(2006/11) November 2006 MTBs

Strawberry
It around $7+ to$8+ per tube by Overseas BP but anyway I stop using first teeth since K noe how to spit out and gurgle her mouth but then she still like to suck off the normal toothpaste sometimes though.Haiz.

hi garfield,
Ashley also got the tendancy to "eat" the toothpaste..i think the first teeth one is probably quite tasty.

Peng,
I think I also have 2 toothpaste from my kiasu spree.. haha.. i ordered mine from overseas spree..not BP.

SLEEPING POSTURES
this 1-2 weeks, I've been kicked many times by Ashley during her sleep.. recently she has been moving nearer to me while she sleeps and sometimes with no notice, she'll show me her flying kick..now i will put my booster in between to block her off..haha..
wondering why she can't sleep still...what about your kiddos.?

bbroom
Not just the first teeth she eat wven the normal wif fluoride now I using she also lick at times.

She also kicks me while asleep and my HB comment when I asleep I am like tat as well so like mother like daugther for my case.

bbroom & garfield,

Mine oso the same, gave me "shadow flying kick" sometime really painful when kanna. recently we brought her a mattress n she sleeps on her own on the floor, gave us a peace of mind though some nights she will wake up n ask me to sleep with her...

Aiyoyo.. so I spent quite alot for the past 2 years! K thanks peng, I go check out link.

bbgal, bbroom

Whao, so fast your kids know how to gargle and spit. Can use the cheaper toothpaste oredy. But I am not in a hurry for him to learn, as he won't know how to spit his medicine or food, so he eats what we feed.

Talking about flying kicks, one night I was awaken by Owen's sudden kick right on my eyelid. I jumped off bed, screamed covering my eyes thot it's burst! After a while, the pain lessen so I opened my eyes slowly, then saw HB & Owen sat on bed watching in fright. Then on, I always pulled my pillow to the edge of bed, put a bolster + pillow between Owen & me, though sometimes he wld wake up & climb over the "hill" for me.

heehee...
JK sleeps by himself on the mattress beside my bed, separated by a "canal" of pillows hahaha... so far no midnite kicks for me...
in the beginning where there's no "canal", he will always climb onto my bed in the middle of the nite.

If i sleep with him, the most i will get knocks from his head... don't know why, he just like to use his head to push himself to any parts of me to make sure I'm still by his side... sometimes we can sleep like a "T" shape.

Hee..guess I am more lucky, Wayne started sleeping in his own room, own bed abt 2 weeks ago. And best is now he sleep throughout. Previously he was still waking up for midnight feed, ever since he sleep in his own room, he stop this habit..touchwood, hopefully this is going to be a long term change.

And I notice he doesn't shift around much even if sleeping with us.

bbroom
ya, yesterday bring him to kk to take x-ray. The doctor said he has hair line bone crack. So now his hand is wrap like robot. Next wednesday will go to bone specialist to remove n do the checkup again. He is on 1 week MC n still so happy n active. This morning when he saw Ashley from far, keep shouting "see my hand"! Like so proud of his hand, faint!

2381984.jpg

haha...Zhe Lei really looks very happy in this picture..

hope his arm recovers soon.. my colleague's daughter fractured her arm when she fell from her bed had to put on the cast for 3 months..

Hi Eileen, ur Zhe Lei still looks quite chubby hor? Wat's his weight now? My Ryan has been having flu & cough ever since he started playgrp at Apple tree. Recover for few days then kanna again.. Haiz, very heartache, really feel like withdrawing him fr sch liao..

Haahahaa, guess all toddlers are all going to school already. I haven't send him to school yet. Guess will wait till july cos june there will be school holiday for PCF.

Eileen...oh gosh hope ZL recover fast! hee he really looks very happy with the cast on :p

Rkjk...is the classroom very cold, if yes try to keep him warm. Dun think is a good idea to stop going to school, next yr he also starting nursery, problem back to square one. Btw just to share, if ur kid tend to cough easily do not give yakult or vitagen cos dairy + sugar will give alot of phelgms.

Rkjk,

i'm not sure about the apple tree that Ryan attends. But for the one that Ashley and Zhe Lei attends, so far parents are rather "automatic". They'll keep their kids who are not well at home.

