(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Freshpoison, Hi!! D gymboree at harbourfront is gd.. Veri quiet and peaceful on weekdays and although its full on weekends its nt as bad as the Tanglin one..
As for JG, im tinking of puttng my babes thr in April, bt the weekday classes.. Am actuali torn btw JG, Etonhouse and Kinderland. Any advise? At 18mths for me its juz a chance for the babes to interact and for me to take a breather fr them.

lilboymum,
Welcome to the SAHM club!
I could be leaving this club sooner than expected. Got a good offer which i'm still thinking about. I'm so torn between. sigh....

Good that you'll be embarking on a PHD, good to keep the mind stimulated. But it's not gg to be easy also cos there will be busy periods for you when u need to do your research and thesis.
So what's in store after getting the PHD? Stay at home to look after CY? :p

Vivian,
Hang in there!

Hi Hozali,
Yah, Will start my boy on JG in April cos the prog requires him to be 18mths old but they advised me yest to register 1st since there's a 3-6mth waiting list. They told me now register, by then will be juz nice. But I think @ least 1 parent is required to be in the class wif the kid leh. So how to take breather fr your bb?

freshpoison
oh u din wanna prder direct fr neogarden but fr delihub instead? i din noe tt... paiseh 4 the delay... anyway no worries.

jenny
wah u so high on the "party party" all the way huh? hehehehehee...

Doreen
i juz bot another stroller at taka fair on sat... its maclaren n light weight as compared to my capella. imagine i still dunno how to use my capella properly??? if my hb dun go out wif me, i usually dun use stroller... coz i dunno how to recline! hahahaha

and R dun like stroller now... its a nightmare! how i envy the mummies whose babies can sit inside the stroller happily! i wished R was like tt! its so tiring to carry him now. even when i using Ergo, can feel the strain on my back. and worse of all, he dun even wan my hb to Ergo him. aiyoh... i hate to go shopping wif him now. and recently, he picked up the "art" of screaming! so embarrassing! coz his screams can echo thru the shopping mall n i had to pick him up immed...

i am still tryg to figure out how to make him sleep thru the nite... i need my sleep leh... cannot like tt... and i am gg to wean him off bfg soon...

lilboymum
wow... PhD!!! how tempting... to b SAHM... u on scholarship?

bbgrace
u had an offer even b4 u return back to work? hehehe... tts nice.

bbgrace
Wah good offer aah so nice. So envy......hehehe

vivian
Saw u online last night so late know u confirm doing work again...haha
Take care aah dun work too hard.

crystalised
Imagine D scream in the BUS!!!!
So embaressing leh esp when its crowded I dunno where to hide aah n his itchy hands keep touching the ppl next to us. N now sometimes he will stare at ppl point at them n scream machiam scolding them like that so rude aah dunno how to stop him. =-=

Crystal,

My gal also dun like to be in the stroller, maybe my stroller quinny cannot decline. She will show her black face whenever we put her down but she so heavy boh and she will scream until we carry her.
(By the way Megan now about 9.5 kg)

bbgrace,
so how's the arrangement if you work ??
I now having a good time to be a part time SAHM ..
I go work when i in gd mood else stay at home playing wif the bb.
Megan now like to look at our lip so far she can say "mmmilk" and "ball".

I be holding megan birthday at the NTUC chalet .Now a little regret as that place is too small. .still can't decide whether to invite frds cos that place really too small..haiz ..so now nothing has been done yet

Freshpoison,
Heee...i understand how you feel. doing the masters was tough. my hb used to think i 'siao', but now he is doing it himself...hehehe...

babygrace...
hmmm..that's a tempting prospect...improve my mind, then stay at home all the same. but no lah, when im done, most likely getting back a teaching job, but hopefully not regular school by then.

