5. Shihui - 1 pax
6. MBB
7. Dey - 1 pax (TBC)
8. och - 1 pax
9. Jackie - TBC
10. Doremi - 1 pax

Suggestions for the venue pls.

1. Marche

Was thinking if we can find somewhere to have buffet? then it's cheaper and we can fulfill our bbies tummy

doggiebb,
yap..can~1 pax..heeheehehee..^^

for the carter receiving blanket hor, i wld like to order 2pcs loo..but dunnoe which one to get..hehe...i like the lion one..then the duck n rabbit...err..can bb boy wear rabbit (pink pink) hor?? will confirm againt tonite or tmr wif my order...

vanessa

Yeah! buffet is a good idea! Can eat until we drop
any suggestion where?

think i better tell my hubby not to come also, he may just well be the only man there, so paiseh! Wahahaha!

doremi

okie dokie! let us know tomorrow! On the contrary, i like the blue doggy one, but wrap bb girl in blue blue blanket...hmm

vanessa,
actually feel dat buffet is nice lah...but dunnoe whether all can make it on time..moreover, tik hor for the billing hor might be abit complicated unless it's those like pay 1st then enter type..else might be very "disasterous" when the final bill come..hehe..tik we will be calculating n taking out our $$...:p

doggiebb,

hehe i will try ask sis..see if she can find the source cos tat time she BP was in july leh...so not sure the seller still have.she bought me the yellow duck duck one! hehe i like pink color ones but too girlish for boy! ;p

me on leave tomorrow go shop shop n high tea! pretend to be a tai tai haha!

see u all on thurs! bye!!

choo,
wah... gd life ah... enjoy..

Vanessa, doggiebb,
buffet gd idea leh.. but go where eat huh? any suggestion? hmmmm....

This tread is really active. Got so much to caught up.

Carter receiving blankets (to gauge interest)

1. doggiebb - 2 pc
2. Vanessa - 1 pc
3. Dey - 1 pc
4. Jen - 1 pc (white with pink side)
5. Qianhui - 1 pc (the doggy one)
6. Shihui- 2 pc (yellow duckie n the white one with 4 animals)
7. Jackie - 2 pcs (the doggy pic)
Total:10 pc

These are a few suggestions:

1)Meritus Mandarin Singapore - International Buffet
Where: Triple 3, The Buffet Restaurant (tel: 6831-6271/72) When: Noon-3pm and 6.30-10:30pm daily
Cost: Lunch costs $41.80+++ (adult) & $24.80+++ (child), while dinner is priced at $52+++ and $32+++ respectively.
What: Formerly known as The Stables, the restaurant now offers more than 60 dishes, comprising 22 appetisers, 20 types of hot food & 20 choices of dessert. There is a different theme each month, but the baked honey-glazed ham, roast prime rib of beef, salmon sashimi & rock oysters are trademark items.

2)York Hotel - Penang Hawkers' Fare
Where: White Rose Cafe (tel: 6737-0511 ext 1156)
When: Held traditionally during school holidays in March and September for 17 days each time, the buffet sometimes has an extra run in December.
Cost: $21.80+++ (adult) and $17.80+++ (child) for lunch and dinner.
What: The first-come-first-served spread is one of the most widely-anticipated culinary draws here. Hawkers from Penang's Gurney Drive set up stalls offering perennial favourites such as Penang laksa, cuttlefish kang kong and crispy lor bak.

3)Hotel Phoenix - International Buffet Lunch & Dinner
Where: Phoenix Garden Cafe (tel: 6233-6129), When: Noon-2.30pm and 6.30-10pm daily; a Local Hi-tea Buffet is also served daily from 3.30-5.30pm.
Cost: $23+++ for lunch and $25+++ for dinner; children pay $16.50+++ and $17.50+++ respectively
What: There are about 50 items in the spread. More soups and salads to suit the health-conscious palate of Singaporeans today. The signature dish - roti prata - is a must-try, as is the durian cake.

4) Grand Hyatt Singapore - The Pete's Place Salad
Where: Pete's Place (tel: 6416-7113), When: 11.30am-2.30pm (Mon-Sat) and 6-10.30pm daily
Cost: $16+++; It costs $19.50+++ if you throw in soup and dessert, and $26+++ with the pasta main courses. Children pay $19.50+++ and get the whole works.
What: Toss your own greens from the fresh selection of 20 main salads, nine toppings and five dressings. If you are going for the pasta, try the signature dish, Cioppino,
a tomato-base seafood pasta.

