(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Grace,
Your little shrek #21 is uploaded.

bbgrace,
hee.. you go and bio tiff ah? me give up on the ring liao lah... spend so much money on the fone. And just spend some money on sprees... Now can only see the tokidoki and drool... then again... GSS started liao!! faintz....

Vivian
If u going dr tan tonight then we meeet up? I am going tonight. I called them and they say i can just walk in. No choice her mucus like tap water flowing non-stop leh. She take GP med right after the effect if over she start again. Kind of useless lor. Today the 4th day already.
Seems like Dr tan supporter alot hehehe i must try!
If u going tonight then u bring?

Jrt
Ya lor! when carry her my arms also ache then when i see people carry her to the ledge at corridor i so scared leh cause she like to grab poles and turn about or keep swinging around.

sorry for MIA so long. went to cruise trip last weekend & back with bz work. and Alvis oso caught in fever & flu.
will read the post later.

vivian,
i just uploaded my little shrek #22.

one of my favourite pics..

821970.jpg

Vivian,
Thks for your help!

Adeline,
Hope kim will be better over the weekend ...
If you really need to bring kim to any clinic, do stay outside the clinic and wait till her queue # is called.. alot of sick virus in there...

Jasmine,
Your Alvis does look abit like Caleb..
He is a smiley bb... so cute..

Motherhood exhibition

me already applied half day leave to go in the afternoon on 7th june

any mummies going at that time?

I got EQ jumbo pack from Giant last month at $11.80 and thought that was the cheapest price but seems like the motherhood exhibiton price more attractive at $10.

hi vivian

i have no idea how to upload the shrek photo to the yahoo group
can i hve ur email add then i will email the photo

babe_ong,

Here is my email, [email protected].

Adeline,
I still pending on the PD visit. Got to see how he is today. If he is better, then I might not go tonite. Will meet you another day to pass you the teats.
Btw, when the clinic tell you that you can walk-in, is NOT becoz it is not crowded hor. It is becoz they dun accept current day appt. So they will tell you to walk-in. Be prepared to wait hor. Hopefully it is not THAT crowded.

saw the pics taken at jerene place. the babies r v cute..

hope that u gals/babies have enjoyed urself. tricia rashes (or rather ecezma) have spread and now on her shoulders and upper arms. *sigh*. i see already v gek sim. partially another reason i did not bring her to the gathering, she not mei mei anymore....
now trying the calendula cream and the cream from the doc, really hope her rashes can subside. if not recovered by next wk, need to bring her see doc oreli.

should i bring her to the PD or determologist? i was thinking since it is ecezma, go straight to the determologist. is it a gd idea?

hi adeline,

if compared to kids clinic (rivervale mall) & kidslink (compassvale), i find that kidslink is better. Dr Vanessa Tan will explain things in details. my mum brought tricia to kids clinic the previous time (i was @ work) and she mentioned that the doc was not v detailed & the clinic staff are not friendly at all, got black face.

i only know it's open on Mon nite till 9pm.

hi babe ong,

most probably i will be going the motherhood fair on 7 jun, during lunch hour.

vivian
Oh! i forgot that bbgrace got mention. i thought today they not much patients so ask me to walk in. duh guess have to wait. I go at 6+ and wait till 7+ then see how.

Gemini
I check the webby it states mon,wed and fri till 9pm wor. 7pm to 9pm. I will go kidslink as it is near and highly recommended! just behind my house only.
Even if it is more exp i would choose a better doc for kim.
As for your Tricia i think determologist will be better as the eczema is getting worse. I will be gng to the fair on 7 june also but after work bout 6pm sure VERY pack one!

hi adeline,

ya, vivian is correct. kidslink does not accept phone booking. last mon i reach there around 7.50pm, wait till about 9 - 9.15pm then can see the doc. my hb was carryin tricia outside the clinic while i wait inside. scared of the virus spreading.

Library registration
====================
just went down to the library to register tricia library membership. it's free and u will be given a goodie bag. nothing much inside, only a CD and a baby book journal.
so if u going, just need the BC and mummy IC.

Adeline / Gemini
Kidslink does not accept phone booking on actual day itself. you can only make appt latest 1 day before. Best to go at 6 plus to get a queue no. when it opens at 7pm. Else, wait till much later closer to 9pm where the crowd starts to thin. Although it says close at 9pm, they will still accept walk-ins before 9pm. Dr Tan will stay till she sees all the patients.
What i usually do is to go and get a queue no. first and then bring the kids there later.

hi bbgrace,

oic. only for advance booking. ya, Dr Tan v dedicated. that mon nite, i was there, though the sign stated the clinic closed, there's 1 daddy that walk in after 9pm. after checking with Dr Tan, she agreed to accept the patient though she got around 5-6 more patients to see.

hi doreen, coral,

tricia also loves the laptop. she loves to bang on the keyboard, and sometimes dig @ the keyboard. she also loves the mouse, as mine is those that will light up when it's being moved around. oh, she also like to stare at the screen esp when we are surfing the net...

