(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Doreen, D is so cute. He very staedy liao hor. Envy leh. Char still cant sit for long only a few sec.

Jo., keep stories of your sis coming, very funny and interesting.

u girls sure v fast... er, i reply wat i can rem 1st, catch up later

Jo
me not planning to hv a made in cruise bb coz i dun think got time and my plan is to TTC nxt yr. as 4 the japan queries, u email me can? else i sure 4get to reply u again.

bbgrace
i think my hb now gets it tt we need to b near my mum coz he misses R v much nowadays since he goes over once or twice during wkdays to visit him only. and now tt R can recognise him and likes him v much, he wished he can see him daily. thats y the other day when i told him it wld b gd to stay near my mum, he agreed instead of splashing cold water on me when i suggested some time ago. so i guess its a gd sign. but thing is, hse near my parents r super exp and mayb will b old.

<font color="0000ff">glad to hear tt Jovan is now discharged and resting at home. such a cute pix of him.</font>

Starz
thks 4 the treat then!

er, wat else ah? later girls, gonna express milk now...

coral

glad that all of you are okay.

Phoebe

think both the boutique and dept store both sell but i only went to the boutique to see. can check with cher to confirm

starz

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!

doreen

damien super steady ya! isaac can sit for awhile only and will sway to one side and topple over.

<font color="aa00aa">Selina</font>
thanks for the pics of Heinz rice cereal & how to make rice cereal. think will start feed A later.

oo..ya. can email me 11 oct babies montage? thanks...
me now trying to do a montage using those background tat u copy for me.

<font color="0000ff">Esther</font>
glad to hear tt Jovan is now discharged and resting at home.
u too. must take care of urself.

<font color="aa00aa">Doreen</font>,
Damien so adorable!!

can check with u when u got such nice cloth book. last sunday went out with hb try to get a nice one for my boy but cant find lel.
Damien so adorable

hi hi starz..
thks for the treat & opening ur hse to let us have the gathering..hope we didnt create a big mess for u to tidy up..

hi hi jenny/jo..
i also have a rat sister..very super bad temper also..maybe rat girls more garang ba..

hi hi coolmum..
it's ok lah..hope u can get to spend more time with KB, ok?take gd care hor..

hi hi doreen..
hey, D very steady leh..can sit by himself liao..u r indeed very capable in upbringing him leh..i m so proud of u leh...

hi hi coral..
lucky Char is sitted on the child seat & u r buckle up..hope the damages wont be much..wat car are u driving now?btw, u can try ocean paradise at paragon..i saw the thermal swimsuit selling for ard $60++..chk it out when u r free ba..cheers~

<font color="0000ff">Coral</font>
Lucky all of u are ok.

sorry for the late reply on bamboo chair tat day. hav u manage to get one?

A quick one before i go pick joshua up from playgroup.

Doreen,
Looking at damien always reminds me of Joshua cos both round round botak botak one
Just like this
709083.jpg

jo / jenny / wendy,
u all hav sis who born on rat year & hot temper. i thot girl born on cow year is bad temper cos of 'niu pi qi' ...hahahaha..

Wendy, thanks for info on the swimsuit, wow so expensive ah? If I buy for less than 1 yr she wear a few months then don wear anymore, hmm, shall go check it out and see how ba. Our jag look totally fine from the outside prob the body is hard, but I think some parts inside must be dented as the boot cant close after we open. We can claim the repair from the lorry's insurer so no worries for us.

Jasmine, my Mum say an old man come to sell the bamboo seat near our place but she doubt Char will be willing to sit in it. We tried her on bumbo seat the other day, cant last even 5 mins.

Aiyo, once I log on cant get myself out of this forum. Prob must try like yday dont log on at all till end of day. Haiz

Outing tomorrow
===============
Hb workplace got family day at Bird park tomorrow, so prob bringing Char for outing...but really depends on weather.

good morning!

starz, my baby prefer to drink FM than BF otherwise I will be in big trouble now. He is very smart, he know how to make use of his teeth. We give him a piece of the baby bites, he will bite it into small pieces cos small piece melt faster in the mouth, very fast he will finish everything.

doreen, you stil bf-ing your baby?

