(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

okies.. maybe just kiv those first... i usually get the impulse to just buy what i remember seeing what other ppl have... must open eyes to stuff for bf instead... cooler bag, milk bag (btw wats the diff btw milk bag n milk bag liner?) etc...

calynn,
i went to read the review for that book... personally i feel it sounds quite harsh on baby. anyway like most other methods.. usually got 2 schools of opposing thoughts. like swadling the baby, some ppl say its good, some say its restrictive. or sleeping in sarong. or having pacifier. for me, i will just read up all and decide which one i feel is more correct to me.

vanessa,
i mean is it from now onwards, baby head shld start to turn downwards liao..u mre experienced mah..heehe

choo,
yalor..hehe...think we must set our minds "equal" to both sexes..haha...^^

btw hor, at 1st i want a boy cos my hb wants boy as 1st child mah then hor, lately c many sweet sweet n cute cute de girls....feel dat i want girls....T.T haiz.....

yukiee,

oh...ok, sorry, misunderstand liao, I'm also not so sure but I dun think so early lah, mayb last month then the head is down...

Today's postings moving very fast...

Me also hate the confinement kind of food eg vinegar, trotters etc. Die liao.

Currently I have to wash my hair everyday too, cos hair gets itchy everyday (maybe worse cos its curly hair?) But I am so afraid that if I don't follow close enough I will suffer in old age. I am very whiny when it comes to pain so if next time I started having joint pains I will definitely complain.

Wby 3rd trimester got MS again? Is this normal?

Yesterday my hubby ask me to go yoga again. Then I ask him its because he misses the yoga or Maxwell, he said Maxwell .... ahhahaa..cos we always go Maxwell for lunch after yoga. ahahhahaa

Wow Dora, you mean you manage to get a CL at this time? Lucky you!

My 3rd trimester is still 1 month away..eheheheh

So far I had gotten the Avent manual pump but don't 'dare' to take out and try out. Just in case if really cannot breastfeed I can still sell it as brand new set :p.

Qianhui, u wana try kegel exercise to see if it helps to prevent the urine from coming out? What I read from somewhere is that if you know you are going to sneeze, consciously cletch (sp?) the muscles underneath.

Any mommies not taking Neurogain Fish Oil and Obimin? My gynae never ask me to take any of this, nor iron tablets. But I got calcium and multi vits from her. But is it enough?

Hahaha..Shihui, you are so funny. You mean you drink milk and then burp out? Or never drink milk also burp out milk :p

choo, you are like my hubby. When we go western countries, he will want to go to Chinatown in search of Chinese food. It drives me crazy cos I will never travel so far just to get food.

Why some of your babies already turning down? Isn't it abit too early? Or will the bb turn up again?

Very sian... one more colleague resign and seems that management does not want to hire a replacement again so the remaining 2 of us have to spread out the workload which means a 50% increase in workload!

vanessa,
u are our in-house guru, tat's why most question directed at u

Qianhui,
ya agreed, but like so cartoon like that, where got so much time to prepare so beautifully.... hahaha, for me, u want u eat, dun want forget abt it...haha... that's for my kids.... haha....

Starluster,
haha, don't target me leh, just share share ur experience and wat u have learn, cos sometimes the things I do mayb rite mayb wrong, will need a reference point to ensure it's rite

starluster,

cos my mum is e very "i'm e expert when it comes to looking after bb" kind cos she used to be a bb-sitter mah. for these past few mths since she knew i'm preg, she's been talking bt how i shld feed, wat i shld buy etc etc. a lot o her info nt updated one lor. my n hubby very particular bt child rearing n we read alot on parenting. i've finished 2 books liao n still searching websites etc etc.... if 1 or 2 things my mum wanna do her way, i dun mind. but almost everything she said bt child rearing, i can dispute thru facts lor. o cos i din lah, din want 2 hurt her feelings. so better avoid conflicts mah. me n hubby really want to take care bb ourselves.

my mil is e chim chay kind. she said she noes we're more knowledgeable now n will go attend antenatal classes. she said she won't interfere cos she trusts tt we noe wat 2 do. but of cos she'll help when we ask.

whereas my mum kept saying "u surely can't handle one". main thing is she insist i sleep thru e nite n she'll bottle feed bb w expressed milk. by i die die dun want. cos like vanessa said, wld haf nipple confusion, n i read in a book tt some nutrients r lost w frozen milk. n latching on promotes bonding. got a lot o other things tt i dun agree w lah, but now can only smile n listen n bluff my mum tt my mil doing confinement 4 me.