5)Copthorne King's Hotel - Penang Buffet
Where: Princess Terrace (tel: 6318-3168) When: 11.30am-2.30pm (3.30pm on weekends & public holidays) & 6.30-10pm daily
Cost: $28+++ (adult) and $20+++ (child);
What: One of the best-known spreads around, this buffet used to feature 28 items but now offers about 40. These include must-have dishes such as Penang laksa, Penang Hokkien mee soup, and Penang char kway teow.

6)Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore - Buffet Lunch & Dinner
Where: Ellenborough Market Cafe (tel: 6239-1848)
When: Noon-2.30pm, 6.30-10pm daily
Cost: $19.90+++ for lunch and $24.90+++ for dinner on weekdays, $25.90+++ for weekend dinner. Children pay $11.90+++ for lunch, $13.90+++ for weekday dinner and $14.90 +++ for weekend dinner.
What: This spread with a strong nonya component has gained fame since 1997 & the star is durian pengat, a yummy mousse. Other must-haves include the slipper lobster in black bean sauce and abalone mushroom noodles.

Note: Personally I haven't tried any of these, I've got this from my friends....

Wah! *drools*

The Swissotel Merchant Court one is always very good and value for money! Haven't tried the rest though.

Time for me to go home too! Talk to everyone tomorrow!

doremi, vanessa, doggiebb, shihui,

I try to confirm asap on the gathering. Really want to meet up and chit chat with all the ladies here, it would be fun

doggiebb,
tink i finalised my order....^^

1. doggiebb - 2 pc
2. Vanessa - 1 pc
3. Dey - 1 pc
8. Doremi - 1 pc (the lion one) :p

Vanessa,
heard the 1)Meritus Mandarin Singapore - International Buffet is really gd.. n ex.. hahaha.. :p

personally been to 6)Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore - Buffet Lunch & Dinner and high tea.. muz say tt the durian pengat is really the signature muz try dish..
overall gd.. got sashimi somemore.. but we can't eat.. sob sob..
and my cousin in law works there.. but too bad.. not very close with him lah.. if not.. heheee.. can ask him for discount.. hahaha... :p

I tried Meritius Mandarin and Merchant Court buffet dinner before...Meritius Mandarin is very good but the price is super ex... Merchant Court buffet has lots of local delights, the durian paste is super yummy..

i tried the merchant court n king's hotel buffet b4. if i hv to choose between the two, will prefer the merchant court buffet. better spread.

Hi Jen,
with regard to the aminotic fluid, the result is shown when one do the detail scan. mine is aminotic fluid is average. doc did not say anything also. only told me that overall result is fine and in normal range.

Hi Jackie,
agreed that durian mooncake from goodlook park hotel is yummy....I also like the durian mooncake from Marriot hotel. m1 customer got 20% discount for all mooncake loh.

Hey,

I m interested also..

1. doggiebb - 2 pc
2. Vanessa - 1 pc
3. Dey - 1 pc
8. Doremi - 1 pc (the lion one)
9) serene - 1 pc (the doggy one)

total: 12

Hi Bloom,
for me, doc did not ask me to go for my normal scanning this mth. today, I went for my check-up, she only use droppler to let us listen to bb's heart beat.also go for my GTT and result which was released in the afternoon showed normal. so maybe, next time, the night before or a few hrs before, I will not take any carbo or sweet thing so that urine test will pass. cos if urine test result shows 2+ sign, it indicated high sugar content.

now, hubby is doing all the hsework, I only sorted and placed those clothes into the washing machine only (washing of clothes is done twice a wk and washing of towel, face towel etc is done once a wk). of cos, we cannot mop the floor, too danger, later what if anything wrong, my hubby won;t let me do it. the only thing I cooked dinner loh.

wow piang, how can one use reused water from rinising clothes to wash kitchen stuff, not hygenic, those water can only use either to clean the bathrm, flush the toilet or maybe mop the floor only. for us, hubby also took 2 pail of 2nd or 3rd round of riniing clothes water and then we used it to flush toilet.

oic, for me, I will buy the sling later part (next yr). it is is easier to carry bb by sling cos at least both hands are free to carry or grab thing esp on bus.

Hi Jenny,
my EDD is on 18/12, that's the advice I got from the staff in charge when I called for enquiry. she adviced me to take the early batch maybe tue or wed or thur class loh.
maybe u asked yr trainer if one can change it or not. I also did not realise the different bet the fri and normal wkday class till hubby pointed out the qns for me to ask. so the staff told me that there's a 3 wks break for fir class only.

do check it out with yr trainer loh. have u attend the lesson yet? so how's the class so far?

