(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

weikuan
coz i change the diapers quite often. sometimes she pooed right after a fresh diaper change.

Stretching
==========
mine also stretches till her face all red. according to my PD, its very common among babies from the 3rd week onwards, so no worries.

Desitin
========
went to TMC today for my follow up checkup, and TMC pharmacy hving promo on desitin creamy wor. 2 for $20. usual price is $13.90 each. but promo till end of this week, tmr last day i think.

sorry fr MIAing cos there is some internet connection problem with my laptop. Only get my hb to reinstore the dialer and windows explorer yesterday and now able to surf internet.... so if you see me missing again.... it shld be my connection problem again.....

Diapers
--------
I have tried Drypers,Fitti,Pureen,Prokids & softlove....
So far think Fitti, Prokids & Drypers will not leak but Drypers sticker is really too sticky.
The other two (Pureen & Softlove) really cannot make it....

6in1jap
--------
My boy has his 1st 6in1 jap two wks back w GP....
Tot he will cry very hard but hor he just cry when the needle is poked and then stop crying in a short while.... think it is less painful compared to the blood drawn during his 1st week jaundice test previously...

Milk supply
-----------
my ms is going low tooooo since i oni express about 3 times a day or sometime twice if i am lazy..... try latching my boy(let him suckle fr a while) these two days and the ms actually went up.
But I bought 2 bottles of Fenguneek at GNC today.... since there is a 35% discount if you sign up as member... but went back think i abit siao haven try bought two bottles fr wat... so pray my ms will increase tremendously if not i will bang my head further.. hehee...

Contraceptive
-------------
My Gynae actually told me to try one that can last up to 3yrs but can remove if i am planning for my next bb(cannot remember wat is the name liao....) I told her that i will get my hb to control instead...
Anyone of you intend to try any forms of protection beside condoms,pills?
I have not ahem too leh.... as wat Selina mention b4.... where got time... told my hb wait fr 1 yr later... heheee his jaw almost dropped of after hearing wat i say...

Gemini,Selina&Vivian
--------------------
I am from Punggol toooooo....
Vivian.... think we share the same gynae leh.. We might have met b4 in her clinic.....

confinement
------------
Well my confinement is over fr abt 1mth liao...
sometimes think confinement is actually fr my hb...
He dun have to do a single thing during my confinement period while he used to sweep/mop the floor and wash his undies previously.... when the cl leaves.... he told me he misses her badly ..... wat lau .. i fainted...

coolcoolmum,
Actually I was talking to Wendy yesterday and we both agreed the urine indicator not very "chun". So got urine indicator or not doesn't matter me lor. In fact, bigger size diapers dun have urine indicator one. Like I told Wendy, we are actually paying more for the urine indicator and the pooh designs copyright on the Mamy Poko.
I bo pian you know, cos my elder gal's skin no good when young. So I have to keep trying to get the correct diaper for her. Thats why I tried so many brands lor. Sometimes just ask in forum to buy a few pcs to try, so no need to buy 1 whole pack lor.
Prokids is a taiwanese brand diaper. Cheap and good for day use like PetPet. But the only thing I dun like is, it is sticker tape. My hb likes velco tape. Cos hor, he always need to re-tape one, his estimation not "chun" lor.
Dun be blur with the diaper brands. Got time, I go and consolidate the diapers and let you gals take a look.

Storm,
I was told not to apply baby oil to for cradle cap leh. Just wash and keep it clean and it will fall off.

coral,
Nepia is good for whole day use. If you order from nepia company, then will be cheaper compared to NTUC price.
I also dun like Pureen design, so many colors. PetPet design is ok. What I mean is the inner part where the cotton absorbs the urine, that area is green in color.
You know hor, some elders said use "xia liu" leaves to bath bb, bb will not be notti. You wanna try? Pomelo leaves also can.
You got to take care hor. Cos now got flu virus in the air. My No.1 kena and spread to me and my mum. Both my mum and myself have been sick for 1 week liao. Today bb kena also. Just brought her to see PD this afternoon and a lot of kids and bbs all down with flu and cough wor.

Aspialle,
The calculation Coral did is very good leh. $33 for a mth to exchange for time, water and electric, very wu hua leh. You can also get PetPet which is about $12.95 per pack nia. Cheaper diaper usually comes in sticker tape, provided you dun mind sticker tape. If for velco tape, the cheapest one should be Huggies Dry.

coolcoolmum,
I have ordered 1 ctn of Sealer liao. Is ok. Delivery should be next week. Thanks hor.
I dun talk to bb during bottlefeeding.

momconomics,
Stretching is very good for bb, dun worry. My gal does a lot until her face turns red too. My dad said stretching helps the bb to grow.
So far I never apply any cream. But if you need to, try to apply those cream suitable for bb, eg. QV lotion.

MINYAK TELON
Just bought a bottle at $3. Got 2 sizes, small bottle is 30ml selling at $2 and big bottle is 60ml selling at $3.
My hb just used it to apply on baby, quite nice smell and like what babygrace said, not as hot as Ru Yi You and it absorbs into skin very fast.

other than Coral whom is oso cham like me, kena tortured by night feeds, muz say the rest of u ladies is hvg a much better life... dun complain liao lah...

my boy last nite so cranky, demanded to b fed every hr!!!
i was so angry tt i whacked his backside (though i tried to control myself) finally at 4.45am when he din wan milk but juz cried... then my hb woke up and managed to calm my boy down and got him to sleep. i read tt u some ladies so lucky, 3 hourly feeds liao... if my boy can maintain this cycle 4 nite feeds, i will hv no complains liao. in fact, i can manage 3 hourly nite feeds.

coral,
we on the same unfortunate boat. sigh... but u more poor thing lah, din sleep for 2 days. muz take care of ur health oso. i noe bfg babies will tend to stick more to mummies. same thing happens to me. but i am trying to get my hb or MIL to calm him down. so far, my hb is slowly adjusting while my MIL cant manage my crying boy yet. my hb used to freak out when he cant calm my boy down and as he cries louder, my hb will quickly run to me and ask me to calm my boy liao. i told him he has to b more confident and not to b afraid of our crying baby. else i will hv no rest each time he demands attn. so thankfully my baby is slowly "accepting" my hb...

wah ur calcn done 4 the diapers seems v cheap leh. i agree wif wat jenny says, save electricity & water bills. but my main reason 4 using nappies is to prevent nappy rash, though i noe not all 100% diaper using babies will get it.

