(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

2day home alone whole day cos hub working : ( end up watch vcd half a day, do abit hse work.. then take out the manual pump to play, try learning to dismentle and assembly the pump. Hand itchy, try pumping on both the breast. end up the some whitish discharge come out from both breast.. guess shld b colostrum. now i experience BH at few time intervals.. hope i did not accidentally stimulate contraction.. sigh..

hallo, hallo,
very rainy today, good for sleeping. :p

yesterday night was very eventful. i finally packed the hospital bag. some things not inside yet, e.g. the marriage cert n the camera. after packing, i went to take a shower n saw my nipples covered in a whitish layer. does anybody know if that's colostrum?

the next event came at 1+am, i felt something coming out below while i was trying to fall asleep, so i scrambled to the bathroom n saw some dark brown stains. not a big patch. it just looks like ending of menses. at first i thot it was the piles, but when i checked, nope, not the piles. i woke hubby up n called the labour ward to check if this is the show. midwife/nurse said most likely it is, but she wants my gynae to confirm. told me to be prepared for labour liao n to be very vigilant abt whether bb is moving well. my scheduled appt with gynae is on mon am, so i'm waiting impatiently for the appt. hope labour doesn't start b4 then.

i still dunno my bb's size, so dun really know what to expect!? easy to deliver or not?! did a swap on my last gynae visit, but i got a call on thurs saying the swap is contaminated, need to redo on the next appt, so i also dunno if i hv infection. will bb be infected if there's infection along the birth canal har? n hor, so many things not done! bb bedsheets n towels not dried bcos of the rain. bb bag still missing some items n the maid still doesn't know how to prepare chicken essense, mee sua n longan tea. this morning, hubby rushed out to buy a mattress for my mum to sleep in during confinement, we still dun hv a bed for her yet, but i think the mattress is more impt. can sleep on mattress without bed, but cannot sleep on bed without mattress right?

after speaking to the labour ward, i almost wanted to cry. everything was so unexpected. i just turned 37th wks at midnight leh! can it really be so zhun?! it's like stretchmarks, those appeared on the very day i went into 3rd trimester. hubby kept hugging me n telling me it's ok. bb also started wiggling n burping, like she is trying to tell me she's ok too n we r in this together. so sweet. i hugged my tummy until i fell asleep.

now cannot wait for monday to visit gynae. want a confirmation of whether it was really a show. i hope i'm not too dilated yet, will prefer bb to stay in me until 38th wk if possible. :p

afcai,
haha.. ya lor.. having a boy n gal will be ideal situation..
having boy will give birth earlier ah?? i got two frens giving birth to boy.. 1 is slightly early... the other is overdue n needed induction leh.. :p

Serene,
wah.. better dun try pumping now leh... later stimulate contraction how?

QSG,
wah.. ur bb quite big leh.. now already 3.18kg... gynae predicted mine will be 3.1kg onli at birth leh.. :p

seems like u may be one of the first to pop among us... so excited!! muz start getting ready leh..
btw, u going thru epidural c-sec or GA? will ur hubby be with u in the theatre to give support?

starluster,
u bb naughty naughty ah.. played too much.. :p maybe soon will turn down lor...
aiyo.. lost 1.8kg in 2 wks.. gynae got comment anything? how abt bb, got grow in the two weeks? if bb growing well, den still okie lah..
i oso drooling over the ice cream leh... but too lazy to go there purposely for ice cream.. :p most likely going there on wkdays aft work.. can eat dinner n ice cream.... heeee~

och,
wah... really very eventful leh... take care ah.. bb is so cute... wiggling n burping to tell mommy tt she's fine.. heee~

this morning i got a scare too.. saw brownish stain on my panty.. den when i wipe, saw more brownish discharge... smelled it n it smells like iron... was quite worried.. put on pad n monitor... now one whole day liao.. i got a verrrrrrry faint brown colouring on the pad... hopefully nothing serious.. today is my official 34 wks onli... think i skip my raspberry leaf tea today better... :p oh ya.. i experienced bad backache for the whole day yesterday... juz now experience abit of abdominal pain oso.. wondering if it's some contraction going on.. aiyo... better go pack bag oso.... :p

shihui,
i think ur symptoms r the same as mine leh. i also had backache, so spent the whole day sleeping. the labour ward nurse told me backache is often misinterpreted as not impt, but can be a sign of contractions.