Wah you mommies are right. After work i immediately rush to aunty hse fetch kim and rush to the clinic. But already got people outside waiting leh.

Kim was the 3rd in queue.. Phew!

Dr Tan says her nose is very bad as i have sinus and this is genetic one so kim wont recover fast at least need another 4 to 5 days. Normal kids flu will take 3 days but kim has sinus as well so need to x2 the number of days. Haiz sad to hear that. She had to undergo all my allergies

Quite expensive hor i told my aunty she also huh! so ex ah! >.< hubby was also unhappy about me cause of the price. but to me as long as kim will recover i dun mind.

now my gal also having rashes on whole body
thinking whether to go see pd too
she was having slight fever for the past 2 days and finally today no fever liao, rashes have to come

really one after another.

kidslink too far for me liao
any gd pd around toa payoh/bishan area?

hi vivian

email u the pic liao
thanks for including my gal

hi gemini
me will reach expo around 4pm only

hi adeline
can i know how much u paid for the pd visit?
any medication given?

Adeline, yah.. see PD usually a bit ex. My hb got sinus, my elder twin also kena his sensitive nose. Took him a little longer than younger twin to recover from fr cough and runny nose the last time. My younger boy took abt 3 days and older one abt 2 more days. But to me, it's $ well spent. Becos of Dr tan's diagnosis and assurance, I felt at ease lor. Perhaps try to let Kim stays away fr crowded place for the next few days.. I'm sure she'll will recover fast. Money can earn back one.. when kim recovers and gives u the smile, u know all is worth!

Vivian
yah the 2 of them v funnie when they play together. my mum always hv a fun time seeing how they disagree wif each other when they play. kekeke...
hahaha, yah i agree its fun & nice to hv playmates 4 our babies.
but they oso pick up each other's bad habits lah! kekeke... and when one cries, the other will follow. the caregiver aka my mum will suffer!
ur sis due soon?

Adeline
my hb juz saw Kim's pix and dunno why he said Kim looked like Jay Chou? keke... hope u dun feel offended ok?
he asked me how come kim's face so buey song?
PD's charges r nvr cheap. but as long as our babies recover fr the sickness, then the money spent is worth it.

Hi Jasmine, long time no see... wat was A doing? like in lala dreamland...

babe ong
Ur bb has rash(red dots) all over her body after fever. Is it fake measles??
Cos D had that too the last time. I always go to the Bishan Children clinic at Bishan st 22. Its under TMC 1. I like the pd cos she very zhun 1 can tell me fever how many days n how many times D will kann constipation.....kekekke
So far so good lah.

hi adeline,

agree with crystallised. if bb recovers fast from their illness, the money is really well spent. rather than them having to see the doc again. cos i believe PD medicine is much more suited for bbs. the 1st time tricia is having flu & cough, have to bring her to 2 PDs then she fully recovered.

babeong
She had very block nose and phelgm so dr tan gave her 5 medication in total.. She gave 1 to drip into nose, the other to add into milk and 3 seperately yo open her airway, clear phelgm and running nose.

jlny
We dare not bring kim out for the past few days as it is getting worse. i dun mind the $$ spent but hb love nagging. More naggy then aunties.

jrt
ahahaha no lah i wont feel offended no worries. She has been giving that type of expression ever since she teething. now both teeth popping together she more and more not happy leh. I wake up at this hour cause she is awake and yelling sighz..

Gemini
Ya i agree PD med better cause kim's runny nose stop abit already and can see that her breathing is better. At least she can use her nose liao instead of mouth. If not everytime feed her milk she have to keep gasping for air. Very uncomfortable for her. Apparently now when she wake up she's much better.

Despite being sick, kim still didnt gave up learnign to crawl! And she did it after trying for DAYS!
Now i had difficulty putting her at high chair. When i let her lie on the high chair, she pull herself up into sitting position. Hard to make her keep still and take her med.

Adeline,
i've brought joshua to my GP before since it's company subsidised. but end up i'm the one who tells the doc what type of med to prescribe and most of the time, the med is not available at the clinic. Plus they are not as detailed in checking the baby. So i would rather pay, even if it's expensive, for a PD. I've stopped keeping track of his medical expenses liao. Heartache when i think of it. But so long as they get well fast, it's ok.