Heinz Rice Cereal
===================
I saw NTUC Fairprice having promotion, selling $2.20 yesterday.

Anyone give Brown Rice Cereal to the baby?

Coral,
A have to depends on his mood one. sometimes he can sit on it about half an hrs. MIL said consider very good lor.
think becos he been sat on his bouncer tat we bot for him previously. and we wanna train him sit rather than we carry him. too much carry for him. hehe...
ya lor..nowsday weather not so nice. always raining hor.

Jasmine, 30mins is damn long. Sounds like eternity to me, Char would never sit so long on her own. The longest she would sit is on my lap when i sing to her. She can only sit in her high chair for abt 15-20mins then she'll want to be carried.

Momconomics, if char never get her way she screams. But not as much as new born, cos now we know her ways so we can prempt and react faster to her needs.

Jenny, I busy leh, else had wanted to pop by.

Pandang
========
Realise Char is a very pandang bb. Most recent pandang event is Char has been sleeping on her tummy and sleeps well, so i was blessed with more sleep. But MIl told me bb tend to vomit if they sleep this way, I tried to not reply. the next day she repeat again and again so I no choice say Char wont, she has been fine. Who knows that very nite she puke, and the following nite she puke again. So now I have to let her sleep face up and she wakes every hour. Why cant pple just keep their mouth shut when I already told them Char very pandang and we already verified that an 3 other occassions.

littlekid
i will be giving caleb brown rice powder tmr.

jenny
tks. i understood but will go check it out first b4 deciding if i buying. actually if got bigger size i dun mind cos can use until older.

coral
glad all of you are fine. yes carseat very impt.

jasmine
i also trial n error. when i started caleb on CNY eve, i put 1 teaspoon of cereals with close to 30ml of his milk so very watery n let him 'drink' n i feed him on alternate days. now i feed him everyday starting with 1 teaspoon of cereals with 5 teaspoon of his milk, increasing the amount to 2 teaspoons of cereals on day 2, milk proportion u have to agar but roughly about 30ml of milk to 2 teaspoons depending on the consistency u like.

doreen
yah lor focused too much on the spoon liaoz. very kan cheong want he like scared pple snatch his cereals like that. abit slow only he will make noise liao. have a hard time keeping his hands away man.

oh i didnt tell u my long story with my accountant. wed was month end so she usually come over on last day of the mth to do up the accounts (sub-contract) so i went to office lor then who knows i waited whole day for her, call her nv reply nv turn up. yesterday called her again then she say coming down today n my retail mgr off today so end up i need to come office. otherwise i come on thurs instead of wed then we can have coffee yesterday.

coral
mayb dun put her down on her tummy immediately after her feed? caleb slps on tummy since 1mth+ but he hardly puke. even have also a bit only. i usually will keep him upright for 10-15mins b4 putting him on his tummy. even when he is asleep. u might wanna try.

coral..ya i agree bb very pantang one..

my boy now hor learn to scream liao..when he dun like things..he will scream, sometimes quite loud le.....aiyoh....

Selina, thanks. Actually Char didnt puke much too. But MIL dont like to let me put her on the tummy, keep nagging at me. Sian, now I also dilemma, I want my sleep, but she nag until I frighten to say char might suffocate. Her mouth so suay I also frighten...

Thanks for the link. Looking forward to staring solid.

coral
why your MIL so against slp on tummy. it was actually my dad who kept asking us to put caleb on tummy so he can slp longer otherwise he gets startled easily n wakes up. actually nothing wrong wif it wat jus that beginning got to be more careful to check on them to make sure their mouth n nose not covered. now i hardly wakes up if caleb dun make noise cos this boy knows how to move his face to breath.