COngrats on the good job offer. offers that come my way can never be tempting.the only thing considered tempting to some teachers is getting offers from 'good schools' so that can get their child into phase 2A2 registration...pathetic lah..

crystaliised...
scholarship?? no lah....not so smart.heee...and the scholarship bond will kill me before anything happens.i just only ended my 5year bond.by end of this month, im free!!!

but really missed studying. Teaching and studying is a whole world of difference. Teaching is repetitive and too much a drudgery. At least, i need to stop for a few years to regain my passion i guess.

mango..
megan so smart. can speak oredi. that's the good thing about girls...they tend to speak much faster. but that is a tendency (no offence to mummies of boys..eee...i got a boy too)

lilboymum,
You are really brave to do your PhD when you baby is still so young and you are going to be a SAHM! I am really glad I submitted my Phd thesis just 2 months before I delivered K and I only had to handle the final oral defense part after K was born. Still, it was not easy to juggle preparing for the final leg and looking after a 2 - 3 month old baby AND working full time. Looking back, I really don't know how I did it. *sweat*

Anyway, if you need anyone to complain to about research stress, paper writing stress, you know who to look for. I can empathise!

Freshpoison,
You mentioned about the availability of weekend classes at the Evan Road branch but what if it is twice a week, there will still be a weekday involved right? How to bring kiddo to class like that?.... I am contemplating JG as well but this lazy mummy here hasn't done anything yet :p

Crystallized,
hahaha...think hor u & me almost sama sama..
1st, me oso using capella, n i still dunno how to use it properly. i rather carry him than put him into stroller.
2nd, i still need to wake up 2-3 times per nite for his nite feed. y'day SIL just comment my 'panda eye'

i oso cant figure out how to wean his nite feed, even tried bottle feed but FAILED! he still wak up & drink like so hungry type. i give up liao.
3rd, we hav an active boy!!! BTH him at home. but he at least behave guai guai outside.
hahaha...

lilboymum,
Kudo to u!

Be SAHM, at least u can look after CY & fatten him.

Babygrace,
Congrat!
so, soon u will become FTWM lol.

Vivian,
no wonder now seldom see ur posting.
Must b busy with Rhys' 1st birthday hor?
Do take care of urself..

oo...ya. forgot to mention. A can walk a few step w/o support liao. but still not very zhai yet.

But, He still dun wan to clap hand & wave bye bye. wahahaha...

Finally squeeze out sometime to post in the forum. I have one good news to share with you ladies! I am joining Adeline to be an Apr mummy!
Got to know a few weeks back but simply no time to post.

lilboymum
Congrats to you for making another big step to change ur and CY life. You must be looking forward to next year ya! As for the PhD, add oil! Me still have not complete my CFA level 3 it has been delayed due to many unforseen circumstances. haha guess with my second one coming, i have to delay another year again.

Vivian
U poor girl! so much work, must complain to MOE. Your job worse than auditor leh. My preparation for zac's birthday party have slowed down considerably as my evening sickness kick in. Only managed to confirm the venue, cake, birthday invites... like you, full of ideas but no execution. envy u, still have godsons to help u, i am cracking my brain on how to outsource some of the things. haha

Jenny
Party! Party! Party! I am also very excited abt zac's party. Wow ur goodies bags look super power "FULL". My childeren guests age really quite a big range so still cracking on what to give...haiz. Jaslyn's birthday celebration is the same day as zac's! guess that day will be busy day for both of us.

Crystallised, Jasmine
High 5! I am using a Capella too! Haha! I also dont know how to use it properly. I have phobia using the stroller on the escalator as it ever got stuck. Luckily a gentleman came to my saving, really got a scare! I still prefer to use my ergo although with my pregnancy i may have to train zac to sit in stroller liao. But think i will still avoid the escalator. scared scared leh. oh ya, zac doesnt like to sit in the stroller for long especially it is stationary.
But i dont know why i love to buy stroller and am always looking at stroller during the fair. My hubby kept nagging me to stop looking since zac doesnt like it.

Mango

WOW where did you find such good part time job? can go whenever u like must recommend!!!