What medicine did u give Kim that is put inside milk? Is it singulair? That one is expensive.

bbgrace
the GP my aunty bring her to is parkson @ potong pasir. The doctor there not bad one. sometimes see patients till 12 midnight and both the couple love kids alot and his checking is pretty detail also but kim no effect to his medication. Now this med is good for kim. Her airways open up already just that runny nose.

The med is Zyrtec for allergy skin and nose. Since i have history of eczema and sinus so Dr tan gave kim this. must take 5 drops each time recommended is to put inside milk so that she will take them but after kim nose block she refuse to drink milk and dr tan use those diagram and reasoning to tell me the reason. Quite good also leh. When she take pictures out i quite shock haha cause i never seen doc do that before.

hi adeline,

same medicine, Zyrtec.5 drops in the milk every nite, right? wat i did is to pour out some milk and mix the 5 drops rather than mixed with the whole bottle of milk. tat wat the clinic assistant tell me.

Is it very few turned out for the gathering ah? I saw only 4 mummies in the group photo tat Doreen posted. Seems that a lot of babies and mummies sick.
Jolene also got running nose and fever (on and off) on Thur, somehow, it spreads to Jaslyn. Jaslyn now also having running nose. Yesterday nite, she tortured me and hb, kept waking up every 2 hrs, till I fedup, woke up at 4am to "scold" her, then she guai guai go to sleep at 5am. HB now sore throat while I headache

Shrek Pics
======
I just managed to download the pics yet but haven't go thr to find a nice one. Will post later into Yahoo Group.

Adeline,
I prefer Mamy Poko and Huggies pull up. Still love Mamy Poko cos Huggies cutting is small, another reason hei hei Mamy Poko got nice nice Pooh Bear prints haha. I dun really like drypants, dun find it worth for the price lor.

Crystallized,
Alamak I dun visit sep thread lah. No wonder lah, I was looking thr the Motherhood Mag from front to back, back from front and I still can't find keke...
Silverfish is those like ikan bilis right? There's dried and fresh ones, but I never try before.

Coral,
Motherhood fair starts next Thur, 7 Jun and ends on Sun, 10 Jun. Venue at Expo.

Doreen,
Plain porridge is ok. What I give is bread and mash potato. HK very easy to get porridge, so should be ok. But that place not baby friendly, so bring along your best friend -- Ergo Carrier Ta Dar!!
Oh is Mother and Baby Mag ah. No wonder I saw the name on Motherhood Mag is not Brenda lah. I go take a peek when I go newstand. I stop the subscription liao.
I already told my "ahmad" to standby liao kekeke... Want to go on weekday, so I dun need to bring the 2 gals along cos this KS mummy going to stock up FM and Diaper. I confirm Sealer will be there le.
Hey, you very cute leh. But same as me. There's once I met a mummy too, she called me, and I blur blur looked at her, asking myself who's this gal, I knew her meh? kekeke...

Jasmine,
Hi Hi. Long time din see you leh!

Gemini,
I used to bring Jolene to see a doctor at Beauty World at Bukit Timah area on her eczema, you wanna try?

adeline
Oh zyrtec. joshua takes that all the time cos it's an antihistamines for allergy cases. next time if u bring Kim to PD, can ask for that cos its' a common medicine.
If Kim's allergy is serious like Joshua, Dr Tan may even recommend singulair. I call that a designer drug cos it's v expensive.

Gemini
Ya the clinic assist told me put in milk dont like her drink like this in case she might not like. but this few days kim doesnt want to drink milk leh. normally she drink while sleeping but now when we feed her while she sleep, she cries alot. from yday night till now she didnt drink milk except for lots of water. thats the only way i can think off. not sure why she doesnt want to drink leh.

Jenny
I prefer huggies. Mamy poko the urine like also sip out wor or cause kim urine alot. the huggies super leak lock very good for her.

bbgrace
her sinus quite bad. every morning lor. but skin allergies not really *keep fingers cross*.
zyrtec is expensive? or cause of the nose drop?
the gp and my aunty advise me not to use nose drop unless REALLY needed so i didnt use it.

Adeline,
Think maybe MP cutting is a bit big for Kim. So far I no prob with MP. Huggies pullup when got a lot of urine, the front part like sagging. But overall I find both MP and Huggies pull up the best.

Jenny
Ya maybe but i like the pooh bear at the backside also hehe.. the mammy poko is also the pull up pants one right? That is the one that she using. After using i not buying any of that liao. hehe till now M still bit lose for her.

Adeline,
Mamy Poko Pullup is this packaging for M size.
823505.jpg

Jaslyn wears just nice for M size. The new version comes with Pooh Prints on both front and back of the pull up leh.
BTW, now wear pull up very siong leh cos pull up is so ex per pc.