hi ladies.. i nearly need to go for csection today after my gynae tell me my blood result is not good yday... i have more white blood cells and this indicate some bateria infection... she's afraid my bb will catch the infection so she wants me to take out bb soon...
i still 36 weeks so i told her could we wait till 37weeks so she insist i go for ctg today to monitor bb heartbeat... lucky bb heartbeat was fine...
but latest next week i be going either induce or csection... getting v sad coz i always wanna go thru natural...not sure i can or not...will see gynae next tues and hear her advice...

och,
oh dear.. den i better monitor closely.. i still mop floor washed toilet this afternoon... :p luckily bb still happily wiggling inside.. muz tell bb to stay in mommy longer... :p

me dun dare tell my parents yet.. afraid later they worry n it's false alarm.. :p

berry,
luckily ur bb passed the CTG..
u take care leh..

dun be sad lah.. watever we do, most impt is bb n mommy healthy..

Wow, u ladies really had a eventful day....

Och,
Seems to me urs is a show and sign of early labour leh, if I don't remember wrongly, ur EDD is 4th Dec and now it's 11th Nov, ok lah, only abt 3 weeks earlier.... if u really going to pop soon hor, I think u had put Qianhui and others on red alert liao.... U take care and let us know of any result from ur gynae :p

Shihui,
Wow, urs is abit early leh.... at 33 wks only... better rest well and let bb stay inside longer... last time I very gan cheong, once I got show I call my gynae and she asked me to admit liao, but that time I'm already due and going to overdue if I don't admit lor... For ur case, think u better give ice cream a miss b4 u pop, else later too cooling n trigger contraction then siao liao....

Haiyo, getting more n more excited....Nov thread mummies haven't finish popping and I think our side is popping one by one slowly....

QSG,
What time will be ur gynae appt? Mine is tentatively schedule at 11.30am. Hope this time round we can manage to meet up at the clinic.
Let me know, k?

Me very boring leh.... my hb brought my no.1 to a wedding dinner and my no.2 slept liao.... now got nothing to do, so sian.....

Shihui & Och, 2 of you seem to have the mucous plug dislodged already, better monitor closely for the intervals of the contractions. If your backache is consistent for more than 1 or 2 days then it may be contractions. I also worry if bb will kwai kwai stay till the scheduled csec date if not all plans will go haywire.

Serene, will quickly wash bb clothes and do the packing within next 2-3 days as next week is 37 weeks bb dunno wanna wait till the week after or not. Btw, dun practice using the breast pump now as i have heard cases when bb actually came out earlier due to the stimulation caused by the breast pump. Maybe you wait till 37 weeks then practice
by then bb full term liao.

shihui, i chose to stay awake during the csec prefer to know what is going on and be able to see bb asap, hubby will be sitting beside me to give me support and distract me during the 1 hour. Can tell from the ultrasound that bb looks chubby. Gynae said dun worry so much if bb is big since my is csec, bigger easier to carry.

Qianhui, pls help me update when you are free,thanks.

Berry, shihui is right, most important is both bb and mummy is safe and sound, the method of birth is secondary. Sometimes things just don't happen according to the way we wanted to.

Vanessa, think we may bump into each other next sat, mine is at 11.45am
Btw, TMC doesn't provide the longan red date tea right, so what do you drink during the 2-3 days hospital stay? If we intend to breastfeed, do we need to inform anyone and at what point should we inform?

