(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Hi, all. Thanks for the congrats notes. Wow, the thread moves very fast. Can hardly keep up. Beginning to feel bored at home already...

Mummie_of_Rhys,

Thanks. Eh... I'm an IT-idiot leh... Don't know how to upload photos here... No problem with the birth story, 'cos it's just text... Will post it once I've done it up... ;-)

Better to ask your hubby to bring along a jacket/sweater. Same for you. The ward may be cold too. DOn't wanna catch a cold over such an occasion.

Hi, Jenny.

So nice that my baby has buddy with same birth date. I delivered at Mt E leh. As this is my No. 2, so we didn't attend any classes. Just rested and slept most of the time. Think the nurses must have thought that we're lazy parents... Hee!

MummyToBabyCaleb,

As for drinking water, I have walked your path before. Think in the last generation, it's the correct thing to feed baby water. In this generation, babies on TBF do not need additional water 'cos the breast milk contains all the water the baby needs. If on formula, actually also don't need water, but can give a little in hot weather. This is until baby starts solids (around 4 months?).

Yes, there is a chance that the baby will grow up not liking water, like my daughter. My dad then blamed me for not heeding his advice. However, now she's OK with drinking water. Another good idea I learnt from someone else was to feed a mouthful of water at the end of every milk feed. Can take it as rinsing mouth lor... Like that, baby will have a taste of water and yet not drink too much of it.

Oh, how I resisted the pressure was by:

(1) Telling parents and parents-in-law that doctor (we checked with PD) said cannot/don't need to give water. Read from book that giving too much water will dilute baby's blood. Don't know how true, but this sounds serious enough to scare any die-hard water parents/in-laws. Ha...

(2) If give too much water, baby will have no appetite for milk come feeding time (true personal experience with my girl).

(3) If all else fail, lie that fed water already. Easier if not saying with older folks. When visiting them, just entertain them by feeding the water after milk. Baby should be rather full and not fancy too much water. Hee... Naughty, but for the good of our babies... ;-p

hi ladies, am juz discharged fr hospital. yest during my PD check up, my baby jaundice level went up to 15. I wanted to be admitted wif him immed as i am on TBF and i dun think i will hv peace of mind staying at home, leaving him behind.

Sigh, admitting in wif him was not any better. his photothereapy was done in my room. my hb stayed back but the whole nite was spent looking aft him and we had no peace of sleep at all. and instead of putting him in the phototherapy bed which was hard & cold, and my bb cries ached our hearts so much and i cried too. so in the end, he slept on my bed and the light shine on him. but it was only 1 layer instead of 2.

tdy his jaundice went down a little but still not go enuff to b discharged. we made a heartwrenching decision to leave him behind so tt he cld b phototherapied 24 hrs and hopefully can b discharged tmrw. it was sooooooo heartaching, i cant describe the pain but i am sure all mummies here can understd.

and since i am on TBF, alrdy din hv enuff rest, plus last nite almost din sleep, i knew i wld collapse sooner or later if i kept up like tt. so had to come back to rest and will go back to hospital to visit my baby later.

So sad & gloomy.

will catch up on the postings when i can.

Selina
DUN give water! No need to supplement at this time. my mum and MIL hv been telling me this & tt but i ignored them all and say they hv backdated knowledge. I told them i noe wat i am doing and i wun harm my own baby. in the end, they juz shut up.

Crystallized
My bb also got juandice yesterday blood test 17 luckily doc never ask to admit him so tml he has to go back again for blood test so heartpain when hear him cry. Now we got to use floracent light to shine on him. I even KS ask my mum to buy the yellow herb to bath for him and push his bed next to window.
Hope ur bb okie tml.

Selina
I also pump out when I leak and feed him with bottle sometimes to make sure he gets enough. Cos when I bottle feed him what I pump he sleeps through longer else will be like Caleb every 1 hr or so want to be fed. So now need to shine the light I bottlefeed him lor. Heng he still like my breast better....hehe

Weikuan,
Wah, you train her so well ah? I cannot leh. He keep crying for milk every 2 hrs. Dun give him milk hor, cry non-stop. Give him water he also dun want... very smart...
We wanted to try give him more milk so that he can sleep longer and not get hungry so soon but he dun want to finish his milk lor. very bad habit, like to leave 10-20ml behind.
How har? Any way to train like your gal?

freshpoison77,
Yah, I stayed in MAH 1 bedder. Here's my bill for yr reference.

