(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Hi aspialle,

Yah hor, we share the same EDD. I a bit tired of not sleeping well, not breathing well, not walking well etc. Plus I keep getting menses like cramps everyday, a few times each day but my doc say it's normal. The pain is quite bad and I hav to stop whatever I do till the pain subsides. It has been going on since my 33rd week.

Congrats to Wendy, shirlin & Jenny!!

I have a question abt the cervix check. Is it absolutely necessary? Do we have an option of not doing? I felt quite uncomfortable during the Strep B test, cant imagine what will happen since the cervix check is even worse. So far my doc has not done any, I'm hoping he wont do at all till mayb during labour.

I was told by my doc to start monitoring bb's movement from 9am onwards starting from yest. Yest, my boy was cooperative, he completed his 10th movement by 11am. Today he a bit lazy leh, so far only 1 movement from him. So I'm sitting in front of the laptop basically waiting for him to move and logging in to spend the time.... Luckily, I'm already on leave otherwise where got time to sit and monitor while working.

hi freshpoison77
i too experience the menses like cramp recently, same here cannot sleep well , walk well, and breathless....Did ur doctor tell u any chances of bb coming out before 25/10? These few days bb move lesser than before, my foot swollen back again, at first when it subsides thought going to deliver soon, was quite happy....now tink not so fast, have to wait for it to subside again

Tomorrow goin to my 37 wks apptmt...hope that doctor can give me gd news

Was so bored that i listen to 9.33Fm everyday, yesterday managed to call in again to play game, unfortunately did not guess correctly...$693.30 just fly off

hi wendy
congrats, finally the day u are waiting for !
now that u can cuddle ur little ones
dun tink of work anymore k

hi jasmine
prune juice v effective, when im having constipation, after drinking, u will so called "LS", pass out all the bad things...drink once enough liao

Hi Jenny

Congrats! We have the same gynae. How Dr Ang's stitching? Your hubby can stay with you on 30 Sep night, so you are in single bedded ward? How much your bill in total? They are having renovation at level 4, do you still hear the noise at level 3? You discharged on Monday or Tuesday? How they calculate the number of days/nights for staying? Sorry for asking so many questions. :p

Hi Dee Dee,

I'm from the March 06 mummies thread. Happened to see your thread & it touched me because the same thing happened to my baby 6 months ago. He was re-admitted back to the hospital because his jaundice went up to 19+, despite already spending a week in the hospital right after birth (also due to jaundice). I was really worried because he had all the reasons that would cause him to have a high jaundice level, like being G6PD, having a different blood group as I was rhesus negative, being breastfed etc.

It was an emotionally-difficult time, but he was better already when I fetched him back. What's more important is that he was in GOOD HANDS under the care of the nurses and doctors. As much as I would want to keep him by my side, I know that he would be much better in the hospital. I still recall making numerous trips to the hospital everyday & waiting & waiting outside the nursery to see him, looking haggard & sad. I got so worried to the extent I told my doctor to keep him with the hospital until his jaundice is fully cleared.

But today, he's doing well! When I look at him, I've almost forgotten the time when he was down with high jaundice. Don't worry, ok? Just remember to pump your milk regularly, as regular as his feeding time, otherwise the milk supply will drop. I had a super hard time trying to regain the milk supply drop and it never really came back to the original level.

Hi aspialle,

My hubby asked during previous appt (34 weeks) but my doc say EDD no change. Mon's appt he never said anything abt any change so we never ask. He only told me where my bb head is facing left etc. Good weight blah blah... the usual stuff and then he tried to crack a joke abt wearing yellow (my hubby was wearing a yellow tee, my doc was wearing a yellow shirt) but my hubby & I din understand cos his jokes always a bit "Leng" so we juz stared @ him & I think he gave up... ha ha
kao_dizzy.gif

Now I am starting to worry abt all the weight I gained but cant help eating leh, seems to be hungry very often. I started 56kg now already 74.3kg. Die Die....

hi freshpoison77
usually gynae will not change the EDD, but will tell u if bb is downwards and engaged. For me, last round, bb not engaged yet.

