(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

qianhui,
i dunnoe whether next time my family will say i look like "hippo" not...my family hor, really like to give me "special" description de...but if they link me to hippo, they sure say i'm a hippo doing ballet de...cos my family members are all like dat de if got hippo, hippo must be doing ballet...haiz....

shihui,
oh, i suddenly remembered hor, dat day i went to kiddy palace at toa payoh cos nid to look for a toy for my nephew's birthday. then hor, i c one "er hu" toy leh....immediately, i tik of u..hehe...tiking dat it must be very cute hving mummy playing the real "er hu" n bb playing the toy "er hu"..hehe...btw, i hv neber seen "er hu" toy before loo~ 1st time...very amazed...

Vanessa,
Hmmm, that true....last time i kana chicken pox also tahan for ard 2mths. Hope i can do it this time round

Jen reminded me that i got 1 tin of dumex milk power(FOC from attending seminar) for infant from 6mths onward... Suitable for your gal or not? If yes can pass to you

Doremi,
Yr family is very cute lor....got so many funny description. Fun mah

doremi,
haha... hippo doing ballet is cute tooo..... :p heee~ we are all mutant penguin with long n big wings lah... :p if really look like penguin wing, our arms onli reach elbow.. :p

Vanessa, if we all in contact until old age, we will noe whether the myth true anot liao... :p

Qianhui,
ladies give in to persuasion easier than men bah.. :p we more soft hearted mah... if it's of a gd cause, of coz easy to persuade.. n i think hor.. sometimes men afraid of needles n pain more than ladies.. they hide hide onli... :p want to appear macho macho.. :p

doremi,
so cute.. got toy erhu.. first time i heard leh... wah.. imagine if i buy the erhu for my son.. can play play together.. heee~ :p

juz rem tt last time my dad used to hav a very old viola.. during spring cleaning, he itchy hand went to convert it to baby sized cello for my youngest sis to play with... we even took photo of her grinning with her baby cello.. now my sis really learning cello lor... :p

jackie,
erm...my family all like to joke lah but sometimes hor, will be too much type...haiz...anyway, it's fun at times loo~ ^^

shihui,
wow..sound like ur family all play "strings" de...if u passby kiddy palace, u may go c c n look look..the quality is not very good lah cos tink it made in china de but 1st time i c "er hu" de toy loo~ so very fast link to u le..hehe...^^ if u happened to really buy one for ur son..hehe...must take pix show us..sure look very cute de...

Shihui,
My hubby use to play with guitar. He want to teach BB how to play when he is bigger. Than hor our kid can play classical and rock music together. Fun hor

Jackie,
so nice... guiter very chim leh..
i see the strings until i blur blur.. :p

doremi,
the real erhu oso made in China one.. haha.. :p will definitely go kiddy palace take a look if i hav the chance..

Shihui,
Is it?? But alway though hubby is noisy whenever he play the guitar...Me not musically incline lar.

Hubby called liao, byeee

shihui,
Oo...ya hor..erhu is from china de..hehe...anyway, the erhu toy toy hor not very quality looking lah...hope u noe wat i mean..^^ but i feel it's cute loo cos neber c before...

Hi kimi,
it is true that during confinement, it is not gd to eat cooling thing. The purpose of the month-long confinement period is to nurture the mother's health back to its pre-natal state. The emphasis is on keeping the body warm and driving out fong (wind) which has entered the mother's body during childbirth. or else, it is believed one will get rheumatism, headaches and backaches during old age.

Too much cooling food such as leafy vegetables and melons is believed to produce wind, muscle cramps and rheumatism. . thus, even fruits and veggie also need to be selective.However, excessive heating food such as beef, spices, brandy, and some local fruits like durian causes yuet hei (hot air). The symptoms of this ailment are dry throat and lips.Old ginger, sesame oil and rice wine reinforce the heating elements of food. That is why the confinement diet uses an excessive amount of these three ingredients.

