(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Can I ask anyone saw this before and know where got sell?
I bought one set at a stall outside Clementi NTUC, but I went back again, the stall is no longer there...
896993.jpg

Jlyn,
haha dun ask me to pick up from you from SK hor hahah, very far leh.
Ai bor, tell me got wat recipe interesting one? scan and email me can?

Jlyn,
My mum also cook macaroni like what babygrace have describe. Rhys loved it. Maybe becoz eat porridge until sian liao. You can give it a try...

Pups,
Kaelen like the yogurt ah? ok ok... let me know if you want it lah... will keep in my mum's fridge for now. Btw hor, ask you, last nite I open 1 tub and only feed 2 spoon, the rest I put back in the fridge, tonite still can use that to feed or not?? Thinking of trying again tonite... hee.... poor boy... mummie dun give up...

LAST CALL FOR NEW SHREK BABY...
any mummies still haven submit your shrek baby photos?? I took all the pix from the yahoo group album. Did I miss out anyone? I thot I saw recently someone posted a shrek baby pix in this forum but I too busy to help post it in yahoo group... anyone?? before i complete the montage today... FYI, there are 34 shrek babies... I have been cropping and touching up photos until giddy liao.... just hope that you all will like it... me no expert in this...

<font color="0000ff">yogurt</font> think i shared b4. caleb loves the yogurt and can finish 1 whole tub n still asking for more.

<font color="0000ff">pasta</font> like jenny & pups & bbgrace, i cook using soup base (pork ribs, red dates, wolfberry, fish bones) then put in finely chopped/minced spinach & fish or lean pork before serving. i dun blend cos caleb knows how to chew with his gums tho he is still toothless. for brocoli i also dun blend cos after cooking it will become soft so i just use the spoon to mash it that's all.

i tried giving caleb udon but think too hard n since he toothless very siong for him cos he ends up swallowing them instead. but mee sua he loves it but my sis taught me to run the mee sua with some hot water so it wont be too salty. think some of you saw me feeding caleb his mee sua last sat during the gathering. i tried myself and really yummy. so i cook more n i will have the rest. healthy too... hee hee...

Jenny
i noe dun overstimulate R. i hv always told everyone in the family this. but R v funny lah. when it comes to 1 or 2 hrs b4 bedtime, he will b super happy n laff at the slightest thing, though we din play wif him. each time my hb played wif him, i will tell him off and ask him not to stimulate R anymore.
my mum said the same thing 'cheng bu' play wif R tts why he is so hyper n happy b4 bedtime.

like wat u mentioned, when bb sleeps thru the nite, it does not mean they will keep up wif this. my niece is a classic eg. i used to envy my sis coz my niece sleeps thru'out aft her last feed. but the recent last few mths, she no longer sleep thru and wakes up once for milk and 2 times to play! *faintz* somemore when she wakes up, she will start 'calling' ppl and go "oei, oei, oei' really loudly. my mum has to pat her to sleep. and it takes a long while to settle her to sleep again. so i look at my R and secretly am thankful at least he does not kick up a din when he wakes up at nite. in fact, he is not considered awake coz he nvr opens his eyes. he juz make noises.

pups
i used to not feed R water when he wakes up at nite. but aft a few tries, i realised he goes back to sleep aft taking a few sips. and i din wanna create a habit by latching him each time he wakes up though i admit its so easy to do tt and i can go back to sleep by nursing him laying beside him. so i conclude he gets thirsty in his sleep and needs water. in addn, i oso hv a habit to get up in the middle of the nite 2 drink water, so he takes aft me?! hahahaa...

jenny
oh i got 1 set of this doraemon cutlery myself (not exact design). hehehe i bot it way b4 i was preggie coz i am a fan myself. but hor i nvr used it! still at my mum's plc. hmmm, idea lah. i can pass it down to R!

can try yahoo auctions. i always get such cartton things there.

Jenny,
For baked pasta, I have a simple way of doing ;) Cook your pasta, drain, put in a bakable dish, pour some cream soup (choose your favourite from Campbell brand), put in whatever ingredient you want (fish/chicken/seafood), spread a layer of grated mozeralla cheese over. Put into the oven to bake for say 10 mins or until the cheese on top has melted into a full layer and the top crust is a little golden brown. Really to tuck in!

For wolfberry ("gou ji zi" or rather some ppl called it as "gou ji"). I ever read an article that kids should eat not more than 8 pcs. It shocked me cos I gave a lot to Jolene.

Vivian,
Yoghurt taken half, you put back into fridge, can meh?

