(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Hope the gathering is an enjoyable one.... quick post pix in yahoo leh... eager to see...

Delphine,
Hope Desiree will recover soonest.. always hear her sick leh... let her drink more water n sleep in a more airy room... and avoid crowded places.

Selina,
Aiyo.. Caleb kana ba ru gu... very heart pain leh.... hope he ok now... wow think bb become mobile will be prone to falls, knock etc... i got to be cautious too when A crawls...

Hello all
Me also not very "soon" this April leh...

Handphone spoil
=================
HP also spoilt leh... damn it .. shld have trade in a few weeks back when ok.. now got no hp to trade in liao... any one noe any nearest nokia hp service center besides parkway??

BB Studio pix
===============
Damn angry wif the studio today... waited for hb to come back from work and rush down to view the pix from studio.... initially booked the package of having two pix only - 1 family + 1 bb pix with frame @ $220... the studio actually taken more pix for us to choose and say we can oso take up the album package if we want to choose more pix...(their trick)... in the end we selected about 22pix and inform them we want to change the package to album @ $250 + 2 small size canvas pix in frame additional @ $160... which we think it reasonable since the total($410) amount is more than the intial amount of $220... the studio refuse saying that they cannot allow us to change package, we need to pay for the $220 package + $250 album(total $470) if we want more pix...
alot of urging at the studio telling them they r not flexible, they shld be able to change since we will be paying more but not more as in the two package they wanted us to buy... end up i tell the studio lady i am not going to take any pix with them anymore ... pay up the $220 package with addition 4pcs of 3R pix @ $15 each..... n left the studio trembling with anger... scolded my hb not able to urge back just sit there blur blur one.... very frustrated till now.... but tell myself lesson learnt ... next time want to go studio take pix must ask clearly whether can exchange pkg if we want other option... but still blame the lady for not telling me cos how i noe cannot right?? They should at least inform upfront wat are the other pkg they have and not after pix taken then slowing tell you they have album type etc... damn angry(hb say i never ask clearly , i am at fault too)... si buay, buay song.... sorry if i sound rude... just want to vent my angry... no offence ...ok ... just want to take nice pix to keep for memories end up with unnecessary anger.. hope tomorrow will be a better day...

<font color="0000ff">lilboymum</font>
hehe, i hav been using the below (cost less than 17 bucks from kidsmall and it works fine
}

so far have used it for apple, pear , spinach and brocolli

http://www.munchkin.com/products/detail.html?section=prodCategories&ID=10019&pID=24

personally <font color="0000ff">( may not be correct)</font>, i m intending to start K on fish porridge at the 8th month, egg yolk after a year old..

but there are babies who started much earlier too

PS: dun noe whther SGH is very experienced, but my pal's son head seem ok now leh

i m sure Chih Yu is fine

sinusitis i heard b4, sensitive nose ?

<font color="0000ff">ladies</font>

hehe, great meeting u all , there are 17 of us , includin momconomics who left earlier..very big turn-up

thanks, selina & babygrace for the organising

<font color="0000ff">Karen</font>

very coincidntal that we run into each other at kiddy palace ! i was wondering how come u din ask, "where is ur hb & k"..later heard fr hb that u ran into him 1st ;)

<font color="0000ff">coral</font>

when u buy the $7.90 item fr KP , can show me a pic

<font color="0000ff">Selina & esther</font>

u two are so slim now !

<font color="0000ff">Gemini</font>

really appreciate ur almond jelly ! thanks for the tip, hope hb n me no longer hav to eat almond ice liao =p

I want to apologize for the long wait ! dun noe why the car seat just cannot be buckled

really paiseh

think i oni writing to myself... the rest shld be very tired after the gathering.. ... heheee!

Jo,
Forgot to ask... your kelicia ok with apple now?
My Able still likes apple.. so i add apple to cereals or porridge n it does taste yummy... my A able to finish half a bowl himself leh.. + 7oz milk ...