CoolMum
when i latch on, i keep talking to my baby. when he was 1-2 wks old, i was more crazy. each latching on session, i wld rattle non-stop like a machine gun.
think my baby oso scared of me! nowadays i talk lesser but i still talk and touch my boy's hands.

Jenny
my boy now starting to b naughty liao. even my mum whom is experienced in baby sitting oso finally conclude i hv a naughty son. sigh. only my MIL kept saying her grandson is not naughty (i told her he woke up hourly for nite feeds last nite) and whenever i called him a naughty boy, she will quickly say "no lah, he v guai alrdy!" how can say the baby is guai in front of him? *faint* no wonder he is getting naughtier! btw i alrdy gave in to yao lan at my mum's plc these few days. but i still haven introduce it at my home coz i am v scared my ILs + hb's silblings will take turns to keep swinging the yao lan, i die die tell hb i dun wan the yao lan to b set up!!! he oso dun dare to defy me, coz he noes how much his family LOVES to rock my boy when he is in the bouncer now, even when he is asleep!!!

oh boy, another nite...

crystallized,
try not to rock too much, if not wait bb use to it then die ah.
I'm going to stay at home next week onwards. Can't get any rest when I'm at my mum's place. Got to look after 2 and most of the time, no one helps me. Rather stay at home, so no need to travel here and there.
Also Jaslyn is down with blocked nose and cough, kena spread by me and her jie jie and grandma... PD suggests me to separate the 2 sisters.

CoolCoolMum,
Rhys also got cradle cap. Asked PD and she gave us a Cradle Cap shampoo by Dentinox. Can buy from pharmacy. Saw it before. it works and now he got lesser liao. You can try that.

I sometimes do talk to Rhys when feeding him, but most of the time, will rub his palm and fingers which he likes it.

Wendy,
Great to know that Mav is better liao. I now trying to stay pumping till end of the year lor. See how long I can endure...
Anyway, you can buy Lactacyd from pharmacy but remember to buy the right one. They also have feminine wash in similar packaging. Look out for the green and blue stripe one. BTW, lactacyd also helps in getting rid of those small little 'pimples' on Rhys' face. So those mummies who also have that problem can try using lactacyd.

Coral,
Maybe there is a reason why Charlotte so cranky. Maybe not fully fed or wind in tummy? My Rhys at one period keep crying when feeding so we consulted PD and found that his nose is blocked which makes him uncomfy when drinking milk plus a bit colic (wind in tummy) so after taking colic drops and regularly cleaning his nose, he improves greatly.
Like that no sleep for 2 nites where got strength to take care of Charlotte. Eventually you will break down one... Maybe take a break tomolo since weekend and let your hubby take over for a while and you can take a rest ? Dun let this affect you and your hb. Both of you need to support each other. Take care leh. I call you tomolo if I can.

Momconomics,
Rhys also sometimes 2 hrs want milk while usually 3 hrs one. No choice got to give lor. Think sometimes they digest faster ?? Sigh. As for pacifier, I already gave him when he is ard 1 mth old. I think getting off pacifier is much easy than sucking thumb.
Stretch ah, Rhys also do that, same as yours. Normal lah. Old ppl say the more he stretch the faster he grows... haa...

Grace,
Haa... you also Dr Chen ah... hee... maybe we do see each other... anyway, she also recommend the IUD. But I also dun like leh. Like something inside me. Worst thing is that my auntie got 'accident' for her 3rd bb coz the IUD just disappear leh. Scary...
Most prob will use condoms first. Then later once stop BF will go back to the pill.
Hmm, so when we punggol mummies meet up, you wanna join us?

Crystallized,
I just heard from my hb's ex colleague, that she also TBF her girl every 1 hr and in the end, PD told her that her bb is 'snack-ing' on her. Even not hungry also want to suck. Becomes a habit. Not good. Must take a long time to correct it. So do take note leh.
You so funnie, rattle like machine gun... haa... cannot imagine that...
Same lah, Rhys also so naughty until my mum cannot tahan. I so scared that she suddenly change her mind of looking after Rhys when i start work. I also now keep delaying on buying yao lan coz my mum insist on having that coz Rhys refused to sleep in daytime and end up very cranky in the evening.
Luckily the fisherprice bouncer cum rocker that my friend gave me is a god send. Rhys loved to sleep in it and now whereever Rhys go, the rocker goes... hee... At least better than yao lan, no need to rock, just put him down and he kept quiet liao. I call it the magic chair. hee... Sometimes we carry him he cries, but put him down in the magic chair, he stop crying. Still got vibration somemore, ma chiam like OSIM chair for babies... haa... I loved that chair....

cradle cap
==========
Caleb also kana cradle cap. just saw some flaky stuff on his hair... sigh... on eyebrow also...

colic
=====
went to consult PD yesterday re his colic. wind in tummy is very mild. gave us colic drops but told us not likely to help very much with Caleb's crying.

cranky @ nite
==============
PD suggest we engage Caleb more in the day so he stays awake more than easier for him to sleep in the nite.

went vivio city wif my mum after visit to PD n Caleb didnt sleep alot while we are out so last evening abit cranky cos hungry and sleepy so very frustrated he need to do 2 things at 1 time but after feeding him at 8pm, went to sleep until only woke up at 2am.

feeding time
=============
strange thing. Caleb been feeding 4hrly this week. i nv purposely stretch his hours. he automatically wake up every 4hrly for milk. wif this interval, i am more confident to latch him cos ss sure got enf. so now Caleb on 95% BM. hopefully this feeding interval continues.

next week will have to start training him to stay more wakey in the day so he can sleep in the nite, hopefully this also helps wean him off nite feed

nite feed
==========
so far nite feed quite ok for me so long as Caleb dun start his nonsense since his interval is 3hrly or 4hrly.

bfg outside
===========
like coral, i can latch n walk at the same time and hb is fine with that too. i only need a place to sit to latch once latch, i can walk anywhere. like yesterday at vivio city, latch then continued shopping followed by taking bus home. my mum say i super. i told her that's the convenience of bfg. since i wear nursing top, actually cant see anything but just in case, i will use nappy to cover but realised i get a lot of eyes on me. actually i think the paisei one is not me but those pple staring.

