(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

*bow bow* i oso hope he wont fall sick, at least until he put on some weight.

wah, you wrote that? i can never write anything touching or sweet. your mom's soooo sweet. you must be realli close to her.

just read about your fly encounter. HAHAHAH you must have very big pair of eyes. should have bought 4d that day. uh, why so many flies at your place huh?

hehe, <font color="0000ff">lilboymum</font>, if u click on the link, u will see my face & my mummy's face on the stomp website
my eyes are not that big, as u can fr the pic ..haha

was telling my hb y'day maybe my eyes are decaying liao..and luckily the 2 flies din enter tog at the same time...to procreate..yucks :p

Career Prospect
===============

thanks all mummies for the feedback. guess it is my character that i like to try to work both out. if i neber try, i'm afraid i'll regret in the future. if i tried but failed, i'll ren ming. sometime ago i already gave up an external opportunity of a higher position, this time round is internal, so i feel that it is easier to manage. the travelling i mentioned is most prob 1-2 week for each trip. US will be Chicago. problem is tentatively will be in Jul which i think he is still not ready to join me. if he is now 2yr olds, i'll just bring him along. as i plan for my #2 next yr, so i only hv this half yr to perform. after that, will stay low for another yr. also, my boss might be leaving soon, so i think any opportunity should grab now lor.

i've seen quite a number of mummies quit after they hv #2. i dont plan to do that but who knows. so, i think i should persuit my dream now and save as much money as i can. so when the day i decide to quit and become SHAM, $$$ will not hinder my decision.

vivian

understand the pain u r going thru now. we just experienced it yday and i almost can't take it liao. u and hb and really try to catch some rest.

JRT
wah, the article really describe a mum. but guess i think most hb are also an angel. will dedicate it to my hb as he really helped me alot these 2 days.

jenny
huh? HFMD is a whole yr thing ah??? oh, i dont know leh. only know it was a big issue few yrs back.

coral
it is very good that u can wean C off nite feed. for KB, i wean him off nite feed long time ago, but till now he'll still cry for his pacifier in the middle of the nite. slowly i'm sure they can be wean off the pacifier too.

Aspialle
hope u get a solution soon. understand not easy to talk to elderly. sometimes i had problem communicating to my parents too.

coolcoolmum,
Fever, flu is a whole year thing right? But somehow, during certain mths, the % of ppl falling sick will be high, that will be classified as "dangerous period" lah. Same for HFMD and dengue fever. If you realise when we always into the hot months, all illness increase.
Actually last time my god bro kena HFMD, he got well w/o medicine. Now HFMD is classified as "dangerous" sickness cos the virus get "stronger" and "fierce" enough to kill. So MOH wants all doctors to declare if they have patients with HFMD, then plus the media's report, HFMD becomes a big issue lor. Worse HFMD symptons almost same like chicken pox.
Just heard from my mum that the nursery/kindergarten near my mum's place will be closed for 2 weeks cos there's cases of HFMD.

Hope Kaibin gets clear soon! Seems tat a lot of ppl/bbs sick, queue at clinic super long!
kao_frustrated.gif

<font color="0000ff">coolmum,</font>
Poor KB! The ulcers in the mouth may cause some difficulties in drinking milk. Hope his case will not be too serious.

<font color="ff0000">Mommies,
HFMD virus can be found anywhere. I know of a mommy who suspected that her daughter caught it from a highchair in restaurant. So pls wipe the highchair before you place your bb in it. Not a foolproof method but some prevention is better than none</font>

<font color="0000ff">crystallized,</font>
Thanks for sharing the article. The words are so apt, it's exactly what i'm doing / will do for my 2 kids.
I make Joshua pray before he goes to sleep. Now he knows how to thank God for blessing him and emma and will recount the day's activities that he's thankful for. When Emma can talk, i will do likewise with her.

Home sweet home! I was so happy to see zac zac today. think he has grown taller and put on some weight. my parents really took great care of him.

Every time when i come back from overseas trip i have this dreading feeling that zac zac may have forgotten his mama. I am glad that this feeling turn out to be the opposite. He wants to stick to me like super glue. Super happy!