For me i was discovered to have slightly high in blood sugar tink during 6 mth+ and i was monitored by dietician...they control wat i can eat and cannot eat and make sure i dun exceed the required weight

u can try to avoid food high in carbohydrates, like fried/oily food, potatoes,sweetcorn, pastry, cakes, mooncakes etc...food that are too sweet make us gain weight faster...i used to love durians but now avoid all the "restricted food" liao

Hi Jenny,

Congrats on your baby girl! So brave of you to go through another one without epidural! I had a delivery (my first one) without epidural and it was fast too, but I'm not sure if I dared to do it again. So, I'm so glad to hear that your second delivery was again so fast because I hope mine will be like that too the 2nd time.

Re: baby's full mth
I ordered from sweetsurprise before, but had to order from choz also because the elders found the qty too little. I saw this website www.sweetestmoments.com.sg recently & maybe I would have tried it if I knew about it earlier.

i am not brave lah, I did ask for epidural till I cannot tahan, but 10cm already, i am lucky that only abt 4push, baby is out, my baby head is 32cm.

I guess that time my hubby was in a shock.

I already secretly start washing my hair and bath the next day I deliver in the hospital. my hair very oily and I smell bad. go home also secretly wash with herbs daily.

Hi Weikuan...

Nice to see you back again... kinda miss you..
How's bb? got name alrady?

Envy you lah... so fast leh... 4 push ah... me hor, think 30 push ah... my Rhys' head is big, 37cm leh... maybe thats why I keep pushing but cannot come out... haa...

I also started bathing few days later with herbs... shiok ah... after 1 week, I give up and insisted on washing my hair liao.
Hee... today manage to poo, bathe and wash hair too.. YEAH... as I always say, wash hair day is A GOOD DAY!!! hee...

BTW, Coral sms me just down and say that her modem at home just died, so cannot log in here...
Told me inform you gals, just in case you all think she popped liao...

Anyway, she is feeling much better liao...

i poo during the third day, so scared of my stitches. as i am allegic to painkiller, I did not take any for the stitches and can walk around freely during the second day.
Vivian, I give baby FM durig the first three days cos my milk flow not in yet. the engorgement very serious during the third day. pump milk out evrytime and put on the fridge. CL will give baby drink. I only latch baby a few times cos I need to rest. I have this thinking, mother health is very very impt and rest very v impt. mother in good health then can take good care of happy baby.

vivian, ur baby very vvvv cute!
I have not tfs baby picts to computer yet. will do it when have time.

feel that my baby look a bit like Jo.

Jo, jenny,
We can ask Wong Lilin to kiss our feet cos we did not take epidural

Hi Jo, Jenny & Wei Kuan,

U gals damm good, no epi no prob. I not going to consider cos pain is the most unbearable thing to me. Will scream for epi e min I'm admitted... ha ha. Anyway, dun think Wong Lilin wanna kiss my swollen feet!

Hi aspialle,
Unfortunately, those food that u mentioned are wat make life meaningful... I ate durians earlier during Jul/Aug then my bb had a growth spurt! I panicked & swore off durians till now. But cant resist a good bar of chocolate!!!

Tummy hurt at 6am this morning, it is like gastric pain so I wake up to eat smtg then had diarrhoea a few times and I also vomit. Went back to sleep and don't feel the pain but wake up the pain still comes and go. My hb worried I be in labor but I told him it must be just stomach upset due to diarrhoea.

I know contraction pain should be more at the lower abs, something like menses cramp type of pain which comes and go right? Can mummies who gone through it share more details on contraction please? Did you feel anything when you are dialating? Thanks.

Weikuan,
i only poo after 4 days i think. Dun dare also due to stitches. But tummy ache so no choice got to go, but fortunately, ok.

I took panadol for first few days then stop liao. Me walking like no one biz too... CL got to scold me... hee...

Sigh, you got engorgement and milk, but I got none... milk supply is miserable... can only feed 50-50 with FM and EBM.

Agreed. mummy must rest well then can take care bb. luckily got CL, otherwise how to rest...

I bet your bb also very cute... will wait for your photos...

Been MIA for a long time. Congrats to all who've delivered. And to mummies-to-be, hang in there. You get to see your bundle-of-joy very soon... :)

Update... I delivered on 1st Oct 2006. Ya, Children's Day... My boy was too eager to see the world, and was 5 days early. Didn't expect to be 'grounded' so soon, since my girl was 3 days late and at last check-up, gynae checked that my cervix had no opened yet. So thought that I could buy some more time... ;-p

Anyway, here's the end to Chapter 1 and the little one is now sleeping in his room. Ha...