Coral,
think old ppl very against slp on tummy.
when A was 1 mths old, PD ask us to giv A more on tummy as exercise. whenever we put A on tummy, MIL will quickly stop us cos she said too dangerous. then until A was 3 mths old, Pd comment tat his neck not strong enuf, advice us hav to let A do more exercise. then only MIL accept it. now she is happily see A on tummy cos A will smile at her when he on tummy time.
mayb ur MIL scare Char will puke ba...tell her not too worry as Cha very clever & know how to move her face to breath one.
this mrng A suddenly flip & sleep on tummy. it's his 1st time. i sit there & monitor. yes, like wat selina said, they very clever lor, know how to move their face to breath.

Selina, char also can turn her face from side to side. MIL first found it weird, but never say much, But recently she read in I weekly that this is not advissable so she kept nagging me lor. I know she mean well, so now I'm not sure I still let Char sleep face down b4 I go to bed, but once I sleep I have to let her face up, and that's when the nitemare begins, her limbs will move like she's a tortise that's being over-turn, and sometimes I manage to pacify her some times she wakes and refuse to sleep. And she wakes up hourly in this position.

hi jenny,

i thought of giving Frisocrem cos T is on Friso1. thought same company, so give the same food. Hmm... so it's very sweet, then maybe i give it a miss.

maybe will try the Heniz cereal that Selina is using then. check with u, did u mix the cereals with milk in the milk bottle? if so, what's the proportion and did u cut the teat to be bigger?

hi coral/momconomics,

coral, glad to know that both u and C are ok.
since becoming a mummy, i have become an "auntie" by rather believing in those "pantang" than dun believe it. or as my mum (main cargiver) or me & hb will suffer.
my SIL also said that letting bb sleep on their tummy is gd, cos they can sleep longer.

coral

same as selina, isaac has been sleeping on his tummy since 2month. i think once char's head and neck is strong, u dont have to worry. alternatively u can check with ur pd. I was adviced by my pd to put isaac on tummy cos he has colic when he was younger, putting him on tummy will help to remove the pain.

After assessed by pd, tell that to ur MIL, think Pd's words has more weight than ours. also i think baby's survival instinct very high.

coral
anyway when they are older and can flip even u put them on the back, they can flip to be on tummy so can explain to ur MIL not to worry so much

gemini
i dun put the cereals in the bottle. i spoon feed him his cereals. mum has been asking me to let him have his cereals in the bottle but i dun quite like the idea. she says last time we also like that but i told her certain things can still adapt last time mthd but certain things cannot.

anyway, caleb's milk teats oredi snipped at 2mths plus.

coral
agree totally wif shirley that their survival skills very strong, much stronger than we can imagine so really no need to worry lor. anyway u close door when char slping right, then MIL wont see it wat. there are things which my dad n me dun agree like feeding caleb solids etc, he kept insisting caleb to eat brown rice porridge with ikan but i said no 1 thing at a time. until i fail to convince him, i will jus say, doc also say 1 thing at a time, then my dad kept quiet liaoz. doc say so he cannot say anything.

gemini,
Cos many of my friends gave Frisocrem... If you want, try to get sample first.
I'm giving Nestle Rice Cereal, the tin that comes in green color cos is tasteless. Jolene has been taking now too.
Ok, regarding the your qns on mixing cereals into milk in the milk bottle. PDs dun advise cos of choking case. Our mums did tat last time. So is up to you to decide. For me, I did. Jo is still taking her milk + cereal with her bottle. For a start, mix a little bit for T to get use to the texture. You need to cut the teat a little bit bigger, try getting a Y or X teat and cut a small cut to "create" a hole. Observe T during and after drinking. If she's ok, add a bit more. Then slowly to the proportion of 1/2 scope to 1 1/2 scope of FM. Err... you know wat I'm talking? Cos me rushing for time, on leave this PM =P

selina

u using nuk right? what size teat? size 2? still need to be snipped?

i wanted to change to bigger size teat but scared isaac get chocked. but he seems to be sucking very hard leh.

