(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

hi kimi,
glad to know Mandy's throat is fine now. tat time jav on food strike for 2mth plus. also dun wan to eat meat n vege. He only eat plain rice n drink soup. he would spit out the food he didnt like. Until now he still dun like to eat meat. but lucky he still eat fish.

stephanie,

hehe i really have no idea leh...he just all of a sudden know how to suck from straw.maybe he know he is ready?? cos earlier i tried many times he really cant handle at all..
think just give yr boy some time...he will surprise you soon!!

Dora!!

hehe thanks thanks!! i realy cant suppress my happiness!!!
now drink milk he can just finish up in 5mins

Jav will be attending chid care this coming Tuesday. mi veri excited. Hope he can adapt to the environment there. Imagine how many times i been to the childcare.. see the environment, talk to the teachers n branch director, bring jav to see his school, update the teacher in charge jav's daily habits. these days been telling jav tat he will be attending school wif many friends. He will have many playmates to play with. N most important, mummy n daddy will definitely fetch him home at the end of the day. thou he kept nodding his head, hope tat he really understand wat i say. keke.. will keep u update after his 1st day of cc.

dora, i mean distributor as in ask those pp to ship in, not ask ur hb to carry all in... then u help to distribute and sell.ahhaha... but tough since u have ur own job now... i know there is nothing wrong with kate..but kkh seems to be ni ke sha chuo, bu ke fang guo... at least cc got that mcys search URL that u gave me..i dont even know wher are the playgrps near my pl!!!! and i think still gota take leave and go there and check right? does playgrp need an adult to be around with the kid?

och..ahh... made kena referred there only to hear the therapist say that there is no need? thats crazy (wasting pp's time and effort)! btw, rem the last time u ask me abt the mattress protector? so which one did u get in the end?

alabone, ur MIL still staying with u? i expect kate to be those talking non stop next time too!

berry..ahhaha..u r so funi..can immediately know that och is looking for u....

afcai, jackie, i know... just buay tahan that kkh... hope the speech therapist lost the referral form :p

any of u mommies going to playgrp (not cc)..can advise how to shortlist?

choo, wahh.. ivan finished all his milk using straw??? so shiok!

kimi, u mean last time mandy swallow all the food even if she doesnt like them? she is so guai!!!!!

serene, cool abt jav attending cc..let us know how it goes ok? so its the cc with ur co?

Kimi

Glad to know that Mandy is ok now... aiyo eating plain rice... JT was at that stage when she was having phobia of food... it was an absolute nitemare!!! Hopefully Mandy will overcome her fear soon.

Choo
Wah 5 min!! Now JT will drink milk from straw lah... but must coax like mad then she'll drink lor... must watch her fav barney then I threaten to switch off then she'll drink... and not much also.... only 120-180ml each time.. sometimes 120ml also cannot finish!! but ok lah, already much better than last time... but she can drink better when she sees other pple drink milk, like when we were in the Taka nursery room.... she'll just guai guai drink... no wonder she can finish all her milk in cc... this JT hor....

Serene
Wow!!! Tomorrow is Jav's big day!!! No worries lah, I think he is quite a friendly boy, he shouldn't have problems. But just have to build up his immune system, like take cod liver oil or stg... JT really fell sick 2x in the 1st month, so this is something you have to be prepared. But after that touchwood she has been ok... cos I still latch her on morning and nite to give her a little bit of breastmilk so that she has some antibodies.

Bloom
Aiyo... bring all those allergy free food in, no business one leh... cos no demand in singapore.....
You should put Kate in a playgroup near the babysitter's house so that she can go fetch kate rt? Some childcares also offer playgroup.... those 2 hrs type... you go to the mcys website then search for the ones near you, then you call them and ask? I know kinderland offers 2 hrs playgroup.
Another very popular playgroup is the AppleTree, I always see the banners near my house. Found one at woodlands here.... but dunno good or not
http://appletree.com.sg/playgroup/registration/pg_reg_woodlands.htm
There is also a thread on playgroup in woodlands, but seems like its "dead" liao, see if you can find some useful info
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353635/333261.html?1185266971
Of cos you need to go and check out the place for the playgroup lah, cos you need to be at least comfortable with the teachers and the environment mah...I guess same as CC lah.... the teachers must at least speak proper english and sound confident.... food won't be an issue in playgroup.... but look at the curriculum... children this age should have more music and movement and art and craft..... playgroup dun need adults to accompany them....
Found a MCYS search service for kindergarten as well.....
http://app.mcys.gov.sg/web/serv_dss_main_result_region_vm.asp
But you need to call and ask cos not all kindergarten have playgroups, like PCF only starts from nursery.