He refuse to go and sleep at his usual bedtime, hubby said its becos he wanted to play with me. So i sat him down next to me while i unpack my luggage. Somehow my heart is bursting with happiness to do jus this simple thing, with my son crawling in and out of my luggage and my hubby dozing off on the sofa. this is family! no where is better than home.

Coral

Was watching charlotte's web on the plane and got me thinking of char. hope she is feeling better now. heart ache to see her loose weight

Vivian
Hang on there! Rhys will be well soon and the cheeky and happy baby will be smiling at his mama again!

Coolmum
Great that u have come to a decision! Go for it! There is always two sides of thoughts no matter what decision u made. Jus think of the bright side

jo,
heeee...didnt realise theres a link. wah...studio shots with mum!!! cool

anyone using glass bottles? know where to get them? can get them ANYWHERE? which brand is the best?

hi ladies...
will try to catch up as much archives as possible ar... pardon me if it gets too long...

cute photos of tricia, kim, kelicia, desiree, alexis and "pretty" CY...

i dunno is it cos A is teething n he's been very very cranky recently, or is it bcos he's gotten sick of cereal (e "side-dish" always changes tho..) he doesnt reli eat his cereal anymore nowadays.. only eat half of wat he used to eat...
sorry ar, where do u all get those "healthy times" cereal tat comes with barley/other flavours??? i've been encouraging my mum to cook porridge for A to try.. but she says last time we only started porridge at 8mths when got teeth... can see she doesnt reli wana start yet.... so...... dun wana insist... but running out of idea wat to feed A liaoz...

*haiz*... i dunno wat happen to my cheerful lil boy too.. b4 i went for my trip, was at hm e whole week... he was very happy, playful, cheerful all e time... but when i came back, my mum said he's been quite cranky.. suspect to be teething cos he's not drinking much milk doesnt wana eat his cereals, gets irritable easily, super cranky at times, until today stil like tat....

vivian,
wat happen to ur ankle?? is it better liaoz??
haiz... poor R, wat happen to make him or bak cak?? n so poor thing to read abt him crying thru out e nite... A cry like tat awhile i already cant take it, feel like crying with him liaoz...

esther,
thanks for asking abt me altho J was unwell...
reading abt J's episode at physio reli reli heart-breaking.. i prob wld hv stopped them from carrying out e whole process liaoz...
im ok, next checkup is nex fri, so dont know how #2 is getting on yet... but giving me a hard time lor... hehehehe.. havent taken much photos of A recently to share...

selina,
so sorry to hear tat C also so sick... dont even think of blaming urself for this.. u've already done so much for C, its got nothing to do with u okay.... ya, prob like u said ur KS-ness may hv even helped e situation cos u see PD before e illness gets worse...

angelic,
hi hi... welcome..
kao_welcome2.gif

im staying in HG juz beside hougang green, which part u staying at??? but im a FTWM, only weekends free... otherwise can hv playdates with u....

coolmum,
i dont reli travel v often, in fact, juz started after stopping since i was 5mths preggy... my trips r prob only 5-7 times a year, most of e time HK, other times NY... for me, its kinda of a "no choice" situation, cos my family needs my income to continue "surviving"... n my job needs me to travel.... but for ur case, if this opportunity is something u want, ur travels are not VERY often and long, and your workload is reasonable tat u stil get to spend lots of quality time with KB most of e time when u r not travelling... then why not...?? even tho i love A so much and miss him so badly when i was away for those short 3 days.. i feel tat tis is a process tat both ayden will need to learn, as well as for myself...
omg, KB caught HFMD... is he ok or better already?? i'm reli ignorant abt tis virus leh... how does it spread? n wat does it do?? how to prevent..???

ok lah... finally "caught up" with all e postings liaoz... paiseh 4 e reli long post....
i think i speak on behalf of al e mummies here... for Mother's Day, what ALL of us would want is a healthy, happy, cheerful baby... no amount of diamonds/branded stuff/nice meal at posh restaurant can make us happier than our precious little ones growing strong n well....

take care everyone...

Nedlands
yalor quite worried somemore so many bbies fall sick.

lilboymum
not sure if it is sheltered or not leh.. my aunty keep calling me and tell mme if sunny dun bring her go out cause now alot babies sick.