Hi Geri Zoe Lim Poh Hoon,
am not sure what is growth scan but a form has been given to me and it is indicated that i will be gg for the growth scan next mth. I guess it might be the measurement of bb's features (similar to detail scan but maybe more measurement)

a normal detail scan :
A measurement of the circumference of the baby's head (HC) and abdomen (AC) are taken and the depth of the amniotic fluid around the baby is measured. If all measurements are within normal limits, the baby is likely to be an average size.

this might be the explanation of growth scan:
A second scan may be advised because babies grow in fits and starts -- serial scans can tell more about your baby's growth than just a single scan.

check it out at http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/scans/thirdtrimesterscans/

as for MIM sling, will bb feel heaty being hidden in the sling? cos I saw some ppls have their bb inside the sling....ergo carrier quite expensive loh, will buy those normal carrier only ($20++ type) .

Hi dey,
wow, u started yr antenal class so late...a bit 'risky'....yup, hopefully pray hard, bb will be gd not to arrive so early and wait for mummy to complete the class first. hmm how come yr class end so early one within a mth, for me, i started from 21/9 - 21/11 (2 mths).

saw those swaddling material cloth like sold at hospital pharmacy. there are 2 kind of them - one like the sleeping bag type zip up bb from legs till body slightly below the neck. another one is like the popiah type of wrap. place bb on it and 3 or 4 side got those tape (valcos- dunno how to spell) and then close them up, bb will be wrapped just like having the receiving blanket.

luckily, for me, I dun need to buy cos my cousin has given me 3 of them. the receiving blanket cannot be bought at any of the shopping outlet (taka fair, istan, john little etc) maybe even neighbourhood store whereby sells bb 's stuff.

Hi Vanessa Lu,
thks.

I passed my GTT test today during the check-up. maybe I will take note of the food which I consumed the night before and before the test or else urine test fail again.

ask u what is brand of diapers that yr gal is using? most of my friend bought dryers cos cheaper mah. acc to my friend, she told me during the first mth, bb easily poo and pee so use cheaper hse brand diapers like NTUC brand ($10.90 only). acc to another friend of mine, she said the brand - dryers is thick and will leak easy. so she let her bb boy use pampers. mammypoko is better than pampers in terms of
absorbency (last longer especially thru d nite) but it is expensive brand.

as mentioned that pampers or mammypo can last longer thru the night, does that mean bb can slp well and not cry to ask for the change of diapers?

any views? thks.

Hi Bloom,
hmm what do you mean by "so we are entitled to cook phone porridge during confinement" (quote of what u mentioned in yr posting dd Thursday, August 31, 2006 - 11:17 pm:. (only saw my email for this posting today. the thread is moving so fast that I hardly catch up).

yup, it seems to be true mouh dun need to rest cos need to eat more bu to replenish the nutrient that one has lost during delivery. yup, my col also mentioned that the tummy took quite soemtimes to return to original size and one might still look pregnant after delivery.

oic, I love the durian mooncake at Goodview park hotel and marriot hotel. now m1 customer has 20% for purchase of any marriot mooncake.

I tried the tung lok mooncake, so so only...nothing much...I will cut down the mooncake cos it will be very sweet stuff. i just pass my GTT today.

do postpone yr driving test to next yr, not safe to re-do it now.

Hi Geri Zoe Lim Poh Hoon,
just found out what is growth scan. here it is....

http://www.womensultrasound.co.uk/fetal_growth_scan.htm

This scan is performed to assess the growth and well being of the baby.

What's involved in a Fetal Growth Scan
The scan is performed by placing an ultrasound transducer on your abdomen and
takes around 20 minutes. Your bladder does not need to be full but it is advisable to
drink normally & not empty your bladder 30 minutes prior to the scan.

During the scan we take look at a number of areas:

- Measuring the baby's head, abdomen and thigh bone
- Assessing the amount of amniotic fluid around the baby
- Observing the baby's activity
- Measuring the blood flow in the umbilical cord using Doppler ultrasound
- Recording the position of the placenta

Results
If we are concerned regarding the findings of this scan, you will have the opportunity to discuss these and their implications with one of our fetal medicine consultants.

afcai,

my gals are using Pampers Premium and pampers comfort and huggies dry (blue).... I know, I've bought so many different type

Premium are for use at nite, cos I feel that premium is more comfortable and agreed that mammypoko are very ex. Pampers comfort and huggies are for normal use, which ever is cheaper or have sales then we buy lor.... but most of the time huggies are for my mum's hse and comfort is for our own hse.

We had tried drypers before, but apparently I don't like the quality, cos seems like it doesn't keep my gals dry, so we rather pay abit more to purchase pampers comfort.