Congrats to all those who had delivered! I have 2 galfriends who delivered yesterday too.

Gemini, vivian
to look on the bright side, at least my pre-eclampsia only began at 36wks, so bb still can be delivered at 37wks(which is consider full term liao). so far no symptoms yet, except for the swollen feet, ankles, hands, wrists and face. horrible.. now already 65.5kg, gained 1.3kg in 4 days!!! only 0.1kg goes to bb. haiz..

Hi Smiles,

Thank you for your encouragement. Kimi is finally back home with me =) Her jaundice level went down to 10 already, still need to continue to sun her everyday. Will take your advice, thank you once again

hi mummyjoy
long time never hear from u, i also experience those cramps....but dun tink im due yet, so did u manage to brew urself the soups mentioned?

hi congrats to lee tung!
we will wait for bb photo

hi weikuan and vivian
tink the part i m most afraid of delivery is epitosomy (if i spell correctly)...is it painful?
if u take panadol after tat can u still BF bb?

hi crystallized,

Thanks for the bfing encouragement and the advise on the shampoo

hi aspialle,

ya, has been tied up on work so can't post. Is your cramp at lower abs, since which week you have been experiencing it? I think my more like stomach upset due to diarrhoea but now got quite sever BH. Yes, thanks for your soup receipe, I got the Tiger Magic pot and been cooking soup, hb also likes it
do you think we can boil the red dates water for confinmt using the magic pot?

Dee Dee,

So happy to heer that little Kimi is back home with you... dun worry too much. Just make sure you feed her regularly and she poo and wee regularly. Of coz suntanning is impt too..
Jia you... everything will be just fine...

Aspialle,
Panadol is safe. Can take it during preg and after preg, even if you are bfing. Thats why my gynae told me to take for comfort the first few days as the wound is still a bit sore and painful.
I only take it when it is very painful. So far only took for first few days.

Well, I dun know abt episotamy (i also forget how to spell liao), coz mine not in time to cut, luckily got only 1 tear. At that time, cannot feel anything liao... just push and push and before you knew it, bb is out liao. After that, no pain, just relief... wonderful feeling... so dun worry too much about that...

Lee-tung,
Congrats!!! Wonderful Children's Day huh? Will be waiting for your birth story and pics...

hi mummyjoy
actually dun need to use the tiger pot to boil red dates water cos it will take longer time to boil and u do not need to keep boiling it. i suggest that u use normal cooking pot, after boiling, u can keep it in flask.

yah the pain is around lower abs..tink ard 35 weeks onwards i have the pain

hi aspialle,

Thks, know I can always count on you on cooking tips
oic..me now on 36wks+, think your EDD earlier than me 5 days, any confirm EDD from your gynae yet? Now I have frequent BH and my bb wriggle quite a lot like he has not enough space. U taking epidural? If yes, think epi cut will not be that painful...many say contraction pain & V check is worst.

Hi mummy out there,

me today in my 38weeks and went for check-up. gynae did not do cervix check to see whether i got dilate or not.. is normal ba i think..today check -up fast leh, only scan scan than ok le no mention about baby weight only said so far so good........

aspialle
i also feel menses cramp lately but its like come and go than no more le, baby sometimes very active sometimes not.. me berry sad being not able to sleep well almost everyday like 3-4am than manage to sleep haiz..

vivian
how's your CL? Her flu any better? Hope its ok le by now so that u lessen 1 headache haha

Congrats to all mummy who has graduated into Motherhood. Me looking forward too

lee tung,
Congrats!! So nice to be able to c ur bb.

esther,
I share the same EDD wif aspialle. Also feeling the cramps. Cant sleep well too. Basically feeling frustrated already wif the pregnancy. Hopefully, my boy will decide to come out soon.