<font color="119911">lilboymum</font>,
pigeon has glass bottles. which one u looking for and how many u need? i have a pair of small and big ones by pigeon, i need to go check again. Thinking of selling coz not using so let me know ?

<font color="119911">ade</font>,
u cmg to aquaducks? i will just go la since already signed up for class.

nedlands,
can. you tell me the px k. and there is no special teats for glass bottles i have to use right? just normal pigeon teats?

aquaducks trial
think it'll be safe loh. else they (the school) will call it off. they are also prifit oriented. wouldnt want a group of trial mummies to go, then realise the place is unsafe and unhygenic becoz their bbs fell sick after trial.they oso want us to eventually sign up what.

hi lilboymum,
no need special teat. its inerchangeable with the normal nuk teat, i read somewhere. which one u after - 125 or 250ml?

<font color="0000ff">ade</font> think you dun have to worry so much lah. sunny is better cos the sun can kill the germs mah. as for the trial, guess all mummies here are responsible n wldnt want other bbs to fall sick too. like myself, tho my trial is next sunday but i wont be going anymore cos of caleb's condition. i want him to full recover n also dun wanna take any chances wif other bbs. very heartpain to see bb sick. 1 is enf. dun wan the others to kana the virus or germs.

Selina, nedlands, lilboymum
Guess i no fate to go. now not because i scared baby.. i am down with high fever, flu, cough and sorethroat. later bringing kim back to my aunty.. Last night being woke up alot times by her and i reached hom @ 11.30pm. this morning 6am running fever liao.. now noone @ home. i dont dare go near kim.. waiting for HB to come back.. why not sick during weekdays!!! then can get MC!!!

Asking mummies with maid
========================
my frd's maid who is superb went back indonesia ard a year ago , she has lost contact cos the tel no seems to have changed and she lives in village...

For mummies who have maid , if my frd still have copy of her previous passport, will embassy try to locate her for us? Has anyone tried to locate and was sucessful?

If i can get her back to sg and work for me, i will be very rest assured to leave her alone at home cos i have personally seen her before, my frd also said she can be trusted. (my frd said the maid even used her own money to do marketing when his husband business failed...of course now ok liao)

planning to call embassy on Mon ..just happen to strike my mind

hi <font color="0000ff">ade</font>,
take care of urself. drink more liquids. u informed esther? i will sms her for you now ok. not sure if ling is joining us this sun?

Sex-test kits 'could increase abortions'
Saturday May 12 10:57 AEST

A controversial kit that boasts it can check the gender of an unborn baby just six weeks into a pregnancy could lead to an increase in sex-selection abortions, an anti-abortion lobbyist has warned.

Right to Life Australia president Margaret Tighe on Saturday expressed serious concern over the kit, which has been available online since March.

"This will only lead to an increase in sex-selection abortions when couples seek this information and decide they don't want a boy or a girl," Ms Tighe said.

"Because the test can be done early in the pregnancy, it will be more user friendly, unlike having an ultrasound later in the pregnancy which can reveal the sex of the child and which can and does, in some instances, already lead to sex-selection abortion because abortion today is yours for the asking."

advertisement
The kits, which cost $460 and are shipped by post, take a drop of blood from the mother which is returned to the company and tested. The results are made available to parents online or by mail.

Ms Tighe said sex-selection abortions were already widespread overseas.

"We already criticise countries like China and India that are experiencing a serious imbalance of population because of the widespread practice of sex-selection abortions that occur there. In many instances it is baby girls who are aborted over baby boys," Ms Tighe said.

"The federal government is allegedly concerned about the high numbers of abortions in Australia today. Are they going to take any steps to stop the use in Australia of this home test for DNA?"

Health Minister Tony Abbott on Friday expressed his concern over Australians being able to access the kits and will launch an investigation.

"I have to say, speaking as a citizen rather than as a health minister, I tend to view kids should be regarded as a gift to be cherished rather than as a commodity," Mr Abbott told News Limited.

"Abortion is tragic and I think abortion for sex selection is something which should be avoided. It doesn't strike me as something that people ought to be doing."

The federal government said the Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) was powerless to stop the product coming into Australia.

