(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

<font color="0000ff">milk intake</font>
looks like some of our bbs on "diet" hor... ayden also drinking 100-130ml per feed during e day, only last feed he wil drink between 120-180ml.. lastnite dont know why he "break record".. after 180ml he still fussing.. after trying everything liaoz, i gave him another 50ml of BM i juz finish pumping... he finished it then "gan1 yuan4" sleep... but he only feed abt 5times a day... so also ard 600-800ml per day... during last month's checkup, doc already said not enuf, he shd b drinking 1litre per day... but he dont want to drink what can we do....?????

shirley
how i wish R can drink so much!!!! nah! he only drinks MAX 100ml each time in the day. and sometimes 1.5 or 2 hr interval. but its not fixed. at times he will drink only 60ml. and at times the intervals r stretched. if he can drink 1.2 litres, i wld hv tried to wean him off nite feeds but UNSUCCESSFUL.

issac fusses for btl feeds rite? Mine fusses during latching! he is more ok wif btl feeding now. so sad...

Starz
A is the youngest here hor? so u can "absorb" the knowledge 1st.
but he same birth day as Issac & R. i.e borned on 29th...

jRt,
yup, A is e youngest here... hehehe.. same 29th, but Isaac & R is Sept rite?? ya lor.. i already "absorbed" alot of knowledge here... KIV for whenever A catch up... so thankful tat there's such a forum for me to learn so much abt my boy...

Starz, not that Camry not good enuf for my hb. Hb likes it's spaciousness, but he had to agree with me that the car the steering is light and during acceleration also not as stable. And he knows his wife a very lousy deriver, I need a very steady car, so if he switch to a Camry I lagi wont drive so unlikely for him to switch now. The last time i drove my friend's Toyata I was shocked at how light the steering was and I drove the car agaist some road barrier, luckily never scratch his new car, ever since then I dare not drive Jap car liao. but next time if really have to change car I know I no choice, but for now, can tahan hb tahan him lor.

Shirley, Char like Issac, she'll arch her back if she doesnt want to drink.

starz

i have observed how isaac move. he will use his stomach muscle to propel forward and also with the assistance of his thunder thighs.

later he will learn to push up his thigh in the crawling position and push his body forward, according to my parents, they are starting to learn how to crawl.

better put the bumper cos A will soon knock himself against the railing, i have even removed the musical mobile cos Isaac kept banging his head against the switch box.

i started isaac off with Healthy times brown rice creal but he didnt like it. stopped for awhile and recently tried heinz rice cereal and he consumed more.

Starz
how abt u break up feeds (smaller amt but shorter intervals)? this is practised by my mum since R is small eater. to make sure he drinks enuff. she does this lor instead of giving more at each feed and stretching the intervals.

crystallized,
yes..happy to see he been follow this routine. b4 i start work, he even sleep around 12am everynite.
ya lor, i better take 2 pcs frm u cos i know tat wendy & coolmum oso wanna to share.
wow..u mean R can drink 8 btls of 100ml per day. tat's a lot!!
A only drink 3 btls 160ml per day nia plus 5 x latch on. so, i cant figure how much his intake.

Starz,
ya lor..exp hor. hmmm..sound good idea borrow frm library. i used to borrow pregnancy books frm library too. thanks...
how many btls ur A drink per day?
Agree tat they dun wan to drin, wat can we do?
hmm...will wait wat PD say next check up on next friday. suay suay same thing come out frm his mounth.
i told Alvis last nite, u tell PD not mummy didnt giv u drin hor, it's urself dun wan to drink. (he waste my 80ml EBM y'day)/

crystallized,
the secret is to wait and grow older then buy. haha! ok lah i didn't make myself that clear earlier on. i meant to say that i could not afford to buy private property in Marine parade as my first home cos the prices were still very high in 1998 when i was looking around. No point buying hdb there cos the prices were very high and the flats are old. That's why i joined the queue for EC instead.
So no secret lor, it's just that i waited for 5 yrs after marriage to have kids. Worked and play hard and save money so that i can afford it now. So even when both kids "torture" me now, i comfort myself by saying that i've enjoyed enough liao.

you're right, it was in the afternoon where it's quieter so my mum and sis could hear. can't imagine if she's crying like that in the middle of the night. must close all the windows man.

starz,
you start with feeding a rice cereal mixed with BM first. no need too much cos the aim is to get bb used to eating. if after 3 days got no allergy, can proceed to other stuff. avocado, steamed sweet potato (the jap one), steamed apples, steamed pear are good first food for baby.