Coral
i oso v pandang. sometimes dun wanna believe but no choice. whenever i say sthg tt might jinx me or R, my MIL will quickly ssshhh me up. she will make "finger on lips" sign and i will quickly shut up. alas, when she says sthg tt i feel she better dun finish her sentence, i dun dare to ssshhh her. in my mind i was thinking, dun u complain abt other ppl's grandchild lah, ours yet to rch tt stage so scully worse off.

behind Char's back, u go and tell ur MIL directly tt if she wanna say sthg, better dun say in front of Char. and somemore tell her wat happened abt Char vomitting. no choice. if she does it again in front of Char, u no choice, ssshhh her in front so she dun get to complete her sentence lor. dunno u dare to do it anot. but i tell myself nxt time my MIL says such thing again, i will sure ssshhh her else

Shirley
R now drinking L teats~! (pigeon's perisltatic) when i chg back to Y or M, he rebel by not drinking. he has been drinking L teats afft 3.5 mths. some of my frens' babies taking M or Y only. haven heard anyone using L teats yet.

shirley
haven finished wat i wanted to write then post liao. idiot...

dun SNIP on ur own! coz u will nvr get an uniforum hole by snipping and u risk him not wanting to latch aft tt coz flow is fast and free when he is on btls. at least this is wat i thot happened to R lor. my fren was the one tt reminded me. anyway now the damage is irreversible liao..

u can try if issac can take the bigger teat hole size lor. if milk drips out fr the sides of his mouth or he chokes, then its too big 4 him.

Hi ladies, thanks for providing me with so many ways to continue to keep char on her tummy. Ya, never tot of seeking OD advise, hmmm, good tactic.

Selina, my MIL will lurk around outside my room waiting for hb to open door and quickly peep in. I very angry with hb, he always leave our door wide open i scolded him many times but still like that. Or if MIL see me out of room, she'll quickly run in to peep. I feel no privacy lor.

jRt, I told MIL many times abt the pandang, but she very forgetful lor, awalys do it. Ya, next tiem I might try the finger on lips action.

coral
she 4getful then u can always do the finger on the lips action until she remembers!
how can 4get babies r pandang ah? sigh, i dun dare to anyhow say things in front of R one lor, though i am a v straighfwd person. sometimes my mum oso ssshhhh me v loudly! hahaha

at least ur MIL dun dare to barge into ur rm when u r inside... talk abt no privacy i can understd exactly how u feel... but ur plc gonna b ready soon rite? so at least got sthg to look fwd...

coral
juz read tt u all kena accident yesterday. thks goodness everyone is ok.

thermal suits? issit those more 4 diving etc? i saw it in kiddy palace yest leh, >$60... din noticed got size 4 babies of our age though.

bbgrace
J looked so different now and then.
his features chg totally

crystallised

wow L teat! my hubby realise that it is quite hard to suck cos he went to try the bottle himself and told me its a wonder that isaac can suck on that. he finds it quite hard to suck.

mayb u are right, will go buy size 3 teat to see if he can drink better. i think isaac drinks more when latch on cos my let down very fast and sometimes he will chock and the milk will spray onto his face very poor boy.

shirley
caleb using M teats and i snip a cross on the teats so that the milk flow is faster only when he sucks (cos the hole will open up). i have no prob latching him after doing that. i tried L teats on him but think hole too big, milk flow out even b4 he sucks so kanna choke. he can finish his 180ml milk in 5mins when in good mood.

coral
telling me abt privacy. i'm glad i survived those times when FIL will barged into the rm without even knocking when the door is closed hor.

coral
i have not seen thermal suits for bbs yet. not sure if they have. anyway dun think it is gd idea to let bb stay in water for too long even wif thermal suits. 1stly, no gd to be exposed to sun for too long, 2ndly, bacteria n germs are sure in water so the longer bb in water, the higher chance of getting the bacteria etc, 3rdly, the effect of osmosis on their body with the water since skin is permeable.