Gripe Water
===========
Can anyone advise how fast can you all finish one bottle of gripe water?? My bbsitter say i give 1 teaspoon + 50ml alot leh but i dun give everyday so my 1 bottle is still avail after 3mths(kept in fridge)... but my bbsitter every mth asking for one bottle .. so do you think she use more than me???? talk abt bbsitter me v sian... thinking of all the hassle to look for another bbsitter me lagi bopian got to "ren" her... still can tell me off saying i give alot leh ... sob sob...
if my Able not taken care by her i sure talk back but my A under her mercy... got to be careful of my words...

Herz Cereal
============
After trying a few cereals, i notice Herz rice cereal abit flakery compare to other brand leh... now dun dare to let A take cos the other time he took after that he got cough leh...

Any one bb tried also got cough often??

<font color="0000ff">Grace</font>

i felt very indignant for u when i saw ur post on ur nanny, u r very wei3qu1..i m sure there r better bb sitter ard ur area ?

Kelicia is okay with apple now
and she has never rank gripe water leh

using heniz now, so far K seem alrite

<font color="0000ff">jenny</font>

hehe, want to thank ur Jolene for being such a good jie jie to Kelicia, she is a very sweet gal, sayang kelicia when kelicia becomes cranky..

<font color="0000ff">aspialle</font>

wat else did u learn, share share

looking forward to seeing ur picture

hope everythin is fine, then u can continue to be sahm for ted

After the gathering kim seems to be having nightmares. crying very loudly and tears can be seen.. sighz.. not sure is it she play too much or the swim scare her? Hmmm..

Anyways
Jo
Jolene is the eldest princess @ the gathering is it? the lil girl running about touching babies? If it is, just now when kim sleeping she come over and say shhhh then point to kim and then say 'orh orh shhhh orh orh'

Grace
I dont let kim drink gripe water. i let her drink 'niu nai niang'. heard that it is better then gripe water. can reduce heatiness also.. 1 day let kim drink twice. once is 1 tea spoon. mine i have been using for quite a long time as kim is only back on sat and sun. so my aunty use like 1 bottle a month plus..
I agree gotta be careful to what u tell A's caregiver.. best is own relative or parents look after liao.. though mine is aunty look after but still not easy to open mouth and say things @ times.. hiak hiak..

<font color="0000ff">Adeline</font>

hehe, wish i can wear the skirt u r wearing
u din gain any wt from the pregnancy leh

oh dear, poor Kim, she is so well-behaved today at the gathering, NOT like Kelicia..

yupz, jolene is the oldest princess and i hope my kelicia can be like her in 2 years time, very good jie jie and wiser than her years..

i love my mum, can open my mouth and share with her all the tips i kaput fr u ladies..she is most willing to lend a ear

Hi all, alexis and I had a lot of fun today, thank you! Great to meet so many new faces and sorry we were unable to interact with all...saving for next time!

Adeline I agree with Jo, you look fantastic
Sorry to hear Kimberly is having nightmares

Happy 6 months to Ayden!

hi bbgrace,

thks a lot for opening up ur place for the gathering.

nice meeting up all of u, especially <font color="ff0000">momconomics, jerene, adeline, starz, karen</font>, finally can match the name with a face already...

hi jo,

dun mention. hope that u like the almond. also, dun be mistaken, i'm was waiting for my hb @ the car park. I came down with tricia first.

hi grace,

my gal also loves apples. after 1 spoon,she will open her mouth wide wide to wait for the next spoon.we will steam it before letting her eat. did check with my PD leh, she say apple/apple juice is more for cereals rather than porridge if u want to mix.

she also on Heinz rice cereals, dun tik she's coughing leh. more like fake coughing

i have updated the gathering fotos into the yahoo group fotos. go take a look but hor esp for the mummies fotos, some may look blur cos i think too many pple, the focus not really there.

Seems that all mummies had a good time. Too bad i can't join the gathering, pls keep the photos flowing in.

