(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

Qianhui,
Dun worry lar..maybe your BB still want to play around a while more in your tummy...prehaps by next week, he will guai guai turn around and engage liao..try to talk more to him!

MBB,

Cos her reason is why should I keep the gal in the house while it's a festive season in JB, cos church got activities.... anyway, I've got to tell hb this that she's only to bring her out for once this sat n not on christmas or other time, cannot make it a habit... told hb this morning I don't like the idea of her bringing any of my gals out, then his face black black.... I told him bcos she dunno how to be qian xu... only know how to care of herself n not others.... u know, those rich women kind of thinking.... "I've got money, y u bother" kind...

Strawberry,
Welcome to the thread...

Choo,
There is a christmas fair at The Concourse mall..if it is not out of the way, u may like to drop by to take a look..i saw a few vendors selling those small xmas tree..my col just bought one to place in office..

Vanessa,
yeah it's difficult coz it's hb sister but she is bad company for your princess. so really must control.
it's normal lah. hb sure very sensitive when we complain abt their family member.

juz have to from time to time, bring it up lor.

hi strawberry
i was hospitalised during my 30wk & i was given a jab 2 stablised my bb & ve 2 take hormones pills 2 stop contraction but my gynae never mentioned anythg abt ve 2 c sect. he is very positive abt natural delivery.....& i m going 4 natural birth.....i thk u better check wif ur gynae.....dun worrie 2 much ok

chang
i told dr ong abt my backache before...he said use ko yok...then i told him ko yok dun work liao!...he just laughed at me and say can put more! =P I never ask him abt stretchmark cos this kinda things vary from person to person mah. I oso never ask him stomach big or small cos oso vary from person to person...only if he's the one who comment on it first, then i will ask. =P

actually quite funny lor, cos when he asked me how are you and i said "ok, nothing much" he gave me a surprised look...like how can be nothing...then i said ko yok worked for a few days then dun work liao, still pain, and that i have reflux and throw up at nite. =P

dr ong quite cute la...he is very practical type... and also caring

hi MBB

it happened to my frenz b4. She got bleeds n was given the same medicine & later her gynae still make her goes thru induce, epidural and den emergency c-section.. dunno if it's individual. i think my gynae juz dun wan2 scare me.

Thanks Chang

yah lor, my gynae oso very +ve abt natural delivery. I oso wan natural dely. How i wish my frenz didnt tell me tat... anyw u r right. i wl check wif my gynae nxt wk & share wat he says. many thankss...

Vanessa,
i like chicken skin too.. wah.. esp when eating hainanese chicken rice.. the rice muz go with the chicken skin.. super fragrant.. hahaha.. :p i rather eat other things if i can't eat chicken rice with skin.. hahaha.. :p

strawberry,
welcome!!

bobianah,
i haven't try the pig knuckle yet leh.. muz ask hubby to bring me there liao.. hmm.. n still hav westlake restaurant to visit.. hahaha... :p

Qianhui,
wah.. u already hav contigency plan liao.. not bad leh.. when i give birth, i can oso ask my hubby to sms ur hubby n u can help me to announce.. hahaha..

vanessa,
i'm still here. :p haven't popped. was out the whole day, so still catching up on the posts.

i asked my gynae if bb is engaged. she said engagement can only be felt, cannot be scanned leh. she told me that the pains i'm feeling when i turn at nite just means bb starting to move down. bb needs to move down even more, n i will feel it cos it will be difficult to get out of bed.

qianhui,
my gynae told me to start massaging my breast to get colostrum leh. she said i should be getting a few drops every day liao. hv to buy medela's purelan cream n massage the breast, then squeeze the nipples for colostrum.

karin,
so sorry to hear abt ur last child. think it's best to get ur gynae's advice.

Finally free to login but action is over liao....