QSG,

I can't remember if they provide the tea or not leh, machiam don't have, but they provide milo
anyway, they will give plain water for medication if there's a need. ya hor, I really can't remember what I drank leh. :p

Think if we intend to do TBF, we got to tell the nurse when we make admission, so that they won't give any bottle to the bb, think if I don't remember wrongly, after birth they will ask again, anyway, just keep telling them lor, so that they will remember

Great, it's ur final visit and we finally can meet.... hopefully this time round I won't be early and missed each other again

Vanessa, QSG,
now i'm getting worried.. was thinking tt maybe mine not serious one since it stopped liao... guess i better closely monitor myself.. :p i dun want bb to come out so early too.. if tml still lidat, i better call delivery ward n see wat they can do for me liao.. they muz hav something to stop me fr having premature delivery bah.. :p aiyo.. hubby going to finland next wkend for course somemore... muz at least "dong" until hubby back.. :p

MBB,
So long as BB is growing well who cares what the gyane say abt our weight since we gg to graduate soon

Starluster,
If u worry BB is on the smaller size maybe u shld start hunting for durain. It help to increase BB weight

Serene,
Too bore until play with pump ah??? Better dont otherwise induce contraction

QSG,
Since u gg for c-section BB weight doesnt matter. More important is healthy can liao

och,
Yr day is really eventfully n scary at the same time.......Do monitor and keep us updated.....So excitied for you.....Maybe u r the 1st to graduate

Shihui,
U better be guai guai and dont do so much household chores liao...Close 1 eye and let yr hubby do it, otherwise kana pre-term BB worst right.

Vanessa,
Too relax at home also boring hor....That what happen while i was on MC.....Rest until dont noe wat to do. Cannot imagine how to spent the time during confinement....

Doremi, Connie,
Today BF class very interesting and lively hor....At least now we know more abt the difficulties so hopeful we know what to do when the time come

Vanessa,
shd i still drink raspberry leaf tea? me now dun dare to drink leh.. afraid tt it may trigger contraction too..
guess hav to miss the ice cream for the time being.. :p

Shihui,

Just keep clear from it first lor and monitor ur situation, I guess u better start the tea only after 35 weeks....

Jackie,

tell u hor, during ur confinement, most likely u will either be sleeping (due to lack of sleep at nite especially bf) or u will be staring at ur bb wondering when he will wake up for feed

shihui,
aiyo, don't do anymore housework. get ur hubby to help. i heard that for some pple, squatting will dilate the cervix faster.

quick, quick, pack the hospital bag. u r at 34 wks, so it's not too early to pack hospital bag. i just put my marriage cert inside. :p have not filled in the baby bonus forms yet, will get hubby to do that in hospital, so he won't be bored.

u hv the labour ward number? can call them if u continue to show or if u experience discomfort. i told my mum. she started laughing.

hubby took me out to paktor today. he says this might be the last weekend when we hv quality time together. but i cannot walk v. well anymore. get breathless very easily n i think bb is engaged for several days, so cannot close my legs without her complaining. looks so ugly when i am sitting outside.

berry,
glad to hear the ctg is fine. let us know how ur gynae visit goes. dun worry too much abt method of birth. if u really want to experience natural birth, think induction is very much the same as natural bah, all they do is to insert a pill in to dilate cervix, everything else proceeds as normal.

vanessa, qsg,
thanks. will let all of u know what the gynae says. my edd is 2nd dec, so i just started 37 wks at midnight. backache went away after i slept so much in the afternoon, but i had my first full tummy bh after dinner. so looking forward to gynae visit on monday. hubby took leave to visit gynae with me on monday. think he's even more gan cheong than me. he dumped the hospital bag into the car early this morning. haha.

serene,
don't play with a breast pump! according to the mayo clinic guide, in the month b4 edd, it's not advisable to stimulate the nipple, cos the stimulation will trick the brain into thinking there's a bb suckling, n the confused brain sends hormones to tell the uterus to contract. this is one of those old wives tales that actually has scientific backing.