PLAYFUL DRINKING
On the topic of milk intake, i also have my fair share of problems with feeding Emma. it's so difficult to feed her these days cos her hands will wanna grab the bottle and instead of holding it, she pushes it away.
She used to finish her milk in 5 mins. Now after 100ml, she'll start playing with the teat. Then i'll have to stop and wait for another 10mins before i make her finish the rest.

Same thing when i latch her directly. The moment she is half full, she'll unlatch and look at me and smile and then latch on suck suck a bit and look at me again. wah piang, if i feed her in public, sure kenna exposed liao.

Shirley, PD says she's just being notty and she's entitled to have her own character and temprement. We realise Char arch back whenever she dont want some thing or is unhappy.

Bbgrace, the way you describe is exactly what Char does. When she finish one side of my breast, the other side she just suckle a bit and will look at me and smile and suck and look and then push away, need to paly wiht her for a while before she suckle again. And when i feed her water with bottle, same case, hold and push away. Faintz.

Coral

come to think of it, isaac also arch when he is unhappy. so they are quite sama sama. i thought it may be due to stomach pain cos when he was younger, he has colic

babygrace,
i have same problem when i latch A directly. he will latch, then look around, then continue. tell him finish milk 1st, he just smile at me.
talking about expose, me lagi jialat. last nite was carry A & sitting together wif mil, sil at living hall watching tv. this A arr...put his hand into my shirt & play with his another hand which was outside. waa...lucky no man around tat time. if not, sure malu.,...

Sghirley, don think so . But wonder how these young bbs learn t express their displeasure with arching back. That way bought Char to choose a stroller, she also like this. Theb one she likes she sat properly, the ones she doesnt like, she started arching her back. Ijn the end, she chose the cheapest stroller, haha, help save us some money.

Jasmine
think u girls read wrongly lah... i meant R need to drink <font color="0000ff">AT LEAST</font> 8 btls of 100ml (day) and 2 btls of 150ml (night) in order to fulfill his min intake <font color="ff0000">BUT</font> this boy is not taking this amt!!! *sob sob* and he fusses so much during latching, i even more worried. last few days can u imagine he latched only 5 mins each time and refused anymore aft tt no matter how i coax.

bbgrace
oh so thats how u did it lah... sigh... if i had gotten married earlier and enjoyed myself then get a flat, i wld hv been contented like u now. but no leh... nvm juz looking fwd to the future now lor.
same her! R oso like tt now. drink 5 mins then unlatch, look ard and kpo then he dun wanna latch liao. i force somemore he wail v loudly as if i tortured him! he is better at btl feeding. sianz leh. at times he screams when i use nursing cover. i can only use it when he is half asleep and he dun realise it. gd thing my nursing bib is colourful so at times he will keep staring at it until he decides its time to fuss.

he oso pushes away and play when btl fed. my mum keep complaining this boy v playful now. hahaha

wendy
no problem! u PM me ur addy

<font color="119911">Disposable swim diapers</font>
1. Crystallized (4 pcs)
2. Jasmine (2 pcs)
3. Wendy (2 pcs)

left: 4 pcs

momconomics/ coral

must tell my parents abt this forum and let them read. they kept telling me something is not right abt isaac and want me to bring him see PD. tonight must tell them other babies also like him. My parents they have not seen babies like him.

coral

when isaac sat in the bumbo seat for too long he will arch his back and look as if he wants to get out of it.

coral,
oic... hehehe.. i was kidding only lah.. but steering light isnt it easier to drive??? sorry ar, but i alwayz been driving jap car.. so dont know e diff leh...

shirley,
oh... isaac learning how to crawl liaoz ar... A juz started flipping only leh.. but he flip liaoz hor, like humpty dumpty like tat, swaying side-to-side one... n he can only flip on 1 direction.. so i stil wondering how he move lor...

jRt,
cannot leh... nowadays sometimes he dont even wana drink after 3hrs interval, he will drink mayb 60ml, then dont want liaoz.. after awhile then my mum feed again, then he'll drink e rest... but if he "happy", then he'll start fussing for milk after 2hrs... he quite fickle-minded hor... luckily its my mum taking care.. otherwise i'll be constantly worrying if he's being fed or not.....

