(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

Hahaha, but sometimes, when u see ppls child starts to attend such classes, u will feel like ur kids has been left out.... so, must hang on to those peer pressure.... I'm surpressing it....hahaha....

doremi,
ya lor. I rest & go out also these few days. ahaha i am totally fine the night when had accident but also go for full body check lar. wait got bruise or what also chiam. But i also got talk to bb ask bb dun scare.

sylk,
ya big big fright. i think i more frighten how hb gg to screw me for damaging his car manz.. tomolo i upload my car damage pic let u all see. & also the one who bumped me.
Ya i also was given a replacement to drive also. sooo malu i tell the workshop i dun dare drive auto car. ask the pax to oriente me before i drive out of his plc. ahaha
I also duno why i so calm.. I oso scare bleeding leh. cos after accident bb dun move...

starluster,
I dunno why i so calm. maybe i think no nid claim my hb insurnace so NCD not affected? haahahah i also duno. the lady who bumped me was shivering. even cant write down lorry particulars,i offered to help her write. i think i realli smth wrong leh. why so calm ar??

all mommies,
thanks thanks million thanks for ur concern.. i realli very happi & appreciated.. my bb also happi. now reading thread,she keep kicking me.

Sometimes I wonder how long can we chat on this forum? Till our kids are all schooling? Hmm... guess this will be our motherhood journal....
Now we are talking abt what education / childhood to provide for our little ones liao.... mayb next topic will be which primary sch to enrol....hahaha

Vanessa,
ha ha... can imagine yr mom's face... 8 granddaughters running around her!!! so you give up liao ah? my friend had 7 siblings coz her mom wanted so much to have a boy..... keep trying until no. 7!!!

jackie, shihui, vanessa,
ya... i used to think tat also leh... but worried i will give in to peer pressure... coz like everyone's learning stuffs and your own kid got not skills like tat... aiyo... later also turn into one of those KS mothers die...

BTW,
i recv newsletter from Isetan.. they gg to have BB fair from 1Sep - 24sep ar..shld be at Scotts one bah.. also selling the pigeon steriliser for $99 leh. Taka sells $129 with warmer right?? i din go down to buy cos sat resting at home. so my sis go down to bb fair & bot alot of stuff on behalf of me.
I also saw from newsletter 10% combi & dunno what other pdts..Maybe can go isetan website to d/l their newsletter for more info.

shihui, calynn,
i still feel that sisters can get along much better leh...hee hee...

calynn,
as for wearing elder sister's clothes hor....aiyoh...no choice leh...next time my baby gal grow up will also complain to me. cos the no. 1 dresses are still so new, so sure pass down to let no. 2 wear lor...hee hee... maybe CNY, birthday or other ocassion then buy new clothes for no.2, haha...I even more niao!!

vanessa, shihui,
I also didn't enrol my no.1 for any enrichment classes. Only tried to teach her piano at home. But recently she rejected, so I stop teaching her liao.

qwer,
haha, I nvr teach her anything, I just teach her how to be naughty with poster colours....hahaha... I think today I'm abit siao, keep "hahaha-ing".....

heard from my friend who give birth few mths back tat if one can oni start doing vigorous exercise on the 4th mth after giving birth. to ensure our sticthing area to fully recover 1st..

Serene,

ya, that's to ensure our womb has fully recover as well as the stitches lor...

qwer,
That's y I say I teach her how to be naughty...haha... but at least she learn that she can only play awhile and have to keep all the things before she washed up....

shihui,
i'm much better after yesterday resting...mayb hor, yesterday oredi abit breathless when reached office..then c my boss kept yelling at the new staff hor, i felt more breathless..haha...so 5 5 on leave loo~ ^^ thks for ur regards...^^

btw hor, i'm olso brought up in all girls family..hehe...i got 2 elder sisters n i'm the youngest..erm..the eldest one is 8yrs older n the other one is 5yrs older...(abit same as shihui, just dat i'm the youngest n shihui the eldest)..erm..when i was young, i like to wear wat my sis worn but my mum usually dun hand down my sis's clothings to me. last time, my mum used to handmade dresses for us then i rem dat i kept complaining dat how come my dresses always look different from my sis. 3 of us like to argue & fight alot but we tend to be rather close at times. my mum used to force us to apologise to each other when we quarrelled loo~ erm...tik tik har, quite miss those days...^^

jen,

u are really calm! thumbs up for you!
maybe cos of bb hence u appear exceptionally calm?! i presume tat one who bump u shd be GUY?? n tot can put blame on u cos u are lady?

vanessa,jackie,

i also tot of just letting my boy learn swimming leh..like wat jackie mentioned it is a life saving skill...
but looks like all coll ard me send their kids to MONTESSORI class at age 3!!learn phonics,music,interactive,etc etc!!

