(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

This thread is lost again. Like selina, luckily i din shut down my laptop, so i got it from the history.

Went back office today to settle some stuff. Very mixed feelings. sigh.....

jlyn,
you asked how big is Emma as in how heavy? She's almost 8kg, i think. Both Emma and my 2.5 yr old Joshua stay in the play yard together. It's quite sturdy cos it has suction cups to secure to the floor plus the panels are all linked together in a square, can't topple. No problem for bb to pull themselve up and cruise around it. Joshua even leans against it, it'll just push it out of shape but wont topple.

FOOD
i've never blended any food for Joshua and Emma, just scrape or mash. Emma can take scrapped meat in her porridge with no problem. Even now for fruits like apples or peach, i just hold the slice and let Emma nibble. I want them to be able to handle chunkier texture so that it's easier to feed them outside food next time.

bbgrace,
The suction cups on my playyard doesn't seem to work a single bit.

As for fruits, K will eat grated fruits (using the grater in the food processor set) but he will not want to nibble from the big slice. I gave him my apple once to suck on but he didn't want to. But if it is grated apple, he will yell for more even after a huge helping.

<font color="0000ff">bbgrace</font> yah my sis encourages me to let caleb try different texture food too so as to let him know food are not always nua nua. lucky for me, caleb is ok so i dun blend them now. initially my parents quite against it but i slowly insist n showed them that caleb can manage n now they are impressed cos they nv knew bb at his age n already take non-blended food.

y u having 2nd thoughts n wished u were working?

<font color="0000ff">pups</font> caleb will bite off a big chunk of the apple until my dad really scared cos he still toothless.

oh realised there is something that caleb doesnt like to it and it is PAPAYA. gave him 2 mouthful last evening. he took it but when ask called him back for more, he simply ignored me (not his usual self cos he will usually come towards me knowing there are things to eat). so strange. seems like many kids dun like papaya.

selina / jenny,
I only need to go back in Jan 08.
Dunno leh, while i miss my colleagues and maybe some of the challenges of work, i can't bear to leave Joshua and Emma simply because i'll be too worried about how the maid is coping with them. Am supposed to start looking for a childcare centre for Joshua but i'm still dragging my feet.
Plus hubby may take on a job that requires a fair bit of travelling. So i really dunno.

selina,
My 2 kids don't like papaya also. In fact i think they don't like fruits with strong smell or intense taste eg durian, mango, papaya.

pups,
Maybe it's the type of flooring that renders the suction cups useless? I find that it works for marble floor leh. But the problem is that the play mat that i put inside is bigger than the yard, so now the yard sits on top of the mat.

selina
Kaelen doesn't like papaya either. My mum noticed he doesn't quite like banana too. But this boy... if he doesn't like, he is just not enthusiastic about eating them but he still does so. Unlike food that he likes, he will "complain" when you are just a wee bit slow in feeding him!

bbgrace,
Don't know.. mine is homogenous tiles so the surface should appear pretty much like marble type? I do have the Mini Toons playmat inside. Some of the yard is just outside the mat whereas some of it is on top of the mat, right at the edge. I will say this mat is quite a good match for the yard.

<font color="0000ff">pups</font> caleb loves bananas. he can finish 1 entire himself. yesterday is the 1st time i see him ignoring me. not the 1st time he takes papaya but in the past he will at least eat 5 spoonful or more. tis really shows that he has grown up n has his own opinions and make choices of his own.

selina
Maybe kaelen takes after me? I totally dislike bananas! :p His favourites so far are apples and pears, especially pear.

selina,
I agree with you that our babies are starting to make their own choices.
Think i shared with some of you during msn chat that Emma doesn't like to drink water and when i give her mag mag cup to drink, don't want means don't want. But when i leave the cup there for her, she'll pick it up to drink it herself when she feels like it.

<font color="0000ff">pups</font> but i love papayas leh

Hi babygrace,

Thought it's up already cos in the morning i also cant logged in.

Anyway, Singapore motherhood forum has been down quite frequently.

Got function so will end very late... Lucky this type of events dun happen very frequently. Wats worse, my boy having the flu... Din sleep well last nite so his poor mummy now like zombie!!! haha

Oh dear, please take care of yourself. seems like the virus flu is very strong now. everyone took turn to get sick in my offce.

Jenny, now I learn my lesson. AT first saw that she loves the soup so much so kept giving lor, now will learn from you give pasta then soup.

Crystallised, R already start to eat lao shu fen, etc? Are these food oily? Wonder how much oil can our bb take...

I am too tired to go thru all post.

Couldnt get use to the nausea feeling as when i had kim i didnt experience any MS.

Any advice on that? I am feeling very tired everyday. I took MC on wed and i slept since tues night to wed 8pm.
+ now having flu which is making it worse.

last time i let my boy eat papaya he dun like cos its sweet, yesterday him try again and he takes 5 spoons cos tat papaya not sweet

adeline,
Hang in there, hopefully the MS will go away after 12 weeks. Just try to rest more.
i'm lucky that for both kids i didn't have MS.

The thread is missing, I hope all mummies got bookmark the thread!