I can only update the list when I got my laptop in office.. So need to wait til monday ok?

Och,

Wau.. U like really quite fast..
I dunno why, I dun really have much BH or contractions like that leh..

The only thing I have is BB hiccups and he moving inside, a bit painful at times though.. when he change position and poke certain part of my inside. Never give mummy face type.

And I dun even have any feeling like I'm going to give birth like that yet..

And yesterday, doc tell me that BB is NOT engaged yet either..

And no show, nothing..

Now I worry bout BB getting too big.. coz that time when BB is only 30+wk, already 1800.. a little big as compared to some..

I hope BB come out on 18th or slightly later... wk 38 by then..

Also, I think my body is a bit slow type..

Now only then my nipple turned darker when most of you said yours turned darker some times back.

Now that I'm 37 wks, while I'm patiently counting down to my EDD, 3 wks... I simply can't imagine myself giving birth.. And still no feeling on that yet.. Aiyo.. And also hard to believe that one month later, I'll have new addition to my life..

Then today, hubby asked again if I don't want to use the epi.. I told him I afraid of complications..

But hor, I also dunno leh.. how ah.. also still dunno can cope or not. And also scared BB too big..

Read bout you all saying bout the Nov mum giving birth to a 3.8kg BB... wau lau..

Qianhui,

hahaha, these few days I'm also talking to my hb abt epidural, i told him I'm very scare and excited as well.... scare I cannot tahan the pain, n excited, cos I'm going to slim down again and start my breastfeeding career....

Vanessa,

Hee hee.. ya lor.. Coz this time u 1st time not going to use epi hor.. the feeling will be like going thru labour as 1st time mum like that..

Scary..

Haiyo, tell u hor, til now, I still dun really know how contractions feels like. So scared that when I'm in labour, I still dismiss it as BB pushing my tummy only..

Then I also scared sicali I cannot tahan the labour pain, then fainted, dunno how to push, then end up in CS... think I'll wake up and faint again..

Qianhui,
Ya lor, that's y I'm as excited as u n other mummies here...

actually contraction is just like menstruation pain lor, or perhaps like want to poo poo but nothing comes out lor.... don't worry, there will be other signs to tell u when u r in labour...

When times come, I'm sure and guarantee u that u will know it, cos not to scare u, the contraction is really pain and will really sweat out kind

Vanessa,
okie.. think i better stop the raspberry n continue aft 35 wks.. :p

och,
will start packing my bag tml morning.. :p ahh... muz find checklist liao.. :p oh.. i still haven't do 2nd round washing for bb's clothes... got to do tml liao.. :p

Qianhui, Vanessa,
i'm getting more n more practical now.. last time, strictly no epidural.. now, depends on situation.. see how i can tahan early labour contraction pain first... if onli 1-2cm dilation n i already pain like want to die liao, i think i will go for epidural.. else okie okie lidat, den i dun take epidural lor... see how lah...

Vanessa,

Hee hee.. hope I can know when it comes..
Think I'm very blur and stupid at times wan.. hai..

It's already 11th - 12t Nov..
If dunno heng or suaw.. think based on 3 or 3+ wks earlier, some of our Dec mtb might even give birth liao like some of those in Nov thread..

Rite now, I also dunno if it's BB moving or contractions..

talking abt contraction, I just felt a very bad one.... hopefully it's not time yet.... I'm only 36 weeks.... but bb's movement seems lesser today and not sure if got 10 movement or not... scare man!! hb not around leh....

Shihui,

I also haven finsh packing my bag yet, the only things in are the pads, 3 nursing bras, 1 receiving blanket.. nothing else..

My own checkout clothings and BB's items also not in yet..

Qianhui,

I've already packed liao, except for pants, cos I still need them as n when, but instructed hb, if emergency admit huh, then he knows which pants to bring for me liao...