one mummy even transfer her boy from PAP at age 5 to montessori n the school fee is $1050 per term(3mths)!! i hear liao heart sink leh...i really dun want to sccumb to such learning things for my boy leh....i want him to have an enjoyable childhood...but like wat Vanessa said,it is hard to suppress the tots to send kids to such school cos deep inside,we are afraid tat they will lose out to their own peers...aiyo...tink of it i also stress....

choo,
I was told how good Montessori is but I will definitely not send my kids there, cos what I heard was, there's so much discipline and restriction, though will let the kids behave n learn well, but I think kids will still need there area of exposure, so i hate this kind of restriction, think sometimes naughty kids without restriction will be more clever than those with all these discipline and restriction cos they have more rooms for their creativity rather than follows the rules n regulation is everything.... So boring like that.... it's definitely a NO, NO for both my hubby n myself!

talking abt loosing out to own peers hor, lately i've been wondering abt our kids loo..recently i see many many preggies...tink all are doggies kids loo. i wonder hor, when our bb enrolled sch or childcare hor, dunnoe got vacancies not n hor, ours are dec kids mah...many of my frens said very lugi leh cos jan 06 de bb oredi start learning leow, ours still in tummy developing..haiz...but i tell myself loo, usually top students in sch or class are not those born in the beginning of the year de so actually no difference lah.. somehow will feel abit stress when i tink of the competition in academic works cos reallly alot of doggies bbies loo...

choo,
i heard tat Montessori is a very good school leh.. coz it teaches the kid how to be independent on top of just regular books...

anyway, sometimes it's difficult to tell at this stage... just the other day, a friend was relating how her colleague moved house just to stay within 1km of the school tat she wanted her kid to enrol in.

then when the kid didn't get in, she rented a condo tat's even nearer to the school...

i was telling her tat i dun tink i would do tat... but hope tat i stay with the same mind set when my kid is born...

doremi,
dun worry abt our dec bb lose out to jan bbs. I oso born in dec and in sch i was very fierce and bully pple type. =P i oso dun think jan bbs are any "smarter" just becos they have "headstart". Me, i wasn't top student...only average...cos lazy abt studying not bcos born in dec. hahahaha!

vanessa,
i agreed wif u though i feel kiasu at times loo...in fact, i was tinking of sending my kid to m'sia since my hubby is m'sian. somehow feel dat he will be more carefree there n tend to be more "streetsmart" or "kampung smart"?? i heard so many wonderful childhood dat my hubby had when he was young eg like catching fishes in ponds, rearing spiders, climbing trees, etc. very unlike in sg de childhood loo~ now i c my nephews all keep playing pc games, psp, ps2...haiz...then when they c real life animals or insects hor, they are like me very "sua ku"..haiz....worst of all, when we c insects flying around, we scream like siao..hahahaha...^^ very "unman"..haha....^^

Vanessa,

I applaud you n your hubby for able to resist tat...
i hope we can too!furthermore I will only be SAHM for only one year or most 18mths then may find work lor..cos hubby's income can't support me n boy..(he still DARE talk abt second one!!) if i have work wil have more cash..so 'MIGHT' have the temptation to give in to those so called'good schools'...sigh...
spore is so tough hor...young kids ald exposed to so much stress....

doremi,
yalor.. i think i more worried abt competition for a place in childcare and primary school! haha! Bb not born oredi think abt competition for enrollment in sch! Cos, like u said, looks like a lot of preggie women leh! Maybe becos we preggie, hence we tend to notice other preggie women. I always very relieved when I find out some preggie women, bb due next yr jan or feb... cos it means their bb not competition for us! aiyoh! like a bit siao to think lidat! haha!

bobianah,
at 1st hor, i thot i pregnant so i c many preggies but hor, dun tink so leh, really got alot...normal days hor, i go work then c many leow then their tummy bigger than mine so i tink they will due earlier than mine...then hor, if go bb fair, i c more preggies...erm..then i olso siao like dat keep imagining dat i may nid to queue overnite for the enrollment of sch..hahahaha...^^

Jen,
Aiyo, how can you be so cool and clam???? Salute u lor.