<font color="ff0000">SEP/OCT BBs GATHERING
==========================
is it too early to organise now? i dun mind doing it. let me know your views.

grace,
so you also punggolites like us. dun have your mobile. you may wanna pm me your mobile so if we meet up, i can sms you. btw, which block you staying? me at 637A.

doreen,
the goat's rue got a bit help but i finish the entire 60 capsules liao. a bit help cos ss only up slightly n mainly cos Caleb now feeding 4hrly so ss got enf for him. i still thinking if i shld continue. now i cut down my dosage to 1 or 2 capsules a day. beginning is 4 a day.

wendy
on vivian's advice, i tried Lactacyd on Caleb and it really helped cleared all the ugly bumps on his face. now they getting lesser n smaller. hb bought from Giant cos he says slightly cheaper. Guardian used to sell it in twin pack but think i missed the offer the other time.

jenny
u better take care of yourself. i always tell hb he can fall sick but i cant cos once i'm down, poor caleb will have no one to tend to him. hb told me his mum sick last week n today wanna go back see her. asked him to check to confirm she really recovered cos i dun wan Caleb to catch any virus from her cos he fall sick i very siong. MIL said she recovered. dun how true leh. i scared she too keen to see grandson then lie she recovered fully... sigh... dunno how. dun let her carry or cannot right...

crystallized
visited my gal frend the day b4 yesterday. she BF her elder boy for 13 mths also n she strongly advocate letting bb have fixed feeding schedule like wat hospital does. she advice me not to allow Caleb to snack on my breast and not to allow him to fall asleep while sucking. so far her 2nd boy feeds also 2-3hrly. only 1wk old bb.

vivian,
my mum opposite from your mum. Caleb is closer to my mum cos everytime she carries him, he will calm down n stop crying. so at nite everytime he cranky, my mum will help to calm him down. yesterday she told him, close to her ok but not at nite lah {lol}

crystallized / coral
let me join you in the gang of sleepless mommies. Emma is also like that. Sleep cycle all haywire. At night eyes big big and keep wanting to drink milk.

Crystallized,
that's why i got the motorised yaolan. it was after my boy keeps waking up after the rocking stops.
Now Emma also likes to be rocked.

BREASTFEEDING OUTSIDE
i agree with Selina. It gets easier as you go along and become more confident. it's much more convenient cos no need to bring bottles or milk powder. But i find that pple in SG will still stare as compared to when i was overseas. But i'll just usually ignore them.
The only bad thing about bfg outside is that i'm quite restricted on the clothes that i can wear. It's either bfg tops or baby doll tops. No tight t-shirts or tops

LACTACYD
It is very good for bb skin. You can use it to mix with water and clean the area where rashes is, also good for cradle cap.
Actually Guardian's promo twin pack is still ex wor ($19.90 if I remember correctly). Try getting from Ocean from People's Park level 3 ($7.20 I think) or medical hall ($7.80+-). Pharmacy tends to sell more ex.

SEP/OCT BBs GATHERING
I think is still early bah?

Selina,
Ya you are right. Daddies can fall sick but not Mummies. If not no one looks after the baby. However, try to train hb to look after bb, bathing, changing clothes/diapers, feeding etc. Cos we won't know when we will fall sick. Like today, my hb is taking over to let me rest. Went see Chinese Physician, he also told me to rest cos he said I very tired, but I told him I dun feel leh. Even Jaslyn's PD also told me to rest cos he also said I very sick with the flu. I'm glad hb is able to help this time. Last time during Jolene's time, he didn't know a single thing, so that time I very "cham".

MINYAK TEKON
This is the pic of Minyak Tekon. For babies who dun sleep well at nite or got wind/colic, Mummies, do give it a try. There's a BP in Marketplace. Also, you should be able to buy from Malay shop which sells herbs. There's one shop at Sembawang Shopping Centre, Level 3 selling this. Big bottle, 60ml @ $3. Small bottle, 30ml @ $2. Malays use this oil on their baby once born.
Just apply a few drops on baby's tummy and the joints area on the arm and leg.
582920.jpg

Stretching
=======
My gal loves to stretch too. Can stretch till face red and very ugly expression too. She like to lift and tilt her head backwards since she was born. PD also said she got very good control of her head.

Aspialle, I can't pump without latching her on. My breast just can't produce any milk when my gal is not latched on. So I can only pump one side when she sucks the other side. So I still hv to latch her on regularly else no milk to pump for others to ffed her.

Jenny, my mum also told me abt the xia liu leaves, maybe I'll give it a try tomorrow. You and bb better take care. During my 2nd wk confinement I suddenly hv running nose. Quickly drank lots of hot drinks and eat Vit c, luckily recover the next day. You and Jasly take care. As for diaper leaving marks on bb's thigh, you mentioned maybe the cutting not suitable. But I realise, all 4 brands I tried (Pureen, Pampers, Mamy Poko, Fixies) all leave the elastic band mark on her thigh leh. Could be I wear them too tightly?

Crystallized, my hb keep asking me why bb dont liek him, he carry and bb will cry. I told him bb also cry when I carry her. She only likes my nipples. I actually feel guilty abt using diapers cos I afraid of nappy rash too. But since got so much dont use is a waste.

Vivian, that time I condulted PD, he said it's just Charlotte's character. he said she's being notti and he can't help me (hb and I looked at each other helplessly). PD told me to endure until bb is 3 mths and hopefully she'll be better. Sometimes I tot she not properly fed so give her extra bottle of EBM, but she still want to hv my nipple in her mouth after that. It's just comfort that she wants lor. And too bad she refuse to suck pacifier. When she has my nipple in her mouth she'll smile at me then close her eyes to sleep. Once I pull it out to put her to bed, her eyes open widely and start to cry the house down. We almost wanted to buy the fisherprice roker. Cos the vibration like that of car travelling. Usually bb sleep well in it. Charlotte always sleep well in Daddy's car. Maybe I should go get it.