When the time comes to push, will we noe exactly wat to do? I keep telling my hubby I dunno how to push cos nt sure push wat. Is it the same feeling as going to the toilet??? Sekali during my turn I 'gong gong' dunno push wat sure become laughing stock in the room....
kao_embarrassed.gif

Is the delivery room really veri cold cos my hubby thinking of nt bringing his sweater leh.

rhys,
although I have milk, but my baby also 50-50 FM and BM cos she is a very big eater. from day 3, she drank 80ml already. we feed her 4hrly.
may i know what FM u choose? similac?
I may want to switch to similac cos I find S-26 a bit too heaty. My Cl said looking at baby's belly button (her's is big) means big eater. what abt urs?

I am okay with baby drinking Fm from the start when I give birth cos when the nurse at delivery ward ask me want TBF or half half, I already decided 50-50.

aspialle,
I feel nothing durig episotamy cos the contraction pain is more than anything else already.

vivian,
It is okay with 50-50, baby will turn out to be as healthy and happy. happy baby=healthy baby.

crystal,
same here, although I only sleep, eat, pump milk daily, find myself very busy and no time, very fast u find night time already.

hi mummyjoy
dun mention
ur welcomed
my gynae has not changed my EDD, tinking of not taking epidural...saw the process hw it is done, seems to be painful also , like sewing on the back...hehe

esther
heard that the cervix test maybe painful, actually i was hoping that i dun need cervix test, straight away contraction then deliver...cos midwife will also check on dilation mah

freshpoison77
its best that ur hb bring along sweater, and also a sweater for urself in case it is too cold. tink we experience similar discomfort...btw where do u choose to deliver?

weikuan
ic...heard many people saying that, tink have to experience myself then i know hehehe

aspialle,
Actually the process is not long lah. Is just the contractions lor. The real labour is very short.
I'm pumping out the milk cos bb doesn't suck well. Breast pain pain now, engorgement

Jasmine,
Tell yourself you can do it. I also dunno if I can do it this round, so I keep my options open.
Try some prune juice, it helps for constipation.

freshpoison77,
Cervix test is a must. When you are in labour, the nurse and midwife will keep checking.
Ask your hb to bring along a sweater for in case. My 1st delivery, the delivery ward was very cold. But this time, the delivery ward is not very cold.
Push = Long and strong push. Your gynae and midwife will tell you when to start pushing. You push when they tell you is time to push, then if you din opt for epidural, you will feel the urge to push (urge is like wanna to poo) then you start to push with all your strength and hold on and start counting 1 to 10. Breath in when you push.

jinava,
Dun worry about Dr Ang's stitching. He's famous for his stitch. I can he can consider to be tailor if he quits as a gynae hahaha

I dun feel pain during the stitch at all. Just one or two times pop, like ant biting. He's done with the stitch in abt 10 mins.
Yes, I'm in single bedded. Level 4 single bedded is not renovated yet. Noise level very min. The nurse shifted me to Level 3 the next day once there's room available. Level 3's single bedded room is newly renovated, very cosy!! My hb said like hotel stay and he wished to stay for more days! No noise is heard when I'm at level 3. I discharged on Mon. Dr Ang told me to admit after 10pm on 30 Sep, so I wasn't charged for 30 Sep, but hb was charged.
Total bill for mother is $2816.96, less Medisave Claim $1700. Paid $1116.95.
Total bill for baby is $627.76, less Medisave Claim $484.16. Paid $143.60.
So, in total, I paid $1260.55.
Dr Ang's fee is $1070 (Medisave Claim is $550).
My PD is Dr Ong Woon Hong, his fee is $210 (Medisave Claim is $1000).

smiles,
Hi, dun worry but keep options open. My 1st delivery was worse than anything else. The nurse and midwife said 2nd delivery will be fast. Just do more walking, climbing stairs and squatting. I believe these help.
Ya, I agreed that sweetsurprise qty is too little cos the $ all spend on the box. I will be ordering from Choz cos my relatives and friends have great feedback when I ordered for my 1st gal. In fact, they miss Choz. I find Choz price reasonable with nice presentable package. This round, I will be ordering Melrose fresh cream cakes for office colleagues.

Wei Kuan,
Ha same same lah, me also bath and wash my hair in hospital after delivery. So SHIOK ah! But I din do it secretly, I did it openly, everyone was laughing. My mum still told me, "feel so fresh hor" hahaha...
I pooed the 2nd day, shiok ah. My previous time, I pooed only 1 week plus later, and with help of prune juice. I also din take the painkillers, the nurse kept asking if I need.
I have the same thinking with you, mother must rest well then can take care of baby.
Hmm, I think I need to ask Wong Lilin to kiss my feet twice hahaha...
My gal is on Similac cos my 1st gal took Similac last time. But remember to dilate the FM. Similac is sweet.