"The NHMRC (National Health and Medical Research Council) are aware of it and is seeking advice from the human genetics advisory committee," a spokeswoman told News Ltd.

DNA Worldwide, the British arm of US company Consumer Genetics, which sells the kits, claims on its website: "Since an ultrasound is not always accurate in determining the gender of a baby, and is most commonly performed four to six months during the pregnancy to determine the gender, the Early Gender Test is the best solution to determining the sex of an unborn child."

Foetal DNA was present in an expectant mother's blood as soon as six weeks into pregnancy, it said.

The test looks for DNA from the baby in the mother's blood. If it picks up a Y-chromosome, the company said is could "confidently" predict a boy was expected. If no Y-chromosome DNA was detected, the company could state "with equal confidence" the baby would be a girl.

The test was claimed to be 99 per cent accurate and DNA Worldwide offered a refund for wrong predictions.

glad tt everyone enjoys the article.

bbgrace
its a gd habit to inculcate in Josh & Emma. though i am not a catholic, but i do believe each religion teaches pple to be kind.
i hope to inculcate the same thing to R.
tdy i made porridge 4 R. wow so yummy tt i cant resist stealing a few bites! hahaha... my MIL made pork bones stock, then i used it to cook his porridge wif chinese spinach and 2 thin slices of fish. he juz ate half an adult's bowl. i think its a great achievement!
i am sick of making purees so i decided its time to move on to porridge. like wat my mum says, regardless of whether he likes porridge or not, we hv to intro to him daily. else when he grows older, its harder to get him to eat. anyway i figured out tt he likes green veggies, and hates sweet stuff like sweet potato and jap pumpkin. my mum cooked jap pumpkin porridge 4 him yest and he din like it. so as long as i avoid sweet stuff, he generally will eat a bit. i am not too worried abt him not liking sweet stuff coz as he grows older, he will sure like it. so juz as well tt he doesnt like it now.

Coral
R has not weaned off nite feeds either. but at least now its usually 2 feeds per nite only. there was a few occasions he only woke up for 1 feed. i noe he is gradually weaning off himself as my supply is oso adjusting to his needs. i take it as gd news.

Adeline
take care, rest more and drink lotsa water. so we will not be seeing u tmrw... i hope it wun b too hot at 2.30pm man... its not exactly a gd time to swim. luckily its only half an hr.

crystallized,
hehe...just wanna find some info on cooking porridge then here u r.
i wanna cook porridge for A 2molo.
btw, do we need to intro plain porridge 1st?
hav no indea wat to add into porridge lel?

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">HAPPY</font> <font color="ff0000">MOTHER 'S</font> <font color="aa00aa">DAY</font> </font>
<font color="ff6000">TO ALL MOUMMIES !!</font>

Adeline
You take care and get well soon. Kim would very much like you to carry her.

Selina
When Max got hospitalised because of bronchitis, PD already warned me of crowded places and smokers. After discharge, we went for a review and the PD need to suck some phelgm out and i know i won't bear this scene so i ask HB to stay in the clinic while i go downstairs for a walk. I knew that i surely won't allow it to continue and i'll cry with him if i'm around. I make a good choice, since tat night Max had a good sleep and not coughing as much as well. I always believe tat no matter how torturing it is for the baby, i'll still do it cos it's for his own gd. PD advise tat the most important thing is dun let Max be in the same room with a smoker or someone who's coughing with phelgm.

Seems like a lot of mummies and babies falling sick. Please take good care of yourselves and your babies.

lilboymum, nedlands, Jrt
I'm replacing adeline for the aquaduck 2morrow, will see you guys 2molo. I havent got a swimsuit for myself yet. Jus bought a swim diaper for Max. My hp 97982506, i'll be at Toa Payoh 2molo, any mummy who need a ride jus call me but i dun have xtra car seat (you got to carry bb in hand).

My daughter fell ill on the 8th. Admitted to TMC on the 9th. Discharged today.