Choo, Vanessa,
Let hope we wont fall into the peer pressure trap ba

Do anyone watch "Super Nanny"??? It a show that teaches parents how to displince their kids. That nanny is really GOOD. I have learn a "naughty" corner from the show

Vanessa,
u n ur hubby really gd leh.. can resist all the temptation.. currently me n hubby onli tok tok lah.. can't imagine if we will still think likewise in future anot.. :p

i look at my SIL i stress liao.. now my nephew so young (3 years plus) already go to those brain development class n swimming lesson liao.. den she said in future when enroling for pri sch, she will go rent a flat near to the school so tt can enter... wah.. i listen liao faint ah...

doremi,
haha.. dun worry lah.. i think the one year delay in learning for dec bb will be compensated over the years lah... by the time reach pri sch, all shd be abt the same liao lah..

sometimes i hope bb will inherit his daddy's brain.. dun inherit mine.. lousy quality.. heee~ :p

jackie,
heard about this show... but didn't watch it yet... when n which channel is it showing?

shihui,
ya... a lot of pple doing tat... best are the rich ones lah... donate lots of money then dun have to worry... others do volunteer work lor...

shihui,
rent a flat & stay near the school can meh? later MOE found out, the child kana expell from school, worse ah....

but, is pri sch really tt impt? i was in a gd pri sch... but ended up average onli... my hubby is in those neighbourhood pri sch... but he's far far far much better than me... :p

one of my vendor's son born in nov, then he oso gancheong if his son will 'lose' out to others so he went to ask the gynae... the gynae's reply : i am a dec bb :p anyway, the gynae say by primary 2 there will be no difference liao...

anyway comparing dec06 babies and jan07.. i rather my baby born in dec; coz if not lugi one whole year at school. like one of my cousin born on the 1st Jan... if a few hours earlier, she would have finish schooling one year earlier!

choo,
no.. the car behind me was a lady driver..

jackie,
i 1st time accident leh. somemore at a loss how ar? nid to take what particulars ar. Maybe my character is that type ya-ya one lor. heck care one lor. so my character is calm. ahhaa

hello,
din hv time to come in here regularly for the past 2 days. today's topic is primary schools?!

doremi,
speaking of being unused to animals, my neighbour was complaining to me that when his twin boys first saw a cow in malaysia at 3 yrs old, they called the cow a dog, cos they hv only seen dogs n cats, n cows resembled dogs more than cats. he said he almost fainted, so he enrolled his children in those pre-school classes immediately.

shihui,
same, same, i was fr a gd pri school, hubby fr a neighbourhood pri school, we still ended up in the same jc, same u, same masters course.
i always wonder whether pri school makes that much of a difference, but my friends tell me that the world has changed, better schools hv better teachers, better discipline n more resources for eca n supplementary courses, so it's apparently worthwhile to fight for pri school places.

my fd stay in sembawang now...n they are moving to Toa Payoh end of next year leh..so tat their son can have a better chance to get into a good pri sch there! their son only 22mths!!

shihui,

hmm..for me i would tink a good pri school lays the foundation leh.But of cos there are exceptions that neighbourhood pri school can produce good students..but then better school can be more competitive so students will be motivated to work harder...hmm..aiyo i dun want good pri school near my hse :p

On behalf of our Dec BBs, it is great being a Dec BB! Here are some benefits (from a born in dec, dec MTB):
1) it's always holiday time when it is ur birthday, no exams to worry abt, always holiday mood
2) can be the "bb in class" cos the youngest
3) all your frens become "older" one by one, u are still "younger"
4) when everyone worry abt getting old, u are the youngest in the group
5) Dec weather is cooler and nicer
6) U can perform as well as those born earlier in the year, so shd be not bad ba?

the list goes on!

och
haha! i oso go neighbourhood sch in pri and sec... then study all the way till masters liao... but, our time different lor... now good sch hv more resources... that's why kids getting smarter and smarter... i think ah, one day everyone maybe have PhD!!

But i think other than sch, home environment oso plays a very very impt role. There are many top scholars who go neighbourhood pri n sec school. only JC then in top sch and become top scholars...usually their home environment parents are supportive lor...

jen,

So glad. Both u and bb are fine.
U are so calm.

dey,
I also find the course very expensive and the lady that pick up my call is not very friendly. On top of that, their course dun seems to cover much. My friend recommend that I go KK. Their antenatal course only $150 for non-kk patient. More classes and their coverage is better too.
For more info, their website is http://www.kkh.com.sg/EventsnClasses/ForPatientsandPublic/Classes/Event%20Details.aspx?EventGuid=f0e2500f-0e9c-4256-90fa-a9122ed0c50b

erm..i'm from neighbourhood pri sch too...i met frens from very good schs when i'm in poly loo~ tink same lah..

choo,
toa payoh got good schs meh? erm..only noe dat got one good sch CHIJ there...i lived in toa payoh since i was borned...then i will b moving to toa payoh earliest next yr or yr 2008 cos my flat is still under construction...now renting a unit loo~ haiz....tik i will cin cai enrol my boy to any schs dat is convenient to us loo~ heard dat good schs got many homeworks very stress de. anyway, tink lately got many top students were from neighbourhood's schs...guess we dun worry too much 1st....sekali, till then we still post msgs in forum asking abt our kids' homeworks...hehe...^^

Bobianah,
I agree with u lor.. Dec babies doesn't mean will lose out to the rest of the babies..with loving mummies like us, i am sure they will do as well as the others..