Selina,
Ya, udon too hard. Jolene also dun like, until now also...

i super no mood to work. my hb went on a company leisure trip this morning. i felt like shit when i sent him to the door earlier.

the company din even bother asking if spouse/family members wanna follow, and oso i din wanna bring R there since i dunno wat he can eat over in thailand. besides there is dengue epidemic as well. i certainly din wanna risk it.

he will only b back on sun nite, and by then R probably asleep liao. he alrdy start to miss his son even b4 he went off.

Vivian,
You fed direct from the tub huh? If I am not going to finish feeding the entire portion, I will usually scoop out into a bowl and feed. Not advisable to feed from the container and then store it in the fridge. I know we adults do it to our own stuff :p.. but not for babies ;)

If you did that, I suggest you use a spoon to scoop away the edge which was previously touched. Then use a new spoon to feed the rest which were not contaminated.

Actually I tried it myself.. baby yoplait is not sour leh. Taste quite like our normal plain yogurt.

Oh oh.. another way is to use the yogurt, mix in some fruits (pureed also can) and try feeding Rhys with it? He may take to it better if it is musked with his favourite fruit.. or gerber puffs.. or whatever. Get the drift? :p

Photobook
=========

I've received mine already. Very nice. So those mummies who r interested in doing, pls do so since the deadline extended till the end of this month.

jlyn
u posted "cook pasta wif soap"?!!!! u meant wif soup issit? i got a shocked when i read it! hahaha

btw i cooked mee tai bak (lao2 shu2 fen2), thin kway teow in slow cooker. so by the time R eats, its easily mashable to feed.

the initial few times i tried marcaroni/kway teow/mee suah, i blended it. it was so troublesome! so my mum taught me to cook using slow cooker. takes longer but since its the same as cooking porridge, i am fine wif it. but i guess u can cook it over the stock as well. i juz prefer slow cooker method.

Jenny,
thats why I ask here mah... last nite, just put back to fridge lor... dun know still can eat tonite or not?? Dun tell me to smell to check if it turns bad hor... to me, even the yogurt din turn bad, already smell very bad to me... like durian smell to those ang mo... *shiver + puke*

Hi selina,
I dun blend my porridge or food either, I will juz mash since quite soft. Plus my boy has 4 teeth so he will attempt to chew though I dunno if he's really chewing or juz trying to bite my spoon...
But I very bad mummy, I've given him junk food too. Whipped potato, ice-cream etc etc hehe.... Hopefully he doesn't turn out like his daddy & mummy who r fast food junkies!!!!

How many of you will be celebrating ur bbs' 1st birthday???
I still considering, dunno whether to spend $$$ on birthday celebration or going to take those studio shots...

vivian
u dun like yoghurt huh? tts y smelt like puke to u! hehehe...

my R gave me a Mommy-wat-did-u-juz-feed-me look when i let him taste ypghurt some time back.

no worries wif the shrek montage! its not easy to do... so thks 4 the effort!

freshpoison
me will celebrate 1st bdae but no idea wat i wan yet.

Vivian..
You didn't see my reply to your yogurt question huh?

jrt,
K also gave me that look.. then took a second mouthful.. decided he likes it, and leaned forward for more! Think I have a greedy boy.

Actually, if bb is eating well, can chew, no need to blend their food. They need to learn to chew, so can start cutting into small fine pcs to feed. If not, they never learn how to chew, once the food inside the mouth, they swallow.

crystallized,
ha R eats "yao tou wan" ah kekeke... so funny.
Heng Jolene woke up for milk and never woke up to play **phew**
Oh, I got tips off where to buy le. In fact, was told got another kind of box. That one easier to bring out. Forum BP got sell also at $2.50 by postage. I scare wait by postage, got crack. I prefer to buy off-shelf.

pups,
ha, tat's easy!

Vivian,
pups is right lor, if you feed directly and keep the leftover into fridge, my answer is dun feed Rhys le. But if you scoop out then is ok.

freshpoison77,
Ha, I also bad mummy, feed a lot of junk food. The gals love whipped potato the best haha, and not forgetting. Jaslyn's expression when eating ice cream very cute, cold mah, but she will keep asking for more haha
I sure have a 1st bday party lor. For me simple, book a place or function room, order buffet and cake that's it.

hi hi...

been on mc yesterday n today... so didnt drop by..

<font color="aa00aa">playyard</font>
will give CC a call later (they open at 2pm according to voicemail) n update u all on e status of e playyard okay...

currently e list goes:
selina - 1.5
starz - 1.5 or 2
jlyn - 2
babe_ong - 1.5
wendy - 1.5
ling - 1.5
anymore orders???