Happy 6 mths, Ayden

Gemini,
Thanks for uploading the pics

<font color="ff0000">REMINDER
Pls keep the photos with mommy, daddy, helper in the yahoo folder. Photos with babies only (or with adult's face cropped out) are welcomed to be posted in the forum</font>

Happy 6 mths ayden!!

Jo
I gained 15kg wor.. -_- but during 1st week of confinement i fall sick and weight drop alot. fever 39 degrees hehe.. guess that is what that causes it.
Thanks for the compliment!
As for kim she fake fake one. outside alot things to amuse her so she keep quiet. at home is our little terror..!!

Jerene
OOoo.. so you are the one whom i took warm water from!! Thanks alot!! *kisses*
Kim tend to have lots of nightmare. Thanks for the compliment ladies..

Gemini
Glad to meet all of you mommies too (though i am kinda quiet). Thanks for updating the photo i'm taking a look! I have one of Rys and Kim fighting!! while Rys carress kim.

ling
I tot i miss you out. thought probably you are there but i didnt manage to catch u haha..

Mommies
one last thingy before i sleep like a log. Thanks for all the delicious food and the time spent to prepare them..
Good nitez!!

morning morning mummies!!!!!
velz,cy woke up 2:30am to nurse last night, then at 6 again,...so im wide awake now!!!

regarding food hor,
eggs,read from books that allergies are caused by egg white, so never give egg white until 1 year old. but egg yolk contains iron which is good for their development...but i personally think egg yolk's gross.but if its good...dunno loh.

jo,
saw the munchkn thingy at one bp, thought it was a little flimsy. so it works huh...

issit herz cereal or heinz cereal? am using heinz now. seems perfectly ok.

well, ciaoz for now. go and look at hte photos...wakie wakie everyone!!!its a gloomy sunday morn!!

sorry just read this...

Now that your baby is eating some solid foods, fresh is usually best. However, according to the American Academy of Pediatrics, beets, carrots, collard greens, and turnips contain large amounts of nitrates in some parts of the country. Nitrates can cause a type of anemia in your baby. Even though you can't personally test the vegetables in your area, rest assured that baby-food companies take precautions not to use vegetables high in nitrates. So if you want to feed these vegetables to your baby, it is safest to buy commercially prepared jars.

ok, the AAP may not always be trusted. and dun ever think about those commerically prepared jars.but how do you test if the vegies you buy are safe? anyone only get organic?

hello everyone!
it was great to meet up yest! we were so late but nevertheless, it was well worth the trip!

bbgrace
i fell in love wif the silk sling u were wearing liao! DIE! i muz lay my hands on it NOW~! searched MIM... but wanna cfm wat colour issit tt u were using? <font color="119911">lime</font> ah?
thks 4 buyg the cereals 4 me... i nvr saw this pkgg b4...
me, jenny, selina & esther went to the airport aft tt... but hor, we did not see aeroplanes at all!!! hahaha... ended up dinner at crystal jade and by then almost 10pm liao...

gemini
ohhhhh! the almond jelly was done by u! DELICIOUS!
me & CoolMum were wondering who contributed the almond jelly!

<font color="0000ff">Thanks to all the mummies for the wonderful food!!!</font> i haven uploaded the photos... will do so later...

Jerene, KP=kiddy palace.

jRT, hi-5! Ya lor, no fate with you n Jenny leh. Aiyo, now Char known as caterpillar thanks to her mum. ;p

Delphine, dunno leh Desiree looks very girlish to me...maybe mine more boy...

Jo., if i buy will show.

Can see that you all have enjoy yourself at the gathering.too bad i cant join you all. looking forward to our next gathering. ohh... dun forget to keep your photos coming in ya..

Gracesong,
bo bian, she is taken care by my MIL who is taking care of her cousins as well, so once they are sick, she will get sick(usually that's the case). haiz.. aiyo, why the studio like that, make me think like those bridal shop keep perstering you to buy photos and in the ned find out that we spend more than we are suppose to. I think we should be firm lor but it's easier said than done cos see so many photos, very xin yang yang.