By the way, the speech therapist, if you dun go, they also cannot do anything one mah?

bloom,
misunderstanding! speech therapy is part of made's long term treatment. the reason for her going to therapy is quite different fr kate's.

i think the neonate is just ks lah, so referred u to speech therapist. i think if u go for speech therapy, the therapist will just tell u to talk more to kate.

Hi Ladies...

Alabone...

Take care yah...n enjoy the most of yr 3mth break...but wow...itz like hvg 6mth leave...

Bloom...

Cae's pd advised us tat it was oni necessary to refer a child to a speech therapist if the child cldnt speak at 2yo...so no worries lor...as all other mummies hd advised...

Wat do u nid to now abt playgrps...I tink it basically boils down to wat u wan for Kate...how do u wan her to learn...wat kinda environmt do u wan her to b...r there any area which u wan her to further enhance...budget...proximity...timin...the list goes on...I can share wif u thru PM or MSN if u really wan to noe my decision process for Cae in detail lor...nothin special...jus sharin...

Choo...

I can understand yr joy...Cae surprised me a few days ago by holdin a cup n drinkin fm it at a cafe...it was jus a few sec of fame tinky...b4 he ploped the cup on the flr wif water streamin down his body...but my-oh-my...I almost burst wif pride for the entire evenin...

Kimi...

Sorry to learn abt Mandy's scalded throat oni now...I hope tat her throat n appetite hv recovered by now...

Serene...

Jav is a big boy liao...

Mummies whose totz r in JG PlayClub Forum/Evans...

I wld appreciate it if u cld share wif me the English lead teacher of yr tot...is she gd...at ease wif totz...dramatic...expressive...love totz...

U may PM me since tis may b sensitive info...

The reason is cos Cae used a hv a fab teacher at PlayNest...n I wld like to find out more abt other teachers there...

TIA...

BARRY IS OUT!!!! BARRY IS OUT!!!! he is out yterday at 11.15am
his weight is 2.68kg!!! yipeeee!!! beri gd weight!!! kimi is natural birth n didnt use epidural at all keke very brave lah dat woman keke

wait for her 2 update u ladies with more of her birth story n barry n mandy.

oso heard from kimi, mandy loves barry!!!! wanna sayang him, wan him 2 go home with her, so sweet n cute...awwwwwwwwwwwwwww

I know you won't see this for a while but Congrats Kimi!! Now gotta remember to take care of urself and not just your two babies!

I just read ur blog... so er...ur hubby did miss his lecture?? hehe :p nvrmd lah...nothing more impt than his babies

oh yah, any mummies giving ur kids Enfagrow A+?
Used to cost $44.80 at NTUC. Now they came up with come new range... 4xDHA... cost $51 usual price leh, tho now offer $50. Wah... do kids really need that much DHA? hahaha

Kimi,
Gong xi gong xi........Without epidural!!! U really steady ah

Today is Jovey 1st day to school (playgroup). This boi hor, other tods sit down n listen to story he run around. And when it time to sit around the table for drawing session, he start to climb the table. Otherwise he will be busy pushing the little tikes stroller. When it time for outdoor play, he CHEONG AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH *FAINT*.