Hospital Charges
==============
Baby package - Maternity $ 168.00
Normal Delivery with epidural Mother (2days) $1175.00
Nursery Bed Charges@$45 for 2 days $ 90.00
Bed Charges@$290 for 2 days $ 580.00
Clinical Consumables & Supply $ 54.50
Diagnostic imaging services $ 60.00
Equipment Usage $ 84.24
Pharmacy $ 79.10

Total hospital charges $2290.89
GST 5% $ 114.54
-------------
Total $2405.43

Doctor Charges
============
Gynae Attendance Fee $ 200.00
Gynae Operation Fee $1200.00
PD Attendance Fee $ 165.00
Epidural Doctor Operation Dee $ 300.00

Total doctors charges $1865.00
-------------
TOTAL $4270.43

LESS Medisave Payment ($1700.00)
========
TOTAL PAYMENT $2570.43
========
Selina,
After you pump out BM, is it enuff for 1 feed? If enuff, then just put at the fridge (not freezer) and feed him at next feeding after warming up (fresh mah, dun put too long).
if you really dun want to use bottle, can try use cup feeding. But make sure you feed slowly, otherwise will choke. The ameda pump set inside got include 2 cups for feeding one. Can use that.

As for water, different ppl got different view. But if you really afraid he dehydrated even though he is drinking bm, you can try feed a bit of water. can use cup. It is really up to you, you are Caleb's mummy. I dun think there is big harm in giving him water, but of coz not too much lor.

Crystallized,
Sorry to hear that your bb was admitted for jaundice. Dun worry too much, he will be fine. I think all of us can understand how heartbreaking it is. I nearly cry out too when Rhys is poked for the first time for blood test. Second time, I dun dare to see at all, so pain...
Rest well now. You must have energy when your bb is back so now, REST!!! Regain mummy power and when your son is back in your arms, he can rely on you liao. So take care of yourself now while the doctor and nurse took care of him in hospital. JIA YOU!!!
I want the +ve and happy Crystallized back....

Aspialle
I also had very bad swollen feet before I deliever leh on the day my water bag broke hor actually my feet was very very swollen.

I agree that while babies are on TBF, we should try to avoid feeding water. Read somewhere that it would interfere with the success of BF.

Crystallized,
Don't worry k, take this day as one for your resting. Baby is in good hands in the hospital. Tmr he/she will emerge a healthier baby! My heart broke too when Kimi has to be admitted for 2 nights of phototherapy... felt so heart pain to have her "taken away" from me. But she's home now, jaundice level lower and I know she must be feeling better too =) But still need to sun her ah. keke. my mum bought the yellow herbs for her to bath in too, hopefully we will get a clean bill of health for her next Monday.

Have u all started on your Jamu/Massage? I engaged a Aunt Susi to do it for me, starting tomorrow.

I not pop yet. 11 more days to my due date. just went for gynea visit on monday. well, gynea mention that baby is half way there of birth cannel but not enage yet."sigh".... he mention roughly bb wt is about 3.5kg(big bb)

And he mention some baby will be late. Will my Ethan be late?? "Sigh" so anxious....

About My Body this week :
- my breasts been producing some whitish fluid and will "crystalise" (so i think is colostrum).
- My tummy is getting obviously low. low till i have difficulties puting on my pants and washing my legs.
- My feets getting swollen and puffy due to water rentation.

How I wish I get to see my boy soon.

:mad:
-

Dear ladies,
thks so much 4 ur comforting replies.

i heartpain coz i imagine him sleeping in the cold hard cot w/o any clothes and the way he cries when he is inside. thus when he was taken away juz now, i dun wanna see how he will b settled down. am gg down later to visit him. will surely cry when i am gg to leave later.

anyway juz now i tried to express my BM coz my breasts were getting hard. tried using the Avent manual pump. it was pretty easy to use and i cld pump 160 ml fr both breasts within 10-15 mins. even my CL was so amazed tt my supply was so gd despite me only delivered 1 wk ago. she say usually she sees tt mummies can only pump 40ml this time.

Vivian, not trying to stress u here again. juz wanna share my 1st pumping experience. my hb was so amazed when he saw my milk ducts spurting like nobody's biz when we used the pump. even i myself was so amazed.
but hor, guess wat? the milk had to b thrown away coz my silly hb go and use his hands to assemble an internal part of the pump! So angry!!!!
i scolded him tt i had to throw away the EBM and say tt so much mummies will scold me when i do that coz each drop of BM is so precious!

Yah i muz treasure the time to catch up on my sleep. cannot let my bb down coz i promised to make up to him when he comes back home. hope he will b back in time coz both his grandmas bought him his 1st lantern for the MoonCake Festival tmrw.

Dee Dee
Glad to hear ur Kimi is alrdy back in ur hands. i am so looking fwd to tt now. really hope to hear gd news fr the blood test tmrw. cant bear to hv the baby away 4 so long.