I think there were a few times there were only 5-6 kids in the class because the kids who are unwell all took MC.

I agree with Peng, when they start nursery, the class size will be bigger than playgroup. Gotta try to build up their immune system..

was talking with a fren earlier about toddlers throwing tantrums and then came across this article. It says kids usually will stop throwing tantrums around 4 years old!!
everyone, hang in there..another 1.5 years to go!!

Every teacher of young children and every new parent can expect to witness some temper tantrums in children from age 1–4 years. On average, temper tantrums are equally common in boys and girls, and more than half of young children will have one or more per week.
At home, there are predictable situations that can be expected to trigger temper tantrums, such as bedtime, suppertime, getting up, getting dressed, bath time, watching TV, parent talking on the phone, visitors at the house, family visiting another house, car rides, public places, family activities involving siblings, interactions with peers, and playtime. Other settings include transitions between activities, on the school bus, getting ready to work, interactions with other children, directives from the teacher, group activities, answering questions in class, individual seat work, and the playground.

Characteristics of Temper Tantrums
All young children from time to time will whine, complain, resist, cling, argue, hit, shout, run, and defy their teachers and parents. Temper tantrums, although normal, can become upsetting to teachers and parents because they are embarrassing, challenging, and difficult to manage. On the other hand, temper tantrums can become special problems when they occur with greater frequency, intensity, and duration than is typical for the age of the child.

There are nine different types of temperaments in children:
Hyperactive temperament predisposes the child to respond with fine- or gross-motor activity.
Distractible temperament predisposes the child to pay more attention to his or her surroundings than to the caregiver.
High intensity level temperament moves the child to yell, scream, or hit hard when feeling threatened.
Irregular temperament moves the child to escape the source of stress by needing to eat, drink, sleep, or use the bathroom at irregular times when he or she does not really have the need.
Negative persistent temperament is seen when the child seems stuck in his or her whining and complaining.
Low sensory threshold temperament is evident when the child complains about tight clothes and people staring and refuses to be touched by others.
Initial withdrawal temperament is found when children get clingy, shy, and unresponsive in new situations and around unfamiliar people.
Poor adaptability temperament shows itself when children resist, shut down, and become passive-aggressive when asked to change activities.
Negative mood temperament is found when children appear lethargic, sad, and lack the energy to perform a task.

Developmental Issues
At about age 1 1/2 some children will start throwing temper tantrums. These bouts of temper tantrums can last until approximately age 4. Some call this stage the terrible twos and others call it first adolescence because the struggle for independence is similar to what is seen during adolescence. Regardless of what the stage is called, there is a normal developmental course for temper tantrums.
One-and-a-half through 2 years old. Children during this stage will test the limits. They want to see how far they can go before a parent or teacher stops their behavior. At age 2 children are very egocentric and cannot see another person’s point of view. They want independence and self-control to explore their environment. When children cannot reach a goal, they show frustration by crying, arguing, yelling, or hitting. When children’s need for independence collides with the parents’ and teachers’ needs for safety and conformity, the conditions are perfect for a power struggle and a temper tantrum. The temper tantrum is designed to get the teacher or parent to desist in their demands or give them whatever they want. Many times children stop the temper tantrum only when they get what is desired. What is most upsetting to caregivers is that it is virtually impossible to reason with children who are having a temper tantrum, and arguing and cajoling in response to a temper tantrum only escalates the problem.
Three-year-olds. By age 3 many children are less impulsive and can use language to express their needs. Tantrums at this age are often less frequent and less severe. Nevertheless, some preschoolers have learned that a temper tantrum is a good way to get what they want.
Four-year-olds. Most children have the necessary motor and physical skills to meet many of their own needs without relying so much on an adult. At this age, children also have better language that allows them to express their anger and to problem-solve and compromise. Despite these improved skills, even kindergartenage and school-age children can still have temper tantrums when they are faced with demanding academic tasks and new interpersonal situations in school.
Prevention for Parents and Teachers
It is much easier to prevent temper tantrums than it is to manage them once they have erupted. Here are some tips for preventing temper tantrums and some things you can say:
Reward children for positive attention rather than negative attention. During situations when they are prone to temper tantrums, catch them when they are being good and say such things as, “Nice job sharing with your friend.”
Do not ask children to do something when they must do what you ask. Do not ask, “Would you like to eat now?” Say, “It’s suppertime now.”
Give children control over little things whenever possible by giving choices. A little bit of power given to the child can stave off the big power struggles later. “Which do you want to do first, brush your teeth or put on your pajamas?”
Keep off-limit objects out of sight and therefore out of mind. In an art activity keep the scissors out of reach if children are not ready to use them safely.
Distract children by redirection to another activity when they tantrum over something they should not do or cannot have. Say, “Let’s read a book together.”
Change environments, thus removing the child from the source of the temper tantrum. Say, “Let’s go for a walk.”
Choose your battles. Teach children how to make a request without a temper tantrum and then honor the request. Say, “Try asking for that toy nicely and I’ll get it for you.”
Make sure that children are well rested and fed in situations in which a temper tantrum is a likely possibility. Say, “Supper is almost ready, here’s a cracker for now.”
Avoid boredom. Say, “You have been working for a long time. Let’s take a break and do something fun.”
Create a safe environment that children can explore without getting into trouble. Childproof your home or classroom so children can explore safely.
Increase your tolerance level. Are you available to meet the child’s reasonable needs? Evaluate how many times you say, “No.” Avoid fighting over minor things.
Establish routines and traditions that add structure. For teachers, start class with a sharing time and opportunity for interaction.
Signal children before you reach the end of an activity so that they can get prepared for the transition. Say, “When the timer goes off 5 minutes from now it will be time to turn off the TV and go to bed.”
When visiting new places or unfamiliar people explain to the child beforehand what to expect. Say, “Stay with your assigned buddy in the museum.”
Provide pre-academic, behavioral, and social challenges that are at the child’s developmental level so that the child does not become frustrated.
Keep a sense of humor to divert the child’s attention and surprise the child out of the tantrum.