<font color="aa00aa">pups</font>
i stil cant PM to u leh.. or u PM to me so i can reply???

<font color="aa00aa">ling</font>
nope, havent change FM for A.. still got a number of tins leh.. but since following PD's instructions on diluting it, A ok liaoz.. not so much phelgm anymore.... now dunno wana continue or switch when finish leh...
oh, i didnt know can feed our bbs quaker oats leh...

<font color="aa00aa">kim</font>
huh... EOC with milo?? doesnt it taste weird..??? y not u try warm it up, it taste better than cold... eh, ask u something private.. check ur PM when free hor...
playyard ar, dunno got discount or not yet.. wait afternoon i check liaoz then update u all....

<font color="aa00aa">selina</font>
i collect everything together hor... thank you!!!

Soup base food
==============
I had tried cooking soup base pasta for Char but she loves the soup so much end up drinking all the soup and refuse to chew her pasta...So still contemplating if I should cook more pasta for her.

Think I like Selina's idea of running mee suan with hot water to rid of salt. Shall try to cook mee suan this weekend.

Crystallized, so you gotta use those extra large pads ah? Think I still have some stock at home, but cant imagine wearing those to work, ultra uncomfy. ;P

wow..today all talk about baby food. so far only tried mee sua. i didnt blend it, just feed A and he love it.

hmm... shld try those ABC pasta, mee tai bak or...etc. btw, where to buy ABC pasta? for marcononi, is it any type of marcononi sell at supermarket?

Crystallized,
i like ur idea using slow cooker to cook soup base food. but how long will it take?
i tot kway teow is oily?

Starz
Kim dunno how to crawl so i dunno useful or not. I replied liao.
Cause i dislike the taste of EOC actually but now i drink for my well-being hehe.. then i drink with milo lor.
I normally warm it up depends on whether i am lazy or not. hehe

<font color="aa00aa">playyard</font>
have called CC to check liaoz... winnie said "old" price was $110 for individual sets, $105 for purchase 10 sets n above.. BUT she also said now she got no more stocks, waiting for the new batch of stocks to arrive.. ETA 1st week August. and she also doesnt know if there will be any price increase for this new batch or not... so she will only call me back in early August, once she confirms details.. so i will update u all again lah...

<font color="aa00aa">adeline</font>
thank u!
A can crawl, but not "properly" yet... im kinda hoping he can learn how to pull himself to stand & cruise with e playyard too... cos he stil dont wana do tat...

Starz
Haha kim knows how to pull herself up and cruise around now she dun like to sit down. I dun think she will learn crawling liao. i considering if playyard worth investing hahaha.. now buy things also must consider properly liao.

<font color="0000ff">starz</font> u sms me on the play yard can cos scared i wont login cos travelling next 2 wks.

no prob. once all arrives, i let u know.

<font color="0000ff">karen</font> i add everything i have. up to individual.

<font color="0000ff">vivian</font> so far i did what you did to the yogurt n continue to give caleb after that (some more mine is after a few days) he still eat and touch wood nothing wrong. for me as long as not sour, i ok.

Coral,
haiz same like jolene, what you do, you dun give C the soup first, give pasta first, after she finishes then give soup. Jolene loves soup. She can finish the soup and dun eat the stuff. So I usually give her very little soup, she finishes her stuff, then I give her more soup.

Jasmine,
Everywhere got sell the ABC pasta, take a closer look and you will see... kekeke...
Marcononi is those that sells at supermarket lor. Each pasta got its own name, overall to me they are still pasta, just different in shapes.

Jenny,
hohoho...then i will go supermarket to check it out.
i know wat's marcononi. my question was tat marcononi cook for bb is also those we adults eat tat kind, rite? since there is baby yogurt, bb biscuit, tot there's marcononi for bb. wahahaha

okie..another q..which brand of unsalted cheese is suitable for bb?

Jasmine,
I'm using "normal adult" marcononi kekeke...
I can't remember the brand, there's only 2 types available I think... but only certain big NTUC got sell, q hard to find. You need to check Cold Storage or Marketplace. Got state for bb and kids one. Ex...