Just browse through the posting and u ladies are discussing abt xmas liao. Think hor my xmas and wedding annvi will be spent at home. Will get hubby bring me out for a breather otherwise sure kana PND....Hoping that BB come out ard 27/11 so can have xmas celebration and BB full mth at the same time

Strawberry,
Welcome onboard

welcome strawberry!

chang,
ur diet is super healthy, so ur bb is super healthy too. dun worry too much ok.
n to add to the list of what to avoid during breastfeeding, doris fok told me that jamu drinks will make some pple's milk supply dry up, so if unsure n hving difficulty with breastfeeding, best to avoid jamu drinks.

u r good, already recee the schools liao. haha. :p guess it's part of ur work to know more abt schools.

kimi,
hope u get well soon. vit c helps with flu, n it helps with bb absorbing iron too, so that's a gd alternative to medication. but if this develops into an infection (sore throat, sinus etc), do get some antibiotics. dun be like me, reject medication then the illness went from bad to worse n drag for a month. in the end, lost all appetite, lost 1.5kg n my bb's growth suffered. everything dropped by at least 10 percentiles. very heartbreaking.

qianhui, shihui,
"exercising" supposed to help. some of the nov mums also commented that their gynaes told them to exercise to bring abt dilation n make labour easier. :p oh yah, i told my gynae yesterday that i do not wish to see any medical students observing me giving birth. heh heh.

Strawberry

i had contractions at week 27 and was put on drip. also took 2 injections thereafter take ventolin till week 34. currently me now at week 35 approaching 36. my gynae also never mention have to c sect. he told me to stop taking at week 34 cos if baby wants to come out now, then let her come out....

och,
hmmm... u mean there's possibilty tt there may be medical students observing if we dun state any perference?? or did prof mary rauff asked if u allow students to observe?

oO..many postings loo~ everytime i read until my eyes go round n round...really very good exercise for my eyes..heheehe...^^

strawberry,
welcome ~

karin,
really feel sorry to hear abt ur loss. tink if u hv further doubts abt ur gynae's consultation hor, u may try to consult another gynae's opinion? my sis had a preterm bb..my nephew was born when she was in her 7th mth pregnancy n she nid to hv some injection to quicken the growth of my nephew's lungs. so far, my nephew is growing strong n he is 3 yrs old now. tink the only side effect for my nephew being borned early was dat he got lazy eyes n dat was being kinda adjusted tis yr when he underwent the eye operation in KK. i tink hor, u dun worry too much. if ur gynae is trustworthy, tink u shall trust him else seek for 2nd opinion. somehow hor, i feel dat u shd be doing fine this round..jia you~ ^^

shihui,
yah, a colleague of mine had a few students observing his wife's labour. think it's quite a common thing in govt hospitals?! his wife was a private patient too. so to be safe, i thot i should inform prof rauff of my preference first. :p

och,
aiyo.. i can't imagine a private affair to turn into a classroom leh.. :p tt day PIL hint hint tt they want to be at hospital waiting when i deliver i already dun like.. can't imagine if i hav a group of students crowding there n taking notes while i push push push.. :p

hai~ talking abt this hor, i start to feel stressed liao.. tt day MIL was trying to arrange for a day to gather for grandma-in-law's bdae dinner.. it's either this sat or 23rd Dec.. den she worried tt 23rd Dec i may give birth.. so i told her not to bother abt me since i won't noe when bb when come.. den hubby told me tt his parents won't be in the mood to eat if i in labour mah.. aiyo.. i was like speechless.. so anxious for wat.. :p even if i really labour on tt day, they can't do anything oso... can still eat den aft tt can visit me if they want.. n i think i will prefer to hav some private moments with hubby n baby.. n some time to rest b4 seeing anyone lor... hai~~~~ can't imagine how involved they will be in my life aft bb's here... worried they will come visit me everyday.. how to relax n rest...

shihui,
oO...dun stress. tink just leave it to lao tian ye ba~ tik it's normal dat they feel worry n no mood to eat if u pop dat day but honestly loo, there's nothing they can do loo~ dun be distracted by them, relax relax...cheer up~ u will hv ur private moments with ur hb n ur bb de. ^^