Lucky the teacher told me that its normal for our tod to be restless. Must give him 1-2 mths to settle down. Am keeping my finger cross

kimi,
Congrats!!!!! i was loitering ard ur blog waiting for you daily updates.. :p can't wait to hear cabt ur birth story..

yo ladies,
thx 4 ur congrats. (thx dee 4 helping me announce

I'M HOME!

hahaha... if u delivered at KKH u might noe they kick ppl out 24 hrs after delivery, mb 4 e lower class wards lah. so both me n barry haf been home since the afternoon.

labour was TORMENTING! i din enjoy it tis time rd. super duper painful. n yes stephanie, hubby was v stressed out bt his lecture and classes (so was his collegue.. hee hee. v suay i must say). no epidural n no epistiomy. but i won't wanna go thru it again.

v long story lah. wait 4 me 2 update on my blog when i'm more up 2 it. hehehe...

yes, mandy adores barry. we haf a hard time pulling her away fr him. all she wants to do ALL THE TIME is sayang her little brother. or she'll just stand by e cot n smile at him n giggle when he moves or imitates his little sounds. v cute.

sally!!!!!
i went bk 2 e july thread a couple o times. tried to look 4 u but cldn't too. so how? u popped liao?

kimi , so means incubation period is over and mandy din get measeles? u mean u enjoy ur last feverish labour? *envy envy* u make urs sound liek a short 2D1N trip..ahahha

dora, thanks for the info..so headache... anyway they called, i told them not going therapy for the time being...

och, misunderstood..paiseh....

fizz, Jurong too far lah.. dunwana spend 3 hrs travelling cos have to take pub tpt...

cfchang...inspired??? :p :p :p

jackie, not bad..the teacher quite understanding... if first day then shout at jovey then sian liao..

Yesterday was Jav 1st day at cc. I accompanied him for the whole day there. Jav adapts to the environment quite well. He easily mingles well wif his classmates. As he is the youngest in his playgroup, the jie jies really take good care of him. They will hold his hands when queueing up to the eating area, to the playground. They even help him to carry his bag when they went for shower. Jav really enjoys himself there. Same as Jovey, Jav ran around the classroom when the teacher was telling story. The only time he sat quietly when they do the hand printing. He enjoys doing the hand printing. He also finished his lunch within 15mins. Guess becos he saw other children eating their lunch too.

As discussed wif his teacher, today i left him wif his teacher the moment we reached the cc. Of course, he started crying when i left. But after some coaxing by his teacher, he stopped crying. Jus now his teacher even mms mi the foto of him eating. n inform mi his well being. I had told his teacher, if she couldnt make him zzz during nap time, i will come in. Now praying tat he is able to sleep later.

Jackie, Fizz, Serene,

I've been thinking of sending Lucas to some playgroup thing on weekends soon too cos since #2 on the way, need to get him used to being away from my mum's place once in a while in case we later decide to send him to maybe half day school. Summore he's so active, thot we need to bring him somewhere to expend some energy and learn to mix with other kids!

Fizz,
i saw the D'Story Club thing on the Pat's SH website before. Was thinking of joining the one in Siglap cos i live in the east. Went to look see at the school the other day also... looks ok i guess. Just one big room lor. Have you been to D'Story Club? What do they do ah? only tell stories ah? cos ah... my boy will just run around and very hard to get him to sit still 1. He only ever sits still when there's food. haha. So if they only tell stories etc, cfm he will switch off.

People say kids will slowly quieten down and learn to listen when they see other kids doing it... won't be instantaneous... takes some time but slowly lor.

This sat i am attending a trial class at United Sq - Growing up gifted. Anyone been there before? A colleague recommended... dunno really good or not. $45 for trial man. Also thinking of trial for JG (but the one at Chiltern House East Coast) - but the saturday class, which is bilingual. I went to see the other day also... also only 1 big room... with 3 teachers and they do things like taking turns to walk thru a hoola hoop...then the teachers will ask them to sit on the mat and most kids will sit but some will still walk around. haha - think my kid will be like tt!!

Any other recommendations for good play classes? Since now i'm still gg for trials... still got time to shop ard for a suitable 1

bloom

INSPIRED!!!!!!??????

ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.......JUI MING AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!
BU YAO BU YAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOo

think nia oredi scare *shiver* then turn ard n look at philson....IMMEDIATELY FAINT!!!!!

Bloom...

Errr...BP to Jurong is so far ah...then mabbe u can try Baby Jumper Gym Bt Batok...I believed Hannah attended the class previously...it looks not bad leh...

http://www.bjg.com.sg/programs_walkers.htm

Serene...

It seems like Jav sama sama JT...they eat well under peer pressure...kekeke...tatz very gd leh...