During confinement, one cannot drink plain water but instead drink tea made of red dates cos it will cause water retention and make the veins swell.

acc to advice, eat those nutrients food as much as one can or else once confinement is over, it is difficult to replenish what it lost. Also, nine days after birth, one cannot take a bath at all. one will clean by sponging oneself with a towel rinsed in hot boiled water.then after that, one will bath with water boiled with ginger and lemon grass.This is supposed to prevent wind from entering the body during the bath. it is also not advisable to add cold water to the brew because tap water could produce wind. but on 13 days then can wash the hair cos wind will penetrate the head. one can buy those dry shampoo - coarse white powder rubbed into the scalp, then brushed off - helped ain ridding the smell and oiliness.

It is important for the new mother to rest during her confinement. So one was not allowed to do anything strenuous. Even carrying my baby for too long was considered an over-exertion.Sitting up too much may produce backaches in the later years. Activities that require too much concentration for the eyes such as watching television and reading are also discouraged. The bottom line is that every part of the body needs to rest, except the mouth.

so better be safe than sorry.

Hi Vanessa Lu,
yup, will take note of that. cos my mum who is doing confinement for me will need to wake me up during the night feed.

there's another qns to ask, normally after delivery, how long do we need to stay in the hospital before discharge?

afcai, I read the last part of your passage, I want to laugh. Heeheh..so we are entitled to cook phone porridge during confinement lah, since the mouth don't need to rest.

Double the size as in double everywhere or just the tummy? COs recently met up with another friend something similar. Not double in size, but her tummy which was smaller after she went for those wrap kind of come back, and for a while we thought she is pregnant again :p

I love the flaky yam mooncake too... every year my mom and I will go to the Taka mooncake fair and buy it when they just finish cooking. Warm and yummy *drool* I don't think its from Crown Prince though. Last year at the Taka fair there are 2 side by side stall selling yam flaky skin, and only my mom remember which stall is the one that we like.

Confirm cannot go for last minute crash course in music and be a musician like some of you liao. Just fail my driving, and the next test date is Dec so might need to wait till I give birth then can continue. Sighhh....

Hi qwer,
oic. will take note of the wound dry issue. but still for hygenie purpose, one still need to at least clean up the bottom part after visiting the toilet or else baterica and itchness will occur.

wow, u wash yr hair daily during confinement. for me, I see how, get most advices from diff grp of ppls loh..... I dun wan to take risk cos in the later part of life, there will be rheumatism, headaches and backaches etc.

Hi jackie,
on sun, hubby and I went to robinson and Johnlittle sales. wow, though they are the same company but things at robinson is more expensive than Johnlittle. for eg, avent pacificer at robinson cost $11.60 but it cost $10.60 at johnlittle. there is 20% discount for both.

we bought a red n blue play pen for only $89. it comes with free mosquito net, 3 little bears hanging on a platform type (one of them got music when press), changing diaper holder. Will only need to buy a small bb mattress to put into the play pen cos the 'bed' provided is quite hard.next time, I can use this bed as play pen by removing the upper portion of the bed only.

yup, my cousin also recommended me to the bugis shop opp guanyin temple to buy bb's stuff. much more cheaper, buy those clothes ranging from 0-6mths so that bb can still wear betw it.

hi bobianah,

dec is a wonderful month for mi too.. celebrate bb birth, my bday, mi n my hub pak tor anniversary n christmas.. keke... jus hope bb will come to tis world on my bday.. keke...

Hi Vanessa Lu,
Thanks for sharing the infor and clearing my doubts. really appreciated and thks a lot. really very anxious and feel scary too...

oic, didn't know that given formula will tend to make bb feel bloated. so what shd bb drink for the first 2 days then? do we need to let bb latch on even though there is no milk?

maybe last time, bf is not that popular. the collegues (those aunties) in my office say need to buy formula cos first 2 days no forumla, bb will go hungry and cry and cry.

read from the book that the feeling of contraction is that one will feel like menses cramp and it also comes with backpain which last longer. for those false alarm, it will stop when u walk ard, lie down or etc... am I right?

hmmm heard that one cannot eat or drink before delivery or else one will vomit? so since u are in the 20++hrs labour, it must be tiring, hard for u....unable to sleep , eat or drink etc etc....
oic, is the lack of fluid due to the outgrown size of bb that why the fluid is reduce?