JG
==
Saw a lot of discussion on this playgroup. Anyone has found out the price and schedule can post it here? Also thinking of sending zac to playgroup when he turns 15 or 18 months. anyone knows if SK/ punggol has good playgroup to recommend? not sure if these playgroup needs to register way in advance so i better start to do some research.

Hi Jenny...

Thanks for the warm welcome.. heehee.. ya la.. must supoort govt de.. .. =D

Yo Delphine..

Ya.. think i should join the year 2006 MTB forum.. coz you are here ma.. heehee.. 'rou ma' hor?

Hi pups,
The class for weekend is a condensed curriculum of what they offer during weekdays so it's once a week. But I hav no choice since I cant make it for the weekday slots.

Hi jasmine,
Your boy is nt alone. Mine is also nt very enthusiastic abt clapping and waving 'bye bye' He will only clap when he's eating even though nobody ask him to. Then will laugh at himself showering me wif his porridge!!! But when he is nt eating, 'pa si' dun wan to clap no matter how I tempt him... haiz

Hi Shirley,

Congrats!!!

Hello Dear Haze,

Aiyo.. feel so touched, keke... my hair stand liao!!

Wow, seems like quite a number of mummies here have NO 2 liao!! and my friend Haze NO 3!!!
Anyone start planning???
Me "Xin Yang Yang" liao.

Shirley,

hehe...me & even my hb oso dunno how to use the stroller on the escalator. we normally use lift. wahaha...
quite a number of oct mommy using cappela, think selina & esther oso have...

Freshpoison,
at least ur boy still clap his hand 'when he is happy'. my boy not even bother to clap.
his trademark is shake his head.
wahaha....

Delphine,
u can join the Q..hehe. then no need to xin yang yang.
still got chance to hav a minkey or minnie mouse bb...

Hi Jasmine,

Haha... Me always NATO(No Action, Talk Only).
always in dilemma, feel that one also BTH liao.. cant imagine have 2nd one. on the other hand, feel that D so lonely, she is so happy when she see kids.

Delpine, Jasmine...

Can plan le... by time you have.. just nice.. =D
you can see a lot of fun between the two kids.. like example.. rivalry? heehee... no la.. dun be scared off k... hmmm.. can't imagine how my lao er gonna treat her younger sister when she is out in Jan...

Haze,

You see posting by prettymama??? 1st birthday gal banner out of stock at the point of order. think have to source somewhere liao.

Hi shirley!!!
COngrsts!!!!!Wow...zac zac is goin' to be big bro liao!!!Way to go!!!you r CFA can wait...level 3 is tough from waht i heard.

thanks for the well wishes mummies...
Pups,
wow, you did your PhD viva when k is 2-3mths? tough...

Shirley
CONGRATS!!!!!
zac zac gonna b big gor gor liao!

i v rough when i handle things. my hb & mum always tell R he got a rough mummy! hahaha, so when i use stroller, oso v chor-lor one. kekeke...

Doreen
i can understd ur embarrassment coz i hv been 'humiliated' by R last wkend many times when we were out oso... even my hb oso wondered y R suddenly is a power screamer...

R not only like to touch ppl, he oso noes how to kick ppl using his legs!!! so embarrassing! but at times the other party found it amusing though... :p

Mango
1 mth ago R was 9.4 kg... now i think he is heavier... i cant stand carrying him in Ergo too long... v tiring... u mean M likes to recline? R dun like! He will SCREAM his head off if he is in reclined position.

lilboymum
so u r a teacher?
wah biang, pls kill me if i had to study again... brains cells all died liao... kekeke

Jasmine
u intro FM to A liao rite? he still wakes up a few times a nite to nurse? really jia lat man... according to my mum, he dun wake up so many times when i dun sleep over leh. but when he is home, he dun co-sleep wif me mah... he sleeps on the mattress on the floor... shld not b able to 'smell' me so easily but still he wakes up 2-3 times. i desperately wanna wean off his nite feeds leh... and i think he has been of gd weight since born... so dun think he is not eatg well in the day... i am reading up lah, hopefully can shed some light to wean off... but this will take weeks, if not mths...

at least ur A still guai guai when go out hor... i hope the maclaren is more user friendly n R will guai guai sit inside...