Even tho Cae eats finger food together wif other totz...he simply plays wif his food...he either squashes his food...or feed them to his imaginary birds...(like wat one of the mummies here described)...

Steph...

I live in the East too...n I hv seen Pat's at Siglap...I find it a bit cramped tho...the one at Fort Rd looks bigger in the pix...but itz so much further...

I hvnt attended D'Story Club...but I tink it comprises more than jus story tellin...like Music n Movemt...Art n Craft...Gym...Phonics...

Cae is oso a very active boy...in fact...the most active in his class...I m the crazy mummy who nids to chase him ard while others r sittin in a circle...but surprisingly...so far the oni activity which makes him sit wif me engrossed is the PlayClub Bears...a skit performed by the teachers...tested twice liao...hee...

CFChang...

I cant stand uuuuuuuuu...yr Philson is so hamsum...n he likes his food so much...u faint for wat...aiyooooooooo...u muz produce a dozen more hamsum lookin siblings for spore gers to chase mahhhhhhhhh...then u can b a star mummy x12...hahaha...

I tink I m the one who wanna faint ah...guess wat...today Cae beat his teacher on the eye!!!...then when the teacher pretended to cry in pain...he oso walked ard coverin his eye n bendin over for the next 5min...I FAINTZZZ AH...

hi kimi,
congrats to u.. so happy for u. n glad tat Mandy love her didi so much.

update from this afternoon:
His teachers updated mi again on his well being when i fetched him jus now. After I left e cc tis morning, his teacher brought him to the eating area for his breakfast. He guai guai finished his toasted bread and milk. When they were on the way to the classroom, jav started to walk away looking for me. His teacher told him tat mummy was working n will come n fetch him in the evening. He was veri sensible, he nodded his head n followed teacher into the classroom. But on n off, he would start looking for mi. Then lunch time, he actually had 2nd helping of noodle. I was so glad tat he is eating well. Surprisingly, jav fell asleep within 10min during his nap time. I was quite worried tat he might not be able to sleep in the new environment and unfamilar faces. Yesterday when i accompanied him, he only managed to sleep for 20mins wif mi carrying him after 2hr of coaxing. His teachers told mi tat he can understand both English and Mandrian quite well. He loves to play wif musical instruments. He can easily mingle around wif his classmates. I was so glad tat he is enjoying himself in the cc. N tat i had not make a wrong choice.

Bloom,
The cc is within my office premises. You may wan to let Kate go to those 2hrs playgroup near to her nanny house so tat easy for her nanny to fetch her to n fro the sch.

Kimi

Congrats!! Barry really looks exactly the same as Mandy wahahaha!! And very impressed with Mandy that she is such a loving jie jie! No epidural, you really very strong woman!! Must rest well okie!

Bloom
Erm... it doesn't take 3 hrs to get to pat's schoolhouse in jurong from your place lah... at most 1 hr... yeah, why go for the speech therapy, you have to travel all the way to KKH and I'm sure every session is not cheap cos last time we spent $50 just listening to the KKH dietician for 20 min to tell us how much JT should be eating cos she was underweight!! So for the money and time spent, might as well find a good playgroup for kate and I am sure she'll learn a lot more!!

CF Chang
Eh... your shao ye is soooo cute, loves to eat, sleeps at 7+pm every nite... erm... why you faint leh??? I really miss you guys leh... must try to visit you soon.

Fizz
hahahaha Cae is really cute!! I'm sure the teacher dunno want to laugh or cry!!

Serene
Good to know that Javier is doing well in the CC. actually dun have to worry one, at home I also have to pat pat, hug hug then JT will sleep, but she can sleep on her own within 10min in CC. I think they are very tired with all the activities in CC, that's why they can fall asleep easier. Just have to remind the CC teachers to keep giving him water to drink so that he won't fall sick easily.

anyone giving chicken pox jab to yr toddlers?I heard that it is not 100% immunised but at least still can reduce the pox. wondering will there fever after taking it?

Serene,
hmm..u must be worried so the past few days when Jav go ccc. at least, seeing him adapt to the envirnoment so well, u must felt relieve liao, right.

fizz,
wow...cae beat his teacher..so fierce??