in fact, my hubby told his mum tt we r bluffing my mum oso. so funny. but my mil ok ok one.

qianhui, shihui, doremi,

i oso scared try e pump liao got thing come out. cos i already haf a bit o liquid coming our fr my nipples liao. dunno wat it is...

i bought e avent isis manual on e go set, thru internet. cheaper. shld b coming tmr. altho i wanna latch on exclusively but after a while sure need to go out or there'll b times when me n bb r apart, then can EBM lor.

i opposite fr u all, i'm so looking 4ward 2 breast feeding in public, o cos discreetly lah. cos i find it such a beautiful thing 2 do. it'll be like an achievement 4 me. it's my hubby who's kinda opposed 2 e idea.

kimi,
the substance from ur nipple is colostrum.... so u don;t need to worry now whether u got milk, cos u already start dripping....

vanessa,

actually we 1st time mummies here lucky to have u, geri and qwer (did i miss out anyone else??) to have u experienced mummy to advice/guide us

plus of coz the rest who read up n share info or good deals or just to share share our feelings/experience.. sometimes share w hubby he oso dont understand... share w colleagues, they think i paranoid... so v glad to haf to forum just to yak yak..

anyway... monday is over!!! yipee

Starluster,
ya, at least got a forum for us to pass our days, it's like hell slow everyday except for weekend, that's hell fast man!!

vanessa,

after delivery,we won't have milk flow right?only colostrum right?can bb survive on tat only? so we dun have to bring breast pump to hospital?thanks!

kimi,

u lucky to have such understanding mil!

my hubby joke joke that if his mum is here for my confinement, she will make ME cook the confinement food for HER to eat! hehehe... he joke joke but then he say dont laugh... it's very possible tat his mum will do that. :X

choo,
bb got reserves to last for a week, so they can survive on that only, but it u who can take it or not, cos during this period of time, ppl will keep telling u, u got no milk lah, bb not having enough lah, etc.... it's only u persist and pass this stage then likely hood to be successful in breastfeeding..... anyway, hospital can borrow u the pump, no need to bring.... we only produce 5ml of colostrum each feed and that's what the bb needs.

vanessa,

yeah! so happy! breastfeeding shld b fun.

starluster,

ya, i'm quite lucky. y ur mil like tt one? but at least ur hubby understands his own mum. got hubby support can liao.

my mil oso said confinement's nt tt tough lah. during her time, she stayed w her mil but she had to cook her own confinement food. worse, after cooking, her mil will ask her own daughters to go n eat. end up she cooking for e whole family. so bad rite? like grandson leave e mother's womb liao, dun need to care bt mother. sigh...

Vanessa,

thanks!!
tink my mum won't inteferre in my b/f..it's my MIL!! tat time she still pass ntuc voucher to my hubby ask us buy pampers and MILK POWDER for bb!!

Vanessa,

sigh...just hope she won't get on my nerves..hope she wont bring her sisters up to my hse during my confinement n start poking her noses into my issue!! if not i sure scream at her!! aiyo hope i really can relax n b/f without stress!! if not got post natal blues then all thanks to her!!

vanessa,

ha ha... ok ok... i will do my best. n it's hardly unlikely i'll fall into e 5% (?) o women who can breast feed, i mean, e odds r small, so i'm quite confident lah. i mean, can get past labour, sure can get past sore nipples?

choo,

ya lor. mothers n their sisters. very very scary. tt's y me n hubby already plan for our bb's shower already. cannot haf it at home cos so many relatives will come n look ard. when u're surrounded by so many aunties telling 'must to this', 'like this cannot' etc etc, can die. just got e 'aunties + mum" treatment yesterday. i won't blow my top, but my hubby will. so haf e celebration at restaurant better. 4 me, it's my own relatives who r nosey, my hubby's side chim chay.

plus, still got so many little kids. everytime got relatives n their kids come my place, sthg will spoil. my 2 blinds kena pulled until spoiled by my own cousins during house warming.... then my niece wld grab my cds fr e shelves n throw them all over e place... headache... last time b4 i got married, my auntie came over to our place n sat on e glass coffee table n broke it! u say scary or not?

u say scary or not?

Vanessa,

ok! will remain positive so tat milk flow will be smooth!!

kimi,

yup lor..those san gu liu po one lor!! i have been pissed with them on n off leh ....over some issue..sigh...but dun want hubby stuck in middle so i try to be broad minded n close one eyes lor...

me just calle robinson,the nursery fair end on 15 sept! so may go down see see car seat if got time!

ok hubby here liao! see u!