my mum juz told me my boy "chu" pattern again..last feed was 9am..didnt wanna drink at 12pm...milk throw away...until 3pm then he drink...sigh

starz

i think we should really appreciate our mummies, really patient. although sometimes i still disagree with her method (she likes to feed isaac in his bouncer which i dun like) but really pei fu her on her patience during isaac's milk strike.

momconomics

haha the way ur mum said abt ur boy "chu" pattern same as my parents. they always my boy pattern a lot and every monday will "chu" new pattern cos isaac dont see them during weekend.

think ur boy may be on milk strike which happens to isaac a week ago. dun worry but need to be super patient when comes to feeding.

think eventually it will go away

jrt
last nite i wake up at 2.30am to feed ted till 3pm, then h ook at me eyes big big dun wan to sleep liao...have to pat him to sleep, then i put him dwn in cot, the moment i put down, his eyes open again and start crying....have to pat him again...then at 5am again cry for milk, feed him till 5.30am....sleep till 6am....CRY CRY ...wake up dun wan to sleep liao...then sleep again at 8.30am

jasmine,
hehe.. our A's checkup dates r e same leh.. i realise it from e previous checkup... nex week A also going for his 2nd 5-in-1 jab.. but i go to Sengkang polyclinic... cos nearer...

bbgrace,
thanks... i was thinkg of starting w pureed vege/fruit liaoz, cos more healthy mah... but start w cereal is to get them used to e food first... right???
ayden also playing e same "tricks" during his feeding... if bottle feed, i will tuck one of his hand behind my back, so tat he only got 1 hand free to come n "ka chiao" e bottle... he will also push it away, but i wil hold e botl firmly lor... otherwise all e milk spray all over his face... when bf its worse, he will start playing after latching on abt 5-10mins liaoz.. i dont think he even drink enough yet.. but he's like playing "peek-a-boo" lor... until i fed-up tell him "u dont wana drink, mummy keep liaoz ar"...

i always tell my hb hor, after bb, i like bo-chup abt "modesty" liaoz... like alot of pple seen my breasts n nipple liaoz.. mum, MIL, SILs... so now when i bf in public, sometimes also abit "immune" to e "looks"... juz hv to b abit more careful in public, when A starts to play during latching, gotto quickly pull my top to cover up lor... scared kena charged with "indecent exposure"....

crystallized,
ic..me over read ur msg. but as long as they r alert then we more 'fang xin' lor.

shirley / starz,
yeah...agree lor. MIL always tell my A lucky he taking care by them, if send to childcare or babysitter, sure kena torture one cos too naughty liao. hahaha...

aspialle,
wa....guess u must very tired hor. lucky u didnt work. better take a nap if ted take his noon nap.

shirley ...yalor..kekeke.....they say my boy next time grow up sure very mischeivious....my boy has been like that 4 a few weeks liao le...sometimes his feeding pattern stretch 6hrs

starz

haha i know what u mean about bo-chup abt modesty. really a lot of people have seen my breasts and nipples, even my maid has seen it! i told my hb now my breasts are no longer sex symbols but milk machine. my sister actually called me moo moo cow whenever i go and pump milk

Starz
same lor. R oso v fickle minded. depends on His Majesty's mood lor! he happy, then will ask 4 milk every 1.5 or 2 hr. not happy, he will not even ask 4 milk aft 3 hrs. end up my mum gotta feed him while he is sleeping in yao lan. only in his blur blur sleepy state, he will finish milk w/o fuss. tt explains why i secretly topped up his nite feeds to 150ml coz he can easily finish it.
same here, lucky its my mum taking care of R, else every day i will worry if he is drinking enuff milk.
hee last time i v pai seh one. even if gynae check my boobs, i oso feel embarrassed. i wun chg in front of my sis or mum or even my hb lor. now ah, yah, mum & sis all see my boobs liao. but strangely i dun feel as awkward anymore now tt i am a mummy.

Shirley
as long as R drinks milk, i dun care wat pattern my mom used. i am tt desperate! yah my mum is oso v patient when she feeds milk to R. and dun 4get she is looking aft 2 lil monsters. so i appreciate her doubly more.

aspialle
hope he dun fuss like tt every nite, else "orh bak cart" man! can undestd how it feels coz R likes to do tt to me oso.

shirley,
hahaha... i call myself THE COW most of e time...

jRt,
i also top up A's night night bottle once he finishes a certain level a few nights in a row... since he day time dont drink much, i try to feed him till "ba ba" during e last feed...

jasmine,
ya lor... 5-in-1 can take together with Hep B one ar??? i was considering whether to go to PD for a 6-in-1 jab for his final one or not.... where u usually bring A to???
im borrowing lots of baby books nowadays to read.. since i've always love to read, last time read novels... but now read up on bb development lah, temperament, how to teach them.. etc... so i got alot of "theory knowledge".. but still come here i learn e most....