Doreen,
wow! ur baby's jaundice level is 17 and dr nvr ask to admit him? u r lucky. but muz keep it under ctrl. coz i heard its easy 4 the level to increase and difficult to bring it down. thus when there r signs its increasing, better to quickly bring down the level.

Deedee
2 of my friends engaged Susi.. $500 x 10 session + 2 hot masks right.. they complained that susi has a bad habit of changing appointments. she always come up with lots of reasons and 2mths after my friend's delivery, Susi has only completed 6 sessions and till now, did not call or sms her to arrange for the other 4 sessions. Susi also requires customers for full payment at the start of 1st session. another member of the forum also experienced the same prob.. but one member keep praising susi.. so guess it really depends on luck??

Dee Dee
4get to reply tt i hv not started on my massage. intend to do tt aft day 12 when i can bath. i still can tahan not being able to bath coz at least i can use herbal water to towel wipe myself but not being able to wash my hair is driving me CRAZY!!!!
coz u noe we mummies drink alot of soupy stuff & hot drinks during this time, i perspire like crazy and my hair will b wet. its so hard 4 my hair to dry once its wet. yest b4 i visited gynae, i washed my hair liao. really cant help it, else i will hv depression man.

so becoz of smelly hair and cant bath, i decided to wait until i can bath and settled down wif my bb then massage. anyway i lost almost all the weight i gained for pregnancy, now its the inches i need to lose.

vivian,
we give baby water so she will poo everyday, S26 a bit too heaty. till now she do not really like water although will give a bit.
My niece already 4yrs ols and till now still hate water cos my sis did not give it to her when she was infant. diff pp have diff view.

If she cry like every 2hrs, normally I will cuddle her a while or give her some water and she will go to sleep, unless it is time for milk (4hrs), then give her EBM or FM. I am very ok with FM.
peisai, I do not really trust what the doc said is 100% true, eg: must TBF.
You need not feel sad that u not TBF cos I see a lot of case of my friends's baby that TBF keep falling ill. 50-50 is ok, better than nothing.

Those TBF must continue and I also peifu u all cos really it is not easy.

This Sunday my baby FULL MTH liao, since discharge fm hospital the second day, have not go to any check-up. next week going to second round of HepB injection

Vivian, babygrace,
I tried the method you gals mentioned, but I find if dun press against the breasts, no suction. Anyway, I stop using the electric pump since yesterday cos my left nipple got a bit red. I scare wait bleed, so I now use the Avent Manual Pump. Wait till the nipple is back to normal then I use back the electric pump. I find that with engorgement, Avent pump works better, maybe becos of the petal massage.

Vivian,
I saw the hands free thingy from Magazine also. But haven't check out the website.

freshpoison77,
Ya, I din attend any class b4. My gyane said no need to attend, waste $ only. And check with colleagues, they also said no need to attend one.
Yes, midwife and nurse will keep checking to see how dilated you are.

Selina,
I keep the EBM in the fridge (not freezer) and feed. Just came back from TMC, the nurse told me dun freeze the EBM cos will have smell and taste will change. Try to use within 48hrs.
I do give some water (not much), if not, next time bb will reject water. I give thr bottle.

crystallized,
Poor gal, you better get some rest! I just came back from TMC also, just admitted my gal too! Her jaundice level went up to 15. Brought her to PD for check up this morning and PD said is yellowish, so did blood test. Then got a call from PD to ask me to admit bb to TMC. Dun worry so much. Take it as a chance to rest ok? Bo pian, these few days no sunlight.
I went Fu Hua to buy the yellow herbs for bb to bath, but Fu Hua dun sell. The staff told me actually tat herb is no use one. The best is sunlight.
I already bathed and shampooed on the day of discharge. I bath and shampoo every 2 days.

Wei Kuan,
Wow, so fast bb full mth coming!

jenny
my baby's jaundice was oso 15 when he was admitted yesterday. tdy came down to 13. we juz went to visit him. luckily he was sleeping when he was brought out fr the phototherapy room so we dun feel so heart ache to see him. i was alrdy tearing while standing o/s waiting to see him. din see baby for only a few hrs machiam like so long. we cuddle, sayang and talk to him. responded well to latching on oso.
but seeing his condition, only slight improvement. dunno can b discharged tmrw anot. so worrying.

yah now a gd time to rest. no choice, muz see it this way else will feel v miserable. i tell myself muz rest well so when he comes back, can make it up 4 the lost attn to shower on him.

my mum say hor, baby got jaundice liao, dun bath yellow herbs. she say use red paper (those used 4 auspicious occasions) and and mix 44 bb to bath, then by full month, baby will b v rosy. u can try it. i will do tt when bb is discharged.

