(2007/01) Jan

Icy, don't worry, so is he, after he's warmed up. Even when he's shy and quiet, he will smile a lot. But we will be late cos my antenatal class at KKH only ends at 1pm. Prob. reach Suntec at around 1:30. Pls wait for us. Errmmm...could more mummies get their DHs to go along? Else, only Iceblue, Janey and Bb-Milk's hubbies....More hubbies around, better mah!

Sherl, gynae recommended tho' normal delivery is still possible (I've been praying for that). Let's see how the twins' positions are nearer the date. But I won't be gung-ho or stubborn one i.e. if gynae thinks C-sec is best for mother and BBs, I will do as she says. Cos' the time lapse between delivering 1 twin and the other can't be too huge.

Alethea,
Congras!!! I am so happy for u!! It's such a great feeling to know that u are having LFT!! Tat's the impossible tat i always dream of when me & DH were trying for our #1.. Hahaha..

bb_milk,
My gal also dun like fruits, except apples!! Y like tat huh?! She dun like ice-cream (those cold stuff) also but loves packet drinks! She's quite a fussy eater, same as my DH ley..

alethea hehehe.. i wont be bringing hubby along la.. he very quiet de. he is not ard i can stay longer abit. kekeke.. sherl's hubby la.. sherl's hubby very chatty too.. & helpful. bb_milk's hubby will be busy taking care of their baby boy. i m not sure if janey's hubby is joining us or not.

AletheaT,
I'm so happy for you.

I realized how much me any my hubby missed. I regretted not being able to see my bb that much during my detail scan. On my final scan I will insist on looking at the monitor and to make sure it is not the same person who did the scan for me.

This everyone get a nice picture of the baby in the film? For me I don't have a picture where it is showing the whole body. It's all different body parts. sigh.

Thanks Serrich and Arya.

For those who have yet to do their detailed scans, would suggest that your DH bring in a videocam to take down the process. Would be good cos' sometimes u really can't make head or tail what the screen is showing or what the gynae is saying. We were happy we did that.

<font color="ff6000">serrich</font>, u got my sms? if gg to increase to 15 bottles issit possible? if not will b 8 bottles

Good morning <font color="aa00aa">Mummies</font>!
so early everybody's up n so active already?!
Must be the good news brought by <font color="0000ff">Alethea</font>.

congratulations to <font color="0000ff">Alethea</font> on your LFT! I also wan....

<font color="ff6000">Bluegrapes</font>, <font color="0000ff">Alethea</font>, so happy for both of u that the detailed scan went so smoothly...thanks also to share the details here.....so touching...

AletheaT,
congrats on ur LFT. Was reading ur post and was really touched on that... it's really fun to see the scan right? Ur bbs weigh perfectly alright, though is twin leh :p Good good

Sherl,
You are asking abt the claim using FLEX account right? I oso wanted to know more, but seem like no1 know... oso never ask hubby abt it leh.

Iceblue,
you know abt the FLEX account?

BB_milk / Serrich,
I oso eat junk and rubbish most of the time. My boy likes fast food. I oways end up eating Mac or KFC!!! Very Ang mo. And I ordered Milk tea for the 1st time, I hate milk tea last time, but after tasting it once, I think the taste is ok leh..... but must be those bubble tea kind... is ok to drink right? Milk tea?

Arya/Alethea - What kind of scan did your gynae did? Actually no need to bring videocam if yours is a 3D or 4D scan. When I'd my gal in 2004, my gynae just brought in a 4D machine and she recorded the whole scan process on videotape. Can see vivid baby movements like sucking thumb. Also got printout pictures of the scan. For this pregnancy, I was told the picture will be recorded on CD-Rom so we can go back to view the entire process again. It's really pretty nice expecially when we can see the baby stretching and moving. Maybe you can check with your gynaes on this.

do u all stick to a healthy diet? I think I dun leh. i just eat what i want to eat as per normal. working outside hard to have a healthy diet leh.

zenn,
cannot change leow.. I already confirm the final no of bottles wf the seller..

Detailed scan:
U gals so lucky can get to see ur bb clearly during the detailed scan. My gynae dont provide detailed scan prob cos he is already using 3D scan. Now already 6 mths preggie yet I havent get the chance to see my bb's face during my gynae appt. She is always facing down showing me her set of beautiful spine.. How i wish she could face up for once and reveal her beautiful face to me &amp; DH..