Coral,
No lah, C looks like a gal lah... how is she now??? give her more water to prevent her from dehydrates..

crystallized,
Wah you all so happening ah! 10pm some more.

yes, my sling is the LIME silk one. i hardly see anyone with this silk one, more common is the yellow green sateen one which i also have but now i use the silk one more frequently cos i looove the colour and feel.

You can get the HT cereal from most ntuc. NTUC only started to stock them in the recent yr. Last time i had to hunt down specialty stores eg Vitakids & Brown Rice Paradise to buy them for Joshua.

lilboymum,
i shared on nitrate poisoning some time back, i think selina did also.
i used to buy organic ones when i first started for Joshua and i didn't feed him greens until he started porridge.
But then again i'm also wondering if this part of the world has problem with high nitrate content in soil. There has not been much discussion on this in local publications plus most of us ate greens and carrots when we were babies also and we turned (or seems to ) out fine.

Morning ladies

Eh.. talking about slings right. i dont know how to use and yet i have 1!! it is so hard to use leh..

Coral
C look like girl girl ma.. u see kim.. worse wor.. i see the all girls picture.. it's like a boy sitting by the side -_-

Agree, I love BBgrace's sling too. Me likes green too...but since I already hv a free ugly red one, I cant justify buying another...cos Char gonna be too big for me to sling her on for much longer.

Delphine, Adeline, thanks for assuring me that Char looks gal. Cos so far 90% of the pple I meet say she's a boy.

Doreen, D looks very cute int eh colourfull jin san shun headband. But hor, he breaks Char's heart leh. Saw him flirting with other bb gals when Char is not there. Boo Hoo...;P

<font color="0000ff">lilboymum & grace</font>

hehe, blur me, read herz as heinz !

btw, i agree with u that the thing really look flimsy, i think i only buy it the third thing i saw it at kidsmall cos it looks like a ..but when i actually use it, it work very well

thanks for sharing abt the nitrate

<font color="0000ff">Gemini</font>

i must let my hb see ur post !
he was nagging at me , then end up me more haste less speed

i have the almond jelly for my supper last nite, yummy yummy, thanks for passing it to me

so JRT & Coolmum, the rest of the delicious almond jelly went inside my tumy =p

4 months ago, it was so easy to get the babies to look at the camera, now a bit tough leh

Karen's Brayden, Jerene's Alexis & Jo's kelicia
780468.jpg

780469.jpg

The Pincesses : Gemini's Tricia, Jo's kelicia, Jerene's Alexis & Adeline's Kim

780470.jpg

<font color="0000ff">A gal's unsuccessful attempt to court a guy</font>

Male Lead : Brayden Female Lead: Kelicia

I tried to hold his hand
780495.jpg

but he is so bored tat he yawns
780496.jpg

I am really embarrassed now
780497.jpg

bbgrace
yah i love the feel of the silk! i am gg to lay my hands on the sling! i dun care! i kept thinking abt the sling the whole nite hor! kekeke...
i hv been to a few NTUCs but din see the HT cereals so far leh. i started R on the Heinz Multigrain cereals yest and thankfully he opens his mouth! i was so happy!
one other trick i learnt (hopefully it will keep on working) was to let him eat wif us. my hb will do the job of enticing R wif his food, while i will feed R cereals. anything to make him eat, i will do!
yah man, i was so beat when i rch home. hahaha... getting old alrdy!

Coral
i use the sling so many times a day tt i can justify the purchase of another one. i sling R when i latch him so less strain on my wrists. i cant do w/o my sling. and i dun think my hb will object to it coz he can see how useful the sling is to me. at times, i cant wash it coz R sweats while in the sling, so i gotta make do wif it. SO if i hv another one, i can wash it (but i can say tt i probably will chuck my current sling aside once i lay my hands on the lime silk one!) :p
i think we can use the sling for still quite sometime. in any case i am not gg to wean R off the sling so soon coz i love using it!

Kim says:
I have got to post photo of rhys and me..

780543.jpg

Rhys please dont ignore me. i know i am not as pretty as the other babes here but please forgive me.