Selina, good for you. Hope Caleb's cycle gets better. You tale the goat's rue every 6hrs? It's didn;t help increase my MS at all leh. I did not invest in nursing tops cos not sure how long i can last so always wearing th same few tops when go out. Where did you buy your nursing tops? Are they exoensive?As for the gathering maybe organise when dec comes ba.

Coral,
Since your mum also mentioned about xia liu leaves, then give it a try bah.
Oh, then maybe you wrap bb too tight liao. Try to loosen a bit? Haha, or does Charlotte got big thighs? kekeke... If big thighs, all diapers will leave marks one.
Hmm better dun let Charlotte use your nipples for sucking comfort. If not you dun have rest. She is so used to the nipple, thats why she is rejecting the pacifier. Did you try silicon or latex pacifier? Can try Nuk one, quite similar to nipple.

Jenny
i dun dare tock too much while using yao lan at my mum's plc. i only rock once and let the momentum take over. only when my boy cries, then i rock 1 more time. yesterday i actually fell asleep b4 he did!
i was lying on the floor and 1 hand juz occasional rocking him when he cries. b4 i knew it, i alrdy slept though i can still hear his mild cries faraway! so funny.

i sure wun rock him all the time. wat i am afraid like i said is, my ILs and hb's siblings will LOVE to rock him, which is why till now i hv not introduced yao lan at my own home. i will tahan as long as i can, hopefully till i go back to work, so my boy will only sleep yao lan at my mum's plc.

how come no one helps u when u at ur mum's plc? so tt means jolene stayg at ur mum's plc while u stay wif jaslyn at home? my sis juz delivered last wk, so i go over to help out during wkdays. scared my mum overtired and oso my sis can rest, no need to keep walking up &amp; down. but my boy so clever &amp; naughty! Jealous when i carrying my niece (he is asleep most times when i carry) and yet suddenly he can cry! hahaha

aiyoh, cant imagine baby being sick. more difficult to care for rite?

Vivian
thing is, my boy v funny, no fixed cycle. occasionally he will hv the "1-hr nite feeds"... yesterday it was ok again. he woke up abt 2.5-3 hourly intervals. i am v thankful liao. every nite during his last feed b4 bed, i will tell him to b a gd boy and wake up at 3 hr interval. dunno he got listen anot.

i noe my boy is not sucking for comfort, but not so sure if its like wat u say "snacking" die lah, since when i become a "popcorn" man...
hope not lah.

btw my sis whom juz delivered, got flat nipples. my niece juz refused to suckle, and even if she tried, she end up crying and going so red in the face. i rem u oso got similar problem thus Rhys not willing to latch on rite? so no choice, had to pump out milk to feed.

eh, same like u, i oso worried my mum might chg her mind abt caring 4 my boy. but i doubt it lah. coz by then when she takes care full time, my boy is almost 3 mths old, shld b easier to care for. and i let her use yao lan, to b fair lah. dun wan her to hv a hard time.

i saw the fisherprice rocker!!! issit really gd? wats the proper name 4 it? u noe how much? i might wanna get it. wah vibration!!!! no wonder its a magic chair lah! i wld hv loved it too!
my boy sleeps in a bouncer now, but the time he sleeps in gets shorter and shorter &amp; the time spent rocking him gets longer. sigh...

R falls deep asleep only when he is being carried or he is in my sling. but i cant b carrying the sling ard all the time rite? haha... dun wan him to get used to oso.

selina
i dunno how to hv fixed schedule 4 my boy leh. most imptly, i dun hv the heart to "torture" and deprive him of feeds at nite leh. read tt some ladies here gave water instead and aft a few nites, the baby gave in alrdy. sigh... nowadays when i hear licking sounds at nite, i dun wake up and feed him immed. i wait 4 him to wail lor. so its another way of delaying, i guess. i think i hv to wait 4 R to fall into a cycle on his own.

bbgrace
let juz hope things get better 4 our babies. i thot u had successfully advocate GIna Ford's method on Emma alrdy.

heee i dun care wat i wear, i still BF when i am o/s. most times i am wearing a tube underneath my top and when i hv to latch on, so many layers to go thru! haha

Coral
my boy oso stretches till he turns so red in the face. and he likes to "gek" a lot, and many pple thot he wanna pass motion, but i told them he is like tt one. in fact when he is doing his "biz", he is as serene as can b. u cant tell he is doing big biz until u hear farting sounds accompanied wif some liquid sounds as well. hahaha

seems like all our babies got pretty strong neck muscles though they still so young.

yah u r right lah, our hubbies need to get used to the crying babies. they need to smell more of their daddies so can get used to their scent as well as they can get used to ours. my hb kept saying i still got the "magic touch" as in most times when he hands over our crying baby to me, he will surely pause for a while, as if recognising me &amp; my scent. most times, i can calm him down. then i told him "of coz lah, i am bfg him leh, he surely can identify me by now. else all my efforts and nite feeds r in vain." but i keep on encouraging my hb not to b afraid of his cries, as he juz needs time to get used to daddy and he will surely succeed. so far my hb managed to find the position to calm my son down when he is wailing juz for attn. so not too bad.

how come so funny tt u cant pump w/o latching C on? hmmm... but gd thing u caring 4 her full time so perhaps no need to store EBM like the rest of us.

BFG outside
i think i can BF o/s while walking oso. coz as it is, for some feeds when my boy is sleepy and yet wanna b fed, he dun allow me to sit still and feed. he wants me to stand and dance, or in some kind of motion, then he will feed peacefully. its so funny when my hb &amp; mum saw me feeding like tt, but thats the way he wants it.

GATHERING
seems too early to organise one now. v thoughtful of Selina to think of it though. right now, i v happy when it comes to wkend, coz it means my hb ard to help! other than tt, i cant even fix my facial appt as easily like last time liao. sigh...
shopping trips oso need to plan... coz while i can bring my baby out in sling, its inconvenient to being him out shopping, esp when i need to go fitting room. coz where can i plc him? and bring him out in a stroller oso not tt convenient. many times he cried and i had to carry him. thankfully hb is ard to push the stroller, else i wld b stranded alrdy.