Ya, during the first few weeks I should say that bb pee n poo very often, but bcos newborn skins are very delicate, so if u are to use disposable diapers for day use, I would recommend something which is good in quality yet cheaper.... I don't know what brand will have that, cos for my case, I use nappy, so no problem, only when going out then I use pampers, so I bought the comfort for the purpose.

Morning Ladies,

Finally mid-week, 2 more days to go.....

Today very tired leh.. whole nite my no.2 keep kicking at me, making me insominia.... sad man.... then this morning while I'm still sleeping, my no.1 come n play with my belly button, waking me up feeling irritated..... hiaz... what a boring Wednesday....

1. doggiebb - 2 pc (pink rabbit and white with pink sides)
2. Vanessa - 1 pc (yellow duckie)
3. Dey - 1 pc

total: 12

Wow! we have 12 pcs already. The yahoo seller sms me this morning and said we have to order by today. What should we do? I think we should at least wait for Choo to come back to see if we can get a better lobang right? Anyway, it's not like we need the blankets tomorrow!

Just to double check the design. Vanessa and Dey, can you confirm which design you want? Jackie, you want both pcs to be the doggie design?

serene, my yoga teacher said its norm to start swelling starting from week 25, but she suggested drinking more water as water retention (your swelling is due to water retention right?) is because not enough water intake so the body tried to retain as much as possible. Can also be due to too much walking around so the swelling can differs between weekdays and weekends.

afcai , congrats on passing your test. Actually fasting from the night does not work , since I did that for my GTT and the next morning my glucose urine test strip give a +3!!!!! Hehhe..cos you said only the mouth can exercise, so we can zhu3 dian4 hua4 zhou1 (talk very long on the phone) loh. :p

BTW, any mommy know what is the schedule for Mt A's hospital tour? Cos I cannot find the information on their website.

My sis recommended to use Pampers NB.

Any mommy with weird size bb cot? My sis passed me her bb cot and its 26' x 50'. But seems that the norm is 28' x 52'. Anyone knows where to get weird bb cot mattress sizes?

Yesterday my 3 yr old nephew was very cute. My sis (his aunt) asked him if he feel his sister's kicking in his mommy's stomach (my sis is a Nov MTB). Then he said no, then he asked me 'Auntie, does your bb kick?' A 3 yr old asking that!

It mid-week and i have a bad start by making hubby
.....Feel so lousy....sigh.....

afcai,
Wow, so late and still not asleep?

doggiebb,
Yes, i am getting 2 doggy design cause SIL due in mid nov

good morning ladies...
wah...so much posts to catch up..heehee

doggiebb,
hw much is the blanket??
my fren helped me bgt one in US liao...carters aso..tink kinda cheap..so im tinking hw much ur supplier is selling..heeheee

afcai,
the GTT is diff fr detailed scanning huh??
is it necessary to do??

vanessa,
dryers no good huh?i saw on tv got this improved version one..is it still as bad?i tink its only cheaper by abit onli...ask u huh..for new born, wat brand and size should we start at? for a average size bb...thanks huh

good morning everyone...so glad it's mid week.

sigh, i oso didn't sleep well last nite and yesterday afternoon oso quite sad cos my 2yr old godson diagnosed with diabetes.
aiyoh, he so poor thing, saw him in hospital, had all kinds of tubes sticking out from him, both arms also got needles/drip, draw blood for test every hour, he must be so traumatised...see oredi oso heart pain. Than, his 6yr old brother not allowed into the ward cos only 12yrs and abv can go in. Aiyoh, the poor boy cry that he cannot see his brother. Really buay tahan
really sad
really pray for them...

Vanessa,
your No1. sooo cute come play with ur belly button.. is ur button abit protuding when ur this one is gal also? mine is abit protude leh.. i thot protude is boy?

doggiebb,
the seller also sms just now also.. I think we shall wait for choo for better lobang lar. can save few dollars also good.. but have to see the design as nice as this anot also lar. ahah she is willing to meet me at clementi central cos i stay in jurong area lor. ehhehe we shall let her wait 1-2more days. Like what u say, its not we want it tomolo. haaha

gd morning!! wah.. 2 more days n we can enjoy the weekend again..
yeah.. tonight can go jack's place for dinner.. yummy yummy... heee~ :p

Vanessa,
wah.. u very poor thing leh.. yesterday already heard u complain tired.. den last night still can't sleep.. today better take care ah.. come in more often to chat with me lah.. can keep u awake.. hahaha.. :p

toking abt diapers, really headache leh.. till now i still dunnoe wat brand gd, wat brand ex, wat brand value for money... aiyo.. any stores tt has full range of disposable diapers for me to note down the price? :p every brand seems to say tt theirs is gd... aiyo.... headache.. :p

yeah.. tml night can collect the sling liao.. the material is silk leh.. now den worry tt silk might be quite soft n slippery.. dunnoe if the ring will be able to hold the cloth tight anot.. hai~~~~ :p

Bloom,
ur nephew very cute leh..
den how u answer him? got let him touch ur tummy? :p

yukiee,

Wow, u seems to be disppeared for a short period of time leh....