780544.jpg

Please!!! *Still ignoring kim*

780545.jpg

*Takes a look @ kim*

780546.jpg

*Cannot resist!!!*
Rhys noooo!!! mommy is watching!!

780547.jpg

*FIGHT!!* WHO WON THE MATCH????*
Girls might not lose to boy eh.. i use my "mao mao shen gong"!

780548.jpg

about cereals,
realise you can only get HT cereals at the larger ntuc. marine parade, paya lebar etc...

oooo...adeline,
kim has so much hair!!!and so nice and straight!
sigh...girls so nice, all the pretty dresses...i like alexis white dress.like a little tennis dress...

about slings..
i use mim's slings too. have 2 now, one cotton and one silk. the silk one is nicer of course, but i find the cotton easier to pull through the rings. The silk sometimes get stuck half way.

got a pix to show me with zhiyu in sling! taken when we went to hk. the background not very nice lah, was at a missions outpost somehwere in the hills, so laundry background. hah! so since you ladies never get to see moiz at the gathering. put a photo of meself..(so vain) just in case you see me along the road...say hi...

780552.jpg

Jo
hahaha just for jokes i find the photos so amusing and shake my head upon seeing kim. she is a terror.
Rhys is very cute leh.. i like him.. like young man like that!!

lilboymum
my sling is the mim's one too. cotton one.. aiya.. i didnt know sling have silk one leh!! duh.. but nevertheless i seldom use also.. hehe.. cause dont know how to tie the damn thing up!
Alexis dress is nice. She is gentle and sweet. i think all juniors there kim is the one with most hair.. guess that is what that makes her look like boy.. her hair grow very fast then every week have to trim if not get too long she keep sweating and finds it itchy.. not a good thing also..

<font color="0000ff">Adeline</font>

Agreed totally, Rhys is a charming boy indeed
and Alexis can sit so well for so long

at the gatehring, Kim is anything but terror ! very demure in fact

erm, i hav never use sling too, i think my cousin has demo to me, doreen too, 4 months ago and jrt too i think ..but i am not confident enuff

ur sling looks very silky man ..and now we can attach a face to ur nick
wow, Chih Yu so young went on mission , somemore to the hills !

crystallized / coral,
I interchange my slings cos Emma is a puke princess
But i prefer the silk one over the sateen one.
But i'm starting to use the ergo more especially if i have to be out for a longer period or need to be totally hands free. But shoulders and back have been acting up and the ergo is really a godsend.

Crystallized, you really can come with a lot of justifications to get that sling hor :p

lilboymum,
i like the stiffness of the silk sling. I find the cotton too smooth and it tends to slip especially when Emma wriggles too much.

adeline,
the running commentary of the pics had me laughing!

crystallized,
I also found a way to feed Emma today. TV!!!!
Gives a new meaning to TV dinner. hehe...
I know it's no good lah but i've got no choice. I would rather her guai guai open her mouth and eat while eyes fixed on tv than to have her screaming her head off at each mealtime.
And she finished her entire portion of cereal mixed with sweet potato today for the 1st time.
This means nothing to those with easy babies to feed (eg when i fed Joshua) but it's a major milestone for me with Emma

Jo
haha.. thks. sling not EZ to use i think but saw mommies using yesterday so steadily..

Which sling is smoother? the silk one or the cotton one?

bbgrace
It's very amusing ma.. esp the actions of rhys.. see the way he sit. pattern more then badminton! handsome little boy.

did u all see the way ayden blow bubbles!!! non-stop!! it is Ayden right? hmm..

ooo...i love those photos of kim and rhys (vivian, how do you pronounce his name? sorry, a bit ulu in this department). he has such boy boy hair, so proper.

adeline and jo,
well, i didnt use the sling a lot(a gift from my sis) until i went for the trip.it as great coz cy can snuggle up and go to sleep in it in a wink.it reali helps to calm him down. i oso find difficult to use at the beginning coz scared i drop him in the process. but then try a few times, then ok oredi.