Busy busy... lucky almost 6 liao.... can look forward to going home and ending Monday!!

Kimi,
wah... your family really terror... i admire your ability to put up with them... if it's me, i would have gone crazy liao...

but my tactic is to just smile and nod my head when i hear advices like tat... after tat then filter lor... with these aunties, the more you protest, the more comments they make!!!

calynn,

i just smile lor. but bcos i've been doing tt for so long, everybody thinks i dunno anything one. tt's y they spoke so confidently tt I 'surely cannot handle e bb one'. even my mum thinks so lor. i'm e compliant kind, even if i tink otherwise, i'll just try 2 do their way to maintain peace n harmony. but no ppl think i've got no opinions. sigh...

but bringing up my own kid is diff wat. somemore, kid belongs to my hubby. btw, they wldn't consider my hubby's side one. tt's y my aunt can ask my mum to 'chop' to do confinement so tt my mil can't do. they fail to see tt it's nt wat i want too. thye all tot i'll be happy if my mum does confinement. but i still smile n keep quiet.

Kimi,
u family really difficult to manage... with the aunts coming into pic as well... R u staying near them?

I dun usually do things their way... sometimes when relatives give suggestions, i will just nod my head... then go home and do things my own way...
... anyway, they can't see mah... next time got bb.. can make excuses to avoid too many family gatherings....

i quite lucky... my mom's side of the family quite chin chye... n we seldom meet up with in-law coz hubby very busy with work...

also, my mom already worn out by my sis liao... coz she is the super argumentative and modern type of mummy... everything must do her way... so she's already train my mom to close one eye instead!! ha ha...

tat's a good thing about being the last child to bear a grandchild... not so excited for them anymore... so not so many comments...

yah.. i think so long as got hubby support enuf liao. when we first paktor he always tell me stories abt his mum coz he say he wanted to mentally prepare me first, and i thought that he misunderstood her intentions, and i always argue with him on her behalf.. but when i meet her liao, then i know his stories are real.. anyway, she is not in sg la so i dont have to meet her often. just afraid she will suddenly pop up at my doorstep after i deliver and use the excuse of wanting to see the baby...

oh well, keep my fingers crossed

kimi, wahh.. u very confident abt bf... me really wanna bf but afraid will succumb to pain and give up. when i think of sore nipple n engorgement n dunno wat else... shiver shiver... but must really persevere for baby sake.

calynn,

i stay in sembawang. my mum, 1 aunt n 1 uncle stay w/in walking distance in marsiling. quite near lor. but my mil nearer, in yishun.

i'm looking 4ward to avoiding family gatherings too. but they sure come visit one lah. how i wish my mum oso nt as excited.

starluster,

dunno y leh but i tink it shld b alrite. in any case, let's just try our best lor so tt we won't haf regrets. persevere n persevere.

Date: 15 Sep (Fri) dinner OR 16 Sep (Sat) lunch OR 22nd Sep (Fri) Dinner OR 23rd Sep (Sat) lunch

1. Doggiebb - ALL can
2. Doremi - 15 or 16 also can
3. Dey - 15 or 23
4. Jackie - 16
5. Qianhui - 23 can't too (need to wait for my Amosco goods).. 22 after work can?
6. Choo - both can't
7. Geri - 16
8. Calynn - 16
9. Shihui - 15, 16 or 22
10. MBB - both can't
11. Vanessa - 23
12. och - 22.

hv to collect eclairs fr Qianhui on 23rd, n 14 is my anniversary date, so dunno whether i will be celebrating on 15 or 16.

i juz came back fr bb's kingdom.. went look at both aprica n combi strollers.. :p the sales there very jialet leh... when i ask y aprica cost so much more than combi, she can't answer... she juz said tt aprica not worth it.. kept asking me to take combi.... but i was thinking there muz be something abt aprica tt let pple wish to spend so much on it mah...

1. Doggiebb - ALL can
3. Dey - 15 or 23
4. Jackie - 16
5. Qianhui - 22
6. Choo - both can't
7. Geri - 16
8. Calynn - 16
9. Shihui - 15, 16 or 22
10. MBB - both can't
11. Vanessa - 23
12. och - 22.

Hi Shihui,

Me not sure either, but I read in some thread that says Combi not very good at balancing.. End up the stroller doesn't seem to weight as light as it's supposed to claim. And coz of the weight again, when hang things on the handle it topple easily or lost balance easily, etc.. And Combi made in China, etc.. I dunno how true lah.. Dunno how to see also.. But I find some quite plasticky look only lor.