Kimi,
Congrats to u. take care.

Hurry,grab grabs, NTUC is having diapers(mammy poko,pet pet, NTUC diaper, pampers, dryers, huggies & pull up, nepia & fitit) and bb products (fm: only isomil, enfapro 2 & promil, karimome goat milk. other bb essential like: drapolene cream, bath accesssories, wipes, laundary power, pigeon bottles etc) sales till 16/7.

Bloom,
The teachers won't use scolding method. Was told during the briefing that they want the tod to enjoy the process and love going to school

Serene,
Glad to know that Javier is adjusting well to cc life.

Stephanie,
Send, send, send, so the tod can learn to mix and socialise

fizz, jackie
yeah!! i very inspired by serene to send alrdy now. haha. tmrw our 1st trial class. hope me and daddy and all the teachers make it out of the class alive. haaakakaka!! :p

fizz,
the playclub bears u mentioned = d'story club?

I believe toddler here have already taken their 6 in 1 jab liao. wondering do u all have any cert to prove that the jab have already taken? or if the record shown in the healthbook sufficient enough. my friend has a cert fr doc to list down all the jab taken.

Steph...

The Playclub Bears r part of JG PlayClub...

Afcai...

Cae hd hid Chix Pox n Hep A jab together...but I tot I rem tat he did hv fever after tat...(cos the oni jab which he din dev fever was MMR)...mild fever...

Cae hasnt taken his last 6-in-1 yet...

Cae wasnt fierce lah...it was not like he beat the teacher outta anger or tantrum...he was jus a lil too excitable for a tot...

Dora...

Yah...I tot tat he was rather cute to imitate the teacher...but I suspected tat the teacher was a lil afraid of him after tat...(I tink shez a trainee teacher...cos there r 4 teachers in tis class...instead of the usu 3)...anyway...I observed tat some parents were oso rather wary of Cae...cos he really stood out as a super active tot lor...btw he oso beat another boy outta excitmt...n sat himself on another's mummy's leg when he lost bal while turnin rnd n rnd...I tried to pull him by my side whenever possible...but I oso dun believe in restrainin him all the time lor...I wan him to hv the freedom to roam arnd n enjoy himself too...so sometimes itz really unpredictable as to wat he wil suddenly do...in fact I felt rather awkward thruout the class tat day...

<font color="aa00aa">mummies,</font>
Qns qns, wondering when can we introduce seafood stuff (like prawn) to our kid? any idea? my hubby let my gar tried a bit of prawn liao.

<font color="aa00aa">Fizz</font>,
thks for sharing the views. so is Cae taking his last 6 in 1 jab this mth then?

wow here so quiet now

I need to seek some advices:

-is any toddler still taking 2 naps now?
Ivan recently didnt really want the morning nap.Normally he take two 1hr nap each day.i will take ard 30mins to 45mins ( but depend on that day sometime within 15mins he doze off liao) to pat him to sleep.then he will just sleep 1hr only.so thinking of consolidating it to a 2hr nap.so far past three days he is ok.He will wake up at ard 745am then all the way till 2pm then he will take a 1hr 45min to 2hr nap.

But today is abit tricky.as he wake up at 6am so as to take my hubby's car to my mum'hse...then just now at 1040am he cant tahan liao..zzz...
so I am not sure he still need more time to transit into just one nap...any mummies to advise?thanks

A few of us met at Tony Romas the other day...photo not so nice la...but due to popular request...i post one. :p

1544473.jpg

Sorry so small

gosh...this thread is really quiet these days. Hallow......

afcai
i started giving prawns to D after he turns 15 months. But hor, at his 18m assessment recently, when i asked the pd, he advised to give seafood (except fish) after 2yo. Reason given is allergy. I told him D didnt have allergy to prawn but he still advised 2yo.

Choo
D used to take 2 1-hour naps a day. However, it has been increasing difficult to make him take the morning nap. Like u, we take 30mins of rocking to make him nap, sometimes without success. So now, we give up liao. For the last one week, D has been taking 1 nap - abour 1hr 45mins a day. He wakes up around 7 and usually nap by 1pm. However, i think he has not fully transit to this arrangement yet. sometimes we can see that he gets tired by 11am+. So i try to ensure that there is not too much outdoor activities in the morning as i feel that being under the sun tires him out faster. Oh, i also give him mid morning snack to boost his energy level.