Ashley_mom,
where did you do your detail scan? so good??? mine dun have leh. somemore mine is not those 3D kind. i was so disappointed. it just those normal ones as per wat my gynae's clinic have.

Hi <font color="ff0000">Arya</font>,
dun be angry, cool down....not good for bb...

to make u feel better, i din have the pics for the bb as well...din managed to get a 3D scan done becos bb's facing inwards....can't see his face....*sigh* n the black n white pics all show different parts of his organs which i couldn't even tell if not for the printed words....but impt thing is : the bb's fine.

Ashley_mom,
Mine was just a 2d scan. Where did u u do scan? How much did it cost? Mine was $105. I want to go there for my final scan. The detail scan was not perform by my gynae.

Aqua,
Dun worry didn;t drink alot. Only once so far... haha... juz feel like drinking after so many months

Milderina,
I did my scan at East Shore for $170. Also 2D scan only... the film I got back is a whole pc with different part of the organ. If dind;t have any label printed on it, I wouldn't know wat's that too... only the birdie pic I can see it clearly!! Hahaha..... But I did get a 3D pic of the face.... very cute.

msn_queen,

For milk tea I also count it as caffeine intake, so dun take too much. Plus I think it's quite liang also.

icy, my hubby confirm no show that day leh, he going for car forum meetup instead. Kekekekekee

haiz, think something about myojo instant mee doesn't agree with my charlene, the two times I eat all kena diarrhoea.

did anyone went shopping recently? i went John Little ytd n the nursery department only have selected items on sale. Wondered where is cheaper to get those breastpumps n steriliser.??... i saw OG got promotions too.

N any advice on whether to get manual, electronic or battery-operated pumps???
kao_confused.gif

Hui, the one I'm using is a battery cum electronic pump. You can choose to use batteries or use the adapter provided. Convenient as you can bring it out when necessary.

Arya/Milderina - My gynae does all the routine checkups for me while all scans are done by her husband who is also a gynae himself. They are in the same clinic, but different rooms of coz. 2 years back, they already had the 3D scan and I know they charge $150 for it. When they brought in the 4D machine, I was one of their 1st few patients to try the machine and at that time, they were the 2nd clinic to bring in the 4D machine to S'pore. It costs $250. Think at that time, the mommies have a choice of 3D or 4D scan. Now I'm not sure if they still do 3D scan or only 4D. It's nice to view coz the images are "live". Again, I'm not sure if they just do scans for mommies who are seeing their gynae elsewhere. But my gynae's husband who does the scan is very good and patient. He will explain everything in detail to us and take all sorts of measurements. It takes about 45min the last time I did.

Milderina,

Me not really sticking to healthy diet... a bit difficult. But importantly I try to have at least 1 glass of hilo milk, 3-4 servings of fruits/veggies, 1 serving of fish. I'm more into balanced than healthy diet.

msn_queen,
Yup yup I was the one asking about FLEX. My hubby says can use for maternity-related expenses leh, so he's trying to claim for some of my antenatal receipts. But dunnoe whether antenatal classes count as maternity-related expenses... It should, right? Yeah hor, Icy, your hubby claiming anything via FLEx?

Hui - I use the medela mini-electric pump. It's not bad but I absolutely hated the noise. Find it a tad too loud. Will always use a towel to muffle the noise. My galfriend uses the medela pump-in-style, the high-end one which is pretty silent. Apparently that's very good but so ex, about $600. Not sure about other brands.

Thank you Ashley_mom for the info. WOuld like to get contacts from you next time I am doind my detail scan again.

Does anyone know when is the next time we will do a final detail scan?

<font color="ff6000">serrich</font>, going out liao. pls sms me if u ve include mine. if not i will get from the other BP. thanks!

I think the detailed scan is only done around this time. The rest of the scans will just be the normal scans to make sure baby is growing. For my gynae, she doesn't do scan at every visit. Think after the detailed scan, there would be 1 or 2 more during the 3rd trimester towards delivery date.

<font color="aa00aa">joy's mum</font>, thanks. do u still remember how much u bought that? n where n which brand? if u know, then i dun have to run places n compare le.