Delphine,
The forum is undergoing another round of upgrading and maintainence. That's why so unstable lor. Sometimes I typed a lot leh, wanna post, keep clicking the post button, it failed me.

Coral,
You give soup, so when Charlotte drinks till full, of cos she dun want the pasta mah.

Adeline,
Your work allows you to rest for a period of time? My MS for 2nd preggie was terrible. Sort of vomit the whole day, I told my hb I can "bao ma tong" to sleep. I asked gynae for almost 2 weeks MC cos I couldn't tahan car ride. Once the car started to move, I sure vomitted. So, I couldn't go to office at all! After the MC, I started to plan my work, work 3 to 4 days instead of 5 days a week, either take leave or use MC to cover. Bo pian, cos no one to cover my work. My bosses very understanding lor.

Drinking plain water makes you even more nausea. Change to ribena bah, add a little bit to water for taste. Dry crackers and toast will help in your nausea. They are dry stuff, which can "suck" the acid away. Change your bread to wholemeal bread.

aspialle,
Papaya hor, dun give bb too much hor. Wait you see your Ted becomes yellowish.

Ok, got to go, very busy with work. One of my very good bosses leaving soon
Hope when he's back 2 years later, I still around haha

adeline,
oh yes, now that Jenny mentioned about adding ribena into water, i used to add a bit of kalamansi juice into my water also cos i had this metallic taste in my mouth and plain water made it worse. but don't drink on empty stomach lah.
And i used to eat a lot of the marks & spencer lemon fish gummies.

BETA-CAROTENE
Vegetables and fruits like carrot, papaya, sweet potato,pumpkin contain beta-carotene which can turn the skin yellow if consumed too much. One way to see is on the nose and the palm. So give in moderation ok?

Jenny
noted thanks jenny
papaya also have nitrate rite?
now my maid take care have to remind her many tings......haiz i m not in control

Long time din log in... hope still rem me.

Adeline,
Congrats... I also feel v v tired when I had Sheen during 1st tri... things will be better during 2nd tri...take good care of yourself

Gathering
=========
Look at some pics posted and so envy... so many cute bbs... Haiz.. hv to work so no choice... hope there will be another gathering soon...

Fruits
======
My girl loves fruits... u name it...banana, papaya, apples... she can eat 1 whole apple and banana...but I dun dare to give her too much papaya and banana

BB's food
=========
So far I hv oni give her porridge. hv not try other food. the pasta soup sounds nice. can cook more for ourselves too...save trouble and time...hee

Crawling
========
My girl still not crawling very well lei... when she wans to get something, she will like wriggle on the mat to get it. Though i noe tt its not neccessary tt they will go thru this phase but as a 1st time mummy i hope to see her crawl lei... its like so cute when they crawl... Are ur bbs crawling v well now?

Anyway, hope all of you have a great weekend...

Adeline,
I had very bad morning sickness last time. Vomitted until I ended up having to go for drips 3 times. Though it didn't help for me, but I guess you can keep nibbling on plain crackers or plain bread whenever you feel nauseous. Heard that when blood glucose is low, you feel nauseous too so don't let it become a vicious cycle -> nauseous, don't eat, don't eat get more nauseous.

Also, towards the end I felt that sipping (note, sip and not drink large mouthfuls) HOT water helped me.

Jenny,
You 2 weeks ah.. I ended up with one month hospitalisation leave. Stay at home throughout, intersparsed with hospital stay for drips. :p

cneo,
My baby can crawl quite well now. He is coming 9 months this Sunday. Two nights back, he was on the floor in my master bedroom. I told him to go look for daddy and he actually made his way to the kitchen on his own (my masterbed room and kitchen are considered the furthest distance in the house). He was so focused and not even distracted by his favourite distractors which paved his way! Haha.. I was so proud of him when he "stepped palm" into the kitchen :p

But not to worry lah.. your girl may decide to surprise you one day with fast and steady crawling!

Jenny
Thanks somehow i having sore-throat also. Once my stomach is empty i start to fill nausea. Yes plain water !! now i know why.. i drink alot water during work. i cant rest for work moreover my boss is leaving me soon, she needs me to take over certain things. Today cause not much energy i got complain by customer. so sianz.

bbgrace
kalamansi is it lime or lemon huh?

pups,
wow, tat's a great achievement for ur bb.I will be proud of my girl too if she did tat... My girl is 9mths 2weeks liao still so lazy..Hope she will surprise me one day soon.

Adeline,
take it easy... dun be affected by work. ur health n bb is more impt. try not to drink too much water esp in big gulps cos I find will make u more nausea.

Cneo
Hard wor.. customer service always must endure.. but recently temper abit bad.