<font color="0000ff">crawling</font> i know some babies dont go thru this stage but have read that crawling helps in the spine & neck development. based on my sis experience with my nephew who didnt crawl very much, he cant seems to sit still cos he will complain uncomfortable if sit too long so dunno if linked to him not crawling much last time. no such issues with my niece who crawls quite a bit last time when younger.

jenny,
wat u said reminded me... my mum oso said every child got different 'kuan'... my son's kuan is he cannot sleep thru the nite.

hee, u say he eat yao tou wan ah? in a way yes... he is super hyper and super duper happy. u juz turn ur head to look at him, he starts to laff hilariously. dunno to b angry or to laff wif him.
i agree, we need to let them learn how to chew. which is why when i cook, its v troublesome coz i separate those ingredients tt need to blend and no need to blend. end up look as if i am cooking big project! hahaha.. . btw R dun really chew his food. the initial few mouthsful, he will swallow v fast. and i am slow to feed, he will scream. its only towards the middle part of the meal then he will start to savour his food and can see he is chewing. he will only open his mouth for more food aft he finished chewing. else my spoon can 'park' outside his lips and yet he still wun open.

jasmine
i leave the lao shu fen to cook in the slow cooker juz like i cook porridge. think abt 2+hrs... i haven tried cooking kway teo in slow cooker yet but shld b similar procedure. i am ok wif a little oil. not tt we purposely add in mah.

coral
i used the extra heavy pads for nite use only. its v gd as there is no leakage. v absorbent. daytime i juz use normal ones.

jasmine
the marcaroni my MIL bot, its oso normal ones 4 adults. i blend it aft i cooked. or u can try to cut into smaller pieces aft cooking.

Jenny,
thanks thanks..
but A only can hav special food during wkend. on weekday, lunch & dinner same porridge.

crystallized,
ic...i shal try to cook the lao shu fen. mayb i can cook more for myself too. hb dun dare to touch those porridge i cooked. for me, i finished up those A cant finished. it's yummy ..kekeke..
my boy still love to shake his head if he is happy!! too bad...A still no chance to meet ur R.
How many teeth R has? u still let him latch on?

Selina, my boys love mee sua also. Going to try pasta this weekend. The name "Derrick" sounds familiar, must see in person/pic.. maybe I'll remember. Catching up w poly friends this evening.. must ask them for some names of ppl fr ur hb's class ;p

Crystallized, spellg error.. haahahah.. soapy pasta. Dont knw if u've read this in papers before.. someone came up with a "eat paper recipe" in China and really got ppl follow and some more improvised the "recipe" in Japan leh. Soak the paper and make into dough some more.. yucks!

jasmine
i find their porridge/kway teow/lao shu fen yummy leh! hehe

R will laff v loudly when he is happy.
He still hv only 2 teeth. stagnant for v long liao. yes, i still let him latch on whenever i can. gonna wean off in another few mths so juz enjoy the bonding while i can.

yah no chance to meet u and A yet. same to shirley and zac. nvm will hv chance another time!

jlyn
soapy pasta?! *horrors* kekekeke

wah eat paper recipe... dun dare to imagine man... if its special paper made fr edible ingredients, tts find but else.... i cant imagine eating the by-pdts fr trees?!

crystallized,
haha, sounds like Vivian's Rhys. He sees ppl play, he laughs and laughs as seems he's is the one playing keke...

Jasmine,
Opp wor... the stuff I cook for the gals hor, I dun eat one leh... My hb eats them and he says nice. But I eat, yucks haha... But I love to eat the porridge which my mum cooks for them, if I at her place, I always ask her "err... still got remaining bor??"

selina
yah me no mood leh. heee i like to use emoticons, brightens up mah. my home pc sthg wrong wif some buttons so i cant use emoticons at all w/o the use of the backslash.

but am feeling better liao lah. hehehe
no point making myself so unhappy. anyway i shall look forward to him buying things back, at least clothings 4 R!

u not busy tdy?

Jasmine
i dun hv R's latest pix wif me now. so cant post... if i got time to log in over the wkends, will post in the album.

Jenny
oh Rhys oso like tt? heee, din noe abt tt... i share 1 video wif u... R was laffing so happily and we captured it on video and my hb loaded it up. will PM u the link. jasmine, since u wanna see R, i will PM u the link as well. i din wanna circulate the link here coz i dunno who is reading the postings n i dun wan to share wif ppl i dunno. pls lower ur volume when u watch the video and try to control ur laughter coz when i showed my colleagues, we both ended up laffing non-stop.

aiyo forum down again hur. managed to search the link from my history so can post now.

<font color="0000ff">crystallized</font> me today ok but after posting that message, i ran off for a meeting.

mind sharing the link with me? miss R leh. so long nv see him liaoz.

selina,
ya lor, think moderators are doing something. The 2007 threads were down for quite sometime, if din bookmark, can't login here at all.