She was down with stomach virus and high fever of 40. I am emotionally and physically drained. So heartpain to see her in pain..she was on the drip for 3 days.

liboymum, re eczema: Bode bath, PhysiogelAL moisturiser

Shirley,
I agreed with you, nowhere is better than home!

lilboymum,
Why do you need glass bottles?

starz,
HFMD can be spread via close contact with those infected kids. Something like chicken pox. In fact, the symptons more or less like chicken pox. Fever, ulcers, white pox. Kids get very uncomfortable. Just treat it like how you treat chickex pox. During sick, try not to go out to spread the virus. That explains why childcare, schools will be closed to do major cleaning. Serious case will led to death.

nedlands,
You sign up with studio loft? You taken your pics, got any to show me? I'm interested to sign up package with them. Do you have the price list for normal package, not the BP one, can email me?
I'm still considering if wanna sign the BP or the normal package. My colleague q interested and she said she wanna check out more, and if possible, organise a BP.

crystallized,
My point of view, I dun give much puree to Jo last time, so the same for Jas. Puree is more to let bb get used to eat and swallow. Once bb masters the skill, try to intro porridge. How to say, frozen food not too good for bb... and also must intro the texture of the food to bb, if not, they only know how to eat puree kind of food.

Jasmine,
Porridge may not be plain. Babygrace mentioned b4, she cooked the porridge with the meat but din give the meat. I did that too, and it is yummy. For a start, you can add potato, sweet potato kind of food, then slowly intro other variety eg fish (remove bones). Meat to be given after 8 mths and must be minced till very fine.

Selina, Esther,
Caleb and Jovan getting any better? Must take good care, if not develop to asthma more troublesome.

All mummies with sick babies,
Take good care of yourselves too. Only healthy and strong mummies have the energy to look after the sick babies. Jia You!

And lastly, HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY to all, especially the 1st time mummies! You gals gotta celebrate for the 1st Mother's day wor kekeke...
Babygrace, this is our 3rd Mother's Day wor hahaha...

Ok. going shopping le, bye!

Hi all thks for ur concern. slept whole day just woke up. Ahhh.. in fact doesnt seem to improve.. now ear block think too heaty.

Jasmine
yea my weekends are burnt now >.< Cant go near kim.

MIL just had an operation and have to go visit her. I still whole body aching ah.

Ling
Heh enjoy the aquaducks trial tomorrow alright? No choice but to give it a miss. if just recover scared also will pass the gems to others.. Mother's day no more celebration also if i dont recover =/

Imagine mother's day w/o kim by my sad!! ...

Jenny
i nvr intro frozen food to R leh. why u say tt huh? i wanted to do frozen cube purees but my mum objected, so tts why i sold abt my freezer cubes. R eats only fresh purees. i always rush aft work to do it 4 him. so now tt he started porridge, so much easier.

Jasmine
u can cook porridge wif veggie, potato & carrot etc to give it taste. its bland to us but to the babies, its enuff flavour. tdy R's porridge was v yummy.
its easier than making purees. haha.

Ling
i juz wear my bikini. i dun hv whole pc swimsuit to cover myself leh. and i dun intend to buy juz coz of the swim class. hehe

Thanks for the well wishes and concern
Jovan is slightly better after using neublizer tho not really recover fully, brought him to Tui-Na instead of the physio tho process takes longer but thats the only hope i can rely on at the moment bah..

will read throught the posting tonight..

Thanks to Crystallized and nedlands mummy for the sms to inform me that Adeline cannot attend..

Adeline
Take care will organise one for kim k..u drink lots of water ya..

Vivian
Is Rhys better? *Sayang Sayang and hugs hugs* U must be berry tired after taking care throught the nite..I pity u leh when i read yr posting abt saying wrong things..try to drink chicken essence every morning at least " Ti Ti Shen"..

Selina
Thanks for sharing the e-mail..hope Caleb is better now..

Coral
Eating 2 sticks of ice-creams when u got nothing to do at home ah..huh how huh since u going to rest till end month before new job starts hehe everyday 2sticks hor........DANGEROUS WOR!!!!!!!