Wei Kuan
Wah! ENVY! confinement coming to an end 4 u! Its nightmare man... hate it... yah certainly not easy to b on TBF but its definitely worth the bonding like wat i said. yah its true tt different pple different views. as long as u r comfy thats all tt matters. no one will say FM or BM is totally right or wrong lah. juz tt i totally support BFG.

Vivian,
Thks for ur detailed breakdown. I opting for 4 bed cos wanna save some $ & spend on other things instead.

Wanna check wif mummies who already gave birth, did any of u take back ur placenta? I'm thinking of doing so but scared wait the nurses think I crazy...

was out the whole day , morning went to kkh for my apptmt and then in law hse.

Updates:
today done CTG for bb, heart beating well, bb movements active and have mild contractions detected. Thus my gynae did a test, tink it is the cervix test u all mentioned. she poked 1 or 2 fingers there, and it was painful!! although she tries to be gentle...and i was 1cm dilated
bb still at 2.9 kg at 37 weeks now
After that test, came back and saw some bleeding.

Doreen
hope that i give birth soon...25/10 seems so far away..

hi Jenny
the herbs that u use to bath is it in a box?
my mum bought from medical hall, 1 box $4.20 for 2 sachets...duno is it correct anot

aspialle,
So the lengendary cervix test is really painful... Die, I hope I go into labour before my doc does it to me...
My appt is nxt fri, my doc mentioned he will do CTG but never talk abt cervix check. So the menses like cramps are really contractions izzit?

do we need to sterilize the breastpump after every use or juz once a day but wash it every time? and after sterilizing bottles n pump, do u take them out and keep in box or leave in sterilizer?

if we take them out after sterilizing, do we need to sterilize again before using?? and wat happens when i only have 1 item to sterilize? sorry, but im really confused...

freshpoison
i din take back my placenta. in fact was so overwhelmed by the baby tt placenta was the last thing on my mind. no lah, am sure the nurses saw their share of mummies whom want the placentas back. u certainly wun b the 1st one.

labour pain 4 me started off wif lower abdominal menses cramp like feeling tt spreads to the entire tummy in a short while. i oso not sure if tt was the real contractions but was pretty sure when it was real regular as described in my birth story, 10 mins apart. if u r not sure, u can time ur contractions. if they r dead regular, u can b pretty sure u r in labour.

storm
once u sterilise and dun open the cover, they will remain sterilise for i think 24 hrs. once u open it, think not considered sterile anymore. dunno leh, so far tdy is the 1st time i used my steriliser 4 breast pump. of coz breast pump needs to b washed and sterilised aft each use. the breast milk contains alot of nutrients, bacteria likes to multiply under such favourable conditions. cannot afford to take risk!

aspialle
i oso cannot survive VE. thats the main reason i was on epidural earlier than expected. but anyway it helped me to relax better and thus faster labour. so no complaints so far.

but cant possibly leave them in the sterilizer till next use leh.. wat happens if i need to sterilize other things? i will need to take out watever's inside to sterilize, then meaning the things that i took out not sterile anymore then hv to sterilize again?? neverending leh..

someone pls enlighten me!

i just came home today, but baby still in the hospital due to lungs not fully developed. he is now with the special care unit and i hv to travel to and fro daily to visit him. still hv no idea when can he be discharged. will keep u all posted after i hv "settled down".

just a little info on my handsome boy.
boned on Mon, 2nd Oct, via natural delivery. he weights 2.5kg, bigger than expected.

PD advises me to pump milk to supply him but this is v diffcult as i hv to travel to and fro the hospital, i dont hv him with me while i do it, and i dont even hv much photos taken since they sent him to the special care unit immediately after wrapping him. I only got to cuddle him for 2-3 sec and daddy has not even cuddled him so far!

freshpoison77
before the CTG i did not know those type of menses cramps is actually contractions....until after CTG, gynae saw the readings and detect contractions...thats y she wants to do cervix test to see if i have dilated...
have been having these type of contractions quite often ...

next week i still have to do CTG but duno if she will still do cervix test...so scared.Yesterday and this morning got some brownish discharge and saw some blood strains...gynae told me its normal after the cervix test loh

hi crystallised
before u are in labour , did ur gynae says whether ur dilated ? or only when u go to delivery ward?

aspialle,
relax during cervic check, the more fear u r, the more pain. In fact when I found I am very relax, there is only some discomfort and no pain.

jenny,
I bath and wash hair (use hair dryer daily and all windows closed)daily during confinement, but with herbs at home. only one time with heater, that is at hospital. I really cannot stand oily, limp and sticky hair. scared my hair will drop after birth, so faster wash hair. read from sep06 motherhhod that may risk falling hair if did not wash hair during confinement.