Wow.. CONGRATS Shirley! So many 'power mummies' here.. I dare not even think about 'making' baby . No doubt I am truly blessed.. but the thought of having another baby (or another pair of twins)shivers me alot...

Jenny, what's in ur goodie bags hah? Share share what and where u buy can?

PLAYARD
~~~~~~~
Is anyone still keen in getting playyard? I probably need another 1 set.

Shirley,
Congrats! :D

lilboymum,
Yes. I made took my third month maternity leave on a flexi basis to try to prepare for my PhD viva. Was quite tough cos baby was a big distractor! Not to forget, I was doing total breastfeeding at that time also. nightmare!

Freshpoison,
Thanks for the info on JG.

GOING BACK TO WORK
I've been going thru a roller coaster of emotions for the past few days.
This job offer is good because it's a "step down" in position which means there's no management responsibilities and there's a boss above me to shield the "bullets" instead of me getting hit by bullets all the time at my previous job. And the pay is higher also. So there lies the dilemma. If it's not a good offer, i would have be so stressed over it.

There were many times where i felt that i should just go earn the money. Having the extra money is always good. And after that, the guilt of leaving Joshua in childcare will start to consume me. Plus when i ask him if he wants mommy to go to work, he'll say no. And each time i play with both kids at home, i keep thinking that i wont have this luxury again. Then i start having 2nd thoughts. And of course, there's the worry of how Joshua will adjust to childcare and fear that he will fall sick etc. Then i'll think i'll forget about the money, life still goes on. Just shop lesser lor.
It was really agonising. I'm supposed to give a reply tmrw morning. Most probably i will take it unless i wake up tmrw morning feeling guilty all over again.
But i know that if i don't take up this offer, I will be a SAHM permanently liao.

Mango,
Wah, what type of work are u doing? So shiok!
Emma will stay home with the maid while Joshua will go to half-day childcare and i will get my MIL and parents to take turns to come in the afternoons to help out.

shirley,
Congrats once again

Regarding playgroup in SK. The nearest one to your home would be the one at the community centre. They accept kids from 20 mths onwards. It's a 1.5hr daily playgroup. The curriculum is nothing fantastic but i put Joshua there mainly for the purpose of socialising and learning to be independent. Academic-wise i can teach him myself. Some of the childcare centres in SK offer those flexi-care program which is about 3 hrs a day so u can also consider those. Alternatively if u have a bigger budget, you can try Pat's Schoolhouse near Kovan. There's a daily playgroup and a weekly playgroup on weekends also. I went for a trial for the weekend playgroup, not too bad but it's too far for us and it's quite pricey which i feel that i would rather save the money and use it on other enrichment classes instead.

crystallized,
I'm very proud to say that i've only bought 1 stroller so far, even with 2 kids. Cos both hardly want to sit in it! haha!

Have u intro FM to R yet? I only pump 2x daily and my ss has dipped tremendously. I'm gg to wean Emma off my boobs at night soon but i think it's going to be difficult. These days, instead of latching her to sleep at night, I'll give her a bottle. But the problem is that when she finishes her milk in the bottle, she starts looking for my boobs to latch on. And she already rejected the pacifier ever since her teeth appeared. Looks like it's gonna be more difficult to wean her than Joshua.

BEST TIMING FOR #2
Like i mentioned before, there's no best time for #2. But somehow i'm glad that the age gap between Joshua and Emma is quite close. I was pregnant with emma when Joshua was 13 mths, so there's a 20 mth gap.
No doubt, this is the most difficult period now. If you think it's tiring now looking after 1 child, it's double the work when u have two. And worse still, with one child, at least there are 2 persons (husband and wife) looking after so it's 50% each. But with 2 kids, each person has to take one, so it's 100% of the effort. And i have not had a good night sleep for 2.5 yrs liao.