Intervention for Parents and Teachers
There are a number of ways to handle a temper tantrum. Strategies include the following:
Remain calm and do not argue with the child. Before you manage the child, you must manage your own behavior. Spanking or yelling at the child will make the tantrum worse.
Think before you act. Count to 10 and then think about the source of the child’s frustration, this child’s characteristic temperamental response to stress (hyperactivity, distractibility, moodiness), and the predictable steps in the escalation of the temper tantrum.
Try to intervene before the child is out of control. Get down at the child’s eye level and say, “You are starting to get revved up, slow down.” Now you have several choices of intervention.
You can positively distract the child by getting the child focused on something else that is an acceptable activity. For example, you might remove the unsafe item and replace with an age-appropriate toy.
You can place the child in time away. Time away is a quiet place where the child goes to calm down, think about what he or she needs to do, and, with your help, make a plan to change the behavior.
You can ignore the tantrum if it is being thrown to get your attention. Once the child calms down, give the attention that is desired.
Hold the child who is out of control and is going to hurt himself or herself or someone else. Let the child know that you will let him or her go as soon as he or she calms down. Reassure the child that everything will be all right, and help the child calm down. Parents may need to hug their child who is crying, and say they will always love him or her no matter what, but that the behavior has to change. This reassurance can be comforting for a child who may be afraid because he or she lost control.
If the child has escalated the tantrum to the point where you are not able to intervene in the ways described above, then you may need to direct the child to time-out (see “Resources”). If you are in a public place, carry your child outside or to the car. Tell the child that you will go home unless he or she calms down. In school warn the child up to three times that it is necessary to calm down and give a reminder of the rule. If the child refuses to comply, then place him or her in time-out for no more than 1 minute for each year of age.
Talk with the child after the child has calmed down. When the child stops crying, talk about the frustration the child has experienced. Try to help solve the problem if possible. For the future, teach the child new skills to help avoid temper tantrums such as how to ask appropriately for help and how to signal a parent or teacher that the he or she knows they need to go to “time away” to “stop, think, and make a plan.” Teach the child how to try a more successful way of interacting with a peer or sibling, how to express his or her feelings with words and recognize the feelings of others without hitting and screaming.