Hi ladies..

Actually.. I find PetPet diaper not bad.. cheap and good.. my boy is using it during the day.. and use Pampers Active during the night.

ted still sick so did not go for jab.....went to polyclinic to see his cough again

He actually calls out "ma ma" and the couple beside us were surprised hehee.He is nw 9.2kg at 7 mth 12days

He now knows hw to follow me clap his hands

Adeline
So Kim take the Zyrtec a few times a day is it??
D also has this medi but my pd actually dun wanna give 1. Its becos I keep asking her why his nose will be stuck at night when he is not having flu lor. She tell me its becos of the weather changes n no cause for alarm.
Then she give me Zyrtec 10 drops jus before bed time only. But I only gave a few times only since she say actually dun need ma.

Jenny
The gathering really the 4 of us nia. N coral came after the pic was taken. So few of us hor....keke
I wanna go the motherhood fair leh but stupid hubby got reservist from Fri n he dunno sat n sun need to go back anot...sigh
He everything duno 1 lah. So sian n its so far at expo I can't go alone leh.....sob sob

Gemini
Tricia also 5 drops only for Zyrtec aah how come Damien 10 drops aah.....hmmmmmm

Dor
No she only take before bed time. That one for block nose? she say it is for allergy like sinus. Thought block nose will have other med? Like she gave me one to open the airway after taking 1 time got effect wor and today kim very active and dont feel uncomfortable liao.

Hi hi hi....
Been back frm my JB trip. wah....

Adeline,
Kim is at a nice nice weight. is she 50th percentile? so nice...

regarding PDs and medicine.
Hmm...seems that PDs tend to be quite aggressive in treatment of bbs ailments? Zyrtec is quite a strong medicine and is not reccommended for bbs below 2 isnt it? Its a respiratory suppression isnt it?A similar drug, prometesin (ok definitely a wrong spelling here), also a repiratory suppression was 'banned' for kiddoes under two recently coz it leads to deaths in local hospitals.

but im no expert, so i cant say. and when our bbs are sick, we defintely want them to get well fast fast. but maybe ask PD not to be so aggressive in treatment?coz they might have difficulty getting strong enough medicine when they grow older.

Singulair is good though. its like a 'lung tonic'. ex but good.

And you do not need to go PD to get singulair lah. A GP i know also prescribes singulair. He's at Hougand Green. Excel Clinic. Dr. Albert Soh. Very decent and nice GP, very learned too.Mind you, i dont get anything from marketing him. heh. happened to hear about him from other pple who went to see him.

just my two cents worth...dun mean to offend anyone.

Adeline
My pd gave zyrtec for D becos she says his block nose is caused by the weather changes.

lilboymum
Wah u readup on so much medi aah what line r u in?? Got link to medi is it??.....hehehe

<font color="0000ff">Adeline</font>
No, Zyrtec is not expensive. You can easier get it at pharmacies with a prescription.

<font color="0000ff">Doreen</font>
10 drops of Zyrtec? That's a lot! Even Joshua don't take so many drops leh.

<font color="0000ff">lilboymum</font>
HAHA! I thought i'm the only one who's familiar with all the drug names after medicating Joshua for 2 yrs. In fact Dr Tan asked if i was a medical personnel the first time when i brought Joshua to see her cos i was rattling off all the medication that Joshua had taken.

I know where u are coming from about using strong medication. I guess there's a fine line between wanting the child to recover quickly or letting the little body fight against the virus.

I've known of friends who refuse to let the child take any antibiotics and prefer to let the child fight off the infection on his own. Me on the other hand chickens out if a fever or cough is too prolonged cos i've seen cases where permanent damage is done when the fever gets too high. So i would choose strong medication for the child if he's taking too long to fight the battle on his own.

Selina also shared recently that her family doc told her about promethazine causing deaths. Hmm... guess i have ask the PD the next time cos this is a very common drug used for babies leh.

I guess i need to clarify my stand regarding GPs and PDs. I agree that some family doctors are very good, particularly those experienced ones who run their own practice. i've never gone to a PD when i was a child cos the family doc that treated me was very good. It's just that i can't seem to find a good one around the area here. The clinics that i've gone to here are the big brand name ones with lots of young doctors that come and go. And yes, some GPs carry singulair. But not those that i've been to. If i have a choice, i would definitely prefer bringing the kids to a GP where the bill comes up to just about $30 and i can claim partially back from my company's medical coverage rather than pay close to $100 each time and cannot claim since it's not the company's panel of doctors.
This is the same reason why i choose to let the kids be vaccinated at the polyclinc instead of the PD. Why pay more if i can get the same thing? But since i can't find good GPs here that i can trust and can answer my queries well, i'll just have to pay for more for the PD then.