Qianhui,
at least u hav something in there liao.. i nothing at all!! :p dun even hav nursing bra... think shd go n buy some nursing bra liao.. else later during confinement, hubby need to go bra shopping on my behalf.... hahahahahaha.. :p

my receiving blankets not here yet.. sian.. the shipment delayed... think need to wait a few more wks.. bb better later den pop out if he wants to hav nice nice receiving blanket.. haha.. :p

Vanessa,

What is the 10 movement thing for?

Til now, though I got the paper and supposed to count, I never count it properly..
Forgetful...
Plus, it's supposed to be 10 (sets) of movements..

eg: if BB continue moving for 5 mins but within that 5 mins already got 10++ movement, only counted as 1 (set of) movement leh..

But hor I still dunno if, BB move once, then move another one 10 mins later, counted as 1 or 2..
Then what bout 15, 30 mins?

Anyway, can cheat one also.. just drink something cold or hot, then BB will also move wan lah..

Qianhui,
haha.. ur bb cute leh.. drink something hot/cold will move one..
mine quite lazy... move onli when hungry or when my bladder is full.. :p

den juz now, my finger itchy.. played erhu for 1hr with hubby.. :p den hor, bb kick kick to complain liao.. :p think too noisy... haha.. :p

Qianhui,

haha, u got a tough qn for me liao.... I also dunno leh.... I always agar agar, as long as the whole day bb got movement once in a while, I treat it as got 10 movement liao, cos thru out the day move sure got 10 movement mah, exactly how to count I also dunno :p

Shihui,

I bought 2 cheap cheap nursing bra from Seiyu, impression i think.. but hor, dun look nice like that.. 'lao(4) lao(3)' wan.. yuks..

Then, I bought one from the MomsinMind site..
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/dropcupbras.html
The MIM.202 seamless one.. Though no wire, but at least nicer coz lightly padded, shape nicer..

But hor, seems like the Seiyu Impression size is bigger, I got 34B for all the bras, but the MIM one machiam slightly tighter than the Impression.

qianhui,
i want my bb to come out after edd one. dunno why she is speeding things up so fast. pple tell me countdowns work, so i started my countdown for her 1 week ago. every day, i told her x days left, but it seems like there's no effect leh.
hubby told me it's bcos i din teach her numbers earlier, so i shouldn't expect her to understand how many days she has left.

my bb's movements used to be really vigourous n occasionally painful. but from wed nite, i noticed that if i dun support my tummy when i'm turning in bed, i hv these pains in the centre of my pelvis n my bb starts to fidget. if i support the bb while turning n avoid squeezing my bum, i can lessen the pain. that was when i suspected i might be engaged liao. never had these discomforts b4, but i think i should wait for gynae to confirm.

when the full tummy bh n contractions start, u cannot miss it. i used to think maybe i'm just very slow n insensitive, but after i drank 1 coconut n bh started, i knew it was bh. it is unlike anything else the bb creates. :p

n hor, think 3.8kg is fr oct mtb. many nov mtb hv big bb. 3.8kg is only the 2nd largest. largest is 4.2kg.

Talking abt nursing bra, I also need to add on a few pcs, cos the current one lao lao liao and old liao, time to change new pattern...hahaha...

haha, seems like today got a few of us quite active at nite hor.. all not resting yet...hahaha.... well at least someone to keep me company

och,
excited for u leh....

Shihui,

Ya lor, in the midnight, when I drink something, BB will move also, esp when the food/drink is of diff temperature as my body.

That's why sometimes I cheat lah, if I want to know whether BB is ok inside, I'll drink cold drink lor..

Vanessa,

Ya lor, I dunno how to count, end up, also dun count lah.. doc ask BB got move or not, I'll just answer, yes.

i only hv 1-2 nursing bras leh. is it enough? if not enough, hv to catch the metro 20% off sales this weekend. :p

qianhui, vanessa,
i also agar agar. haha. if bb is continuously moving, then i treat it as 1 movement.

qianhui,
the movement chart is just to make sure bb is not tangled up n movement not restricted i think. in the late stage, less space to move, so bb might get tangled up.