Jenny &amp; Coral
i realised tt my boy's thighs always got diapers marks as well. dun think cutting too small leh. haha, yah i think perhaps he got 'meaty' thighs. i call him "little drumstick"

crystallized,
No lah, i still have not followed the Gina Ford method successfully cos of Emma's reflux problem. I try not to feed her too much at one go so that results in her wanting her feed 1 hr later. So timing all go haywire. It's only on some good days that i can follow.
Just like Coral's C, i think Emma likes to suck for comfort also. She refuses the pacifier even though i've been trying to stuff into her mouth every time she cries.

Coral,
Your Charlotte and my Emma are born on the same day so probably their characters are the same.
How you describe C is exactly what my E does!

crystallized,
Ya, if bb sick, very difficult to look after. Just the cryings alone can die man.
Fed Jaslyn medicine and her nose drop since yesterday night. This gal very "li hai", she knows when we are feeding medicine, then she will spilt out (include milk lor). Just now after feeding, she did it once. And guess what? The phelgm also came out. I so happy for her. After she vomitted out the phelgm, now she sleeps longer. Now wake up for milk since the last feeding at 11am.
Aiya, I tot going back my mum's place is easier, cos got my mum and bro to help. (my bro works nite shift, only need to work from Wed to Sat). Wrong ah, ended I'm looking after 2, so tired. Last time Jolene's time, bro helped a lot. My mum also sick, so I got to look after myself lor. So, I talked to hb, I decided to stay at home, save the energy for travel here and there.
You know there's a gadget which can "pop" out the nipple for flatted nipples leh. Can ask your sis to try that.

FISHERPRICE ROCKER
Think if baby is big size, usually can't fit in after 3 mths. In fact, same as bouncer, once baby knows how to flip, it is quite dangerours to use it. My views lah...

Hi mummy out there

Wow so long never log in, kind of miss every one and the postings here......

Hi jenny
like to check with you the oil at sembawang shopping centre 3rd floor what is the store name? Is it the lifestyle shop or shop selling baby stuff? Me thought of going to buy cos friends recommend me, wanted to join the BP might as well get it since its near my place. Kindly advise
Hope jaslyn will be well soon take care

BTW, for FM how much does you all give your baby? Afraid i am giving too much or too little haiz..

Esther,
It is a Malay Shop. I dunno the name of the shop or unit no. leh. Quite easy to find. There's only a few Malay Shops there, it is the on near to the corner. Sells Malay clothings and herbs.
For FM, I give 100ml.

bbgrace
oh yah, E got reflux problem so harder to follow. i am really curious abt this Gina Ford's method. trying to find time to go &amp; borrow fr the library leh.

dun think my R suckles 4 comfort leh. at least this is wat i thot. he oso refuses the pacifier most times. and wat i do is, i turn him to his sides, use a bloster to let him hug and at the same time to gently block the pacifier fr coming out. and i realises tt when he sucks the pacifier furiously, he is in fact hungry. so i latch him on. so far i observe tt he needs his milk b4 sleeping. and he usually feeds hourly from 7ish pm to 10.30pm (last feed). aft tt he wakes up ard 1am (this is the only time he follows a cycle). then aft tt, if he gd mood, he will wake up at 2.5-3 hr interval. owise, its hell nite.

jenny
thats why i v scared of bb falling sick. the cryings alone can kill liao. nowadays babies v clever one. some spit out water when they noe its not milk tt they r fed. thankfully so far my boy can still take water. at times when i juz wanna try to shut him up wif water when i wasnt sure if he is really hungry, he actually drinks water as if it tastes like milk! haha
think he dun mind. but i stop when i realise he is really hungry and latch him on instead.

u r right, if by gg to ur mum's plc means the same thing if u r stayg at home, might as well dun waste time travelling. so u can cope alone at home wif 2 kids? i salute u!

my sis got try using the gadget liao. think it dun help much and only protrude out a little bit, which is still not gd enuff 4 her little princess to latch on. smart girl lah, she suckle a while, nothing, then start crying &amp; turning red in the whole face. actually we hv been giving her my EBM the last 2 days until my sis milk started kicking in tdy. haha, i nvr imagined tt my extra EBM cld come in handy man.

ah, really ah? then i cant get the chair liao. there goes my "magic" hope...

crystallized,
Ya, babies nowsday very smart one, unlike last time babies all gong gong one hahaha... My aunt always said last time all babies, give milk just use a bloster to pop up a bit can drink by themselves. Now this method can't work anymore.
Good lor, your boy is taking water. Though BFing, I think still good to give water, if not, grow older they will refuse. My elder gal hor, though has been drinking water since born, refuse water wor. Only when she grows older till 8 mths, I think, then she started to drink.
No, for the time being, will leave Jaslyn with my mum. Realised hor, w/o her jie jie by her side, she super guai ah. Partly becos me and jie jie also sick lah. PD told me to separate Jaslyn and Jolene lor. Die ah... I'm going to deal with Jolene alone next week. Think by evening time when hb backs from work, I collapse liao... she super active hahaha...
Hmm that means your sis's nipple is short type. Then she got to express liao.
Err... that's my views on the FP rocker lah. But this rocker can later convert into a swing if I remember correctly. Frankly speaking hor, I used to like FP toys cos I find them attractive and like very good for kids. But then hor, I realise kids are not interested in FP toys wor. My gal's FP toys all like play a few times, then back to the boxes liao. Waste my $. I already sold off some of her FP toys to some mummies. Better than taking up space in my store room and bedrooms. At least sell off at cheaper price to other mummies whose kids know how to apprecipate them. Jolene only wants balls! You know, last week your place there got pasar malam? She die die want to buy a ball home... Bo pian, buy one then she ran off! Ku Ku leh... wanna buy her a haversack to get her to carry her own stuff, ask her want or not, she told me "bu yao"!

crystallized,
Emma used to follow the same feeding cycle like your boy but dunno what happen, now everything haywire. Now i'm trying to get her back on track. Today i've dragged her feeding time a bit longer but her royal highness kicked up a fuss but luckily hubby is around to help out.