<font color="ff0000">ladies</font>, those of u who r in 2nd trimester: do u walk very often? these few days i have been going places n walking alot....dunno if good or not. i used to walk very fast...now still no change...even my sis warn me...this morning dreamt that i bled n something came out....(*choi*) i felt so scared n can't sleep afterthat...

For people who are interested in getting medela pumps, I saw the medela dual electric pump on sale in a package at Metro Paragon... it's $338, with a free cooler bag. The same place is also having an offer package for Avent Isis IQ Uno electric pump, $279 with free compact bag and I think nipple cream and breast pads (a few pieces only). FYI.

hui, dun walk too fast, but you can gradually increase your walking exercises. Think a few of us mummies here have kena cramps etc. from walking too much/too fast before. In 3rd trimester me planning to climb stairs for exercise wor.

Your body will tell you if you exert over-strenuous movements wan... for me my tummy will tense up, and feel very uncomfortable, start cramping also.

Hui,
I also walk a lot, think from 2nd trimester onwards its find to walk unless u feel pain when walking. it does help in a smoother delivery too.

Sherl,

wow u power leh. i got no strength now to climb stairs manz. 1 flight of stairs can leave mi panting for the next few minutes. feel so heavy now.

Milderina,

heard that it helps in labour wor, because the movement is working on all those muscles you need. So will try to do it lor. bit by bit la.

msn queen, once in a while ok...cos I realise whenever I drink those milk tea...I will start coughing after the drink...think too liang bah.

thank you for all the info n advise,
i think ya lor, better to be safe n walk slowly....

i also heard must walk in order for a smooth delivery, that's why i walk alot nowadays.....

<font color="aa00aa">sherl</font>, how many flight of stairs u intend to walk for exercise huh?? tot of asking in case if i need to , i won't 'overwalked'....cos i live more than 20 floors....

hui/sherl,
shopping is a good form of walking exercise. hahaha..........n i never get tired from shopping. on leave tomorrow to go shopping. whoopies........

Girls, walking in 3rd trimester if your pregnancy is normal does help! I used to climb the stairs everyday when I was pregnant with my first child, it helps alot during labour.

Start with a short flight everyday. Then increase if you can. In SG, the practical way is to take the lift to a level higher than your place and start walking down first. Then subsequently, take the lift to the level lower than your place and walk up. 1 flight will do.

hui,

I also live more than 20 floors up. kekekekekeke... Planning to start off slowly, maybe increase eventually to 4,5 floors? Dunnoe whether enough or not.. if not I just climb up and down one flight of stairs until I get tired. kekekekekekekekekekke

Sherl - not sure if you should climb too many stairs. Heard from an ex-colleague that she had to climb 3 narrow flights of stairs everyday and it was the likely cause of her premature labour. I'm really not sure if there is scientific backing to this but if you do climb up stairs, don't do too much. Anyway climbing stairs are not good for the knee joints, especially now when we are having a big tummy.

Try swimming? Swimming is a very good exercise for pregnant women. Doesn't take much effort on our side and it works our muscles beautifully. Heard prenatal yoga is very good for weight control. Anyone doing that? Kept thinking of trying but very lazy after work

hee hee....think <font color="ff0000">sherl</font>, ur method abit more tedious than wat <font color="aa00aa">joy's mum</font> n <font color="0000ff">milderina</font> suggested.... now even walking up a slope makes me pant...n i like mild's idea....it's more relax n we never gets tired SHOPPING !! Whoooppie!!

sherl ur hubby not going ah??

milderina.. i saw some mummies organised V.Baby spree. heard the prices very cheap wor... my colleague showed me wat she bought.. nice leh..

i like swimming too...but too paiseh to wear swimming costumes with a big belly...especially if u r the only pregnant mum there....but read that between 11am-2pm good temperature to go swimming...is it?

Read Mrs Wong mentioned abt swimming n yoga lessons many days back.... anyone joined those classes she said? perhaps can share...

ashley_mom/hui,

No la, me say say only, prob won't do as much exercise, kekekeekeke. Maybe just everyday take lift up to 1 floor below mine and walk up, like what Joy's Mum suggested. kekekekekeke

But hui, even when shopping must remember to rest hor. I will overwalk when shopping also, esp when shopping for bb stuff.

icy, yeah, dun think he can make it this time round. He'll just drop me off lo. What's V-baby?