tricycle there to push her along. kekekeke.........

tam & icy, i think durin cny we were out everyday n her hrs haywire? she used to zzz around 1hr in the morn n 1.5 to 2hr in the afternoon but lately oni take 1 nap of 2-3hr but yest afternoon oni 1.5hr. at night she will sleep thro

zenn,
during weekdays at my aunt's place she has got 1 morning nap that last at most 30 mins, then afternoon between 2pm to 4pm another time. at home during weekends hor, she only take the afternoon 2 hrs or less nap nias. she seldom naps actaully. she sleeps at ard 9pm and wakes up ard 8am the next morning during weekends.

<font color="ff0000">Trial class for My Gym @ Marine Parade is confirmed!!! Can ve a max of 13 babies &amp; 1 parent each time &amp; parent will need to wear socks. Here is the details :

Date : 23 Feb 08 (Sat)

Time : 1.15-2pm

Venue : Blk 86 Marine Parade Central #01-670B Tel : 6440 9916

Fee : $30 nett

1) mymelody (cfm)
2) fae (cfm)
3) zenn (cfm)
4) sugarbean (cfm)
5) babyapples (TBC)
6) icylemon (cfm)
7) aquarius_888 (TBC, need to check if hubby is working on that sat )
8) Mildy (cfm)
9) Yosimite (cfm)
10) kate (icy wants u to join in!!) kekeke...
11) babymilk (TBC)
12) sherl (cfm)
13)

muhahahha...

mildy...good idea siah...push tricycle..

sugar,

i cycle always buang one...dun ask me why...i chicken...wakaka...dats why i say dangerous..!!

mildy,
come! come! come! join us.

great! more ppl to go ECP.

wats there to eat at ECP har? i know got coffee bean, macdonalds &amp; C nai cafe there.

fat babe,
i lagi best. i put my leg on the padding... the bicyele move but i dunno how to stop!! juz keep cycling &amp; cycling.... kekeke....

mild, she used to take a few days to adjust back but its been 1 wk+ n she been takin oni 1 nap

icy &amp; fatbabe, think as we get older we really no gut. so want estelle to learn swimming &amp; cyclin when young hee

mummies..
reading ur posts about your babies sleeping thru the nite...
kienan still isn't sleeping through the nite yet..!

he wakes up and wants to drink milk still.. though i suspect that it's more because he wants to nurse from my breast.. because he's getting food/milk in the daytime.
any suggestions on how i can help him sleep through the nite?
i'm toying with the idea of leaving him at my MIL's place for two nights or so.. and let him just wake up to realise that i'm not there for him to nurse.. and maybe he'll come to realise that it's time for him to learn to sleep through the night..
advice, anyone?

zenn,

are you afraid estelle is not getting enough sleep? if she sleeps well at night and thrives happily with one 2-3hr nap, i think it's ok. Around what time is this nap?

charmaine,

how about giving kienan water instead?

mild, unless we are out, if at home we will give her last feed ard 9-9.30pm n she will zzz but there bound to be some nights she refused to zzz n stay awake to 10+ or even 11+. she will wake up btw 8.30-9am.

charm, how often do you direct latch on? estelle only started to sleep thro after she was fully on FM. for a start i did give her water n she will zzz after that. will only give her milk if she refuse to zzz after drinking water.

tam, hmmm actually i nv thought of not enough sleep leh kekekkee bad mummy. prefer her to nap 2x so that we will ve sometimes to do our work. also at times if she dun take her afternoon nap, she gets abit cranky during dinner time.

zenn,

I agree with tambourina on the nap thing. Claire still takes 2 short naps a day, otherwise she will get cranky. But on weekends when she's with me she sleeps less. She sleeps more at my mom's place.