Boboniah
wow....i love the kitchen set!!!!! it looks so real! ur gal is indeed v lucky.

Afcai...

Cae wil hv his 6 in 1 next wk...

My pd has given the go ahead to offer seafood...but I m holdin bac as my hb has eczema...

Choo...

Cae oso seems to b cuttin down his sleepin time...if he wakes up at 0830hrs or 0900hrs...(he sleeps at abt 2300hrs every nite)...he wil not wan his morng nap...but he wil nap fm abt 1430hrs to 1730hrs in the pm...but when I wake him at abt 0730hrs...my maid...stress *oni my maid*...can manage to carry him to sleep at abt 0900hrs again for abt 1 hr...n he wil nap fm abt 1530hrs to 1800hrs in the pm...

Their nappin time wil gradually decrease as they get older...which means lesser time for mummies...

Yah the thread has been extremely quiet nowadays....

JT's terrible twos has officially started, I hope this is the peak because I really can't accept that my little angel has turned into a little monster. She just started on Sat all of a sudden. Before that she will throw tantrums once in a while, but starting from Sat, she will cry many many times a day just because she can't get what she wants. Sigh... last time I dun even hear her cry for months (other than her falling down etc) but now... the number of times she cry per day is more than the past 3 mths!!! Really hope that this phase will pass quickly.... I want my little angel back

Bobianah
Nice pics!! But really very small leh!!! The kitchen set is really nice, we were thinking to buy also, but no place to put at home! Hannah is one lucky girl!

Afcai
abt introducing prawns, it really depends if there are history of allergies in your families (both sides). If not, you can try introducing it to TX a bit every day for 4 days so that you can monitor if she has allergies or not. If after 4 days she doesn't show any sign of allergies, then you can be sure that she is not allergic to prawns.

Choo
Ever since JT started CC in Apr, she has been taking only 1 afternoon nap. Sometimes during weekends, if we travel longer distance during 11+am, she might fall asleep on the car, for abt 15min. If not, she'll only sleep at 1pm though she wakes up at 7am. When she first started CC, she didn't take long naps there, so she'll sleep at 8pm every night. Now she can take 2+hrs nap there, she'll only sleep at 9pm. But all together, she still sleeps abt 12hrs a day which is enough. Just have to ensure that his total sleeping time for the whole day is enuf.

Karen P, Dora
The nice kitchen set not hannah's...it's TA's!
She's the lucky gal!
And yes, it is quite fun.

Dora,
aiyo...i cldn't resize the pic to the optimal size that allows me to upload, thats why end up so small. tsk tsk. :p

I empathise with u abt the terrible twos, but hey, welcome to the club! kekekekeke!
my ger is also good at screaming (that high pitched piercing sound, tho sometimes not very loud) to get her way. We figured it's partly because she also gets frustrated when she can't communicate to us what she wants, she knows how to say the words, but somehow dunno how to ask...anyway, she's also a bit impatient type la. The other reason is of cos just being plain nottie lor. When she's lidat, we will either igonore or discipline her. :p

Karen p,
thks for the reply. hmm is fish an allergy food?? tx started fish when she is 6mth loh. do u mean D have not try fish before??

Choo,
depending on the timing, sometimes, tx takes 1-2 nap . if she woke up at 6-7++ then her nap time will be ard 10am+-11pm. if she woke up later at 8-9am, then her nap time will be 1130-1230pm.other then that, she did not slp unless she is so sleepy then she will slp at 3pm (acc to my mum, it is a short 1 hr nap) or else, she will slp early at night(esp fri, told my mum not to let her take 2 nap so her last nap will be 1pm when she woke up. then tx can easily doze off during bedtime at night(8pm++)). at my mum'plc, mostly of the time, she will take 1 nap which last for 2-3hr (esp mon-tues when she is tired out during the weekend outing. weekend, sometimes, she dun even take nap (got thing to play and gai gai, dun need to slp), only half an hr power nap and it will recharge her energy. tat's why she is tired on mon)

Fizz,
oic. think I will still hold on to offer seafood. anyway, seafood not so healthy mah. eat more fruits, veg and fish better.