Hi Och and Shihui,
My cousin delivered in April this year at NUH under Dr Mary Rauff too. She was observed by 2 students. She said she was upset at first, but when things started getting exciting, she forgot about their presence. After that, the students visited her in the ward. My cousin being a lecturer herself, she was quite funny... started asking them whether they learnt anything during the birth.

doremi,
ya lor.. can't blame them for being anxious.. :p anyway, hubby told me tt during confinement, it's okie for me not to entertain guest (including parents) when they visit.. most impt is got enough rest...
juz hope tt they dun rest at my place while i resting in my room... :p hope will auto go home when i go rest... heee~ :p think i very bad.. heeee~ :p

sylk,
wah.. ur cousin oso being observed.. seems like student observation is very frequent in NUH.. isit bcoz it's next to NUS? :p in the end, how the students reply ur cousin? :p hope they learnt something..
aiyo.. but it will be pretty awkward if the students are male leh.. hopefully they hav the courtesy to ask if i mind being watched by a guy during labour anot.. they r looking a somewhere which i myself never hav a clear look b4 leh.. :p

Sylk and Shihui,

I think very common leh.. When I went for my normal doc visits, already got like 3-4 times kanna examined by students too... Male some more...

Then they will try to examine the tummy lor, they will go thru the process like measuring the tummy and try to figure out where is the head or back type...

Doremi and Shihui,
Hb and I were discussing the reverse tactic - act very busy and obliged to keep our parents entertained - then maybe they will feel paiseh and decide to go home and let us rest properly... heehee.

Shihui,
These are medical students, should be alright lah. Of coz they have to tell my cousin it was a beneficial experience and thank her for it lor.

Hi Shihui,
dun do any mopping of floor or toilet now. ask yr hubby to help out with the hsehold cos it will be very tiring for u. my hubby do all the hsework now and sometimes cooking too. I only clear the clothes from the bamboo and fold the clothes only.

do take care and rest a lot cos at this stage, we all will be very tired. bb will be growing very fast in our tummy during these few wks.

yeah, heard most of my 'aunties' col told me that having bb boy will tend to deliver before due date. but on the other hand, there is some exceptional case. like my hubby's friend, her second bb boy already overdue liao but still too refuse to be out. so she is being induced then.

heard fr ppls that that by induce, it will be more painful than natural contractions as the contraction will tend to speed up causing more contractions.

sylk,
heee~ gd idea.. use reverse tactic.. den they can't blame u in future for not "entertaining" them when they visit.. hehehee... muz entertain them, but at the same time show tired look.. hahaha.. let them feel tt if they dun leave, i can't rest.. :p

haha.. even if they learnt nothing n hav already observed a dozen of woman screaming during labour, they still need to repeat the same beneficial experience tok to every woman they saw.. heee~ :p

Qianhui,
wah.. seems like really very common for observation leh... hmmmm... think i muz really let my gynae noe tt i prefer not to hav medical students during labour.. :p

Hi OSG,
for me, during my first check-up, i did sign a lot of form - one of them is breastfeeding form. the lady at the counter asked me if I intend to bf, I told them yes and the form is given to me to sign loh. on the delivery date, the personal file will be sent to delivery wards/suite for access mah so nurse and whoever attend to u will be updated too.

acc to my hubby's friend, he told him that TMC will provide a lot of soup for mummy to drink.

as for the procedures for the donation of cord blood, one need to call up the hotline and the staff in charge will go over to the respective hospital and do the paperwork.

Hi Vanessa Lu,
oic. hmm, heard that even induction does not mean cervix will dilate fast. got 1 mummy who is at nov thread is in labour for 17hrs, tough, she is in induced but cervix only dilated 2-3cm after several hrs and in the end, she needed to go for c section as water bag burst and time is limited for natural delivery.

yup, I have told my mum abt this bf issue, she has the traditonal thinking that bb won't have enough bf milk supply and shd top up with formula. I hope she won't interfer and stress me during my bf.also told her even feed the bb with colic water also need to feed with spoon.