Hi Storm and Crystallized,

Yah, Susi just msg me to say she's late. Will come at 11am instead of 10am. Later I will tell her I need to complete all sessions by end this month, cos I am going back to work in November! This way she had better finished all. Or I better sit down and go thru our schedule together. Cannot afford to have my $500 cheated. Every cent now counts alot, cos of the baby

Will update u on the progress later ;)

My modem finally revived. Miss the forum so much and can only read book to pass time. Hope I can catch up with the postings. Will be going out this afternoon, so catch up later this evening again.

Doreen, pls don't overwork yourself. Confinement month is the best time for your body to recuperate. Think of your own future. Any chance to get your mum to pop by to help you a bit? Or you may want to cater confinement food. It doesn't take long b4 they can start the service for you.

Storm, not to worry, now that your gynae has deteced it and you're under observation and will be induced soon, all should be fine. Positive thinking helps too.

Shirlin, congrats!

Crytallized, it's very normal to eat lots when BF. My fren ate a lot too but went back to pre-preg weight, in fact she weigh less now. You actually put on so little during your preg ah? So envious. I put on 16kg, think will have more problem than you in regaining pre-preg weight. Hope your bb's jaundice will improve soon.

Jenny, congrats on your smooth deliver and the discount hat your gynae will give.
Jaslyn is a picture of serenity.
For medisave claim you can claim up to $550? The nurse advise me the max claim was only $450...Must check with her again...

BBgrace, hope you can complete your work soon. Your scheduled date for c-section is just around the corner.

Mummyjoy, the nurse told me that contraction will start from upper tummy then spread to lower tummy over time. But it'll be preiodic so easier for us to differentiate the real contraction from tummy ache. I had diarrhoea 3 times yday too, at first also tot might be contraction, but in the end realise it's not periodic pain.

Lee-Tung, congrats!

Dee dee, glad that bb Kimi's jaundice is getting better. Hang in there.

Selina, you can freed Caleb the EBM using a small cup. If Caleb is drinking FM at the same time, then he may need some water cos FM more concentrated and heaty. BUt if he's on TBF then need no water.

Coolcoolmum, congrats!

Crystallized,
Is ok. I envy those mummies like you got whole lot of supply of BM. What to do... my breasts "bu zheng qi"... Sigh....
Rest well and dun worry too much...
I also bathing everyday liao... wash hair every 2-3 days.

Weikuan,
My Rhys before 2hrs already crying leh. Cuddle liao, give him some water (which he dun want sometimes), still cannot put him to sleep. Keep screaming and crying. So no choice got to feed milk lor.
I asked CL whether is it not enuff milk but she say Rhys dun seems to be asking more after his feed so dun need to increase his intake. Now every 1hr plus to 2hrs, he will start screaming liao... dun know whether we feed so regularly is correct or not....
I also giving EBM and FM. If got enuff EBM, will feed those first, if not then FM.

Wah... very fast hor, full mth liao... soon you will be out of confinement liao... me still got 1.5 more week... next sat celebrating his 1st mth. Cannot wait for the confinement to end but yet so scared of taking care of him alone with the CL. Sigh...

Jenny,
you using 2 different type of breast pump hor, do you think Avent one can pump more compared to ameda? I was wondering should I try other brand or not coz some ppl say after changing to other brands, can pump out more leh....

aspialle,
Yah... the herbs to bathe is in a box one... 2 sachets. Smell quite ok actually. Was expecting to be very smelly but ends up quite ok... shiok when bathe in lukewarm temp.

storm.
I always sterilise the breastpump after every use. Wash it before sterilise of coz. Once sterilised, I can leave it in the steriliser (without opening it) for a while and later transfer to an airtight box liao. At first I used to hang it dry outside but felt that dust can get to it so using air tight box now. Think better.

CoolCoolMum,
You can still pump milk without having the bb with you. When the milk kicks in, it will come... Plus, you need to pump regularly to stimulate supply so that later when your boy comes back, you can bf him liao... Know it is not easy but try lah... Anyway, congrats again... and take care...

SICK
====
think I am the first mummie here who got sick during confinement. Rem my CL who is sick? Think I got it from her after she recovers. Got runny nose and sore throat. Yesterday sleep most of the time coz feeling very bad... dun dare to take any medicine coz still bf... later at 8plus pm last nite, buay tahan liao, went down to see GP but too crowded and I need to pump milk soon... so went back home instead.
This morning after pumping milk then went to see GP again. Eating medicine now... so tired and sick... but still need to pump milk every 2-3hrs.... sigh.... the only comfort is that I am the one who is sick, NOT Rhys...