Frankly speaking, if I was asked to time the contraction, I also dunno how to time.... nvr experience b4, everytime I abt to give birth, I'm already in the hospital bed liao.... either on epidural or too painful to realise anything, so now I also scare, dunno if it's real labour or just false alarm.... me very stupid one... after 2 births all these I still not very clear

Och,

Haha, who knows u will be our very first graduate....

Aiyo, now I've got another contraction, dunno is xin li zhou yong or wat.... sometimes doesn't seems rite...mayb I've been carrying my gal today, not sure if that will cause contraction or not....

Ya lor, the contraction thing.. I also dunno how to count, coz who knows it's BH, BB pushing inside or contractions?

Now again, tummy tight, but also moving, half of this and that..

My nursing bra is so ugly, I thot of putting those bra cups inside.. so that at least got shape..

Qianhui,
Don't worry abt the shape, cos later on u got to put nursing pads, so got shape liao lor, but hor, don't buy avent nursing pad hor.... very ulgy, like 2 hard shell like that....

Why all of u not sleeping har?

For me, normally I sleep around 12++ - 1++

So at night I got this habit to finish reading the thread after I left office around 5 plus.. but I seldom post at night actually..

afcai, are you talking about detail scan machine or the normal u/s machine. For private gynae, they have the u/s scan machine in their own room, but detail scan machine is at the hospital (for TMC, its at its 4th floor Fetel Assessment Unit). Your detail scan cheaper than mine
Bohbiahah (or was it doggiebb?) mention the cause of the high BP, but not sure if its due to dealing with stupid people ... now hubby keep saying want to buy Drypers cos its cheaper. Yeah, if leak like nobody's biz how? Using epidural or not is one matter, but I heard of 2 colleagues so far who had back pain for months after that which they claim is due to the epidural. I don't like being aching all over.... Still waiting for SCBB to reply my email.

Vanessa, I think gynae's standard is that once bb is > 2kg its considered ok to give birth.... hahah...too bad they inform you too early, else you bake the black forest already then can tell us to come over and eat.ahahahahha

starluster, Vanessa, MBB, you all don't compare lah. Wait till I reach 35 weeks then I scare you all with my bb's weight...

starluster, why you lost weight and lost apetite? Stress?

QSG, wow..exciting leh!!!! So when is your scheduled C section?

By right Bei Bei should have gone for hers already..let me kapo at Nov thread and see if there is any news...

Serene, you got colostrum...

och, show! show! (ok I siao liao... excited over all the things that happen to you all) Anyway, don't worry if its just abit of show. Remember what kimi said previously? And that 2 out of 3 signs of labour? So keep cool on Sunday ok! Ayah, I have not even start practising with my pump yet! So cannot play till I gave birth liao... scarly first time don't know how to use..ahahaha

berry, another one next week. Let us know what the gynae said on Tuesday ok!

Today had to go all over the island cos hubby never ask the salesgirls of different places properly about the mattress and stroller then now he is overseas and expect me to take over! So sian.now back aching like mad....

Qianhui,...wah.. 3 weeks to EDD... very exciting times for you too! har?? its 10 sets har... cos I ask my gynae, she said if 2 active periods of movements can be considered as 10 liao.... cham.different gynae different definition

Shihui, which hospital are you going too? I think most of them have receiving blankets so you don't have to be really worried if shipment is really delayed. Your hubby also know how to play the erhu har?

I am not sleeping yet! Still got to netsurf! :p

Next time we will all post in the middle of the night cos wake up to feed bb then cannot go back to sleep..ahahahh

Vanessa,

But my breast hor, til now still flat flat type.

Then I think of my appt in Jan, after giving birth, I supposed to go and chk my breast lumps again.. coz when I was few mth pregnant, the doc says my lumps grew bigger.. need to test to confirm coz doc says it's not good sign.

That idea of going to NUH to chk that lump is very xian, esp when the timing gets nearer..