Joshua at 2.5 yrs old now, is easier to manage when we go out. I can bring him out on my own to take mrt and bus with no problem. Don't need to carry all the barang barang. In fact, he carries his water bottle, wet wipes and extra shirt in his own little backpack while I can carry my own small bag. No need to bring milk or porridge cos he can eat outside food. Don't need to worry about nap time cos they sleep lesser now. So if i don't have a 2nd one now, I think the inertia to try for one will be very high. The thought of starting all over with a newborn is scary.

My point is that there's no good time lah. Just need to brace yourself up for the challenge and enjoy the process. Now i'm waiting for Emma to quickly grow up so that it's less of a logistic nightmare when we go out. haha!

Today I was at the bus stop with Damien waiting or the bus. We were both looking at different directions. Me looking at the oncoming traffic n D at the opp direction.
N suddenly he said "Bar". So I was still wondering he normally says "papa" 2 words together lor how come he say 1 time only. So I turn to see what he was looking n there he was pointing at the bus opp the road n said again "Bar".
Wah I was feeling so damn proud there n then. My son know how to say BUS....kekekekee

But then he still dun wanna learn to walk leh when we put him standing on his own he will jump/fly towards us.....sigh
Think my hope of him 'walking' in disneyland pao tang liao.

Dor,
So cute, D can tell u when the bus is coming. haha!

You know what is Emma's first word? Lion. How anti-climax. I was hoping that it could be papa or mama. There's a picture of a lion on her mag mag cup so she will go "lye yaan". And she really knows her lion cos i tested her with animal figurines. Showed her a cow and a lion and ask her which one lion, she chose the correct one. Same when i showed her a lion and tiger.

Wow wow Shirley,
Congrat!!!

i will be reading but not much time to write.... do hope everyone is having a good time.....

babygrace
Go work and see how lor... if not good, you can still adjust plan to leave again
... all the best for this new job!!

shirley
congratulations !! must take care hor

crystal
if u r not using e neo garden card, can loan to me?

jg
I told my colleagues yesterday that I need 2 start saving for my gal education and the topic surface today
so qiao
fresh poison, can share more on e details ?

shirely, jackie and bbgrace,

I am currently helping out at megan's daddy business but only go if necessary .Anyway I got my own career also.

PLANNING FOR #02
==================
I just start my planning..hope to close shop early...anyway think its a good excuse to laze longer...

Delphine,
come join me leh

Anyway how many mummies are expecting ah ??

bbgrace ,
Having extra money always good..can give it try if the opportunity is gd .
By the way have you make a windfall from the recent property wave ?

babeong,
So which area you eyeing ?

Jenny,
Coz some ppl din do their job in preparing the subject lor. End up got to clear ppl shit urgently coz I got to teach that subject which happens to be new to me. So now, I got to learn from scratch with NO materials at all, create and plan materials for students, and teach almost instantly and still got to act EXPERT! Sigh... imagine that these ppl already taught the subject for a year liao and the things they taught is like SH*T... aiya... dun want to tok abt that liao... me just tell myself that I can take this chance to learn a new thing, just in the most difficult way....
Yah yah...party party all the way..hee... think my Rhys' party will be the 2nd earliest,after Weikuan's Ruifang. Mine will be on 16 Sept. hee...

lilboymum,
wah... PhD ah... solid... me hor, before having Rhys, finally completed my part-time degree and I tell myself, NO MORE STUDIES liao... got to salute you! Both of us are in education line but you so "good luk", I so "nua"... haa....

freshpoison77,
hey, my hb now also reservist leh... hee... this week last week liao... I can sleep a bit more after this week...

mango,
think you the best liao... SAHM and go work anytime you like.... perfect arrangement...