I will try very hard for the latch on etc cos bf really benefits both bb and mummy. yup, maybe she does not know how to latch on correctly.

thks for the inform sharing. hopefully, everything went smooth and fast. my col told me my tummy is getting lower and lower liao (even hubby dun see the difference). is yr tummy like that? today, I have experienced twice that tummy is very hard.it shd be what called BH contractions. after a while, the plain pain fade.

Good morning Ladies,

Wow, just 1 nite missing and there's so many posting liao....like doremi said, see untill yen hua hua.....

Today dunno y I'm very tired leh, last nite I slept well and thru but dunno y I'm still tired. Mayb my immune system is low, cos I actually can feel cold in the morning where for the past few days I was like so shiok...... mayb I got no mood to work liao, hence so tired lor...bluez....

afcai,

U r rite abt induction.... For my no.1, I went thru induction and in false labour for also abt 17 hrs but the cervix still did not dilated enough. That was like after insertion of 2 pills. 3rd pill was insert and went thru another almost 12 hrs of labour, that's y I took epidural during the last insertion upon confirming that my cervix will dilate and delivery successfully and I did without going thru c-section.

Glad that u find the bfing info useful

Btw, in case u missed out, QSG had already given birth, guess today she should have discharge and going home with bb.

hihi!! Gd morning!!
mid week liao... 2 more days to weekend..
but sian.. hubby going overseas again.. fr sat till next fri.. hai~~ den yesterday a "long time no contact" pri sch fren suddenly contacted me n invited me to her wedding dinner this sun.. hmmm.. abit last min hor.. heee~ :p dunnoe how to reject her.. so no choice go lor.. :p guess i'm there to help make the table full.. now wondering how big my angbao shd be.. haha... :p

afcai,
i feel weird not helping hubby when he do housework leh.. all along working as a team.. suddenly he work alone.. worried too siong for him.. :p mopping floor is still okie for me lah.. treat it as exercise lor..

i heard tt for induction, the contraction start off strong.. unlike natural.. natural labour contraction start mild n increases in intensity throughout labour... tt's y most pple can't tahan induction pain.. coz like bad contraction pain fr starting all the way... :p

afcai,
as for bf issues, i oso hope tt my parents n in laws won't meddle too much.. :p quite certain tt my parents n MIL will let me do wat i want.. :p but abit worried abt naggy FIL.. :p he sure nag nag nag non stop if he feels tt bb hungry.. hai~~ hopefully MIL will "control" him abit.. else i sure can't tahan.. :p

Shihui,

agreed with Qianhui, just tell her u r pregnant and heavily pregnant, not convenient to go for such occasion lor.... mayb ur classmate dunno u r pregnant?

Ur FIL can be an obstacle to ur BF, so u may wish to think how to handle him as well as equipped urself with all the knowledge so that u can keep him quiet....

Qianhui,
me blur blur lor.. agree without thinking.. den realised tt i'm the one "filling the table" fren.. sian..
if my brain turned fast enough (already not fast pre-preg, now worse :p), would hav told her tt i already planned something on tt night.. :p now agree liao.. die die hav to go lor.. at most i halfway leave lor.. :p but will make sure i eat all the gd stuffs first.. muz make my angbao worth.. hehehe.. :p

Vanessa,
she noes.. n she told me she want to touch my tummy...
hate pple touching my tummy.. :p

hubby oso scolded me stupid for accepting the invitation.. n insisted tt i take taxi to n fro.. she's holding her dinner at fortcanning... wondering how to find cab home.. :p now hubby really getting worried.. he dun want me to roll down the stairs.. hahaha.. :p

Vanessa,
regarding bf hor, i oso worried he's going to be a big obstacle.. hai~~ it's quite difficult to talk logic with him one.. i think i can onli tell MIL the benefits n let MIL handle him.. heee~ :p

luckily, all along, in laws family know tt they can't win me in situations where "biology" is involved coz i'm the most "informed" in various biological stuffs among them.. so they usually believe wat i said.. hahaha.. :p so at least easier to convince them lor....