There is an Fisherprice swing that can last longer cos the seat is quite deep.
I got it for my boy during the 1st month and he ends up hunching in it cos the seat is deeper compared to a bouncer. It got better when he became bigger and lasted him till 6 mths old.
http://www.fisher-price.com/fp.aspx?st=2001&amp;e=detail&amp;site=us&amp;selcat=bgsw&amp;pid=32833

Ok gals, some of you mentioned you are blurred with the various diapers in market. Here's a compile list. Not all the diapers in the market are listed here.

583297.jpg

583298.jpg

583299.jpg

583300.jpg

583301.jpg

583302.jpg

583303.jpg

Nite Feed
-----------
That time I mention my boy night feed will be 1 hr longer than day feed. Than next day he feed 1 hrly for both day and night. Wah piang.

I thought Damien drinks hrly cos he sometimes drink for few minutes than refuse to feed already. Than today before going out he drink bout 30 mins from both sides. Me thought he can last for 2 hrs so quickly pack my bag than before leaving the hse he demand for feed again after mearly 1 hr!!
But just now he feed 1 side ahwile only he tahan 2 hrs leh....sigh weird boy

Jenny
U say my bb gong gong aah cos when I bottle feed him I just put him on bed and use a pillow to support the milk bottle he okie one.
Heng aah...hehehe

THink the pic u post is the infant to toddler rocker that I have. Vivian one is bouncer right? But think most FP seats have the vibration one.

Just now went back my inlaw place for dinner after shopping. Before going up bb already start fussing a little for milk. So thought I will go up n feed him before I have my dinner.
But my inlaws carry him away the moment I step in even though I tell them he wants his milk soon they still keep asking us to eat dinner first. Than ask me for his milk bottle. I just tell him straight I dun bring milk bottle out one.
Than eating halfway can hear my poor boy crying in their room. So angry and the auntie still can kpo and ask my fil no milk to feed ah.
We finish eating very fast cos want to bring my boy home to feed they can still ask eat so fast aah. Then I should let my boy cry longer is it.

Jenny
Yah lor but than too bad I only bottle feed at most once aday cos I lazy to pump leh. I pump when he drink from bottle or I will quickly do hsework....hehehe

Selina
Super envy u ur boy now feeding 3hrly. Maybe I try to feed ebm for few days see if my boy will stick to the schedule than can drag longer else he nowadays keep feeding 1 hrly very troublesome when I go out.

My dog good life aah I spill milk he come very fast to lick it all up...hahaha

today i can't get to sleep, maybe sleep too much in the afternoon. Went mum house today and he help me take care of rui-en.tomorrow alone with her again.

Jenny,
for diapers, have u try Cold storage in-house brand before.

my baby also have diapers marks for most brands, including all the sample i have.

My mum told me in olden times, baby neck very weak, not like now, most babies are born with strong neck and have eye contact movement.

Crystallized,
Mine is inverted nipples. The LC gave me something to pull out my nipple before i latch. But dun really work well coz after a while it goes back and Rhys can't latch properly. It is one of the reason why Rhys later refuse to latch too. No choice lor. But at least still can pump. Better than nothing.

FISHERPRICE ROCKER
===================
As for the fisherprice rocker, it is called the infant-to-toddler rocker. It is the one that Jenny posted but cartoon is a doggie and the whole thing is blue in color, no red.
It has 3 positions, can stay reclined for babies(dun move one), can rock (in reclined position) and can be converted to a rocking chair for toddler so should be able to use for quite long. And got vibration too. It kinda calm Rhys when he cries. Even when my SIL's bb was having her colic crying spells which nothing can pacify her, actually calm down when she sits in the rocker with vibration so we are really amazed with it. I saw it in kiddy palace, was $99 i think. I got it as Rhys' full mth present from a good friend.
Actually we also have the traditional 'net' kind of bouncer. At first during the first few weeks, Rhys sleeps in there but dun know how come after that, he refused to stay in the bouncer. Always cry. We already quite helpless liao coz he also dun like to sleep on bed. Then this rocker came... haa... my magic chair...
We actually now almost recommend it to all our friends... hee.. told my SIL to get one too since it can stop her bb's crying spell... wah lao, really scary when she started her crying spells in the evening...

Esther mummy,
Me giving 100ml of FM now to Rhys. he is drinking every 3hrly.

Coral

Mum is shocked that I breastfeed in public lor =)

In case u have not get the thermal bag to transport milk, Giant is selling Lucky Baby brand or 12.90..too bad I go my Avent one 2 days ago

If u r going to Sembawang Shopping Centre , there is a nice makan place near there at Bottle Tree Village..

The place across the sea from JB ..and the tree in front of the rest is shaped like a Bottle..the rest owner actually imported this 30k Bottle Tree fr Aust..

I was there y'day for my 3rd date anniversary and JB was having Fireworks at 8pm, so viewed it in spore across the sea while dining..damn lucky i tot ; )

583564.jpg

Stretching
----------------

BB stretched a lot and very loud too..my mum called her a Lao3 Chu1 ; p

Jenny

Thanks for telling me Avent price is fixed =) ended up getting at its HQ cos getting the valve

Sigh* My nipple bleed y'day for the first time.. end up expressin by hand since y'day , whole breast red now

Jenny, I think C got big thighs, cos I already try to losen when taping the diapers...I bought both latex and silicon and also Avent and Nuk for her. GHot 6 pacifier at home but none to her fancy. We force it in and hold it htere also useless. She cried even louder after that. Sigh.

BB grace, they're both born on Wed., and a nursery rymth say BB born on Wed are full of woes. Heehee, of course I hope it's not true.

Crystallised, I saw the rocker at Metro selling for $99. The vibration simultate that of car ride. I also tempted to buy. But like Jenny mentioned, can only sit for a while so may not be worth buying now. Same same, my gal gek when stretch but when poo poo, she keeps very still and quiet.
) Ya lor, my gal will usually stop crying when handed over to me and look at me. I think it's cos I smell of milk. Also I know how to talk to her abt just anything to trry to distract her. So told my hb to learn that as well. Just rattle on and on to them.Dunno why, but my brain or breast need C to trigger the let down. I plan to start my facial and massage sessions only when she is 6 months. Cos by then I'll probable stop bf. Else i cant imagine going out for too long w/o her to suckle me. My breast sure very engorge and painful.