Dora,
thks for the reply. hmm when intro new food, must it be continuous 4 days to see the result? wondering if intro new food one day, will the allegry be shown?? not sure if food and medicine the same logic or not? when tx consume smetcha (dunno how to spell), the allegry will show out few hr later. does it apply to new food?? pondering? just ask, normally, where(which part of body) does the allegry show? for the medicine, it is shows on her tummy then the next day, fr head to legs.

Bobianah

Oh it's TA's!! She's really lucky!! Yah, I know its because they can't express themselves well... JT is worse lor cos she is more advanced in her motor skills and her speech is slightly slower than her peers, so she always have problems expressing herself. I dunno issit also I have been very busy recently so didn't spend as much time with her, hugging her etc... haiz.... they don't call it terrible two for nothing... but so far, we are still very firm with her, no means no, even though she is screaming the house down. Hopefully she'll get the idea soon.

Afcai
Roughly 4 days lah, cos some books say 1 week some say 3 days.... the idea is that at the 1st exposure, the body may not produce a reaction if the amount is small. But if fed continuously, the body will be sensitized and so the reaction will surface. but if you feed once and no reaction is observed, you may wrongly conclude that the child is not allergic. and if sometime later in life, the child get sensitized from the food after multiple exposure, you might not be able to trace back what she is allergic to.
If the child is very allergic to the food/medicine, then the reaction can be immediate.
Fish is an allergy food, especially for caucasians. For singaporeans, main allergens are shell fish and bird's nest. But the rest of the common allergens in the west are also getting common in Singapore - milk, egg, nuts, fish.
For fish, different fish has diff effects. JT is allergic to threadfin, but ok for salmon, mackerel etc. She was ok on the 1st day she took threadfin, but by the 5th day she was taking threadfin, she started to have mild rashes. thereafter, everytime she takes threadfin, she'll have mild rashes. She is mildly allergic to threadfin.
JT's rashes are around the mouth. They are not like heat rashes, more like red patches (hives). But if she takes a lot of milk, which she is highly allergic to, then her whole body will be red and she will run a fever.

hihi!
back fr Aust.. nice trip..
relax but tiring at the same time.. :p

bobianah,
wah... tony romas.. yum yum...
gian liao.. but no reason to indulge myself..

the kitchen set looks so fun leh... but PH is boy boy leh.. can't play...

choo,
PH currently take 1 nap on weekends.. coz we will usually bring him out in the morning n be back aft 1-2pm.. so he will nap when we reach home.. juz nap for 2 hours n he can 'tong' till 10pm..... he sleep very little only.. usually not more than 11hours a day....

Shihui
glad u had a good holiday.
wish i cld go too! but i have to wait till next yr liao...
Boi boi can play kitchen mah...why cannot? Kitchen is neutral mah...not like barbie doll. :p

Dora,
thks for sharing the experience and the useful information.oh, did not know different fish can triggle an allergy. hmmm...as for salmon, not all kid like that cos it seems to have a stronger fishy smell. but salmon and cod fish are better fish than other fish. that time, when tx makan cod fish before 1 yr old, we discovered that the sweat is like salty salty and have a strong smell. so we tried to give her a few times and conclude that cod fish did make ppls (maybe applied to kid only, not sure) sweat salty and smelly. like that, I got to educate my mum(also my hubby) liao cos she gave tx new food but not continuous type.

as for the medicine (smetcha) and kaolin, tx only tried once and few hrs later, got those red patches of rashes (dunno is that call hive (me never seen b4)). even I'm allegry to the medicine MMT (for stomach bloatness), my rashes are not that jialat, only spread type of rash on my hand unlike tx one is a big lump.

oic...that mean for highly allergic food/medicine, the whole body will be red. if mild one is only small patches.