<font color="ff0000">babygrace</font>
Clarification: Is it true when babies are vacinated at polyclinics, they have to do so one by one as there isnt a 5 in 1 or 6 in 1 avail? Also is the person administering the vac a PD?

Jerene
I kpo ans.....keke
For polyclinics if u want the FREE jabs the will be 1 by 1. They do offer 5 in 1 n 6in1 but will be charged lor. Like for D I paid $200+ for 5in1 n they include in all the checkups n assesments until I forgot how many months....kekeke
The person adminstering the jabs will be the nurse not a doc.

But personally for me I feel its okie becos the nurses sort of specially do jabs ma. N i think they r more experianced as the number of jabs they administer in a day r more then what outside docs do in a month.

But then again there was this old nurse so experianced that D didn't even flinch when she jab him. On the other hand there was this preggy nurse SOOoo chor lor she jab D cry very loud cos can see she very chor lor 1.

Hee...
babygrace,
yes im very paranoid. so read up and asked around too.

I oso think polyclinic are ok.but you must know what you want and ask for it, coz they dun usually provide the information.

the only thing i dun like about polys are the non-aircon environment. very trivial, but impt...heheheh...

but can i say this...sometimes i see thses medical pple give jabs hor, aiyoh,looks so easy-peasy...like i oso can do it kind..dunno why pay so much just for them to give the jabs.

jerene,
Doreen is my spokesperson

Yes, i agree with what she said. Emma took the 5-in-1 there.

lilboymum,
SK polyclinic is air-conditioned leh. But i'm paranoid about it being air-conditioned cos that means lots of virus lurking in the air.

crystallized,
My sister due coming sept. Same month as Rhys. So they are difference by 1 year.

Adeline,
The last time when Rhys got runny/blocked nose, Dr Tan also gave Rhys the nose drops and the runny nose one. But I went back the second time 1 day later when he having difficulties sleeping due to the blocked nose. So she gave me the open airway one plus Zyrtec. The meds are very effective coz after he took the meds, he can sleep better. hopefully Kim will recover soon. She only gave Zyrtec to R after I went back the second time coz R is still having blocked/runny nose badly.
Btw, PD is ex one... but at least it works.

I am the one who is too lazy to take Rhys to polyclinic for vaccines. Since that time we went to PD to access Rhys on his jaundice when he was 1 month old, we decided to let him take all his vaccines from there coz at the same time, the PD can access Rhys growth. Although we paid a bit more, but we are glad that we have someone we trusted to check and access Rhys, esp. for the first few months.
Nowadays when I was at Dr. Tan's clinic and I saw those newborn babies there, I will remember the time when I bring Rhys there too when he was so tiny and NOW... 8.8kg... haa... time really flies... and this boy really likes Dr. Tan... haa...

lilboymum
Zytex is a strong med?
i dislike doc to prescribe antibiotics but that time kim had very bad sore throat and fever so GP says have to take.

bbgrace
There is a family doctor at riverval mall next to Kids clinic. The clinic name is "My Family clinic" My cousin brings my nephew there and she says that it is very good but i chose to bring Kim to Dr tan as it is only behind my block and i want kim to recover fast from the med. From what i understand, this doc does follow up calls to my cousin personally to ask for my nephew's well being and if after his consultation, kid dun recover, he will actually NOT charge any money if u go back another time for the same problem. My cousin went back 3 times but only paid twice as nephew didn't recover. She says that this doc is good and detail. probably u would want to try. the distance to carry/push kim there is lazy moreover kim sweats alot everytime when no fan or even if there is air-con she looks like just come out from bath tub.

Vivian
Wah.. i feel that PD's jab are expensive. i dun mind going PD once in a while to have a check up on kim but jabs i think not. The med is really effective now kim only has abit mucus coming out now and then but alot better. Can see that now she very comfy liao.
How is rhys now? REcover yet?

Sighz i do not know why kim doesnt like to drink warm milk. Remember i struggle with her yesterday for 15 hrs. After i put the milk aside, it turn abit cold then kim start to drink. So yday 7pm till now she refuse to drink also when the milk is warm so i used the same way and yes she finished it up as well. WEird habit?

finally brought my gal to KK A&E yesterday for a peace of mind
the place was swarming with sick babies and kids
waited 2 hr to finish everything

doc said the rashes will come after fever is because of virus infection. and the rashes will not clear till 1 to 2 wk later
meanwhile she will not look mei mei liao
sigh...