Post-Tantrum Management
Never, under any circumstances, give in to a tantrum. That response will only increase the number and frequency of the tantrums.
Explain to the child that there are better ways to get what he or she wants.
Do not reward the child after a tantrum for calming down. Some children will learn that a temper tantrum is a good way to get a treat later.
Never let the temper tantrum interfere with your otherwise positive relationship with the child.
Teach the child that anger is a feeling that we all have and then teach her ways to express anger constructively.

Thanks bbroom! Walao, was hunting high & low for better ways to cope. Just yesterday, my furious heat was further ignited by my hb's words. Got so mad I shouted my head off while carrying Owen, made him screamed & cried louder.

Mummies here can share your experiences and resolutions? I feel so alone with these leh. Here's what I get and did to resolve :

Playtime:
In less than 20sec, he will scream and throw toys, as far as 4-5m away. Will carry other heavier objects to throw if smaller toys no kick.

Resolutions:
Try not to leave him to play alone; Confiscate & keep everything away; slap his hands and scoldings & leave him to cry. Explain later.

Interruptions inbetween plays:
He gets angry, slaps his head with both hands, or kick and wriggle about, lie on floor.. Once, he attempted to knock his head against the wall.

Resolutions:
Attract him with something better; pull and drag him away by force.

Things that attracts him:
He will pester and whine and cries and hops and jumps until he gets it.

Resolution : Give in to him; If it's dangerous stuff, wl try offer something else; Carry him away to the window to explain; scoldings & raising voices if all dun work.

Cao Mei,
yeps i think these situations are very common. However, the resolutions may be very different from child to child.. Cos it all depends on the kids' character.

here's my input for JK's case, taking ur situation as e.g.
1) Playtime:
once he start throwing things, i will slap his hands and explain like u did.. but in my explanation i will add on further inputs like, if he keep throwing, then the toys will spoil, end up no toys or the throwing will hit his legs and end up he will cry...
Reason: cos he's quite afraid of being hurt.. so when u say the throwing will hurt him, he will think twice.

2) Interruptions in between plays:
JK oso hates that.. so everytime i will "pre-alert" him, saying he only has another 15mins to play. Ask him to look at the clock and point to the exact time to stop. keep reminding him every 5mins till the time comes.
For JK's character, he needs the pre-alert and no ad-hoc decisions.

3) Things that attracts him:
though he don't whine, JK will continue to "persuade" u on the toys until u buy... again using the "pre-alert" method, always tell him in advance before going shopping, no buying of toys. if he still does that in shopping centre, will then explain that the toys are for bigger kids and he will need to be that age before he can play... mainly reasoning.

For JK, he don't take in beatings.. so if continue to punish him by physical force, he will become more stubborn... 吃软不吃硬.
that's how his father oso learn thru experiences. initially oso want to beat him to "death" kind cos JK don't listen.. after a while, he realise that JK only listen with reasoning..
so it all depends on the kids' character then can find a good method to curb them

Strawberry...haiz very headache when they throw tantrums rite! YH will always use cry, whine to get his way, I dun usually give in but have to use other means to distract his attention, talk to him nicely, if still dun works I will show cane liao. I will ask him : u want cane cane is it? he will cry n say dun want..heee usually he will stop his nonsense then.

Mummies, i have a really headache problem with YH...recently he starts to pick up this vulgar word 'ma de'. Sometimes when he is unhappy with something he will mumble out this word! I punish him by using my fingers 'piak' his cheeks n make him sit on notti chair. I have warned my hubby not to use this words anymore!! others ways to rectify this problem??

Ashley's behaviour was so different on Saturday and Sunday.

<u>ON SATURDAY</u>
She was soooo well behaved on Saturday..she woke up early..so watched some TV, and had breakfast..after that I printed some pictures for her to colour (recently she can do colouring for the whole day..really enjoys it) .. after a while took lunch and napped for 3 hours. After nap, we did some colouring and drawing ..then went out to my in law's place.. and back then slept...peaceful day..