Jenny,
This morning when i called Gleneagles there was this lady who picked up the call and said she was not free to talk to me now and will get someone to call me back..dun like her tone..quite rude in fact..but the lady who called me back after that is quite friendly..

I also find KKH antenatal classes cover more things and cheaper too..are u joining the KKH one?

och,
oO...kids looking at cows said is dogs..tink my nephew hor, last time olso very funny..he dunnoe how the real chicken look like until we bring him to zoo..then he keep "wow..oh...scary oh~" hahaha...tik really sua ku loo~ then when i go to m'sia to visit my in-laws dat time, i olso very sua ku..on the way c cows..i keep "wow..cows ah..." then my in-laws got rear some "ketai chickens" (short short de chickens - pets lai de, very colourful de)...i can't help but very sua kua de keep admiring the colourful chickens loo~ tink my in-laws keep laughing kua...:p

dey & jenny,
kkh cheap meh?? I am from KKH lar. my gynae of cos encourage me to go cos i 1st time mommy mah. but my hb not keen to go with me. so i also dun go class liao. i think 10 lesson leh.. i find it very long.. TMC oni 6 lesson..

Jen,

KKH is cheap as compared to Gleneagles which cost $189 for 4 classes in total..but i feel the coverage for KKH is better...my hubby also cannot make it in Sep.. so i will most prob go for the Oct classes...

dey, jenny, jen,
KKH antenatal class cheaper...and topics covered more. i gave birth at GlenE last time & attended KKH antenatal class. Go lah...they teach u stretching exercises to stretch pelvic & strengthen back to reduce backache etc.

choo,
quite true lah.. got to admit tt my pri sch lay a gd foundation for me.. not academic wise (as i went to a super lousy neighbourhood sec sch) but moral values etc.. mine is hokkien huey kuan sch mah.. so alot of happenings one.. so far, i enjoyed my pri sch education most.. :p

doremi, och,
wondering if any hokkiens here.. dog in hokkien sounds like cow... :p anyway, same here.. sua ku oso.. when i went australia.. i was trying to act cool when i saw a whole field of cow.. but hubby destroyed everything.. he kept taking photos of cow with his camera.... den kept pointing to me.. "see.. got cow leh.. wah.. there got sheeps leh... wah.. baby sheep leh..." *faint* the rest of the ang mos in the group dun even bother looking at the cows... :p

doremi, luckily ur nephew din say "chicken got feather one ah?" :p

qwer,
but if i go alone i paiseh leh. like machiam single parent lidat. ahahha. So i decide not to go. my colleagues also tell me not neccessary to go cos both also din go. they say when give birth liao nurse will again teach u how to bf & bath bb. but of cos stretching of pelvic i dunno lor.

shihui,
actually hor, if u din mention abt the "feather" thing hor...i almost forget y we bring our nephew to zoo leow..my nephew initially really thot dat chicken got no feathers like those "frozen chicken" we bought from supermarket. even when we show him the pixs of how chicken look like, he somehow dun really trust us loo..dat's y we bring him to zoo...tink dat time..he was 5 or 6 yrs old...

Shihui,
I even more suan ku lor.. even see cows in Malaysia I would be excited lor
501856.gif

Gwer,
So the whole class at KKH will last for 10 weeks since got 10 lessons? That would mean we need to start lastest by Sep else will pop before we can complete the whole course...

Jen,
Can ask your mother or mother in law to go with you..thats what stated in their webbie...but usually those lessons given by the nurses after birth would be those short and brief ones right?

jenny/dey,

wow kkh's antenatal classes so long??!!9 lessons!n only on weekdays evening? quite rush hor...

me taking tmc one cos mrs wong boi boi very famous there
starting this week liao! getting excited abt the classes!

jen,
i olso din enrol the antenatal class ~ :p hehe...i only manage to enrol the BF workshops nia..hehe..i heard dat bathing n taking of bb can learn from CL and hor my fren told me dat even though she went to attend antenatal class to learn abt the stretching n breathing techniques for delivery, she forgotten everything when she deliver...too painful to recall anything?? erm...she advised me not to go lah..but hor, my hb's colleague said dat the antenatal class is quite beneficial to 1st time parents cos there's many things to learn loo~ haiz...tik depends on individuals kua. for me, i dun tink i can put so much info into my head...^^

yukiee

You too? Yeah...I kept farting the whole night too.
Only when I managed to get something out in the morning did my tummy feel better.

I used to be able to poo poo everyday before preggie, now it's like once in 2 days.