Plus these 2 days, Rhys dun want to sleep much and keep crying on and off... so worried. Afraid he colic... but colic is crying non-stop one rite? Rhys dun leh... he just sleep for a while liao, suddenly will start crying lor... nothing can comfort him like that... after sometime, he went to sleep again.... really dun know what to do... anyone, maybe second time mum, can tell me why he like that?? Really helpless...

my boy is discharged and we r back. soooo happy.
still need to sun him and we will do so diligently.

CoolMum
u try smelling ur baby's clothes? though he has not worn it yet, try smelling and see got effect anot? coz baby's clothings, esp if u used baby detergent to wash it, got this unmistaken scent.

aspialle,
diff gynae diff practice. like jenny's gynae will do VE aft 36 wks, i think. mine din check until my bb was engaged, which was the day b4 i went into labour. i suppose she thot its pointless to check how dilated u r unless baby engages, which is crucial 2 the delivery.

Coral
yah lost almost all my weight except for 1kg. and seriously i dun really bother. now busy coping wif the new changes tt i din even weigh until i went back gynae visit.

aft i expressed out my milk yest, then i realised how much water i needed to intake to produce so much milk. so really drinking more than b4.

Vivian
dun think tt way lah. guess i am juz one of the lucky ones tt hv gd supply. juz now when i saw the lactation consultant in the hospital, she praised me 4 hvg such a gd supply and asked me to empty my breasts aft bb feed to encourage more milk. but i dun intend to do tt yet, coz i wun noe wat to do wif the extra milk and its too early to store. and somemore wif the extra milk, my breasts gets really heavy and full when "time is up". u can feel the pressure of the breasts falling onto the sides when i turn to sleep on sides. thats how kua zhang. v often hv to sleep on my back which balances both breasts and dun feel so xin ku. keke

i waiting 4 12 days to pass b4 i bath. can still tahan no bathing coz can towel wipe mah. but 4 hair, its really driving me nuts. i think i juz give myself another day or 2 b4 i wanna wash again. simply cant stand it!

dun worry abt being sick & hvg EBM, its gd 4 Rhys to drink, builds up his immunity.

Just finished my massage by Aunt Susi. She's really young, only abt 40+. Her skills are very good, can see the shape already after just one massage. but very painful and ticklish ah... She said the most painful one will be the second one, which is tmr. think i gonna faint... now have to bear with the oily body till 2 hrs later then can clean off. and the jamu wrap can only remove tmr morning... today no bath liao.... anyone got tips on how to survive & BF baby while doing all these massages?

Other than the massage, she taught me how to manual express the milk. a faster and more effective way. just press down and the milk are shooting out. real good!

i suspect my baby's jaundice is reviving... cos she seems to be turning yellowish again.. gosh.. i better sun her more these few days..

Sorry for budging in. I am from the Nov thread one. Just wondering:
What kind of confinement food you guys eat? Is it those cooked with wine one? And if so, how can BF leh?

hi all mummies,

sorry for disturbing.. i'm April 07 MTB... i'm now searching for confinement lady.. any good CL to recomm. ?? thanks in advance!

mononoke
u can use wine to cook provided u wait for it to be evaporated. Some add wine the last step then the wine is not evaporated then not good if u BF

aprilmum
u need to book them earlier,i have a few contacts from frd as i haven delivered , duno if my own confinement nanny is gd, for me the one im using is recommended by frd who has looked after her past 2 kids and she finds her ok...u can consider

She is ah hua auntie, m'sian, tel:020177030078

I already went back to my pre-pregancy size and weight, maybe due to my falling sixk during the first week.

Vivian,
must have patient during feeding and burp him. have to be patient. My CL took a lomg time to feed and burp my baby. If I am the one to feed her, normally the milk will not be finish, I also do not know why. but given the same volume, my CL never have any leftover before. I very worried when CL go away, wonder if I can handle.
You may try to increase Rhys intake. guess he is also a big eater like my baby girl. now already drink 130ml.

Weikuan,
I very patient liao, is my son that is impatient. Once he dun want milk liao and we keep pushing the bottle to him, he will start screaming and crying. Close his mouth so tightly until we cannot do anything.
I also cannot seems to burp him well. Only CL can... Must learn liao. Otherwise jialat.

I cannot increase his intake leh. Coz he always cannot finish his milk every feed. Yet he keep asking for milk in less than 2 hrs. I increase liao also no use coz he dun want to finish the milk... so I am at the loss... How har?