<u>ON SUNDAY</u>
- woke up around the same time.. during breakfast, she said she wanted to find a barney bag that my brother bought ... eventually we found out she saw the bag at the shops and she thought my brother bought the bag for her (my brother actually bought 3-4 bags for her oredi).. cannot find..so started fussing.. finally let her play with something else before she stopped crying..

after that we went birthday party, she didn't take her usual nap so evening time was quite man-zhang.. before nap we asked her to wear diapers and she was making a lot of noise and say she didn't wanna wear.. eventually i changed the "diapers" to pullup pants..she said ok.. and happily lie down on the bed to let me change for her before she slept. (i eventually still put on diapers for her but she didn't realise..haha..just fussing only)

when she throw tantrums, i usually pretend not to see..after a while, she'll give up.. recently when we don't allow her to do something, she likes to say " I dun want mummy, I dun want daddy, I dun want popo".. but this usually last less than 5 minutes before she comes to us again.

<u>OTHER OCCASIONS</u>
As for shopping, so far she doesn't insist us to buy things..i'll tell her "mummy didn't bring $$" .. usually she'll put the thing back.

I also have been using Serene's pre-alert method. Especially when I want her to shower when she's playing. If the "count-down" doesn't work, I'll carry her and fly her around the house before "landing" in the bathroom..

Basically I think at this age, they get distracted quite easily and their mood changes like weather..if we can distract them when they are throwing tamtrums, they'll forget and get happy easily.. but most importantly the adults gotta keep their cool.. recently me and hubby just laugh it off and ignores her if she is throwing tamtrums..

yesterday very funny..my hubby was lazing around before we were going out. Ashley went to him and told him "Daddy, go shower. I am angry, I go take rubber band"

hey there mummies, think we are all facing the horrors of child throwing tantrums. sometimes when cayden throws a tantrum, he can go to the extent to hit me on the face. i'll then hav to hold his hands and tell him to stop it.

caomei,
1) throwing of toys
when cayden throws his toys, scolding him won't work. he'll throw more and harder. i've to use the soft approach, tell him the toy will spoil and he won't have any toys to play with. and mummy and daddy will not buy new ones. most of the time it works.

2) interruption during play
same as serenemeow, i'll pre-alert him, tell him 5 more minutes to play and will have dinner. after dinner go bathe. again most of the time it'll work.

3) things that attract him
sigh, this is the most painful part...i still haven't find a good solution to this. usually he'll jus scream and scream, previously i'll give in sometimes. but nowadays i'll jus ignore him and let him scream and cry. he's now just starting to understand that screaming and crying will not get him anywhere.

peng,
quite a few months ago, my boy also kept saying "neh neh pok". all thanks to my FIL who said that phrase when my son picked up a bra. so whenever he said "NNP", i will tell him, DO NOT SAY THAT. have repeated this to him for months liao. somehow it has sunk in.

ahahahaha dumbger,
JK oso same.. everytime say NNP and try to pinch everyone's else but his, esp his dad's when he's not wearing tshirt...

he oso got another phrase "GGB" (gu gu bird)... no one know where he learn this... it just came out from him one day when we brought him to his potty for urine.. he suddenly just spurted saying his father forget to wipe his GGB after urine.. faint..
These days i just stare at him and he will shut up..

This is how i train my boy. Not sure right or wrong but so far so good.

Bathtime: So far he will auto come to me when i call him from the bath room. Bath for him standing up after that he will request to play in the tub of water for a while. I gave him all his barang barang toy and last but not least a bell. He will ring the bell once he is ready to come out. Most prob a few minutes only inside the water only. Before i left him alone in the bath tub(the small baby bath tub), i will always repeat these 3 question and i will make sure he answer me 1st before i left him alone. Can you stand up? What must you do when u feel cold? What must you do when you are ready?
have being doing this for half a year already. So far so good.

Playtime: Make sure he take and put back all his toys after play. So far he is quite co operative. He will tell me lets keep together. But there are times when he he goes haywire also.

Language: He learn alots of nonsense stuff from us/nehpew/niece etc. Neh neh poo poo, Tranform, gu gu bird, neh neh, Ben10 etc. Can't control him much on this portion. But i will make sure he don't use this neh neh poo poo, infront of me.

Going out shopping: Normally he will not ask us to buy toys. He will play at the toy shop and when we said let go, he will just said bye bye to whatever toys he is playing during that time and leave with us. SO far so good.

Serenemeow, my goodness, i always tell my boy, hey you didn't shake your bird bird after urine. Ha, i thought this should be the way for man after they unrine. Mhhhhh......

