(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

Starluster,
Can use the receiving blanket to swaddle it lor... no need to spend extra, that day I saw at Robinsons that a cloth specially meant for swaddling cost $17.90, so I didn't purchase, thinking it will only be use for the first few weeks, after that I don't think bb wants to be swaddle, furthermore, in SG weather, I don't think it's neccessary lor....

starluster,

oh yr co those typical ones ah! i ask my HR liao can use annual leave first then start maternity leaves so i can go off on 1st dec

Geri/dey,

hehe but hubby will be more 'xin ku'financially lor...so have to save n shrimp on many 'wants' but tink we shd manage fine bah
must have faith!!

tink hubby will cry if leave his precious at either infant care or bb sitter leh!

ya i oso more sim tia to buy items that just use a few weeks then no longer needed liao... tats why didnt buy the swaddling cloth either.

my colleague suggest using diaper cloth since it's not so thick. issit big enuf?

Vanessa,
What is a receiving blanket? Where can I buy it?
I will most prob swaddle my baby too but dunno how to do it yet..just read from some books that swaddling is encouraged...I also saw the swaddling cloth at Robinson..tot of buying it but its is quite ex for a piece of cloth lor...
By the way, how long do we need to swaddle a newborn untill?

hee~ paiseh.. wat is swaddle huh? is it the way they wrap up bb in the hospital? :p i heard receiving blanket can juz use the diaper cloth rite? i think i'm going to buy some diaper cloth to act as receiving blanket n bb blanket lor.. need to buy bb's blanket? :p in the past, i saw my mom use those big towel onli leh.. :p

i oso dunno wat is swaddle..
wrap BB like a mummy ah?

I buying receiving blanket from the Yahoo or this forum.. $5-$10 only..

dey,
Receiving blanket it's just like towel lor, but with a hood attached to it. It's use for bringing the bb home from hospital and to go out, so that bb head would get in contact with the wind... no good for bb's head. Some purchase a hood separately. Kiddy palace and Robinson do have, but I think Robinson one is very expensive and too thick liao...

I will most likely swaddle the bb till full month if the weather is not too hot, but if going out, will still wrap bb in the towel but won;t be that tight lor... at least bb can move the arms freely....

Starluster,
I think Diaper cloth is not good enough, cos It's too small, and too thin, if too thin, it defeat the purpose of keeping the bb warm and snuggled.

Shihui,
Ya, that's the meaning of swaddle. I also use normal adult bath towel to act as blanket if I'm not swaddling the bb, else, the swaddle is enough to keep the bb warm... alamak, SG very hot leh, too thick bb later got fever... :p

Shihui,

let me know if Vanessa cannot find her copy. Then I try to see if I can figure out how to burn a copy for you (I think got a VCD burner at home). Actually I have not even view the demo VCD yet :p

Jen,
Ya lor, yang shui, not enough means bb may expose to bacteria and infection, so if yang shui is not enough to wait, gynae will suggest induction lor... Just like after your water bag burst (which contains Yang shui), there is a time frame where u should deliver, if bb still not out when the time frame is up, then a C-section or forcep or some other methods will be introduce to get ur bb out fast liao... but that's seldom the case lah...

Choo,

Ya lor, sometimes the forum sell things brand new ones.. cheaper than the outside leh..
eg, those BB gift sets..

vanessa,
some receiving blanket is those towel material type rite? sometimes i blur if its hooded towel or receiving blanket... how to tell which is which?

Vanessa,
wow so serious one ar.. aiyooo then if gynae no say anything abt our aminotic fluid so our bb is fine one lar..

Yday i had a bad dreamleh. I dream of my bb gal. she is very cute.. but my family is running up & down like hell to bring her to see doc cos my bb is sick.. quite bad type of sick leh.. have to run from jurong by bus to go dunno toa payoh to see doc leh.. aiyooo this dream is too scary liao. imagine my whole family panic like siao leh. my parents & sister & myself. Inside dream dun hv my gu-do ah lao leh..

Vanessa,
So you will quit before you go maternity ? Or enjoy the maternity benefits first than quit. But must give 1 month notice right ? Can give notice on the 2nd month of maternity or not hah ?

Starluster,

I think they are both the same thing lah, cos I compare 2 items like the same leh...

Jen,
Not really serious lah, just that cannot be too long as in days lah, and the time frame is quite long in terms of hours.

Geri,
I will quit after maternity leave if decided, but have to come back on the 3rd month to tender, cos I think MOM policy don't allow mothers to tender will on maternity leave, but then hor, depends on HR lor, some co will allow some won't lor...

Choo,
Which forum did u buy the carter receiving blanket at? Can give me the link?

Vanessa,
Ok..so if i buy a receiving blanket, I dun need a swaddling cloth..I must go and learn how to swaddle also..read from book but dun really understand how to do it...

dey,
hee hee, the last time we also don't know, then later we saw how the nurse in the nursery doing it, it's actually quite easy, but frankly speaking lah, the receiving blanket is still a bit small to do a nice job, chin chai chin chai can lah, still can survive.

dey,

can let me check with my sis first..cos she bought on line some forum got bulk purchase so she help me purchase!

vanessa,
so its the same thing huh... haha.. maybe those manufacturer confuse us new mummies w different names so we buy both..

dey,
w u be having confinement nanny? heard from colleagues some of those nanny know how to swaddle the baby.

Choo,

Starluster,
No, we will not have confinement lady but my aunt will be coming to help during the daytime..hopefully she will know how to do it...if not must learn from the nurse at the nursery..

dey,

i found some steps to swaddle from internet... but no image.. maybe need to search more...

Step 1: Lay blanket on a flat surface

Step 2: Fold one corner of blanket

Step 3: Lay baby on blanket with head just above the fold.