The Combi seems to hv bigger basket then Aprica like.. Can put more things :p

Combi cheaper lor, but the Combi I saw at Tom and Stephanie isn't that cheap too.. $500 plus leh..

Qianhui,
ya lor... agree with u.. combi not exactly tt cheap too... a gd combi cost $500 plus lor.. tt's y thinking if i shd get the 2nd hand aprica...

hai~~ the seller now said tt there's someone else interested in the stroller too.. ask us to confirm asap.. aiyo.. caught in between... worried tt i will miss a gd buy.. :p prob is teh aprica stroller is half canopy... if sun shining, cannot really block sun.. :p

Ladies.
Wow, so much to caugh up.....

Qianhui,
Have a good laugh when i read abt your testing the pump. Hahaha, maybe i shall try it out one of the day

1. Doggiebb - ALL can
3. Dey - 15 or 23
4. Jackie - 16 and 23
5. Qianhui - 22
6. Choo - both can't
7. Geri - 16
8. Calynn - 16
9. Shihui - 15, 16 or 22
10. MBB - both can't
11. Vanessa - 23
12. och - 22.

Hi Yukiee n Bloom...

I jus happened to ask my gynae the position of my bb...cos I wanna at least guess whether the movemts r caused by his hands or legs mah...

I guess tat the position of the bb wil stil b changin...as long as the head is downwards when its nearer to the EDD...tatz not much concern...

<font color="0000ff">Morning Ladies,</font>
*yawn*.....
500570.gif
How's every1 2day? Tue....sigh...

That day some1 was mentioning abt the pigeon air-filled rubber sheet right? Can't remember which lady was mentioning....anyway, I was at Compass Point Metro last nite &amp; saw it!!
Still a lot of stocks! Pigeon air-filled rubber sheet selling at $12.20. Currently Metro is also having <font color="aa00aa">STOREWIDE SALE!!</font> Less 20%!!

Morning Ladies,
aiyo, have been so tired these few days......N IT'S ONLY TUESDAY TODAY!!!!!

qwer,
how come u got this icon one? how u do it?

Hi Choo, dun worry about your milk flow... just remember to latch bb on as often as you can... and that will help to stimulate your milk to prepare for milk......
Everyone is different, some people's milk come in earlier than others, but typically it's normal for milk to start coming in 3-4 days later... In the beginning, you will only have colostrum (yellow in colour) and remember dun feed your bb water or anything else.. just keep latching... try to get more information on how to get a good latch (which is one of the important factor in successful bf-ing)....
You may also wan to consider going for a talk at BMSG to get more information......ask your hubby to go along also...will give him more insight.....
go to http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg ..think the next workhop series start on 28 Oct.... so you can still make it....
They will give you more information.. and armed with information, you will not be influenced by negative comments, as you know what is correct and what is not.
So, dun fret too much...

Qianhui, Shihui, but my sis highly recommended Combi cos she said its light and cheap and her overweight 4 year old still using it. She got hers many years ago (some outdated model I think) selling at $100+

I thought Combi had the smallest basket? It is so pathetic I think I can only put one diaper inside :p

I think the concern with half canopy is more of heavy rain esp during Decemeber monsoon season right?

Fizz, I also wana ask my gynae about the position of my bb, cos like always kicking quite below rather than nearer to belly button.

qwer, I think we are talking about the cloth sheet kind. Your rubber sheet means the blue colour kind right? Did you mention to see that at Metro too?

I also cannot wait for the weekend to come! Its my glucose test this Saturday!

Yesterday hubby was watching that da nan ren xiao nan ren and he laughed cos the Huang Wenyong character pretend to watch TV to avoid his wife. Reminds me of that time when hubby watch TV till late at night when I want to TTC too
So now angry at him.

Vanessa,
Oh I 'collected' some icons as &amp; when I see cute ones. I save the icon as jpeg in my folder. When I need to use it, jus upload attachment, and call out this filename &amp; attach the icon here lor...

hi everyone!!

it's only Tuesday! but still better than Monday!!

elmo,

thanks for your words...wil try go for the talk at BMSG
u take good care!!

hmm..last night bb kept kicking n very strong kicks!!tink i lied left i can feel him kick both left n right! aiyo!! i dun know how many times i kept changing my sleeping positions lor..then kept woke up pee too...now..like zombie...

Bloom,
The pigeon rubber sheet I saw is not the blue. It's off-white or slightly cream colour. The material is not smooth type...got 'bubble-like' thing popping out one...

Your baby kicking below? Mine kicking higher up towards my gastric area nowadays. I also wan2 ask my gynae the baby's position in my next visit.