Shihui,
Then u tell her lor, touch already get pregnant very fast one..... mayb next day pregnant liao, then no time to enjoy couplehood...hee~

Vanessa,
tt's precisely y she wanted to touch me.. :p she said she wanted 4 kids... :p tt means she needs to start project B almost immediately aft wedding... :p

Shihui,
*faint*..... tell her u giving birth soon, cannot go lor...hahaha... hb won't allow unless she use her bride's car to come n fetch u.....
joking only lah.... haha.... tell her hb bu fang xin lor...

goodmorning!

shihui,
next time u go marche, remember to try the pork knuckle.
aiyo, how come u so fast promise your fren u'll go wedding...so last min invite, somemore long time no contact type..i will say i oso bz and turn it down... like vanessa suggest, u can say that u asked ur hb and ur hb say no lor, cos bb almost due. =P

Vanessa, bobianah,
will i be very bad if i reject her aft promising her tt i can go? feels bad leh..

bobianah,
hubby promised to bring me to marche aft he's back fr his overseas trip..
yum yum..

shihui
good! hope u enjoy the pork knuckle!
MBB likes it too.

erm...i won't really feel bad to reject if that happens to me cos an invitation so last min oso not very sincere leh, plus u haven't contact person long time liao. U can say after telling ur hb, he say no u cannot go lor. =P usually i will decline invitations from ppl i hv not heard from for like 5-10yrs... cos i dun want to sit in a table of ppl i dunno... =P

Shihui,

Not sure abt u lah, for me, even though I promise liao hor, last min I don't feel like going I will still reject with hb bu fang xin lor after discussing. Cos at this period, we r all very heavy n tired to attend to this kind of function especially if the table u r sharing are not those u r not familiar with.

morning all~
today back to work..so far, like so good..not much things left on my desk leh..hehehe...5 5 eat abit snake 1st..hahaha...

shihui,
oO..i tik hor, u better dun attend ur fren's wedding lah cos the location very hard to find taxi. somemore hor, u are there to fill table. if she really treat u as fren, she will understand de. now hor, though our due date seem to be 1mth more hor,who noes we might pop early de. i feel dat even though u accept her invitation leow hor, u can tell her frankly dat u are not going cos ur present condition is not suitable loo~ then perhaps u try to meet up wif her for a tea or lunch session after ur delivery loo. i feel dat true frens will understand one loo n u are speaking the truth mah...erm..i tink u better stay home unless she is ur very very best fren dat u really think dat her wedding cannot be missed...:p

Vanessa,
hmmmm.. i will see how lah.. heee~ :p anyway, she got another pri sch fren there.. so hope not tt bad lah.. heee~ :p juz asked hubby.. he dun want to be the bad guy for me to use as excuse.. win liao lor.. :p he juz ask me to downsize the angbao since she's not sincere one.. hahaha.. :p

shihui,
chey...i think even if u used ur hb as excuse hor, ur hb olso won't noe if u dun tell him..:p oops..i teach pple to be "noti girl"..hehehe...somehow hor, i feel dat the location is not suitable for u to attend unless got pple to send u home. dun feel bad loo cos hor, one pple missing in a table does not cost much lah. for most, u ask ur the other pri sch fren to help u pass the ang bao to her loo~ fortcanning hill leh, not somewhere dat transport is easily accessible. i tink u shd skip loo~ :p

Shihui,
anyway can just give an excuse of not feeling well that day and don't go. I also hate it when "friends" last min SMS me to attend their dinner. If they ask for reason later on I always say that day my son was sick etc.. hehe
Have a wedding dinner to attend next mth but HB conviently turn down coz he say dunno when will deliver and very soon liao..so cannot confirm that we will go. The most is KIV one seat for him