Rhys' party will be at Aloha Loyang Pool Terrace.
wah... planning for no. 2 huh?? JIA YOU!!!!!

pups,
wah seh... you already completed your PhD?? SALUTE! Me with my chao degree can liao... haa...

Shirley!!!!
CONGRATS!!!! aiyo... your news really make my day... so exciting... imagine so tired at home after work and settling Rhys, open forum and tada... a new mummie!!! hee... congrats again... take care leh...
As for the party preparation, no choice leh... if I dun do, no one do liao... try lor... just wanted some nice memories for us and Rhys... you jia you too!!!

Doreen,
This D hor, very solid leh... know how to call papa and now BAR... haa.... so proud of him.... next time at the bus-stop you can nap liao, let D tell you when bus come... haa... how useful is that!! haa.....

babygrace,
Congrats on your new job offer... and congrats on Emma's first word!!! Lion.... so cute.... Rhys also love animals.... but he only know how to smile and rock his body to and fro when we show him the animal books. He like ducks, chicks and cow!! haa... coz I always make sound effects for these animals.... erh... actually for ALL animals... haa.... the only sound effect I dun know is Giraffe and Racoon!! You got any idea?? hee...

Hi Mango,

keke... ya lor, me too wants to close shop early hopefully before 30. ok, let us jia you jia you.

Think now there are 5!!
Little kid, starz, adeline, shirley, haze.

Any mummies joining??

Hi Doreen,

So cute, D knows how to call Bus liao. desiree still bababa... nanana... aiyo papa and mama, i pray hard hard lor..

Hi Babygrace,

So have you decide on your new offer?? as i always advise pple, oppotunity dun come by easily, grab it if you think it is good.

Hazel,
hahaha....
how old is ur lao da? it's mean ur child gap quite close hor?

Crystallized,
yes..i intro FM to A but as & when nia.
but i m glad tat i managed to wean off latch on for his last feed b4 sleep. i gav him a bottle 200ml ebm about 9pm & he finished all. then he will wake up 1-2am, this round i will giv him 150ml FM cos i wan him to sleep thru nite. but he normally will drink 120ml within 5 min (hungry??) and he will wake up again 4-5am then latch on (cos i lazy to pump out) and sleep till 7.30am.
i oso dunno how to wean off his nite feed.

Doreen,
so cute!! Soon D will call mama liao.
me still wait long long..A recently become so quiet.

Delphine,
Little kid oso pregnant??
Another one is Bunny...

delphine,

wow you so young ah..me lao liao , need to do it before the big 35

vivian,

Aiyo I used to work all day and night last time with megan daddy .
Finally now i can relax. ..You also ..jia you . The harder you work, the luckier you get.jia you jia you

Mango,
No wonder...I was wondering how come so good one, can choose which day you want to go to work

Jia you, jia you.

Regarding #2
Dont be like me. The age gap between Jonathan & Joanna is 4 years
kao_dizzy.gif

Actually given a choice, both me and my hubby would like our kids to be closer in age gap.

But we wanted to settle Jonathan's health condition first before trying for a 2nd kid.

Babygrace,
Congrats on your new job offer

When will you be starting your new job?

Vivan,
I wanted to book Aloha Loyang pool terrace (which is cheaper) but unfortunately its already taken up.

Beside civil servant are given first priority and I am not

Good morning ladies,
I have been very busy lately, that y no posting from me but I have always log in to read what you gals have posted especially things about our babies'1st birthday... me very excited...

haha... for your gals' information, I'm NOT pregnant. Very funny, 2 days ago, I dreamt I was pregnant, my friend told me that maybe God is giving me a surprise, hopefully my dream don't come true, I'm not prepared yet.

Jackiejon,
are you going to our "friend" full month celebration this Sunday??

Jasmine

my lao da is 35mths..she and lao er gap is 21 months.. and my lao er and lao san.. is about 15mths apart...
come to think of it quite siong leh.. coz neverending sleepless nights... -.-"

Yo Delphine..

buay tahan liao izzit? trying for second one liao ar? hmmm... good good...then we can have same year baby again!!! heehee..