jo, aiyoh, not that great lah, cy cried like mad after the trip to the hills. coz the pressure released going down the hill upsets his system...so scary loh.

babygrace,
oic, now i know why cy tends to get lower and lower down whenever he is in the cotton sling, was thinking something wrong with my slinging.

abt the class on bb food making

can start let bb try egg yolk at 8 mths but if there is allergy, stop for 1 mth and try again, if still allergy stop for another 3 mth

the nurse does not encourage parents putting all the diff vege in the cereal all at a time, its best to introduce one at a time, then abt a month time when they get used to it, introduce others.
Some caregiver has the tendency of making "rojak" all the diff vege and meat in the cereal/porridge which is not right, cos when bb start off at 6 mth, u do not knw they are allergy to wat food, after testing a little they are ok to it then proceed.

for preparation of ikan bilis with porridge, have to wash and dry it, make sure there is no taste of salt ...cos it can be quite salty then grind to powder. For carrot, i asked her if nitrate level is too high, whether to avoid , the nurse says eat in moderation, same with liver , potatoes, etc

Someone asked nurse whether jar food is safe?
she says tink abt when it is manufactured, exported .....n reach your hands, although stating no preservatives...but hw cum it can last for so long...so we decide ...

wah you guys are up sure early. I am a night person, can multi-task when the moon is howling but when the sun shines, I am all 'lambeh'...

Thanks for all the sweet comments on alexis, you guys are very nice...but <font color="0000ff">adeline</font> <font color="ff0000">sweet and gentle</font> is taking it just a wee bit over the board!

All mommies have great photos, I sat alexis on my lap and viewed the photos and she became so agitated at some of the pixs!

<font color="0000ff">aspialle</font>
Thanks for the info on food making, I find it useful, too bad you cant join us yesterday...

<font color="0000ff">babygrace</font>
psssst...I use the tv trick from time to time too! Whatever works right? :p

Wow.. aspialle...
the course on bb food making is so interesting leh... got anymore class har? Thks on the Apple more for cereal and not porridge advise... and the rest, it is soo useful n enlightening to all mums here...

Jo,
Me still looking around in my area but some haven't interview already noe wat kind of people they are... insist you go interview immediately at the time they chose... dun even want to wait... they give you an impression as if looking aft your bb is a favour from them .. they show you they are the employer attitude not you are the employer leh...state all their term leh.. afew of them does have this kind of attitude n i dun feel comfortable w them.. so end up i am still looking around lor till now...

Adeline,
The pix of Rhys & Kim soo funny... but it looks Rhys is a caring boy leh... very attentive to kim whispering into his ears n later attracted to her give her a hug but kana boxed by her mao mao shen gong... he must be heartbroken.. heheeee...

The pix wif all bb Tricia, Brayden, Alexis, kim, Kelicia looks like they are good friends sitting around watching movie leh... so cute..

Lilboymum,
I think the pix background very nice leh... very unique loh... cos seldom see alot of clothes hanging ... in HDB environment.

Delphine,
I tot i will be xin yang yang too but the pix dun really turn out very nice leh... only a few are ok...so dun buy the album oso ok loh... when Able 1yr old then i go find other studio to take better pix... two pix to show from the studio...

780684.jpg

780685.jpg

egg yolk:
i have already start R on egg yolk last week. I half boil the egg, take one taspoon from the egg yolk and mix with her fish prooidge. It very rich and good for baby development.
I also agree that baby who start to eat early tend to be easy to feed anbd not fussy eater than those who start at 6mths.

Jerene
Not overboard!! Her dressing with her looks really a sweetie pie. Gentle as in other babies push her she just stare and majiam dont dare to do them back hahah..
But i know very baby at home will be their ownselves which other moms cant see.. thus thats what i feel about Alexis at this very moment

Grace
Able is so fair!!!!!

Happy 6 mths to Ayden!!!

Hi gals..was nice meeting all of you n your little ones...sorry got to leave earlier and couldnt chat with some of the mummies.....please pardon me....hope to catch up with you all again...