Doreen
dun mentioned leh glad that D finish everything..i only choose what i see my mum choose every time we go marketing last time for my nieces..kekeke

Jenny
Wow shopping ah enjoy hor..*ENVY ENVY leh*

For tomorrow's Aquaducks Trial..
Mummies or daddies must be in swim wear ok and dun be late, assemble 2.30pm at the pool and Coach Michelle will conduct the trial at the pool..Enjoy the trial on this special day and have a good bonding with your baby during the trial

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+2">HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY</font></font>

Pneumoccoal Vaccination
When I was at TMC, one mom shared her experience. Her daughter had fever for 4-5days. PD didnt asked for blood test until a friend of hers urged her to request for a blood test. And she found out her daughter got the pneumoccoal bug. By then it was already 7-8days. Doctor at KKH had to do a keyhole on her chest to draw out the fluid. Her fever went on for the next few days. Doctor said if condition din improved, they have to cut her open to take out more fluid. Lucky just before the op, her fever went down. She was in KKH for a almost a month and the bill was close to $80k!

Since that incident, she shared her story to every mom, urging them to let their child to take the vaccine.

Anyone know the charges for the vaccination?

Esther
Thanks! Hopefully i can join the other round. This round have to miss it.

Angelic
Pneumoccoal? what is that?

Jrt
Yea lot hope weather is fine. Cause today rained..!

================================
vomited today while visiting MIL.
When i vomit Kim suddenly cried! think she knows mummy is sick then when i stop and carry her, she stopped crying.

But somehow i passed my fever to her
and got a scolding from my aunty when i brought her over. Wanted to visit her tomorrow but aunty say better not haiz.. She scared i haven recover then Kim later fall sick more jia lat. Her temperature now is 37.4. Hope she will be alright!!

adeline..do u remember seeing the ad abt a kid on wheelchair? Most clinics have the poster too

must take care adeline...dun worry, kim will recover soon

Wishing all babies who are sick to recover fast and all mummies a happy mother's day!!

Vivian/Babygrace,

Thanks for your kind information regarding kidslink.
Have already bring D to northern hope at punggol plaza(since it's nearer to my hse) last evening. taking her med, hoping she will recover very soon.

Angelic,

The vaccination cost $160 per jab at Singapore Baby & Child clinic, PD will usually suggest to have the child vaccinated as early as 6 months onwards. then it will 3 jabs up till 1 year old. one jab every two months.

Adeline,

Pneumoccocal is a virus which lung/ear will easily get infected especially children under 2 years of age.

Hi all!!!
Happy Mothers' Day!!!

Jenny,
o, just needed some new bottles, and since they say glass is better. so thought of getting one. but hor, should i just forget about bottles and introduce CY to cups? anyone tried sippy cups oredi?

Aspialle,
not sure leh, bit of looking for needle in haystack. i do not think the govt will help in that, espec since she lives in a village...but can try.

Adeline,
Pneumococcal virus can affect chest and/or brain. the vaccinations arent compulsory. they are to be taken at 2nd mth, 4th mth, and then 13th month. if kim hasnt taken it, then can take only the 13th month one. although pd will also allow the bb to take all three one month apart if you missed it loh. only drawback is the price. think its around 500-600plus for the three jabs.not sure of exact price.

Angelic,
thanks for the info, do take care k. you little girl will want a happy mommy tomorrow...

Angelic
i was wonderin how come u some days din post liao ..the poor gal !

Adeline

hope u recover soon ! take care

well..crossing my fingers that kelicia wun kenna cough or flu cos her cousins who are 2 and 6 months & having them drop by today..

invited my MIL over in the afternoon to celebrate Mother's' Day

and sil came too despite her kids being unwell ..haiz

yup yup yup...so thats the price huh...so not that ex what...chey.hb bluff me.

jo,
your hb is soo soooooo sweet...cho cho chweeetttt...*envy envy*

Lilboymum, Happy Mothers Day too!

Oh did u see my post on the cream? Though Dr gave me Elomet, I hardly touch cuz the bath soap and moisturiser is effective enough. Elomet is for standby

Angelic,
Heee...yes, saw that...thanks. i very ks, i'll use everything if i were you. hehehe...think of getting the creams for CY. thanks for the info.

Coral,

You can try snuffle babe(something like vick but it's meant for babies/kids, gardian/watson do sell them) if you find vick too cool for C.

tried on desiree, she feel better. cos tried using the normal vick, she keep fussing, think it;s too cooling for her.