Shihui,
saw yr blog. yr holiday such a short and enjoyable trip wor...saw that yummy seafood wor...laur naur man....so sad, when we were in sydney 5 yr ago, we did not know there is such a place. only mingle ard darling harbour, rocks and city area. so many macdonald ard man...

wondering do u bring diaper there or just buy fr there?

re:kitchen set. ai-yo boy also can play. train them to be a good cooker. haaa...then next time impress gar wor...

bobianah,
ya.. the stay is really fun.. the hotel is so accessible to many places.. make our life so much easier.. :p

i already so tired with 1.. i can't imagine travelling with 2 in future.... :p

afcai,
there's not so many Mcdonald liao... only saw 2 Mcdonalds.. one in the city n another at Darling Harbour... :p

ya.. the seafood really make us drool like mad... :p

i bring diaper there... the diaper there is very ex.. :p

hehehe.. my boy loves to play with vacuum cleaner.. bought a toy vacuum cleaner for him n he love it so much... think he can be a very gd house husband in future.. hahahaha... :p maybe will get a kitchen set when i hav no. 2.. den he can play with his younger bro/sis...

afcai
Please read my earlier posting carefully. anyway, to rephrase, my dr say dont give seafood until the child is past 2yo but fish is ok.

Shihui
glad to hear that u enjoy ur Oz trip. Do post some pictures here. Oh, wat food does PH take in down under?
by the way, i think kitchen set is good for boy too. Unfortunately, D's mommy is too stingy to buy the expensive kitchen set. D only gets to play with those cut up fruits/veggie and small stove but he still love it!

Dogiebb
when u giving birth? our Edd is one day apart. I am still waiting. Been sweating like mad these days. cant live without aircon for one sec.

Epidural/pedithine (forgot spelling)
I always believe drugs are bad for bbs. However, my gynae say the effect of epidural only affects mommies, unlike pedithine which makes the bb drowsy. according to my gynae, with pedithine, bb will be drowsy and a jab will have to be given to bb to wake them up. Any comments?

Karen

Hopefully I can give birth soon cos bb is engaged and very low already. I go for another appt next monday and will see how.

And my ger loves her kitchen set, she cooks all day and serves up stuff on plates that all of us must eat! Hehe!

Thanks for the advices on the napping schedule

Karen/Doggie,

Wow exciting! Have a smooth delivery!!

serene, sounds like jav is having alot of fun at his cc...
tentatively arranging for kate to join playgrp starting sept...

cfchang...yes the mommies are right... philson is so guai and eat without problem..if u have kate/mandy/jt it will be worse...

fizz, went for one gym trial at woodlands..think i will give up the thot for the time being..in the end i am more tired than kate! :p hahhaa..cae is so funi.... hit his teacher! :p

dora..ahhaa.i agree that its better to send kate to playgrp than attend kkh speech therapy too! so i am giving her half more yr with playgrp.... just incase (touch wood) really there is other reasons on why she is not speaking... kate had her TTs since 1.5yrs old (that one time when hb took care of her and gave her everything after i fell really sick) ..btw, still gota pass u the isomil!

afcai, not intending to give kate chix pox jab... no cert for kate's 6 in 1. she took her at polyclinic...

jackie, ur cc's teacher is good... cos i am sure there are some cc where the teachers will scold when the parents are not around...

bobianah, u mean u mommies can have a decent meal at tony roma's with all those kids??? peifu! all the guai ones! who's the mommy at the corner next to doggiebb? (sorry canot recognise)

choo, kate is sleeping 1 nap too at my pl too... but does it matter whether its 1 or 2 naps? (except that 2 naps means more diffi to arrange to go out)..i think change in schedule do affect their naptime..eg, if kate wake up late, i will expect her to have her nap later too....

doggiebb, karen P, have fun soon! :p

doggiebb, TA is always so sweet and lovely..buay tahan....

mommies, i got 2 samples of pediasure (choco and vanilla i think) and 2 sachets of gain IQ... will prefer to pass to mommies who can meet me between Boon lay and yishun mrt between 6.40pm - 7.30pm on weekdays...

hi bloom,

javier also hasn't really start talking. only know how to say dada, mama. But since he goes cc, he been talking to us in his own "foreign language" which i wish i know wat he wanna to tell us. As long as they are able to understand what we tell them, i tink shld not worry too much. sakali Kate goes playgrp and sees so many kids talking. She might start to speak in few words not single syllabus word. You never know she might give a surprise one of these days..

I tink the lady beside doggiebb is alabone and nat.