Hi Jackie,
thks for the infor. will note that cs colustrum is the most nutrient substance. it will build up one's immune system.

Hi och,
oic. maybe I have not come to read on that. afraid that bb got nothing to feed during the first few days mah. cos col is telling me must buy formula to feed or else bb will cry and cry. cos she experience/go through the stage mah. the poor bb cry all night long....with hunger.

hi afcai,

wat is the brand of the playpen u bought? urs veri worth.. somemore got the changing diaper holder n the musical hanging toy. u bought it from JL or robinson?

good morning mtbs,

2day friday lor.. 1st time come to work so early... hub need to go work early so hav to fetch mi early to work..
2molo starting of my anatenatal class.. getting excited..

Morning!!!!!
saw on newspaper OG having sale now..
the maclaren Techno XT selling at $299 and a combi stroller $248...cheap leh....

choo,
wah..can c bb liao..so happy hor..
i always look forward to visit my gyane..
heeheee

serene,
wah..so many celebrations ah..haha
for me is 1st yr wedding anni..but gonna spend it at hm liao..coz confinement..haiz..hw happening..

Good MORNING!!! Today in quite good mood except of not enough Sleep!! My gal woke up at 4.30am today n keep kicking us,so didn't really sleep well after that... Tomolo I'm baking Cookies!!

afcai,

yes, bb tends to feed very often in the first few days, hence u must keep latching on, constant and intensive latch-on will promote milk to comes in faster so that u will have sufficient milk for the bb. The most common mistake ppl make is to supply formula, cos once u supply formula, bb tends to turn to formula more easier as the flow from the bottle is faster, and the texture of the teats and nipple are different, so bb will get lazy and wants a easier source of food. Of cos, in order to provide enough for ur bb, one must rest well and have plenty of fluid intake to produce milk, if one doesn't rest well, or drinks well, milk supply will not be plenty. Red dates and longan drinks is a good source of fluid, it will helps in the milk production.

That's y I told everyone in this forum, the key to successful breastfeeding is persistent and patience.... U need to persist to latch on diligently and disregards all the comments from MIL, mothers, CL or even hubby and believe that you have enough for the bb, patience cos u need to be really patience to latch on every time bb ask to nurse.... breastfeeding works on SUPPLY=DEMAND, no supply, no demand, no latch on, no milk flow....

Hope these helps to answer ur doubts...

Haha, soon I think I better open a gathering for breastfeeding...haha...just joking

choo...
i dunno when my fren wanna buy leh..paisei to keep asking them mah..haah
but will highlight to them abt tis offer..and i tink my mum hav the member card..gotta check it out..if not will get fr hyperstore lor..

hi vanessa,

do all mummies definitely hav colustrum for the 1st few days? cos if we do not produce milk during the 1st few days, bb drinking the colustrum will be enough to ease his/her hunger? i so afriad bb will keep crying even after i latch him.. then my mil will heart pain n insist bb drink formula milk.. my mil doing confinement for mi..

TGIF!!!

Wah, OG oso hv sale...I think we need not worry abt no sales for bb stuff.

Yukiee,
is it really for OG members only? public cannot ah?

Serene,
ur bd oso dec? great! ur bb oso bd present for u

Vanessa,
haha! u can definitely start a breastfeeding class for us all. But, u are rite, perseverance is the key. Its amazing how many pple keep asking me if i plan to BF. I always tell them, of cos la! =P i really hope to breast feed at least 7 mths or 1 yr. GO to work, just use EBM...
BTW, ask you, if we bf, would we still eventually need to introduce formula milk like er...after 1 yr or something? Is it that as long as we BF, totally no need for formula?

Hi Morning to all mummies

Ya man, today so nice to sleep, and my girl didn't wake up in the middle of the night till about 5+, drank a bit of milk and went back to sleep again

Someone was saying OG sells nice and cheap nursing bras is it hah ?