Vivian,
Thanks for update on Coral. I really tot she goes pop le.

mmummyjoy,
Did you time your contractions? Actually hor, I also have no idea leh, though I went thr it! It just comes on and off, then suddenly subsided. Is at lower abdomen, then back very aching, and then later spread to the whole tummy area. Do you have water retention on your feets? I noticed few days before I deliver, there's no water retention leh.

leetung,
Congrats! Your boy and my gal have the same bday. You delivered at TMC? Did we meet each other? Did you attend the bathing and bfing class on 02 Oct? My bb is the model for the class.

esther,
my CL better liao. thanks. now at least dun need to worry so much.

freshpoison77,
you will know what to push one. Like you having a super bad constipation lor. Exactly the same...

Weikuan,
mine also big eater. Day 6 already 80-90ml liao. How you feed 4 hrly har? mine 2 hour want milk liao leh. sometimes less than 2hrs ,already screaming for milk.
I now feeding Friso coz my friend gave me a tin. Now we using second tin liao. So far so good. I heard similac not bad.... i also heard that S26 is very heaty...
haa... looks like my boy and your gal quite the same. His belly button also big. His umbilical cord took 12 days to fall off ah... very big piece...

Thanks. Now i also take things easy liao. Previously insisted TBFing but no milk, in the end, bb too hungry... I also overstress... got mild depression the first week. Now let it be liao... got BM good, dun have also bo bian liao...

Vivian,
I wanna ask you ah, how you pump and type at the same time ah? You dun need to hold and press the funnel against your breasts to pump meh?
I find that after pumping hor, there will be mark of the funnel (round shape) on my breasts, which I hold and press again during pumping. But if I dun hold and press against it, can't feel suction leh.
I can't tahan the engorgement. Hb is helping me to massage. I even took out my Avent Manual Pump to pump cos it has the petal to help to massage.

mmummyjoy,
i boiled the red dates drink in the magic cooker previously. what i do is to boil them the night before and and it's still warm the next day.

jenny,
can pump and type at the same time. the last time pumping time = internet time

hi MTBs,

i now in the delivery suite waiting for my contractions to kick in.... induced tis am, 10.30am. so far only had mild contractions towards late evenng. my gynae has said that the action will kick in 2mr am... *sigh* still a long wait for me...

babygrace,
How to do it? I can't leh. Teach me. But hor, my my study room very open leh, cos is glass door facing dining room and living room and main door. I not used to close main door leh.

hi jenny,

thks... hope i can sleep 2nite....getting more & more scared yet excited....

oh, wendy has delivered yesterday. she has sms me. poor she. she was shivering after her epi c-section (side effect) and she's not able to cuddle her bb.

gemini,
Sure can one lah, try to get some sleep. Dun be scare, it's a very precious experience that every mother has to go thr.
Ya, I know Wendy has delivered. She smsed me on Mon nite and Tue.

Jenny, Vivian,
Thks for "enlightening" me abt pushing. I din attend any antenatal classes cos was too busy wif work. Been reading but words cant really describe the action well.

Aspialle,
I'm delivering @ MAH cos my doc fr there plus I prefer there too. I packed a sweater 4 myself already, only my hubby lazy cos we are staying wif my mum presently while waiting for our keys. Most of our stuff still in cartons lah so he trying nt to unpack them. My sweater always wif me @ my workplace so easy to pack.

Gemini,
U also under Dr Ho rite? Jia you!!! Wishing u a smooth delivery!!!

Jenny,
haa.. me use one hand to hold both pumps lor. E.g my right hand hold the left pump while the same right arm support the right pump. Then I got the left hand free to type lor... Sometimes I lazy, will try to put one of the pump on my lap or something that is put on my lap (so that it is higher and I dun need to hunch) so that I dun need to hold lor. Sometimes, I still got to hold both pumps lah...

I also have a mark of the funnel on both breasts. As you said, dun press, no suction. But sometimes I will increase the vacuum level and then dun press against my breast too hard. It will still work. But once I felt that the vacuum is too strong, will tune it down.