Dee Dee
i intend to start massaging aft 12 days. now i still haven bath yet, cant imagine hvg to put up wif the oiliness, sweat & BF my baby. think he will b so put off my mummy's smelly stench!

when u hv figured out a way to accomodate these few things, u let me noe hor. heee

wat was ur girl's jaundice level when she got discharged? mine was borderline, 9.3 leh. gotta bring him back 4 review nxt wk. i hope it wun go up again leh. so scary! but this evening not much sun leh. headache ah

im confirm going for induction on 10th oct. Will be admitting into TMC on 9th after 11pm. the nurse will insert the pill and hopefully cervix will dilate by next morning. today's cervix check showed that im already 2cm dilated. maybe will be dilated 1-2cm further by monday nite then i wun hv to wait that long!!

how to make cervix dilate faster? any tips??

deedee
heard susi's skills are not bad.. wanted to engage her initially, but after hearing what my friends commented i didnt wanna take the risk. moreover, i found someone cheaper and hopefully, just as good

Hi Crystallized,
I also buay tahan. Asked my mum to buy the herbs to bath the first day i got discharged from hospital. heehee, been bathing abt every other day, sometimes secretly and very quick one. really really cannot tahan the sweat smell and oiliness.. plus i don't want my hubby to find me smelly too... Won't dare to sleep in bed if i remain smelly...

kimi was at level 10 when discharged... still yellow eh... sunning her twice everyday. going back to PD next Monday. Hopefully he "pass" us ah...

Storm,
wow, u gonna see ur BB soon! and ur bb will have same birthday as China, "shuang Shi Jie". that time i also went in after 11pm only. keke.

yah, after seeing your comments from other friends, i also scared... so i kept asking if the massages are consequent. she said yes, except sunday... i also don have much time to postpone appts, so will let her know too loh... but she's very nice

anyone knows whether TMC ward got internet access??

deedee
didnt know china's national day is 10th oct.. hehehe.. hope yr kimi's jaundice is better now!

hi storm
u r in hw many weeks? is this the first time u do cervix test? i have done mine yesterday and was 1 cm dilated...having contractions recently, was hoping to give birth early

dee dee
my CL got prepare the herbs but i juz use to towel wipe my body a few times a day. somemore the herbal water is really hot oso. wah biang. usually end up sweating in the bathrm while wiping oso. but i can still tahan not able to bath coz i feel ok aft towel wipe. not able to wash hair is crazy lor. i washed 2 days ago b4 gg 4 gynae appt. really buay tahan. i hope can tahan till 12 days b4 i nxt wash my hair.

do u sleep in aircon rm? i almost caught a chill last nite. now quite scared to sleep in aircon liao. confinement cannot afford to catch a chill one. guess gotta suffer and bear wif the heat. dunno can do it anot. v scary.

ur lochia cleared alrdy? mine alrdy clearing up and i am only 1 wk aft delivery. wondering issit normal.

Storm
wah 1-2 cm dilated is v fast liao. think u can do it. trying walking more, but dun overexert urself ok.

storm
wah u thinking to access forum while in hospital? kekeke... tt time i had no mood man... aft delivery, was swapped wif visitors and all, too busy to think abt logging in... not sure got wireless access anot.

Hey Storm,
Thank you. I am not sure if she's better now... need to continue to monitor bah...

Crystalized,
My lochia also clearing up already. Not that much actually. Seems like medium flow only. Then now brown brown, like clearing soon. I also sleep in air con room at night, cos buay tahan, but nowadays, i will on air con then switch to fan in middle of night loh... at least got some comfort... hehe

dee dee
but the fan not blowing at u directly rite? sigh, its a real headache. i wanna hv air con but scared will catch a chill. really v difficult. now trying to cool down aft dinner b4 i wipe myself. really a chore and challenge juz tryg to cool down a few times a day. sigh

aspialle
im in my 36th wk, going 37th. its my 2nd time. 1st test was last fri (1cm). u experiencing contractions already?? i hv occasional stomach discomforts but dunno isit contractions or not leh. felt more like wanna go toilet kind.. haha. yr turn shld come soon!!

coral
ok.. no squatting for me, scared my pants split coz too fat liao! will do more walking.. prolly walk my dogs more often these few days. or shop more.

crystallized
hope got internet access coz scared i will be bored on 1st nite. after they insert pill still must wait another 6-8hrs before induction. dun think i can sleep that nite. if no internet, then maybe bring some DVD to watch on my laptop. haha.. like go holiday hor..

crystallized,
Glad to hear that bb has been discharged. I think my gal will be discharged tomorrow. Went to see her this afternoon and her level is 11 already. PD said only go home when level is 10 and below.
Oh, the red paper thingy ah, ok ok, I go and ask my CL to try hahaha...
Steriliser only sterilise up to 3 hrs, not 24 hrs.
My lochia still got, but not heavy. Dunno why my 1st delivery lasted 6 weeks and the 1st 4 weeks were damn heavy! Now I got a lot of stock for pad and maternity pad hahaha...