REgarding marcaroni.
Is it too filling for them? is marcaroni = dong xin fen?

selina
of coz i dun mind sharing it wif u. i juz PM-ed u.

coral
yah i alrdy let R eat kway teow, mee suah, marcaroni n lao shu fen so far. this boy at times will not eat his porridge so i guess he is sick of porridge liao. my mum oso commented the same thing when R dun wan his porridge for 2 dinners. so my mum cooked kway teow and he finished 1 big bowl.
so i guess we need to switch variety at times. i am not too concerned abt the oiliness coz its not a lot and i think he can do wif some oil. hahaha

Adeline
poor girl, can understd how terrible u feel now. i oso had morning sickness then. everyday was a drag n i kept wondering how i will make it to delivery day. and now i guess its worse coz u still hv kim. hang in there... it will pass. take small small meals... take care.

bbgrace
wow! u took such a long break fr work! naturally u will dread the day come to go back to work. the gd thing though, tts another 6 more mths! hehehe... meanwhile, slowly start to adjust ur mood to go back. it will def b hard... perhaps 4 ur 1st wk, u can go back on alt days? tts how i transit back to work then. it helped a great deal 4 me.

Adeline
if u intro marcaroni to kim, juz try half a bowl to see her rxn 1st... i oso tried half bowl wif my fussy R and was surprised when he liked it. perhaps i can suggest u try mee suah 1st? think its easier to eat as compared to marcaroni? R loved it and finished 3/4 bowl the 1st time i fed him.
to me, its considered an achievement when he can eat anything more than 1/2 bowl.

<font color="0000ff">crystallized</font>,
Time flies so quickly that before you know it, 6 months is up and i'm back at work.
When i go back, things will be in full swing. Everyone is waiting for me to go back, so i don't think i can start with alternate days.

<font color="0000ff">MARCARONI / MEE SUA SOUP</font>
This morning i cooked a big pot of soup using whole chicken, carrots, soy bean, onion in my magic cooker for dinner.
Took out a portion of it, added minced pork, tofu, brocolli and mee sua for the kids. Emma loves it so much she slurps everything so quickly.
I cooked marcaroni and veg and added to the rest of the soup and it's dinner for the adults. A simple one-pot dish for everyone.

<font color="0000ff">Alternative to mee sua</font>
Those who fed mee sua can try another alternative - somen. It's japanese buckwheat noodle. Something like soba but very thin like mee sua. But i find that it's a little bit more chewy than mee sua so boil a while more if you want it to be softer. I rinse it with water also. But i find that this one is not as salty as mee sua. Plus i feel safer cos Japan-made foodstuff have higher standards than the china-made mee sua. But of course, it's more expensive.

forum has been down so not able to post...

PediaOptix eye check up
=======================
tricia went for the test,and the result is normal. no squinting & lazy eyes. the optimertist (wrong spelling) was saying that she can see up to 2 metres now.

playyard
went to Kiddy Palace at TP and found the playyard out of stock
sales person said everywhere also out of stock and maybe 1 month plus then got new stock

Starz
pls keep us updated

babygrace
will try ur marcroni/mee sua soup receipe
sounds yummy

sleep thru night
my gal still does not sleep thro the night and when i complain abt this to my colleagues, none of them seems to have this problem with their babies and it seems i am only the only unlucky one.
Now i can see, i am not alone.

have to pray real hard that she will eventually sleep through or i will start to lose my sanity soon

marcaroni/mee sua
=================
seems like i'm not giving tricia a lot of food to try. but this gal seems to be v content with her porridge & brown rice. till today, she still do not like fish, except ikan bilis.
actually i leave it to my mum to decide what she want to feed tricia.

Gemini
how come u will think of going for eye test?
how much u paid?

Adeline
i could not take plain water during my 1st trimester and ended up drinking Ribena everyday
took some pills to stop the nausea feeling
helps a bit

pls do bear with my grouses. a few days never post already, was busy at work, also i'm so frustrated.
as my mum is overseas now, tricia is taken care by my MIL. i dun except her to do much cos my maid can sort of take care of tricia now, just need my MIL to keep an eye on her.
my MIL gave tricia bee hoon, fish (dun know what fish), omlette & yellow noodle. but she did not tell me, it's my maid who tell me. i was so angry. told my hb to tell his mum dun anyhow feed tricia. cos normally, tricia food is approved by my mum first, then i will continue.
she really "mei xin" (direct translation, no heart) to take care one, yesterday still was asking me what time reach her place after work, she's rushing to play mahjong and also suggested that i meet her at the house where she's playing so that i can pick up tricia. she still got the energy to play mahjong. rather than cooking dinner for me & my hb, she does not want my maid to cook, in the end, after picking up tricia, we have to settle our dinner outside..
i dun think i'm asking too much from her, it's just a few days and yet she cant forget about her mahjong session. really cant take it..
thks gdness, my mum coming back next mon

sleep thru nite
===============
<font color="0000ff">babe_ong</font>, u are definitely not alone. lose my temper again just now. i was v tired. tricia is already v tired, she just refuse to sleep and keep looking for my hb. she much prefer my hb to pat her to sleep. even in the middle of the nite, if she wake up, also want her daddy. ya, really waiting for the day that she can sleep thro the nite, or else both me & my hb definitely cant tahan it much longer.

hi babe ong,

the eye test is free. tat why i bring her for the check up. if need to pay, dun think i'm going. cheapskate mummy hor... hehee

hi adeline,

i had the habit of drinking water after brushing my teeth in the morning. but in my 1st tri, i cant take room temp water which then triggered my MS. i discovered lukewarm water will resolve this problem.
maybe u can try this.