Esther, was thinking of you yday. Miss you too. Wondering how you're coping.

Doreen, your doggie so cute.
Our breastmilk quite sweet, am sure it loves it.

Jo., you damn lucky. Bb still so young and yet got so much time to pak toh.

Hi hi coral..
Do hope u get some rest &amp; ur hubby can help to take over..must take gd care hor..since it's bathing with xia-liu leaves..try it out for a few days ba..hope it helps..cheers~

Hi hi jenny..
Hoep u r feeling better liao..Thks for sharing on the diapers' info..really appreciate ur help..i didn't know that there's so many brands of diapers..aiyo..see till I eyes blur liao..haha..will try to find time to go &amp; chk out the various brands u recommended from Sheng Siong &amp; Giant..btw, my hubby is very pleased with Mamy Poko coz he said it's very soft &amp; also the velcro tape is very user-friendly like Fixies..thks for sharing on MINYAK TEKON..seems to be very gd ahh..i think I got to go &amp; chk it out when I can go out..

Hi hi coolcoolmum..
Replied u via sms liao..as for urine indicator..sometimes I find it not very accurate leh..i guess up to individual' preference on this ba..

Hi hi aspialle..
I think u can ref to the health booklet on the guideline on when to go for what jab..so u decided to go for 5-in-1 at Polyc ah?

Hi hi storm..
I think I dun have any baby oil with me..probably will try to wash it "off" when I m bathing Maverick..but I think hor..the cause cld be of oily scalp..maybe I didn't bath him properly..haha..

Hi hi wei kuan..
Can tell me more abt infantcare?coz now me might have to "stand-by" this option to put Maverick at infantcare..i hope this is the last resort..sigh...

Hi hi Doreen..
Actually what I meant was that when Maverick fart, he will also fart out some poo-poo (length of poo-poo is like 1 finger long)..hehe..so I m not sure if that's normal, u c?maybe u can drink more hot or warm drink &amp; see if it helps ba..wow, ur dog also drinking BM ahh..gd life ahh..

Hi hi crystallized..
I got to understand that every babies will have growth sput..so they will tend to "drink" more at a certain period..i guess that's why ur boy keeps waking up for milk coz it's his growth sput now..i m trying to imagine how u r dancing while latching on leh..steady leh..

Hi hi Vivian..
Ok..thks for telling me that Lactacyd has 2 verison..haha..in case I really buy wrong one then super funny liao..ya, see how it goes since now u on ML..me now thinking if I shd feed him ebm aft I retn to work coz me really dun want to "freeze" the ebm..both my mum &amp; MIL are very against this method..u gg to take pills ahh..hmm..me havnt decide yet but is it "safe" so far?

Hi hi selina..
I really salute u &amp; coral..can bf while walking..i think I got to master the skill in cradling my boy b4 I can get any further..thks for sharing on the Lactacyd..i will go &amp; chk out when I m out soon..coz hubby working everyday including wkends &amp; me alone with Mav frm yest till next Sat coz my in-laws went overseas..not easy man..maybe gathering next mth instead?

Hi hi jo..
Thks for sharing on the Bottle Tree village..do hope that I will get a chance to go over there for meals..thks ahh..

jenny,
hb can do all those things but i realised he cannot multi-task. everytime will forget this forget that than i must help him otherwise he will black face say i nvm help. told him i alone at home also do everything myself y i can he cannot.

tks for providing the info on the malay oil thingy. think i seriously needs it cos yest Caleb again cried non-stop for 2hours after feeding him at 12 midnite. only managed to make him sleep at 2am when i was desperate n latch him again thou i know he is not hungry but sleepy. stressed out man.

babygrace,
yes. agree. think many locals, especially the older ones still not very used to the idea of bfg outside but i guess as more n more mothers are doing that, we'll get less stares. but i dun think i can continue to latch n shop at the same time cos Caleb is getting heavier and my arms really aches when i do that now... sigh...

coral,
about there. 4 caps every day. but now i cut down to 1 or 2 caps only. it didnt seem to up my ms alot also. i attribute my ability to continue to bf cos Caleb now has a more fixed feeding schedule so i also more confident to latch him.

crystallized,
yah. properly that's another way too. i nv train Caleb to feed 4hrly. he just fell into this cycle himself. guess cos we managed to find a more comfortable sleep position for him so he can sleep longer ba.

agree about the bringing stroller inconvenient. i also wanna bring Caleb out on my own but think of the amt of things i have to bring, i very sian liao. somemore with my super kan cheong father, he will call me until my mobile burst to make sure i ok. this happened when i visited my friend n was carrying Caleb so cannot answer phone. dad ended up calling the whole wide world to find me. then i kanna big time from him

jenny &amp; coral,
caleb's tighs also got diaper marks but diaper size still considered a bit loose leh. guess he has thunder tighs that's y.

guess my baby tighs also big.

wendy,
You have to book infant care early if u intend to put baby there. there is a max number of infant in each school. Have to place a deposit to book a place. Mine is Learning vision at my work place and the Max Infant they take is 8 and I book the place when I am only 4 months pregnant and comfirm got place for me in 03 January 2007 only in August 2006. I going back to work in 3/1/07. have to take advance leave till 3/1/07. It good to find one near ur house or workplace. the amt is abt $500 after government subsidy. for my case, diff amt as on top of gvt subsidy, my company also subsidy. for storage of EBM, I just bring it downstair to the childcare
U need to train baby to have schedule feed better plus I do not like the idea of feed on demand.for sterlise, I no longer do it for bottle and pump bottles for some time and so far okay.
It also good to train baby sleep on her own and not to carry or rocking to sleeping.
so far, this is what I prepare for baby to go infant care.
As we have to work the next day, it good to train them to wean nite feed. I feed baby water and she drink all. From birth I already feed her water. Actually my baby like water than milk cos everytime drink very fast and finish. I am not sure if water will make them full, think will lah, that why my girl is okay with water when I refuse to give milk at nite and in the end she did not wake up for nite feed as she know got no milk. but some nite she still wake up and I will feed water and change diaper.

jenny
wah u v gd leh, compiled a list of the diapers. i read until blur blur liao. haha
u mean u tried everything? its amazing!!!