freshpoison77,
No, I din take back the placenta. Cervix test is a must. Try to relax when gynae performs that. Gynae will insert 1 to 2 fingers to check the dilation.

aspialle,
Which herbs you are saying? The one for bathing bb when bb has jaundice? I dunno leh. My mum bought it that time.

storm,
Yes, sterilise your breastpump after every use. After sterilising, take out and assemble and keep in box or zip lock bag as you wish.
You dun need to sterilise again before use. You can sterilise the pump together with milk bottles. There won't be only 1 item to sterilise one lah.
After insert the pill to dilate cervix, you will feel contractions coming every 2 to 3 mins, quite painful. Be prepared ok. Try to do more walking, climbing stairs and squattig.
Bring magazine to read lah, I think no internet access at TMC but got wireless access at the Delifrance.

coolcoolmum,
Welcome back and congrats!
Just keep pumping even there's no milk flow. If not, wait you kena engorgement. I keep pumping every 2 to 3 hrs. Now milk flow is stable le. No choice, you pump out the milk then make a trip to hospital once a day lor. The nurse will help to feed.

Wei Kuan,
Hair drop has nothing to do with not washing hair lah. It's a hormone change in our body. Our hair sure will drop one. You will be amazed by the amt of hair you are dropping each day but no worries, won't botak one hahaha...
You still got close windows, I open windows and on the fan, so that I dun sweat imediately after bath and shampoo. In fact, I'm bathing and washing my hair every day. Sometimes without herbs, just hot water.

Coral,
You are back! I tot you went pop kekeke...

Vivian,
I can't tell you if Avent can pump more than Ameda. Cos my milk flow not in when I was using Ameda leh. I stop Ameda cos I saw my nipple reddish, got a bit of bleeding signs, and also engorgement last few days lor. Avent pump got the massage petal, so it helps to massage my breasts during pumping. My hb has been helping me to massage too.
So how are you feeling now? Still sick?
Maybe you try to change some routine for Rhys? Is he too hot? Colic usually happens in evening time and will last 1 to 2 hrs with non stop crying. You got try to apply Ru Yi You to massage his tummy?

lee tung,
tks for your advice. will try those tricks. was worried of Caleb cos yest n today he super sleepy in the daytime n did not feed very well. so called PD today and he says ok but asked as not to feed water. my parents were around when we made the call so my dad was like "ok. then dun give water...". guess the pressure will be off for a while

crystallized,
so sorry to hear that your boy was admitted. i can fully comprehend and understand what u went thru. me still going thru it cos Caleb's jaundice didnt seem to improve after his follow-up check on monday. his jaundice reading was 244 (apparently this is another way to measure jaundice, just like miles n km).

wanted to sun him diligently too but no sun lately leh and the weather, psi, so high and hazy. every morning first thing i open my eyes is to check for sunlight. the moment i see sunlight, will quickly get hb to bring Caleb downstairs to be sunned cos my mum's place no morning sun.

you mention mixing the red paper with what for bb to bath? now i looking for anything remedies that can help. i will try anything now man...

my friend just told me her mil use beer to bath her girl when she had jaundice. mix 1 teaspoon of beer with water when wiping baby, mix 1 tablespoon of beer with water when bathing. you might wanna try. i will try this too. anything that can help i will try.

it is so worrying. i kept crying at night. tis morning Caleb refused to feed and if he does, he only feeds like for 5 or 10 mins than fall asleep. his feeding time also stretch to 4 hours hence hb got worried can we called PD but he reassured us that all is well since Caleb is urinating n pooing well. but we still cant help feel worried.

so envy that your milk supply so much. i have not tried pumping both breast but so far 1 side can only fetch like 30ml. so sad right.

vivian,
u better take care hor. drink a lot of water ba. hope it helps.

though i have supply but think not in abundance like crystallized.

congrats to all the other mummies who had delivered.

btw, wendy still not discharged cos Maverick is also down with jaundice, think level was 11+ so had to stay a day for photo therapy too. she also worried and kept crying, i dunno how to comfort her cos i also cannot comfort myself
just hope she can discharge soon with Maverick and his janundice gets better...

jenny,
oh so steriliser then keep in air tight container also can right. hb xiao. say after sterilise, must use within 24 hrs. otherwise must sterilise again. told him like that i sure no chance to use the pump to pump out... must go tell him...

Selina,
Yes, after sterilise the pump, just assemble it and keep in air tight container, then when you need to use, just take and pump. AFter use, wash and sterilise. The cycle just go on and on.
If said you one whole day din use the pump and dun feel comfortable, then sterilise it at least once a day lor.