I'm not sure abt the drypers now, but after I've tried the previous one, I won't try again, anyway, compare price to pampers comfort, not much different lah.
Usually hospital will give u a packet of Pampers premium Size: NB, but usually after the bb return home, by the time they finish the packet from hospital, u will need to change to S size, but also only for awhile, mayb after 1 or 2 packet got to change to M size liao....

Good morning ladies! Had a bad night..woke up at 4am and eyes open wide till morning..now feeling so tired

Jackie,
Aiyo..how come u make your hubby
cheer up ya..

Vanessa,
If we are using cloth nappies, do we need to get those plastic shorts ( not sure what u call that) for the baby to wear so as to prevent leakage? I am thinking of using cloth nappies for the day and disposable diapers for the night..so pampers premium and mommypoko are the better brands we can buy? Everytime I go supermarket to look at diapers, will get all confused..so many differents brands..dunno which is good!

Doggiebb,

1. doggiebb - 2 pc (pink rabbit and white with pink sides)
2. Vanessa - 1 pc (yellow duckie)
3. Dey - 1 pc (the doggy one)

good morning :D,

Vanessa,
I didn't have a good nite rest too. My gal woke up at about 2am and i transfer her from her bed to sleep with us. Aiyo she keep kicking me, hand slap on my breast...so painful

Afacai, i don't think i've any growth scan leh..

Jen,
Mine is abit protude but still flat from the outside....

Shihui,

I've found the VCD liao, so can pass to you on Saturday.... I've been refreshing the page to keep me awake else I'll start to close my eyes liao...hahaha....

Bloom,
ur nephew so cute, my no.1 I let her touch my tummy, then if she feels the bb kick or moves, she will open her eyes wide and tell me "mei mei moves liao leh"....

Jen

Yeah! think she is trying to rush us to order. But I think we should wait. Shouldn't be a problem ordering when she's doing her next batch what. But you are right, let's hope Choo's lobang got as many designs also!

dey,
ya, we need to get the diaper protector (think this is wat they call) to prevent leakage or more for protecting the wetness to sip to the matteress.... No worries on the diaper, I think there's many exchange here and there in the Exchange thread, mayb next time can go there to do exchange. Or we can do the exchange ourselves to try out different brand of diapers lor...

Personally I feel mammypoko size is small, cos my no.1 cannot fit into their XL size for the pull-ups, so we bought huggies pull-up instead for her....

Jen / Vanessa,

Protude belly button means boy meh ? Mine this time round super protude, but scan seems to be a gal leh, unless it wasn't review lah.

When i had my gal, mine was like Vanessa, look flat from the outside.

Meet up on the 22nd (FRIDAY)

1. doggiebb & hubby
2. Vanessa - 1 pax
3. Geri - TBC
4. Qianhui - 1 pax
5. Shihui - 1 pax
6. MBB - 1 pax
7. Dey - 1 pax (TBC)
8. och - 1 pax
9. Jackie - TBC
10. Doremi - 1 pax

Geri,
I think no scientific prove one lah, anyway, mayb the scan show wrongly, keep us updated, then we know whether it's true or not lor...

Geri,
alot of pple expecting boys have protude belly button one leh. mine protude inside & when top lay flat on tummy they belly button also obvious leh. ahaahah tonight i gonna ask gynae to 200% cfm to me is a gal ar...

Vanessa,
what is size NB means?

doggiebb,
ya i think she maybe trying to get deal lor. so i din reply her yet lar. we of cos wait for better deals lar.

Meet up on the 22nd (FRIDAY)

1. doggiebb - 1 pax
2. Vanessa - 1 pax
3. Geri - TBC
4. Qianhui - 1 pax
5. Shihui - 1 pax
6. MBB - 1 pax
7. Dey - 1 pax (TBC)
8. och - 1 pax
9. Jackie - TBC
10. Doremi - 1 pax

OKIE! confirm kick hubby out!

suggestions for venue:

1. marche
2. buffet - maybe merchant court?

Jen,
NB size is for newborn. dun buy too much of tis size coz bb outgrow very fast. better get 0-3 mths.