Shirley
yah lor, me the one tt spoil everything and mayb coz he dun like to latch anymore? but my jets r quite a lot and at times he chokes coz letdown is quite gd... and a few times when he unlatch, milk jet actually sprayed over his face! i was astonished to see tt!

Coral
oh u check out the suits liao ah? too big huh? how abt trying OCean paradise at paragon 5th level. one mummy recommended fr sept thread. their swimsuits quite exp though. but might hv Char's size.

selina

wow 180ml in 5mins, neber happen to isaac. he can finish 150ml in 30mins i will xie tian xie di liao. will go home and try to see if will drink faster

selina
wah so cheem on the osmosis thing... din noe tt... so how long can the boys stay in water? half an hr? i think aft the swim, they will probably knock out.

coral
lucky ur fine.i tink it depends on mother's preference some like to let bb sleep on tummy, some dun , there are pros and cons lah but understand the part on the nagging...cos u r the mother, u decide wat u want for the bb mah...like now i keep the sarong liao cos bb can sleep in the cot longer

blanket
=======
yesterday a bit cold rite so i actually cover blanket on ted and tuck it to his sides so that it does not come off easily, the next moment i saw it was on his face! he was struggling to remove it frm his face, he likes to grasp tings nw so believe that the whole blanket cover his face due to that...i was shocked but luckily he is fine..tink i dun dare to put blanket liao, let him wear long sleeve and pants enough liao

Sorry if i've missed out anyone's questions cos trying to catch up on the postings.

coral,
I didn't get the thermal swimsuit for Joshua. He only wears thermal swimsuit during lessons. Just got normal ones and i agree that it's difficult to find small ones. I got from Mothersworks at Great World City.

I agree with selina regarding osmosis. Babies will get all wrinkled like a prune if stay in water too long. 20-30mins would be just nice.

Luckily no one is hurt in the accident. Hubby was involved in quite a serious accident but thankfully he was protected by all the airbags. From then on, he insist that the kids must always be in childseat cos the accident was no fault of his.

gemini,
i agree with Jenny that Frisocrem is very sweet. I've tried it, it's the most yummy one. Give it to Tricia only when she's a older, don't start her on too sweet first.

crystallized,
Queenstown is certainly not cheap but it's convenient. That's the same reason why i could not afford a place in Marine Parade for my first home last time when the property prices were sky high.

momconomics,
Emma is a screamer and shouter. She'll start shouting when no one is around to play with her or when she needs attention. If we still bo chup her, she starts screaming.
She's got a set of powerful lungs in her 6kg little body. She was crying so loudly yesterday that my mum who was in my sis' place on the 14th floor can hear her crying on the 7th floor.

aspialle / selina,
i still use blanket. but only cover his feet even tho i let him ear long sleeve shirt & long pants.
cos i noticed his feet sweety & cold lel.

Selina, I never let Char stay in water for more than 15mins. usually 10mins, but realise she still feels cold, so was thinking of getting a thermal suit. Ya, dont want her to wrinle like a prune as BBgrace described.

Bbgrace, Isee. Tot Josh wear them since bb time. Ya, the accident last nite also no fault of ours, so must be very careful cos other road users may not be as careful as us since we now have bbs/kids on board. Seems like bbs born on 1 Oct got strong lungs. Char always announce her arrrival when she gets home. MIL can hear us from upstairs ansd will open fdoor to wait for us. ;P

Aspialle, I try to avoid blanket too. Never know when they pull over their own face. Dress hten in long pants and shirts and adjust temperature in room better.

jRt, if I hv time will go paragon to check it out ba. Since weather so cold recently tot might be better for Char to wear thermal suit when ging into water. She never stay beyond 15mins, so I cant imagine 30mins. It might be too cold.