Char,
Does Kienan use pacifier?

sherl,
rachel is like claire too. sleeps more when she is with my mum. sleep lesser when with me. tends to bully me too. haiz...

sherl, ya i prefer her to nap 2x too but sometimes she just refused to zzz n by the time she is tired its meal time

zenn:
hehe.. i actually latch him on most of the time.. before i go to work and at night before going to sleep...
i was also wondering if putting him completely on FM will help him sleep thru the nite..
but claire is not taking FM, and she's sleeping thru the night, right, sherl?

sherl:
claire sleeps thru the night now right?
and you still let her latch on?
kienan doesn't take pacifier anymore.. he will take it out of his mouth. he used to take it when he was younger (about 3-5mths), but after that, he doesn't like it already.. plus, i don't know if want to re-introduce the pacifier to him now...

zenn:
about naps.. kienan also takes 2 naps in the day. once in late morning, and another in the afternoon.. if not, he'll get cranky.
but on weekends, cause i always bring him out.. i think he naps less. (oops! bad mummy... hehe)

tam, she used to wake up around 8am +/- and morn nap 10+ to 11+ and afternoon nap 2+ to 5pm. ever since after cny, she wakes up 8.30-9am n nap either 11 to 1+ or 2 to 4+/5pm

Char,

If Kienan already weaned off pacifier then best not to start it off again. I want to wean Claire off but as of now it's nearly impossible, sigh. I only let her take when she's going to sleep. But when she starts talking I will try again. I never trained Claire to sleep through the night, but the exact night she turned 8 months hor, she stopped waking up for night feed, heehee. I still do direct latch at home and on the weekends.

zenn,
When I see that she's tired I will try to bring her to a quiet corner and cuddle her for a while, pat pat her a bit. If she is tired she will drift off within five min. If trying to make her sleep, sure will not succeed. She also likes to finger the tip of her Kammi doll while trying to sleep, think it comforts her. And most importantly, the pacifier. Sigh. But like I tell Char, please dun start on the pacifier if Estelle doesn't use it in the first place.
At my mum's usually my mother will give her a small wash cloth (in place of the Kammi), her pacifier, and switch on some music for her. Esp if there is air con on, she'll be off to dreamland by herself in 10 min.

Re naps - Yesterday we "cut" down Matt's daily naps from 2 to 1 only. As he gets up later these days at abt 730-8am, he'll only take morning nap abt 10.30am for 1.5-2hr. This delayed his noon nap to abt 3+pm-5pm which in turn delays his night sleep to past 9+pm. So my mom suggested that since he's older, we can just let him take 1 long nap in teh day so he can sleep earlier at night at 8pm (which used to be his usual bedtime). So yesterday he skipped his morning nap and slept at 1230pm to 330pm. At night, was able to put him to sleep at 830pm.

sherl, i oni give estelle pacifier when she wants to sleep. sometimes she will sleep on her own w/o pacifier (not always thro and oni morn nap)

AMM, hmm dan bb will have many hrs awake? like v waste of time leh heee beside play n watch tv (which i dun let her unless i m home), what else can they do?

charmaine,

it seems at this age, separation anxiety reaches its peak. Eunice used to be able to sleep thru, but nowadays she wakes up 1-2hrs after we managed to put her to bed. If it's just whimpers, we leave her and let her settle back to sleep by herself. If whimper turns to wail, we will go into her room and usually find her squatting in a corner of cot crying.

How does Kienan show that he wants to be nursed? Does he wake up with eyes open or closed and with what seems like inconsolable crying? Maybe you can ask your hubby to give kienan water and then pat him back to sleep. You may have to hide somewhere.

charmaine,
i understand how u feel, coz JK's not sleeping thru the night as well. I latch him, so i suspect he'll take ages b4 he'd want to wean off this habit. he can wake up 3-5 times a night, n sometimes as short as <1 minute. sigh..

Mummies with blogs,
i need your help and advise. I can't view my own blog. Whenever i try to view, i always gets 'hanged' or 'not responding' message and gotta close down all applications.

Anyone face the same problem? N knows how to solve? i don't know who or email where to ask for help leh... still a blursotong.

my blog address:

http://hui-treasures.blogspot.com/

Hui,

I can view your blog also. Sometimes it may be a technical error or something while the website is loading. At times I experience that problem with other blogs as well. Most of the time it is because there are too many videos, slideshows etc loaded onto that page.

icy, sherl,

thanks. so strange.. i couldn't view leh.. most of the time still same problem. not respoonding.. or is it my laptop got problem??

Hui, sometimes i wonder issit the pc/notebook cos my sis &amp; younger bro sometimes will complain cant view my blog but i ve no problem with it

Hello mummies, how have u been doing?