Btw, Sept thread hor, got someone bought a "hands-free" for the pumps leh.
She mentioned that it is very good. Check out the site, http://www.mumsfairy.com/products.htm

I dun have engorgement leh. But I still got to massage too... to help increase my supply. If dun massage, my milk supply is super miserable.

Now hor, I think my breast a bit sensitive to Pigeon's breast pad leh... itchy leh... I change to a sample pack from Avent one, felt better... jialat liao... I still got 2 box of pigeon one somemore...
Ppl leak headache, I no leak also headache... sigh...

No choice lah, when I pump in room, got to draw all the curtains too. In living rm, main door and curtains all must close and draw. Otherwise, all can see free show liao...

Freshpoison77,
I gave birth in MAH too. I dun find the labour ward cold at all but my hb did lor. For us, the nurse can get us blankets but not hb. So think you better bring something for him just in case.

Gemini,
JIA YOU!!! Rest well now and tomorrow you will be officially a mummy liao!!!!

jenny,
i do the same way as vivian. either balance both on my lap and hunch a bit or hold with 1 hand.

gemini,
Rest well and jia you!

rhys,
my baby drinking 120ml 4hrly now.
we bottlefeed. we also give water for her to drink.
sometimes 2hrs, she also cry, but we train her only drink milk every 4hrs.

vivian,
I also bought pigeon breast pads, hopefully i nt allergic to it. If nt die, so many dunno wanna stick where...
U stayed @ MAH, 1 bed izzit? Can give rough breakdown of u & bb's bill if convenient?

Jenny,
u also din attend anntenatal before? I was considering but too busy wif work then my col who attended say nt veri useful so din attend in the end. Hopefully, I din miss much.
U mean before delivery the midwife & nurse will keep doing cervix check? OUCH!!!!

babygrace,
u wif dr Ho rite? when did he do the cervix check? was it painful?

My fren juz gave birth tis morn. She wif Dr Ang & her EDD was 2 weeks before me. How exciting!!! I also wan my bb to pop out leh. A bit sianz sitting on the bench waiting for the real action!!!

me sneaking in again since hb went out for a while. dun think i can finish reading all the postings b4 hb returns.

Caleb's Jaundice
===========
caleb still having jaundice. this morning after feeding him at ard 7+, saw bright sunlight so quickly wake hb up to bring him downstairs to sun (cos mum's place only got afternoon sun). so happy to see sunlight cos didnt have chance to sun him the past few days. hope he gets better soon.

TBF
===
caleb is a super sleepy boy (not sure if it is due to his jaundice cos PD told us jaundice babies are very sleepy). he will feed and sleep then wake 15 - 30 mins later wanting to feed again so i practically feeding every hour kind. tried to wake him up using all sorts of mthds but none worked. very stubborn boy. dun wanna eat means dun wanna eat.

Wendy
=====
sms wendy yesterday. she handling well so far but stop taking pain killers cos she scared will affect bb n she enduring the pain. had advice her to take the pain killer regularly so that she can have the concentration to nurse Maverick. she is doing well slowly but surely. at least she is all prepared for what's ahead cos i pre-empted her all c-sect but just cld not advice her on the epi cos i think i was one of the lucky ones to have totally no effect at all to epi.

Pumping Breast
==========
i need advice. what do you do with the pump out BM? feed at next feeding or store in freezer. so far i pumped twice and store them in freezer. regretted pumping last night cos after 1 hour Caleb wants milk and no more milk then he super "mang zang" i felt so bad. had to pump cos while nursing him, my other breast kept leaking. i dun wanna introduce the bottle yet but dunno wat to do with the pump out BM.

Drink Water
========
been pressurized to feed water to Caleb almost every day from my parents indirectly. so far i have been ignoring them. should i let him have some water cos scared next time he doesnt wanna drink water. how to let him drink without using the bottle? spoon feed?

follow-up check
===========
went for my follow-up yesterday and gynae says wound healing well. stitches will absorb by itself and dressing removed. first time saw my wound. wow! as long as a short ruler (abt 15cm). doc also prescribed a energizer supplement for me. think he worried after seeing me yest cos think i must look really terrible with my dark eye rings etc...

ok. gotta go. feeding time.