Step 4: Take right corner of blanket and gently wrap over babys arm and tuck under opposite side.

Step 5: Take bottom corner and fold upward over babys feet and legs.

Step 6: Take left corner of blanket and gently wrap over babys arm and tuck around opposite side.

Swaddling should be snug and secure, not loosely wrapped.

Jen,
Swaddling is to keep bb warm and secure, cos when they are in the worm, they are all curled up, so when they are born, all their hands and legs are free, so they get startled easily, swaddling is to prevent that.... so for the head, my mum told me when we bring bb out, it's best to wear a hat so that the scalp will not be expose the wind, else next time bb will have watery eyes and headaches easily....

doggiebb n all,
most of u be going wif hbs for the gathering?? erm...honestly, i feel awkward to hv my hb around..hehe..erm..tink doggiebb, u can count me in 1st loo~ but where hor??

today, i m on half day leave again...can't wake up tis morning, very tired. i tik it's cos of thunder rain this morning kua, whenever the thunder strike, my bb keep kicking n turning..so i keep waking up to "rub rub" my tummy..haiz...so..very sleepy n whole bodyache..haiz....

last nite hor, i dreamt dat i give birth leow..hehe...feel very relief..hehe...then hor in my dreams, i suddenly feel dat i give birth much before my edd so i asked my sis, "now wat's the date??".. my sis answered "november loo"...hehhee..tink i too stress leow..haha...feel like i wan to fast fast deliver..haha....^^

opss sorry... somehow i try again but cannot get it to link to the webpage... u try go yahoo and type "swaddle ivillage" or just "swaddle".. got a lot a lot of info on it.

doremi,
dun think my hubby will be going for the gathering too.. i will feel awkward oso... coz got to take care of hubby else he feels lonely.. hahaha.. :p

wah.. seems like lately u feeling tired easily leh.. do take care leh..

Bloom,
thanks alot for the offer too..
juz confirmed purchase of a 2nd hand silk MIM sling.. hope it's a gd buy.. buying it at $30..

Vanessa,
last time when my mom gave birth to me, her yang shui broke long long time ago still no contraction lor.. den she still dunnoe it's bad.. :p din ask the nurse.. den when doc came, they xray her n found tt i was bleech... so got to do emergency c-section.. aiyo.. hopefully my bb won't be as problematic as me.. heee~ :p

Meet up on the 22nd (FRIDAY)

1. doggiebb & hubby
2. Vanessa
3. Geri - TBC
4. Qianhui
5. Shihui
6. MBB
7. Dey - TBC
8. och
9. Jackie - TBC
10. Doremi

Pls indicate if hubby can come.

Anyone else who can join, pls also just add your name.

Suggestions for the venue pls.

1. Marche

Meet up on the 22nd (FRIDAY)

1. doggiebb & hubby
2. Vanessa
3. Geri - TBC
4. Qianhui - Will bring hubby if majority bring, will not if majority didn't.
5. Shihui
6. MBB
7. Dey - TBC
8. och
9. Jackie - TBC
10. Doremi

Suggestions for the venue pls.

1. Marche

Shihui,

My mum's water broken at night, she didn't know must go hospital and went back to zzZZZ then morning wake liao then she go call doc..

She kanna scoldings from doc, and doc said I lucky managed to survive.. (coz no more water left..)

Qianhui,
wah.. lucky for u leh.. ur mom still can sleep ah.. i thot once waterbag broke, by right contraction will start liao leh..

went yahoo auction search for receiving blanket.. isit better to buy 100% cotton? saw some with polyester etc... saw the pampers baby brand receiving blanket too.. someone selling n mentioned tt there will be 10% discount if buy 4...

aiyo yang shui broke must immediately admit lah right ?

My gal, coz no water burst, only contraction and also bearable till i take my own sweet time. Gynae ask me go see him than i go...hhaaa..i still bathe lah, eat breakfast lah than go..

Jen,
Don't worry lah, nowadays, especially first time mother will be very gan cheong, so any feng1 chui1 cao3 dong4 will sure rush to the hospital one, so what happen to Qianhui's mother won't happen now....

shihui

I bought a receiving blanket from kiddy palace. I think it's about $10 plus (Can't remember already
) but it's pink and has a hood!

the question now is how many more should I buy? the book i am reading said we should have 5 receiving blankets! @@

doggiebb,
wow have ot buy 5 so many ar? i think u dun buy so much 1st lar. maybe full mth got pple give u as gift leh?? somemore 1st mth we wont bring bb out always mah. i think at least nid 2 can liao bah.. can alternate to use when one blanket is washed.

shihui,
i think 100% cotton shd b better kua...

vanessa,
show is same as mucos plug? show first then water bag burst or vice-versa? read some birthing stories talk abt show, some talk abt mucos plug..

but yah.. nowadays i think mothers are more gan cheong... my colleagues always shake head coz a bit a bit oso i paranoid... baby not active, baby so active, baby too big, baby too small.. :p

Geri,

Hopefully, I'm 3rd already n yet still gan cheong...

Starluster,
Guess it's the same thing bah... but as in show first or water bag burst, think depends bah, I'm blur with all this as all birth r different.... :p

Qianhui,
Your mum very brave leh..if my water bag broke, i sure freak out!

Shihui,
The receiving blankets very cute leh.. but they look more like hooded bath towels to me? Or are they the same thing?

Shihui,
The blanket so cute, feel like buying it, but then got to self-collect at hougang or punggol, a bit far, then pay postage not worth it leh....

Vanessa,

No gan cheong ya. So far i don't feel gan cheong lah...hhee..maybe time is not near yet..hhee..
Today i'm in week 26 liao, left with 14 more weeks :D.