Hui, I can view ur blog with no problem too!

Icy!! *hanging pig head* U still owe me money!!!

zenn, same as charmaine's kienan, carys also takes 2 naps in the day. once in the morning, and another in the afternoon.. if not, he'll get very cranky. As for weekends, she naps less cause we always bring her out..

hi bluegrapes!! long time no c &amp; chat leh!! So nice to catch u here now! Wah! U so fierce one meh? U will hang pig's head?? I hardly see you like tt.. u so soft n demure leh..

Icy/Sherl, parkway parking rates slightly more expensive than HDB carpark. Parkway charges about $1.60 per hour whereas HDB is $1 per hr.
http://www.parkwayparade.com.sg/content.aspx?urlkey=ci_park

Char, you can try giving him water. Initially will sure cry. I did that for denzyl when he was a bb. and it took a week for him to settle down. so must tahan him crying for a week when I didn't give him milk :p but after that it is sleep thru the nite :)

mymelody:
wah, you're in the forum quite late!

okies.. thanks for the tip.
i'll have to try it out.. and "dong" the crying.. dunno if can tahan or not.. cause next day still have to work! and my husband will prob move to the next room to sleep cause he won't put up with kienan's crying... yikes!

by the way, are you still bfing shayna? or have you totally stopped bfing?

hui:
jk also not sleeping thru the nite?? ayes... you and me can shake hands. hopefully we can get them to sleep thru soon..
i really think it's cause they want to be nursed!

Zenn - kekeke.. waste of time..
No lah, actually bbs learn thr playing, even though to us they seem to be doing the same stuff everyday. For Matt, my mom brings him downstairs for walks and "socialise" with other kids in the morning for an hour or so and wait for AShley to come back from school. After that it's lunch time. Then he sleeps for 2+ hour. WHen awake, he just plays with his toys. After his dinner at 6pm, my mom will bring both kids to the playground downstairs to play and wait for us to return. By the time we go home and play with them downstairs for a while, it'd be 7pm. Then it's back home for more playing. And then off to bed by 8pm or 830pm..
That kind of sums up a typical day for Matt on weekdays when we are working. During weekends, there'll be more play time and we usually go out one of the days. I guess it helps that there are a lot of kids at my estate so usually morning and evening, there will be kids at the playground.

AMM - Just wondering, when you remove the morning nap for Matt, did he make a fuss? For me, when sofia wants to sleep and we try to stop her, she will throw tantrum and cry until we put her down and let her sleep. Haiz ... she also stopped sleeping thru since recovered from stomach flu last month.

Sambees,

why do you want to remove the morning nap for Sofia? (Or did I miss anything in earlier conversation? LOL) You trying to adjust her bedtime izzit?

mummies, when u toking about sleep thru, is it mean that ur bb din even cry with the eye close halfway thru of teh sleep??

owen will cry in the middle of nite with eye close n need water feed n pat to calm him back to sleep. B4 i wean him off the pacifier, he can just sleep back after i put back the pacifier into his mouth, now i no longer enjoy that.. so my owen do not consider sleep thru rite, cos i still need to wake up in the middle of nite to entertain him..

zenn, owen used to take 2 nap, 1hr in the morning &amp; 1hr afternoon, now he has change to 1 afternoon nap about 1 to 3 hr.. our BB is growing bigger n they need lesser sleep

sherl - yeah, now she naps once in the morning and afternoon then at night can sleep as late as 11pm. Want to try to let her nap once only during daytime, hopefully that will make her sleep earlier at 9+pm. Some more she wakes up very early, either at 6am or 7am latest.

sambees,
sometimes rachel oso sleep tat late. she has 3 naps a day. morning nap at 9.30am to 10.30am, afternoon nap at 2pm to 4pm.

she will sometimes sleeps ard 10pm, 10.30pm or sometimes even later 11.30pm. she oso wakes up ard 6.30am or 7am.

sometimes i feel tat kids are "hong sim"... only want to play dun want to sleep.

Icy - Ya, I also agree. The moment sofia wakes up, she will make noise to be released from the sleeping bag. Wah, once released crawl n crawl n crawl immediately. If see my FIL lagi worse, want to go for her morning walk right away!