Starz, cos I find the steering turn abit only the car move alot. and I cant feel the road as well leh. Feel as if floating, so I find it diff for me to control the car lor. Tell you, my driving skills really sucks, so I really reluctant to drive pple cos worried for their safety. the first tiem I pick my hb up from the airport, I went with the we might die attitude, came back in cold sweat. So far only drove hb and for friends only drove them once. For I get very nervous when i have passengers, so I cant imagine my hb want me to drive Char, I think I might wet my pants.

Shirley, my parents and inlaws also say other bbs never arch...I thnk the bbs they know are of earlier generation. Our generation bbs are same same all arch to show displeasure. Same same, many pple have seen my breast liao, and now I also less pai seh, alot of tiem just pull up my clothes and bf in car sometime in my Mum's leaving room if she close the window. Ya, breasts no longer sezx symbol, but a wei da tool to nurture my young.

jasmine
when ted take his nap i got hse work to do, i do laundry sometimes twice a day, then early morning by 9am i already have my soup for dinner in the cooker, then prepare all vege and ingredients (even chopped garlic) all put in fridge...so that dinner i can settle in 10mins..can't really nap

my place near tuas airbase the airplanes keep on waking up ted cos is too noisy...u knw its v diff to put them to sleep rite, no choice

<font color="0000ff">Coral</font>

Geez, lucky Char is in the carseat and is fine
Glad that u are all ok!

<font color="0000ff">Shirley</font>
K also arch her back, hehe, they young & flexible, wun hurt spine lah

<font color="0000ff">jenny & babygrace</font>
It is advised that K starts with nestle rice cereals or heinz rice crereals first ?

<font color="0000ff">jrt</font>
hehe, thanks, but i just booked today liao ;p
Dynasty threaten that today is the cheapest..

<font color="0000ff">PHEOBE</font>
I am departing on 3 April ! U with which agency, when flying ?

oh yah, how do i collect the cream ?

<font color="0000ff">coral & coolcoolmum</font>
hehe, i agree with selina & gals on baby smart n can breathe..
anyway, even if put on back, they move to their tummy too leh

today, took half day leave for the ASA fair at Suntec, babyfair was not the main agenda..

end up the ASA fair outside carrfour no good deals, so took a quick walk at babyfair before going to Dynasty at Toa Payoh

<font color="0000ff">aspialle</font>

ever since K nearly get suffocated to death on her 1st day back home fr hospital, we never ever dare to use blanket liao..

babies wun get freeze to death, but will get suffocated ..

Jo,
Haha.. U so guai ah! Set good example for Kelicia ah? ;)

Sure alot of ppl buy lah. I got buy leh. Results not out yet leh..

hey ladies

long time didnt post liao.. my C is sick, hospitalised since wed nite due to acute bronchitis. very poor thing.. now posting this in the ward.

she must hv kena the virus during CNY.. actually brought her to a PD on fri liao.. didnt go to my usual PD coz i thought small prob only. but 5 days still no signs of recovery, even got worse.

poor C every day have to suck out the mucus and phlegm and now she refusing milk... and the anitbiotic that she is taking is giving her diarrhoea! now lao sai until buttock all red and sore. everytime clean her she will scream and cry. very tiring man..

Jo,
U BET like dat ah? Hahaha... The sales was open till 9pm just now leh. Even Changi Airport also can buy.

I went to buy after lunchtime yesterday.
Saw 2 ladies pointing at some familiar faces in the Queue shouting happily:" Hey! U also Here AH!" Hee hee.. so many ppl sneaked out to buy TOTO during working hours! My bosses share TOTO with me, so sent me to Q. Hee hee. if Strike, I get 20% commission on top of our sharing!

Jo,
Think Esther must be busy taking care of Jovan ba.

Storm,
Oh dear.. wish C have a speedy recovery. U must take care of yourself too.

<font color="0000ff">Storm</font>

OH NO , no wonder long time never cya..

take care ! Hope C gets better fast fast

<font color="0000ff">Janice</font>

haha, looks like I will never strike rich :p hubby also never buy ! cos in ICT..

<font color="ff0000">GOOD LUCK !!!</font>