Serene, Choo,
Like I've said before, u will need to keep latching on to encourage milk to come in which happens in around 3rd or 4th day.... bb will have their reserve for a week. I think Qianhui and who (I can't remember) have tried on the pump and there's fluid coming out... hence we sure have colostrum and it's just enough to provide for a newborn. MIL will definitely ask u to give formula, that's what my mum asked me to also, but becos of the facts that I'm armed with, I refuse to give and I endure, Perservance is the key.

Bobianah,
If we are breastfeeding, we definitely no need any formula, unless ur bb weaned off early before certain age or like my case, I got pregnant and bb is only few months old, so they will still need the nutrient hence Formula got to introduce, else, no formula at all, they can rely on breastmilk till they are willing to let go. some ppl breastfeed till bb is a few years old, if that's the case, u may choose to introduce formula or just ensure they get their nutrients from other source such as dairy products. If I'm not pregnant, I don't intend to give in to formula also, even now, I'm thinking after birth, if I'm about to produce enough for 2 of them, I will remove the formula from my no. 2's diet, and put her back to Total breastmilk...

Its Friday

yukiee,
I bought the maclaren Techno XT 2006 stroller at $300+ leh. Hopefully the one on sales is 2005 vision or else i pang wall lor

Vanessa,
I have a tin of dumex milk powder for 6mth and above BB (Got it FOC from attending seminar). Suitable for your gal??? Can pass to u

Jackie,

Thanks for your offer, but my gal is on Enfapro, think dumex not nice, hahaha, my no. 1 tells me she don't like, she prefers mei mei's neh neh...hahaha... who ask her keep throwing away milk, so we bought her the cheaper formula...hahaha

vanessa,
I'll definitely try to BF as long as possible! Hope u'll be successful in putting ur #2 back to BM. Btw, how long u BF ur children?

btw, vanessa, qwer, geri and other non-1st time MTBs, if you live in bukit batok, cck, bukit panjang area, which pediatrician do u visit? I'm hoping to find a good one in this area so no need to travel too far...

Morning ladies..friday is definitely different..I feel so good today!

OG sale only for members meh? i am interested in the fisher price cover and play bouncer..member price only $48.90

good morning all!

Jackie,
it's stated complimentary spring maternity privilage card for any purchase, just bring along public service card as proof.

Dey,
yah lor 100 ppl for bb shower is too many.
but no choice coz family already like 40 ppl, hubby's colik ard 30 ppl (cant skip them coz recently they hv been hinting hubby) and then some frens.
haiz....
i am getting both the function room in my condo to get it over and done.

hmmmm, nothing to look forward to tis friday.
hubby on business trip, me stuck in HK alone.

Vanessa,
i enrol for your BF class lah.

bobianah,
Err.... I'm still nursing no.2, as she still sucks for comfort but not so frequent only, so still ongoing....

as for PD, sometimes I go to the Baby and Child Clinic near the bus interchange in Bt Batok, but I heard CCK also got one near the bus interchange which is very crowded and good also.... but usually, if time permits, I'll bring her to TMC, The Singapore & Child Clinic to consult Dr Ong, I find him good and informative...

Vanessa,

For newborn babies, how long do we usually hv to feed them on our breasts before we can make sure that they hv drink enough? How many hrs can they last to the next feed?

I am still blur about breastfeeding.. will be signing up for the BMSG breastfeeding workshop in Oct/Nov..

dey,
i tink is for member leh..nt so sure..u might wanna check it out..ya, im looing at the bouncer too..like very fun leh..haaha

jackie, choo,
wanna ask u..the techno XT u bgt hor..does it cm wif the organiser bag behind and the storage net below??

Hi Vanessa,

I tried the pump, but only press once, nothing came out leh.. I think Kimi was the one who tried and got something out..

yukiee,

from the pic,it looks like techno XT 2006 leh..aiyo..let me see from website..

me quite like the combi cardseat but too bad for memeber...the fisher price bouncer which dey like also quite good offer!