of coz lah, nowadays babies cannot b gong gong like us last time, coz during pregnancy we take in supplements and take tonics. last time our mummies where got like tt? so got diiference lor. if our babies so gong gong now, then so easy to look aft, and we no need to b here discussing liao. keke

yah exactly. i introduce water not coz my boy needs it. we all noe tbfg babies dun need water. but for fear he might reject water later, i introduce water to him when he was 2 wks old. so far so gd. and it makes the older folks happy to see baby drinking water. haha

u so funnie, say u gg to deal wif jolene alone! 4 goodness sake, she is ur daughter lah!!!

yah my sis v hardwkg to pump every 2 hrs until i tell her she need more rest &amp; its ok to stretch pumping time to 3 hrs. coz she take 40 mins to empty both breasts. by the time she wash &amp; sterilise pump, hardly left much time 4 her to rest b4 the nxt session again. thats y i wanna get the ameda pump to relief her and she can rest more. i really feel fortunate tt i can latch my boy on and seeing how determined she is to BF oso, i muz try to help watever ways i can. at least my niece can still take EBM. better than nothing.

nvm lah, i not getting the FP rocker liao. saw another rocker at my fren's plc last nite &amp; we r getting tt one coz quite multi-function one. can transform into high chair later. and best thing is, the rocker can b rolled into my rm when i wanna take nap. plus i like the design. so am gg to order tt instead.

hahaha she likes balls then can help save some money mah!!! keke

bbgrace
heee, i oso called R "His Majesty"
when he cries, everyone runs except me! aiyah i will juz wait 4 him to settle into his own cycle lah. still got 1 more mth b4 returning back to work. oh how i dread it man!

Vivian
u r right, can pump and feed EBM is better than nothing. my sis told me aft she pump, her nipples r more protruding but her daughter refused to suckle leh. so no choice, she v busy pumping every few hrs. so like wat i told jenny, wanna get her the ameda pump to hasten her pumping session &amp; she can rest more.

Coral
so funny, our babies actually can act nonchalent when they poo-poo. but R kicks a fuss when he wets his nappies. kept wailing until we chg the nappy. haha

heee, same like me, when my crying R is in my arms, i juz keep on talking to distract him. dun care wat i am talking, but juz talk lah@!
he will blur blur look at me for a while, as if tryg to comprehend wat his silly mummy is saying!
i asked my hb to quickly pick up how i soothe him.

Wendy
till now i still cant understd R's cycle. nvm lah, as long as he dun wakes up hourly at nite, i dun care even if he latches on many times in the day.
btw my boy gg to double his birth weight soon. he is only 700 grams away!!! scary leh!

Selina
my wrists and arms alrdy aching fr carrying R. wah biang... like i told wendy above, he is gg to dbl his borth weight v soon. in books, they say babies will dbl birth weight by 3 mths old. my R will dbl his birth weight when he is slightly over 2 mths. GOSH...

yah lor, so troublesome to bring them out. so many things 2 carry. now i combine my stuff and his stuff into 1 diaper bag. else i look clumsy carrying so many bags. and thank goodness 4 the sling, else i dunno how i will manage to bring him out on my own, esp when he is getting heavier.

Thanks jenny, vivian
Seems like i must increase my FM to 100ml cos now feeding 80ML baby seem like not full always cry for milk every 2-21/2 hr or so...

Jenny
Thanks me going to sembawang shopping to look around and buy the oil as well.

Coral,
Me too miss you as well, been visiting your blog everytime however you have not update any posting, so thought u must be busy..with your baby

When i have no time to chat with mummy here, i also kind of miss everyone from pregnancy till birth all the encouragement we gave one another are so warming. Shall keep in touch ya

Selina
Do count me in hor, if you are organising get together hee hee.

Jo
Can ask you the exact location of the Bottle Tree village? Thought of going to celebrate hubby birthday there leh.. since its near to my place.

Update of my blog at www.mybabyjovan.blogspot.com

momconomics,

The lactacyd has 2 types. On the box itself did state that 1 of them is a feminine wash while the other has no indication. Do look out for the wording or the color of the stripes on the box.

here is the pic of the one which can be used for babies (green/blue stripes):
584234.jpg

And this is the one for feminine wash (orange/blue stripes):
584235.jpg

hi wtan
Ya, going polyclinic for the 5in 1 jab, may consider 6 in 1 too...v hard to decide, u leh?

On sat, i take care bb for nite feed, all along my mum help us to take care during the nite as my hb needs to work...now then i knw v tiring, almost did not sleep much.Plus have to bathe bb and do housework, cook dinner...becoming a philippino maid liao haha

let go steam time
=================
My MIL came yesterday, she make remarks:
"ahmah bring u(bb) home, even if ur mother dun like also can't do anything , becos you are my grandson".."mummy is bad person, ahmah sayang you"

i did not offend her , duno y she make such remarks...badmouth me in front of my bb
she continued to talk abt the past, her time ....XXX , then nowadays, new generation XXX.

i finished 3 bottles of DOM during confinement,although i hate it, left 1 martell vsop...now bb full mth liao, my MIL still "force" me to finish it and ask me to eat confinement food up to 40 days/ 4 mths, she wants to bring more DOM here too...told her i finish 3 bottles a lot liao i dun wan to take liao..she says the more i dun wan, the more she will stew wine and ask me drink.

my SIL also does not like wine, her confinement haven even finish 1 bottle of DOM but MIL did not force her.

I was quite unhappy after she left but my hb saw my black face but did not say anyting...(tink he also duno wat to say)

i did not dare to "complain" wat happen and tell my unhappiness to hb as i dun want to put him in difficult position or add on stress to him...
if i love my hb, i have to love his mum too...wat can i say...

duno if my hb comes to tis forum...ops..if u do, just want to say: i "ren qi tun sheng" just for you cos i luv you.

yesterday my baby lagi best, sleep at 10.30pm and woke up at 8am today. did not even woke up for water and diaper not very wet cos no feeding mah. When I woke up at 6am still found her sleeping so faster wake up to do all the chores first and 8am she woke up, just finish feeding her and now she s asleep.hope can maintence that

selina,
do let me know the gathering thks