Thanks mummies for sharing. Hahaha.. looks like some kids are more "kuai" and soft approach works well. Owen takes the soft approach too, but he is beginning to show curiosity in rebelling the "soft approach".

Like he will remember to say "cannot throw, wait toy toy spoil oredy loh, no more loh", yet he throws. He can say "orh-orh time" after 2 storybooks yet he wants more after that.

About words.. hmmm.. not so much of a worry than his temper. He often giggles and says "neh neh pok"; or says "wait bird bird flies away, mei mei catch, or-oh! No more" whenever he runs away w/o pants.

Crocs Expo Sales
22 May 2009 - 24 May 2009

Event type : Retailer &amp; Sales
Venue : Hall 4A
Admission : Public - Free Admission
Event Schedules : Time: 10am to 8pm

Show Profile :
Crocs Expo Sales

Organizer : Crocs Asia Pte Ltd

Contact Details :
Tel : +65 6499 9500 / 6411 7600

Bring Zhe Lei to KK for review on wed n the doctor said for his age have to put the cast for min 3 weeks. So change a new n lighter cast for him. Have to go back 2 weeks later to take x ray n remove the cast.
2411940.jpg

Yesterday bring him to Science Centre n found it was very interesting. He is still FOC n enjoy a lot there.
2411941.jpg

Hi morning mummies!

Good idea Eileen, we haven't been to Science Centre yet so maybe we shld go this coming weekend. Hope Zhelei recovers well too.

Friday evening, we went Anchorvale Field to fly kites. Too bad none of our 5 kites fly, probably bcos the wind was inconsistent and weak for that day. Guess what, we happened to pass by the field on Sat evening, and saw as many as 50 kites in the sky!!! It's like National Day.

Anyway, Owen enjoyed running in the field while we tried to fly kites and we also had a glance at the Seng Kang swimming pool. It looks interesting with the tunnel slides, but very crowded.

strawberry
b4 the entrance of the Science centre, there is water playing area. Not sure need to pay or not. You may bring extra cloth for yr Owen if u intend to let him play. ZL keep shouting want to play but too sad his hand can't get wet now.

babygal...
wah u faster than me leh.... :p
was thinking of posting this info last thurs after it's officially made known on the Expo website.

ok gals...
enjoy ur Crocs sales and I will be there for the 3 full days...
U can just come up to say hi to me

I should be manning the woman styles again if nothing changes.. sticking back to our last strong team :p

serene,
Like tat can reserve things from u anot or can pay direct from ur side no need queue.Juz joking.

Btw any inside info wat things is on sale and price range?

hahaha babygal,
based on the previous experience, better for you guys to cheong and buy urself cos at the end of the day those shoes we kept mysteriously went missing.. don't know who itchy hands go and take...

anyway hopefully for this round, the payment queue won't be too long cos we have increased the counters from 12 to 24... but also don't know whether the crowd will be as big or not cos too many crocs sales happen over the past few months (by our distributoris)....

as for the styles and price on sale... me know neither cos me not in the sales team leh... only the sales team will have the info.. will onli know the day before the sale open to public.. maybe i can post up then :p

Thanks for the info Eileen.. will bear in mind if we go. Poor Zhelei, must be very tempted but cannot play.

bbgal

Wat's so good abt Crocs shoes leh? I see many adults and kids wearing until it becomes so common, &amp; we did let Owen try a pair at Marina, he didn't like it so din buy.

Cao Mei,
it's light weight lor...

anyway JK oso cannot wear Crocs cos of his walking pattern and his feet.. he very flat-footed so the feet looks abit awkward when wearing...

strawberry,
Hmmm,for me it convienience for K to slip in the shoe and as I buy black for K so no need much maintence as well so 1 word it fang bian somemore it quick dry as well and most of the time I let her wear to sch.

Hi Serenemeow,

I miss the preivous sales, going to this one this time round.

Can help to check if there will be rally kids and Tideline Leather on sale, we are eyeing that but have not buy, waiting to see if the sales have or not.

Hi Wayne's mummy,
both rally kids and Tideline leather are considered current season products.
These are very unlikely to be on the expo sales.

Hello ladies, I'll going for the crocs sale on fri, hopefully not so many people. Anyone interested, can go together or meet there.. sms or pm me..